Poll Poll
Question: What do YOU think of Kat's idea 2 beat joblessness?

« Created by: Kat on: Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:11pm »

Kat's Plan to Create a Job for Himself. (Read 958 times)

Kat's Plan to Create a Job for Himself.
Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:15pm

Just been chatting to a mate and a couple of neighbours about what I should do with the mowers
bikes and whippa-snippas I have kicking around the place. Normally, I repair or refurbish them one
at a time, then take them to the Men's Shed to sell 'on consignment'. This works well enough, but
getting the stuff there is a hassle without a ute, and because they let me sell there, I sling them a
percentage (usually around 20-30%, depending on value) of what I make on each item. But I'd
rather keep that 20-30% in MY pocket if at all possible (as would most people).

Anyway, realistically, not much chance of getting a decent full-time job at my age and in the current
economic climate (there's always the cas. painting  and tiling, but worsening arthritis in the knees
will put paid to that soon), so I've been thinking seriously of doing this sort of thing as a bit of a
part-time 'home business' out of my shed. I'd been a bit leery of doing this previously as I had the
knowledge to do so, but not the 'paper qualifications', and didn't want to be known as 'just another
shonky unqualified backyarder'. That's no longer an issue, so I've decided to give it a 'go' and see
what happens.

Nothing flash, and not full-time. Just a couple of bikes and a mower/whippa-snippa or two on the
front lawn each weekend with a couple of signs, basically an every-weekend 'garage sale'. I could
also take on a few repair jobs as well, as many 'professional' repairers don't really want to do the
older stuff any more.

This weekend will be a kind of 'trial run' with a small selection only, just to gauge the response (if
any). I've printed-up a couple of flyers to put on the local community noticeboards in the  2 malls
and will advertise on the local radio station's free 'Buy, Swap & Sell' segment on Saturday morning
as well (if I can get through).

I'm quite looking forward to seeing what response (if any) I get. I'm not expecting a miracle, but if
I get a few enquiries and maybe make a sale or two, who knows? The worst thing that can happen
is that no-one comes and nothing sells, but that's business. And everyone has to start somewhere.
If it's a success (or looks like it may be), I'll do it each weekend, if it's a failure I've lost nothing but
a bit of my time.

I currently have approximately 10 bikes of various sizes, four lawn-mowers (2 x 2-stroke, both are
Victas, and 2 x 4-stroke, both with catchers) and six whippa-snippas in stock, and can acquire more
stock relatively easily and at very reasonable cost.

Shown below is one of the bikes I have for sale, a 20" Schwinn girl's bike. It's in virtually-new con-
dition and has now been fully-serviced. A bargain for an 8-12 year old girl at only $40.00 ride-away.

I'm only too aware that the usual trolls and knockers will have a field-day with this thread, but I'm
interested to know what do OTHERS think? Is it worth a go? Wasting my time? Good little side-line?
Excuse not to work? (sadly, I do expect that one!). Advice? Suggestions?

SANY0843a.png (178 KB | 47 )
SANY0843a.png

Re: Kat's Plan to Create a Job for Himself.
Reply #1 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:20pm

Good Luck - really nice little bike.

Reply #2 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:42pm

Some of the bikes and whippa-snippas, and a couple of the mowers.

No, they haven't all been serviced/refurbed yet, but they're getting there.

Untitled-1a_002.png (189 KB | 48 )
Untitled-1a_002.png

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #3 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:47pm

Great idea. You could also try putting an ad on Gumtree and seeing if your local area has a Facebook page for selling stuff. Good luck with it, Kat.

I can't do this, but I'm doing it anyway.

Reply #4 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:08pm

Good on you Kat ... best of luck with it.

I was also going to suggest gumtree .... free advertising, but Annie beat me to it.

Reply #5 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:11pm

Poll added. Guests may vote. Voters have 3 minutes to delete a vote if desired.

Voting for multiple options is not available.

Reply #6 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:14pm

Just do it Kat.  It will work, and you will eventually see people turn up to your place for requests for repairs or to flog you their clapped out mower....or buy.

One slight problem.  Stay well onside with your neighbours to keep the red tape regulators away.

Reply #7 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:24pm

I vote "Good idea. Go for it." If you enjoy doing it, that is it's own reward.

Reply #8 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 9:43pm

why worry about what others think....

giving something a go doesnt mean fail if it doesnt turn out..

the worst that can happen is upset neighbours.... noise starting up mowers may be a prob...but if you mention it to  them first I think it sounds like a goer....people are getting fed up with paying $100 just for someone to look at their mower..plus parts and labor extra..

give it a go kat...

Reply #9 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 10:58pm

Good effort Kat.  Only a few sales/repairs a week makes a big difference to your hip pocket, and best of all the gubmint doesn't get their filthy paws on any of it.

Reply #10 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 5:19pm

There's a bloke near me that does up kids bikes, trikes and scooters.

Before long you'll be taking orders, like he does. He does good business from now through until Chrissy.

Good luck Kat.

Team Froggie

Reply #11 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 5:32pm

Go for it, Kat.

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #12 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 5:33pm

This is one of the mowers shown in an earlier pic.

I'd planned to do another of the whippa-snippas this arvo, but need to pick up some parts from the
Shed, so I decided to have a bit of a look at this. It was given to me by a neighbour who's recently
bought a new one.

It was a non-runner, and on closer inspection there was hardly a single bolt which was tight, even
the ones holding the motor and the blade-disc on. The oil had been over-filled. It had a brand-new
spark plug but no spark, though an old plug I had lying around worked fine. Re-tightened everything
and cleaned the 'maggie' up, put it back together, and you can see the result for yourselves.

A bit more pocket-money for Xmas, with luck...  Tongue Smiley