great white and mulloway (Read 7216 times)

great white and mulloway
Oct 3rd, 2012 at 10:13pm

I got buzzed by a 2.5m great white shark shortly after getting this today. It came in about half a dozen times, swimming nearly directly below me in shallow water, almost close enough to give it a jab with my gun. It seemed pretty agitated.

Made for an interesting day, and a very nervous swim back in.

mulloway.jpg (147 KB | 416 )
mulloway.jpg

FriYAY

Re: great white and mulloway
Reply #1 - Oct 9th, 2012 at 2:07pm

Nice Mully.

Is that an even nicer one in your profile pic'?

Reply #2 - Oct 9th, 2012 at 10:45pm

It's about a quarter the size of the one in my pic. But tastes good and is not full of those massive parasites.

Stanleys

USA
Reply #3 - Oct 13th, 2012 at 6:23pm

It filter a good ways to have a shallow ways in caring those creativity in managing an viewable ideas to manage for the parasite.

b2b.sp@m

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #4 - Dec 9th, 2012 at 2:24am

Awesome stuff FD.
Remind me not to go spearing with you though Cheesy

If it was a juvenile Whitey - then they tend to be a bit more into charging, etc. If there is more than one - get the bugger out of the water!

Saw x4 BIG 5M+ Whiteys off the Neptune Islands few months back. Cage of course and to some nice music of ACDC which they like (might be the sound of Bon Scott dying?). They are definately not something to be taking any 'chances' with.

I think the Great Whites on the eastern side of Australia are a bit more on their best behaviour as they are NOT  the apex predator. ORCA are the apex predator and often turn a Great White stomach side up which results in the shark going into catatonic trance like a chook before the Orca take the BIGGER bite.

Read up on the story of the Taranaki Terror in regards to a Great White experience. Wink

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

Reply #5 - Dec 9th, 2012 at 3:15pm

No worries Jas, it only takes one to get me out of the water.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #6 - Dec 11th, 2012 at 5:05pm

Was he/she gnashing its teeth ...opening mouth and closing it often?

I suppose it being beneath you, it would be hard to tell the signs besides using you as Seal training, only that it knew you weren't a Seal and that kinda annoyed it.

Juvenile Whites really get confident and go for a real attack when other Whites are around. Pack mentality I guess.
I reckon I would have crapped myself seeing any decent size bitey shark using me for target practice.
I have a few mates who often Spearfish around the Kiama & Jervis Bay area where its mostly Bronzies that buzz them for the fish.
One mate had a Tiger Shark come up from the depths because with his head down taking photos amongst rocks and a big yellow Rebreather - he was looking everything like a Turtle.
Tiger Sharks don't go for prey that move around a lot though. They scavenge mostly except for easy prey.

I nearly became the first ScubaDiver bitten by a Grey Nurse at BushRangers-Bass Point.
"Ex Nurse bitten by Grey Nurse!!"
I was a bit peeved it didn't happen - reckon it was my only chance for 'fame'. Cheesy

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

Reply #7 - Dec 21st, 2012 at 7:56pm

You have to try pretty hard to get one of those to bite. Were you wrestling it or something?

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #8 - Dec 27th, 2012 at 7:28pm

For a moment, I read "Morwong" (Mother in Law fish). Mulloway are much better.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not