General Discussion >> Chat >> Cuttlefish
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1614829788

Message started by Gordon on Mar 4th, 2021 at 1:49pm

Title: Cuttlefish
Post by Gordon on Mar 4th, 2021 at 1:49pm
Don't you hate it when delicious food is so intelligent?

https://www.sciencealert.com/cuttlefish-can-pass-a-cognitive-test-designed-for-children

Title: Re: Cuttlefish
Post by JaSin. on Mar 4th, 2021 at 2:32pm
Very interesting.
I've seen a few Cuttlefish (big enough to do the act) who, when Divers get too close to them, shoot out their arms (so to speak) and pull the Regulators out because they somehow 'know' that we need these to breath
(Thankfully 2nd stage Occy's provide a contingency plan for the Diver - but apparently in the Caribbean a Diver had his reg pulled out, put in his Occy and the Cuttlefish again removed the occy - before the Diver had to move away.).

On night dives, Cuttlefish would use the Dive torch as a hunting tool to capture any fish in the light. So I've had one or two follow me to exploit this opportunity.

Also, unlike most of the Animal Kingdom where the 'physically stronger' Male gets to breed. The majority of the Breeding in Cuttlefish is due to the success of the smaller more intelligent Cuttlefish who camoulflage themselves as 'females' to enter the Harem domain of the Bigger Male and breed. So you could say the 'Trannie' male gets the girl.

So it's the 'intelligent' male that gets to breed more, but this might explain why, despite their intelligence - they are a very physically 'fragile' species too (like Humans) as seen with any temperature change like the Whyalla Giant Cuttlefish experienced and numbers dropped off considerably - though I think most must have moved to cooler depths.

Looking into the eye of a Cuttlefish, you could almost see them looking back into one's own eyes - thinking, analysing, etc. Probably why they have worked out that we Humans need our Regulators to breath. They even try to take off masks to tell us to 'back off' if we get too close. I wouldn't be surprised if they can see in varied 'spectrums' like the Predator in those movies. Spectrums that we can't.

A very unique species. We really should bio-engineer them into underwater Military weapons.  :D

Post by Gordon on Mar 4th, 2021 at 2:54pm
Imagine if they were long-lived and could manipulate their environment? They'd own the planet!

Post by JaSin. on Mar 4th, 2021 at 6:15pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 4th, 2021 at 2:54pm:
Imagine if they were long-lived and could manipulate their environment? They'd own the planet!

Well the Orca has a more advanced brain than ours - if they had hands we'll be stuffed.
But hey, if we learned to communicate with Orca - it might be our downfall, as they won't need 'hands' to MIND CONTROL us. Wouldn't be hard  - Humans have been domesticated by Wheat.  :D ;D

Post by Valkie on Mar 5th, 2021 at 6:52am
I've read about the intelligence of cephalopods for some time now.

It seems they may have a higher intelligence than dolphins.
They understand the concept of art and actually make an aesthetic garden around their lairs.

They can solve problems and mazes and even work out more complex situations.

One octopus in a zoo was timing the rounds of a security guard so that it could sneak out of its tank,
Climb into a tank of crabs and grab them to eat and flee back to its own tank before being caught.

Another one didnt like the light in its tank, so it sprayed the light with water to cause it to blow.

Ive also read that their DNA isnt exactly the same as almost every other animal on the planet.
Could they be alien?

Post by Jovial Monk on Mar 5th, 2021 at 8:17am
Could we eat them if they were alien?

The eye of an octopus is better than ours and does not have a blindspot.

Post by Gordon on Mar 5th, 2021 at 12:06pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Mar 5th, 2021 at 8:17am:

Why not?

Post by Yadda on Mar 5th, 2021 at 12:16pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 4th, 2021 at 2:54pm:

Imagine if they had an opposing thumb, and could also walk on land !      ;)

Post by JaSin. on Mar 5th, 2021 at 12:34pm

Valkie wrote on Mar 5th, 2021 at 6:52am:
I've read about the intelligence of cephalopods for some time now.

It seems they may have a higher intelligence than dolphins.
They understand the concept of art and actually make an aesthetic garden around their lairs.

They can solve problems and mazes and even work out more complex situations.

One octopus in a zoo was timing the rounds of a security guard so that it could sneak out of its tank,
Climb into a tank of crabs and grab them to eat and flee back to its own tank before being caught.

Another one didnt like the light in its tank, so it sprayed the light with water to cause it to blow.

Ive also read that their DNA isnt exactly the same as almost every other animal on the planet.
Could they be alien?

Cephalopods are incredibly intelligent and I don't think we have discovered their true capabilities mentally. But like Stephen Hawkings, they are physically 'fragile' in many ways despite their versatile appendages. They know it too I'm sure.
I've dived the two secret spots where Octopolis and Octlantis are - where (so far) Octopus gather in 'communities' like no other place on Earth. Many Scientists fly in to come to these two spots - which are off limits to Recreational Dive (tourist) groups for good reason.
Quite amazing, just watching them in action as they play, socialise and even wave their arms at each other as if to say hello to their neighbours and even swap shells and stones with each other (Trade?). The theory is that they congregate  to prevail against Bull Rays that can suck them up from their dens. Coming  together against a greater threat. It's not like they can find sticks underwater to use as spears against the huge Rays.
My favourite Cephalopod is the Vampire Squid - a primordial   and ancient species from well before the dinosaurs, that lives down very deep in the ocean.

We might find that quite a few species on this planet have brain and mind capabilities better than our own in some specific and specialised ways. The Orca brain is obviously far superior to our own. You can fight and scare off a Great White Shark, but if an Orca wants to get you - it will. They know us very well. For a species to understand a 'contract' with humans (like back in old Eden) - to which we broke (typical), is amazing. They even show psychosis when imprisoned in SeaWorld like enclosures and have taken action against Humans - when we lie and deceive.

Lifting a sheet of corrugated iron underwater at the Gravel Loader at Bass Point. The little juvenile Cuttlefish impersonate Blue Ring-Octopus - apparently knowing their deadly potential, as a defense mechanism.
Dolphins are smart too. Only found x3 medium sized Giant Cuttlefish off Whyalla. As I got out of the water - the Dolphins came in to exactly the spots where I had found the Cuttlefish and ate them. I had blown the Cuttlefish cover (sorry guys). I guess the Dolpin know why divers/snorklers come to Whyalla.
A fav story is of a NZ Spearo who had to dive 3 times in order to get a Snapper which exhibited unusual behaviour for a Snapper. Each time the Snapper came in towards that 'shiny spear tip' (that attracts them) - it suddenly turned and darted away. It wasn't until the Spearo felt the hairs on the back of his neck rise and turned around... a big Orca was right behind him  :o, watching how he was hunting the Snapper. Of course, he said he near pooped himself.

As for the immense Colossus Squid found south of New Zealand, those old pictures of Kraken taking down those old small wooden ships of long ago - now ring very true indeed.

Post by Jovial Monk on Mar 5th, 2021 at 4:05pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 5th, 2021 at 12:06pm:

Jovial Monk wrote on Mar 5th, 2021 at 8:17am:

Why not?

Strange protein!

Post by Yadda on Mar 5th, 2021 at 4:50pm

Excellent thread Gordon.

And really good contributions    jasin !

Jasin wrote on Mar 5th, 2021 at 12:34pm:

.......We might find that quite a few species on this planet have brain and mind capabilities better than our own in some specific and specialised ways. The Orca brain is obviously far superior to our own.

You can fight and scare off a Great White Shark, but if an Orca wants to get you - it will.

I have no doubt that is true.

But i have never heard of wild Orca's attacking humans.

???

I believe that there have been incidents where wild Orca's have assisted people in the water.

Yadda said....
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1571482856/7#7

Watched a DOCO a few years ago, on Orca's.

The DOCO makers seemed pretty sure, that there has never been a recorded incident of wild Orca's attacking humans in the water !!!

Post by JaSin. on Mar 5th, 2021 at 5:20pm
Recorded from the Whaling age - there have been quite a few Whalers and sailors lost because of Orca. But Orca were occassionally hunted back then too with the rare exception of Eden and West Coast Canadian Indian tribe being a peaceful co-existence... for a while. Even the best Orca researchers don't jump in willy-nilly with Orca in the wild, like they can with other species. Even Beluga have drowned people swimming with them.

South Australia: 6m Great White trails an Orca pod - homing in on the young in the pod. The Alpha male in front of the pod suddenly dives down deep, while the Pod keep going. Not long after the Alpha Male Orca does a 'great white' trick and comes up from below to 'smash' the big White for an instant kill. The Great White was 60m behind the pod at the time - but 'they' knew it was there behind them.
In SA & WA waters, there are not many Orca so the GW's are used to being the Apex with all the freedom of aggression that comes with it. The east coast GW's are not the Apex and are more 'subdued' in their aggression, because there are far more Orca.
...in South Africa, they are not sure as to why, but there has been a big drop in GW populations recently. Wether it is due to Orca appearing and life in the sea becoming harder to find food due to all the intrusions humans have had on the food chains. Even Whale Sharks are taking bigger fish out of desperation for food.

Mexican Government allows fishermen to shoot Orca - because the Orca are stealing their already decimated fish stocks.  ::) The world might 'starve' one day, having eaten itself out of house and home due to the demands of over-population. Whale Sharks are now being hunted for food.
Orca have a very good memory, better than 90% of humans by the look of it. If we begin to hunt them out of desperation - they will 'never' forget, if they manage to survive and that wouldn't be good long term  if we want to understand them more. The Orca will attack back.

Post by Gordon on Mar 6th, 2021 at 12:28pm
I'm going to watch this tonight.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3s0LTDhqe5A

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 12:58pm
That looks great! Such a great refreshing angle.

What's your 'spirit animal' Gordon?
(Hopefully not a Newt ;D)

Post by Lols on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:14pm
Fantastic thread/topic!

Post by Lols on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:16pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 12:28pm:

I have seen this, it’s fantastic! My daughter told me to watch it.

Highly recommended viewing. 5 out of 5 stars.

The dedication of that diver every day!
The bond he developed with that octopus.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:32pm
The thing about Divers who 'routine and habituate' their dives is that it attracts Sharks. Much like Crocodiles who learn the Human 'patterns' of swimming at the same spot and time. Sharks have taken divers and swimmers (mostly) who 'regularly' turn up.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:45pm
Sharks don't target people like crocs do. If they did, people would get taken at Bondi.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:23pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:45pm:
Sharks don't target people like crocs do. If they did, people would get taken at Bondi.

I think there is way too much activity and watchful jet-skis at Bondi for even a Croc to take a huge risk. Unless one drifts away from the crowd. Personally, I think Bondi stinks of turd too much for any shark or croc to feel like they've had a good sundae icecream.

But say Tathra and its weekly dusk swim where one such old and weaker fell behind the pack.
Of California where the weekly routine swim of a researcher assisted the GW's hunting 'guarantee' of success.
...there are many other examples (if I re-look them up or find them again).
Take Jervis/Jarvis Bay - where a certain big female GW turns up yearly at the times of Tourists coming in to do some 'slaughter' spearfishing (to shoot as much as they can in the short holiday they get). She often lurks around a certain point or two at just the right time. Time to take my mate for a ride for 20m underwater by taking his stringer of 5 fish a week after she paid me a visit at the same point. I wasn't spearing. She's only  after fish... unless we stop feeding her that - she might take the Spearos themselves. I think she is down Tathra/Eden way currently. Afterall, the Victorians have come up - they make such great sport :D

I dare you to make a routine solo dive (as both Sharks and Crocs make 'loners' the priority) every week at the same spot. Eventually a big Shark will 'lock on' to your pattern and on your birthday, pay you a close visit.

When Solo, I always juggle my sites and times and never solo dive where it is popular for divers to be. Going solo has a lot of compromises.

But hey, if you read Tom Byron's (got to visit him long ago at his house in Rosemeadow) History of Aust Scuba/Spearfishing, etc. Sometimes GW's are more than happy to just ram into a pack of divers doing deco and carry  the other half of a diver off into the gloom.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:34pm

Of California where the weekly routine swim of a researcher assisted the GW's hunting 'guarantee' of success.

Are you suggesting a GW would otherwise have difficulty tracking down a human?

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:44pm
GW passes through an area. Sees a lone swimmer. A hungry or desperate shark might take an immediate chance against this new unknown potential prey (similar to a seal). A more careful Shark (because unlike Orca, GW's don't like the chance of getting an eye scrapped, or injured - they are 'bullies' by nature and want 'easy' prey) - would assess each time (and place) that potential prey would appear. It would learn that prey's 'routine' - before coming in for the kill or test bite to bleed the prey dead. A lot of predators do it, Sharks are no exception. Orca do it with seals - hence the different methods they learn to catch their prey.

Bull Sharks never attack swimmers (just 50m away sometimes) along a popular (heaps of swimmers) river in South Africa - because there are plenty of fisherman who don't mind the Bull Sharks taking a slice of their catch. It's all about routine, habituation and certainty. They see Humans 'providing' them with an easier meal, than biting the hand that feeds them. Sharks are cautious for an injury can cause them their lives. Only a 'frenzy' (common in smaller, mass gathering sharks) turns them into a mindless risk taker.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:47pm

GW passes through an area. Sees a lone swimmer. A hungry or desperate shark might take an immediate chance against this new unknown potential prey (similar to a seal).

How many GW's do you think there are that have never come across a swimmer before?

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:52pm
When I was down Invercargill/Stewart Island way (NZ) I asked about the GW's in the area regarding Diving around there. At the time I was told, the GW's didn't go near Divers (as the Orca were Apex, the GW's were somewhat more 'docile') - as many dived without cause or alarm. It was just before they began so-called 'Cage Research' - which was a front for the creation of Cage Dive Tourism. Because they chummed the Whites to appear for the Cages, within just 8 years the GW's (and there is a lot down that way) behaviours had changed dramatically to a very aggressive state of bumping, ramming and even trying to tip small boats and tinnies - because they now associated Humans as food providers. The locals are still angry about this as now many get harrassed by GW's for food and no-one does cage-free diving down that way, especially solo or even just as a pair. Too dangerous now.

...habituation and routine.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:54pm
They are not trying to eat the scuba divers and tinnies jasin. They are hoping fish might fall out.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:57pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:47pm:

GW passes through an area. Sees a lone swimmer. A hungry or desperate shark might take an immediate chance against this new unknown potential prey (similar to a seal).

How many GW's do you think there are that have never come across a swimmer before?

I reckon 98% have never seen a lone human swimmer before or come into contact. Probably only a small percentage of swimmers have a routine place/time for a swim (the idiots do it at pre-dawn and dusk). Those sharks that do come across them will not immediately attack (unless conditions are right, like very poor viz, over-cast dimness or they are very 'starved' to take desperate action) - but if they recognise a pattern of the swimmer, they'll take it as an opportunity to capitalise on it in any way. As we know, shark attacks are not common. But why be that small statistic.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:59pm

but if they recognise a pattern of the swimmer

You are confusing sharks with crocodiles.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:59pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:54pm:
They are not trying to eat the scuba divers and tinnies jasin. They are hoping fish might fall out.

That's right. But they'll bite you all the same to get that food like a chick pecking at its parent's beak to entice an offering of food. It's not like they're going to hand over cash or ask you nicely.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:02pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:59pm:

Crocs are far better at it. They are extremely patient and more confident in their ways. Sharks can be more vulnerable to injury. Oceanic White-Tips though will attack, even if there are quite a few divers, or swimmers in the water. But things are more desperate out in the open 'emptier' ocean. Hell, they eat whale turd.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:04pm
*JaSin sees FD circling in the gloom where the viz just hides his presence.
FD is waiting for his moment to strike.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:11pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:02pm:

Crocs are far better at it. They are extremely patient and more confident in their ways. Sharks can be more vulnerable to injury. Oceanic White-Tips though will attack, even if there are quite a few divers, or swimmers in the water. But things are more desperate out in the open 'emptier' ocean. Hell, they eat whale turd.

Sharks don't refrain from eating people due to lack of skill or patience.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:20pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:11pm:

Jasin wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:02pm:

Sharks don't refrain from eating people due to lack of skill or patience.

Juvenile GW's don't have the bite capacity to bite humans.
But Adolescent GW's (after jaw restructure/growth) do and the majority of surfer bites and the cliche 'test bite' is common. They're 'used to the surfers being  there'.
Adults mostly don't attack unless you're that South African surfer who drank a lot of beer and pissed in the water a lot (to smell like an animal) - who has been attacked 5 times! Once two GW's hit him at exactly the same time (which saved his life) with him between other surfers on the same wave. I've searched for the clip, but it's no longer around (shows the impact of both hitting him and knocking him off his board).

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:30pm
Anyway, if Cuttlefish were the size of GW's - I reckon they would be far more dangerous to humans (divers, etc).

Post by Gordon on Mar 6th, 2021 at 4:52pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 3:23pm:

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:45pm:

I think there is way too much activity and watchful jet-skis at Bondi for even a Croc to take a huge risk. Unless one drifts away from the crowd. Personally, I think Bondi stinks of turd too much for any shark or croc to feel like they've had a good sundae icecream.

But say Tathra and its weekly dusk swim where one such old and weaker fell behind the pack.
...there are many other examples (if I re-look them up or find them again).
Take Jervis/Jarvis Bay - where a certain big female GW turns up yearly at the times of Tourists coming in to do some 'slaughter' spearfishing (to shoot as much as they can in the short holiday they get). She often lurks around a certain point or two at just the right time. Time to take my mate for a ride for 20m underwater by taking his stringer of 5 fish a week after she paid me a visit at the same point. I wasn't spearing. She's only  after fish... unless we stop feeding her that - she might take the Spearos themselves. I think she is down Tathra/Eden way currently. Afterall, the Victorians have come up - they make such great sport :D

I dare you to make a routine solo dive (as both Sharks and Crocs make 'loners' the priority) every week at the same spot. Eventually a big Shark will 'lock on' to your pattern and on your birthday, pay you a close visit.

When Solo, I always juggle my sites and times and never solo dive where it is popular for divers to be. Going solo has a lot of compromises.

But hey, if you read Tom Byron's (got to visit him long ago at his house in Rosemeadow) History of Aust Scuba/Spearfishing, etc. Sometimes GW's are more than happy to just ram into a pack of divers doing deco and carry  the other half of a diver off into the gloom.

There are tons of sharks at Bondi, I see them out the back on my SUP all the time, as do the ski paddlers.

I was out the BACK back once and a juvy seal popped up near me,  I reckon it looked schit scared and was looking for a place to hide then took off like a rocket.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:07pm
That's a common occurance. Seals jumping onto boats for protection.

I've seen clips around South Africa where Great Whites congregate in numbers off the rocky points where the white-wash creates a higher oxygenated effect for the Sharks - sort of like taking a yak-milk bath with ambient music and candles.
While in between both points is a beach of many surfers - some photographed just 20m away from the sharks, but the sharks never attacked them.

There is so many variables, but education helps a lot. Like never look like a motionless dead thing to a Tiger Shark - as  it is a scavenger, keep moving about lively. But don't move about too much as it attracts Bull Sharks' attention. Rebreathers can look like Turtle Shells to Tiger Sharks and I've had two friends who had an experience with this in JB with a Tiger Shark.
Never look a Gorilla in the eye, but make sure you stand your ground and look a charging male Lion in the eye even if it stops just 5m from you. :o
Bronzies often strafe along beaches at dusk, especially in those channels that run along the beach just 10m out.
Even Grey Nurse Sharks can turn into aggressive Vampires at night.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:13pm

They are about 5 feet long and 35kg when they are born Jasin. Big enough to tear a person to shreds if they actually wanted to.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:45pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:13pm:

They are about 5 feet long and 35kg when they are born Jasin. Big enough to tear a person to shreds if they actually wanted to.

But they don't. Unless a toddler is swimming around by themselves away from the crowd. They just don't have the jaw structure at the time to even do a test bite. When the Adolescent stage comes, their Jaw restructures and they suddenly go around 'Test Biting' everything. Adults know Humans are not their usual food (unless very hungry or the human presents a vulnerable moment of easy opportunity).
I consider the Adolescent the more dangerous than Adult.
I've had Adults just pass me by at viz range (seeing if I'll return to the same spot time and again) without a pause out at Stoney Creek outside JB. Saw one guy use an umbrella with big fake eyes on it, when opened - and the Adult darted away.
But there are so many variables FD, there is no Black or White. It's just a matter of knowing as many variables as you can.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:55pm

But they don't.

Neither do the full grown adults.

Post by Valkie on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:57pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 2:16pm:

Watched it a few weeks ago.

Brought a tear to my eye it did.

In less than a year, this intelligent little creature befriended a human and lived a lifetime.

Imagine what they could do if they lived for 50 years?

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:59pm

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:55pm:

But they don't.

I gather neither a juvenile or adult chased you out of the water when spearing.

...ahh teenagers.  ;)

Post by JaSin. on Mar 6th, 2021 at 6:00pm

Valkie wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:57pm:

Watched it a few weeks ago.

Brought a tear to my eye it did.

In less than a year, this intelligent little creature befriended a human and lived a lifetime.

Imagine what they could do if they lived for 50 years?

I've yet to see it. Good point Valkie.

Post by freediver on Mar 6th, 2021 at 8:11pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:59pm:

freediver wrote on Mar 6th, 2021 at 5:55pm:

But they don't.

I gather neither a juvenile or adult chased you out of the water when spearing.

...ahh teenagers.  ;)

I got chased out by a small one once. Pretty sure it was a GW.

Post by Gordon on Mar 6th, 2021 at 8:12pm

Just starting it, OMG the filming is gorgeous.   

Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2021 at 10:55am

Watched it, just wow. A must for doco lovers especially ocean lovers.
As for swimming with no wetsuit in 9c kelp forests of Cape Town...ʞɔnɟ that!!!!

Post by JaSin. on Mar 9th, 2021 at 12:51pm
And I thought the kiwis doing it in 10C water with 3mm wetties was hard core.
Victorians don't do cold water unless in Drysuits.

Post by Gordon on Mar 9th, 2021 at 1:08pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 9th, 2021 at 12:51pm:

Craig Foster recons after a while you crave the cold water.

About 10 years ago in Sydney the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ekman_transport went bezerk and the water dropped to about 11c in mid December.

I'd watch people jump in then run out like a scalded cat. The best I managed was about a 100m swim and I started to have an out of body expirence. I've just never had to deal with cold water much.

So much respect for Foster.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 9th, 2021 at 1:14pm
I suppose one can adapt (like Freedivers can extend their bottom time and depths for ages) to such a cold extreme. His skin has probably thickened and any fat is stored under the skin after so many years doing it.
Seeing locals at Wanaka, Te Anau, etc swimming in just shorts. I tried my luck but I didn't last long - I guess it takes time.

Post by freediver on Mar 10th, 2021 at 9:16pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 9th, 2021 at 1:08pm:

Jasin wrote on Mar 9th, 2021 at 12:51pm:

Craig Foster recons after a while you crave the cold water.

About 10 years ago in Sydney the https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ekman_transport went bezerk and the water dropped to about 11c in mid December.

I'd watch people jump in then run out like a scalded cat. The best I managed was about a 100m swim and I started to have an out of body expirence. I've just never had to deal with cold water much.

So much respect for Foster.

However, due to the influence of the Coriolis effect, the ocean water moves at a 90° angle from the direction of the surface wind.

That doesn't sound right.

Post by JaSin. on Mar 10th, 2021 at 9:25pm
My dive buddy, she's always hot underwater.

carlos-valenzuela-pulp-illustrations_001.jpg (193 KB | 4 )

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.