Forum

Back to OzPolitic.com   Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
  Forum Home Album HelpSearch Recent Rules LoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Smaller parties influence under Alternative Vote (Read 413 times)
Alternative Vote

Australian Politics

Smaller parties influence under Alternative Vote
Mar 22nd, 2011 at 10:30am

Hey all,

I'm a UK student looking at Australia's experience with the Alternative Vote. I'm trying to find out whether or not smaller parties, such as the Greens have influence in the HoR due to their second and subsquent preferences. Do they get policy concessions? Perhaps cruically, I'm looking for academic evidence to back this up! Does anybody have any links from journal articles, Google books or websites that you could link me to on this? Any help would really, really appreciated!

Also, out of interest what do you guys think of AV? We've got a referendum on it in the UK in 6 weeks!

IP Logged

freediver
Gold Member

www.ozpolitic.com

At my desk.
Re: Smaller parties influence under Alternative Vote
Reply #1 - Mar 24th, 2011 at 7:49pm

Quote:
Also, out of interest what do you guys think of AV?

No idea what you are talking about.

Minor parties have very little direct influence on the HoR. In the senate they often do wield direct power.

However, they still have power over the HoR in a long term, indirect sense. They remain a persistent threat to the major parties and keep them honest. Preferenetial voting definitely assists this. In places like the US where there is no preferential voting, it kills the minor parties and the major parties feel much less pressure to represent the people effectively.

I identify as Mail because all I do is SendIT!
IP Logged

It_is_the_Darkness
Gold Member

Australian Politics

in a ReTardis
Re: Smaller parties influence under Alternative Vote
Reply #2 - Mar 25th, 2011 at 8:23am

Look at it this way.

The Independents and to a lesser extent The Greens