Tony Abbott - the winner (Read 11772 times)
Equitist

Re: Tony Abbott - the winner
Reply #15 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:06pm

I don't see how Abbott is onto a winner by demonising, vilifying and scapegoating some of our most vulnerable and disadvantaged people...

The Labs seem to be heading in a similar direction - albeit less savagely...

Seriously, how can anybody support such divisive, draconian, irrational and out-of-touch proposals as are currently churning out of Canberra and big business unions!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Soren

Reply #16 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:18pm

There is nothing "demonising, vilifying and scapegoating" about expecting people to work if there is work.
Ditto for people who are given money to tide them over but blow most of it on alcohol, ciggies and pokies. The dole is meant to be a temporary assistance, nothing else.

I think recipints of social security assistance should be voted on by the people who live around them, the residents in the wards of their local council area. They would be the best judges of their need for social security payment.

Reply #17 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:41pm

net recipients of social security should not have the right to vote.

they do not pay the pollies wages, so you can't hire them.

only net tax payers should have the vote.

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #18 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:47pm

People who seek to subvert our inherited system of laws, the "Rights of Englishmen" and our Bill of rights with psuedo scientific quackery and socialist ideology should be stripped of citizenship and exiled. I make no qualms about this - corporations have no right to exist or intervene in the policy of parliament under our law. Smiley

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #19 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:50pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:41pm:

I wouldn't go that far but I don't think there needs to be a greater restriction on the ability of some people to vote.

Having people who contribute a lot to the country in tax having the same voice as deadbeats and losers who add nothing is a bit ridiculous.

The passive answer is to make it voluntary.
That way the lower echelons tend to not vote and you remove them from the system that way.

Reply #20 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:03pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 12:50pm:

I wouldn't go that far but I don't think there needs to be a greater restriction on the ability of some people to vote.

Having people who contribute a lot to the country in tax having the same voice as deadbeats and losers who add nothing is a bit ridiculous.

That way the lower echelons tend to not vote and you remove them from the system that way.

The more you push this the more I think your astro turfing.
There is NO reason other than to influence the outcome of elections to call for voluntary voting.
Besides Andrei be careful what you wish for, traditionally bogans & deadbeats voted for Labor but increasingly they are coalition supporters.
They seem to think they are millionaires just going thru a tough time that will end at anytime, like those low socioeconomic republican voters over your way.

Reply #21 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:05pm

Mate every single western democracy in the world (bar Belgium) has voluntary voting!

It's not like I am pushing a radical agenda here!

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #22 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:05pm

Subversion of the Magna Carta should be a mandatory capital offense.  Anyone who undermines or seeks to overthrow the principles of the British legal system is worthy of death for treason. Smiley

Reply #23 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:11pm

The Magna Carta??

bugger me dead, long time since I heard anyone talk about the Magna Carta.

Think it was my history teacher back in school actually....

Reply #24 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:13pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:11pm:
The Magna Carta??

bugger me dead, long time since I heard anyone talk about the Magna Carta.

Think it was my history teacher back in school actually....

He does add colour Grin

Reply #25 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:16pm

You know that compulsory voting in Australia was implimented by the conservatives in the belief that the well off were too lazy to bother voting.

Reply #26 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:17pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:05pm:
Mate every single western democracy in the world (bar Belgium) has voluntary voting!

It's not like I am pushing a radical agenda here!

Its good to be different.

Reply #27 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:18pm

Dnarever wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:16pm:

You know that compulsory voting in Australia was implimented by the conservatives in the belief that the well off were too lazy to bother voting.

Doesn't bother who or why it was brought in, it should be removed.

You forget I have no political party bias.

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #28 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:19pm

Anyone who seeks to overthrow our British legal system and system of Government is worthy of death for treason.  They should be burned in effigy each Guy Falkes night on Bonfires on November the 5th.  The time for putting up with traitors is over. Cool Cool Cool Cool

Reply #29 - Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:31pm

Prevailing wrote on Mar 31st, 2011 at 1:19pm:
Anyone who seeks to overthrow our British legal system and system of Government is worthy of death for treason.  They should be burned in effigy each Guy Falkes night on Bonfires on November the 5th.  The time for putting up with traitors is over. Cool Cool Cool Cool

Bill last year you were a supporter of the IRA and believed the British Government should be destroyed.

Six months before that, you declared that everyone was descended from Celts.

I can't keep up with you mate.