Forum Home Album HelpSearch Recent Rules LoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Need job advice (Read 2871 times)
pete98

Australian Politics

Need job advice
Mar 26th, 2015 at 3:05pm

I don't know if this is the wrong place to post this, but if it is then apologies.

Okay, so I'm really struggling to find a job at the moment. I'm still in school and I've been applying to new places weekly, sometimes daily, for over six months now and I've I haven't gotten anything.

I've been applying to places such as Coles, IGA, JB-HI-FI, EB Games, Pizza Hut, Dominoes, and other smaller business and I get turned away every time.

I don't have much on my resume. Some work experience at my dads business and some volunteer work is it. However, some employers have told me straight out that my lack of experience isn't a problem (I mean, who needs experience to stack shelves?) but it's just that they're not hiring.

I'm not sure where I'm going wrong. Is it really that hard for a teenager to get a job nowadays?

Advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

IP Logged

John Smith
Gold Member

Australian Politics

Re: Need job advice
Reply #1 - Mar 26th, 2015 at 3:08pm

What area are you in?

sending in application forms, letters etc doesn't really work ...

you need to get out and knock on doors, all sorts of doors. Even in places where you don't know what they do or sell ... as long as you're keen, they'll be willing to train you. And don't let secretaries fob you off ... ask that you speak to the managers

Our esteemed leader:
I hope that bitch who was running their brothels for them gets raped with a cactus.

IP Logged

greggerypeccary
Gold Member

Australian Politics

Reply #2 - Mar 26th, 2015 at 3:17pm

IP Logged

pete98

Australian Politics

Reply #3 - Mar 26th, 2015 at 3:19pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 26th, 2015 at 3:08pm:
What area are you in?

sending in application forms, letters etc doesn't really work ...