AND FINALLY, IT'S ALL OVER... FOR NOW. (Read 1582 times)

Re: AND FINALLY, IT'S ALL OVER... FOR NOW.
Reply #15 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 6:00pm

Kat wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 5:58pm:
Aussie wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 5:53pm:
How much?

Haven't put a firm figure on it yet, but not a whole lot.

Can't ask a fortune or they'll buy some cheap Chinese rubbish from Bunnings instead...  Sad

I need one that starts and works easily.

Reply #16 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 6:18pm

Good on you Kat, that's awesome

Reply #17 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:05pm

Kat, just sayin' that ain't a Holden 149 red motor sectioned in the OP. I hope the tech mechs didn't tell you it was. Have fun with motors!

Reply #18 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:16pm

aquascoot wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 6:18pm:

Thanks, Aqua.

Been chatting with a few people, and they reckon I should start a part-time 'business' with it.

I've been thinking about it, and have started a new thread to explain my idea and to get a bit
of feedback from other members.

You're welcome to toss your opinions/ideas into the hat as well... Tongue

New thread is HERE: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1414577715/0#0

Reply #19 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:26pm

Kat wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:16pm:

Thanks, Aqua.

Been chatting with a few people, and they reckon I should start a part-time 'business' with it.

I've been thinking about it, and have started a new thread to explain my idea and to get a bit

If you are on any Govt payments think about starting it as a hobby first, see Centrelink, as I'm pretty sure money from hobbies is not assessable.

Reply #20 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:46pm

Setanta wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:26pm:

Thanks, Aqua.

If you are on any Govt payments think about starting it as a hobby first, see Centrelink, as I'm pretty sure money from hobbies is not assessable.

Yeah, I'll have to check up on that, but I think you're correct.

And a hobby/sideline is all it will be, at first anyway, until I see how (or if) it goes.

I don't want to go through all the rigmarole (and expense) of getting a business name and ABN
if it's not going to 'take off' either.

Horse before cart, so to speak...  Wink

Reply #21 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:18pm

Kat wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:46pm:
Setanta wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:26pm:

Thanks, Aqua.

Yeah, I'll have to check up on that, but I think you're correct.

And a hobby/sideline is all it will be, at first anyway, until I see how (or if) it goes.

I don't want to go through all the rigmarole (and expense) of getting a business name and ABN
if it's not going to 'take off' either.

Horse before cart, so to speak...  Wink

Remember if you are buying them, they are your property, if you then fix them and then sell them, it's selling your property not "working for money" or running a business up to a limit. Just as you can do with cars.

Reply #22 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:51pm

Setanta wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 8:05pm:
Kat, just sayin' that ain't a Holden 149 red motor sectioned in the OP. I hope the tech mechs didn't tell you it was. Have fun with motors!

It is a 149. I just checked.

The capacity cast into the block is in cubic centimetres rather than cubic inches.

But you are correct in that it's not a Holden (and yes, I was told it was, so never
paid much detailed attention to it).

Could be Vauxhall or Opel... Now you have my curiosity aroused.
« Last Edit: Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:14am by Kat »  

cc_to_cu_in.PNG (24 KB | 46 )
cc_to_cu_in.PNG

Reply #23 - Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:58pm

Kat wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:51pm:

It is. I just checked.

The capacity cast into the block is in cubic centimetres rather than cubic inches.

Means it's a later build than the 'original' 149 engines (probably mid-seventies
or newer), but the capacity is the same.

It's not a Holden motor, grey or red. Look at the ports on the head, reds had square siamesed ports until the black fuel injected, the fuel pump is on the wrong side, grey motor had one side plate to access lifters, red had two, that has three and on the wrong side. No holden motors had the fuel pump on the same side as the manifolds. Holden motors before we went metric had the CI cast onto the block except the 179 steel crank HP block which had HP on the block. If it was a 149 it would have 149 cast on to block. It's not a 149 Holden but I'd like to know what it is.

In the early seventies they did not have 149's, they did build a 138(same ci as the second grey motor) only in Toranas as far as I know. The 149 died with the EH as far as I remember, maybe the HD. The HR had 186 and 161. That ran until HQ with 202s which were basically stroked 186's and 173's, stroked 161's.

edit: Just googled the 173 as I wasn't sure of my info on it, it wasn't a stroked 161 it still had the 3" stroke.
« Last Edit: Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:12am by Setanta »  

Reply #24 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:12am

Setanta wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:58pm:

It is. I just checked.

Means it's a later build than the 'original' 149 engines (probably mid-seventies

It's not a Holden motor, grey or red. Look at the ports on the head, reds had square siamesed ports until the black fuel injected, the fuel pump is on the wrong side, grey motor had one side plate to access lifters, red had two, that has three. No holden motors had the fuel pump on the same side as the manifolds. Holden motors before we went metric had the CI cast onto the block except the 179 steel crank HP block which had HP on the block. If it was a 149 it would have 149 cast on to block. It's not a 149 Holden but I'd like to know what it is.

In the early seventies they did not have 149's, they did build a 138(same ci as the second grey motor) only in Toranas as far as I know. The 149 died with the EH.

I was busily editing my post to encompass new info.

As you'll see if you go back and re-read it. It's a shame that posts aren't 'suspended' when being
edited, so people can't comment on a post that, in all likelihood, will be completely different (as
this one was).

I don't need a lecture on the history of early Holden engines, I'm well aware of it, and was initially
doubtful of the idea that it was Holden, it was certainly not an early one but I don't know the later
ones well. I commented based on what I was told. not my fault it was wrong info.

And yes, I'd be curious to know what it actually is. No point going back and asking them, if they
didn't know in the first place.

I'm leaning towards something GM-based, tho.

Reply #25 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:16am

Kat wrote on Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:12am:
Setanta wrote on Oct 29th, 2014 at 11:58pm:

It is. I just checked.

It's not a Holden motor, grey or red. Look at the ports on the head, reds had square siamesed ports until the black fuel injected, the fuel pump is on the wrong side, grey motor had one side plate to access lifters, red had two, that has three. No holden motors had the fuel pump on the same side as the manifolds. Holden motors before we went metric had the CI cast onto the block except the 179 steel crank HP block which had HP on the block. If it was a 149 it would have 149 cast on to block. It's not a 149 Holden but I'd like to know what it is.

In the early seventies they did not have 149's, they did build a 138(same ci as the second grey motor) only in Toranas as far as I know. The 149 died with the EH.

I was busily editing my post to encompass new info.

As you'll see if you go back and re-read it. It's a shame that posts aren't 'suspended' when being
edited, so people can't comment on a post that, in all likelihood, will be completely different (as
this one was).

I don't need a lecture on the history of early Holden engines, I'm well aware of it, and was initially
doubtful of the idea that it was Holden, it was certainly not an early one but I don't know the later
ones well. I commented based on what I was told. not my fault it was wrong info.

And yes, I'd be curious to know what it actually is. No point going back and asking them, if they
didn't know in the first place.

I'm leaning towards something GM-based, tho.

No probs, we all have the same problem. Smiley Sorry for my history lecture, I used to be a motor mech, I suppose I could still be but I haven't worked as that for 23 years.

It has a map of AU on the block, that is interesting. I'd love to know what it is. If you get some pics from different angles, I'm sure I'll know. The gearbox is ancient.

edit: Cam is on the wrong side for a red too. Smiley

Reply #26 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:28am

I think I do have a couple of other pics, I'll see if I can find them, they may hold a clue.

Unfortunately they're pretty crappy due to the lighting in the workshop, this was one of
the few decent ones.  Sad

Still, Photoshop can do wonders sometimes.

Reply #27 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:39am

Actually, Setanta, I think I've nailed it!

It appears to be an Austin Freeway engine from the early 1960s.

It was the word, 'MOWOG' cast into the block with the map of Aus that was the clue.

Apparently they were based on the 4-cylinder 'B-series' engines famously fitted to the MGB.

Quite possibly I'd have picked that if it hadn't been sectioned, as my brother owned an MGB
when we were young blokes and as he had no licence (too young) I used to drive it quite a
lot and so was quite familiar with it.
« Last Edit: Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:48am by Kat »  

Reply #28 - Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:59am

Kat wrote on Oct 30th, 2014 at 12:39am:
Actually, Setanta, I think I've nailed it!

It appears to be an Austin Freeway engine from the early 1960s.

It was the word, 'MOWOG' cast into the block with the map of Aus that was the clue.

Apparently they were based on the 4-cylinder 'B-series' engines famously fitted to the MGB.

Quite possibly I'd have picked that if it hadn't been sectioned, as my brother owned an MGB
when we were young blokes and as he had no licence (too young) I used to drive it quite a
lot and so was quite familiar with it.

Thumbs up Kat! I kept counting the ports trying to get 6 cyls but the sectioned ends of the head made it difficult. Now you know something your tech teachers don't.  Wink

edit: Duh for me, I should have counted the push rods rather than the ports, easier.
« Last Edit: Oct 30th, 2014 at 1:28am by Setanta »