Forum

Back to OzPolitic.com   Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
  Forum Home Album HelpSearch Recent Rules LoginRegister  

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 15
Send Topic Print
Nelson's petrol tax cuts are a bad idea (Read 43852 times)
freediver
Gold Member

www.ozpolitic.com

At my desk.
Nelson's petrol tax cuts are a bad idea
May 17th, 2008 at 1:54pm

In his budget response, Brendan "I'm a doctor" Nelson proposed cuts to petrol taxes.

Petrol taxes help raise funds for road construction and maintenance. As it is, they barely cover this cost. Reducing this tax would amount to a road subsidy. This effective subsidy is a type of 'negative externality'. Taxpayers who limit their use of the road will be paying to support those who use it more than is economically rational.

Petrol consumption is relatively insensitive to price. This makes petrol taxes a good way to raise revenue while minimising the distorting effect that taxes have on the economy.

Greenhouse emissions are another negative externality associated with petrol. The price of petrol and electricity should be going up to internalise this externality. They will be going up once our kyoto obligations come into force. It makes no sense to lower them in the meantime.

Petrol prices are politically sensitive, probably because people are constantly confronted with the price of petrol on the side of the road. People's awareness of and concern for the price greatly exceeds it's relative impact on our lives. For this reason, lowering petrol prices may be a good short term political move, but it is bad for the economy and bad for the country.

While not as politically popular, blocking the tax on luxury cars would make far more economic sense.

I identify as Mail because all I do is SendIT!
IP Logged

Neferti
Gold Member

Canberra
Re: Nelson's petrol tax cuts are a bad idea
Reply #1 - May 17th, 2008 at 3:18pm