Poll Poll
Question: Does the OzPol clock match the time in your time zone?

« Created by: Equitist on: Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:16am »

Does daylight savings affect your life much? (Read 2598 times)
Equitist

Does daylight savings affect your life much?
Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:07am

http://www.news.com.au/business/daylight-saving-to-cost-millions-in-lost-busines...

Daylight saving 'to cost millions' in lost business to Western Australia

* Amanda O'Brien
    * October 04, 2010 12:00AM
    * 179 comments

* Three-hour time gap between east and west
    * This will "cost WA businesses millions"
    * Join us over on Facebook | Twitter

THE return to a three-hour time gap between east and west will cost businesses in WA millions of dollars in lost productivity.

As daylight saving resumed in all states yesterday except Western Australia and Queensland, WA's peak business group told The Australian the damage in the boom state would be severe.

"There's really only a small window of a couple of hours in the afternoon now to deal effectively with colleagues, clients or competitors," said WA Chamber of Commerce and Industry chief economist John Nicolaou.

"You'd expect the productivity cost would be in the order of millions of dollars.

"While it's true we're more externally focused and Asian-centric in terms of markets, the majority of our businesses have to deal nationally, not just overseas. Daylight saving has a material impact on that."

After a three-year trial, backed by the business sector, a referendum last year killed off daylight saving in the west. Premier Colin Barnett declared the issue dead after 55 per cent of voters said "no".

Queensland is the only other state without daylight saving and Premier Anna Bligh has rejected calls for a referendum.

But Mr Nicolaou rejected the call from southeast Queensland. "There's a real danger whenever you centralise decisions that it leads to outcomes that aren't in the best interests of all jurisdictions," he said.

With Western Australia already fuming over being short-changed in the federal carve-up of GST revenue, he said experience showed isolated states usually came off worst.

Mr Nicolaou said conglomerates like Perth-based Wesfarmers would be particularly affected by the time gap, but everyone from accounting firms to legal practices would be hurt.

The only silver lining was that Western Australia would remain aligned to time zones in key Asian markets. But international travellers with multi-stops in Australia would see the shifting time differences as "significant", he said.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Re: Does daylight savings affect your life much?
Reply #1 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:16am

For obvious reasons, you can vote for more than one poll option.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #2 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:16am

I think Daylight Savings is more of a hinderance than a benefit.
For starters, the poor Morning Shift workers finally get some daylight at their end of the spectrum and Daylight Savings takes it away from them and puts em back into darkness ...all so the Afternooners can have some 'extra' daylight for the rest of the year.
Sucks!

Besides the fact that the 'Date' of Daylight Savings is always changing so my mobile phone automatically can make me early/late for work sooner or later.
Sucks!

I'm sure there is a lot more. Personally I can't see any real benefit at all except something selfish for 'some'.
Get rid of it ...I hate it.
Angry Tongue

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

Equitist

Reply #3 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:25am

I know that many farmers are against it...but I basically like it...

That's once I've adjusted - it is always surprising that a one hour clock change can throw your sense of balance out...

Actually, I notice it more in my kids - it takes around a fortnight for them to adjust...

Equitist

Reply #4 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:29am

Actually, on forums such as these, I note that: Daylight Savings definitely affects the flow of posts over summer - especially since those in SA and WA already tend to come (and stay) online much later compared to those of us in the East...

Reply #5 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:44am

Can anyone explain how????????

Amadd

Mo

Reply #6 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:07pm

Business hours will be another hour out of whack, but who cares about WA and QLD?
They are nations unto themselves who almost got the libs in power through their sheer greed of not wanting to share mining profits with the rest of the Australia.

bwood1946

Reply #7 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:07pm

... wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:44am:

Bloody fades the paint on my cars

TPI  VETERAN
bwood1946 bwood1946  

Equitist

Reply #8 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:11pm

In this case, they are referring to businesses in WA being 3 hours out of sync with the main Eastern States due to the absence of daylight savings in that State: -

As daylight saving resumed in all states yesterday except Western Australia and Queensland, WA's peak business group told The Australian the damage in the boom state would be severe.

"There's really only a small window of a couple of hours in the afternoon now to deal effectively with colleagues, clients or competitors," said WA Chamber of Commerce and Industry chief economist John Nicolaou.

Equitist

Reply #9 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:13pm

bwood1946 wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:07pm:

Yer, that and the curtains!?

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #10 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:21pm

A place I worked for provided remote support for various sites around the country.

The amount charged per month for those located in Qld and WA was increased for the daylight savings months to cover the extra wages needed to cover that extra hour.

Another issue it created was that window we had for afterhours processing was reduced by an hour.

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.

bwood1946

Reply #11 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:51pm

Equitist wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:13pm:

Were back too royal melb tomorrow  THY  still no decision on Travs heart opp yet   The surgeon has been talking Transplant  his specilist is talking polmanary surgery     WE JUST dam  LISTEN  IM NOT GOOD AT THAT

Angry

TPI  VETERAN
bwood1946 bwood1946  

Equitist

Reply #12 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 1:03pm

bwood1946 wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:51pm:

Were back too royal melb tomorrow  THY  still no decision on Travs heart opp yet   The surgeon has been talking Transplant  his specilist is talking polmanary surgery     WE JUST dam  LISTEN  IM NOT GOOD AT THAT

Angry

Sorry to hear that, Woody - it must be such a worry for your all...

For many years, my ol' man's heart specialists couldn't agree on which way to go - some said he needed a pacemaker, others that a pacemaker would kill him...

Luckily, he survived a few more heart attacks on medication, before biotechnology caught up with his condition - a dual chamber pacemaker was what he needed (he's on is second one now)...

Meantime, one of his specialists (one of the ones who was against using the old-style pacemaker for my dad - and his most-trusted one) had died of a heart attack himself...

Best wishes for you and yours!

Thinking of you all and sending positive vibes...

Reply #13 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 1:28pm

The original claim that it faded the curtains was correct it really did.

The story went something like - the claim was originally made by a shift worker who came home and closed the curtains to sleep, the clock change literally meant that her curtains were exposed to an additional hour of sunblight per day which caused them to fade in a substantially shorter time frame.

Spelling error accidental but left in place deliberately. Stupid annoying smilies removed intentionally. Cry For me a first and last.

Verge

Reply #14 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 4:03pm

I love it, time to do things in the arvo after getting off work.

I dont get what peoples problem with it is?

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #15 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 7:41pm

To answer the Thread Question.

Yes it did this morning.  I live in Queensland, and my iPhone 4, for weeks, has been set to go off at 6.00 am most mornings, including Mondays.  Never had a problem.  

Until...........

This morning, it went off at 4.00 am Queensland time......because some idiots everywhere 'affected my life much' today.

Apple included.

Cheesy

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #16 - Oct 4th, 2010 at 11:57pm

Dear Verge,
Think of all the 'morning people' who are ripped off some glorious sunlight for another long period of the year.
Daylight Savings is entirely bias towards 'Arvos' and that is 'wrong' and unfair.
My mate in Queensland is on the same 'coastline' as me down here in NSW  ...but now we are an hour out of whack!
Daylight Savings is really a 'whack-job'!

I think it is another attempt at trying to make a boring country (boring as in it is just a 3rd rate hand-me-down version of the USA & UK) seem more interesting.
Lets face it, the only interesting thing ever done in this country that is 'different & unique' was thanks to a Dutchman ...the Big Barnacle (Opera House).

More like Daylight Stupidity.

What really is the purpose of it??????? Roll Eyes Huh

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

Reply #17 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 12:19am

Aussie wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 7:41pm:
To answer the Thread Question.

Yes it did this morning.  I live in Queensland, and my iPhone 4, for weeks, has been set to go off at 6.00 am most mornings, including Mondays.  Never had a problem.  

Until...........

This morning, it went off at 4.00 am Queensland time......because some idiots everywhere 'affected my life much' today.

Apple included.

Cheesy

WHAT is worse than working on a Sunday?
Turning up to work an hour early on a Sunday.
A Mooloolaba cleaner could not figure out why there were so many drunk party-goers still on the Mooloolaba Esplanade party strip early yesterday.
Usually when he turns up to work at 4am, they have mostly dispersed and headed home for the night.
He soon learned it was 3am and his iPhone had tricked him.
He was not alone.

Cont ...

http://www.news-mail.com.au/story/2010/10/04/iphone-cheats-owners-sleep/

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #18 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 5:39am

Amadd wrote on Oct 4th, 2010 at 12:07pm:
Business hours will be another hour out of whack, but who cares about WA and QLD?
They are nations unto themselves who almost got the libs in power through their sheer greed of not wanting to share mining profits with the rest of the Australia.

Not wanting to share?

How about sick of southerners (SEQ included) taking what is not rightfully theirs.

The only annoyance about DLS is the constant whining noise coming from SEQ every summer.
  Angry
Other than that, we in the north don't give a rat's rectum what you people do, our money is made overseas in exports.

Oddly enough we manage to do business with foreign countries in different time zones just fine.

it_is_the_light

Christ Light

The Pyramid of LIGHT
Reply #19 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 5:44am

this is simply another inane attempt of man

trying as he may to manipulate time..the whole arguement is

a hoodwink and never ending story as the same ole principle

is again applied by the satanic death cult called freemasonry

divide bind and rule.

have you not heard you can never please all people at the same

time?

and so it is these politicians and corporate media roll out the

same ole arguement

and so it is

i ascend from that paradigm

with grace

namaste

-:)

ॐ May Much LOVE and CHRISTS LIGHT be upon and within us all.... namasté ▲ - : )  ╰დ╮ॐ╭დ╯
it_is_the_light it_is_the_light Christ+Light Christ+Light  

Reply #20 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 7:31am

I voted against daylight savings as did most West Australians.....In the hot summer many business start earlier to avoid the heat.....we do not need to set a clock to understand the obvious......When we had daylight savings the sun did not go down until 9.00pm....try putting your kids to bed when it is still daylight outside and still stinking hot.....bugger daylight savings!!!

Reply #21 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 7:49am

I hope we never get daylight saving in Qld, although I suppose it's inevitable that we will sooner or later.

It gets stinking hot, and I can't wait for the sun to set. I sure don't want to wait another hour.

Leave daylight saving for cold climates like Europe. We don't need it in such a temperate climate because we have enough sun.

We have a really, really high rate of skin cancer as it is, the kids don't need to get up in the dark and stay out longer in the sun at the end of the day.

We had a trial in Qld years ago, it was a no goer. For those southerners that want it here, go back south or get your lazy butt out of bed an hour earlier.

Jaykaye_09

Reply #22 - Oct 5th, 2010 at 8:30pm

I HATE that WA doesn't have DLS.

Not least of all because yesterday, I was unable to contact someone in Melbourne due to the time difference. I left a message. They called back at 9AM EST . . . that's 6AM WST.

I'm a student.

That poo's not cool.

If I don't respond to a post directed toward me, it's probably because I've gone offline, not because I'm rude.&&&&Or maybe I don't like you. In which case, sod off. Ta.