Rent (Read 2644 times)
aikmann4

canberra
Re: Rent
Reply #15 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:21pm

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:16pm:
aikmann4 wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:11pm:
Crime isn't too bad in Dubbo. The Aboriginals are relegated to two council estates so as long as you avoid these neighbourhoods, you'll be alright. The worst one is separated from the rest of the town by a railway track so they basically just foul their own nest and leave the rest of the town in peace.

True, but they still venture into town after dark and create utter chaos. It's best to avoid the main streets after 7PM.

It's especially urgent to adhere to this general rule on Friday and Saturday. Not only are the "mobs" out in force on these days, bogans are too. Steer clear of the fronts of pubs in particular. And if you get asked for smokes, don't get smart.

Brandy

Reply #16 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:25pm

White Dove wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:20pm:
I was joking but you lot have already been hauled in to the possie.

Brandy, how are you proposing to look after yourself when you quit the Big Smoke? KRudd lived in a car for years then became PM so, are you thinking of following his line of work?

He really lived in a car? That's inspiring..

I am going to keep doing what I do now,which is a bit of everything.

I do photography, tarot reading/spells etc  and I am also a cook.

Equitist

Reply #17 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:26pm

As someone who moved away from Sydney about 15 years ago, I'd suggest that you seriously ask yourself who, what and why you would be running from and leaving behind - as well as what you would be wanting to get out of any other place...

Obviously, housing is cheaper outside of Sydney but petrol and many other goods are more expensive, jobs generally pay less (if you can find one) and most services less accessible and more unreliable (especially health, transport and telecommunications) - and the tyranny of distance from friends and family takes its own emotional toll...

If you are planning on running alone, it will be easier if you are the gregarious, restless and adventurous type but it will probably be harder to make the move than you think - and you may end up forking out more in partying than you save in rent...

Either way, living away from Sydney is not as cheap overall as you might think - and it is rarely a good idea to run from something without having a fair idea of what you are running to...

I love living in regional NSW but I really miss aspects of living in Sydney - especially family, friends and work opportunities...

Oh, and don't expect people to come to visit you too much - especially if a visit cannot be done in a day without too much travel time and expense (and overnight visits create a range of other logistical challenges)...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Brandy

Reply #18 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:49pm

Well thanks for everyone's input it has been interesting that last post by Equitist made me think and now I am kinda confused hahaha

abu_rashid

Aussie Muslim

Reply #19 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:58pm

You could always goto Nimbin and live for free as a hippy bludger..

abu_rashid  

Equitist

Reply #20 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:20pm

LOL, Brandy - perhaps an extended working holiday is what you need at this point in your life - maybe as a backpacker!?

Meantime, I wanted to emphasise the transport and health issues a little more...

In the past 6 months, my car's odometer (not to mention my hip pocket) indicates that I have travelled by car an average of just over 90km per day - much of this has been to access health services...

I travel to Sydney several times a year (much less now than we did when we first moved up here) and compared to Sydney petrol prices, we tend to pay about 10 cents per litre more (rarely, the difference is as little as 5 cents) - and that difference really adds up over a year...

We live about 110km from Sydney - not far in theory but it is a costly, time-consuming and tiring day trip away...

Twice as far, and you'd need to consider overnight travel - for yourself and any visitors - which effectively wipes out a whole weekend for both parties and is therefore logistically challenging...

I have childless friends who live in the Sydney CBD, who wanted some balance in life and bought an acreage in Mudgee about 3 years ago - it is now on the market because the realities of their lives (especially their work) mean that they only manage to get up there a few times a year. They also intend to sell their city unit and buy a house in the Burbs!

I have known several people who have communted to Sydney for work - at enormous expense and detriment to their health...

Where we live, transport logistics are a real challenge: bus services are few and far between - often not going anywhere near most of the places that one needs to go on a weekly basis (or requiring several indirect changes)...

Oh, and there is just one bus out of the area on a Sunday - and the first one back comes on Monday morning...

Anyways, don't let anyone put you off - just think a bit more about what you really want out of the next couple of years and beyond...

« Last Edit: Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:29pm by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Brandy

Reply #21 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:31pm

Thank you for that wonderful post Equitist, it sure makes me think...

It's not always greener on the other side is it.. lol

Brandy

Reply #22 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:32pm

I guess it depends on what I want in future.. I have nothing holding me back if I leave but I do need to think long and hard about this and try not to be so impulsive.  Undecided

Equitist

Reply #23 - Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:53pm

Ironically, for all my risk-averse advice: in my 40s I still daydream about taking off and doing the backpacker or grey nomad thing...

If not for being tied down by parental responsibilities and my kids' friends and recreational ties, I'd be tempted to take off any day...

Anyways, I need to get off to bed shortly - so best wishes with it all...

Oh, and as I keep telling my own kids: no experience in life is ever truly wasted (and some risks are worth taking)!

Nite all

athos

Re-educate barbarians

Hong Kong
Reply #24 - Aug 19th, 2010 at 10:21am

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:08pm:
Brandy wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 10:00pm:
aikmann4 wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 9:48pm:
You don't need to leave N.S.W. Rent is pretty low west of the Blue Mountains, if you're willing to live in places like Dubbo, Tamworth or Orange.

Are these places nice? I want someplace where crime rate is not high you know what I mean? I live on my own and I am so paranoid sometimes with the douchebags around the place.

All three have high Abo populations so the crime rate is VERY HIGH, I'd advise you to steer clear of them.

Yes lots of bike gangs there.
For start you can by one bed unit, its not so expensive, and after while progress to something bigger.

Do we need to be always politically correct.
In the world of universal deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.

aikmann4

canberra
Reply #25 - Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:08pm

As someone who moved away from Sydney about 15 years ago, I'd suggest that you seriously ask yourself who, what and why you would be running from and leaving behind - as well as what you would be wanting to get out of any other place...

Obviously, housing is cheaper outside of Sydney but petrol and many other goods are more expensive, jobs generally pay less (if you can find one) and most services less accessible and more unreliable (especially health, transport and telecommunications) - and the tyranny of distance from friends and family takes its own emotional toll...

Even if these things are slightly more expensive (I haven't noticed) in rural areas than in the cities, it is totally unimportant in comparison to the massive savings you're going to be making on housing costs. I think it's pretty well guaranteed that your cost of living is going to decrease dramatically in rural areas. Telecommunications are fine in places like Dubbo so long as you don't live in the undeveloped outskirts. Health is fine too; it's not like you'll be living in one of those remote Aboriginal communities that have to be serviced by the Flying Doctor. Unless you are weak and need to go to a different specialist five times a week that shouldn't be much of a factor.

I repeat, crime is not that bad. Just stay out of the housing estates; sociopaths and minorities tend to victimize people close to them. The Gordon Estate has sort of been dismantled in Dubbo anyway:

http://www.dailyliberal.com.au/news/local/news/general/gordon-estate-relocation-major-reason-for-crime-drop/1815473.aspx

.. though the 'action' has been moved to the Apollo estate.

Equitist

Reply #26 - Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:25pm

Basically, I was trying to say that: housing costs should be a minor consideration in the overall scheme of things - and that one should not undervalue the importance of one's social support networks, when making major life decisions...

Oh, and to point out that: many people both under-estimate transport costs and logistical challenges and over-estimate employment prospects outside metropolitan areas...

PS I would add that: affordable 1-2 bedroom units are NOT generally found in safe and secure neighbourhoods. Not sure how common they are outside major metropolitan areas either!

Brandy

Reply #27 - Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:28pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 18th, 2010 at 11:53pm:
Ironically, for all my risk-averse advice: in my 40s I still daydream about taking off and doing the backpacker or grey nomad thing...

If not for being tied down by parental responsibilities and my kids' friends and recreational ties, I'd be tempted to take off any day...

Anyways, I need to get off to bed shortly - so best wishes with it all...

Oh, and as I keep telling my own kids: no experience in life is ever truly wasted (and some risks are worth taking)!

Nite all

Nice post and I agree some risks are worth taking  Smiley

aikmann4

canberra
Reply #28 - Aug 19th, 2010 at 1:31pm

PS I would add that: affordable 1-2 bedroom units are NOT generally found in safe and secure neighbourhoods. Not sure how common they are outside major metropolitan areas either!

Not true. I could find a tonne of cheap as chips flats in Dubbo/Orange etc in no time at all in alright neighbourhoods. If your primary interest is to save money, rural areas are the way to go. Just don't move until you've secured employment.