cars we had (Read 7021 times)

cars we had
Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:36am

I used to have a Morris 1300.
It was quite good. I lived in a colder climate then and this would heat up quickly, so the heater worked within about 4 kms. That was good.

The dizzy was right at the front of the engine bay facing forward. Any rain coming in the front of the car would get in there and stop the car.
I screwed an ice cream container on the inside of the grill to protect the dizzy. Was ok after that.

Cheap to run, sort of like a chatty amiable friend, reliable, good heater in a cold wet climate.
Good memories.

Marla

I really hate you

Colorado
Re: cars we had
Reply #1 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:09am

My first car ever was a 1968 Ford Mustang (although nowhere near as pristine as the one shown here). Was a great car for having well over 180,000 miles, a leaking front transmission seal and having gone through about 3 radiators.

After college I acquired a used 2003 Mercedes SLK 320. It was a reliable car if by reliable you don't mind paying well over $400 when the starter goes out.

Nowadays I'm leasing a 2014 Chevy Malibu. Yes, leasing. Never will I buy a GM product. Point A Point B - gets me there and back.

I am a kid in the nuthouse. I am a kid in the psycho zone. Psycho Therapy I am going to burglarize your home.

Reply #2 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:12am

Ford Escort panel van, although mine was a canary yellow

Fun times were had. My record was 13 girls in the back ... good night that was Wink.
Great little run around. Easy to work on. Blew the automatic box within 3 months so converted it to a manual and taught myself to drive manual.

Wolseley

Reply #3 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:39am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:36am:
The dizzy was right at the front of the engine bay facing forward. Any rain coming in the front of the car would get in there and stop the car.

I screwed an ice cream container on the inside of the grill to protect the dizzy. Was ok after that.

Or spray some WD40 on the inside and outside of the cap - essential equipment for a FWD BMC car.
« Last Edit: Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:53am by Wolseley »  

Wolseley

Reply #4 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:54am

First off, my father’s cars that I drove:

The first car I ever drove was a 1949 Jowett Javelin.  I wasn’t old enough to drive on a public road then, so it was in a shopping centre car park (St Ives Village) on a Sunday, in the days when all the shops were closed (no Sunday opening then for all but a few such as small corner shops and newsagents).

Learnt to drive and subsequently drove a Mark I Austin 1800, then:

Holden Premier (HT).

Audi Fox.

Ford Escort Ghia

And my own cars:

1975 Holden Gemini (TX)

1990 Mitsubishi Magna (TP) and, currently:

2014 Skoda Octavia and 1962 Wolseley 15/60.

(and, on a 5 month trip to the UK in 1975, a 1962 Ford Consul Cortina - the one with a 1200cc engine)

Reply #5 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:36am

My first car was a Standard 10.
I could hardly keep it on the road at 100km/hr -
it was a shocking car:

Wolseley

Reply #6 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:54am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:36am:
I could hardly keep it on the road at 100km/hr

Not exactly surprising.  Its maximum speed when new was 69 m.p.h.

Reply #7 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 10:00am

Wolseley wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:54am:

Yes - true - it had loose steering.
It was still fun to drive around town at low speed.

Reply #8 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 10:02am

I learned to drive in one of these.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #9 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 10:53am

I learned to drive in one of these

and my first car was

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Phemanderac

Reply #10 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:16pm

Here is the Car that I officially learnt to drive in (did a few unofficial miles in a Vauxhaul Viva, VW beetle and the odd paddock basher). Not that exact car, but right make and model and base paint colour. Ours had the black vinyl roof as well. My older brother still owns it today - Dad bought it brand new in '69. Fond memories of that old beastie.

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

"They're not rules as such, more like guidelines" Pirates of the Caribbean..

Reply #11 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:19pm

http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/uploads/cars/morris/2463226.jpg

It was quite good. I lived in a colder climate then and this would heat up quickly, so the heater worked within about 4 kms. That was good.

Cheap to run, sort of like a chatty amiable friend, reliable, good heater in a cold wet climate.
Good memories.

What is a dizzy?

Phemanderac

Reply #12 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:29pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:19pm:
http://www.carandclassic.co.uk/uploads/cars/morris/2463226.jpg

Good memories.

What is a dizzy?

Distributer Cap Aussie, the thing that the leads plug into the top of. Basically, electrics, so as you can imagine, water and electrics do not good bed fellows make.

I thought the ice cream container idea was a pretty good innovation.

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

"They're not rules as such, more like guidelines" Pirates of the Caribbean..

Reply #13 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:33pm

Never heard it called a 'dizzy.'  Anyone else?

Reply #14 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:45pm

My favourite car, a Saab 95.

Reply #15 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:56pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:33pm:

Really old term for a distributor

Believe it or not I was out with my missus yesterday in the Canberra pouring rain and saw an old mini on the side of the road and I said to her I wonder if his distributor has gotten water in it. Then explained the history as mentioned previously

Reply #16 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:00pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 3:56pm:

I'll see if my mechanics know of it.

Wolseley

Reply #17 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:22pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 10:00am:
Wolseley wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 9:54am:

Yes - true - it had loose steering.
It was still fun to drive around town at low speed.

Steering on the Standard 8, 10 and Pennant was by a Burman worm and nut system, a rather vague and imprecise mechanism, even when new, which had you constantly having to correct the path you were taking.  Those 1950s movies, where the actor who was supposedly driving moves the wheel from side to side while maintaining a straight course, were not far from reality.

The Morris Minor, with its rack and pinion steering, was much more of a "driver's car".

Wolseley

Reply #18 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:23pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:00pm:

If they don't, I'd be looking for new mechanics.

Reply #19 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:25pm

Then I drove one of these.

Currently, I drive one of these.

Reply #20 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:38pm

Wolseley wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:23pm:

The term 'dizzy'.....not the item.

Reply #21 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:43pm

Wolseley

Reply #22 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:49pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:38pm:

If they don't know what it's called, I would seriously doubt their ability to fix one.

Reply #23 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:54pm

Wolseley wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:49pm:
Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:38pm:

If they don't know what it's called, I would seriously doubt their ability to fix one.

So, your position is that a mechanic is a useless dumb arse if he does not know what a 'dizzy' is, but he's okay if he knows what a distributor/cap is.

Got it.

Reply #24 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:56pm

unless you've got an original picture of a car that you used to have as far as im concerned you're full of crap....

oh.. I've got one of these.. but this picture is from google...  Cheesy

bugger off loser...

you are most likely catching the bus because you're an unemployed wannabe tossa...  Roll Eyes

Wolseley

Reply #25 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:57pm

Referring back to my earlier post (I don’t have photos of the actual cars to hand, so I’ve used ones that I found on the ’net):

Jowett Javelin:

Austin 1800:

Holden Premier:

1962 Ford Consul Cortina:

Audi Fox (the one I drove was a four door car, not the two door one in the photo):

Ford Escort Ghia

Holden Gemini:

Mitsubishi Magna:

2014 Skoda Octavia:

1962 Wolseley 15/60:

Reply #26 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:05pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 4:56pm:
unless you've got an original picture of a car that you used to have as far as im concerned you're full of crap....

bugger off loser...

you are most likely catching the bus because you're an unemployed wannabe tossa...  Roll Eyes

Spoil Sport! Grin

You aren't allowed to post PERSONAL stuff on here.  Wink

Reply #27 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:09pm

Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:05pm:

bugger off loser...

Spoil Sport! Grin

You can post as much about your own as stupidity will allow.

Reply #28 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:10pm

Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:05pm:

bugger off loser...

Spoil Sport! Grin

see my post in the food forum...  Wink

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1428134917

Reply #29 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:15pm

bugger off loser...

Apart from that first escort panel van, I don't think i've ever taken a photo of my car, at least not deliberately ... there may be one or two shots with a car in the backgrounds although I can't guarantee it

as for the photo of the panel van, its in one of about 7 photo albums in the bottom of a cupboard .... fvvcked if I know which one and doubly fvvcked if you think I'm going to look for it and then go to the trouble of scanning it and posting it on here just for your benefit.

Wolseley

Reply #30 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:20pm

bugger off loser...

Do you seriously expect everyone to have a digital photo, ready to post, of every car they have driven?  I’ve had my licence for 45 years, so that’s not really possible, plus I don’t think everyone would have taken a photograph of every single car they have had.

OK then.  Here’s a photo of the Skoda at Bilpin a few weeks ago:

The Mitsubishi at Bathurst about 10 years ago:

And the Wolseley on Macquarie Road, Greystanes (probably taken around 2005):

The photo I have of the Jowett is an old black and white one buried in a box in the garage, I don’t have photos of the Austin, Holden Premier or Audi Fox.  The photo I have of the Ford Consul Cortina is a colour slide, so I can hardly post that.  I must have a photo of the Escort somewhere, but I don’t know where.  The photos I have of the Gemini are prints in an album, which I have no intention of dismantling.
« Last Edit: Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:29pm by Wolseley »  

Reply #31 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:31pm

Mechanic is being a PITA.
Aren't you, mate?

He should post a picture of his wife and kids so we know he is telling the truth he is married. Hey? Grin

NB Posting personal stuff here gets a ban. Wink

Reply #32 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:37pm

best car I ever had was a Ford ZC Muscle Car...

while the poofs ran their souped up buzz boxes.. I ran Cubic Inches... 351c Power House...

think Vin Diesel's fast and furious 1970 Dodge Charger.... Wink

Reply #33 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:38pm

Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:31pm:
Aren't you, mate?

He should post a picture of his wife and kids so we know he is telling the truth he is married. Hey? Grin

I reckon you should find the Rules and read them.  It might help prevent you making silly mistakes.  You can post as much information about yourself as your stupidity will allow......however, you are prevented from posting personal information about other Members.  You did that....and it cost you less than I would have handed you.  You would not be here.

Reply #34 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:40pm

Wolseley wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:20pm:

bugger off loser...

Do you seriously expect everyone to have a digital photo, ready to post, of every car they have driven?  I’ve had my licence for 45 years, so that’s not really possible, plus I don’t think everyone would have taken a photograph of every single car they have had.

OK then.  Here’s a photo of the Skoda at Bilpin a few weeks ago:

http://i148.photobucket.com/albums/s36/jimjarron/Photo394.jpg

The Mitsubishi at Bathurst about 10 years ago:

http://i821.photobucket.com/albums/zz138/wolseleynsw/MM/p.jpg

And the Wolseley on Macquarie Road, Greystanes (probably taken around 2005):

http://i821.photobucket.com/albums/zz138/wolseleynsw/members%20cars/jimjarron15_...

The photo I have of the Jowett is an old black and white one buried in a box in the garage, I don’t have photos of the Austin, Holden Premier or Audi Fox.  The photo I have of the Ford Consul Cortina is a colour slide, so I can hardly post that.  I must have a photo of the Escort somewhere, but I don’t know where.  The photos I have of the Gemini are prints in an album, which I have no intention of dismantling.

being an old fart I wouldn't expect you to have digital tech.. obviously...  Roll Eyes

but hey... Welcome to the 21st century  Smiley

take a digital picture of your Black and Whites etc..

if you can...

durr..   Roll Eyes

Reply #35 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:41pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:38pm:
Neferti wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:31pm:
Aren't you, mate?

I reckon you should find the Rules and read them.  It might help prevent you making silly mistakes.  You can post as much information about yourself as your stupidity will allow......however, you are prevented from posting personal information about other Members.  You did that....and it cost you less than I would have handed you.  You would not be here.

Neferti  has all the excuse in the book...

put up or shut up Neferti ...  Roll Eyes

Wolseley

Reply #36 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:04pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:40pm:
being an old fart

Thank you for the description of yourself.

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 5:40pm:
take a digital picture of your Black and Whites etc..

If there was any real need for me to do so, I would, although scanning them would make more sense that photographing them.  In fact, I have been doing so with a number of my photographs over the last year or so.  The only thing is that I would have well in excess of a thousand photos, so I am only scanning the ones I particularly want to do at this stage.  The photographs that these cars appear in are pretty low on my priority when it comes to the scanning of all my photos.

Reply #37 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:15pm

ZC Fairlane... before they started going "plastic"

real men build their own motors.. Wink

351 Cleveland
Red Terror roller rockers
Race Cam
edelbrock manifold
high compression pistons
motor balanced for high revs
High Stall torque converter
Quick silver shifter
two pack paint
billet alloy wheels
four barrel Holley's until the change to dual straight gas carbs..
electronic "dizzy"
tuned extractors..

man... that thing flew like the wind...  Smiley

Reply #38 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:20pm

cars I wish I could have kept..

HX Monaro and my LX hatch back Torana (with hatch hutch)

Reply #39 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:21pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:15pm:

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/Car2.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car%203.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car%2021.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/motor.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/interior.jpg

351 Cleveland
Race Cam
edelbrock manifold
high compression pistons
Quick silver shifter
two pack paint
billet alloy wheels
electronic "dizzy"
tuned extractors..

goodness gwacious me.
I bet it sounded gorgeous.

Reply #40 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:23pm

other cars of mention... ZC Fairlane in blue to the right

1989 Camry and 1971 XY

Reply #41 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:24pm

first car ever..

69 mini ( I think ) and 1972 HQ Ute Smiley

Reply #42 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:28pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:21pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:15pm:

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/Car2.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car%203.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/car%2021.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/motor.jpg

http://i978.photobucket.com/albums/ae269/oldpom/interior.jpg

351 Cleveland
Race Cam
edelbrock manifold
high compression pistons
Quick silver shifter
two pack paint
billet alloy wheels
electronic "dizzy"
tuned extractors..

goodness gwacious me.
I bet it sounded gorgeous.

the power would come on and didn't stop except for the slight change in revs when it hit the next gear...

it was unbelievable.. it was just a motor that clicked and everything balanced out right...

that HX Monaro up above had a 350 Chev... but it wasn't a shadow on the Fairlane and the Ford 351c...

but I didn't build the 350.... whoever did, didn't get it right..

have a listen to this charger and you'll get an idea of what this Cleveland sounded and ran like..

mind you.. my clevelend wouldn't match the chargers power..

« Last Edit: Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:35pm by President Elect, The Mechanic »  

Reply #43 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:53pm

mechanic - Now, that is memories.

I live in a petrol head zone and every now and then hear a big V8 motor that 'growls, hisses and snarls.'
They make me think of an angry bear.

Reply #44 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:57pm

Ive owned a few cars, never thought to take a photo of any one of them. Had a HK holden, one of those old Valiants with the wheel hump in the boot, a HQ Holden, Old 250 Ford sedan, Chrysler Sigma, quite a few utes.

Reply #45 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 7:29pm

Ah, I recall I had an old EH holden.
Good car. 186 engine, hydramatic.

Reply #46 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:05pm

best car I ever owned that HK Holden. Red 161 motor.

Reply #47 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:18pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:53pm:
mechanic - Now, that is memories.

I live in a petrol head zone and every now and then hear a big V8 motor that 'growls, hisses and snarls.'
They make me think of an angry bear.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/B6GU5IeCAAEJOJD.jpg

you just can't beat CIs...  Smiley

Reply #48 - Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:21pm

rhino wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 6:57pm:
Ive owned a few cars, never thought to take a photo of any one of them. Had a HK holden, one of those old Valiants with the wheel hump in the boot, a HQ Holden, Old 250 Ford sedan, Chrysler Sigma, quite a few utes.

an army mate of mine had a HK... we'd ride in it every third week to work when it was his turn to drive out to Puckapunyal...

a dark brown with a white roof... always admired that car but never owned one... rode real nice (soft), and enough power to keep it rolling with an ever reliable Red Six...  Smiley

Marla

I really hate you

Colorado
Reply #49 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 1:38am

The only Holden I ever saw in person was at a car show. Early 70's model by the looks of it.

I am a kid in the nuthouse. I am a kid in the psycho zone. Psycho Therapy I am going to burglarize your home.

Reply #50 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 7:21am

I learned to drive by renting one of these in Rome using my US motorcycle license. Getting out of the city was like flying among Kamikaze planes.

Reply #51 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 8:43am

issuevoter wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 7:21am:
I learned to drive by renting one of these in Rome using my US motorcycle license. Getting out of the city was like flying among Kamikaze planes.

that's one way to learn to drive, and one city I won't drive in. Drivers in Rome are just plain crazy.

I heard a stat. many years ago that a new car in Rome takes an average of about 4hrs from driving it out of the lot to getting a scratch or a dent.

Reply #52 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 9:05am

Marla wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 1:38am:
The only Holden I ever saw in person was at a car show. Early 70's model by the looks of it.

the  Pre 2006 Pontiac GTO is a re-badged Holden, same with the Chevrolet SS (2012)

GM has been selling Holdens in the US for eons

Reply #53 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 10:17am

Green Swines Vehicle

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #54 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 12:28pm

Learnt in a 4 door Datsun 120Y.

First car a beaten up '69 MGB that I slowly did up and then wrote off in a big  way.

Smashed a borrowed 3 day old Suzuki 800 Hatch a month later - straight through a stop sign and into the side of a hotted up 70's Falcon - both were written off.

Had a bright yellow '73? HQ Monaro while I owned the MGB but didn't like it and traded it after 6 weeks for a '69 Ford Capri V6.
Smashed the Capri a couple of months after smashing the Suzuki.

Less than one year after getting off my Ps and a rather angry magistrate took my license off me.

I've mainly had motorcycles as my main form of transport since.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

Reply #55 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 12:50pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:21pm:

an army mate of mine had a HK... we'd ride in it every third week to work when it was his turn to drive out to Puckapunyal...

a dark brown with a white roof... always admired that car but never owned one... rode real nice (soft), and enough power to keep it rolling with an ever reliable Red Six...  Smiley

What years were you there?

Reply #56 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 2:07pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 12:50pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Apr 18th, 2015 at 8:21pm:

What years were you there?

1991 to 2001

I spent the first year living in Seymour... Martindale Crs and then shifted out to Puckapunyal where we lived in Peronne St ...

Reply #57 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 2:38pm

I learned to drive in an AP6 Valiant ute with 3 on the column in the late 1960s.

First car - 1958 FC Holden (a paddock-basher).

First DECENT car - 1956 Vauxhall Velox, bought 1977  because I got sick of riding my
motorcycle to work for wet early-morning (5.30am) starts in winter.

Since then I've owned several Holdens, EK (2), EJ (2), HD, HR (2), HT, and a number
of Fords, XM, XT, XA, XB and 3 Fairlanes (2 x ZB and 1 x ZG 351).

And another Velox, this time a 1952.

There have also been a few 'odd ones' such as a 1936 Chevy, 1960 Hillman s/w, 1960
Humber Super Snipe (VERY nice!) and probably a few more that I've forgotten...  Tongue Shocked Shocked

For much of that time, I also continued to ride motorcycles.

Here's the XA and a couple of the Fairies...

« Last Edit: Apr 19th, 2015 at 6:32pm by Kat »  

Reply #58 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 3:24pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 12:28pm:

First car a beaten up '69 MGB that I slowly did up and then wrote off in a big  way.

Smashed a borrowed 3 day old Suzuki 800 Hatch a month later - straight through a stop sign and into the side of a hotted up 70's Falcon - both were written off.

Had a bright yellow '73? HQ Monaro while I owned the MGB but didn't like it and traded it after 6 weeks for a '69 Ford Capri V6.

Less than one year after getting off my Ps and a rather angry magistrate took my license off me.

after crashing all those cars you swapped to bikes? have you a death wish? Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Life_goes_on

Reply #59 - Apr 19th, 2015 at 4:06pm

John Smith wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 3:24pm:
Life_goes_on wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 12:28pm:

after crashing all those cars you swapped to bikes? have you a death wish? Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

I'm a menace in cars. I still crash them. On a bike I take the view that it's all down to me with nobody but my self to blame if I am involved in an accident. Also that if I do have a big accident then the chances are I won't walk away like I have done previously with cars.

Num num num num.

Marla

I really hate you

Colorado
Reply #60 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 1:48am

John Smith wrote on Apr 19th, 2015 at 9:05am:

Have they? I've never see one on the road.

Reply #61 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 6:28am

I never saw a Holden in the States. The closest was Trinidad in the West Indies.

Reply #62 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 8:08am

Marla wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 1:48am:

they re badge them

Resolute

Reply #63 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 9:58am

Yes

Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.

Winston Churchill

Reply #64 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:16am

John Smith wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 8:08am:

they re badge them

Pontiac GTO

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pontiac_GTO#2006

Reply #65 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:55am

Redmond Neck wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:16am:
John Smith wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 8:08am:

they re badge them

Pontiac GTO

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pontiac_GTO#2006

Ford Capri convertible was exported to the US as a Ford Mercury Capri.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #66 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 5:50pm

I had a Capri similar to the one above. It had a turbo, handled well. Kick arse car.

Reply #67 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:18pm

Geez, some of you people have money to burn.

Lionel Edriess

Reply #68 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:53pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:18pm:

The word is 'had', not 'have'. It's the 'lucky' ones who still possess them.

These were vehicles one could (almost) afford on a single wage - and almost all of them were second-hand.

It's 40 years since I bought my first new car. I haven't bought one since.

"Money to burn"?

Shocked

Toughen up, Australia!

Reply #69 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:58pm

Lionel Edriess wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:53pm:
UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 10:18pm:

The word is 'had', not 'have'. It's the 'lucky' ones who still possess them.

These were vehicles one could (almost) afford on a single wage - and almost all of them were second-hand.

It's 40 years since I bought my first new car. I haven't bought one since.

"Money to burn"?

Shocked

I find the youth of today have no idea about wealth, Lionel.  It's most disappointing.   Roll Eyes

Life_goes_on

Reply #70 - Apr 20th, 2015 at 11:19pm

I think a lot of us look back on cars we owned years ago with very rose tinted glasses.

Num num num num.

Marla

I really hate you

Colorado
Reply #71 - Apr 21st, 2015 at 6:55am

I'm talking old school Holden not retooled GM's for Under The Milky Way land

That car has "SUBURBAN" written all over it.

Reply #72 - Apr 21st, 2015 at 7:41am

Life_goes_on wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 11:19pm:
I think a lot of us look back on cars we owned years ago with very rose tinted glasses.

I certainly do

Reply #73 - Apr 21st, 2015 at 2:54pm

Well, when you watch old television shows, the use of those cars at the time seemed appropriate to the stage. Even the 1980s show "The Wonder Years" did a great job making vintage cars seem brand new to a later audience. I know the idea was that, in the 1960s, the cars WERE brand new. But they just seemed so fresh to modern eyes.

Life_goes_on

Reply #74 - Apr 21st, 2015 at 3:59pm

That MGB I had felt like a proper sports car back then.

I suspect that a 5 year old Nissan Micra would both outperform and out handle it - even if the MGB was in as new condition.

Leaving style aside, the cars we can buy now are the best we've ever been offered.

Num num num num.

Reply #75 - Apr 22nd, 2015 at 12:59pm

Resolute wrote on Apr 20th, 2015 at 9:58am:

Yes

How's about a 'Maggie'? (Magneto ignition, found on older vehicles, no 'dizzy', battery or coil needed).

Or a 'Genny'? (Generator charging system - older cars used these instead of an alternator).

Resolute

Reply #76 - Apr 22nd, 2015 at 1:10pm

Yes, heard the term "genny" and "Maggie".

My first car was an old Sunbeam Alpine.......more rust on it than paint but it was my pride and joy. And flat out approx 103 mph, the petrol gauge moved quicker than the speedo.....lol

Socialism is a philosophy of failure, the creed of ignorance, and the gospel of envy, its inherent virtue is the equal sharing of misery.

Winston Churchill

gone

somewhere
Reply #77 - Apr 23rd, 2015 at 4:10pm

I never owned one but it was great fun being a passenger in my chldhood. 

Citroën 2CV "Deux Chevaux" (two horses)

In the 1930's Citroën director Pierre-Jules Boulanger has given engineer André Lefèbvre the following assignment:

"Desgin a car that can carry 2 farmers with boots plus a centner of potatoes or a small barrel of wine. It must drive at least 60km/h and use no more than 3L / 100km. It must be capable to drive on the worst tracks and easy enough to be operated by an inexperienced woman. It must have a fantastic suspension, capable to drive across a ploughed field carrying a basket full of eggs without breaking them. It doesn't matter how it looks like".

It went into production in 1948 and became a legend. Over 5 million were built, the last one in 1990. It had a 2 cylinder 4 stroke boxer engine with FWD. From 1960 to 1971 they made 4x4's in limited numbers.

Marla

I really hate you

Colorado
Reply #78 - Apr 24th, 2015 at 4:54am

gone wrote on Apr 23rd, 2015 at 4:10pm:
I never owned one but it was great fun being a passenger in my chldhood. 

Citroën 2CV "Deux Chevaux" (two horses)

https://web2.ph.utexas.edu/~yue/CapeTwn/Citroen2CV.jpg

What a cute little clown car.