General Discussion >> General Board >> teachers create nation of whingers
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1505206944

Message started by freediver on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:02pm

Title: teachers create nation of whingers
Post by freediver on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:02pm
Analyst blames teachers and social media for nation of whingers

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/queensland/analyst-blames-teachers-and-social-media-for-nation-of-whingers/news-story/ebae1b716908233659c25b41dbd7bdc7

TEACHERS telling students all views are equally valid have helped turn Australia into a nation of whingers, according to one of the nation’s leading social analysts.

David Chalke said the tendency to declare all views as equal and the broadcast platform provided by social media had contributed to the rise of “the permanently outraged”, and the online furore surrounding Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull’s now infamous baby and beer photo.

The photo of Mr Turnbull kissing his granddaughter while holding a beer in one hand and watching the footy drew criticism on social media over the weekend.

“It is the natural product of the confluence of two forces coming together, one of which is what we’ve seen pushed through education institutions for years which is the importance of identity, and that everyone’s view is equally valid,” Mr Chalke said.

“Mix that with the explosion in social media – Twitter, Instagram, Facebook or whatever – and you have an outpouring of usually uninformed, uninhibited, unmoderated, unedited rubbish and that’s what you’ve got here.”

Mr Chalke also said traditional media had to take a portion of the blame for amplifying the comments.

It is not just online that whingers are venting their frustration, with Brisbane City Council inundated with complaints.

Regular topics include road and footpath safety, animal attacks, horseriding, illegal camping and dodgy parking.

One of the biggest issues for Brisbane residents is noise, with the council receiving 10,745 noise complaints last financial year.

Council’s Lifestyle and Community Services chairman, Matthew Bourke, said animal noise, including barking dogs, crowing roosters and screeching cats, topped the list of annoying sounds.

“This was followed by construction noise occurring out of allowable hours, use of power tools or leaf blowers and noise from entertainment venues,” he said.

Mr Chalke said a sense of feeling entitled to complain had crept into Australian society.

“The Whinger’s Charter is working well and strongly right the way around the country because the squeaky door gets the oil,” he said.

“And of course every one has their own Facebook page. We are living in the world of unmoderated, unedited opinion passing itself off as fact.”

Social media users found other topics to whinge about yesterday, with thousands of people complaining about the controversial NRL Bunker.

Manly Sea Eagles and Cronulla Sharks supporters, bitter after their teams were eliminated from finals football, made the Bunker a trending topic on Facebook, slamming the video referees for their decisions in the respective matches.

Meanwhile, activists blew up the comments sections on a story about Taronga Zoo’s baby gorilla, littering the cute footage with complaints about the zoo being a “prison”, while hundreds of others chose to whinge about McDonald’s rip-offs including staff forgetting to put sauce in the bags and neglecting to mix McFlurry’s.

Title: Re: teachers create nation of whingers
Post by Karnal on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:13pm
Gee, I remember when teachers would encourage us to speak up by saying, there are no right or wrong answers here, guys.

From memory, all views were treated as valid at school, but I can't think of a time where this was tested. Teachers rarely host debates in class.

HSC English has units on different readings of texts such as King Lear, but you're marked on your ability to support your critical reading rather than there being a "right" or "wrong" view.

This is good teaching, not whinging. Whinging is complaining about things with no evidence - or solutions.

Post by Valkie on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:21pm
Teachers are consumate wingers and whiners.

For a group of individuals that work 5-6 hours a day for 4 days a week with 14-18 weeks off every year, they are seriously ovepaid.

And they have failed so many generations of children simply because they cant teach for shite.

No wonder the kids are that way inclined, they simply mimic what they see.

Post by Karnal on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:29pm

Valkie wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:21pm:

For a group of individuals that work 5-6 hours a day for 4 days a week with 14-18 weeks off every year, they are seriously ovepaid.

And they have failed so many generations of children simply because they cant teach for shite.

You left out marking, lesson-planning and extra-curricular activities like sport.

An easy mistake to make.

Mind you, if I had to teach a class of Matty socks, I'd be having the odd whinge, I can assure you.

Try teaching, Matty, then tell us how easy it is.

Post by freediver on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:45pm
I remember we had a biology exam in high school where one of the other students gave an answer that was demonstrably incorrect, but got nearly full marks for being able to 'explain' it. Obviously the explanation was full of holes also. In other words, being able to bullshit your way through is more important than being correct.

Post by Valkie on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:56pm

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:29pm:

You left out marking, lesson-planning and extra-curricular activities like sport.

An easy mistake to make.

Mind you, if I had to teach a class of Matty socks, I'd be having the odd whinge, I can assure you.

It all starts to become clear.
Self opinionated, rude, self serving and stooopid.
And the fact that you cant even remember someones name, or are you just trying to be annoyingingly stoopid
Your intimate knowledge of a teachers "excuses" for all the time off they have betrays you.

Extra curricular activities like sport, that is full blown bull dust.
They get the day off to watch kids run around.
Marking, dear oh dear, it must be so hard to put ticks and crosses on three or four papers a year.
Planning, what a joke, once they have their lessons planned, in the first year, they simply teach the same stuff every year after that.

They would not survive in a "Real" job working 5 days a week, 8 hours a day and some weekends with only 4 weeks a year off.

No teacher could hack it.

Post by thecuriousmail on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:58pm
Inspired by the pupil-free days that teachers have, I asked my boss when are our customer-free days??
He's thinking about it. Said 'I'll get back to you when it makes sense'.

Post by Valkie on Sep 12th, 2017 at 8:09pm

thecuriousmail wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:58pm:
Inspired by the pupil-free days that teachers have, I asked my boss when are our customer-free days??

A teacher at my sons school once tried to talk down to me, explaining that many parents had difficulty with high school math.

I stated that I was an engineer and she said, yes but thats only applied math and not as complex as what she taught???????

I explained fluid dynamic theorey using Bernoulli equation and asked if she could determine the centroid of a mass, or even a simple beam deflection calculation.
She stutterd and said that was not what she taught.

I said thats ok, but can you add up 1 plus 1?
She said of course
So I said, yep thats about the limit of your understanding and walked away.

Teachers, so far up themselves, and for no good reason.

Post by freediver on Sep 12th, 2017 at 9:01pm
All maths is applied. It's quite easy to invent a new field of maths. But unless it serves a purpose it is discarded because it has no value.

Post by Valkie on Sep 12th, 2017 at 9:05pm

freediver wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 9:01pm:
All maths is applied. It's quite easy to invent a new field of maths. But unless it serves a purpose it is discarded because it has no value.

One of my lecturers at uni did abstract math for fun.

This is serious stuff and Ill admit, way beyond my abilities.
This man was a genius.

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 12:01am

Valkie wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:56pm:

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:29pm:

An easy mistake to make.

It all starts to become clear.
Self opinionated, rude, self serving and stooopid.
And the fact that you cant even remember someones name, or are you just trying to be annoyingingly stoopid
Your intimate knowledge of a teachers "excuses" for all the time off they have betrays you.

Extra curricular activities like sport, that is full blown bull dust.
They get the day off to watch kids run around.
Marking, dear oh dear, it must be so hard to put ticks and crosses on three or four papers a year.
Planning, what a joke, once they have their lessons planned, in the first year, they simply teach the same stuff every year after that.

They would not survive in a "Real" job working 5 days a week, 8 hours a day and some weekends with only 4 weeks a year off.

No teacher could hack it.

Australia has a maximum 38 hour week, Matty. Teachers nearly always work on weekends. It would be nice if you could plan everything in a year, but you get different classes each term. Getting a new HSC class really tests you.

The payoff for getting well-behaved kids in private school is training two nights a week, after-school homework classes and your Saturdays gone. Some schools expect you to attend chapel on a Sunday.

But yes, the holidays are great.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 13th, 2017 at 1:28am

Valkie wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 8:09pm:

A teacher at my sons school once tried to talk down to me, explaining that many parents had difficulty with high school math.

I stated that I was an engineer and she said, yes but thats only applied math and not as complex as what she taught???????

I explained fluid dynamic theorey using Bernoulli equation and asked if she could determine the centroid of a mass, or even a simple beam deflection calculation.

She said of course

yes, I have had more had experiences with teachers than good ones.

they overrate themselves, a LOT

look at how our education is deteriorating against the world standards.
we have poor teachers.

Post by JaSinner on Sep 13th, 2017 at 4:14am
Well like most things - they are probably like Sydney.
Getting paid more - for offering less.
Sydney was once a nicely priced city of quality.
Now its an over-priced city of quantity (mass-production Asia).

Now take it from me, because I did my Biology exam in Morse Code. I still can't see why I failed?  :-?

There are more than just 'one' right answer to a problem - directly.

Also, if someone wants to become a Teacher - they now have to prove that they have been in the workforce for a year (or two?) before they study. So they can show that they know what its like 'out there' and can prepare students with a bit more understanding.
I think that's a good move by the Ed Dept.
Nothing worse than an in-house smart-arse that has never left the classroom from Pre-school to their Honours Degree to their Lecturing about...  ::)

I didn't agree with Tony Wetherill's approach that a kid doing extremely well in the HSC in Mt Druitt has his score 'scaled down' because of his fellow student's dismal efforts, while a kid at some snooty prestigious school could sit around and do nothing, while his dismal score was 'scaled up' because of his fellow student's efforts.
I  bet you know which kid got into Uni.  ::)

I wouldn't say Teaching is totally an over-paid job.
Sure, it might be a 'cruise' in a Private school where every kid is on their best behaviour because their parent's would kill them if they compromised the fees being paid for them with a suspension or expelled.
While Teachers in Mt Druitt Govt Schools get spat on, punched, abused, crap amenities, bashed, ignored, sued, etc ...and that's including from the parents. Punishment is now also compromised ...for legal reasons.

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 5:59am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 1:28am:

Valkie wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 8:09pm:

She said of course

yes, I have had more had experiences with teachers than good ones.

they overrate themselves, a LOT

look at how our education is deteriorating against the world standards.
we have poor teachers.

= ?

Post by aquascoot on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:05am
teaching is overated.

the mistake made by "fat steve' and his "fat wife" is to be lazy and hand over this vital role to a low level public servant.

parents need to be good role models and understand how the world works.

i would rather read "the 7 habits of highly effective people" to my kids as a bed time story then read them "to kill a mockingbird".

interestingly, i was talking to my fencer the other day and his son , who dropped out of school at 15 and is now 20 was with him.
the kid just brought his first house for cash at 20!!.

the kid made (mick is no BS artist) 280 k last year fencing.

if your parents are good role models and draw the kids into their world (as opposed to leftard purgatory) then the skys the limit.

i said to this kid (young man), whats next.

he has his eyes on some lovely river flats where he is going to grow sorghum for the feed lot industry.

thats the way...the rich get richer and the poor get poorer.
just how nature intended it.

hopefully by 30 he'll be a millionaire and he'll have some kids with uni degrees polishing his boots and cleaning his toilet  :D :D :D :D

Post by bogarde73 on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:42am
A lot of excellent comments in this thread.
What hasn't been mentioned much is the continual changing of the curricula over the decades

Some of course is necessary, technology changes &etc. But it must be unsettling, frustrating, time consuming and a drain on resources. And it seems to have become very crowded with stuff that is, well, superfluous?

And I know my grandson in Y7 is being worked harder than a Chinese coolie. Arbeit macht frei, ja Karnal? Could they slow down a bit and let the kids be kids instead of 24/7 workers and/or worriers.

Post by BigOl64 on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:45am

freediver wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:45pm:
I remember we had a biology exam in high school where one of the other students gave an answer that was demonstrably incorrect, but got nearly full marks for being able to 'explain' it. Obviously the explanation was full of holes also. In other words, being able to bullshit your way through is more important than being correct.

Isn't that rule one of the socialist rule book - bullsh1t baffles brains

Post by aquascoot on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:54am

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:42am:
What hasn't been mentioned much is the continual changing of the curricula over the decades

Some of course is necessary, technology changes &etc. But it must be unsettling, frustrating, time consuming and a drain on resources. And it seems to have become very crowded with stuff that is, well, superfluous?

And I know my grandson in Y7 is being worked harder than a Chinese coolie. Arbeit macht frei, ja Karnal? Could they slow down a bit and let the kids be kids instead of 24/7 workers and/or worriers.

sit down, shut up, move to your desk when the bell rings....especially for boys , this is very stifling.

to crush it in life, you will need to start a business and if you sit down, shut up and take no action and think thats the way to run a business, you will be out of business very quickly.

its why its important to teach kids the lessons at home.

a good one is to teach them to "handle rejection" and to maintain positivity in the face of brutal rejection.
school does not teach this at all.

have your kids or grandkids, go door to door selling choccy bars or whatever. 

now when some old grouch tells them to "piss off" they will need to maintain a positive attitude to move on to the next house. the only way to do this is to "draw confidence from within".  once a kid learns to "draw confidence from within", he's on his way up the narrow road to success. most adults cant draw confidence from within, they get butt hurt as hell and give up. its an enormous competitive advantage to build this sort of resilience at an early age.

it helps with relationships and it certainly helps with careers. by punching THRU the wall instead of punching AT the wall, you fuel an upward spiral.  and we all want our kin in an upward spiral.

surely you dont want a kid who ends up getting ripped off like one of whiteknights sob stories because his parents never taught him the power of confident self assertion

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:58am

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 7:42am:

Oh, ja. In NSW, the syllabus has changed once since the 1960s, Bogie.

My workplace has changed more than that in the last decade.

Post by bogarde73 on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:06am
There have been continuous changes. The name hasn't been changed to protect the innocent. There's been aboriginal this, multicultural that, STEM this & that, diversity diversity diversity.
The way to get on in the education industry is to get your signature on some change.

Post by cods on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:08am
have any of you critics ever taught a room full of mostly uninterested children???>.

no by these comments I can bet you havent...

no neither have I  but I have known one or two teachers in my time.. and NO their work doesnt stop when the bell goes...99% of them good ones take work home with them...they meet parents in the shopping centre who think now is a good time to get into this person for daring to tell her little man to pay attention...wehave no real idea what the life of a teacher is really like....imagine the talk back in High School.... ::) ::)bad manners and rudeness seem to rule the waves today....

teachers are being  HIT by todays bullies....

if you went to work every day knowing something violent could happen at any tick of the clock......just because you are doing the job you are being paid to do!

would you really enjoy turning up..

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:46am

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:06am:
There have been continuous changes. The name hasn't been changed to protect the innocent. There's been aboriginal this, multicultural that, STEM this & that, diversity diversity diversity.
The way to get on in the education industry is to get your signature on some change.

With the exception of Sally Morgan and a bit of history, none of that is in the NSW syllabus, Bogie.

STEM is science and technology - that is. Australia rates very low on this in the OECD.

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:50am

cods wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:08am:
have any of you critics ever taught a room full of mostly uninterested children???>.

no neither have I  but I have known one or two teachers in my time.. and NO their work doesnt stop when the bell goes...99% of them good ones take work home with them...they meet parents in the shopping centre who think now is a good time to get into this person for daring to tell her little man to pay attention...wehave no real idea what the life of a teacher is really like....imagine the talk back in High School.... ::) ::)bad manners and rudeness seem to rule the waves today....

if you went to work every day knowing something violent could happen at any tick of the clock......just because you are doing the job you are being paid to do!

Sure have, dear. Kids aren't that bad, but they are tiring.

Post by cods on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:09am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:50am:

where did you teach?

I believe digging roads can b e a bit tiring as well..

have you cleaned an oven lately??or done a weeks ironing....

Post by aquascoot on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:20am

good grief.

if i spoke to someone who trained horses and he "didnt really enjoy doing it", i would not let him within a kilometre of my $1000 horse.
i believe the OECD cost of raising a child is about $500,000.

so if i found out a teacher "didnt really enjoy doing it", i would not let that teacher anywhere near a child (who is infinitely more valuable then a horse )

teachers should be adults and act like it
teachers have to 'handle their own emotions"
we shouldnt have to set the bar high for teachers.
they should be applying the blowtorch to themselves every moment of every day to be awesome!!!
if they want to be butt hurt little pukes, tell them to go join whiteknight and "complain" a lot but keep their toxic negative energy away from kids

Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:21am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 12:01am:
Australia has a maximum 38 hour week, Matty. Teachers nearly always work on weekends. It would be nice if you could plan everything in a year, but you get different classes each term. Getting a new HSC class really tests you.

The payoff for getting well-behaved kids in private school is training two nights a week, after-school homework classes and your Saturdays gone. Some schools expect you to attend chapel on a Sunday.

But yes, the holidays are great.

That's close enough to the truth.

My niece teaches at a private school, and the work simply continues when she gets home.

Teaching is quite definitely no rort.

Post by Ye Grappler on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:39am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:46am:

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 8:06am:

With the exception of Sally Morgan and a bit of history, none of that is in the NSW syllabus, Bogie.

STEM is science and technology - that is. Australia rates very low on this in the OECD.

What need to do serfs have of science and technology - best leave such things to their betters and masters who can handle it more effectively....

Post by Gnads on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:47am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:13pm:
Gee, I remember when teachers would encourage us to speak up by saying, there are no right or wrong answers here, guys. That depends on what subject you are speaking

From memory, all views were treated as valid at school, but I can't think of a time where this was tested. Teachers rarely host debates in class.

That's what the article was on about ..... all views can't be valid if they are incorrect.
HSC English has units on different readings of texts such as King Lear, but you're marked on your ability to support your critical reading rather than there being a "right" or "wrong" view.

This is good teaching, not whinging. Whinging is complaining about things with no evidence - or solutions.

I wouldn't do a teachers job for any money ..... I believe that most earn their salaries & at times they deserve more .... especially in todays environment.

But there are bad eggs & bludgers even in that field.

I know that a lot of good male teachers have chucked it in because of the bullshit behavior of many students & PC.

btw way there were several eras of change to syllabus/curricular in QLD state primary & secondary schools over the years..

I completed year 10 under the new recommendations of the Radford Scheme in 1971. Prior to that you would sit for the final exam (Junior) at the end of the year to determine if you passed.

The Radford scheme was averaged out for the year over 3 end of term exams ....... if you failed early on that could fail you for the year.

http://education.qld.gov.au/library/docs/edhistory/stateedu.pdf

Post by freediver on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:28pm
I really dislike they way they try to introduce more academic style learning and lots of homework at earlier and earlier ages. They misrepresent the benefit to promote this. Obviously a kid who has been taught the alphabet in preschool is going to know the alphabet better than his peers in grade 1, but by grade 2 the benefit disappears. It just eats away at childhood.

Post by Karnal on Sep 13th, 2017 at 11:41pm

cods wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:09am:

where did you teach?

Oh, I know...

Post by Valkie on Sep 14th, 2017 at 5:25am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 11:41pm:

cods wrote on Sep 13th, 2017 at 9:09am:

where did you teach?

Oh, I know...

Teachers are quite simply lazy, and in many cases incompetent.
Just look at karntall, as a teacher he is a total failure.
Probably kant add up,
His obvious inability to understand is typical of teachers today
Yet even with all this he still feels superior,

Superior to what?
Poor little dear,
Underachievers always blow their own trumpet the loudest.
This proves that the teacher fraternity are all simply underachievers.

The old saying is
If you can...do
If you cant....teach

Rings true in kantalls situation.

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:09am
Very true, Matty. I switched jobs because I couldn't add up.

You're onto me, eh?

Post by aquascoot on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:20am
a lot of teachers seem to be lefties
the teachers union seems choc-o-block with lefties.

kids soak up the 'emotional state" of those they spend most time with.

this is called the "law of state transference".

if we want kids to be awesome, then it is vital that parents and teachers should "have the emotional state" of an "awesome person".

if a kid spends the weekend watching his dad, fat steve, sitting on the couch chowing down a pizza and watching netflix, then that kid is soaking up the emotional state of a "dreamcrusher".
its child abuse.
if a kid spends a term in a classroom with a teacher who is stressed, cant cope emotionally, (and a helluva a lot of teachers seem to be almost permanently on and off stress leave) if the teacher tells sad stories about the climate or captain cook. if the teacher is always whining and complaining that kids didnt do their homework, if the teacher doesnt know how to be a good alpha when some kid is acting up....then the kid is soaking up the emotional state of a dreamcrusher.
its a form of child abuse.

any teacher who cant go into a classroom with the intention of doing anything other then offering pure positive expansive energy needs to be brutally removed from perpetrating abuse on young children.

a teacher MUST be grounded in their own awesomeness.

i would get successful small business people to come into the classroom and present a narrative of inspiration to young people.  it must be awful to have fat steve for a dad, fat janine for a mum and a hand wringing anxious nervous "miss nellie" for a teacher.

how awful

Post by Gordon on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:34am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:09am:

You're onto me, eh?

You were sacked after you gave your students this maths problem.

Q: If 52 Muslim girls are taken overseas to marry their 50 year old uncle, how many laws have been broken?

A: Zero. It's all fine in the eyes of Allah (the most merciful).

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:35am
Where do you get this stuff from, Aquascoot? I went to school and I taught at schools. There were hardly any lefties I can remember.

Who teaches these things?

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:37am

Gordon wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:34am:

You're onto me, eh?

Q: If 52 Muslim girls are taken overseas to marry their 50 year old uncle, how many laws have been broken?

A challenging conundrum, Gordon. How many were actually married off?

Post by Gordon on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:38am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:37am:

Gordon wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:34am:

You're onto me, eh?

A challenging conundrum, Gordon. How many were actually married off?

Zero. Just use some Islamoclean TM, and all the Muslim stink goes away.

Post by aquascoot on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:40am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:35am:
Where do you get this stuff from, Aquascoot? I went to school and I taught at schools. There were hardly any lefties I can remember.

The teacher vote is set to make a big shift towards Labour in next week's general election, compared with the 2015 vote, a Tes survey suggests.

In total, 68 per cent of respondents said they expected to vote Labour, 10 per cent backed the Liberal Democrats, and 8 per cent chose the Conservatives.

The online poll may not precisely mirror the percentage split in next week’s vote among teachers. But it shows a clear trend: teachers are making a big switch to Labour.

68 % as opposed to 8 %. :)

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:41am
No no, I want a figure left on my desk by next Monday.

Dismissed.

Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:44am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 12th, 2017 at 7:13pm:
Gee, I remember when teachers would encourage us to speak up by saying, there are no right or wrong answers here, guys.

;D ;D ;D

This is very bad teaching indeed, and a classic example of Social-Marxism in action.

Mustn't hurt the little darlings' feelings. No losers - all winners ... and even the biggest failures go home with a prize.

It's called 'coddling' whilst instilling unrealistic expectations of what life is really like outside of this artificial cocoon of "Jack is as good as his master" wanky-poo nonsense.

At all cost the Little Darlings mustn't be exposed to character-building by having to accept a moment of failure on the field or in the classroom, as their self-esteem must be pandered to and supported at all times.

This is Socialism writ large which produces anal-receptive homosexuals, mummy's boys, spineless politicians, and jellyfish in abundance.

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:48am

aquascoot wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:40am:

The teacher vote is set to make a big shift towards Labour in next week's general election, compared with the 2015 vote, a Tes survey suggests.

In total, 68 per cent of respondents said they expected to vote Labour, 10 per cent backed the Liberal Democrats, and 8 per cent chose the Conservatives.

The online poll may not precisely mirror the percentage split in next week’s vote among teachers. But it shows a clear trend: teachers are making a big switch to Labour.

There you go, Aquascoot. Social Marxists.

Apart from Herbie's daughter, of course.

Post by aquascoot on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:54am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:48am:

aquascoot wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 7:40am:

There you go, Aquascoot. Social Marxists.

Apart from Herbie's daughter, of course.

lets be quite clear on this Karnal.

it is my duty as an educator of young horses to always do two things

1 master my own emotions and never get frustrated or lose my cool

2 remain at the top of the peck order because the lower sentient beings can only feel comfort, relax and learn in an environment where respect is established.

now, from what i hear from many teachers at dinner parties , they are

frustrated
feel they dont have control in the classroom
they seem mildly anxious about the situation

frustration, anxiety and lack of respect.

they need to come and do a boot camp with me and learn the "art of the successful trainer' and then they need to go back to the classroom and apply the god-dammed principles i could teach them  ;)

Post by Karnal on Sep 14th, 2017 at 8:05am
Actually, I'd like to learn that myself. Thanks, Aquascoot. You've provided a solution: skills.

Post by red baron on Sep 14th, 2017 at 8:58am
Don't blame the teachers

The teachers are given a curriculum they 'must teach'

Want to blame someone then blame the Education Department and the Government

But don't blame the teachers, half the time they hate some of the politically correct sh.t they are forced to pass on to students

The playground has become a hotbed of political correctness if you haven't noticed

But don't lay the blame at the teachers' feet

Totally unfair :)

Post by aquascoot on Sep 14th, 2017 at 9:00am

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 8:05am:
Actually, I'd like to learn that myself. Thanks, Aquascoot. You've provided a solution: skills.

since the lawyer explosion in the west encouraging complaints and the soft life most people enjoy , you may well be right.

it could just be that an important skill to learn to survive in modern "group think" is the skill of "whinging".

but i think its just a temporary fad

Post by Frank on Sep 14th, 2017 at 10:18pm

aquascoot wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 9:00am:

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 8:05am:

since the lawyer explosion in the west encouraging complaints and the soft life most people enjoy , you may well be right.

it could just be that an important skill to learn to survive in modern "group think" is the skill of "whinging".

but i think its just a temporary fad

You should seriously run a workshop for executives. Charge huge but make sure that the catering and accommodation are top notch. I

Horse whispering for executives - hear what Houyhnhnms have to teach you about you and your organisation.
Charge cost plus 300% if you want to be taken seriously.  Have an actual horseriding event as part of the training. 

Do it.

Post by Karnal on Sep 15th, 2017 at 3:51am

red baron wrote on Sep 14th, 2017 at 8:58am:
Don't blame the teachers

The teachers are given a curriculum they 'must teach'

Want to blame someone then blame the Education Department and the Government

But don't blame the teachers, half the time they hate some of the politically correct sh.t they are forced to pass on to students

The playground has become a hotbed of political correctness if you haven't noticed

But don't lay the blame at the teachers' feet

Totally unfair :)

No, Red, teachers are given skills they have to teach - a syllabus. Only in the HSC are they given texts they have to cover.

Curriculums are actually quite broad - Shakespeare in Year 10, Australian history in Year 8, algebra in Year 9, etc, etc, etc. Schools have a lot of leeway to cover different texts and subject matter.

The choice of subject matter usually comes down to how many books are left in the book-room.

Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 15th, 2017 at 3:58am
In primary and high school I saw teachers who were interested in self-promotion and self-interest. Primary school was okay, I guess. But the teachers were all about trying to dominate the students with veiled threats. Being caught walking into a classroom to put away books during lunch would have the teacher doing more than just lecture you. They would threaten to kill you or anything that would lead to them implying that they would fight you.

Teachers work 50 hours a week. 30 in the classroom, 20 after school. Yet, they feel that they are owed more than people who work those types of hours in other industries. I had to work 56 hours in one week to get the type of pay that teachers get in 30 hours of teaching.

Post by Karnal on Sep 15th, 2017 at 4:57am

UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 15th, 2017 at 3:58am:
In primary and high school I saw teachers who were interested in self-promotion and self-interest. Primary school was okay, I guess. But the teachers were all about trying to dominate the students with veiled threats. Being caught walking into a classroom to put away books during lunch would have the teacher doing more than just lecture you. They would threaten to kill you or anything that would lead to them implying that they would fight you.

Teachers work 50 hours a week. 30 in the classroom, 20 after school. Yet, they feel that they are owed more than people who work those types of hours in other industries. I had to work 56 hours in one week to get the type of pay that teachers get in 30 hours of teaching.

I don't know any teachers who feel they are owed something, Unsubrocky. The general theme in discussions with teachers - in school and out - is about helping kids.

It's a good income. All the teachers I know are happy with it. The thing that moves teachers is seeing kids grow and learn. Teachers aren't selling financial products on commission. The ones who stay after a year are in it to teach.

It's a profession, and an important one. Aquascoot understands this vibe perfectly.

Post by Valkie on Sep 15th, 2017 at 6:50pm

Mattyfisk wrote on Sep 15th, 2017 at 4:57am:

I don't know any teachers who feel they are owed something, Unsubrocky. The general theme in discussions with teachers - in school and out - is about helping kids.

It's a good income. All the teachers I know are happy with it. The thing that moves teachers is seeing kids grow and learn. Teachers aren't selling financial products on commission. The ones who stay after a year are in it to teach.

It's a profession, and an important one. Aquascoot understands this vibe perfectly.

50 hours a week.......snikker snikker
About helping kids.....snicker snicker , snort snort
Profession.....laugh , laugh, snicker
Important one......oh come on, its just too funny.

20 hoursva week at most
About helping themselves
Profession, its a job, nothing more nothing less, professions are for professionals.
Important, only if they did what they were employed to do, which they dont.

This is why so many children have been faiied by this group of self serving non-entities.

Once there were teachers, now there are professional complainers.

Post by Ye Grappler on Sep 15th, 2017 at 7:33pm
Been no bloody good since The Invasion Of The Snatch Embodiers....

NRL semi final on.. C YA L8ER

Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 17th, 2017 at 4:29am

Primary school teachers I remember were at least trying to help students with learning. But I think many of them were primary school teachers because they wanted to feel power over people.

In high school, everything changed. But some of the reasons were concerned with the fact that we were to become teenagers in our first year of high school -- therefore expected to shoulder a lot of the responsibilities. I did not have a good start to my high school year. The art teacher was a psychopath who did not give a damn about getting his facts straight. Who in the world waits three and a half years to shout abuse and condemnation towards a person who was actually a victim of assault as a 9-year-old? Then there was my math teacher who was so pious, we could practically make our public high school into a private school with her constant preaching. And the humanities block seemed to be full of late-stage hippies with an agenda of being intellectual without being too enthused about their jobs.

Teachers are available to help students become good students. But the complacency and the negativity of just cruising through high school by many seem to churn out complacent and oblivious high school graduates. My year level was considered one of the bright examples of good students. The teachers loved our year level. It was a pity that the year above and below us were so ordinary in temperament that my classmates would be more visible as ideal students.

Post by Karnal on Sep 17th, 2017 at 4:34am

UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 17th, 2017 at 4:29am:

Primary school teachers I remember were at least trying to help students with learning. But I think many of them were primary school teachers because they wanted to feel power over people.

In high school, everything changed. But some of the reasons were concerned with the fact that we were to become teenagers in our first year of high school -- therefore expected to shoulder a lot of the responsibilities. I did not have a good start to my high school year. The art teacher was a psychopath who did not give a damn about getting his facts straight. Who in the world waits three and a half years to shout abuse and condemnation towards a person who was actually a victim of assault as a 9-year-old? Then there was my math teacher who was so pious, we could practically make our public high school into a private school with her constant preaching. And the humanities block seemed to be full of late-stage hippies with an agenda of being intellectual without being too enthused about their jobs.

Teachers are available to help students become good students. But the complacency and the negativity of just cruising through high school by many seem to churn out complacent and oblivious high school graduates. My year level was considered one of the bright examples of good students. The teachers loved our year level. It was a pity that the year above and below us were so ordinary in temperament that my classmates would be more visible as ideal students.

Teachers are tasked with pointing kids in the right direction to learn for themselves. Kids always learn, whether they're at school or not.

All teachers can do is provide a hint of what's on offer if kids read and try out different things. The best teachers can do is inspire and captivate.

Post by Ye Grappler on Sep 17th, 2017 at 12:26pm

Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 17th, 2017 at 1:36pm
link

Here's Mark Latham on the deplorable state of our public schools.

Post by red baron on Sep 17th, 2017 at 4:49pm
How little some of the posters here know about Teachers and what they do in particular Valkie

My daughter is a senior teacher at a Primary School

She arrives at school around 7am signs in then gets to work, with the mountain of preparation that school teachers are lumbered with each day

Did you now Valkie that teachers must write running reports on each and every student

Did you know that teachers have to create special programs for students with special needs that are in the classroom with the other students

It s not uncommon for a teacher top be teaching two grades simultaneously, ;esson plans for each lesson for both hgrades have to be made and approved

The lesson preparations are enormous even for Primary School students, the results are constantly analysed

My daughter usually gets away from Primary School at 5pm unless there are extra meetings in which case it could roll anything up to 5.30pm

Don't know about you Valkie but that adds up to at least a 10 hour day each and every day

Then there is work to be done at home

Still feel like being an overpaid teacher Valkie?

Post by Ye Grappler on Sep 17th, 2017 at 7:28pm
Never thought I'd have so much in common with Mark Latham.... oh, well - I'm young yet...

Post by Lord Herbert on Sep 17th, 2017 at 7:47pm

red baron wrote on Sep 17th, 2017 at 4:49pm:
How little some of the posters here know about Teachers and what they do in particular Valkie

My daughter is a senior teacher at a Primary School

She arrives at school around 7am signs in then gets to work, with the mountain of preparation that school teachers are lumbered with each day

Did you now Valkie that teachers must write running reports on each and every student

Did you know that teachers have to create special programs for students with special needs that are in the classroom with the other students

It s not uncommon for a teacher top be teaching two grades simultaneously, ;esson plans for each lesson for both hgrades have to be made and approved

The lesson preparations are enormous even for Primary School students, the results are constantly analysed

My daughter usually gets away from Primary School at 5pm unless there are extra meetings in which case it could roll anything up to 5.30pm

Don't know about you Valkie but that adds up to at least a 10 hour day each and every day

Then there is work to be done at home

Still feel like being an overpaid teacher Valkie?

100% correct.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.