Sook puppets code of conduct... (Read 2604 times)
Phemanderac

Sook puppets code of conduct...
Jul 14th, 2014 at 5:06pm

Hey, given the number of potential sook puppets floating about the place (yeah, I know they are referred to as sock puppets, but hey, sook puppets seems far more apt doncha reckon?) I thought it might be appropriate to begin starting the accepted code of conduct. Hoping this will be helpful.

The obvious stand out first few "codes" I think would need to be;

Only develop a sook puppet if you;
a) have been banned and cannot accept any level of personal responsibility for your behaviour.
b) consistently get served your arse on a platter in debate and, therefore, not being equipped to accept responsibility for your behaviour, need to commence an attack with a  new "sook puppet"...
c) are rapid cycling through a multiple personality disorder and are unable or unprepared to seek appropriate medical support and, therefore, are not prepared to accept any level of responsibility for your actions and overall well being...

There is a starting point at least...

Carry on...

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

"They're not rules as such, more like guidelines" Pirates of the Caribbean..

Team Froggie

Re: Sook puppets code of conduct...
Reply #1 - Jul 14th, 2014 at 7:32pm

d) are totally unaware that your true ID comes through after your 2nd or 3rd post, but cannot acknowledge that you should have any personal responsibility for your ignorance.

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Reply #2 - Jul 16th, 2014 at 11:56am

Some may simply feel like a change of 'nick' and make no effort whatsoever to
appear or pretend to be someone else, and in fact usually announce the change
and/or readily 'fess-up if asked. The change is usually not due to their being on
the losing end of arguments or to hide from the repercussions of inappropriate
posts or comments.

These ones tend to change 'nicks' very infrequently, and do not then alternate
between 'nicks' as a rule. I myself have done this, and I can (but won't) name
several other regulars who have done so.

I do not, however, regard this kind of nick-changing as 'using a sock' as there
is no intent to deceive as to the member's identity and the 'new' identity doesn't
usually announce itself with a series of troll posts. On the contrary, it is a quite
legitimate and reasonable change to the member's profile, nothing more.

Team Froggie

Reply #3 - Jul 16th, 2014 at 8:38pm

Kat wrote on Jul 16th, 2014 at 11:56am:
Some may simply feel like a change of 'nick' and make no effort whatsoever to
appear or pretend to be someone else, and in fact usually announce the change
and/or readily 'fess-up if asked. The change is usually not due to their being on
the losing end of arguments or to hide from the repercussions of inappropriate
posts or comments.

These ones tend to change 'nicks' very infrequently, and do not then alternate
between 'nicks' as a rule. I myself have done this, and I can (but won't) name
several other regulars who have done so.

I do not, however, regard this kind of nick-changing as 'using a sock' as there
is no intent to deceive as to the member's identity and the 'new' identity doesn't
usually announce itself with a series of troll posts. On the contrary, it is a quite
legitimate and reasonable change to the member's profile, nothing more.

Can see where you're at, Kat, but I think Phem is really on about the ones that get banned a half doz times and keep coming back with their usual flaming and associated rot.

Reply #4 - Jul 16th, 2014 at 9:52pm

Yeah, just making the point that a nick-change doesn't always mean a sock.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #5 - Jul 17th, 2014 at 6:50am

Team Froggie wrote on Jul 16th, 2014 at 8:38pm:
Can see where you're at, Kat, but I think Phem is really on about the ones that get banned a half doz times and keep coming back with their usual flaming and associated rot.

They're disruptive and offensive. They used to be recognised easily when the forum was smaller, but now they can sneak back in and make a pest of themselves for quite a while before they're caught out.

Proxies at one time were never allowed, so I'm not sure whether that rule has stopped being enforced. Some of them must use proxies.

Phemanderac

Reply #6 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 5:07pm

Funny when I started this thread I knew that it would be too challenging for some. They have not posted here...

El Gatto, I was in no way targeting people who change their nicks, and to be honest, even people with the odd sock puppet, cause sometimes that is just funny and not harmful.

Quite specifically, I use the term SOOK puppets. I think Sock puppet cops unfair negative slant, as I said, some are actually funny, however, the SOOK puppets are neither funny or appropriate.

I was firstly being somewhat flippant, however, upon reflection, realise that I was also being quite direct to those who are actually trying to circumvent a ban, or (as some of the guidelines indicate) simply unprepared to accept responsibility for the consequence of their choices to post, what they post and/or if they simply get their arses handed to them on the (debating) platter...

As it stands, this thread may well disappear into the dusty halls of the forum never to be seen again, because let's face it, the real SOOK puppets do not like guidelines, so they are certainly not going to participate in setting some up. Even if we seriously set some up, they would just set up new SOOKS in order to keep on sooking... And so it goes, around again and no one ever knows just who the real posters are (yeah, ripped Joe Jackson off a bit there...)

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

Team Froggie

Reply #7 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 5:38pm

Kat wrote on Jul 16th, 2014 at 9:52pm:
Yeah, just making the point that a nick-change doesn't always mean a sock.

Agreed....No wukkers.....

Reply #8 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:02pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jul 18th, 2014 at 5:07pm:
Funny when I started this thread I knew that it would be too challenging for some. They have not posted here...

El Gatto, I was in no way targeting people who change their nicks, and to be honest, even people with the odd sock puppet, cause sometimes that is just funny and not harmful.

Quite specifically, I use the term SOOK puppets. I think Sock puppet cops unfair negative slant, as I said, some are actually funny, however, the SOOK puppets are neither funny or appropriate.

I was firstly being somewhat flippant, however, upon reflection, realise that I was also being quite direct to those who are actually trying to circumvent a ban, or (as some of the guidelines indicate) simply unprepared to accept responsibility for the consequence of their choices to post, what they post and/or if they simply get their arses handed to them on the (debating) platter...

As it stands, this thread may well disappear into the dusty halls of the forum never to be seen again, because let's face it, the real SOOK puppets do not like guidelines, so they are certainly not going to participate in setting some up. Even if we seriously set some up, they would just set up new SOOKS in order to keep on sooking... And so it goes, around again and no one ever knows just who the real posters are (yeah, ripped Joe Jackson off a bit there...)

No worries, and I didn't take it that way. As I said to Froggie, just saying was all.

And yeah, the absence of those for whom the thread was intended is somewhat noticeable, if not unsurprising.

hermoine

Reply #9 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:40pm

Does anyone else think it's strange to have a website about political debate where contributors get banned for hurting other peoples feelings? Harden up or go back to cb radio, sooks!
l

Reply #10 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:45pm

hermoine wrote on Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:40pm:
Does anyone else think it's strange to have a website about political debate where contributors get banned for hurting other peoples feelings? Harden up or go back to cb radio, sooks!
l

it_is_the_light

Christ Light

The Pyramid of LIGHT
Reply #11 - Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:55pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jul 14th, 2014 at 5:06pm:
Hey, given the number of potential sook puppets floating about the place (yeah, I know they are referred to as sock puppets, but hey, sook puppets seems far more apt doncha reckon?) I thought it might be appropriate to begin starting the accepted code of conduct. Hoping this will be helpful.

a) have been banned and cannot accept any level of personal responsibility for your behaviour.
b) consistently get served your arse on a platter in debate and, therefore, not being equipped to accept responsibility for your behaviour, need to commence an attack with a  new "sook puppet"...
c) are rapid cycling through a multiple personality disorder and are unable or unprepared to seek appropriate medical support and, therefore, are not prepared to accept any level of responsibility for your actions and overall well being...

Carry on...

many blessings quite right !

carry on regardless ...

« Last Edit: Jul 18th, 2014 at 7:03pm by it_is_the_light »  

ॐ May Much LOVE and CHRISTS LIGHT be upon and within us all.... namasté ▲ - : )  ╰დ╮ॐ╭დ╯
it_is_the_light it_is_the_light Christ+Light Christ+Light  

Phemanderac

Reply #12 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:14pm

l

Is that one of the rules is it? I missed that one.

I think though that there are a range of other issues articulated quite clearly in the rules that may result in a ban... Perhaps it is the banned who need a cup or two of cement. After all, the SOOK puppet issue is only relevant really to those banned after all (well, and those who consistently loose the plot in a discussion...).

hermoine

Reply #13 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:53pm

By whose definition do you arrive at 'loosing' (sic) the plot, a.r.s.e hole? Yours?

Phemanderac

Reply #14 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:58pm

hermoine wrote on Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:53pm:
By whose definition do you arrive at 'loosing' (sic) the plot, a.r.s.e hole? Yours?

Nah, loosing is pretty much already well defined.

The architects of SOOK puppets though generally don't understand clear definitions though I have noticed.

Calling me names and circumventing the language filter will in no way diminish that reality though mate.

hermoine

Reply #15 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:59pm

You can always hide behind the skirts of the mods like all the other cowardly leftards.

Phemanderac

Reply #16 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 9:33pm

hermoine wrote on Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:59pm:
You can always hide behind the skirts of the mods like all the other cowardly leftards.

e)  You can always hide behind the skirts of the mods

There ya go, that made the sook puppet guidelines.

hermoine

Reply #17 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 9:42pm

'You're' definition is getting 'looser' and 'looser' by the hour.

Reply #18 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 10:41pm

l

depends on what they say now doesn't it.

Reply #19 - Jul 19th, 2014 at 10:57pm

it_is_the_light wrote on Jul 18th, 2014 at 6:55pm:
Phemanderac wrote on Jul 14th, 2014 at 5:06pm:

Carry on...

many blessings quite right !

carry on regardless ...

Master light,
the pic you have posted is so gay.

Go & live on the plant Vulcan.

forgiven

namaste

hermoine

Reply #20 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 4:57am

What abou repeatedly calling someone an idiot ot saying they're thick. Is that o.k?

Phemanderac

Reply #21 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 9:50am

OooooKay!

We have the updated list, starting to get a good solid code of conduct here...

d) are totally unaware that your true ID comes through after your 2nd or 3rd post, but cannot acknowledge that you should have any personal responsibility for your ignorance.
e)  You can always hide behind the skirts of the mods in order to take absolutely no responsibility for your actions.
f)repeatedly calling someone an idiot and saying they're thick whilst taking absolutely no responsibility for your actions.

Phemanderac

Reply #22 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 9:50am

OH and yes, I got lose and loose wrong, oh dear the sky will fall in...

hermoine

Reply #23 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 10:04am

I wasn't nit-picking, I liked it. You know, like in jazz, getting 'loose', man.

Phemanderac

Reply #24 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 10:13am

hermoine wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 10:04am:
I wasn't nit-picking, I liked it. You know, like in jazz, getting 'loose', man.

Damn, was looking for thumbs up emote (I use to have one...) ah well, please consider this a really long thumbs up emote....

It may have cut loose...

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #25 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 4:45pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jul 19th, 2014 at 1:14pm:
l

Is that one of the rules is it? I missed that one.

I think though that there are a range of other issues articulated quite clearly in the rules that may result in a ban... Perhaps it is the banned who need a cup or two of cement. After all, the SOOK puppet issue is only relevant really to those banned after all (well, and those who consistently loose the plot in a discussion...).

These people have no understanding of what a code of conduct means, so you're wasting your breath even trying to explain it. It might seem like there are half a dozen sook puppets here, but it's probably more like  two or three people using multiple nicks. 

They wreck a forum with their never ending insults and personal attacks.

They are usually the first to complain about unfair treatment.

Reply #26 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 4:58pm

hermoine wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 4:57am:
What abou repeatedly calling someone an idiot ot saying they're thick. Is that o.k?

you have a problem with the truth? ... however telling them they f#ck their mothers is going a little to far ...

but thats just my opinion

hermoine

Reply #27 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 5:15pm

I think both are equally bad. How many times have you been banned for abusing others, John?

Team Froggie

Reply #28 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 7:27pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 9:50am:
OooooKay!

e)  You can always hide behind the skirts of the mods in order to take absolutely no responsibility for your actions.
f)repeatedly calling someone an idiot and saying they're thick whilst taking absolutely no responsibility for your actions.

g) Skirting around the mods by circumventing the language filter whilst taking absolutely no responsibility for your actions.

hermoine

Reply #29 - Jul 20th, 2014 at 7:42pm

Froggie, although I understand neither demonstrate much class, which would you prefer; to be called an idiot or a f.u.c.k.w.i.t? One gets you a ban and the other...not a thing. Doesnt make sense does it?

Reply #30 - Jul 21st, 2014 at 7:37am

John Smith wrote on Jul 19th, 2014 at 10:41pm:
l

I got banned recently...

I don't know  why, I didn't know for how long until I tried to sign in a couple of days later and I was allowed back in...

looking back to what I could have possible done to get the ban and I came up with two things...

1. I told MOTR that he was a Sulk like the rest of the Loopy Leftie Sulks

2. I asked MOTR if he was a fudge packer after he put up a post about log rollers

I did write to the ozpolitic address expressing my frustration...

it seems that every time you give a Loopy Leftie/ Greenie a ribbing you get a ban...

they'd have to the be biggest bunch of Sulks I've ever seen in my life and I can't believe any admin would cowtoe to them...  Angry

I have noted in recent times that a lot of the Conservative thinkers are not around anymore... although, a couple have just turned up again after a long spell...

so what you get in the end, in particular on the Political board.. is a Barrage of threads with a massive bias towards the Labor/Green political parties...

this is proved by general polls over the internet and then the Polls on our political board where the results are the opposite to anything else you see anywhere...

so the admins have got their way...

a Bias political forum full of Loopy's that don't express the views of the general public.....

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #31 - Jul 21st, 2014 at 8:05am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 21st, 2014 at 7:37am:
it seems that every time you give a Loopy Leftie/ Greenie a ribbing you get a ban... they'd have to the be biggest bunch of Sulks I've ever seen in my life and I can't believe any admin would cowtoe to them... 

You might not even have been reported. A moderator might have seen a few of your posts which were unacceptable. They have minds of their own and don't always have to be asked to take action.

so what you get in the end, in particular on the Political board.. is a Barrage of threads with a massive bias towards the Labor/Green political parties... this is proved by general polls over the internet and then the Polls on our political board where the results are the opposite to anything else you see anywhere...so the admins have got their way... a Bias political forum full of Loopy's that don't express the views of the general public.....

Labor/Greens' supporters had to tolerate RW abuse and derision for 6 years. What goes around comes around. The RW's are the biggest whingers on this board and their problem is that often they can't provide a logical response so resort to profanities which are generally against the rules here.

a Bias political forum full of Loopy's that don't express the views of the general public.....

Have you seen today's news poll?

Team Froggie

Reply #32 - Jul 21st, 2014 at 1:36pm

hermoine wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 7:42pm:
Froggie, although I understand neither demonstrate much class, which would you prefer; to be called an idiot or a f.u.c.k.w.i.t? One gets you a ban and the other...not a thing. Doesnt make sense does it?

I agree, it makes no sense at all.

I regard the abuser as having lost the argument anyhow, regardless of political leaning, but can appreciate that frustration can often lead to flying off the handle.

Sarcasm, now.......
That's a horse of an entirely different colour and should be encouraged to the max.

Someone needs to design a really clever 'sarcasm' emoticon, though, as those available really don't cut it....

Phemanderac

Reply #33 - Jul 22nd, 2014 at 7:51am

Team Froggie wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 7:27pm:
OooooKay!

g) Skirting around the mods by circumventing the language filter whilst taking absolutely no responsibility for your actions.

h) Have both the tacit and active support of admin who, like you, accept no responsibility for actions.

Reply #34 - Jul 22nd, 2014 at 9:57am

hermoine wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 5:15pm:
I think both are equally bad. How many times have you been banned for abusing others, John?

you think both are equally bad?  Grin Grin Grin Grin shows what an idiot you are ....

one term questions their intelligence, or their comment ... it's not always about them, sometimes their comments are stupid ...
the other suggests they partake in incestuous relationships ... the two aren't even close.

I've been banned many times, why? how many times have you been banned?

Reply #35 - Jul 22nd, 2014 at 9:59am

John Smith wrote on Jul 19th, 2014 at 10:41pm:
l

I got banned recently...

I don't know  why, I didn't know for how long until I tried to sign in a couple of days later and I was allowed back in...

looking back to what I could have possible done to get the ban and I came up with two things...

1. I told MOTR that he was a Sulk like the rest of the Loopy Leftie Sulks

2. I asked MOTR if he was a fudge packer after he put up a post about log rollers

I did write to the ozpolitic address expressing my frustration...

it seems that every time you give a Loopy Leftie/ Greenie a ribbing you get a ban...

they'd have to the be biggest bunch of Sulks I've ever seen in my life and I can't believe any admin would cowtoe to them...  Angry

I have noted in recent times that a lot of the Conservative thinkers are not around anymore... although, a couple have just turned up again after a long spell...

so what you get in the end, in particular on the Political board.. is a Barrage of threads with a massive bias towards the Labor/Green political parties...

this is proved by general polls over the internet and then the Polls on our political board where the results are the opposite to anything else you see anywhere...

so the admins have got their way...

I'm a lefty and I've been banned plenty of times ... your theory is based on your tin foil hat ..take it off and then look again

Reply #36 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 7:25am

Phemanderac wrote on Jul 22nd, 2014 at 7:51am:
OooooKay!

h) Have both the tacit and active support of admin who, like you, accept no responsibility for actions.

well cry us a river...  Cry

this is a tactic that Leftie Sulks use...

I couldn't care less is someone ribs me or uses a bit of (&%$^** as long as it's not over the top... '

but go on the polly forum and show up a loopy for what an absolute moron they are and they'll cut and paste your ()*&(^&*%&* and send it to the mods to get you banned...

like.. .what a bunch of sulks... boo hoo  Cry

and that's why the polly forum is infested with loopy's spamming BS threads by the dozen every day..

apart from John that is.. I've never known him to be a Sulk or a dibby dobber...

Reply #37 - Jul 23rd, 2014 at 8:51am

Team Froggie wrote on Jul 21st, 2014 at 1:36pm:
hermoine wrote on Jul 20th, 2014 at 7:42pm:

I agree, it makes no sense at all.

I regard the abuser as having lost the argument anyhow, regardless of political leaning, but can appreciate that frustration can often lead to flying off the handle.

Sarcasm, now.......
That's a horse of an entirely different colour and should be encouraged to the max.

Someone needs to design a really clever 'sarcasm' emoticon, though, as those available really don't cut it....

I agree entirely.. I have to explain my sarcasm all the time...even though as far as I am concerned its very plain to see.... DUH is a good one.. but even that escapes many.

Phemanderac

Reply #38 - Jul 24th, 2014 at 7:18pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 23rd, 2014 at 7:25am:
Phemanderac wrote on Jul 22nd, 2014 at 7:51am:
OooooKay!

well cry us a river...  Cry

this is a tactic that Leftie Sulks use...

I couldn't care less is someone ribs me or uses a bit of (&%$^** as long as it's not over the top... '

but go on the polly forum and show up a loopy for what an absolute nice person they are and they'll cut and paste your ()*&(^&*%&* and send it to the mods to get you banned...

like.. .what a bunch of sulks... boo hoo  Cry

and that's why the polly forum is infested with loopy's spamming BS threads by the dozen every day..

apart from John that is.. I've never known him to be a Sulk or a dibby dobber...

Having a bit of a sook there mate.i

Go on I dare you to laugh, someone had to say that though...I can't believe after all these days it got to be me

Reply #39 - Jul 25th, 2014 at 6:51am

just stating the facts mate...

take Das Energy for instance...

he's down on the political forum swearing like a trooper every single day...

he uses pictures which have full on swear words in them... not like F(((( or C(((( or whatever.. the entire word..

but because he's a abbott hater.. he continues on day after day going banana's without question..

so like I was saying...

the administrators don't care about swearing or the forum rules...

they use the rules to silence the conservatives...

as do the dibby doppers like Greens Win, MOTR, Bam. GregeryPeckory etc etc

its pathetic

just stating the facts....  Wink

Phemanderac

Reply #40 - Jul 25th, 2014 at 11:12am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 25th, 2014 at 6:51am:
just stating the facts mate...

take Das Energy for instance...

he's down on the political forum swearing like a trooper every single day...

he uses pictures which have full on swear words in them... not like F(((( or C(((( or whatever.. the entire word..

but because he's a abbott hater.. he continues on day after day going banana's without question..

so like I was saying...

the administrators don't care about swearing or the forum rules...

they use the rules to silence the conservatives...

as do the dibby doppers like Greens Win, MOTR, Bam. GregeryPeckory etc etc

its pathetic

just stating the facts....  Wink

the facts.... as you see them at any rate.

To be fair though, that is how any of us state our particular "facts".