Pages: 1 2 3 ... 25
The growing Centrelink debt scandal (Read 38487 times)

The growing Centrelink debt scandal
Jan 3rd, 2017 at 2:47pm

This chaotic and dysfunctional government has stuffed up the Centrelink debt scandal in the worst handling of any government program for decades. Is it time for a Royal Commission?

Centrelink's debt mistake: 'There's no way I could explain to them'
When Centrelink’s letter arrived two weeks before Christmas, Michael Griffin instinctively knew he was going to be unfairly trapped.

So he meticulously documented, step-by-step, how the system wrongly deemed him to have a $3,197 debt.

Griffin’s ordeal began when he received the standardised letter from Centrelink, telling him there was a discrepancy between income information held by the Australian taxation office, and what he had reported fortnightly while claiming the dole in 2013.

He was told to go online to his MyGov account to confirm his income details.

Griffin originally claimed benefits between February and May in 2013, receiving a total of $3,754 from Centrelink.

He reported working small amounts in three fortnights within those months.

In two fortnights, he worked 24 hours and earned $618 a fortnight, and in the third he worked 15 hours and earned $386.

Griffin has provided payslips to Guardian Australia that clearly show he reported this income accurately.

He boosted his working hours in the rest of his year, while not claiming welfare, and ended up with a total income of $26,642 for the 2013-14 financial year.

Centrelink’s online system asked him to confirm that he had earned $26,642, which Griffin did. This is where his problems began. Screenshots show how Centrelink’s system then averaged out his $26,000 yearly income across every fortnightly reporting period.

(View article to see screenshots.)
It wrongly assumed he had consistently earned $1,021 every fortnight across the year, including between February and May, instead of different amounts in different fortnightly reporting periods.

That wrong assumption made him ineligible to claim welfare for that period, and he was told he must repay almost all of the dole he claimed, a total of $3,197.

This problem is quite common.

What's all the fuss about Centrelink reclaiming debts? A summary and a simple example

The cause: Multiple issues.

(1) Centrelink is fraudulently claiming "debts" by attempting to use annual income from the ATO as a basis for calculating a fortnightly income. People are being slapped with fraudulent debt claims accompanied by threats and menaces and given 21 days to respond during the holiday period with a website that is not working. According to the government, this is working as intended.

(2) Data matching that uses company names instead of matching companies by ABN. Any difference in the name and Centrelink assumes they are different employers and there's undeclared income (for example: "PriceWaterhouseCoopers" and "Price Waterhouse Coopers"). A competent system would match by ABN.

The Minister is trying to pretend all is well, but he is lying.

Minister defends Centrelink over welfare debt compliance system
Porter defended the system on Tuesday morning, saying it was fair and reasonable, and that only 276 complaints had been received so far.

“I think that this is about as reasonable a process as you could possibly derive,” Porter told ABC Radio National.

A formal complaint, however, is different from lodging a dispute against a welfare debt. Porter would not say how many disputes had been lodged against welfare debts.

He won't say how many disputes have been received because these figures are likely to be damning.

Porter said individuals who disagreed with Centrelink’s notice had plenty of opportunity to contest it.

Oh, really? Sending out these notices a week before Christmas and giving people 21 days to respond at a time when many employers are going to be closed for up to a month? Having a website that crashes repeatedly? This clown is nuts!

Re: The growing Centrelink debt scandal
Reply #1 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 3:04pm

The clowns like Tudge and Porter are trying to pretend all is fine, only 1.6% of complaints  etc.

Instead of stepping back when the problems with the data matching appears they are going to “tough it out” and make a humiliating back down mid–Jan. Complete clowns, morons who probably don’t know what data is and certainly have no idea about data matching.

Reply #2 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 3:21pm

I suspect they will be looking hard at their methods behind the scenes as the pollies are being inundated with complaints apparently.

Not to mention half the people give up after waiting upwards of an hour to get answered on the phone!

So the 1.6% is a lot of Liberal BS

Reply #3 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:28pm

The government knows how bad it is but it's not saying.

centrelink0.png (37 KB | 74 )
centrelink0.png

Reply #4 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:29pm

Centrelink is actively misleading people about keeping records. It could be up for a world of hurt if this ends up in a class action lawsuit.

centrelink1.png (61 KB | 93 )
centrelink1.png

Reply #5 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:31pm

Another of the many stories about this scandal.

centrelink2.png (70 KB | 78 )
centrelink2.png

TheFunPolice

waggawagga
Reply #6 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:38pm

centrelink is outsourcing everything to tuppy old women intent on castration: the MULTI-YEAR sea ice is melting because oil is being secured through blood to please middleclass tryhards on sojourns to europe once a year for six weeks--> don't forget the detour past the maddddddddddddddd countries losing arms and limbs and notice the lack of tit loss
.,... excepting civilians of course 
Embarrassed   Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry Cry

It's a disgusting world but Bradd Pitt looks cool today so go Hollyweed and shizzle mcgizzle my mum is uber these days hanging out with my slanderous cousin etc etc etc yadda bugger*N BULLSHITE  Lips Sealed

......Australia has an illegitimate Government!

TheFunPolice

waggawagga
Reply #7 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:44pm

The basic idea is that Australia is living in an economic bubble: it's all fake wealth and centrelink is simply overwhelmed as a natural consequence!

Look at the oldies never retiring: they don't want to look in the mirror and see what they've turned into!

......Australia has an illegitimate Government!

Reply #8 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:52pm

this is our famous Public Service you are running down...

you know the one that  crook defends with his life...it is after all only people like you and me..they go in and blindly push a few buttons and it all happens for them..

you have been accused its up to you to prove you are innocent..

if you are getting mixed messages that shouldnt be too hard to prove...

should it???>.

Reply #9 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 6:00pm

TheFunPolice wrote on Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:44pm:
The basic idea is that Australia is living in an economic bubble: it's all fake wealth and centrelink is simply overwhelmed as a natural consequence!

Look at the oldies never retiring: they don't want to look in the mirror and see what they've turned into!

http://nma.gov.au/shared/libraries/images/temporary_exhibitions/behind_the_lines...

you too might be given the privilege of reaching old age drah..

in case you havent noticed not everyone gets to a ripe old age.. its quite a privilege really...and strangely although the body ages the brain doesnt  again if you are one of the LUCKY ones..

of course if you wish to think AGE is a problem..and its something you hope never happens to you..

well hang in there.....you may get your wish...

Reply #10 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 6:27pm

cods wrote on Jan 3rd, 2017 at 5:52pm:
this is our famous Public Service you are running down..

not quite ... this is the fault of the damn politicians.

Fit of Absent Mindeness

We need more fits of absent
mindedness

Brisbane
Reply #11 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 9:06pm

this is our famous Public Service you are running down...

They didn't decide to data match the ato with centrelink - the LNP did.

The LNP have royally screwed this!

The LNP are a bunch of luddites - always have been and always will be.

Putting the n in cuts

Reply #12 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 10:12pm

The growing Centrelink  debt scandal

All fixed - that'll be a government consulting fee for bludgeit-it repair....always happy to help out me old mates in politics for a fee..... not that there's anything wrong with that....

Centrelink!  Guaranteed untouched by human hands!

Monkeys.jpg (15 KB | 66 )
Monkeys.jpg

Reply #13 - Jan 3rd, 2017 at 10:20pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 3rd, 2017 at 3:04pm:
The clowns like Tudge and Porter are trying to pretend all is fine, only 1.6% of complaints  etc.

Instead of stepping back when the problems with the data matching appears they are going to “tough it out” and make a humiliating back down mid–Jan. Complete clowns, nice people who probably don’t know what data is and certainly have no idea about data matching.

They think data matching is putting a flame to it to hide the truth....

Come on, Centrelink!  COME ON!!  I've got EVERY pay slip on my computer.... emailed to me and stored in a file....

I dare you....

Reply #14 - Jan 4th, 2017 at 9:28am

John Smith wrote on Jan 3rd, 2017 at 6:27pm:
this is our famous Public Service you are running down..

not quite ... this is the fault of the damn politicians.

The politicians are the ones who are saying nothing's wrong when it so clearly is dysfunctional. The buck stops with them.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 25