Something stylish and well finished.

Re: New tools
Reply #1 - May 15th, 2016 at 10:31am

What sort of tools are you talking about?

Spanners
Socket Sets
Electric/Battery Drill
Electric Saw
Woodworking Tools
Screw Drivers
Shifters
Hammers
Garden Tools
Whippers Snipper
Blower/Vacuum

Sorry I didnt read you post properly

Quality spanners = Stahlwille - German made - slim construction - very expensive

Reply #2 - May 15th, 2016 at 11:04am

here's a beaut one you can use in the garden

Reply #3 - May 16th, 2016 at 7:25pm

I've just purchased a router, jigsaw and two wood clamps for my birthday a couple of weeks back.. '

I'm in the throws of modifying one of my bee boxes to accept flowhive frames and to have a viewing window...

got some finishing to do.. waiting for Perspex, some nobs and a couple of other small things and i'll be done Smiley

Reply #4 - May 16th, 2016 at 7:58pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 7:25pm:
I've just purchased a router, jigsaw and two wood clamps for my birthday a couple of weeks back.. '

I'm in the throws of modifying one of my bee boxes to accept flowhive frames and to have a viewing window...

got some finishing to do.. waiting for Perspex, some nobs and a couple of other small things and i'll be done Smiley

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/20160515_164100_resized.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/20160515_164126_resized.jpg

Son of a good golfing mate of mine owns/runs a pretty big national business catering for specific perspex (plastics) needs, so if you have trouble getting what you want, let me know.

Reply #5 - May 16th, 2016 at 9:01pm

Aussie wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 7:58pm:

Son of a good golfing mate of mine owns/runs a pretty big national business catering for specific perspex (plastics) needs, so if you have trouble getting what you want, let me know.

no worries aussie..

Ive got 2 pieces of Perspex off ebay for $7 each delivered.. 300mm x 210mm

I also have 15 knobs coming in from china for $6.68 delivered..  Smiley

Reply #6 - May 16th, 2016 at 10:23pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 9:01pm:

no worries aussie..

Well, you sure don't need me or that son of my mate!!

(What's a knob?)

Reply #7 - May 16th, 2016 at 10:53pm

Aussie wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 10:23pm:
(What's a knob?)

Mechanic

Reply #8 - May 16th, 2016 at 11:22pm

ooooooohhhhhhh, a router !!

That never occurred to me

Reply #9 - May 17th, 2016 at 6:52am

1. Anything made of metal - don't buy from China.

Drill bits, slot-head and phillip-head screws, chisels, punches, wood-plane blades, files etc.

They 'dilute' good metal down just like dairy farmers used to water down their milk until the law caught up with them. Better to spend triple the 'Made in China' price for some good Solingen steel tools.

2. If you can - go to garage sales and antique shops to see if there are any tools from the old days when lots of carbon was added to the melt to make edge-cutting tools almost unbluntable and un-bendable.

It was only last week that I arrived just a little too late at a garage sale to buy some old fashioned tools that would have been a tradie's pride and joy.

My best luck was when I visited an antiques shop that had only just opened. I was happy as a pig in shi mud when I discovered they had a box full of old-style tools made of high-carbon steel. I think I started ululating, but don't quote me - it might have been the shopkeeper instead when he saw me pull out my wallet with GREED written all over my face.

3. DON'T buy anything that has plastic in its working parts or where any stress may be brought to bear. This is another trick the Made in China crowd are trying to foist on us to maximise profits for their cheap-to-make garbage. Plastic can hold up quite well in temperate climate zones, but definitely not in mainland Australia. The sun breaks the molecules down within a couple of years.

4. Screw-drivers of whichever type - NEVER buy from China where grossly inferior metals are dipped in a gold-coloured paint to make them look like quality products.

5. Sets of ring-spanners .... again, the rule is don't buy from China.

etc.

And lastly - DON'T ever take your best tools to work - You can guarantee that one, some, or all of them will be stolen by one of the arseholes you work with.

Reply #10 - May 17th, 2016 at 9:41pm

Ashley juliar Mc hammer

Reply #11 - May 17th, 2016 at 9:44pm

Aussie wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 10:23pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 16th, 2016 at 9:01pm:

no worries aussie..

Well, you sure don't need me or that son of my mate!!

(What's a knob?)

Stops ya hand slipping off

Reply #12 - May 18th, 2016 at 7:16am

Oh yes, and when you go to Bunnings and ask one of their retired Tradies in the red shirts where they keep a certain tool - if instead of him immediately telling you where you can find them he instead asks you what you need it for, and then starts lecturing you about how to use it - just drop him there and then.

And then ask someone else and repeat the process until finally one of the assistants doesn't treat you like you're a village idiot.

I asked for a glass-cutter for a 1cm thick pane of glass last week. It was a simple request. It wasn't a trick question. After 5 minutes of incessant interrogation from him I dropped him on the cold concrete with a left-jab followed up by a knee to the groin and then rounded off with a right-hook to the jaw that required re-setting with titanium wiring and screws.  Cool

Next time I need to know where something is kept I'll start off by saying ... "This is NOT 'Undercover Boss' - and it's NOT a trick question, and this is NOT a test of your knowledge as a white-haired retired Tradie .... I just simply want to know where you keep the chisels".

"Chisels? Certainly sir. What do you nee .... "

Kapowww!. No need to wait for him to finish his sentence.
« Last Edit: May 18th, 2016 at 7:23am by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #13 - May 18th, 2016 at 6:56pm

i'd also like a belt sander..

and one of those paint rollers that you see on TV that you fill with paint on the inside of the roller so that you can just keep painting...

Reply #14 - May 18th, 2016 at 8:00pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 18th, 2016 at 6:56pm:
i'd also like a belt sander..

and one of those paint rollers that you see on TV that you fill with paint on the inside of the roller so that you can just keep painting...

I bought a belt sander a while ago from trade tools.
Very good shop that.

It's  renegade sander , excellent.