what a bloody joke we are (Read 1197 times)

what a bloody joke we are
Jul 23rd, 2014 at 11:36am

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/kissing-cousins-and-a-beirut-bonus-arr...

TWO first cousins in an arranged­ marriage are being investigated for immigration and Centrelink fraud and rorting the baby bonus by returning to Australia from Lebanon for the births of some of their seven children.

The woman, 33, told the Federal Circuit Court sitting in Parramatta her husband also had her return several times to Australia solely to update Centrelink­ details so she could continue to get social security.

The family was receiving Family Tax benefits that in the last financial year totalled $25,265.74, despite three of their children having lived in Lebanon since 2009, Judge Joe Harman said.

“On at least two occasions (the mother) returned to Australia for a brief period purely to allow the child then carried by (her) to be born in Australia and to then receive the baby bonus then operating,” the judge said.

The Daily Telegraph
The case was before the court because the Australian-born mother is applying for the return of her three eldest children, aged 12, 10 and nine, from Lebanon and custody of all seven children.

The others are aged seven, five, three and two. The eldest live with their father’s brother and paternal grandmother in a mountain village.

The now-estranged couple wed in Lebanon in 2001 two weeks after meeting in an ­arranged marriage. They ­returned to Australia and lived for a time with their relatives — the woman’s sister is married to the man’s brother.

The husband, 39, was ­granted citizenship in 2006 in circumstances which Judge Harman said troubled him since the couple had ­decided to live in Lebanon. “It is concerning (the man’s) evidence is his citizenship was granted in 2006 at the very time when, consistent with his evidence, he had formed the desire and intention to live permanently in Lebanon and to return to Australia … solely for the purpose of earning a greater income than was available to him in Lebanon, and returning the funds to Lebanon,” the judge said. “There would appear to be, at least potentially, some anomaly as regards the eligibility requirements for citizenship at the time the application was made ... (and) whether it was obtained on the basis of full, frank and candid disclosure or otherwise.”

some know all the tricks dont they.... I bet we paid for their repatriation during the last upheaval over there. Angry

Re: what a bloody joke we are
Reply #1 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 11:38am

sorry posted in wrong forum should be general disc..

Doctor Jolly

Reply #2 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 11:43am

Who was in power in 2006 when this sort of thing was set up ?

Cliff48

Australian Politics />

Reply #3 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:06pm

A rort has been discovered and is now being addressed.

What is the point of this post?

If every rort was posted here there would be little room for anything else.  Rorts by politicians on their expenses spring to mind.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #4 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:35pm

Must be a mistake?

Ask ElGatto.  Nobody rorts Centrelink?  Cheesy

Reply #5 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:50pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:35pm:
Must be a mistake?

now you are proving your stupidity

whoever said nobody rorts centrelink?

there are rorts in every system ... especially those involving government ... people will always try to manipulate things to their advantage ...

that doesn't mean everyone in that system is a crook.

Cliff48

Australian Politics />

Reply #6 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:51pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:35pm:
Must be a mistake?

what an idiot you are!

rorts happen all the time.    Just wonder what makes a specific rort bubble to the top of this list.

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #7 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm

Cliff48 wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:51pm:
what an idiot you are!

John Smith wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 12:50pm:

Oh dear, I've gone and upset the comrades.....  Sad

Never mind, go and hug a tree fellas, that'll give you that same warm fuzzy feeling you got with your first dole cheque....

Reply #8 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm:
what an idiot you are!

Never mind, go and hug a tree fellas, that'll give you that same warm fuzzy feeling you got with your first dole cheque....

yes, run away ... i would too if I'd made such a dumb comment as yours

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #9 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:06pm

John Smith wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm:

You must be pretty fit with all that running you do Smithy.... Grin

Cliff48

Australian Politics />

Reply #10 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:44pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm:
what an idiot you are!

how childish!!!

Stratos

Reply #11 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:47pm

Swagman wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:06pm:
John Smith wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 1:00pm:

You must be pretty fit with all that running you do Smithy.... Grin

You however must have some pretty hefty calves from all that jumping to conclusions.

Pete Waldo wrote on Jan 15th, 2014 at 11:24pm:
Thus killing those Canaanite babies while they were still innocent, was a particularly merciful act

salad in

Reply #12 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 3:38pm

cods wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 11:36am:
[url]http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/kissing-cousins-and-a-beirut-bonus...

[...]

It doesn't end there. Sit down and read this.

Polygamous immigrant families to be paid more benefits after Government blunder

Extra wives will soon be able to claim full single person's benefits despite being married
    Government admits loophole will exist because of their reforms
    They do not want to recognise polygamy in any way, so treat extra wives as single, they told MailOnline

Immigrants with more than one wife will qualify for extra benefits under reforms to Britain’s welfare system, after an attempt to crack down on the problem backfired.

Polygamous marriages, largely confined to Muslim families, are only recognised in Britain if they took place in countries where they are legal.

Currently, any additional wives can receive reduced individual income support, meaning the husband and his first wife are paid up to £111.45.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2180942/Polygamous-immigrant-families-pa...

Are the Brits the only mob drinking lunatic soup? NO!

Polygamy is not permitted in Australia

Polygamous marriages entered into in jurisdictions that legally recognize and perform such unions may be legally valid in Australia for some purposes.[5][6] While the extent of benefits granted to a foreign polygamous marriage are unclear, benefits such as welfare are legally granted to each spouse and their children.[7] In addition, the polygamous marriage is recognized for the purpose of a spouse having access to the Family Court for divorce, and involving property settlement and children issues.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polygamy_in_Australia

How generous of the Australian taxpayer.

The ALP, the progressive party, the party of ideas, the workers' friend, is the only Australian political party to roast four young Australians in roof cavities. SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!

Reply #13 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 3:49pm

salad in wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 3:38pm:
cods wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 11:36am:
[url]http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/nsw/kissing-cousins-and-a-beirut-bonus...

[...]

It doesn't end there. Sit down and read this.

Polygamous immigrant families to be paid more benefits after Government blunder

Extra wives will soon be able to claim full single person's benefits despite being married
    Government admits loophole will exist because of their reforms
    They do not want to recognise polygamy in any way, so treat extra wives as single, they told MailOnline

Immigrants with more than one wife will qualify for extra benefits under reforms to Britain’s welfare system, after an attempt to crack down on the problem backfired.

Polygamous marriages, largely confined to Muslim families, are only recognised in Britain if they took place in countries where they are legal.

Currently, any additional wives can receive reduced individual income support, meaning the husband and his first wife are paid up to £111.45.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2180942/Polygamous-immigrant-families-pa...

Are the Brits the only mob drinking lunatic soup? NO!

Polygamy is not permitted in Australia

Polygamous marriages entered into in jurisdictions that legally recognize and perform such unions may be legally valid in Australia for some purposes.[5][6] While the extent of benefits granted to a foreign polygamous marriage are unclear, benefits such as welfare are legally granted to each spouse and their children.[7] In addition, the polygamous marriage is recognized for the purpose of a spouse having access to the Family Court for divorce, and involving property settlement and children issues.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polygamy_in_Australia

How generous of the Australian taxpayer.

and what complete and total drivel.

Abbott Lies

Reply #14 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 4:02pm

Wasn't the Baby Bonus a John Howard Liberal Party vote-buying scam?

Yes, perhaps Australia is a stupid country. It has voted Liberal in 5 of the last 7 elections.