KFC recipe no longer secret (Read 17030 times)

KFC recipe no longer secret
Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:24am

The secret is possibly out -
can anyone try it & see?

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/lifestyle/news/article.cfm?c_id=6&objectid=11698101

THE ORIGINAL 11 SPICES SECRET RECIPE?

(As published in The Chicago Tribune)

Prep: 30 minutes
Soak: 20-30 minutes
Cook: 15-18 minutes
Makes: 4 servings
2 cups all-purpose flour
2/3 tablespoon salt
1/2 tablespoon dried thyme leaves
1/2 tablespoon dried basil leaves
1/3 tablespoon dried oregano leaves
1 tablespoon celery salt
1 tablespoon ground black pepper
1 tablespoon dried mustard
4 tablespoons paprika
2 tablespoons garlic salt
1 tablespoon ground ginger
3 tablespoons ground white pepper
1 cup buttermilk
1 egg, beaten
1 chicken, cut up, the breast pieces cut in half for more even frying
Expeller-pressed canola oil

1. Mix the flour in a bowl with all the herbs and spices; set aside.

2. Mix the buttermilk and egg together in a separate bowl until combined. Soak the chicken in the buttermilk mixture at room temperature, 20-30 minutes.

3. Remove chicken from the buttermilk, allowing excess to drip off. Dip the chicken pieces in the herb-spice-flour mixture to coat all sides, shaking off excess. Allow to sit on a rack over a baking sheet, 20 minutes.

4. Meanwhile, heat about 3 inches of the oil in a large Dutch oven (or similar heavy pot with high sides) over medium-high heat to 350 degrees. (Use a deep-frying thermometer to check the temperature.) When temperature is reached, lower the heat to medium to maintain it at 350. Fry 3 or 4 pieces at a time, being careful not to crowd the pot. Fry until medium golden brown, turning once, 15-18 minutes. Transfer chicken pieces to a baking sheet covered with paper towels. Allow the oil to return to temperature before adding more chicken. Repeat with remaining chicken.

Re: KFC recipe no longer secret
Reply #1 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 11:38am

Nothing is sacred anymore Bobby.

Reply #2 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 2:27pm

You used to be able to buy packets on the 11 herbs & spices in Woolworths.

Can't remember the brand name, but it was available on the shelves for a while a few years back.

I always thought the secret ingredient was rat.

Reply #3 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:02pm

Greggy - spare us that picture.

Reply #4 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:06pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:02pm:

You buy Kentucky Duck, and that's what you risk getting.

The stores are run by 16 year old kids getting paid $12 an hour.

How much care do you think they put into the food preparation?

Reply #5 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:10pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:06pm:

You buy Kentucky duck, and that's what you risk getting.

Actually - I buy KFC only about once per year.
Reason?
It's no where near as good as it used to be in the 70s.
Also - they used to have this beautiful bean salad & they stopped supplying it - I think in the 80's.

I think Colonel Sanders would turn over in his grave if he saw the poor quality they have now at KFC.

I just wonder if the above recipe is correct & would give back that original quality?

Reply #6 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:18pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:10pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:06pm:

You buy Kentucky duck, and that's what you risk getting.

Actually - I buy KFC only about once per year.
Reason?
It's no where near as good as it used to be in the 70s.
Also - they used to have this beautiful bean salad & they stopped supplying it - I think in the 80's.

I agree with you.

"What's that"?

"Bean salad".

"I don't care what it's been, what is it now"?

KFC from the '70s wasn't as greasy, and the drumsticks were bigger.

Reply #7 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:35pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:18pm:
"What's that"?

"Bean salad".

The chicken pieces were all bigger in the 70's & 80's.
Now it's Kentucky Fried Sparrow.

This is the closest I can find for the bean salad -
I used to go to KFC just to buy their salad for my family.

Serves 8
The KFC bean salad is a traditional "three bean" type of salad that combines green beans, kidney beans and butter beans. While the dish is good freshly prepared, the flavour is enhanced by marinating in the refrigerator.

Ingredients

2 cups canned kidney beans
    2 cups canned green beans
    2 cups canned butter beans
    1 cup sliced white onion
    1 cup chopped green capsicum
    ½ cup cider vinegar
    ½ cup canola oil
    ¾ cup sugar ( I don't think that amount of sugar is correct)
    ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    1½ teaspoons sea salt

Instructions

Set up a colander in the sink. Drain the kidney beans into the colander, and rinse well.
    Pour the cans of green and butter beans to the colander and stir to make sure all liquid drains out.
    Transfer the drained beans in a medium-sized mixing bowl.
    Chop green capsicum and white onion, then add to the bowl.
    In a small bowl, whisk together vegetable oil, vinegar, sugar, salt and black pepper.
    Pour dressing over beans and vegetables, then toss gently until all beans are well coated with oil, vinegar and spices.
    Place the bean salad in your refrigerator and allow to marinate at least 6 hours.

Notes

This KFC bean salad reaches peak flavour about 3 to 4 days after preparation. You can store the bean salad for up to two weeks in the refrigerator.

http://aussietaste.recipes/legume-dishes/kfc-bean-salad/

Reply #8 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:57pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:35pm:

A woman I go out with on and off has a 12 year old kid, and I suggested one night that we just get Kentucky Fried Chicken for dinner (after a long day out in Fremantle - couldn't be bothered cooking or going to a restaurant).

The kid looked at me as if I was mad.

"What's Kentucky Fried Chicken?"

The kid had no idea what 'KFC' stood for.

Reply #9 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:10pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:57pm:

A woman I go out with on and off has a 12 year old kid, and I suggested one night that we just get Kentucky Fried Chicken for dinner (after a long day out in Fremantle - couldn't be bothered cooking or going to a restaurant).

They changed to KFC long ago.

Do you agree that the chicken is super small now - lower in quality &
do you miss the bean salad?

Reply #10 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:10pm:

They changed to KFC long ago.

Do you agree that the chicken is super small now - lower in quality &
do you miss the bean salad?

I agree, and I miss the bean salad.

The chicken pieces today are more like quail.

And the bean salad was very yummy.

I wish it was 1978 again: we'd have good food, and good music.

Reply #11 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:17pm

Yes Greggy,
& the bikes were cheap & great:

Reply #12 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:18pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:17pm:
Yes Greggy,

Don't talk about my ex-wife like that.

Reply #13 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:29pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:18pm:
Yes Greggy,

The women in the 70s & 80s used to kiss on the first date!

( & not just a peck on the cheek )

Reply #14 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:32pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:29pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:18pm:
Yes Greggy,

The women in the 70s & 80s used to kiss on the first date!

( & not just a peck on the cheek )

And they had hairy bushes.

Reply #15 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:36pm

And the disco scene was cool:

I am having an attack of 70's nostalgia.

Reply #16 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:39pm

Reply #17 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:42pm

And the Bee Gees were the Kings:

Reply #18 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:45pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:42pm:
And the Bee Gees were the Kings:

And their little bother.

Reply #19 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:46pm

And KFC ruled the world:

Reply #20 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:54pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:46pm:
And KFC ruled the world:

Indeed.

I felt many a hairy bush in a KFC car park, back in the '70s.

(didn't wash my hands for days)

Reply #21 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 7:59pm

Reply #22 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:06pm

He's dead  Cry

Reply #23 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:08pm

70's nostalgia -
you couldn't wait for the next Ali fight -
while eating your KFC:

Reply #24 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:16pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:08pm:
70's nostalgia -
while eating your KFC:

Two men, half naked and sweating all over each other.

Gay, Booby.

Reply #25 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:25pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:16pm:
70's nostalgia -
while eating your KFC:

Gay, Booby.

Greggy even sees gayness in boxing.

Greggy - you need help.

Is KFC gay too?

forgiven

namaste

Reply #26 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:25pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:16pm:
70's nostalgia -
while eating your KFC:

Gay, Booby.

Greggy even sees gayness in boxing.

Greggy - you need help.

Is KFC gay too?

forgiven

namaste

It doesn't get much gayer than boxing.

And, KFC is finger lickin' good.

Shocked

Reply #27 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:31pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:27pm:

Shocked

So at KFC do you go for a leg or a breast?

Reply #28 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:34pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:31pm:

Shocked

Both.

Legs are my preference though.

I like where they meet.

Reply #29 - Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:34pm:
Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 8:31pm:

Shocked

Both.

Legs are my preference though.

I like where they meet.

Reply #30 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:15am

Yuck

Reply #31 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:17am

Gordon wrote on Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:15am:
Yuck

I remember that like it was yesterday.

Reply #32 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:23am

IIRC the origin version went  'so we sat in the back getting fatter and fatter ' back in the days of truth in advertising.

Reply #33 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:30am

Booby: Bean Salad at the 14:00 minute mark.

Reply #34 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:45am

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:30am:

Greggy hath found the bean salad -

highest marks.

Reply #35 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 12:07pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:45am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 22nd, 2016 at 11:30am:

Greggy hath found the bean salad -

highest marks.

Black Orchid

Reply #36 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 6:33pm

You guys really eat that?

The coating is ok, and I might try it on chicken breasts, but what is under the coating at KFC is slimy and icky!

Reply #37 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 6:42pm

Black Orchid wrote on Aug 22nd, 2016 at 6:33pm:

The coating is ok, and I might try it on chicken breasts, but what is under the coating at KFC is slimy and icky!

I haven't had Kentucky Fried Cardboard for decades.   Finding a KFC "special recipe" coated part head of a chook was beyond the pale.

I don't do Maccas either. YUK!

Reply #38 - Aug 22nd, 2016 at 6:45pm

That's why I only sample it once per annum.
The point is that the quality has gone way down compared to the 1970s.
Not only that - their best side serve - the bean salad - is no longer available.

Reply #39 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:26pm

struth..

greggy and bobby need to get a room so that they can rub KFC all over each other and have gay sex...

get a room!

Reply #40 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:28pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:26pm:
struth..

greggy and bobby need to get a room so that they can rub KFC all over each other and have gay sex...

get a room!

Reply #41 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:30pm

I ask for specific pieces if I get KFC...

Rib Piece..

the Breast Piece is ok too...

i'll have a Chicken Burger or Bacon and Cheese Chicken Burger...

I like KFC chips...

although in one town that I travel through maybe once or twice a year.. and if I stop for KFC chips.. they put too much salt on them... I keep thinking that they'll get new staff the next time I go in but nope...  Angry

mmmmm KFC... Finger Licken Good  Smiley

Reply #42 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:33pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:30pm:

I ask for specific pieces if I get KFC...

Rib Piece..

the Breast Piece is ok too...

i'll have a Chicken Burger or Bacon and Cheese Chicken Burger...

I like KFC chips...

although in one town that I travel through maybe once or twice a year.. and if I stop for KFC chips.. they put too much salt on them... I keep thinking that they'll get new staff the next time I go in but nope...  Angry

mmmmm KFC... Finger Licken Good  Smiley

Too much salt - that's a good example of how bad KFC is now.

They triple load the chips with salt until you can no longer eat them.
« Last Edit: Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:41pm by Bobby. »  

Reply #43 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 7:36pm

Reply #44 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:24pm

Greggy,
try & keep gay topics out of every thread on Ozpolitic.

Reply #45 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:28pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:24pm:
Greggy,
try & keep gay topics out of every thread on Ozpolitic.

Booby,

The Mechanic brought it up.

He said he wanted to get naked and insert a drumstick in your parson's nose.

Scroll back: you'll see I don't lie.

Reply #46 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:40pm

Can't we have one thread without homos?

Cry Cry Cry Cry

Reply #47 - Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 23rd, 2016 at 8:40pm:
Can't we have one thread without homos?

Cry Cry Cry Cry

Ask The Mechanic.

He started it.

Reply #48 - Sep 5th, 2016 at 10:12pm

maybe we should ask some negro's...

they are like the Fried Chicken Champions...

Reply #49 - Sep 5th, 2016 at 10:23pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Sep 5th, 2016 at 10:12pm:
maybe we should ask some negro's...

they are like the Fried Chicken Champions...

We don't serve fried chicken & watermelon here on a daily basis:

Wolseley

Reply #50 - Sep 7th, 2016 at 1:57am

The first time I had Kentucky Fried Chicken (or KFC as it is now known) was in Taree in the early 1970s.  I have had no desire to eat any of it since then.  It was greasy, hard and tasted of oil and some nondescript herbs.  There was no taste of chicken at all - if it was Kentucky Fried Cardboard it would have tasted just the same.

I cannot understand why any sane person would want to eat this garbage.

Reply #51 - Sep 7th, 2016 at 7:28am

Wolseley wrote on Sep 7th, 2016 at 1:57am:
The first time I had Kentucky Fried Chicken (or KFC as it is now known) was in Taree in the early 1970s.  I have had no desire to eat any of it since then.  It was greasy, hard and tasted of oil and some nondescript herbs.  There was no taste of chicken at all - if it was Kentucky Fried Cardboard it would have tasted just the same.

I cannot understand why any sane person would want to eat this garbage.

You had a bad store.
Sometimes KFC was very nice indeed in the 70s.
The bean salad was great too.

Reply #52 - Sep 8th, 2016 at 6:18pm

i'd eat KFC 7 days a week if I didn't turn into a big fat bastard with multiple health issues..  Grin

in my town they do nice KFC chips with just the right amount of salt...

I had a large box last Saturday Night Smiley

Reply #53 - Feb 4th, 2018 at 6:44pm

What do you call the area between the front door and the back door of a Nando's restaurant?

The Peri Peri neum.

Reply #54 - Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:20pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 4th, 2018 at 6:44pm:
What do you call the area between the front door and the back door of a Nando's restaurant?

The Peri Peri neum.

https://i.ytimg.com/vi/AHBHBcdIJls/hqdefault.jpg

I call the 26th to 30th of December 'Gooch week '.
« Last Edit: Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:26pm by Gordon »  

Reply #55 - Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:23pm

KFC sold whole chooks many moons back, they were good value and very tasty with the secret herbs and spices, fat would run down the sides of the mouth. I could demolish one easy in one sitting. I think they stopped selling them because they could calve one up, put crumbs on it and make more money.
The last time I had KFC about ten years ago I spewed my guts up an hour later, maybe it was just a crook chook but I will never go back to KFC again.

Reply #56 - Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:26pm

Johnnie wrote on Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:23pm:
KFC sold whole chooks many moons back, they were good value and very tasty with the secret herbs and spices, fat would run down the sides of the mouth. I could demolish one easy in one sitting. I think they stopped selling them because they could calve one up, put crumbs on it and make more money.
The last time I had KFC about ten years ago I spewed my guts up an hour later, maybe it was just a crook chook but I will never go back to KFC again.

Too easy.

Reply #57 - Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:49pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:26pm:
Johnnie wrote on Feb 4th, 2018 at 7:23pm:

Too easy.

Can you refrain from sexual innuendo and jokes, this is a serious political forum.

Reply #58 - Feb 27th, 2020 at 9:31pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 21st, 2016 at 6:18pm:
"What's that"?

"Bean salad".

This is the closest I can find for the bean salad -
I used to go to KFC just to buy their salad for my family.

http://recipes.thetasteofaussie.netdna-cdn.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/05/KFC-Be...

Serves 8
The KFC bean salad is a traditional "three bean" type of salad that combines green beans, kidney beans and butter beans. While the dish is good freshly prepared, the flavour is enhanced by marinating in the refrigerator.

Ingredients

2 cups canned kidney beans
    2 cups canned green beans
    2 cups canned butter beans
    1 cup sliced white onion
    1 cup chopped green capsicum
    ½ cup cider vinegar
    ½ cup canola oil
    ¾ cup sugar ( I don't think that amount of sugar is correct)
    ½ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
    1½ teaspoons sea salt

Instructions

Set up a colander in the sink. Drain the kidney beans into the colander, and rinse well.
    Pour the cans of green and butter beans to the colander and stir to make sure all liquid drains out.
    Transfer the drained beans in a medium-sized mixing bowl.
    Chop green capsicum and white onion, then add to the bowl.
    In a small bowl, whisk together vegetable oil, vinegar, sugar, salt and black pepper.
    Pour dressing over beans and vegetables, then toss gently until all beans are well coated with oil, vinegar and spices.
    Place the bean salad in your refrigerator and allow to marinate at least 6 hours.

Notes

This KFC bean salad reaches peak flavour about 3 to 4 days after preparation. You can store the bean salad for up to two weeks in the refrigerator.

http://aussietaste.recipes/legume-dishes/kfc-bean-salad/

That bean salad recipe I found online over 10 years ago, I have made it very often and it’s the best!

When it was deleted from the KFC menu, I kept asking why instore, they didn’t know why.
So I wrote to KFC asking why.
They said because it wasn’t a big seller and people weren’t interested in it, (being healthy etc)
When Chicken A go go  started making a similar one we were wrapt, then that place shut down. Dang!
Somehow I can’t remember how I looked up the internet and the original KFC bean salad was revealed!
It was a eureka moment.
Instead of using sugar, I use xylitol which helps if anyone is diabetic or trying to cut down on sugar consumption.
I don’t use canola oil either, for some reason I don’t think it’s so good for us, something I read about, so I use olive oil instead.
I know it’s cheaper to use sugar and canola oil, but that’s the 2 ingredients I use as alternatives. It still tastes amazing!
I think KFC would be kicking themselves now as the trend with big name take aways has introduced more healthier meal options and if that bean salad was with them now, it would be flying off the fridge shelves.
Strange how the generations go through phases of food.
With emphasis on low fat, high protein, high fibre, gluten free, dairy free, vegan etc etc the foods available now when eating fast food, is incredible.

Like I said, KFC must be kicking themselves now as this bean salad has come into its own.

Maybe I should write to them again and rub it in  Grin

Reply #59 - Feb 27th, 2020 at 9:54pm

Oh and one more thing I found (IMO) Edgell canned beans used for this recipe are best.
They can be a bit pricey compared to other brands, but sometimes they have good specials and then I stock up on them.

Reply #60 - Feb 27th, 2020 at 10:32pm

Sophia wrote on Feb 27th, 2020 at 9:54pm:
Oh and one more thing I found (IMO) Edgell canned beans used for this recipe are best.
They can be a bit pricey compared to other brands, but sometimes they have good specials and then I stock up on them.

I wish I could still buy that original KFC bean salad -
it's the best ever!

Reply #61 - Feb 27th, 2020 at 10:54pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 27th, 2020 at 10:32pm:

it's the best ever!

Make it as recipe says, trust me, it tastes exactly like the real McCoy!
My hubby was the biggest fan of this bean salad, and when it was stopped, he would whinge about how much he missed it.
Which is why it drove me to write to kfc to ask why etc.
I found it online and tried it and hubby says it was identical!
And yes, that amount of sugar is correct in the recipe.
Of course you can use less, or stevia or xylitol.
Have you made the bean salad from the recipe Bobby?

Reply #62 - Feb 28th, 2020 at 5:08am

Sophia wrote on Feb 27th, 2020 at 10:54pm:

it's the best ever!

My hubby was the biggest fan of this bean salad, and when it was stopped, he would whinge about how much he missed it.

No I haven't -
I really can't be bothered doing all that cooking & preparation.
I just want to buy some whenever I want it.

Reply #63 - Feb 28th, 2020 at 9:15am

Bobby. wrote on Feb 28th, 2020 at 5:08am:

it's the best ever!

No I haven't -

There’s no cooking involved!
It’s chopping an onion and a green capsicum, drain the cans and plonk it all together in a bowl to mix and let marinate a few hours in fridge.
Simples  Smiley
Otherwise, I should make this salad up and sell it to peeps that can’t be bothered Cheesy
Since there’s no rights to it anymore from KFC  Smiley

Reply #64 - Feb 28th, 2020 at 2:08pm

Sophia wrote on Feb 28th, 2020 at 9:15am:

it's the best ever!

No I haven't -

It’s chopping an onion and a green capsicum, drain the cans and plonk it all together in a bowl to mix and let marinate a few hours in fridge.
Simples  Smiley
Otherwise, I should make this salad up and sell it to peeps that can’t be bothered Cheesy

Make it and sell it under the name of Original KFC bean salad.

Reply #65 - Feb 29th, 2020 at 9:40pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 28th, 2020 at 2:08pm:
Sophia wrote on Feb 28th, 2020 at 9:15am:

it's the best ever!

No I haven't -

Simples  Smiley

Make it and sell it under the name of Original KFC bean salad.

I would have to get copyrights and doubt I will get it!
Maybe a different name we can come up.
How about Try our Tri Bean Salad, great with southern fried chicken!
Cool

Reply #66 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:57am

Just do it.
Worry about the consequences later.
I'm surprised that the supermarkets
aren't already doing it.
They have so many other salads.

Reply #67 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 11:53am

Reply #68 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 5:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 11:53am:

Very funny - but good salad will win you many friends.

Jake Winker Frogen

Perth WA
Reply #69 - Apr 24th, 2020 at 12:22pm

I have not read the article, but let me guess.

There is crack cocaine in the batter.

That is why you eat it until it makes you sick.

Cheese is Guud Eaten.

Reply #70 - Apr 24th, 2020 at 2:26pm

Jake Winker Frogen wrote on Apr 24th, 2020 at 12:22pm:
I have not read the article, but let me guess.

There is crack cocaine in the batter.

That is why you eat it until it makes you sick.

I've given everyone a free tip here on how to become a billionaire overnight.

Make a KFC bean salad & sell it through every supermarket.

God knows why they stopped selling the best thing of all at KFC.

Reply #71 - Apr 25th, 2020 at 8:48am

I remember the advert "I can't, I can't wait. I can't, I can't wait. I can't, I can't wait... for the great taste of Kentucky Fried Chicken". I only remember because my 8-year-old brother would recite the commercial over and over.
After that, it was known as KFC.

Reply #72 - Apr 25th, 2020 at 9:02am

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 25th, 2020 at 8:48am:

I remember the advert "I can't, I can't wait. I can't, I can't wait. I can't, I can't wait... for the great taste of Kentucky Fried Chicken". I only remember because my 8-year-old brother would recite the commercial over and over.

It used to be a lot better in the 1970s.
Colonel Sanders would turn over in his grave
if he saw what they were selling now.

Reply #73 - Apr 25th, 2020 at 9:29am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 25th, 2020 at 9:02am:

KFC is going to be my hangover meal after work tonight. I am not even complaining about the quality of the food. I have only had one bad batch of KFC in my life. It has been pretty good since then.

Reply #74 - May 9th, 2020 at 2:18pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 25th, 2020 at 9:29am:

KFC is going to be my hangover meal after work tonight. I am not even complaining about the quality of the food. I have only had one bad batch of KFC in my life. It has been pretty good since then.

But no bean salad and Kentucky fried sparrow instead of chicken.   Cry Cry Cry Cry

Reply #75 - May 10th, 2020 at 1:43am

KFC is something you buy for people you don't like.
Maccas is only good for sea-sickness - sits heavy in the stomach.

Reply #76 - May 15th, 2020 at 2:22am

Jasin wrote on May 10th, 2020 at 1:43am:
KFC is something you buy for people you don't like.
Maccas is only good for sea-sickness - sits heavy in the stomach.

KFC was my hangover meal. Maccas was my "stop from my ride home from university and avoid starving" meal.

I have probably said it before. But, I will tell it again. I would work a 6-hour shift at a takeaway store. It was only 6 hours. But I was always starving at 4pm when I got off work. I would drive down the road to a KFC franchise. This was the days of when I was really skinny due to overworking. I would have a meal there and then drive home. A few hours later, Dad would suggest we go and get KFC for dinner. I would roll my eyes a few times about the coincidence. About a month's worth of Saturdays of coincidences, I finally gave up going to KFC for an afternoon meal, knowing that Dad would have KFC planned as our Saturday night meal.

I started going to Subway as an alternative -- and because I had piled on 20kg worth of fatty meals. Or I just had a plan to wait and just eat at home. Dad had stopped buying from KFC for Saturday night meal. I get the feeling that he only wanted KFC because I probably brought home a lingering smell of the fried chicken just enough to suggest that he would get some that night.

Reply #77 - May 15th, 2020 at 2:35am

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 25th, 2020 at 8:48am:

Kentucky Fried Chicken was not bad in the 1980s when I was eating it. By the 1990s, they were doing the hot 'n' spicy thing where the flames and stuff thing featured in their commercials. They were not really off the mark there. Lots of complaints about the hotness of the H&S meant that they had to change the recipe.
Ever since the KFC store had moved up the road to near the Stocklands shopping complex, the quality of KFC had really improved. It was a really dry and tasteless meal for much of the late 1990s/early 2000s.

I have no idea what the quality of KFC was like in the 1970s, as I only lived the last year of that decade. I doubt that they had a quality product back then anymore than today. Perhaps people are just accustomed to the quality of what we have now and don't know the difference.

Reply #78 - May 15th, 2020 at 9:44am

UnSubRocky wrote on May 15th, 2020 at 2:35am:
Kentucky Fried Chicken was not bad in the 1980s when I was eating it. By the 1990s, they were doing the hot 'n' spicy thing where the flames and stuff thing featured in their commercials. They were not really off the mark there. Lots of complaints about the hotness of the H&S meant that they had to change the recipe.
Ever since the KFC store had moved up the road to near the Stocklands shopping complex, the quality of KFC had really improved. It was a really dry and tasteless meal for much of the late 1990s/early 2000s.

I have no idea what the quality of KFC was like in the 1970s, as I only lived the last year of that decade. I doubt that they had a quality product back then anymore than today. Perhaps people are just accustomed to the quality of what we have now and don't know the difference.

I remember KFC from the 1970s.
The pieces were larger and it tasted better.
It was a bit greasy as of course it is deep fried chicken.
Some people put it under an oven griller for 10 minutes
to cook some of the fat out of it and make the batter more crispy.
You could also get their superb bean salad
which has been discussed at length on this thread.
I wish they would return to the good old days.  Smiley

Reply #79 - May 15th, 2020 at 10:00am

Bobby. wrote on May 15th, 2020 at 9:44am:

And call it Kentucky Fried Chicken again?

Reply #80 - May 15th, 2020 at 10:23am

Reply #81 - May 17th, 2020 at 1:26am

Bobby. wrote on May 15th, 2020 at 9:44am:

Well, when we fire up the time machine, I will give KFC in the 1970s a go. But, for now, I can be satisfied with what I have had recently.

The chicken pieces that I have had at the servo tonight were large pieces. I suppose that they would have been the size of what KFC sold back 40 years ago.

Reply #82 - May 17th, 2020 at 7:51am

UnSubRocky wrote on May 17th, 2020 at 1:26am:
Well, when we fire up the time machine, I will give KFC in the 1970s a go. But, for now, I can be satisfied with what I have had recently.

The chicken pieces that I have had at the servo tonight were large pieces. I suppose that they would have been the size of what KFC sold back 40 years ago.

But unless it had the Colonel's secret recipe of
11 herbs and spices cooked in breadcrumbs with special batter
then it doesn't count.

Reply #83 - May 17th, 2020 at 9:13pm

Bobby. wrote on May 17th, 2020 at 7:51am:

then it doesn't count.

It was actually close enough to KFC. I probably enjoyed the snack better than I did with my recent KFC meal. But, my point was that the chicken pieces were sizable enough to probably be comparable to what KFC pieces in the 1970s were.

Reply #84 - May 17th, 2020 at 9:38pm

UnSubRocky wrote on May 17th, 2020 at 9:13pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 17th, 2020 at 7:51am:

then it doesn't count.

It was actually close enough to KFC. I probably enjoyed the snack better than I did with my recent KFC meal. But, my point was that the chicken pieces were sizable enough to probably be comparable to what KFC pieces in the 1970s were.

I had some KFC tonight.
It was good except that it's so cold in Melbourne
that the food went cold too fast.
It was still quite nice.

Reply #85 - May 18th, 2020 at 8:02am

Oily KFC is good for cleaning out one's bowels.

Reply #86 - May 18th, 2020 at 6:51pm

Jasin wrote on May 18th, 2020 at 8:02am:

Slightly off KFC will get your bowels going. Oily KFC seems to get your bowels to hold back your bowel movements for a good 24 hours. Then there is a rush of a need to go do number 2.

Reply #87 - May 18th, 2020 at 8:09pm

UnSubRocky wrote on May 18th, 2020 at 6:51pm:
Jasin wrote on May 18th, 2020 at 8:02am:

Slightly off KFC will get your bowels going. Oily KFC seems to get your bowels to hold back your bowel movements for a good 24 hours. Then there is a rush of a need to go do number 2.

Strictly speaking, all KFC is slightly off.

It's pieces of decaying chicken carcasses.

Reply #88 - May 18th, 2020 at 11:17pm

Can you people please not wreck a food thread by talking about faeces?

Reply #89 - May 19th, 2020 at 7:41am

KFC once gave me such a rotten bowel motion that it came out all green-like. WTF!? Shocked Felt like a calf-muscle cramp in my bowels that could only be relieved by a dump on the side of the road that looked like Road Kill.

Reply #90 - May 19th, 2020 at 7:38pm

Jasin wrote on May 19th, 2020 at 7:41am:
KFC once gave me such a rotten bowel motion that it came out all green-like. WTF!? Shocked Felt like a calf-muscle cramp in my bowels that could only be relieved by a dump on the side of the road that looked like Road Kill.

I think I starved myself for 12 hours (after breakfast) until dinner. After having a decent meal, I settled down to watch a bit of television. I was interrupted by the real need to get to the toilet fast. I think it was a mixture of watery dung and fat cells. Is that what you mean?

Reply #91 - May 19th, 2020 at 8:02pm

Bobby. wrote on May 18th, 2020 at 11:17pm:
Can you people please not wreck a food thread by talking about faeces?

I've reported the faeces posts to a Gmod.
It's totally inappropriate on a Food thread.

Reply #92 - May 19th, 2020 at 10:34pm

KFC as a food is a level above a Wet Market.
But at least they make good clever funny adverts lately.