General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Tony Abort scores $300,000 pension
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1558507237

Message started by Sir lastnail on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:40pm

Title: Tony Abort scores $300,000 pension
Post by Sir lastnail on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:40pm
Check it out. The moron gets payed more now that he is out of the picture :( What on earth is wrong with this system that rewards people for doing no work :(

https://au.finance.yahoo.com/news/tony-abbott-scores-300000-pension-060313585.html

Former Prime Minister and member for Warringah, Tony Abbott lost his seat on Saturday to Independent Zali Steggall, but if there’s one thing to assuage the spectacular defeat, it would be the hefty pension Abbott will now receive.

The former leader of the Coalition will receive a parliamentary pension of nearly $300,000 - an income significantly higher than the $207,000 he was receiving as an MP.

Abbott is part of a group of politicians elected prior to 2004 who are eligible for the Parliamentary Contributory Superannuation Scheme (PCSS), and as Abbott has been in power for more than 25 years, he will receive a payment of 75 per cent of his base wage, plus a loading for his official roles.

The total sum: $295,720 a year, freelance researcher William Summers revealed.

And if Abbott wanted to, he could claim $1.48 million of that sum now if he chooses to.

“His income will be far higher as an ex-MP, even before you factor in any directorships, ambassadorial positions or Sky News roles he may or may not be offered, or the free travel and office allowance he will get as an ex-prime minister,” Summers said on his blog.

“And remember, because parliamentary pensions rise each year in line with the pay of sitting MPs, this is not $296,000 “each year”, it is merely $296,000 this year (2018/19).”

That means that as of 1 July, Abbott will score an increase to his pension, pushing it to above $300,000.

Former Coalition ministers Christopher Pyne and Julie Bishop will also receive substantial pensions after announcing plans to depart politics this year.

These politicians will receive between $188,000 and $220,000 a year as part of their package.

Labor MP Wayne Swan is eligible for a similar package, as is Tanya Plibersek, although she has not announced plans to retire from politics.

According to a recent Department of Finance report, ‘Taxpayers face bill of up to $1b to fund MPs’ retirements’, this scheme cost taxpayers $902.5 million in 2017, before hitting $908.0 million in 2018, and will reach $912.9 million in 2019.

The average retiree with superannuation receives an income of $40,000 a year.

Title: Re: Tony Abort scores $300,000 pension
Post by Redmond Neck on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:45pm
He will probably replace Fat Joe in USA as well on a massive salary

(or The Vatican as someone suggested)

Post by Sir lastnail on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:50pm

Redmond Neck wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:45pm:
He will probably replace Fat Joe in USA as well on a massive salary

(or The Vatican as someone suggested)

and double his pay packet again :(

What a gravy train this politics gig is :(

Post by scurt on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:53pm
Tony deserves it, you know he does.

Post by Sir lastnail on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:58pm

scurt wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:53pm:

for doing what ?

Post by scurt on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:06pm

Sir lastnail wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:58pm:

for doing what ?

Serving. Not something you would be familiar with, I'm sure.

Just how are those Tesla shares doing?

Post by John Smith on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:09pm

scurt wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:06pm:

for doing what ?

you mean lining his pockets at taxpayers expense? Yes, he deserves to be rewarded for that.

Post by Sir lastnail on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:10pm

for doing what ?

doing much better than your Slater and Gordon shares :D LOL

Post by scurt on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:22pm

Sir lastnail wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:10pm:

for doing what ?

doing much better than your Slater and Gordon shares :D LOL

TSLA down 45% since December, hmm... I don't own individual shares, I'm not an idiot.

Post by cods on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:31pm
hilarious   another thing to get up rustys nose.... beudy newk..  I love it   couldnt happen to a nicer chap... he was after all PM   something shortarse never got close to being..

;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

best news I have had all day..

Post by PZ547 on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:42pm
And he'll grab it, too

the way he grabbed the 'scholarship' for his daughter

and the way he rorted travel expenses when he was flying around trying to promote his book

So get your kids into politics

Post by cods on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:51pm
why not... hes only doing what everyone else does and have been for donkeys years 

ask Mrs Hawke  how bob spent his pension  hes lived to 89  I believe Whitlam even lasted longer...

I dont recall anyone complaining about their pensions... ::) ::)

good on Tony.. did he break any laws.....did he rob anyone of the penalty rates?????

Post by Maqqa on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm
Gillard's $250K
Rudd's $200K

Post by PZ547 on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:02pm

cods wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 5:51pm:
why not... hes only doing what everyone else does and have been for donkeys years 

ask Mrs Hawke  how bob spent his pension  hes lived to 89  I believe Whitlam even lasted longer...

I dont recall anyone complaining about their pensions... ::) ::)

good on Tony.. did he break any laws.....did he rob anyone of the penalty rates?????

I did (complain)

and still do

The old idea was to recompense professionals who surrendered their real life and often lucrative careers to serve the nation

but those days are gone and politicians now impress most as being opportunists who would have been close to unemployable in the real world

who'd employ hysterical Rudd or thieving Gillard, drunken Hawke, whining Howard, supercilious Whitlam, useless McMahon, etc. ?

politics IS their career.  And in the case of most, their first dreeeeem was to be on the stage in some capacity or other.  In other words, what we have and have had for decades is a gang of corrupt failed thespians.  They realised they were too untalented and ugly to make it in show business, so they opted for politics, which would provide them the attention, exposure, power, fame and money their black hearts desired from primary school

Keating was a failed department store salesman after a couple of weeks.  Couldn't bear to be told.  Refused to recognise his insignificance.  Was described as 'arrogant' --- at age 14 !  The Bankstown boy from the fibro house with delusions of grandeur

If Keating had stayed in retail, he would have been on the dole by age 16, but look at him now -- able to satisfy his materialistic, narcissistic cravings at the top end of town.  All thanks to grubby politics

Borbidge in Queensland was another who jumped on the politics gravy  train as a teen.  Great in opposition, like Tony.  But when he finally reached the pinnacle, premier of Qld, he was a dead loss and the people got rid of him quick smart

Abbott, a wannabe lifelong.  Authoritarian leanings.  Punched walls.  Bullied women. Failed at the seminary.  Failed as a journalist.  Succeeded as a LNP hit-man. Got the top job and he believed he was there for life -- it went right to his stupid head.  Credlin covered for him but the truth couldn't be hidden for long and he was dumped.  Now we have to pay him and the other political scum for life

I wish them a brief existence in the interests of the taxpayers' pockets

Post by Mary Black on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:04pm
Good on Tony Abbott. He may not have been PM material but he is a tireless worker and does a lot for charity. He is still young (61) and has more to give to the Australian community.

I hope that his replacement, Zali Steggall, serves her community as well as Tony Abbott did.  They won't be pleased if she doesn't.  ;)

Post by PZ547 on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:26pm

Mary Black wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:04pm:
Good on Tony Abbott. He may not have been PM material but he is a tireless worker and does a lot for charity. He is still young (61) and has more to give to the Australian community.

I hope that his replacement, Zali Steggall, serves her community as well as Tony Abbott did.  They won't be pleased if she doesn't.  ;)

It's good he still has fans

but those in his electorate weren't at all impressed by his service to them.  They say he didn't honour any of his promises and was only in sight around election time

Journos said his fire service was likewise an empty act, whereby he called the media, dashed out to the firies base, pulled on an outfit and smudged his face with soot.  Then soon as the media had left, so did good old Tones

in other words, he tells a good story, but it's empty of substance, according to those in the know and those who've observed him

but he still has a bit of testosterone which undoubtedly goes down well with guys who appreciate that sort of thing and women who like a bit of bad-boy element

He's not worth $300,000 per year with perks though, not in most people's opinion

and I think Labor are missing out if they fail to make him an offer $$$$$$ that he can't refuse.  Because they need some budgie smuggler addition to lift them in their own and everyone else's estimation

Post by Gordon on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:36pm
If you really want to whinge here's a better one.

Natasha Stott Despoja, 10 years service, retired at 30, pension for life.

Post by Gordon on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:47pm
And heres the kind of polly we need more of

He chose to serve for only two terms in both the New South Wales state seat of North Shore and the federal seat of North Sydney to avoid receiving a parliamentary pension.[1]

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ted_Mack_(politician)

Post by lee on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:21pm

Sir lastnail wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 4:40pm:
The former leader of the Coalition will receive a parliamentary pension of nearly $300,000 - an income significantly higher than the $207,000 he was receiving as an MP.

Then of course there are the extras for him having been a PM. ;)

That was "significantly higher" than his backbench salary.

Post by Mary Black on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:28pm

PZ547 wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:26pm:

It's good he still has fans

but those in his electorate weren't at all impressed by his service to them.  They say he didn't honour any of his promises and was only in sight around election time

Journos said his fire service was likewise an empty act, whereby he called the media, dashed out to the firies base, pulled on an outfit and smudged his face with soot.  Then soon as the media had left, so did good old Tones

in other words, he tells a good story, but it's empty of substance, according to those in the know and those who've observed him

but he still has a bit of testosterone which undoubtedly goes down well with guys who appreciate that sort of thing and women who like a bit of bad-boy element

He's not worth $300,000 per year with perks though, not in most people's opinion

and I think Labor are missing out if they fail to make him an offer $$$$$$ that he can't refuse.  Because they need some budgie smuggler addition to lift them in their own and everyone else's estimation

Where did I say I was a fan of Tony Abbott?

I merely said that he had done a lot for his community.

It is a pity that those who "hate" don't take a large look at themselves, all most do is whine and moan and groan on Forums such as this.

Stop relying on "everybody else" and put in a few hard yards yourself for YOUR community and for AUSTRALIA!

Post by Dnarever on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:29pm

Yet he wanted to make sure that we can't retire till 70. Politicians should have to wait till retirement age to collect their pensions too.

Post by PZ547 on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:31pm

Dnarever wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:29pm:

Yet he wanted to make sure that we can't retire till 70. Politicians should have to wait till retirement age to collect their pensions too.

That would turn things around fast

Post by John Smith on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:33pm

Mary Black wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:28pm:
It is a pity that those who "hate" don't take a large look at themselves, all most do is whine and moan and groan on Forums such as this.

Politics is divisive and dirty. It's about one upmanship.  If you don't like it, instead of a political forum , perhaps you should join a knitting forum.

Post by PZ547 on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:34pm
LINK

Mr Out of Touch Man

Tony Abbott failed to understand even as he lost Warringah to Zali Steggall

Only skimmed it, but it seems to be saying that the electorate decided they wanted to unload Abbot before they selected Steggall

Post by Bobby. on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:35pm
Our politicians are the biggest dole bludgers in the world.
The irony is that they make the lives of people on the Centrelink dole as miserable as possible.

Post by Mary Black on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:47pm

Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:35pm:
The irony is that they make the lives of people on the Centrelink dole as miserable as possible.

You've had 27 YEARS since Keating brought in compulsory superannuation.  What happened to you that you are so annoyed with LIFE?

Post by Bobby. on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:50pm

Mary Black wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:47pm:

Bobby. wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:35pm:

You've had 27 YEARS since Keating brought in compulsory superannuation.  What happened to you that you are so annoyed with LIFE?

Mind your own business.

Post by matty on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:54pm
I am a big fan of Tony’s and I believe that this is wrong across the board. I won’t hear it from people who only attack one side, whether it my side of the right, or the other side of the left. Attack the lot or attack nobody.

Fortunately those politicians who entered from 2004 onwards get nothing at all.

There is no excuse or justification for this kind of thing.

Post by matty on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:56pm

Gordon wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 6:36pm:
If you really want to whinge here's a better one.

Natasha Stott Despoja, 10 years service, retired at 30, pension for life.

That one is definitely more annoying. At least with Howard, Keating, Rudd, Gillard and Abbott they were PMs and others were ministers etc..., but she did nothing of service to this nation. Any idea how much she gets? I am not sure.

Having entered in 2004 Turnbull would actually not being receiving anything.

Post by Mary Black on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:57pm

Instead of whinging, you, too, could become somebody of importance and get a very nice pay-out.

Post by Mary Black on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:59pm

John Smith wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:33pm:

Mary Black wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:28pm:

Politics is divisive and dirty. It's about one upmanship.  If you don't like it, instead of a political forum , perhaps you should join a knitting forum.

Is that where you hang out, you seem to know all about it?  Got a link?

Post by matty on May 22nd, 2019 at 8:02pm
Also funny to think that Morrison (also having entered in 2004), will get nothing when he retires, and he could be PM for another decade. Yet some two-bit nobody backbenchers from minor parties will get thousands for life.

I am not sure what will happen with Pauline. She entered for her six-year term in 2016, and she could well be there for another six years from 2022-2028. The rule is that those who entered for three terms prior to 2004 would get a pension for life.

Pauline first entered in 1996 and lost her seat in 1998; after multiple attempts didn’t win again until 2016. So she will have served three terms with the first well before 2004 so I assume that she will probably get it, just not sure whether it’s being not only a non-consecutive term, but indeed such a long time between being in parliament.

Post by matty on May 22nd, 2019 at 8:03pm

Agreed (and what’s a rarity that is) but just be thankful that those entering from 2004 get nothing.

Post by aquascoot on May 22nd, 2019 at 8:10pm

Mary Black wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 7:57pm:

Instead of whinging, you, too, could become somebody of importance and get a very nice pay-out.

climb the narrow road to success  ;)

Post by Ye Grappler on May 22nd, 2019 at 8:30pm

matty wrote on May 22nd, 2019 at 8:02pm:
Also funny to think that Morrison (also having entered in 2004), will get nothing when he retires, and he could be PM for another decade. Yet some two-bit nobody backbenchers from minor parties will get thousands for life.

I am not sure what will happen with Pauline. She entered for her six-year term in 2016, and she could well be there for another six years from 2022-2028. The rule is that those who entered for three terms prior to 2004 would get a pension for life.

Pauline first entered in 1996 and lost her seat in 1998; after multiple attempts didn’t win again until 2016. So she will have served three terms with the first well before 2004 so I assume that she will probably get it, just not sure whether it’s being not only a non-consecutive term, but indeed such a long time between being in parliament.

Something wrong with this picture - Pauline accepted $70k cash in lieu in 1998 - thirteen months in Senate qualified her for a cash handout - not a pension or both.

Not bad at the time .... ten times what my super for thirteen years was at the time.... you work that out.... how much more preferential can a super scheme get?

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.