Millions Of Australian Are Struggling On Low Wages (Read 1754 times)
imcrookonit

Millions Of Australian Are Struggling On Low Wages
Mar 1st, 2011 at 5:49am

Millions are struggling on wages that have barely grown in years.   Sad

MOST Australians like to think we've escaped the worst of the post-global financial crisis pain. Solid GDP and growth numbers, and soaring commodity prices do suggest we stand apart.

Yet, an Auspoll survey last month turned up some breath-taking results. To the defining generational question, ''Will the future we pass on to our children and grandchildren be better than that handed to us?'' almost two thirds of a cross-section of Australians answered no.

Why the pessimism? It goes back to the observations of Nobel prize-winning economist Professor Paul Krugman who lamented that, for most Americans, ''economic growth is a spectator sport''.

In the heady days before the global financial crisis hit, Krugman warned that growth was not ''trickling down'', inequality was rising and belief in ''the great American dream'' was souring.

In Australia, too, growth has proved a spectator sport for the millions of workers left behind.   Sad

Today, my union's members are among the most poorly rewarded in the nation for their work. They are the childcare professionals we entrust with our children and the aged-care workers we rely on to preserve the dignity of our frail parents. They are the friendly faces across the bar and the anonymous teams who sweep through our offices overnight. They are the security officers who guard our airports and the hotel workers on night shift.

Together, they are among about 20 per cent of Australians who are ''low paid''; that is, earning less than two thirds of the median wage. This is no small anomaly; this is a huge group of people who work for a living, and are proud to do so - but still struggle to make ends meet.

In Australia, pay packets at the bottom end of the labour market have steadily shrunk relative to wealth gains at the top; Australia's lowest-paid workers, those on the minimum wage, have, for example, received only a 2 per cent increase in the real value of their wages over the past decade against a corresponding 16-20 per cent increase in productivity.   Sad

The average young Australian family is now living with debt equal to three times their household income.

For many of our members, their credit card has become the thin plastic line between doing the weekly groceries and doing without. More than 2 million Australians say they would be unable to cope for more than a month if they lost their job.   Shocked

But there is more than low pay gnawing away at Australia's social fabric and undermining what we, ordinary people, need to feel secure.

In the past 30 years of neo-liberal market economics, we have witnessed a massive shift in risk from business and government to workers.

The International Monetary Fund has recognised the ''transfer of financial risk over a number of years'' with ''the household sector … acting more as a 'shock absorber' of last resort''. And our own Treasury considers the level of ''risk that people are required to bear'' as one of five key indicators of well-being. This shift in risk has operated like an effective but brutal pincer action. Workers have lost security of employment and income and protections such as sick leave and minimum hours. Half of Australia's large hospitality workforce, for example, has no entitlements at all, in an industry that offers Australia's thinnest average pay packets.

And services governments once delivered have been turned into commodities for sale. What happened to free healthcare and free education? And what of the escalating costs of basics such as utilities and public transport?

This silent restructuring of the economy, and the precarious existence it has imposed on many, is the big untold story of contemporary Australian life.

As a union, we recognise that we must look beyond the bargaining table and embrace a broader role as a community advocate for an alternative economic agenda. And, that's a political role.

We will, of course, continue our workplace advocacy and organisation, but we will align our political efforts with the interests of all hard-working Australians, many of whom may not be members of the unions.

The potential social and economic repercussions of today's inequality are far too important to hide behind buoyant economic data. Who will fill our malls and keep ''consumer confidence'' up, and our market economy humming over, if our workers are too insecure to spend?

Krugman has never been an opponent of free markets, but has argued that ''a market economy smoothed by a strong safety net has produced the most decent societies ever known''.

Over a century ago, Australia pioneered the legal concept of a ''living wage''. Other nations followed our lead. We use words such as fairness, equity, egalitarianism, and opportunity to describe Australian society because, historically, we have taken action to make it so. It's time to revisit these fundamentals and to ask what we need to do to secure a more equitable future.

Louise Tarrant is National Secretary of United Voice (formerly the Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union). This is an edited version of her speech to the National Press Club in Canberra today.

imcrookonit

Re: Millions Of Australian Are Struggling On Low Wages
Reply #1 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 5:53am

More than two million Australians say, they would be unable to cope for more than a month, if they lost their job.   Sad

billy the fish

Reply #2 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 6:10am

the mass importing of cheap labour from korea and india has served to bring down wages in the industrial sector ect

imcrookonit

Reply #3 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 6:49am

It would appear that the cake  Smiley is not being divided up fairly.   Sad

bridonta

Reply #4 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 6:52am

at the same time they are struggling with high cost of livings ?? but those foreigners don't .. as they don't pay for mortgages .. or worry too much on cost of livings here .. they are just living together in dense house .. and share much on everything .. when things are bad they just pack up and go home .. but the locals are just having no where to go .. just look at Libya or many countries in the world where foreign workers are leaving when the situation turn sours ..

Reply #5 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 7:03am

crook if they need a few lessons on living on a pittance tell them to talk to a single pensioner..99% who live alone and still have to pay their dues..

btw we also.. do our bit for the community baby sit our grandchildren do our bit at the schools to put a smile on their faces..I take my grandson to soccer training.as well as go to all their games.. its not much but I still feel we add a bit to the patchwork of life.. however we are expected to just get by.. and its becoming more of a squeeze everyday.. I neither smoke nor drink nor gamble.what the hell is left to cut back on???

salad in

Reply #6 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 8:44am

billy the fish wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 6:10am:
the mass importing of cheap labour from korea and india has served to bring down wages in the industrial sector ect

Bingo! At least you are awake. It hasn't dawned on some people that the quickest way to destroy wages and conditions in Oz is to allow hordes of unskilled workers into Oz who are prepared to work for $4 per hour. Consider some of our rural communities with their slogans "Smallsville welcomes refugees and asylum shoppers". Of course they do. Who else will pick fruit or work as a farm hand for $5 per hour.

Not much noise from the ACTU which is the body that is supposed to protect workers' pay and conditions. Asleep at the wheel....again.

The ALP, the progressive party, the party of ideas, the workers' friend, is the only Australian political party to roast four young Australians in roof cavities. SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!

Reply #7 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 9:52am

It would appear that the cake  Smiley is not being divided up fairly.   Sad

Yummmm, I like cake.

culldav

Reply #8 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:00am

Pensioners doing it tough really depends on whether the pensioner is living in their own house/init or in a Housing home/unit. The Pensioners living in subsidised Department of Housing joints don’t seem to be doing that tough as some always seem to find money to buy smokes, grog and play the pokies.

Reply #9 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:14am

My parents are retired.

I think 'doing it tough' is probably stretching it.

Last phone call they were telling me about how they were planning a ski-ing trip.
If this is retired pensioner life, sign me up.

Reply #10 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:19am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:14am:
My parents are retired.

Last phone call they were telling me about how they were planning a ski-ing trip.

<<Re: Millions Of Australian Are Struggling On Low Wages>>

Key words....
low wages

I bet you struggled through uni andrei.

Reply #11 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:20am

Makes you wonder then why they continue to vote for a govt that has surely demonstrated to even the less intelligent that they have poured away too much of the nation's wealth . .and continue to do so. Wealth that might have been redirected to support the less well off.
Why for example to they vote for a govt that has opened the door to thousands of illegal immigrants, that has spent miilions, if not billions, on housing, feeding and educating them when they could have been doing it for our own.
Makes you wonder!!

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #12 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:21am

More than two million Australians say, they would be unable to cope for more than a month, if they lost their job.   Sad  

Well they'd better knuckle down and work hard.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Reply #13 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:30am

No, I do not agree with that entirely muso.
It cannot be denied that there are many factors in play caqusing many more people to be doing it tough.
Just one, figures out today show that the number of long-term unemployed has risen sharply between 2002 and now.
Many people need support but of course the genuine need to be sorted out from the bludgers.
How though are they to get adequate support when we have financial suicide bombers in charge of the Federal Treasury?

Reply #14 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 11:24am

culldav wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:00am:
Pensioners doing it tough really depends on whether the pensioner is living in their own house/init or in a Housing home/unit. The Pensioners living in subsidised Department of Housing joints don’t seem to be doing that tough as some always seem to find money to buy smokes, grog and play the pokies.  

Rubbish!

Prejudicial and stereotypical.

And patently untrue in the MAJORITY of cases.

Reply #15 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 11:39am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:19am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 10:14am:
My parents are retired.

<<Re: Millions Of Australian Are Struggling On Low Wages>>

Key words....
low wages

I bet you struggled through uni andrei.

When I went to uni pansi, the fees were paid by the Government and we given a grant of 2.4k GBP per year to live on.

'Twas good days.

Reply #16 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 12:59pm

When I went to uni pansi, the fees were paid by the Government

- Andrei

No .. your Uni fees were paid for by other tax payers. Weren't you lucky hey?

Reply #17 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 2:12pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 1st, 2011 at 12:59pm:
When I went to uni pansi, the fees were paid by the Government

- Andrei

No .. your Uni fees were paid for by other tax payers. Weren't you lucky hey?

If we're going to be picky.....

Reply #18 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 7:35pm

qikvtec

Queensland
Reply #19 - Mar 1st, 2011 at 8:13pm

Millions are struggling on wages that have barely grown in years.   Sad

MOST Australians like to think we've escaped the worst of the post-global financial crisis pain. Solid GDP and growth numbers, and soaring commodity prices do suggest we stand apart.

Yet, an Auspoll survey last month turned up some breath-taking results. To the defining generational question, ''Will the future we pass on to our children and grandchildren be better than that handed to us?'' almost two thirds of a cross-section of Australians answered no.

Why the pessimism? It goes back to the observations of Nobel prize-winning economist Professor Paul Krugman who lamented that, for most Americans, ''economic growth is a spectator sport''.

In the heady days before the global financial crisis hit, Krugman warned that growth was not ''trickling down'', inequality was rising and belief in ''the great American dream'' was souring.

In Australia, too, growth has proved a spectator sport for the millions of workers left behind.   Sad

Today, my union's members are among the most poorly rewarded in the nation for their work. They are the childcare professionals we entrust with our children and the aged-care workers we rely on to preserve the dignity of our frail parents. They are the friendly faces across the bar and the anonymous teams who sweep through our offices overnight. They are the security officers who guard our airports and the hotel workers on night shift.

Together, they are among about 20 per cent of Australians who are ''low paid''; that is, earning less than two thirds of the median wage. This is no small anomaly; this is a huge group of people who work for a living, and are proud to do so - but still struggle to make ends meet.

In Australia, pay packets at the bottom end of the labour market have steadily shrunk relative to wealth gains at the top; Australia's lowest-paid workers, those on the minimum wage, have, for example, received only a 2 per cent increase in the real value of their wages over the past decade against a corresponding 16-20 per cent increase in productivity.   Sad

The average young Australian family is now living with debt equal to three times their household income.

For many of our members, their credit card has become the thin plastic line between doing the weekly groceries and doing without. More than 2 million Australians say they would be unable to cope for more than a month if they lost their job.   Shocked

But there is more than low pay gnawing away at Australia's social fabric and undermining what we, ordinary people, need to feel secure.

In the past 30 years of neo-liberal market economics, we have witnessed a massive shift in risk from business and government to workers.

The International Monetary Fund has recognised the ''transfer of financial risk over a number of years'' with ''the household sector … acting more as a 'shock absorber' of last resort''. And our own Treasury considers the level of ''risk that people are required to bear'' as one of five key indicators of well-being. This shift in risk has operated like an effective but brutal pincer action. Workers have lost security of employment and income and protections such as sick leave and minimum hours. Half of Australia's large hospitality workforce, for example, has no entitlements at all, in an industry that offers Australia's thinnest average pay packets.

And services governments once delivered have been turned into commodities for sale. What happened to free healthcare and free education? And what of the escalating costs of basics such as utilities and public transport?

This silent restructuring of the economy, and the precarious existence it has imposed on many, is the big untold story of contemporary Australian life.

As a union, we recognise that we must look beyond the bargaining table and embrace a broader role as a community advocate for an alternative economic agenda. And, that's a political role.

We will, of course, continue our workplace advocacy and organisation, but we will align our political efforts with the interests of all hard-working Australians, many of whom may not be members of the unions.

The potential social and economic repercussions of today's inequality are far too important to hide behind buoyant economic data. Who will fill our malls and keep ''consumer confidence'' up, and our market economy humming over, if our workers are too insecure to spend?

Krugman has never been an opponent of free markets, but has argued that ''a market economy smoothed by a strong safety net has produced the most decent societies ever known''.

Over a century ago, Australia pioneered the legal concept of a ''living wage''. Other nations followed our lead. We use words such as fairness, equity, egalitarianism, and opportunity to describe Australian society because, historically, we have taken action to make it so. It's time to revisit these fundamentals and to ask what we need to do to secure a more equitable future.

Louise Tarrant is National Secretary of United Voice (formerly the Liquor, Hospitality and Miscellaneous Union). This is an edited version of her speech to the National Press Club in Canberra today.

And your members aren't questioning the value for money received from your Union fees?

Politicians and Nappies need to be changed often and for the same reason.

One trouble with political jokes is that they often get elected.

Alan Joyce for PM