Forum

Back to OzPolitic.com   Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
  Forum Home Album HelpSearch Recent Rules LoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Local Political Engagement (Read 839 times)
James Dale

Australian Politics

Local Political Engagement
Aug 18th, 2008 at 2:21pm

Hi everyone,

I am a University student writing a piece on local political engagement. I am interested to know if people know their local candidates and issues, compared to their engagement in the Obama and McCain election.

It would be great if you could post your thoughts and experiences from recent elections. I am particularily interested to hear from voters in the ACT, regarding the upcoming state election.

Thanks very much,
James

IP Logged

freediver
Gold Member

www.ozpolitic.com

At my desk.
Re: Local Political Engagement
Reply #1 - Aug 18th, 2008 at 2:25pm

I tend to focus more on federal issues, and a little bit on state issues. I usually only get involved in local government on issues that affect me directly.

Good luck, and please let us know how you go.

I identify as Mail because all I do is SendIT!
IP Logged

Acid Monkey
Gold Member

Goth Father

EU
Reply #2 - Aug 18th, 2008 at 2:54pm

Hi JD,

I travel a lot and don't stay in one area long enough to really pay attention to the local issues. I pay more attention to federal and state politics.

That said, the current local issue in my area is extending the time for the tow away zones to free up space for peak hour traffic. I think it currently starts at 4.00pm and the council wants to change it to 3.00pm. Local businesses and socialites who don't work are against that proposal.

IP Logged

Exotic Cheese

Australian Politics

Reply #3 - Aug 18th, 2008 at 10:08pm

At the moment WA have a choice between a guy who welcomed Condi Rice with hugs and kisses and a right wing party in complete disarray with some fat has been as the current leader running on the idea of banning 'drug paraphernalia'.

IP Logged