Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7
How Do You Vote? (Read 15478 times)
Ray_A

How Do You Vote?
Feb 17th, 2008 at 12:31pm

This is probably like asking "how much do you have in your bank account?" I'm a swinging voter, long and short term. I voted Liberal in the late '70s/early 80s, but switched to Labor in 1983, until 2001, then switched back to Liberal. I don't vote on "party lines", but on who I think will do the best job for the country, and I have a mixture of libertarian and conservative tendencies. I think the welfare state is destructive, but I don't think people should be told what they can or can't view on the Internet (with exceptions like child porn, obviously).

I'm also dead against anti-voluntary euthanasia laws.I believe people should have the right to die when they want, with clauses like the Northern Territory Bill did. I don't see how we can call ourselves a democracy when politicians dictate against what some 70 per cent of the population want. Isn't democracy government "of the people, by the people, and for the people"? Yet both Labor and Liberal have stifled even debate on this. I'm just wondering whether Canberra has a monopoly on intelligence. Maybe this should be a separate thread, but it encapsulates why I'm a swinging voter. Can governments be wrong? Just do a little study of political history.  

"People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them." &&&&--- Eric Hoffer. &&

IQSRLOW

Re: How Do You Vote?
Reply #1 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 12:35pm

Generally, I look to see what retards like Mantra and Oceans are voting for and do the exact opposite- it's the only way to keep the country safe and productive by cancelling out the idiot vote.

Political Animal has little moderation. It is the forum for free speech and free thinkers to converse passionately without the threat of being banned. It is a forum for adults.

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #2 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:19pm

As I love my country I only vote for the party which cares for all of its people.  Conservative.

In my experience the leftard parties focus on the the minority groups to such a degree that everyone pays the price of their tunnel vision - particularly the groups they seem to be supporting.  Usually the only ones benefitting from a Liebor government in this country are the cronies.  The populace come a very distant last.  This can be seen in any extended period with Liebor in control - huge unemployment, raised taxes, growing government debt, budget deficits, collapsing services, recessive regression, failing businesses and growing union strength.  And usually the Liebor mates get rich.

The conservative parties (Nats and Libs) tend to take a holistic approach to society - a harmonious society is a successful one.  And it shows.  High employment, reduced taxes, massive increases in services, reducing government debt, budget surpluses, interest rates falling, wages growth and an equality in society.

I voted Liberal.

IQSRLOW

Reply #3 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:32pm

You are a fair dinkum Aussie DT. Unlike some, you care about your country and fellow countrymen so that they all get carried along in the flood of prosperity.

Lefties want to dam that prosperity and make it flow towards their little but expensive experimental policies- they are truly selfish and uncaring

Political Animal has little moderation. It is the forum for free speech and free thinkers to converse passionately without the threat of being banned. It is a forum for adults.

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #4 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:38pm

IQSRLOW wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:32pm:
You are a fair dinkum Aussie DT. Unlike some, you care about your country and fellow countrymen so that they all get carried along in the flood of prosperity.

Lefties want to dam that prosperity and make it flow towards their little but expensive experimental policies- they are truly selfish and uncaring

Prosperity should be encouraged.  You are right that leftoids are so envious of the businessman, the entrepreneur and the developer that they seek to stymie his creation and growth.  The only people generally suffering as a result is the negative leftard themselves.  Creation still goes on because they can't kill the spirit of people with enthusiasm, but it goes on in their absence and they don't benefit.

Righties encourage enthusiasm and investment and everyone benefits.

oceanz

Auzgurl..

Reply #5 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:45pm

deepthought wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:38pm:
IQSRLOW wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:32pm:

Prosperity should be encouraged.  You are right that leftoids are so envious of the businessman, the entrepreneur and the developer that they seek to stymie his creation and growth.  The only people generally suffering as a result is the negative leftard themselves.  Creation still goes on because they can't kill the spirit of people with enthusiasm, but it goes on in their absence and they don't benefit.

Righties encourage enthusiasm and investment and everyone benefits.

Aww how cute  *blush*  Embarrassed

&&Jade Rawlings on Cousins " He makes our team walk taller..a very good team man , Ben Cousins"

IQSRLOW

Reply #6 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:57pm

Case in point above DT...

The short-sightedness of these types coupled with little understanding of how things work and how to make things work makes them nothing but the parasites of a society.

They see the wealth and prosperity being generated by the the businessman, the entrepreneur and the developer and they seek to to take that for themselves without any of the blood, sweat and tears that these people are prepared to put in.

Even though the benefits ultimately flow on to the lazy ones of society that sit on their ar*se on internet forums p!ssing and moaning how their glass is half empty. When they sight those that have worked to fill their glass to the top, they want those that have worked hard and long to give up their glass and pay for their internet connection so they can continue p!ssing and moaning.

These people are not true Australians

Ray_A

Reply #7 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 6:32pm

IQSRLOW wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 4:57pm:
Even though the benefits ultimately flow on to the lazy ones of society that sit on their ar*se on internet forums p!ssing and moaning how their glass is half empty. When they sight those that have worked to fill their glass to the top, they want those that have worked hard and long to give up their glass and pay for their internet connection so they can continue p!ssing and moaning.

The problem with this mentality is that everyone wants to get-rich-quick while others do the hard yards. Some people's idea of working hard to get rich is filling in the right numbers on the lotto form. Or making Centrelink employees work for their pay by debating what constitutes "work". Looking for work, is, after all, damn hard work.  Cry  Grin Finding five or ten job searches to fill in the Centrelink form is, indeed, stressful. I don't think there's any shortage of work in Australia, but there's a famine of people prepared to work anywhere. So, totally depressed their surname isn't Packer or Murdoch, their full time mission is to complain that they never had a silver spoon birthright.

There's a simple law about life that many don't comprehend. If you plant apple seeds, you're not going to get bananas. If you don't work you can still eat - at others' expense. The problem is not a shortage of jobs, but the "right" jobs. And if the "right" job doesn't "come along", society is to blame. Who else? It's obvious to Blind Freedy, isn't it?

We need a few bleeding heart stories on this thread, now. Tell us how you worked at MacDonald's for $9 an hour, and 30 years later you're still waiting for a pay rise. Maccas is obviously corrupt. They exploit people with no initiative. Retirement benefits are poor, to almost criminal. And arguing this point makes anyone a right-wing fascst - obviously.

But don't get me wrong. I am a merciful person, and I do care for my fellow human beings. I'm simply arguing ths point - If you're going to relate a "lost at sea" story, make sure first that Noah isn't in the audience.

I'd like to hear alternative opinions.  (Please note: If you're still on $9 an hour after ten years, whose fault is that?)
« Last Edit: Feb 17th, 2008 at 7:14pm by Ray_A »  

"People who bite the hand that feeds them usually lick the boot that kicks them." &&&&--- Eric Hoffer. &&

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #8 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 6:58pm

Sounds like IQ has found a soul mate at last.    Grin

IQSRLOW

Reply #9 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 7:17pm

mantra wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 6:58pm:
Sounds like IQ has found a soul mate at last.    Grin

Sounds like you know we are right... Grin Grin Grin

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #10 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 7:51pm

We need a few bleeding heart stories on this thread, now. Tell us how you worked at MacDonald's for $9 an hour, and 30 years later you're still waiting for a pay rise. Maccas is obviously corrupt. They exploit people with no initiative. Retirement benefits are poor, to almost criminal. And arguing this point makes anyone a right-wing fascst - obviously.  

What's your point Ray?

Until about 14 years ago, I voted Liberal because I grew up in a liberal family and believed the Liberals were all that you say and more.  Howard changed my view on how a conservative government should be run.  His extreme fanaticism on the economy over-rode any semblance of humanity and the environment, but that was pretty apparent before he got into power.  

For the past decade or so I have voted for the Greens because human rights and the environment deserve equal consideration to the economy and as the Greens helped Labor get into power - their influence will play an important part in restoring humanity to a country where greed has become God for too many people.

l voted for a political party that will oppose the annihilation of our environment to make a quick buck, put some effort into respecting the Human Rights and International Treaties Australia has signed, put a stop to live animal exports, increase Australian manufacturing and produce by supporting our growers and investing more in our home grown industries - especially renewables.

I also voted for a party that opposes war, uranium enrichment, nuclear power and the manufacturing of DU for weapons - I voted for  a peaceful, passionate and compassionate political party and that's exactly what the Australian Greens are.

IQSRLOW

Reply #11 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 8:30pm

We get it Mantra...you vote for negativity as opposed to productivity.

Your vote goes to those that make up policies against those that have initiative

Your vote goes to reactive politics instead of proactive politics

You vote for opposition rather than proposition.

Another leech on society- rather than come up with something unique and beneficial- your lot are happiest shouting down the innovators while offering nothing..it's very typical of regressive thinking

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #12 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 8:42pm

mantra wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 7:51pm:

What's your point Ray?

Until about 14 years ago, I voted Liberal because I grew up in a liberal family and believed the Liberals were all that you say and more.  Howard changed my view on how a conservative government should be run.  His extreme fanaticism on the economy over-rode any semblance of humanity and the environment, but that was pretty apparent before he got into power.  

For the past decade or so I have voted for the Greens because human rights and the environment deserve equal consideration to the economy and as the Greens helped Labor get into power - their influence will play an important part in restoring humanity to a country where greed has become God for too many people.

l voted for a political party that will oppose the annihilation of our environment to make a quick buck, put some effort into respecting the Human Rights and International Treaties Australia has signed, put a stop to live animal exports, increase Australian manufacturing and produce by supporting our growers and investing more in our home grown industries - especially renewables.

I also voted for a party that opposes war, uranium enrichment, nuclear power and the manufacturing of DU for weapons - I voted for  a peaceful, passionate and compassionate political party and that's exactly what the Australian Greens are.

I'm afraid to have to break it to you mantra - the Greens, at least if Bob Brown is any guide, are the least compassionate and peaceful party in Australia.  They are passionate about their determination to crush any opposition to them in a most fascist way though.

IQSRLOW

Reply #13 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 8:51pm

‘We will destroy your party. We can just bury you’. He added that he had enough ‘dirt’ to dump on the Democrats and ‘kill you as a party’ if we didn’t preference the Greens above certain other parties.

“He’s known to have told others in the Greens that he would like to see the Australian Democrats ‘dead and buried’ and I understand this to be the attitude of others in the Greens NSW State Executive.

Such a peaceful party- full of love, hope and butterflies  Grin Grin Grin

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #14 - Feb 17th, 2008 at 10:43pm

IQSRLOW wrote on Feb 17th, 2008 at 8:51pm:
‘We will destroy your party. We can just bury you’. He added that he had enough ‘dirt’ to dump on the Democrats and ‘kill you as a party’ if we didn’t preference the Greens above certain other parties.

“He’s known to have told others in the Greens that he would like to see the Australian Democrats ‘dead and buried’ and I understand this to be the attitude of others in the Greens NSW State Executive.

Such a peaceful party- full of love, hope and butterflies  Grin Grin Grin

Look at the Exclusive Brethren, they don't even vote but Bob launched into a full on screaming vendetta designed to ruin them.  He even went as far as using public funds to set up a senate inquiry into them.

He is one of the nastiest pieces of work in public life.  He would be excellent in the Liebor Party but The Greens seem to have a monopoly on hate and revenge.

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7