Poll Poll
Question: Should we change the Australian flag?

« Created by: ex-member DonaldTrump on: Feb 19th, 2007 at 3:13pm »

Australian flag. Change it? Leave it? (Read 84577 times)
ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Australian flag. Change it? Leave it?
Feb 19th, 2007 at 3:13pm

Here's a good one. Do you think we should change the Australian flag?

Explain your reasons, and if possible, post a new Australian flag design which you think is more appropriate.

Personally, I think we should keep our current one. I think a new one would just be tacky. But if I were given a choice, I would choose this flag:

Tolerance is the virtue of men who no longer believe in anything
&&-- G.K. Chesterton

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Re: Australian flag. Change it? Leave it?
Reply #1 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 5:02pm

Your flag is very plain, but not too bad DT.  For some reason the Australian flag is looking pretty tatty these days.  We should have a new flag designed - perhaps encompassing symbols of multiculturalism with a stronger reference to  our indigenous people. Wink

Reply #2 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 5:13pm

I voted no, however, if it was going to change I would go with the aboriginal flag - very cool.

aloof boof

the roving ear

outback
Reply #3 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 5:37pm

I went for changing it
Maybe something like this???
How do you get it to stick???
Anyway its an aboriginal flag in the top left quarter and the rest is a dark blue with 8 yellow stars signifying the 6 states and 2 territorys

constantly surrounded by mt beer cans

Reply #4 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 5:53pm

I think the symbolic star thing has been way overdone in the southern hemisphere. We have compasses these days.

spacscilib

Reply #5 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 7:01pm

I think a change would add no value - and just make a whole lot of money for printers and flag makers. The current flag aligns well with our current constitution and parliamentary configuration. Also, I am definitely not in favour of putting a minority's group emblem on our flag - no matter how loud they complain.

Reply #6 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 7:10pm

Isn't DT's suggestion also a minority emblem? The aboriginal flag represents what used to be the majority in this country.

In any case, it would cease to be a minorty goup emblem and become our national flag.

mozzaok

Reply #7 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 7:21pm

Well I really would like to see a new flag when we finally become a republic and I would like it based on the southern cross as it really does symbolise our past present and future quite nicely for many aussies. I think the aboriginal flag is very attractive also and to have the two symbols incorporated could work well on both an aesthetic and emotional level and would suit me nicely.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #8 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 9:22pm

DT, its a good flag mate, i reckon the eureka flag should be our national war flag- Flown into battle by our soldiers, flown at the mast of our naval fleet and painted on the sides of our air craft of the air force. afterall,it was flown in the victorian goldfield battle of the 1850's.

Mantra,mozzaok,freediver- Aboriginal flag..........HELL NO!
That particular flag was only invented back in 1974 for the abo's. am i an abo? NO.
And if people seem to think that the abo's had a nation or even indeed a society they are grossly mistaken. they were a series of tribes,different languages,stone age culture and you know what, they never ever built a single permanent building-they couldnt even invent the bloody wheel!
Im not saying i hate the abo's , no, i respect them.but all of this propaganda that is being crammed down the throats of every one by our government and half casts is just wrong. the truth is being forgotten. Furthermore,they should be intergrating into our society. this is absolutely nessesary. Have any of you ever been to the todd river in alice springs.The abos there walk around unclean, drunk and they go to the dunny right on the footpath-i saw it with my own eyes! ive seen their settlements, rubbish every where,bashed up cars,burnt huts and then... what about the redfern abo's?
GREAT PEOPLE TO LOOK UP TO!
And the multiculturist part of the flag....HELL NO AGAIN.

Anyhow. heres my design ...IF... we become a republic.
I included the coat of arms as it has a couple of points.
It shows all of the states.
The kangaroo and the emu cannot take steps backwards, showing the determination of our nation.
I would prefer it very much though if we retained the current flag. I LOVE IT!
« Last Edit: Feb 19th, 2007 at 10:35pm by DILLIGAF »  
Total anti-marxist and anti-left wing. The Right is Right.&&&&&&

Reply #9 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 9:55pm

The aboriginies did establish permanent settlements in Victoria, farming eels.

If you think you could have done better, please explain how you would have set up a farming community in pre-colonial Australia. No cattle, no sheep, no wheat, no rice. Just macadamias, bunya nuts and bogong moths.

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #10 - Feb 19th, 2007 at 10:30pm

Eel farming ay? fascinating.
I still stand by my comments.
Not being a farmer i would'nt know! i would have lived on the coast for the fish and land animals.
But My argument was about their continual insistance that they had a ''country''.and that we ''invaded'' their country.I dont see their flag as having any importance for the history of our NATION.
Also about their living standards. Why wont they go to school and eventually get a job, rather than drinking turps , burning down their government given houses and just sitting around doing nothing.
But heres something nice to report about one. I used to live in brisbane and one day while i was in the city, a full blooded Aboriginal man stepped out of his merc, wearing a nice suit with a briefcase. I said g'day and in perfect english he said how are you? we got to talking and it turned out he is a successful lawer,and a bloody nice bloke! Education mate, Education.
Perhaps the so-called ''stolen generation'' was'nt such a bad thing after all.
I know it isnt nice to be pulled away from your family but would you rather they stay in the dirt,drunk,impoverished and a drain on society or become like that well off man in brisbane.

What do you think of my flag design. it is equal for everyone.

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #11 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 2:44am

Mantra:
Your flag is very plain, but not too bad DT.

It ain't 'mine.' Didn't you take Australian history classes mantra?   Tongue

Mantra:
We should have a new flag designed - perhaps encompassing symbols of multiculturalism with a stronger reference to  our indigenous people.

Shocked

You know full well that I'm offended by that remark mantra. Creative insult.  Tongue

Freediver:
I voted no, however, if it was going to change I would go with the aboriginal flag - very cool.

Shocked COOL???

Mozzaok:
I think the aboriginal flag is very attractive also and to have the two symbols incorporated could work well on both an aesthetic and emotional level and would suit me nicely.

Attractive? Huh

Is this the future of the Australian flag?  Grin

Dirtysanta:
I went for changing it
Maybe something like this???
How do you get it to stick???
Anyway its an aboriginal flag in the top left quarter and the rest is a dark blue with 8 yellow stars signifying the 6 states and 2 territorys

Refer to thread: http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171900980

AusNat:
DT, its a good flag mate

Damn straight.  Wink

To me it's our most symbolic flag. It's a symbol for the closest Australia ever came to becoming a Republic in its 200 year history. It represents unity, mateship and rebellion. It was also the first time the southern cross appeared in ANY flag. It represents Australians finally getting a fair go in the gold fields and workplace. It represents pretty much everything this country stands for.

Saying that though, I don't support any change in our flag. That's only if I HAD to change it.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Reply #12 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 9:14am

My argument was about their continual insistance that they had a ''country''.and that we ''invaded'' their country.

They had land, which we took.

What do you think of my flag design. it is equal for everyone.

Too much fine detail.

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #13 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 12:49pm

CLASSIC! Grin

aboriginalflagyi8.jpg (Attachment deleted)

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #14 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 7:03pm

How about this one?

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #15 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 7:05pm

Perhaps this?

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #16 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 7:06pm

or even better, THIS!
Do the right thing,
Islam in bin.

islam_in_bin.JPG (7 KB | 126 )
islam_in_bin.JPG

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #17 - Feb 20th, 2007 at 11:20pm

Love that Islamic one Ausnat.  Wink

I kinda like the idea of changing our flag green and gold like you demonstrated. It's more 'Australian colours' than the standard blue, white and red.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #18 - Feb 21st, 2007 at 4:00pm

Yeh its not bad ay! still, but i want to keep the current one. That abolink flag was awesome! Grin

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #19 - Feb 22nd, 2007 at 12:53am

That abolink flag was awesome!

Admittedly, I stole the idea off someone else. So I can't take the credit for that one.  Tongue

It's funny cause it's true though.

Yeh its not bad ay! still, but i want to keep the current one.

Same. I'm very big on tradition. -Even though Australia's original flag had a red background.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #20 - Feb 22nd, 2007 at 1:00am

Yeah we have the red ensign, for ships.

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #21 - Feb 22nd, 2007 at 1:05am

Yeah we have the red ensign, for ships.

Bugger. So it wasn't our original flag? -Always had the impression it was.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #22 - Feb 22nd, 2007 at 11:51pm

Nope, its the flag for ships.
I guess the current flag remains.............. HOORAY!!!!

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #23 - Feb 23rd, 2007 at 2:59am

*Opens stubbie*  Grin

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #24 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 3:42pm

Hows about this flag...... true to my poem. Grin

Burn_mother_fker.JPG (22 KB | 153 )
Burn_mother_fker.JPG

auzgurl

Reply #25 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 6:12pm

I really love our current flag too...

It would seem strange with any other.

Our flag represents our culture , past and present and many Aussies are attached to it. Roll Eyes

auzgurl

Reply #26 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 6:16pm

Of course if we were to do away with the original flag..The Indigenous flag should be the only rightful flag to take its place.

Its a beautiful flag apart from all it represents. Smiley Smiley

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #27 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 6:45pm

But the Indigenous flag only represents them.  - im not abo.
The black is for the people, the red for the earth and then theres the sun.
Only two colours there i can relate to.

auzgurl

Reply #28 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 7:39pm

Aus Nat.

thats true..maybe they could modify it and add white as well? and a coat of arms..mmm kind of wouldnt look the same after all I suppose>

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #29 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 11:27pm

Nah. we gotta keep the current one, no matter what.

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #30 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 11:48pm

Grin Nice Lebanese flag Aussie Nat. I don't think that should be ours though... maybe they can use it instead.  Tongue

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #31 - Mar 1st, 2007 at 11:52pm

Nah mate never. unless we are not careful.
That ape on the right in your picture looks hilarious.

''With lighter in my hand,
I stand proud on my Australian land,
To burn the Lebanese flag of pine-
It shall be history, in short time''

Reply #32 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 10:47am

The black is for the people, the red for the earth and then theres the sun.
Only two colours there i can relate to.

I think you are trying to add too much meaning too it. Most European countries got it right - just three horizontal or vertical stripes in different colours. Isn't the German flag the same colours as the aboriginal one anyway? I'm sure you could add whatever meaning you want to them. Like urine, faeces and blood for example. With our current flag, it's not like people navigate by the stars any more anyway. How many Aussies could even point out the southern cross? In the sky that is. And there are plenty of other countries in the southern hemisphere.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #33 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 11:03am

DT - you need to come up with a new angry Muslim picture.  The same old - same old - is getting a bit repetitive.   Roll Eyes

Aussie N.  - You too with some of yours!

Why don't you make your favourite pic smaller & use it under your names?

We can be original and use different pics, so people don't get bored.

Just a suggestion!  Shocked

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #34 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 12:21pm

DT - you need to come up with a new angry Muslim picture.  The same old - same old - is getting a bit repetitive.

Actually Mantra, that 'angry Muslim pic' is in my signature. It's not like I'm posting it individually every single time.  Tongue

But you're right, it is getting old... I might get rid of it in th following days.

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #35 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 2:33pm

Oops -  sorry - just wondered why it was coming up all the time.  Embarrassed

enviro

Taking Out The Trash

Weethalle NSW
Reply #36 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 5:39pm

I think wattle should be our national symbol.

auzgurl

Reply #37 - Mar 2nd, 2007 at 6:29pm

This is a ripper Aussie Flag...

The coat of arms and beer and meat pie as a unifying symbol!!!! Smiley Smiley Smiley

ex-member DonaldTrump

Oh mere mortals, open
your eyes!

Overseas
Reply #38 - Mar 3rd, 2007 at 12:29am

This is a ripper Aussie Flag...

The coat of arms and beer and meat pie as a unifying symbol!!!!

Ah.... I think I might pass on that one auzgurl.  Shocked

&&-- G.K. Chesterton

Aussie Nationalist

Reply #39 - Mar 3rd, 2007 at 11:24pm

Auzgurl, just get rid of the ''but we are many'' part and it'd be fine. Wink

alicia(Guest)

Reply #40 - Aug 13th, 2007 at 12:54pm

no dont change it  Grin