Why Dont You Go Fruit Picking Mr Abbott. (Read 11228 times)
imcrookonit

Why Dont You Go Fruit Picking Mr Abbott.
Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:13am

EMPLOYER groups have given a lukewarm response to Tony Abbott's plan to suspend unemployment benefits where unskilled work is available, calling for a greater focus on training and less on punitive measures.

Under the Coalition proposal, work for the dole would be mandatory for anyone under 50 who had been out of work for six months.   Sad

Unemployed people would also have their dole payments suspended where unskilled work, such as fruit picking or cleaning, was available. Sad

Australian Mines and Metals association boss Steve Knott told the Australian Online that while the concept of "getting people off the couch" was a good one, Mr Abbott's plan needed to focus more on skills.

"The government has had in place what's called a productivity placement program where they fund people to get job-ready for roles in the resources sector," he said.

"That's a good initiative. It's unclear to us how withholding benefits will facilitate people picking up skills necessary to become job-ready for our industry."

Victorian Fruit Growers association general manager John Wilson said the employment "crisis" in fruit picking was not as bad as people made out.

Employers in some areas, such as Swan Hill, struggled to find people to pick stone fruit crops but travellers made up for the worker shortfall in other regions.

"If we didn't have the backpacker workers we would have a shortage but they are supplementing our workforce," he said.

"There are jobs there for Australians if they want them, there is nothing stopping Australians applying for these jobs."

Comments on this story

JT of Bris Posted at 3:36 PM March 31, 2011

Yep, even the business owners who the coalition claim to represent see this "plan" as populist nonsense. Still I'm sure all the 100K+ recipients of Howards middle class welfare will love it. Irony anyone?

les Posted at 3:29 PM March 31, 2011

How about the industry gets the people "job "ready"

bob Posted at 2:11 PM March 31, 2011

it is not just a matter of getting skills and tickets. just look in the job section and see how many employers requires 2 to 5 years experience. how do one get that when you cant get a start.   Sad 

imcrookonit

Re: Why Dont You Go Fruit Picking Mr Abbott.
Reply #1 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:21am

dan G Posted at 1:15 PM March 31, 2011

Perhaps Tony should spend a day or two fruit picking or pruning in high temperatures, the pay is rubbish , often the conditions are lousy, the work is backbreaking and generally only experienced people can make a quid. All of the people I know who have had a go have given up because they either did not have the physical fitness required ( these are folks in their 50s and 60s ) or they made less money than they would on the dole and they had to provide their own tools, transport and accommodation. Since a recent study found that people in dead end jobs have a worse level of mental health than those on the dole ( which is going to cost the community in the long run) I would advise that Mr NO proposes a plan that is less punitive , more positive in its approach and more likely to meet with success in the long run.   Sad

mavisdavis

Reply #2 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:27am

Perhaps Tony should spend a day or two fruit picking or pruning in high temperatures, the pay is rubbish , often the conditions are lousy, the work is backbreaking and generally only experienced people can make a quid. All of the people I know who have had a go have given up because they either did not have the physical fitness required ( these are folks in their 50s and 60s ) or they made less money than they would on the dole and they had to provide their own tools, transport and accommodation. Since a recent study found that people in dead end jobs have a worse level of mental health than those on the dole ( which is going to cost the community in the long run) I would advise that Mr NO proposes a plan that is less punitive , more positive in its approach and more likely to meet with success in the long run.   Sad

Or, perhaps Dan G should use Abbott`s example of hard work ethic, apply himself, and try to succeed in life.  A little bit of back bone doesn`t go astray in life.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #3 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:38am

Perhaps Tony should spend a day or two fruit picking or pruning in high temperatures, the pay is rubbish , often the conditions are lousy, the work is backbreaking and generally only experienced people can make a quid. All of the people I know who have had a go have given up because they either did not have the physical fitness required ( these are folks in their 50s and 60s ) or they made less money than they would on the dole and they had to provide their own tools, transport and accommodation. Since a recent study found that people in dead end jobs have a worse level of mental health than those on the dole ( which is going to cost the community in the long run) I would advise that Mr NO proposes a plan that is less punitive , more positive in its approach and more likely to meet with success in the long run.   Sad

It looks like dan G got his info from the institiute of makin sh1t up, obviously has has neve done this work himself.

I did a season of fruit picking when i was young and yes it is hard work, but so what, I actually enjoyed it and it didn't kill me or make me depressed.

Most of the older pickers made great money as they were experienced and could pick like demons.

What this cretin doesn't realise that fruit picking is an entry & exit level job not an actual career, so it is not like the mental stress of long term dol,e it is the beginning or end of your work life.

Some long term dole recipients do need a kick in the ring and this maybe it, obviously being soft and endlessly patient  is not working.

imcrookonit

Reply #4 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:14am

He sacked them for pleading for water
March 13, 2010

The pickers know him only as Max, but their stories are remarkably consistent. ''Pick faster,'' he screams. ''Hurry, pickers. Work with two hands. Faster, workers, or you won't be paid.'   Sad'

''You feel like a slave,'' says Martin Pflaamenger, 22, a German backpacker.

He was one of several fruitpickers sacked while picking tomatoes on a farm near Bundaberg on February 16. The reason? They had pleaded for water after hours in the intense Queensland sun. Mehmet ''Max'' Tosun sacked them on the spot. Angry  

Only three months ago another German backpacker, Jessica Pera, 24, collapsed and died while working on a nearby farm. The coroner is investigating dehydration or heat exhaustion as possible causes of death. By all accounts to the Herald, that farm takes good care of workers. It insists they drink plenty of water.   Sad

The same cannot be said for the way Tosun does business. He and his wife, Calie, are a formidable team in Bundaberg. He is 27, she 23. Since October they have been running East Bundy Backpackers - a source of labour for Max's other business. He is a labour hire contractor for farms, which need a constant supply of fruitpickers.

Tosun and his wife, known as ''Kelly'', have refused to answer the Herald's questions concerning allegations it has gathered from seven backpackers over three weeks. But when the local newspaper ran similar claims by other backpackers this week, Calie Tosun, formerly Unwin, was quoted as saying: "I've heard people complain about the work, but if they don't like it they can leave." Her husband disputed many of the claims, but said he had to yell to make pickers work. "They need to be told what to do.''

They have only days to get their ''house in order'', says Queensland's Workplace Rights Ombudsman, Don Brown. He will not discuss individual cases, but he is sending his team to Bundaberg to investigate the industry - yet again. ''We intend to name and shame, and to refer people for prosecution where required,'' Brown told the Herald.

The federal Fair Work Ombudsman has ''serious concerns'' and has begun a separate inquiry.

Bundaberg is familiar with this sort of controversy. The mayor, Lorraine Pyefinch, other hostel operators and farmers are tired of rogue operators. They have been working hard to clean up the industry's image. Adding to their sensitivity is the coming 10th anniversary of a tragedy in nearby Childers in which 15 died in a fire at the Palace Backpackers Hostel.

''This area is entirely dependent on seasonal workers, and particularly backpackers, for our agricultural and horticultural industry,'' Pyefinch says. ''It's the backbone of our economy … In Bundaberg alone, at any one time, there's a thousand registered beds. You can double or triple that in the peak picking season - and they're the unregistered ones.''

Many backpackers go there to fulfil a requirement for a second-year holiday working visa: 88 days of fruitpicking. But Daniel Stockwell, 27, from England, has gone home, broke, having lasted one day as a picker under Max Tosun.

''I love Australia,'' Stockwell says, ''but this just killed it.''

He was sacked on February 16 with his English friend Oliver Brown, 24, Martin Pflaamenger, another German and an Australian. They woke at 3am, but there was no room on the first bus so they caught the second at 5.30am. They were lured by $17.60 an hour. ''But when we got there we heard that had changed,'' Stockwell says. ''We'd be getting paid $1.80 per bucket … I'd been picking for an hour and I'd hardly got one bucket.''

They moved to another field. After 2½ hours they were ''gagging for water''. After three hours, Brown says, he had picked eight buckets of tomatoes. ''You can do the sums.'' Thus far: $14.40.

Workers are unable to carry their own water bottles while picking. They asked for water but none came. Some sat down, refusing to work. ''How can we work without water?'' Stockwell asked.   Sad

Tosun bid them farewell. Back at the hostel they were given one hour to leave. Signs warned that only working fruitpickers could stay at the hostel. The group protested that they had paid $160 in advance for a week's accommodation. They said they called in the police, who told them it was a civil matter and they must leave. They left with no pay and no refund.   Sad

Yesterday the owner of the farm, SP Exports, terminated its contract with Tosun. Its investigations had revealed ''considerable substance to the allegations'', said its managing director, Andrew Philip. ''We employ 300 and it is certainly not the way we treat them or how we expect people to be treated.''

A spokesman for the Fair Work Ombudsman said piece rates could only be paid if a worker received at least the federal minimum wage for every hour worked, now $14.31.

John Walker, who runs the Bundaberg Workers and Divers Hostel, estimates the illegal industry in Bundaberg is at least twice as big as the legal one.

mavisdavis

Reply #5 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:29am

Losers too lazy, or spineless to put a little bit of effort into life, will always be a source of ammusement, and an example of how not to "live".  These weaklings who sit around all their lives, bemoaning their sad fate, are hilarious in their delusions, and their self pity.

Reply #6 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:29am

Are there fruit farms in Brisbane or Bankstown?

Would you pick a BIG bucket of tomatoes for $1.20? (not your normal plastic laundry bucket) I wouldn't.

Incidentally imcrook....a German backpacker died from dehydration at a tomato farm in or near the same town. $5 a day worth dying for nah!!!!!

mavisdavis

Reply #7 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:34am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:29am:

Would you pick a BIG bucket of tomatoes for $1.20? (not your normal plastic laundry bucket) I wouldn't.

You couldn`t, some make far better money than check out chicks, they do work hard though.

Incidentally imcrook....a German backpacker died from dehydration at a tomato farm in or near the same town. $5 a day worth dying for nah!!!!!

Whose fault was it if he didn`t have  a drink of water?

Reply #8 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:43am

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:38am:
It looks like dan G got his info from the institiute of makin sh1t up, obviously has has neve done this work himself.

I did a season of fruit picking when i was young and yes it is hard work, but so what, I actually enjoyed it and it didn't kill me or make me depressed.

Most of the older pickers made great money as they were experienced and could pick like demons.

What this cretin doesn't realise that fruit picking is an entry & exit level job not an actual career, so it is not like the mental stress of long term dol,e it is the beginning or end of your work life.

Some long term dole recipients do need a kick in the ring and this maybe it, obviously being soft and endlessly patient  is not working.

And so do a lot of those who unfairly malign the unemployed.

Reply #9 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:46am

mavisdavis wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:34am:

You couldn`t, some make far better money than check out chicks, they do work hard though.

Whose fault was it if he didn`t have  a drink of water?

You watch too much The Farmer Wants a Wife. Get off the lounge and get into the REAL world.

mavisdavis

Reply #10 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 8:07am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:46am:
mavisdavis wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:34am:

Whose fault was it if he didn`t have  a drink of water?

You watch too much The Farmer Wants a Wife. Get off the lounge and get into the REAL world.

Wow, what a well thought out and sensible piece of "advice". NOT!   Cheesy

ialwayspoor

Reply #11 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 8:23am

You watch too much The Farmer Wants a Wife. Get off the lounge and get into the REAL world. [/quote]

Deary me, like the REAL world of a shop assistant?

PMSL

mavisdavis

Reply #12 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 8:48am

ialwayspoor wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 8:23am:

Deary me, like the REAL world of a shop assistant?

PMSL
[/quote]

lol.   Gotta laugh at the thought that if the shallow end of the gene pool worked half as hard as Abbott has, they wouldn`t need to pick fruit either.  Could you imagine Abbott picking fruit?  With those ears, the farmer would mistake him for a flying fox and throw a net over him.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #13 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:00am

Kat wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:43am:

So those who fairly malign the dole bludging freeloaders, what?  A pat on the back and a free beer.

Dole money isn't free money, someone has to go to work and pay taxes to provide it and as one of those people, im keen to see more people working and less people recieving the dole.

Reply #14 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:05am

crook - Tony does not pick fruit for a living 'cause he is a rhodes scholar who has authored a novel.

ie, he got some smarts

Belgarion

Reply #15 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:23am

Much as I am against dole bludgers and other welfare sucking scum I must say that there is a lot of truth in the stories of exploitation in the fruit picking industry. Why are there so few Australians employed in this job? Because unscrupulous contractors are able to exploit foreign backpackers in a way they will not get way with with locals. When my son was unemployed he looked at fruit picking and went to an agency in Sydney that placed overseas backpackers in this work. When they found out he was Australian he was told there was "nothing available at the moment."  What that really meant was that they knew he would demand the proper wages and conditions and could not be ripped off like the foreign tourists.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Equitist

Reply #16 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:29am

Belgarion wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:23am:
Much as I am against dole bludgers and other welfare sucking scum I must say that there is a lot of truth in the stories of exploitation in the fruit picking industry. Why are there so few Australians employed in this job? Because unscrupulous contractors are able to exploit foreign backpackers in a way they will not get way with with locals. When my son was unemployed he looked at fruit picking and went to an agency in Sydney that placed overseas backpackers in this work. When they found out he was Australian he was told there was "nothing available at the moment."  What that really meant was that they knew he would demand the proper wages and conditions and could not be ripped off like the foreign tourists.

Good point!

I seriously doubt, that Abbott could point to too many unemployed Aussies who have actually refused to do this fruit picking and mining sector/region work - since he would have to prove that they've been formally offered it in the first instance!

Moreover, where are all these Job Network organisations that are supposed to have unfilled fruit picking and mining region jobs on their books - and where have said been advertised and for how long!?

In short, where's the evidence that backs up Abbott's demonising rhetoric!?

PS Isn't it the case that these sorts of jobs are NOT being channelled through Job Network parasites in the first instance!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #17 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:46am

Equitist wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:29am:
Good point!

I seriously doubt, that Abbott could point to too many unemployed Aussies who have actually refused to do this fruit picking and mining sector/region work - since he would have to prove that they've been formally offered it in the first instance!

So a person is not a dole bludger because the have been freeloading on welfare their whole life, but only if someone goes to their home and offers them a job and they refuse.  Grin

FFS!

Reply #18 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:53am

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:46am:
Good point!

So a person is not a dole bludger because the have been freeloading on welfare their whole life, but only if someone goes to their home and offers them a job and they refuse.  Grin

FFS!

whinging are you again !! I hate whingers.

maybe Holden can give them a proper job building electric cars with the 200 million in corporate welfare it got off the tax payers to supposedly build a 'green' car but never did. Instead it just imported a petrol junk box from Korea and gave the Koreans jobs because they wanted to save the crappy fruit picking jobs for us aussies Sad

Have a whinge about that areshole !!

Reply #19 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:57am

Belgarion wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:23am:
Much as I am against dole bludgers and other welfare sucking scum I must say that there is a lot of truth in the stories of exploitation in the fruit picking industry. Why are there so few Australians employed in this job? Because unscrupulous contractors are able to exploit foreign backpackers in a way they will not get way with with locals. When my son was unemployed he looked at fruit picking and went to an agency in Sydney that placed overseas backpackers in this work. When they found out he was Australian he was told there was "nothing available at the moment."  What that really meant was that they knew he would demand the proper wages and conditions and could not be ripped off like the foreign tourists.

Good point!

Moreover, where are all these Job Network organisations that are supposed to have unfilled fruit picking and mining region jobs on their books - and where have said been advertised and for how long!?

In short, where's the evidence that backs up Abbott's demonising rhetoric!?

PS Isn't it the case that these sorts of jobs are NOT being channelled through Job Network parasites in the first instance!?

I'd like to know how many of these job network flunkies and work for the dole scams are being run by liberal voting opportunists who could never run any other business in a pink fit ??

Reply #20 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:04am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:05am:
crook - Tony does not pick fruit for a living 'cause he is a rhodes scholar who has authored a novel.

ie, he got some smarts

in other words a useless word smith who couldn't pick his nose let alone some fruit.
« Last Edit: Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:12am by Sir lastnail »  

Reply #21 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:04am

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:00am:
Kat wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 7:43am:

So those who fairly malign the dole bludging freeloaders, what?  A pat on the back and a free beer.

Dole money isn't free money, someone has to go to work and pay taxes to provide it and as one of those people, im keen to see more people working and less people recieving the dole.

I have no problem with maligning the true bludgers in our society.

But they are not all unemployed, by any means.

And not all those on the dole are bludgers.

My issue is with the way you (generic 'you') insist on labelling
ALL those on the dole as bludgers.

It's like saying that all Liberals (or Laborites) are extremist ratbags.

Sounds good, but is demonstrably a falsehood.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #22 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:06am

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:53am:
Good point!

So a person is not a dole bludger because the have been freeloading on welfare their whole life, but only if someone goes to their home and offers them a job and they refuse.  Grin

FFS!

maybe Holden can give them a proper job building electric cars with the 200 million in corporate welfare it got off the tax payers to supposedly build a 'green' car but never did. Instead it just imported a petrol junk box from Korea and gave the Koreans jobs because they wanted to save the crappy fruit picking jobs for us aussies Sad

Yeh, that wasn't a whinge that was derisive commentary about what equitist wrote; what you write is a whinge, you can tell because it is the same sh1t repeated over and over again, without resolution or end.

Find something new to discuss, might be a bit of a challenge, but what the hell.  Grin

Reply #23 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:11am

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:06am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 9:53am:
Good point!

FFS!

Yeh, that wasn't a whinge that was derisive commentary about what equitist wrote; what you write is a whinge, you can tell because it is the same sh1t repeated over and over again, without resolution or end.

Find something new to discuss, might be a bit of a challenge, but what the hell.  Grin

bullshit you are whinging about people on dole and making generalisations.

Why don't you suggest some ways to create some REAL jobs instead of taking pot shots at the unemployed. I suggested a way of creating some REAL jobs but you just seem to want to ignore it and have a whinge about the unemployed.

culldav

Reply #24 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:18am

What “stuttering Stanley” doesn’t quite understand is that most of these fruit picking jobs are seasonal and only last for a about 3 - 4 months, and the people have to usually pack up and move interstate to follow the fruit season.  The jobs are normally underpaid, hard physical work and the you are sometimes working in extreme environmental conditions.

What ‘stuttering Stanley” is proposing is that some Australians have to turn into be a “gypsy” society in having to follow fruit picking seasons in order to have a job in Australia.  Maybe he should have thought of this before he supported the sell-off of Australia’s private assets and businesses to foreign investors.

There is not much good going to come with supporting all businesses and manufacturing to be sent overseas and have no work left for Australians Mr. Abbott.

I would also like to see Mr Abbott and all the liberal Ministers spend 2 weeks out in the fields picking fruit, and then come back and see if they have the same idea.

We all know that won’t happen because it a case of, do as I say, not as I do.

Reply #25 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:27am

culldav wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:18am:
What “stuttering Stanley” doesn’t quite understand is that most of these fruit picking jobs are seasonal and only last for a about 3 - 4 months, and the people have to usually pack up and move interstate to follow the fruit season.  The jobs are normally underpaid, hard physical work and the you are sometimes working in extreme environmental conditions.

What ‘stuttering Stanley” is proposing is that some Australians have to turn into be a “gypsy” society in having to follow fruit picking seasons in order to have a job in Australia.  Maybe he should have thought of this before he supported the sell-off of Australia’s private assets and businesses to foreign investors.

There is not much good going to come with supporting all businesses and manufacturing to be sent overseas and have no work left for Australians Mr. Abbott.

I would also like to see Mr Abbott and all the liberal Ministers spend 2 weeks out in the fields picking fruit, and then come back and see if they have the same idea.

We all know that won’t happen because it a case of, do as I say, not as I do. 

the more important issue is this the best jobs that the leader of the liberal party can come up with ??

How about a future in some high tech industry ?? Lets see the libbos create some REAL jobs in the high tech industry Wink They won't even talk about it let alone do it. Just promoting lots of rubbish trash jobs that would make you want to take anti depressants or get on the piss Sad It wasn't so long ago that Costello was talking about people mowing lawns because there were lots of lawns that needed mowing around where he lives. These libbos have no imagination whatsoever Sad

Reply #26 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:30am

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:11am:

Why don't you suggest some ways to create some REAL jobs instead of taking pot shots at the unemployed. I suggested a way of creating some REAL jobs but you just seem to want to ignore it and have a whinge about the unemployed.

He's got some strange ideas about the unemployed.

My favorite is the one where everyone on the dole went straight
onto the dole from school, and has been on the dole ever since.

In over 35 years since I left school, I've only ever known ONE BLOKE
who fits his (and and others') idea of a dole bludger.

ONE!

Must be fun to live in a world of generalities, prejudice and misinformation.

Reply #27 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:40am

Kat wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:30am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 10:11am:

He's got some strange ideas about the unemployed.

My favorite is the one where everyone on the dole went straight
onto the dole from school, and has been on the dole ever since.

In over 35 years since I left school, I've only ever known ONE BLOKE
who fits his (and and others') idea of a dole bludger.

ONE!

Must be fun to live in a world of generalities, prejudice and misinformation.

I like the other generalisation that is used by the libbos here. If you are not a liberal supporter then you must be on the dole and are automatically labeled as a dole bludger Smiley LOL

Reply #28 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 11:15am

Perhaps Tony should spend a day or two fruit picking or pruning in high temperatures, the pay is rubbish , often the conditions are lousy, the work is backbreaking and generally only experienced people can make a quid. All of the people I know who have had a go have given up because they either did not have the physical fitness required ( these are folks in their 50s and 60s ) or they made less money than they would on the dole

Tony has a job are you suggesting he should get a second job?

If a fruit picker makes less money than someone on the dole as you claim then the solution would be to cut the dole to give these dole bludgers some incentive to work.

My relative was a supervisor with a work for the dole program in Canterbury on the first monday there were 37 people making frantic phone calls and by the end of the first week there were only 4 people left in the program as these bludgers suddenly found a real job.

Work for the dole is a great idea i wonder how much welfare fraud it reduces with those scum who claim the dole and work for cash in the hand.

The dole was never meant to be a lifestyle choice so if you dont like what you get given by the taxpayers every fortnight then get a Smacking job.

djrbfm

Reply #29 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 12:45pm

we've had C*NTS 4 gov't here since Keating.
i would now recommend assassination, instead of peaceable means.
j.

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #30 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 2:22pm

Job Networks don't handle fruit picking jobs - they can't put you forward for one nor can you be made to apply for one. If you're unemployed you can reject the offer of a fruit picking job without any penalty from Centrelink.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

Verge

Reply #31 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 3:21pm

Ive done fruit picking before.

Sure, its no career, but if you put your head down there is decent coin to be made.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #32 - Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:54pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 2:22pm:

Job Networks don't handle fruit picking jobs - they can't put you forward for one nor can you be made to apply for one. If you're unemployed you can reject the offer of a fruit picking job without any penalty from Centrelink.

They don't at the moment, but I bet if Abbott got in he'd be sending the under 50's out to work in the brothels.

ialwayspoor

Reply #33 - Apr 2nd, 2011 at 8:14am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 1st, 2011 at 6:54pm:

They don't at the moment, but I bet if Abbott got in he'd be sending the under 50's out to work in the brothels.

Just think Pansi you could be earning $40 per hour rather than $17.

mavisdavis

Reply #34 - Apr 2nd, 2011 at 8:19am

ialwayspoor wrote on Apr 2nd, 2011 at 8:14am:

Excuse me, I believe the age group was UNDER 50`s.

ialwayspoor

Reply #35 - Apr 2nd, 2011 at 9:48am

Sorry Mavis I didn't know Pansi was that old. Would the link below be ok for her?

www.justforadults.com.au/Adult-Escort.../granny+escorts+in+Sydney

Reply #36 - Apr 2nd, 2011 at 10:10am

Why Dont You Go Fruit Picking Mr Abbott.

Are you asking for a shadow cabinet reshuffle?

Reply #37 - Apr 2nd, 2011 at 1:50pm

ialwayspoor wrote on Apr 2nd, 2011 at 8:14am:

Well there you go ialwaysdumb......it just shows how long it's been since you worked.

imcrookonit

Reply #38 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 8:07am

I wonder how much fruit pickers get paid.  Now lets see, how long to fill a bin I wonder.   Sad

Sappho

Reply #39 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 9:57am

If you are fit, healthy and unemployed... what is wrong with fruit picking? Surely more money is better than less money?

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

Verge

Reply #40 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:23am

I wonder how much fruit pickers get paid.  Now lets see, how long to fill a bin I wonder.   Sad  

I was making a thousand a week doing it.

Maybe if you werent so bloody lazy and had a crack you might actually one - have a job, and two - a job that good money could be made.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Sappho

Reply #41 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:29am

Verge wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:23am:
I wonder how much fruit pickers get paid.  Now lets see, how long to fill a bin I wonder.   Sad  

Maybe if you werent so bloody lazy and had a crack you might actually one - have a job, and two - a job that good money could be made.

His attitude is not uncommon amongst the long term unemployed. they are very picky about the kinds of jobs they will take... and even then, very rarely make the effort to look for work themselves expecting the JSAPs to spoon feed them into a job.

Equitist

Reply #42 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:33am

More details please: when, where, doing what, for how long and under what conditions?

Also, how far from home and what type and cost of accommodation and transport?

Was the employment above board or cash in hand - and why?

Also, what was the demographic (including ethnicity and nationality) of your co-workers?

Be honest now...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Life_goes_on

Reply #43 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:34am

For actual picking they pay between $17 and $19.xx per hour. You'll find the per bucket way of payment is quite rare (well, it is around here) and is usually only used for pickers being hired just for a day or two - or sometimes for inexperienced pickers. In anycase, it's pretty rare for buckets to be used - around here you'll have 6 or so pickers on a machine which gets driven along the rows and they put the fruit down chutes - not in buckets.

From what I've seen and heard, picking tomatoes sucks dogs balls.

Num num num num.

Verge

Reply #44 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 11:53am

Equitist wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:33am:

More details please: when, where, doing what, for how long and under what conditions?

Also, how far from home and what type and cost of accommodation and transport?

Was the employment above board or cash in hand - and why?

Also, what was the demographic (including ethnicity and nationality) of your co-workers?

Be honest now...

Thy - More details please: when, where, doing what, for how long and under what conditions

It was 5 years ago was my last stint, which I did each year for about 10 years.
Murray region.  Grape picking, tomato picking, potato farming.  Chuck in some grain harvest work as well.
Usually did it for six weeks a year, using annual leave and RDO's to go and do.
Conditions were fine, hot, but fine.  Bosses were all excellent.

Thy - Also, how far from home and what type and cost of accommodation and transport?

About 45 minutes from home.  Transport is whatever fuel was, car pooled however.

Thy - Was the employment above board or cash in hand - and why?

All was above board but one job.  The cash job also had the highest hourly rate as well.

Thy - Also, what was the demographic (including ethnicity and nationality) of your co-workers?

Plenty of wogs, younger people looking for leg ups before uni, just regular people.  Also plenty of semi reitred people pickup up some pocket money, as well as married women.

There is about 45 weeks a year worth of work around the region in these kinds of jobs, and what is better is most bosses look after the good staff.

I even decided to go back and look at my old records, and the worst year in the six week stints I had was $9grand.  I put in massive hours to get it, but if you get in when the work is there and get it done, you can relax when there is none.

Some people just dont want to work, or dont like the conditions like a bit of heat.  It made it better for me, more hours for me to take.

Reply #45 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:02pm

Sappho wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:29am:
I wonder how much fruit pickers get paid.  Now lets see, how long to fill a bin I wonder.   Sad 

His attitude is not uncommon amongst the long term unemployed. they are very picky about the kinds of jobs they will take... and even then, very rarely make the effort to look for work themselves expecting the JSAPs to spoon feed them into a job.

the JSAP's do well out of it don't they. It's a big industry making billions out of the unemployed. That's the job to have isn't it Wink Why bother picking fruit when you can get easy money providing non existent jobs to the unemployed Wink

Reply #46 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:05pm

My sister went fruit picking for a few months in Queensland.

She came back to England without a cent to her name and in fact if I recall right my dad whacked about $4k in her bank account before she left too.

Seemed a good life but not sure it was a money tree!

Reply #47 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:12pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:05pm:

She came back to England without a cent to her name and in fact if I recall right my dad whacked about $4k in her bank account before she left too.

and she might have ended up with a dose of skin cancer if she was exposed to the sun too much Sad I wouldn't do it for that reason.

Better to be job a provider or should I say job parasite and earn the big easy bucks $$$$$$$

Verge

Reply #48 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:14pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:12pm:

and she might have ended up with a dose of skin cancer if she was exposed to the sun too much Sad I wouldn't do it for that reason.

Better to be job a provider or should I say job parasite and earn the big easy bucks $$$$$$$

A bit of outdoor work never hurt anyone.

I find it interesting you think Kevin Rudd is a parasite.

Reply #49 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:15pm

Personally, I'd sooner starve than go fruit-picking. At my age, neither my back
nor my knees would be 'up to it'.

Both my brothers, and several friends have done this work at various times.

NONE of them made any money, and they are ALL 'good workers'.

A young person, I agree, shouldn't be picking and choosing when it comes to jobs.

BUT, a mature-aged unemployed person has EARNED that RIGHT. And, make no
mistake, it IS a right. Don't agree? Too bad.

Reply #50 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:21pm

Kat wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:15pm:

A young person, I agree, shouldn't be picking and choosing when it comes to jobs.

Age has nothing to do with it.

Skills and marketability give you the right to pick and choose jobs.

Between summers at university, I used to go to the USA and do any old job. Working in amusement parks, lifeguarding waterparks etc - all for about $8 per hour.

Since qualifying from university, I have cherry picked every job I have had.
Why? Because I have the skills that has earned me that right.

So I started choosing from 22 years of age.

The old fella who cuts my lawn is in his 60s he doesn't pick or choose anything.

It's supply and demand market economics mate. Age is irrelevant - unless of course you talk of experience. I am too young to be a CFO of a multi-national. Not because of age but experience.

Life_goes_on

Reply #51 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:21pm

Around here you'd be hard pressed to earn $1000 before tax a week picking. Sure it happens, but its rare for them to get the hours needed for that in a single week.

Most of the farms here are large company owned ones so they basically work fixed hours. Usually about 9 working hours a day for pickers.

Num num num num.

Reply #52 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:42pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:21pm:

Between summers at university, I used to go to the USA and do any old job. Working in amusement parks, lifeguarding waterparks etc - all for about $8 per hour.

The old fella who cuts my lawn is in his 60s he doesn't pick or choose anything.

It's supply and demand market economics mate. Age is irrelevant - unless of course you talk of experience. I am too young to be a CFO of a multi-national. Not because of age but experience.

Age has everything to do with it, as has experience.
I have a broad range of experience, and also have
qualifications, and I WILL cherry-pick in order to get
work where I can use those skills and experience.

One thing I will NOT do, is menial work, customer-service jobs,
or 'start at the bottom' jobs, I did all that 30+ years ago, now it
is MY RIGHT to CHOOSE my work.

There's usually no shortage of work for a computer-tech
or a house-painter. I do both. I also do volunteer work.

Or do you think that only those with uni quals should have
the right to choose their job?

Reply #53 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:45pm

Verge wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:14pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:12pm:

A bit of outdoor work never hurt anyone.

I find it interesting you think Kevin Rudd is a parasite.

10 minutes a day is the recommended dose of full sunlight. Even wearing a hat won't protect you as the reflected light gets you Sad

And I believe it's Dudd's wife that has profited out of the unemployed and I don't think much of Dudd. He is just another used car salesman come politician.

Reply #54 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:48pm

I thought you said that you were VP of one of the top 10 companies in the world ??

Reply #55 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:47pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:48pm:

I thought you said that you were VP of one of the top 10 companies in the world ??

I am now yeah but mate in oil and gas companies VP is simply a level of management.
Anyone on level 22 and above are Vice President. Then you have Presidents (regional heads), then Executive Vice Presidents etc

There's at least 50 VP's west of Mississippi in our region alone.

It's just a level of management.

Reply #56 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:49pm

Top 10 as in revenue by the way.

We turn over the billions of dollars per year worldwide.

Not top 10 in other things.

I think we failed to make the top 50 in employee satisfaction! LOL

imcrookonit

Reply #57 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:39pm

Vanessa Marsh | 10th March 2010

FOREIGN fruit pickers are fed up at the living and working conditions they cop in the Bundaberg region, likening it to “slavery”.   Sad

Seven backpackers have come forward with a list of claims to the NewsMail, including:

* paying more up front than they were earning in picking wages;
    * being paid less than the hours they were entitled to;
    * being refused water by work supervisors, who constantly shouted at and abused them;
    * being forced to lie on an incident report after a machinery accident.

The travellers, who were all staying at East Bundaberg Backpackers before moving to a new hostel, were working on a tomato farm owned by SP Exports, but were employed by a work subcontractor called “Max”, who would not reveal his surname.

SP Exports managing director Andrew Philip has promised to investigate the allegations further, but East Bundaberg Backpackers owner Cali Posun said she operated similarly to most hostels in town.

The tourists had to pay $161 a week for a 16-person dorm room and $42 for bus travel to and from the farm, in return for guaranteed work.

But they claim they are now financially worse off than when they arrived in Bundaberg.

Estonian traveller Rein Vahur said he felt like a “slave” while staying at the hostel and working on a Childers tomato farm.

“They tell us they can guarantee at least three days of work, but sometimes that is only two hours,” Mr Vahur said.

“And you never get your right pay. You always need to fight to get your money.”   Angry

Fellow Estonian Silver Raudsepp said he was fed up with constant threats from supervisors.

“We get screamed at all day like we are animals,” he said.

“They just keep yelling constantly saying, ‘work faster’, ‘pick harder’, ‘open the bushes’, ‘use two hands’. They always say they will sack us if we don’t hurry up.”   Angry

Mr Raudsepp said he knew of five backpackers who were fired because they pestered their supervisor for water after five hours without it.   Shocked

Italian backpacker Naomi Tutone claimed one particular day she and another female traveller were sitting on a picking tractor, with seats on two mechanical arms, when a supervisor hit a button that brought the arms up suddenly.

The women were thrown off the seats, falling about three metres to the ground.

“The other girl called the insurance people and she was fired and made to leave the hostel,” Ms Tutone said.

“A man came to me and asked me to fill out a report and said to me: ‘If you say nobody said to you about the emergency button, there will be big trouble.’

“I was afraid to lose work, so I wrote, ‘Yes, the supervisor showed me the button’. But I was in panic.”   Sad

Verge

Reply #58 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 3:25pm

Why dont you go fruit picking imcrook, or are you to good to do that?

Sappho

Reply #59 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 3:26pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:02pm:
Sappho wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 10:29am:

the JSAP's do well out of it don't they. It's a big industry making billions out of the unemployed. That's the job to have isn't it Wink Why bother picking fruit when you can get easy money providing non existent jobs to the unemployed Wink

Better to be a fruit picker than to cope with the personal abuse that JSAP employees get from customers.  Cool

Can you imagine having to deal with the imcrookedonit types arguing the toss over everything?  Cry

imcrookonit

Reply #60 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 6:16pm

Why dont you go fruit picking imcrook, or are you to good to do that?   Maybe some are prepared to do it, but you wont get me working for under award wages.  Anything that's less than the minimum award rate of pay-    Tongue

Reply #61 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 6:22pm

Lazy b*stard.

I bet you dont work half the hours I do...

imcrookonit

Reply #62 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 6:34pm

I bet I don't get paid half what you do either.   Tongue

Reply #63 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 8:26pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 6:22pm:
Lazy b*stard.

I bet you dont work half the hours I do...

what work do you do hicks ? you spend half your time writing drivel on this forum. I can't believe that you are a VP of one of the top 10 companies whilst spending so much time on this forum !!

Reply #64 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 9:13pm

my in laws went hop picking in England for years and years  we had pictures of them looking like gypsies... they stayed for the whole season.. for gods sake what a namby pamby bunch we are turning into..

shock horror picking fruit isnt rocket science they dont need any training or a degree get over it crook.. what do you want paying for a job like that...we all want fruit on our tables dont we??.. you can stick all your recent studies.,.. these jobs you talk about have been around for decades and no one complained untill the bloody unions didnt have enough to do so had to look for something to stir the pot with.. what a load of garbage..

why dont you suggest they stop growing fruit under the circumstances wouldnt want anyone  saying they were driven to mental break downs because of the boredom and low pay would we..

how about everyone run for union chief or delegate that way they will all be doing something really worthwhile for the country and getting a mice slice of pay as well... and once again you wouldnt need a degree to do either.

bugger the fruit who needds it?

hawil

Reply #65 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 9:18pm

Picked peaches near Waikerie; was all paid by the bucket, made good money by working hard. Developed a rash on my legs after a week, and after seeing a Doctor he told me I could not go on doing it.
The living condition was shocking; a garage on the banks of the Murray, with mice running on the floor.

Tried picking grages in Mc Laren Vale, again by the bucket, grapes being very small, no matter how hard I worked, could not make a normal hours pay. The owner told us, that after we finished the small grapes we will go on the bigger grapes and make decent money.
When we finished the small grapes, the owner changed his mind and told us to go on picking on a hourly rate. When I questioned him on what he told us before, he just told me to go to his wife and she just wrote me out the check for what I made on the small grapes and can just leave.
The worst part was, that the owner of the vineyard was a "
bloody New Australian" the same as I,am,
but he probably got very rich on cheap labour.
Another problem with Abbotts idea is, that if a person earns a certain amount a year, he/she cannot get unemployment benefits for a certain time, or at least that used be some 20 years ago.
Another thing I would like to ask Abbott, how can he justify his lucrative income and all the other perks.

imcrookonit

Reply #66 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 9:25pm

If people want to go fruit picking good luck to them.  As long as people are treated fairly and have proper wages and conditions I see no problem.  As long as they get paid no less than the minimum hourly rate of pay.   (None of this under award pay rate rubbish though).   Wink

imcrookonit

Reply #67 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 9:32pm

Well there you go, and what does that say?.  Paid buy the bucket.  Looks like that was a case of exploitation if ever there was one.   Sad

billy the fish

Reply #68 - Apr 7th, 2011 at 7:24am

paying on what you pick means they dont have to pay you a minimum wage,overtime rates,holidaypay,sick pay ect.thus if the crop is bad the grower gains cheap labour.Most Asians will continue working for as little as one dollar an hour because that is all they would earn in one day back home.thats why growers preffer them over aussies.