General Discussion >> Chat >> Tipping
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1515809910

Message started by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:18pm

Title: Tipping
Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:18pm

"In Australia we don't tip.

"And if we do, it's for excellent service only.

"And the reason we don't tip is because we respect hospitality workers and believe they should be paid accordingly."

Yes!

"Australia has a high-wage, high-price system.

"Thanks to our robust industrial relations system and strong unions, the cost of good wages and conditions are included in the sticker price.

"And that's the way we like it. 

"This ethos is one of the reasons we demanded the GST be included in the on-the-shelf price.

"It's why we happily pay a significant Medicare levy for universal health care.

"Simple, direct, fair – that's the Australian way.

"Tipping undermines all of this."

Title: Re: Tipping
Post by freediver on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:27pm
I can think of one place where we tip based on service.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:29pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:27pm:
I can think of one place where we tip based on service.

Where?

Post by Ye Grappler on Jan 13th, 2018 at 12:57pm
Political staffers should live on tips from delivering messages around their master's fiefdom..... rather than doing an Incredible Credlin and trying to order the show around.

Behind every political appointment stands a Fascist closet.................

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:27pm

"A tipping culture means customers are picking up the wages tab for the owner.

"And because you can only pay a tip if you're in the venue, it leaves workers with less security at work.

"Tips are unpredictable and unevenly spread, contributing to inequality.

"If the business is quiet, workers don't get paid.

"This is not an agreement between workers and business we should ever feel comfortable with in Australia.

"Business owners take risks in exchange for potentially healthy profits; workers give up their time in exchange for reliable wages.

"That's the Australian deal."

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:36pm
Tightarse

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:37pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:36pm:
Tightarse

I'm sure Booby will send you a PM shortly, then.

Post by issuevoter on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:39pm
Tipping has spread with the rise of the middle-class, in service industries, mostly in countries traditionally associated with unfair labor practices and corruption.

I don't believe the popular wisdom that the Australian reluctance to tip has anything to do with ethos. It is an attitude that was inherited from Britain long before the wages explosion beginning in the 1960s, before which, most people lived "from hand to mouth," and did not use service industries to any great extent. The British and Australian working class did not eat in restaurants other than basic "cafes." They travel by bus, and they counted their pennies when, on rare occasions, they had to take a cab. We simply did not have the money to tip.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:42pm

issuevoter wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:39pm:
Tipping has spread with the rise of the middle-class, in service industries, mostly in countries traditionally associated with unfair labor practices and corruption.

I don't believe the popular wisdom that the Australian reluctance to tip has anything to do with ethos. It is an attitude that was inherited from Britain long before the wages explosion beginning in the 1960s, before which, most people lived "from hand to mouth," and did not use service industries to any great extent. The British and Australia working class did not eat in restaurants other than basic "cafes." They travel by bus, and they counted their pennies when, on rare occasions, they had to take a cab.

It has no place in Australia.

People who tip at coffee shops and restaurants in this country are pretentious arseholes.

Do they tip their garbage collector, or bottle shop attendant, or the person who serves them at Bunnings?

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:49pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:42pm:

I don't believe the popular wisdom that the Australian reluctance to tip has anything to do with ethos. It is an attitude that was inherited from Britain long before the wages explosion beginning in the 1960s, before which, most people lived "from hand to mouth," and did not use service industries to any great extent. The British and Australia working class did not eat in restaurants other than basic "cafes." They travel by bus, and they counted their pennies when, on rare occasions, they had to take a cab.

People who tip at coffee shops and restaurants in this country are pretentious arseholes.

Do they tip their garbage collector, or bottle shop attendant, or the person who serves them at Bunnings?

I left 4 x 50ml bottles of mixed spirits for the garbos fot xmas this year and I always tip low wage earners when I can.

God you're a tightarse.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:52pm
We always put together a good tip for the waitresses  when we  go out  for dinner at some place nice. If they keep my drinks coming I'm happy. They don't earn that much.

Post by freediver on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:52pm
Perhaps he is jealous. I rarely tip myself, but I cannot imagine actually being hostile to the people who do.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:56pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:49pm:

I left 4 x 50ml bottles of mixed spirits for the garbos fot xmas this year and I always tip low wage earners when I can.

God you're a tightarse.

No you don't.

You're a liar.

You don't tip the checkout chick at Coles (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at Bunnings (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at McDonald's (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at the sports store where you buy your kettle weights (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at Bett's when you buy shoes (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at your local chemist when you pick up your Viagra (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at Australia Post (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at JB HiFi when you buy your Taylor Swift CDs (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at David Jones when you buy your wife a frypan for Christmas (VERY low wage earners).

You only tip at restaurants, because you're a pretentious arsehole who likes to show off in front of the person you're dining with.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:57pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:52pm:
Perhaps he is jealous. I rarely tip myself, but I cannot imagine actually being hostile to the people who do.

Union arseholes not only want to be the sole conduit between employers and employees but they aim to cause hostility between them to justify their parisitic existence.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:58pm
I tip for exceptionally good service especially when I'm made to feel confortable in an intimate situation such as a barber's chair or someone else's cab. Anyone can provide a personal service. Only a fraction can really make a customer feel confortable at the same time.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:00pm

Receptionists are some of the lowest paid people in the country.

Gordon doesn't tip the receptionist when he goes to the doctor for another Viagra prescription.

Why not?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:07pm
If he's like me; he's never encountered one who's not a lazy cow.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:10pm

People who tip in this country are doing more harm than good.

"The Australian deal is that we assume all workers are looked after with decency by our industrial system.

"They shouldn't have to hustle for tips.

"While we may not yet be at US levels, a tipping culture tends to creep.

"Some in the Australian hospitality industry used the concept of tips as a reason that penalty rates could be cut last year.

"In the US, the minimum wage of $7.25 has not risen since 2009. 

"But customary tipping has increased from the historic 10 per cent rule of thumb, to 20-plus.

"Call me a conspiracy theorist, but do you think that might have something to do with bosses working out how to cost shift to their customers?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:11pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:07pm:

Pharmacy assistants are also some of the lowest paid workers in the country.

Why doesn't Gordon tip them when he picks up his Viagra?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:13pm
A union tout begruding lower paid workers receiving a gratuity for going above and beyond for a customer! What! Huh?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:13pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:11pm:

Lazy cows.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:16pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:13pm:
A union tout begruding lower paid workers receiving a gratuity for going above and beyond for a customer! What! Huh?

Exactly.

Anybody who wants to look after low paid workers in this country, should not be tipping.

It undermines our industrial relations system.

"Some in the Australian hospitality industry used the concept of tips as a reason that penalty rates could be cut last year."

Post by freediver on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:17pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:10pm:

"The Australian deal is that we assume all workers are looked after with decency by our industrial system.

"Some in the Australian hospitality industry used the concept of tips as a reason that penalty rates could be cut last year.

"But customary tipping has increased from the historic 10 per cent rule of thumb, to 20-plus.

"Call me a conspiracy theorist, but do you think that might have something to do with bosses working out how to cost shift to their customers?

Well done Greg, you have turned stinginess into a moral imperative in the name of socialism.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:17pm

The interesting this is in situations where tipping is generally not applied the service in Australia is nearly always atrocious.

Ive lived in an area where the garbos seemed to go out of their way to leave the bins in the worst possible place. Our current garbo level the bins where they were left out. They got a xmas present and deserved it.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:17pm

Lazy cows.

Do you tell them that to their face, when you pick up your Campral?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:19pm
No, I just mutter that under my breath while I wait the fifteen minutes for them to put it in a little, plastic box.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:20pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:17pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:10pm:

Well done Greg, you have turned stinginess into a moral imperative in the name of socialism.

Quite the opposite of stinginess.

I want to see low paid workers looked after.

Tipping them will only cause harm in the future.

When you gain a better understanding of our industrial relations system, you'll see this for yourself.

As has already been explained: "Some in the Australian hospitality industry used the concept of tips as a reason that penalty rates could be cut last year."

Keep tipping, and they'll want to take away more entitlements.

Post by freediver on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:20pm
Greg appears to believe he is doing wait staff a favour by personally attacking people who tip them. I'd like to see him try to explain it to their face. "You don't need tips, let your union take care of you instead. By the way, have you paid your dues this year..."

Maybe that's why the unions do so poorly in this industry.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:23pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:20pm:
Greg appears to believe he is doing wait staff a favour by personally attacking people who tip them. I'd like to see him try to explain it to their face. "You don't need tips, let your union take care of you instead. By the way, have you paid your dues this year..."

As I said, when (if) you eventually learn more about how our industrial relations system works in this country, you'll understand why tipping is doing more harm than good.

"Some in the Australian hospitality industry used the concept of tips as a reason that penalty rates could be cut last year."

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:23pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:16pm:

Exactly.

Anybody who wants to look after low paid workers in this country, should not be tipping.

Just keep reading your book Greggy:

Post by freediver on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:23pm:

As I said, when (if) you eventually learn more about how our industrial relations system works in this country, you'll understand why tipping is doing more harm than good.

Ah. I haven't read enough union pamphlets, have I?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:24pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:23pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:16pm:

Exactly.

Just keep reading your book Greggy:

Just the tip, hey Booby?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:26pm
Yeah, Pecker, yeah! What about the millions of dollars of 'tips' garnished by your unions each week? Huh? Huh?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:27pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:24pm:

You probably haven't read enough, full stop.

Tipping, in this country, will lead to a loss of entitlements for low paid workers.

Why would anyone want to see that happen?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:29pm

freediver wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:24pm:

Hi FD,
You need to read Greggy's favourite book -

he's starting to sound like a communist!

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:30pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:26pm:
Yeah, Pecker, yeah! What about the millions of dollars of 'tips' garnished by your unions each week? Huh? Huh?

I've read the rules and policies of several unions over the years, and most of them (today) include clauses that forbid officials from accepting gifts or gratuities from members.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:33pm
Yet they do. Eeeeeevvvvvveeeeerrrrryyyyy week!

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:35pm
dear Greggy,
are you now or have you ever been
a member of the communist party?

Post by issuevoter on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:37pm
While I grew up in a non-tipping society, I can now afford to tip, and I do so when I feel like it. What I resent is French-American sense of obligation.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:38pm
Comrade Pecker of Our Eternal and Ever-Loving Glory  Hole...sorry! Revolution.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:38pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:33pm:
Yet they do. Eeeeeevvvvvveeeeerrrrryyyyy week!

Are Union officials well paid?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:39pm

issuevoter wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:37pm:
While I grew up in a non-tipping society, I can now afford to tip, and I do so when I feel like it. What I resent is French-American sense of obligation.

In France a 10% tip for the waiters is on your bill automatically.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:41pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:39pm:

This isn't France, Booby.

I tip when I'm in Europe.

I tip when I'm in the US.

This isn't the US or Europe, though, Booby.

If you tip low paid workers in this country, you're doing more harm than good.

Do you ever take more than just the tip, Booby?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:48pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:41pm:

Why won't you answer me?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:49pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:48pm:

Why won't you answer me?

No, and no.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:50pm
So very consistent. Pecker favouring foreigners. His tips are 20% in the Middle East. (Zilch in Israel).

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:52pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:49pm:

Why won't you answer me?

No, and no.

Do you ever take more than just the tip, Bobby?

I'm not a waiter.

You don't tip in France - it's on your account automatically
and is paid to the waiters.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:56pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:52pm:

Why won't you answer me?

No, and no.

I'm not a waiter.

I don't like that as I prefer to reward exceptional service.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:57pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:52pm:

Why won't you answer me?

No, and no.

I'm not a waiter.

I didn't say you're a waiter - I asked if you ever take more than just the tip.

I haven't spent a lot of time in France, so I'll take your word on the service compris.

In Italy, Austria, Slovenia, etc. they expect a tip most of the time.

Seeing as the workers there don't have the protections we have here in Australia, I always tip (as is the custom).

It's not the custom here, though, and if people continue to do it, it will eventually result in worse conditions for our low paid workers.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:59pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:56pm:

But in France the waiters get paid nearly zero in wages so
they live on the 10% tips from every bill.

In some high class restaurants the waiters have to pay the restaurant to work there.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:00pm
When he says 'protections' he means the type from carpet-baggers such as himself.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:59pm:

In some high class restaurants the waiters have to pay the restaurant to work there.

If you want to see that happen here in Australia, keep tipping.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:03pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:01pm:

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 2:59pm:

If you want to see that happen here in Australia, keep tipping.

Yes comrade.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:05pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:00pm:
When he says 'protections' he means the type from carpet-baggers such as himself.

Union officials are leaches.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:06pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:05pm:

Do you think Greggy has been an undercover communist on this forum for years?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:09pm

Garbos earn a lot more than a checkout chick, pharmacy assistant, or fast food worker.

So, why don't you tip at Coles, Soul Pattinson, and McDonald's?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:09pm
A wealthy advocate of the poor who throws around homosexual slurs and whose pet hates are children on aeroplanes and tipping waitresses. So many contradictions!

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:14pm

Do you tip at Hooters, Homo?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:19pm
Never been there, champ.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:22pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:19pm:
Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:25pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:06pm:

Is this Greggy?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:28pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:22pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

For excellent service, sure.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:35pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:28pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Coles, Woolworths, and McDonald's?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:39pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:25pm:

Bobby. wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:06pm:

Is this Greggy?

Could be -
we should now go on a communist hunt at Ozpolitic to find all of them.

They have been hiding here for years amongst us.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:41pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:35pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Hammer, Gordon: do you tip at Coles, Woolworths, and McDonald's?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:42pm
For excellent service. I've given boxes of chocolates to the McDonalds girls who cheerfully make my morning coffee. I don't have a problem with showing  real world gratitude to those that go out of their way for me.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:45pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:42pm:
For excellent service. I've given boxes of chocolates to the McDonalds girls who cheerfully make my morning coffee. I don't have a problem with showing  real world gratitude to those that go out of their way for me.

You give candy to teenage girls?

Okaaaay.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:47pm
At 4:30 in the morning, the women are generally a bit older. I forgive your ignorance.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:49pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:47pm:
At 4:30 in the morning, the women are generally a bit older. I forgive your ignorance.

So, they're 16 or 17 at that time of the morning, yeah?

The older ones.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:51pm
The girls that age generalljy work after school.
Forgiven.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:56pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:51pm:
The girls that age generalljy work after school.
Forgiven.

There's no school at 4:30 in the morning, is there?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:04pm
I dont know. The youngest woman that ever served me at 4:30 in the morning was, say, about 25. I know why you're deflecting. The only time you care about lower paid workers is when the meter is running, eh Carpet-bagger.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 3:41pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

I've tipped the Coles delivery guy. I'm from the Eastern Subs, I don't do McShit.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:16pm
>:(
Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:12pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

I've tipped the Coles delivery guy. I'm from the Eastern Subs, I don't do McShit.

Coffee beggars can't be coffee choosers at 4:30 in the morning, Gordy.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:17pm

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

McDonalds reminds me of this movie:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJs9p-VNORw

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:17pm

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Nope. That's because you don't get the same level of personal service at these places. Some places you do.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:37pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:17pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Nope. That's because you don't get the same level of personal service at these places. Some places you do.

Reminds me an interesting case.

A friend of my Uncle married a Thai woman with twin daughters who immigrated and studied here. They both got part time jobs, one was a pretty much bone lazy and worked at a supermarket checkout and her exact reasoning was that she could just stand there and beep beep beep, got flybuys?

The other was a vivacious go getter and worked in a restaurant because she loved to be active and knew she could provide excellent service which would attract tips hence more money.

I've been friends with these ladies for years and the bone lazy one (I'm not so much friends with her) still mooches around her mums house doing bugger all.

The other one moved back to Bangkok and is a very successful business entrepreneur and killing it.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:56pm
Expanding on the above anecdote,  people  like greggy aren't happy with equal opportunities.  He wants equal outcomes for all. The checkout operator at coles could get a job where they can shine and pull the tips,  if they want!

Post by The Mechanic on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:24pm
I mainly only tip in foreign counties where I know they get low wages....

and usually...

you'll get told NOT TO TIP these people..

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:43pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:17pm:

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Why do you go back, then?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:44pm

Never been there, champ.

Sizzler?

Why not the Coles checkout operator?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:46pm
Work at McDonald's  and sell: sorry, miserable, squashed things
that don't look like the pictures on the wall.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zJs9p-VNORw

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:55pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 4:56pm:
Expanding on the above anecdote,  people  like greggy aren't happy with equal opportunities.  He wants equal outcomes for all. The checkout operator at coles could get a job where they can shine and pull the tips,  if they want!

The checkout operators in Coles and Woolworths give much better service than any restaurant staff in Sydney.

The staff in restaurants in this country have no idea what good service is.

So, why don't you tip the hard-working checkout operators who earn just as little, and often less, than restaurant staff?

No need to answer - we already know why.

You do it at restaurants to impress the people you're eating with.

You're just a pretentious arsehole, who likes to big-note himself.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:59pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:55pm:

The checkout operators in Coles and Woolworths give much better service than any restaurant staff in Sydney.

So, why don't you tip the hard-working checkout operators who earn just as little, and often less, than restaurant staff?

You want to steal the money from people who go the extra yards to give excellent service because you're a communist who believe in equal outcomes for all.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:01pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 5:59pm:

You want to steal the money from people who go the extra yards to give excellent service because you're a communist who believe in equal outcomes for all.

I want low paid workers' entitlements protected.

Tipping them will ensure that those entitlements are slowly eroded away.

You tip at restaurants to impress the people you're eating with.

You're nothing more than a pretentious arsehole, who likes to big-note himself.

You have zero interest in the lives of low paid workers.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:04pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:01pm:

I reward excellence.  You encourage mediocrity.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:05pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:04pm:

No you don't.

You try to impress other people.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:07pm

I left 4 x 50ml bottles of mixed spirits for the garbos fot xmas this year ...

No you din't.

You're a lying, pretentious arsehole.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:07pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:05pm:

No you don't.

You want a Marxist uprising.

I reward entrepreneurial spirit.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:10pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:07pm:

I left 4 x 50ml bottles of mixed spirits for the garbos fot xmas this year ...

No you din't.

You're a lying, pretentious arsehole.

They actually collected xmas day in my street.
They deserved it.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:10pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:07pm:

No you don't.

You lie, that's all.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:10pm:

No you don't.

You lie, that's all.

Stingy communist.  I have a whole box full of 50ml spirit bottles and I hardly ever drink.  Bet the garbos enjoyed them!

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:15pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:12pm:

No you don't.

You lie, that's all.

Stingy communist.  I have a whole box full of 50ml spirit bottles and I hardly ever drink.  Bet the garbos enjoyed them!

Liar + pretentious arsehole = Bondi creep.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:19pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:15pm:

Gordon wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 6:12pm:

No you don't.

You lie, that's all.

Liar + pretentious arsehole = Bondi creep.

50ml glenfiddich
50ml Knob Creek Bourbon
50ml Hennesy cognac
50ml  Herradura tequila

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 9:48pm
Gordy, you were called a pretentious a.r.s.e hole. That's gotta hurt.

Post by Gordon on Jan 13th, 2018 at 9:56pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 9:48pm:
Gordy, you were called a pretentious a.r.s.e hole. That's gotta hurt.

His use of personal insults means he's lost.

Anyway,  the last laugh is on him because all the waitstaff of his regular restaurants spit in his food because he's a tightarse that doesn't tip!!!

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 13th, 2018 at 10:04pm
Alas, he regurlarly imbibes the body fluids of strangers.

Post by Karnal on Jan 13th, 2018 at 10:53pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 10:04pm:
Alas, he regurlarly imbibes the body fluids of strangers.

Miam miam.

Post by AiA on Jan 13th, 2018 at 11:33pm
Watch the tipping behaviour of recent immigrants to the USA, whether legal or illegal:  Mexicans, generous big tippers; Asians, tight arse (asians include dotheads and pakis).

Post by AiA on Jan 13th, 2018 at 11:35pm

Because he wakes up with morning wood ... naturally?

Post by Setanta on Jan 13th, 2018 at 11:37pm

AiA wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 11:35pm:

Because he wakes up with morning wood ... naturally?

I hear Greg doesn't mind "tipping" bums. Sometimes he can't help himself and needs to unload his "money bag" into them.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:55am
Back in the day, I did delivery driving. A few times, I was tipped good money. I never expected much in tips from orders requiring to be paid. But occasionally, I would get anywhere from $2 to $5. My best tip was $84. That was basically nearly 5 hours of my hourly rate. Definitely helped me with fuel and other expenses for the week.... back in the day.

My last delivery had me driving to the more affluent part of Rockhampton -- and yes, Rockhampton does have affluent suburbs. I walked my way up a long driveway to get to the house. The man gave me $50 for a $44-something order and told me to keep the change. Then he got out another $5 and added that to my tip. You just have to play the poor battler guy when you get those tips, because they might not tip as much next time. "Awesome... will get some bread and milk after work with this" type comments can go either way. Either, the customer will see through your bs... or he will consider it him doing you a favour and feel better about it.

Post by freediver on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:17am
You could always try just thanking them without spinning BS.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:43am

freediver wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:17am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

It's not helping them, in the long run.

If people continue to tip low paid workers in Australia, groups like the CCI will use that as an excuse to take away entitlements.

They've already used it in the argument to abolish penalty rates.

Post by freediver on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:03am
Thanks Greg. I hate poor people too and want to leave them for the unions to feed off.

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:04am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:43am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

If people continue to tip low paid workers in Australia, groups like the CCI will use that as an excuse to take away entitlements.

When you went for breakfast this morning, could you taste the spit in your smashed avocado ? If only you werent such 2 scrooge and tipped the waitstaff  ;D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:11am

Gordon wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:04am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

When you went for breakfast this morning, could you taste the spit in your smashed avocado ? If only you werent such 2 scrooge and tipped the waitstaff 

When (if) you learn about how our industrial relations system works in this country, you'll understand why tipping in Australia is doing more harm to low paid workers than good.

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:14am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:11am:

Gordon wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:04am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

When you went for breakfast this morning, could you taste the spit in your smashed avocado ? If only you werent such 2 scrooge and tipped the waitstaff 

When (if) you learn about how our industrial relations system works in this country, you'll understand why tipping in Australia is doing more harm to low paid workers than good.

Never go to a restaurant with Greggy

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:20am

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

I feel the same way about donating to charity. Charities take the onus away from our welfare system to look after the aged, the sick and the infirmed. This is also known as, 'Don't seek alms amongst the rich'.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:50am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:20am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

I feel the same way about donating to charity. Charities take the onus away from our welfare system to look after the aged, the sick and the infirmed. This is also known as, 'Don't seek alms amongst the rich'.

I hear ya.

Way too many volunteer groups in this country, doing what our government should be doing.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:58am
I feel the same way about anyone in trouble. Saving an infant from a burning building- fire department. Defending a woman against domestic violence-the police. Assisting a car crash victim-paramedics. Helping a motorist who has broken down in a busy intersection-tow truck drivers. Wiping up your own urine when you p.i.s.s on the seat-cleaners. Picking up your rubbish-Ian Kiernan. I hear you friendo.

Post by Frank on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:18pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:20am:

Absolutely.

Don't tip them, though.

I think it's exactly the other way around - governments are involved in too many things that volunteers should be doing.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:22pm
Frank, I really think Pecker is on to something. There's far too much personal responsibility in thew world.
:o

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:25pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:22pm:
Frank, I really think Pecker is on to something. There's far too much personal responsibility in thew world.
:o

What volunteer work do you do?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:37pm
Nice jump, friend. None to be honest. Now, in the spirit of honesty, how much do you charge an hour to represent one of your beloved lower paid workers in an industrial court?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:39pm

No you don't.

Greggy is a communist:

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:46pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:39pm:

No you don't.

Greggy is a communist:

I've lived in two communist countries, the average person despises it yet Greggy wants to embugger us all with communism.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:47pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:37pm:
Nice jump, friend. None to be honest. Now, in the spirit of honesty, how much do you charge an hour to represent one of your beloved lower paid workers in an industrial court?

Nothing.

I charge whichever Union sends them to me.

The workers aren't out of pocket at all (apart from their monthly Union fees).

Just another advantage of being in a Union.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:49pm
I'll be interested to hear how much he charges His Beloved Oppressed Comrades of the Revolution for his court time.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:51pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:47pm:

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:37pm:

Nothing.

I charge whichever Union sends them to me.

The workers aren't out of pocket at all (apart from their monthly Union fees).

Just another advantage of being in a Union.

So how much in workers union fees do you charge an hour to represent your beloved lower paid workers in court?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:52pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:49pm:
I'll be interested to hear how much he charges His Beloved Oppressed Comrades of the Revolution for his court time.

Not one single cent.

The bill goes to whichever Union they're in.

That's the idea behind Unions, Homo - they help the workers.

Post by Frank on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:04pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:52pm:

Not one single cent.

No wonder union membership dwindles if they need to rely on the likes of you in their hour of need, Turders.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:06pm

Frank wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:04pm:

Not one single cent.

No wonder union membership dwindles if they need to rely on the likes of you in their hour of need, Turders.

100% success rate so far, so I must be doing something right.

Post by AiA on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:07pm
Trump is pushing a new rule that will make tips the property of employers rather than workers. You sad /fək/ers ...

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:10pm

AiA wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:07pm:
Trump is pushing a new rule that will make tips the property of employers rather than workers. You sad /fək/ers ...

That's interesting.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2017/12/04/the-trump-administration-wants-workers-to-share-tips-opponents-fear-their-bosses-will-snatch-them/?utm_term=.fa7222b736c7

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:11pm

Not one single cent.

How much do ypu charge the unions for your court time, Greg?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:12pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:11pm:

Not one single cent.

I very rarely go to court.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:17pm
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:12pm:

Not one single cent.

Yes, good. Okay. But when you DO, how much do you charge per hour?

Post by AiA on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:19pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:10pm:

That's interesting.

https://www.washingtonpost.com/news/wonk/wp/2017/12/04/the-trump-administration-wants-workers-to-share-tips-opponents-fear-their-bosses-will-snatch-them/?utm_term=.fa7222b736c7

That's is the inevitable result of the almost complete destruction of unions in the USA.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:21pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:17pm:

Not one single cent.

None of your business.

All you need to know is that the worker doesn't pay me (their Union does).

The service is covered by their Union fees.

Pretty good, hey?

Something goes wrong at work, they contact their Union, and the Union says "no worries, we'll get you some help and it won't cost you a cent".

Why wouldn't you be in a Union?

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:22pm

Not one single cent.

Enough to keep him in Les Paull guitars?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:23pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 12:46pm:
I've lived in two communist countries, the average person despises it yet Greggy wants to embugger us all with communism.

Yes communism has never worked -
the only true communist country left is North Korea.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:26pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:22pm:

Not one single cent.

Enough to keep him in Les Paull guitars?

Yep.

Got my eye on this, at the moment:

https://therockinn.com/collections/electric/products/gibson-custom-standard-historic-1958-les-paul-sunrise-tea-burst

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:30pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:21pm:

Not one single cent.

None of your business.

Pretty good, hey?

Something goes wrong at work, they contact their Union, and the Union says "no worries, we'll get you some help and it won't cost you a cent".

A bit of a touchy subject, eh? That's sorta how Michael Moore responds to the same type of questions. Let's say its $200 an hour. That's a worker's union fees for six months for one hour's work. Don't worry, it's not 'real' money garnished out of a 'real' worker's 'real' paypacket.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:33pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:30pm:

Not one single cent.

None of your business.

Pretty good, hey?

A bit of a touchy subject, eh? That's sorta how Michael Moore responds to the same type of questions. Let's say its $200 an hour. That's a worker's union fees for six months for one hour's work. Don't worry, it's not 'real' money garnished out of a 'real' worker's 'real' paypacket.

Not touchy, just private.

How much do you take from your employer every hour?

Anyway, let's say I take $320 per hour.

The worker still doesn't have to come up with any extra money.

All they have to do is pay their monthly Union fees.

How good is that?

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:48pm
Hey Greg, do you tip small business owner/operators?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:53pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:33pm:

Not one single cent.

None of your business.

Pretty good, hey?

How good is that?

Have you ever read Marx, Comrade?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:55pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:53pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:33pm:

Not one single cent.

None of your business.

Pretty good, hey?

How good is that?

Sure have.

This is one of my favourites:

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:59pm
Bravo! Have you ever read Karl Marx, Comrade?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:19pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:59pm:

We'll call that stumps.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:23pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 1:53pm:

Of course Greggy has read Karl Marx.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:39pm

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:39pm:

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

Das Kapital comrade.

Post by Ye Grappler on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:53pm

Hoping for a little trickle-down, is he?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:09pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 2:47pm:

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

Das Kapital comrade.

It's on the bookshelf right next to me.

Post by Gordon on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:13pm
Greg won't even tip an owner operator even tho it had no effect on wages.

He'd just a communist scrooge

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:14pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:13pm:
Greg won't even tip an owner operator even tho it had no effect on wages.

He'd just a communist scrooge

What's your point?

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:56pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:09pm:

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

Das Kapital comrade.

Well - I have unmasked you Greggy -

a communist has been hiding on Ozpolitic for all these years -

you're busted.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 14th, 2018 at 4:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:56pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 3:09pm:

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

Das Kapital comrade.

Well - I have unmasked you Greggy -

a communist has been hiding on Ozpolitic for all these years -

you're busted.

On the same bookshelf, there's a Bible.

I'm not a Christian though.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 6:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 4:52pm:

Hi Greggy,
But do you agree that:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proletariat

In Marxist theory, the proletariat is the social class that does not have ownership of the means of production and whose only means of subsistence is to sell their labor power[10] for a wage or salary. Proletarians are wage-workers, while some refer to those who receive salaries as the salariat. For Marx, however, wage labor may involve getting a salary rather than a wage per se. Marxism sees the proletariat and bourgeoisie (capitalist class) as occupying conflicting positions, since workers automatically wish their wages to be as high as possible, while owners and their proxies wish for wages (costs) to be as low as possible.

Marx argued that it was the goal of the proletariat to displace the capitalist system with the dictatorship of the proletariat, abolishing the social relationships underpinning the class system and then developing into a communist society in which "the free development of each is the condition for the free development of all".[16]

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:29pm

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

'The personal is political'. A person's political ideology is not defined by what they believe, what they say or even by how they vote. A person's politic is defined by what they do every day. You're a capitaliist, old sport. You're no different to Rupert Murdoch, irrrespective of how speckly your words appear. I'm not writing this to hurt your feelings, it's just you're one of the 'one percent', and as such we'll never be on the same team.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:33pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 4:52pm:

Hi Greggy,
But do you agree that:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Proletariat

In Marxist theory, the proletariat is the social class that does not have ownership of the means of production and whose only means of subsistence is to sell their labor power[10] for a wage or salary. Proletarians are wage-workers, while some refer to those who receive salaries as the salariat. For Marx, however, wage labor may involve getting a salary rather than a wage per se. Marxism sees the proletariat and bourgeoisie (capitalist class) as occupying conflicting positions, since workers automatically wish their wages to be as high as possible, while owners and their proxies wish for wages (costs) to be as low as possible.

Marx argued that it was the goal of the proletariat to displace the capitalist system with the dictatorship of the proletariat, abolishing the social relationships underpinning the class system and then developing into a communist society in which "the free development of each is the condition for the free development of all".[16]

Post by Setanta on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:32pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 10:29pm:

Sure have.

Haven't we all?

'The personal is political'. A person's political ideology is not defined by what they believe, what they say or even by how they vote. A person's politic is defined by what they do every day. You're a capitaliist, old sport. You're no different to Rupert Murdoch, irrrespective of how speckly your words appear. I'm not writing this to hurt your feelings, it's just you're one of the 'one percent', and as such we'll never be on the same team.

Although I agree with Greg on tips and their effect... What you said, Ouch!

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:39pm
Set, he's paid $320 an hour from the sweat of lower paid workers. Do you still think I'm being harsh?

Post by Setanta on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:47pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 14th, 2018 at 11:39pm:
Set, he's paid $320 an hour from the sweat of lower paid workers. Do you still think I'm being harsh?

I think you misunderstood me. I think your post was a bitchslap, ouch.
While I agree with Greg on what tipping does to wages and we need people to do what Greg does to defend and support those who have no power in the workforce, you gave him a backhander to leave his face smarting.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:02am
Who needs Pecker at $320 an hour? Sure as s.h.i.t stinks, not me.

Post by Setanta on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:10am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:02am:

Obviously, if he gets paid that, someone thinks it's worth the bucks but as you said, it smells of capitalism, not the socialism he pretends to aspire to. A bit like Aussie being paid handsomely to stick up for the indigenous and then getting on his high horse when it seems he did it for the money not the cause.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:15am

Yeah, I know. Just thinking about this yesterday, I might have done my future tipping chances a disservice. I got paid fairly reasonably. Tipping is just a bonus to me. But I should just thank them without embellishing things.

Post by Setanta on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:18am

UnSubRocky wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:15am:

Yeah, I know. Just thinking about this yesterday, I might have done my future tipping chances a disservice. I got paid fairly reasonably. Tipping is just a bonus to me. But I should just thank them without embellishing things.

I always make a point of thanking people that have done their job well and make it obvious their service was appreciated, even checkout chicks. I don't tip and never will.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:25am
Even though I know now that taxi drivers get paid fairly well, I still tip the driver. Former co-worker said that the taxi drivers get paid $1500 a week for 40 to 50 hour shifts, on a good week. And taxi drivers get paid about $700 on a slow week.

Post by Setanta on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:31am

UnSubRocky wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:25am:
Even though I know now that taxi drivers get paid fairly well, I still tip the driver. Former co-worker said that the taxi drivers get paid $1500 a week for 40 to 50 hour shifts, on a good week. And taxi drivers get paid about $700 on a slow week.

You want a tip? OK... You should do your job the best you can.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 15th, 2018 at 1:20am

Setanta wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:31am:

UnSubRocky wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:25am:

You want a tip? OK... You should do your job the best you can.

I already do that. I try to work for my employer so that they work for me.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:45am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:02am:

It doesn't cost the worker $320 an hour.

It doesn't cost them a cent.

That's the beauty of it.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 10:51am
That's like a bank CEO saying his bonus does'nt cost investors and customers.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:06am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 10:51am:
That's like a bank CEO saying his bonus does'nt cost investors and customers.

I still don't see what point you're trying to make.

You do realise that I need to earn an income, don't you.

I do some work for free, but I need to pay my bills.

Do you have a suggestion on how the system could be improved?

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:13am
The sytems fine; it's your level of self-delusion that's astounding.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:22am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:13am:

There's no delusion, Homo.

Union members pay a monthly fee to their respective Unions.

If they need assistance, and the Union officials are unable to provide that assistance, the Unions contact me.

I then assist the Union member, at no additional cost to them.

At the end of the month, I submit an invoice to each Union, and they pay me for the services I've provided.

The members are happy - they've been assisted with their workplace issue, and it didn't cost them a cent more than their usual tax deductible, monthly fee.

The Union is happy - they have another happy member and their own resources are freed up, thus enabling them to do other vital work for their members.

I'm happy - I can pay my bills, and continue to help people.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:48am
You seem to be confused about where the money comes from. Each union member pays thousands of dollars of his/her wages in fees throughout his/her working life. You do understand that's real money? It's nof mamna from heaven. Every dollar you charge has come out of a real person's paypacket, surely you understand that?

Post by Gordon on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:56am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:48am:
You seem to be confused about where the money comes from. Each union member pays thousands of dollars of his/her wages in fees throughout his/her working life. You do understand that's real money? It's nof mamna from heaven. Every dollar you charge has come out of a real person's paypacket, surely you understand that?

And let's not forget that a lot of issues between employers and employees are manufactured by the union to justify their parisitic existence.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:58am
Gordon, i'll leave the issue of union corruption for another day. I'm content to point out that Pecker he is a businessman, not a civil rights leader.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:59am

You seem to be confused about where the money comes from.

Not at all.

The money comes from the Unions, and they get it directly from their respective members.

Each union member pays thousands of dollars of his/her wages in fees throughout his/her working life.

That's correct.

And, when they need assistance they get it, for no additional charge.

Still can't see what your problem is, Homo.

Post by Gordon on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:29pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:58am:
Gordon, i'll leave the issue of union corruption for another day. I'm content to point out that Pecker he is a businessman, not a civil rights leader.

I wouldn't even call it corruption, it's the 'set point' hostility that union officials have towards employees. Their objective is to manufacture disharmony between the groups, without that they would not be needed.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:34pm

Each union member pays thousands of dollars of his/her wages in fees throughout his/her working life.

That's right.

Voluntarily.

And, if they ever need personal assistance their Union will help them, for no extra charge.

Of course, all workers have the right to NOT join a Union, and pay the legal costs themselves if they ever run into trouble at work.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:51pm
Voluntarily! WTF! Did I ever say it was'nt? You keep using the word 'extra' as if union fees are'nt real money. Your pay comes out of the real world paypackets of lower paid workers. It's not that complicated.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:57pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 12:51pm:
Voluntarily! WTF! Did I ever say it was'nt?

You didn't.

I'm merely pointing out a simple fact.

You keep using the word 'extra' as if union fees are'nt real money.

No. Quite the opposite.

Union members pay their Union fees with real money.

However, if they need personal assistance from their Union, they don't have to pay any extra. They've already paid.

Your pay comes out of the real world paypackets of lower paid workers. It's not that complicated.

That's correct.

They voluntarily decide to pay Union fees, and their Unions voluntarily ask for my assistance.

Again, I don't see what your problem is.

Post by Mr Hammer on Jan 15th, 2018 at 1:11pm
No problem. You live off the sweat of workers. That's a capitalist in my book. Don't worry, I'm a capitalist too. I'm just not as good at it as you.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 1:29pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 1:11pm:
No problem. You live off the sweat of workers. That's a capitalist in my book. Don't worry, I'm a capitalist too. I'm just not as good at it as you.

Blood, sweat, and tears actually.

And I mean that quite literally.

Blood: lots of nasty workers' comp claims.

Sweat: plenty of hard working labourers out there who need help at work.

Tears: it wouldn't be a normal week if someone didn't break down crying on the phone.

Thankfully, their Unions (and I) can help these people without them having to fork out any additional cash on top of their Union fees.

If they weren't Union members they'd have to pay all the bills themselves, and that can be very expensive.

Take your average denied/pended workers' comp claim, for example.

When this happens, the injured worker quite often needs to have a report done by an independent specialist/surgeon.

These start at about $1,500 and go up to around $3,000.

The ones I see, on average, are about $2,000.

If you're a Union member, the Union will cover this cost for you (in the majority of cases).

If you're not in a Union, you have to pay this yourself - upfront.

And this is before the claim starts racking up legal fees.

Post by freediver on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:22am:

If they need assistance, and the Union officials are unable to provide that assistance, the Unions contact me.

At the end of the month, I submit an invoice to each Union, and they pay me for the services I've provided.

The members are happy - they've been assisted with their workplace issue, and it didn't cost them a cent more than their usual tax deductible, monthly fee.

The Union is happy - they have another happy member and their own resources are freed up, thus enabling them to do other vital work for their members.

Pretty much the definition of capitalism. Do you think the people who give and receive tips are unhappy about the exchange?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:16pm

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:12pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:22am:

Pretty much the definition of capitalism.

Your point being ...  :-/

Do you think the people who give and receive tips are unhappy about the exchange?

Do you think tipping will help low paid workers in the long run?

Post by freediver on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:25pm
If I tipped them enough to go to uni it might help them in the long run. Generally the intention is to help them in the short term.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:35pm

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 5:25pm:
If I tipped them enough to go to uni it might help them in the long run. Generally the intention is to help them in the short term.

Yes, the intention is always good. I have no doubts about that.

However, it's not helping them in the long run.

Tipping has already been cited as a reason for abolishing penalty rates.

If Australians continue to tip in this country, it will almost certainly result in the erosion of more entitlements.

When that happens, these workers will have to rely on those tips to live.

I don't think anyone wants to see that happen.

Post by freediver on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:38pm
We should also abolish salaries for Macca's employees. After all, it is only just enough to get by on, so obviously does them no good in the long run.

How wonderful it is to have union logic to steer us away from our moral instincts...

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:43pm

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:38pm:
We should also abolish salaries for Macca's employees. After all, it is only just enough to get by on, so obviously does them no good in the long run.

How wonderful it is to have union logic to steer us away from our moral instincts...

What a ridiculous post.

I expected better from you.

Post by freediver on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:45pm
I think your union propaganda has it backwards Greg. The tips are the extra bits that people will save up for emergency or bettering their lot. Tips are more likely to help people in the longer term than their base salary is. The unions would destroy any opportunity they can.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:47pm

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:45pm:
I think your union propaganda has it backwards Greg. The tips are the extra bits that people will save up for emergency or bettering their lot. Tips are more likely to help people in the longer term than their base salary is. The unions would destroy any opportunity they can.

I think you're not thinking at all.

If Australians continue to tip in this country, it will almost certainly result in the erosion of more entitlements.

I don't think anyone wants to see that happen, except you maybe.

Post by Sir Bobby on Jan 15th, 2018 at 8:07pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:47pm:

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:45pm:

I think you're not thinking at all.

I don't think anyone wants to see that happen, except you maybe.

Such is the struggle of the urban proletariat -  yes Greggy?

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 15th, 2018 at 11:08pm

freediver wrote on Jan 15th, 2018 at 7:38pm:

I worked in the fast food industry. Working 30 hours a week was enough to get by with regular hours like that. As far as I know, my former co-workers have talked about how they are going to get minimum hours and better pay to ensure job stability.

Post by .JaSin. on Jan 16th, 2018 at 12:13am

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:56pm:

God you're a tightarse.

No you don't.

You're a liar.

You don't tip the workers at the sports store where you buy your kettle weights (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at your local chemist when you pick up your Viagra (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at JB HiFi when you buy your Taylor Swift CDs (low wage earners).

You don't tip the workers at David Jones when you buy your wife a frypan for Christmas (VERY low wage earners).

You only tip at restaurants, because you're a pretentious arsehole who likes to show off in front of the person you're dining with.

Well that's a very good point.

All these 'low income workers' don't get 'tipped'.
While the Café Latte Society and Restaurants are 'cashing in' on Tips based upon the USA 'cultural' expectation.
I know of one Restaurant at The Rocks that charges $60 a basic dish and still expects 'tips' for it's staff.
It's a SCAM!
Right up there with the 'Surcharge' (unofficial Tips) that Stores used to racket from Customers.

Any 'snooty' Restaurant that expects me to give them a Tip only gets the advice from me "Yeah sure - Don't rip off customers!"

Post by .JaSin. on Jan 16th, 2018 at 12:15am
Tip the Salvos and Buskers
in my opinion.
bugger the Restaurants and Cafe's !!!

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 16th, 2018 at 10:35am

Jasin wrote on Jan 16th, 2018 at 12:13am:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 13th, 2018 at 1:56pm:

God you're a tightarse.

No you don't.

You're a liar.

Well that's a very good point.

All these 'low income workers' don't get 'tipped'.
While the Café Latte Society and Restaurants are 'cashing in' on Tips based upon the USA 'cultural' expectation.
I know of one Restaurant at The Rocks that charges $60 a basic dish and still expects 'tips' for it's staff.
It's a SCAM!
Right up there with the 'Surcharge' (unofficial Tips) that Stores used to racket from Customers.

Any 'snooty' Restaurant that expects me to give them a Tip only gets the advice from me "Yeah sure - Don't rip off customers!"

Yes, 'scam' is the correct term.

Tipping is not a normal part of Australian culture, and if people continue to do it they'll cause more harm than good.

And, if they insist on doing it why don't they tip all low paid workers - why is it only at restaurants and cafes?

The answer is quite simple, actually: they do it to impress the people they're dining with.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.