General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Why does the government reward bludgers?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1394703843

Message started by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 7:44pm

Title: Why does the government reward bludgers?
Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 7:44pm
I turn 65 soon, and i am not entitled to receive a pension. I have saved all my life, and apparently too much, I can live off of the money and Super that I have saved over the years. I know people who have blown all of their money, or at least a lot of it, and they get $20,000 a year from the taxpayer, and I get bigger all. Both sides do this, Labor and the Coalition. Why is this? Where is the incentive to save, where is the incentive to be prudent and wise with your money? Why do we reward those who waste their money? bugger I have completely lost it with all sides of politics in this country.

Title: Re: Why does the government reward bludgers?
Post by dsmithy70 on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:31pm

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 7:44pm:
I turn 65 soon, and i am not entitled to receive a pension. I have saved all my life, and apparently too much, I can live off of the money and Super that I have saved over the years. I know people who have blown all of their money, or at least a lot of it, and they get $20,000 a year from the taxpayer, and I get bigger all. Both sides do this, Labor and the Coalition. Why is this? Where is the incentive to save, where is the incentive to be prudent and wise with your money? Why do we reward those who waste their money? bugger I have completely lost it with all sides of politics in this country.

And yet you get a decreased tax rate on super payments.
You can earn 50K a year and still recieve the health care card regardless if you recieve 100K from super investments as thats not means tested.
But yeah you get nothing.
Your full of crap or have won the money because you obvilously haven't been bothered to look into your entitlements COVERED BY THE TAXPAYER.

Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:40pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:31pm:

And yet you get a decreased tax rate on super payments.
You can earn 50K a year and still recieve the health care card regardless if you recieve 100K from super investments as thats not means tested.
But yeah you get nothing.
Your full of crap or have won the money because you obvilously haven't been bothered to look into your entitlements COVERED BY THE TAXPAYER.

Full of crap, you say? Why am I not entitled to the age pension, when a bloke that I know who lived well beyond his means is? How is that any fair? I was livid when told that I didn't qualify. What was the point of me saving my money? I thought that both sides of government were trying to encourage people to save their money? Funny way of showing it.  >:(

Post by Aussie on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:41pm

All good points, but I'm not so sure about people wasting their money etc.

You, like me, are one of the Baby Boomers.  There are zillions of us and we are causing a transitional nightmare.  Few of us have meaningful 'super,' because it was not compulsory when we were making any worthwhile money.  It was only later in our working life that the 'super' came along, so we are behind the eight ball......with Super.

Only one other alternative, which is the Aged Pension.

Post by Setanta on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:47pm

What of those that couldn't put any aside because they were never paid enough to? Yep, they blew all their money because they had no choice, saving or eating, tough choice. If you could save enough that you don't get the pension, thank your lucky stars you were not on minimum wage for your working life. How about you donate all your savings and property to charity, then you can try and live on 20k a year paying rent.

My heart bleeds for you. :'(

Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:01pm
[ftp][/ftp]
Aussie wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:41pm:

You, like me, are one of the Baby Boomers.  There are zillions of us and we are causing a transitional nightmare.  Few of us have meaningful 'super,' because it was not compulsory when we were making any worthwhile money.  It was only later in our working life that the 'super' came along, so we are behind the eight ball......with Super.

I understand where you're coming from, but let me give you an example. A bfriend of mine and i earned roughly the same amount of money all our lives. He had to have the best of everything. Every time we'd go out for lunch or dinner he'd order one of the most expensive meals on the menu. He wasted his money like it was going out of his fashion, and hardly saved a dime. I scrimped and saved all my life, when I was married and when I was single. Now that he's blown his, he is entitled to taxpayer money at the rate of $20,000 a year. I am entitled to stuff all.

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:02pm

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:40pm:
I was livid when told that I didn't qualify. What was the point of me saving my money?
Sorry you saying after years of paying into super and saving you only realised when you turned 65 that you were ineligible for the age pension.  Maybe they should make an exception for you. Sounds like you might need all the help you can get.    

Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:02pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:47pm:

What of those that couldn't put any aside because they were never paid enough to? Yep, they blew all their money because they had no choice, saving or eating, tough choice. If you could save enough that you don't get the pension, thank your lucky stars you were not on minimum wage for your working life. How about you donate all your savings and property to charity, then you can try and live on 20k a year paying rent.

Missing the point. If you want to see it, refer to my previous answer.

Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:03pm

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:02pm:

I was livid when told that I didn't qualify. What was the point of me saving my money?
Sorry you saying after years of paying into super and saving you only realised when you turned 65 that you were ineligible for the age pension.  Maybe they should make an exception for you. Sounds like you might need all the help you can get.    

Another one missing the point.

Post by dsmithy70 on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:12pm
Like our treasurer says
The age of entitlement is over
You want the pension so bad, blow all your savings travelling and buying usless crap this year and you can line up next year.
Just don't come back whining it a choice between buying the electricity bill or eating next winter.

Your parents would be ashamed of your attitude.

Post by Setanta on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:13pm

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:01pm:
[ftp][/ftp]

I understand where you're coming from, but let me give you an example. A bfriend of mine and i earned roughly the same amount of money all our lives. He had to have the best of everything. Every time we'd go out for lunch or dinner he'd order one of the most expensive meals on the menu. He wasted his money like it was going out of his fashion, and hardly saved a dime. I scrimped and saved all my life, when I was married and when I was single. Now that he's blown his, he is entitled to taxpayer money at the rate of $20,000 a year. I am entitled to stuff all.

You have it better than your friend now, you don't get what he gets because you do not need it. Welfare is supposed to be needs based. Sure, have a thorn in your toe, but would you really trade places with him now? Perhaps you want him to suffer a bit, guaranteed on the OAP he will be, it's not cream.

As Aussie said, super was not even there for most people, it only came in, introduced by Labor as a trade off to wage rises, in 1991?(I think) so most people, unless they were pretty well off had a well justified expectation that the pension would look after them. That's not the case, the OAP sucks and is barely liveable if you are married and pay rent, if you are single I hope the bridges in your area are not too drafty.

Think about all those not like your friend.. And why didn't you tell him off back then and tell him he was a bludger.

Post by Setanta on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:21pm

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:03pm:

OK, what is the point? Everyone should get it? Let's have a Guaranteed National Income that everyone gets from 18 onwards that you collect till you die. Would you be prepared to pay the taxes whilst working to support it? Welfare is needs based, get over it or donate away what you have and live like a pauper on the OAP.

Post by john_g on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:28pm
I couldn't agree more with the OP.

But GreenLight, don't expect the idiots on here to realise the logic that you demonstrated.

I know all too well about cases like this.

Post by john_g on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:29pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:21pm:

OK, what is the point? Everyone should get it? Let's have a Guaranteed National Income that everyone gets from 18 onwards that you collect till you die. Would you be prepared to pay the taxes whilst working to support it? Welfare is needs based, get over it or donate away what you have and live like a pauper on the OAP.

Needs based?

Like the Polly superanniation schemes?

Post by Setanta on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:32pm

john_g wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:29pm:

Setanta wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 9:21pm:

Needs based?

Like the Polly superanniation schemes?

Lol, you think I agree with polly super? Put them on the same standards as everyone else. Polly super does not come under "welfare". Lucky for them Costello made sure they will be fine with his "Future Fund". Why else do you think he did it? I personally think they should open the fund to OAPs rather than just public servants or pollies should make do with the OAP, WHEN they turn retirement age like everyone else.

Post by Bam on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:16pm

Thank you for your post, it was interesting.

It's not mythical "bludgers" being rewarded, it's more that both sides of politics unfairly penalise saving with boneheaded policies.

Let me give you another example.

Imagine two people on similar incomes and similar household expenses.

The first person spends all their money week to week and then loses their job. They would gain access to Newstart after a minimal waiting period.

The other person lives more frugally, saves spare money, perhaps buys some shares, and then loses their job. Centrelink would slug them with hefty waiting periods before they get anything because they have "liquid assets". This infamous liquid assets test has had much the same thresholds it had in 1997.

Why is spending rewarded and saving money penalised? Where's the incentive to save?

Post by Bam on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:18pm
Dear forum thread, please flip the page, and next time, please count the posts in the thread more carefully.

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:27pm
Zeez people's seem to have some kind of entitlement derangement syndrome. I zink zere should be some massive medications dispensed to many people's on zis forum.

Post by Setanta on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:42pm

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:27pm:
Zeez people's seem to have some kind of entitlement derangement syndrome. I zink zere should be some massive medications dispensed to many people's on zis forum.

Reinhart Syndrome?

Post by Karnal on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:44pm
Yes, but you wish to help zeez people, Psycho. It’s in your hypocritic oath, no?

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:47pm
Already I have two patients, yayz. I vill make sure you are finely medicated. Itz must be done sooner rather zan later. Too longs haz zis delusionalism gone on unabateds.

Post by Karnal on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:55pm
Surely there’s nothing wrong with a little unabateds, Doktor. We all do it.

I’m saving mine for afternoon tea. FriYay always comes prepared with a biscuit.

I prefer to use a purse, but that’s just me.

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:11am

Mattyfisk wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 11:55pm:
Surely there’s nothing wrong with a little unabateds, Doktor. We all do it.

I’m saving mine for afternoon tea. FriYay always comes prepared with a biscuit.

I prefer to use a purse, but that’s just me.

Oh noes Carnal, unabateds iz very bad. Itz leads to much frivolously delusionism thatz cans cause much harm. No, medication must be started.

Post by Karnal on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:17am
Good heavens, the last physician told me it simply had to be done. You know, for medical reasons.

I do hope he didn’t take advantage of me, Doktor. I’m quite fragile at the best of times.

Old war wound, you see.

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:24am

Mattyfisk wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:17am:
Good heavens, the last physician told me it simply had to be done. You know, for medical reasons.

I do hope he didn’t take advantage of me, Doktor. I’m quite fragile at the best of times.

Old war wound, you see.

Zats vot happens ven you use government doktors. You should come to my couch vere you vill get ze proper treatment and ze right injections.

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:38am

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:24am:

Old war wound, you see.

Zats vot happens ven you use government doktors. You should come to my couch vere you vill get ze proper treatment and ze right injections.

Yeah right, "injections"... Not a pervert that seeks to use your position to take advantage are you mister analist? ;D
Or is it only the bill that makes 'em bend over? ;)

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:41am
You sound like you need analizing mr sultanas. I suggest tomorrow afternoon at 4pm on my couch, yes?

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:48am

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:41am:
You sound like you need analizing mr sultanas. I suggest tomorrow afternoon at 4pm on my couch, yes?

Nah, be buggered if I'll turn up! ;D

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:52am

Setanta wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:48am:

Zat is such a shame. My course is very good for the, ah, soul.

Post by Karnal on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:54am

Old war wound, you see.

Beef, or... ?

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:56am

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:52am:

Setanta wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:48am:

Zat is such a shame. My course is very good for the, ah, soul.

Lol, I seriously laughed out loud at that.. Well said. Although I would have rolled on the floor if you said "injections" rather than "course". I'll give it a miss butt I hear there are others that might like the thought of "taking you up" on the offer.

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:58am
flippin' forum!

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:01am

Mattyfisk wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:54am:

Old war wound, you see.

Beef, or... ?

No no, ze mad cow disease put an end to all zat. Now vee only use zat injections zat have been approved by Putin in Russia ze great motherland. If zere are any problems you vill be looked after very vell and flown back to the motherland to our special facilities in Siberia vere the vodka vill flow freely around your brain in the bottle...I mean the vodka in zee bottle vill flow freely and vee vill fix your brain.

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:11am

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:01am:

Mattyfisk wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 12:54am:

Old war wound, you see.

Beef, or... ?

No no, ze mad cow disease put an end to all zat. Now vee only use zat injections zat have been approved by Putin in Russia ze great motherland. If zere are any problems you vill be looked after very vell and flown back to the motherland to our special facilities in Siberia vere the vodka vill flow freely around your brain in the bottle...I mean the vodka in zee bottle vill flow freely and vee vill fix your brain.

I think Karnal meant beef, or you take your own advice or after.

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:20am
It iz verse zan I thought. Zere seems to be some kind of dyslexic sentence structure as another symptom. You must come to my couch. I zink I should have a Carnal-Sultana couch sandwich to try and analize you both at ze same time.

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:20am
Another rubbish thread that we need to be ignoring.

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:23am

Winston Smith wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:20am:

You could have just said, grow up will you! OK. It was fun but I'm out for the night. :'(

Post by Psycho analist on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:23am

And how long has you been givings advice zat you ignore? D I need to make room on my couch or vill you need a one on one analization?

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:41am

Psycho analist wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:23am:

And how long has you been givings advice zat you ignore? D I need to make room on my couch or vill you need a one on one analization?

I think I've already guessed which foot this sock belongs to. :)

Post by miketrees on Mar 14th, 2014 at 2:48am
I think I understand the point of this thread.

All of politics revolves around the word "fair"

People cling to the word fair with righteous indignation.

The left claim its fair for everyone to have equal outcomes

While the right claim its fair to be rewarded for effort.

I think its a fair chance your view is going to depend on your circumstance and self interest.

We could change a lefty into a righty by giving them some an asset. (Liberal master plan)

We can change a righty to a lefty by taking their money then offering them welfare. (labors master plan)

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:14am

miketrees wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 2:48am:
I think I understand the point of this thread.

All of politics revolves around the word "fair"

People cling to the word fair with righteous indignation.

The left claim its fair for everyone to have equal outcomes

While the right claim its fair to be rewarded for effort.

I think its a fair chance your view is going to depend on your circumstance and self interest.

We could change a lefty into a righty by giving them some an asset. (Liberal master plan)

We can change a righty to a lefty by taking their money then offering them welfare. (labors master plan)

There's no such thing as a 'Lefty' or a 'Righty'. In reality, we all know what's fair and what isn't. Subscribing to 'Lefty' or 'Righty' thinking, is an exercise in deliberate self delusion. It's a deferral of conscience, in order to take the path of least resistance. Or a deliberate obfuscation, in the service of vested interests. It's a completely disingenuous charade.

Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:37am

If you have enough money to not be entitled to the pension then you musty have enough money to live on and not need it.

Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:40am

There are not "zillions" of baby boomers. In fact the whole "baby boomer" thing is propaganda. There are just lots more ppl and the governments squandered our money and sold off the things that made money (electricity, post office, telecom etc).

Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:41am

[ftp][/ftp]

He enjoyed life while you did not? Seriously - you want to live on 20k a year? He hasnt got the best of everything now.

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 5:55am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:40am:

There are not "zillions" of baby boomers. In fact the whole "baby boomer" thing is propaganda. There are just lots more ppl and the governments squandered our money and sold off the things that made money (electricity, post office, telecom etc).

Well said SOB

Post by TheGreenLight on Mar 14th, 2014 at 6:49am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:41am:

[ftp][/ftp]

He enjoyed life while you did not? Seriously - you want to live on 20k a year? He hasnt got the best of everything now.

Why can't anyone but john_g grasp the point of this thread?

It's not that I need the money, it's the whole principle of the situation.

If he squandered his money, why should the taxpayer fork out $20,000 a year, and give the prudent people like me, not a cent?

Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 14th, 2014 at 7:07am

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 6:49am:

[ftp][/ftp]

If he squandered his money, why should the taxpayer fork out $20,000 a year, and give the prudent people like me, not a cent?

Because "prudent" ppl like you dont need it. Thing is - you must have a heck of a lot to not get anything.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Mar 14th, 2014 at 7:44am
Its a bit like my parents, they both worked all their lives 7 days a week both in their 70's, things like family holidays never happened because they had to work all year round. now and cant receive a pension. My father still works and my mum just retired for the third time due to health reasons.

Post by miketrees on Mar 14th, 2014 at 8:15am
There's no such thing as a 'Lefty' or a 'Righty'. In reality, we all know what's fair and what isn't. Subscribing to 'Lefty' or 'Righty' thinking, is an exercise in deliberate self delusion. It's a deferral of conscience, in order to take the path of least resistance. Or a deliberate obfuscation, in the service of vested interests. It's a completely disingenuous charade.

Thanks Whinny the Poo you demonstrated my point brilliantly.

Everybody thinks they know what fair is.

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:18am

miketrees wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 8:15am:

Thanks Whinny the Poo you demonstrated my point brilliantly.

Everybody thinks they know what fair is.

What you're alluding to, isn't about fairness.

Post by mozzaok on Mar 14th, 2014 at 1:27pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:47pm:

LMAO Very, very well said Setanta.

You have to love folks who most likely pilloried any and all getting any type of government benefit, now blowing their stack, because they have too much money to get a full pension themselves.
Solid Gold.

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 2:09pm
There are plenty of self funded retirees who are on a full pension as long as the interest they earn from their investments doesn't exceed $80,000 a year. This is very generous considering the state of the economy.

If you exceed an income of $80,000 - the pension is reduced accordingly. If you have no need for the pension - why would you want it? Your taxes over the years would probably have paid for your children's education and medical care for your whole family. If any of your immediate family were unemployed or sick - then your taxes would also have contributed to their welfare benefits.

Australia has become a very greedy place. We want everything for nothing.

Post by Neferti on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:10pm

mantra wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 2:09pm:
There are plenty of self funded retirees who are on a full pension as long as the interest they earn from their investments doesn't exceed $80,000 a year. This is very generous considering the state of the economy.

If you exceed an income of $80,000 - the pension is reduced accordingly. If you have no need for the pension - why would you want it? Your taxes over the years would probably have paid for your children's education and medical care for your whole family. If any of your immediate family were unemployed or sick - then your taxes would also have contributed to their welfare benefits.

You have absolutely no idea, do you?  You are just regurgitating nonsense, as usual.  Here, take a look for yourself.

http://www.humanservices.gov.au/customer/themes/older-australians

Post by Kat on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:34pm

And if it's at the expense of someone who's genuinely needy, then so much the better.

Especially if it's single parents and/or the unemployed.

>:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:56pm

Neferti wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:10pm:

You have absolutely no idea, do you?  You are just regurgitating nonsense, as usual.  Here, take a look for yourself.

Yet another personal attack!

If you think I'm incorrect - and self funded retirees can't earn $80,000 pa and still collect a pension - please provide the evidence?

Your link proves nothing.

Post by pansi1951 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:09pm

Post by woody2013 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:22pm

mantra wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:56pm:

Neferti wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 3:10pm:

Yet another personal attack!

If you think I'm incorrect - and self funded retirees can't earn $80,000 pa and still collect a pension - please provide the evidence?

Your link proves nothing.

The amount of part Age Pension you receive is not only based on the assets you have. It is also determined by your income. For each dollar of income you receive over the income limit, which is currently $268 for a couple combined, your pension will be reduced by 50 cents. In terms of the asset limit, your Age Pension is reduced by $1.50 for every $1000 over a certain threshold, until you reach the disqualifying amount. You will need to speak with a Centrelink Financial Information Services officer to ascertain what your payment rate will be.

As self-funded retirees, if you do not qualify for an Age Pension, you may be entitled to a Commonwealth Seniors Health Card (CSHC), which will give you access to concessions on pharmaceuticals, medical services, transport to name but a few. Also, as holders of a CSHC, you may also be eligible for a Seniors Supplement to assist with household bills.

maybe this will help

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:23pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:09pm:

This is true, but it's not the philosophy of most conservative governments. They're doctrine is survival of the fittest and elimination of the weak. There's no chance of Australia remaining civilised while a neo-conservative government is in power.

Civilised....bring (a place or people) to a stage of social development considered to be more advanced.

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:27pm

woody2014 wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:22pm:
The amount of part Age Pension you receive is not only based on the assets you have. It is also determined by your income. For each dollar of income you receive over the income limit, which is currently $268 for a couple combined, your pension will be reduced by 50 cents. In terms of the asset limit, your Age Pension is reduced by $1.50 for every $1000 over a certain threshold, until you reach the disqualifying amount. You will need to speak with a Centrelink Financial Information Services officer to ascertain what your payment rate will be.

As self-funded retirees, if you do not qualify for an Age Pension, you may be entitled to a Commonwealth Seniors Health Card (CSHC), which will give you access to concessions on pharmaceuticals, medical services, transport to name but a few. Also, as holders of a CSHC, you may also be eligible for a Seniors Supplement to assist with household bills.

That's a little ambiguous, although thanks for the info. It doesn't say specifically what the "certain threshold" is. The figure I provided has appeared fairly regularly in the media based on a couple with an income from investments. I don't think the family home is included in the threshold.

Post by woody2013 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:30pm

mantra wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:27pm:

That's a little ambiguous, although thanks for the info. It doesn't say specifically what the threshold is. The figure I provided is what has appeared fairly regularly in the media for a couple with an income from investments. I don't think the family home is included in the threshold.

family home is not included but the family farm can be included   >:(

Post by woody2013 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:32pm

mantra wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:27pm:

That's a little ambiguous, although thanks for the info. It doesn't say specifically what the "certain threshold" is. The figure I provided has appeared fairly regularly in the media based on a couple with an income from investments. I don't think the family home is included in the threshold.

family home not included family farm can be included

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:38pm

woody2014 wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:30pm:
family home is not included but the family farm can be included

That seems a little unfair - the family farm is usually the family home for generations. Perhaps if the farm is very prosperous - it's thrown into the mix, although so should those homes worth $1 million plus. I read somewhere that all family homes over a certain market price are going to be included soon, so if you can afford to - it's better to stay away from Centrelink altogether.

This is a Coalition initiative.

Post by woody2013 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:41pm

mantra wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:38pm:

woody2014 wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:30pm:
family home is not included but the family farm can be included

That seems a little unfair - the family farm is usually the family home for generations. Perhaps if the farm is very prosperous - it's thrown into the mix, although so should those homes worth $1 million plus. I read somewhere that talk about all family homes over a certain market price are going to be included soon, so if you can afford to - it's better to stay away from Centrelink altogether.

This is a Coalition initiative.

haven't heard that yet. Luckily to family farms and two sons  ;) ;) ;)

Post by mantra on Mar 14th, 2014 at 5:37pm

woody2014 wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 4:41pm:
haven't heard that yet. Luckily to family farms and two sons  Wink Wink Wink

Don't get too comfortable. One government or another will eventually reintroduce death duties to bring in more revenue.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 14th, 2014 at 5:48pm

Life is full of injustices & there are millions of stories just like yours.

Unfortunately the Govt. is broke so they have introduced unfair rules
to try & reduce their costs.
Right now they are paying public servants & social security with borrowed money.
We'll end up like Greece before long.

Post by hawil on Mar 14th, 2014 at 6:28pm

Please give me your opinion on this letter to Penny Wong, because she would not answer.

To the
Hon.P Wong MP
PO Box 6237
Halifax Street
ADELAIDE SA 5000

12’th March 2013

Dear Ms.Wong.
In the AFR article “PM keeps superannuation tax-free for over -60s” 7.Feb 2013 you are quoted as saying: “the government would listen to all ideas”.
Here is what the government should look at very seriously.

This is how the retirees are treated in Australia.
Retiree: 1)
Worked for 45 years and paid taxes, but did not accumulate enough assets to be completely independent of the age-pension. For every dollar of extra income for him and his wife above $6,500, the couple loses $0.50 of age pension, and if their income exceeds $45,000 per annum, the couple will pay tax of $0.315 in the dollar including medicare levy, leaving them with an income of $0.185 from every dollar extra income. For the defined benefit income a 10% tax-offset applies if paid from an Australian super fund, but not if the income comes from an overseas fund.
Retiree 2)
Has accumulated assets of $1.5million,mostly with huge tax concessions, and the assets are in a so-called taxed Self Managed Super Fund. To be very conservative, the assets are in a term deposit earning 7.0% income of $122,500 per annum and even if the retiree is single, he/she will not pay a cent of tax.
Now if the assets are in fully franked shares, like banks, and return $100,000 worth of franked dividends, he/she will again pay no tax on the dividend, and the government will send him/her a cheque of $30,000 for the franking credits.
Should the assets of these retirees fall below a certain level, they will be entitled to the age pension as anyone else, therefore why does the government provides the rich retirees with such huge tax concessions, while punishing the retirees at the lower income scale with the punitive means-test of the age pension?
Retiree 3)
Is an ex-politician or highly paid public servant, in receipt of a defined benefit pension of $100,000, on which he/she will have to pay tax, but he/she gets a 10% tax offset, which equals $10,000 after reaching retirement age, but before retiring, the public servant can establish a SMSF and contribute into it extra with tax concessions if the $25,000 total for under fifty and $50,000, if over fifty is not exceeded and in addition he/she can contribute $150,000 from after tax income, and the earnings from the SMSF will only attract 15% tax, and when the person reaches the age of 60 even the income will be completely tax-free for the SMSF.
Retiree’s 2) are well represented by the media and the super industry, as well as the Unions, and retiree’s 3) are represented by the government, and ironically by the leadership of various retiree Associations, like ACPSRO and its affiliated Associations, but who represents retiree’s 1) the part- pensioners who are being robbed of a decent standard of living in retirement by the means-test of the age pension.
What is the fairest solution; scrap the mean test of the age pension and scrap all tax concessions for super.
Will Gillard have the courage and scrap the tax concessions for super and the means test for the age pension. After all Howard introduced the tax-free super in one fell swoop.
Is there any other country which treats its citizens in such a discriminatory manner?
I would like to refer you to two recent articles;
1st) AFR ,Dec 8-9. 2012 by Brian Toohey, “Compulsory super makes little sense.
2nd)AFR 13.Feb 2013 by Alison Kahler, “Don’t put super over the national good.
Recently there was a lot written about changes in super, which  now seems to have disappeared, because the super industry and the Unions seem to be secure that the government will not make any drastic changes to the tax concessions for super.
Last year, a record number of Australians travelled to other countries, a drain on the Australian economy, and many of the travellers were probably self-funded retirees, who benefit enormously from the tax concessions for super.
Yours truly
Hawil

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:03pm
Interesting letter. I will definitely will look and think about what you are saying. On the face of it, and I have no reason to doubt you, knowing how OAP recipients(1) are treated regarding income and the breaks the well off get, I think it's a question that needs addressing. Pity you didn't receive a response, the contents of the letter certainly deserved it.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:10pm
Always found it quite bizarre that people struggle in their retirement.

It's not like turning 65 is a surprise is it?

I mean you only had the 40 years to save for it......

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:21pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:10pm:
Always found it quite bizarre that people struggle in their retirement.

It's not like turning 65 is a surprise is it?

I mean you only had the 40 years to save for it......

You've made it clear on a number of occasions that you would find it extremely hard to live on 80k@annum. The basic wage is 32k, how much out of that can you put away for your retirement do you think if a frugal person such as yourself could not live on it? You know this yet you continue this ivory tower talk Andrei. Let's not forget when super became compulsory here, 1991 from memory, there's not a lot a minimum wage earner can put away in that time.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:33pm
If I was living on my own, I could live off $80k quite easily.

What killed me in Australia on a family wage well in excess of that was mortgage, cars, energy bills, kids stuff, flights etc

If it were just me, I would breeze on $80k. When I was at college, I lived off $5.50 per hour man. I know what its like down there because I've been there.

Post by Setanta on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:47pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:33pm:

What killed me in Australia on a family wage well in excess of that was mortgage, cars, energy bills, kids stuff, flights etc

If it were just me, I would breeze on $80k. When I was at college, I lived off $5.50 per hour man. I know what its like down there because I've been there.

If that's the case Andrei, why step on their heads? Many in Australia live on combined incomes of less that 80k. Could your family afford a mortgage on that? The cars they need to get to work to earn it? We have pitiful public transport in most areas. Why if you know what it's like do you continue with the ivory tower crap? Not everyone can be an accountant or some other professional, why should we step on them because of it? Don't they deserve a life however meagre? If you had a handicapped kid would you throw it off of the mount of Taygetos into Kaiada?

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:08am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 10:33pm:

What Andrei means is, if he was living independently of his parents and had a decently paying job rather than relying on Disability Support from Centrelink, he would be able to live off $80k quite easily. ::) :P :)

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:09am
Let me explain it to you.

> I grew up with nothing and have been on my own since I was sixteen and totally broke

> I've served this country

> I've worked years of eighteen + hour days and endured hazards on a daily basis.

> I've endured affirmative action and consequent destruction of career prospects

>  I've endured two divorces and total asset stripping as a result

> I've endured piss poor management that has destroyed companies I've worked with

>  I've endured an escalating number of disabilities for years - they now total fifteen

>  I've been kicked around from pillar to post to satisfy every goddamned politically correct idea in our totally lost and confused society

> I've never been a criminal - unlike some in government who have delighted in ripping me off repeatedly

>  I'm 64 - 65 this year and am still working and working on developing a company of my own so no idiot can ruin it.

Now - all that said - what part of 'bludger' comes into the fact that I receive around $20k a year and all medicals from the government?

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:11am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:09am:

> I grew up with nothing and have been on my own since I was sixteen and totally broke

> I've worked years of eighteen + hour days and endured hazards on a daily basis.

> I've endured affirmative action and consequent destruction of career prospects

> I've endured piss poor management that has destroyed companies I've worked with

>  I've endured an escalating number of disabilities for years - they now total fifteen

>  I've been kicked around from pillar to post to satisfy every goddamned politically correct idea in our totally lost and confused society

> I've never been a criminal - unlike some in government who have delighted in ripping me off repeatedly

>  I'm 64 - 65 this year and am still working and working on developing a company of my own so no idiot can ruin it.

Now - all that said - what part of 'bludger' comes into the fact that I receive around $20k a year and all medicals from the government?

Dad??? :o :o ;D

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:23am

Winston Smith wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:11am:

Could be - is your last name Smith?  (Mine isn't but it's a kind of generic name...)

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:23am
*kick page turner on the shins...

Post by Winston Smith on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:29am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:23am:

Winston Smith wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:11am:

Could be - is your last name Smith?  (Mine isn't but it's a kind of generic name...)

No Mr Jones, I have McSurname.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 12:47am
Nah - wrong one - we don't do Mcs - all are O' or Mac

Time for bed anyway...

Post by Peter Freedman on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:13am

TheGreenLight wrote on Mar 14th, 2014 at 6:49am:

[ftp][/ftp]

What "principle"?

That the state should provide an income for someone who doesn't need it?

Everyone's circumstances are different. People who reach retirement age with few assets or savings have not necessarily frittered them away.

GL, why not just be satisfied with your lot, enjoy a comfortable self funded retirement, rather than becoming bitter because you cannot receive an income from the nation that you don't need anyway.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 11:41am
I totally agree you fat lazy ghett - in order not to receive a government pension you and your equally fat missus would need to be drawing in $72k a year on top of your obvious assets... if you are single you are dragging in over $47k a year.

You find it hard to live on - if we split that between the pair of you - double what a pensioner gets for a lifetime of toil and often hardship, and out of which you don't farken pay rent - since the figure you give is including rental assistance in a savage market?

Try this figure - a pensioner pays $300 a week rent out of that $20k - they are left with how much spending money for food and stuff?

Here ya go - $20,000 - 15,600 = $4,400 a year or $84 a week.

Double the pension NOW!  Take it from the property hoarders and investment hoarders....

Post by dave on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:07pm
The Green Light, this has always been a thorn in my side as well and, as you rightly pointed out, there are many who did waste their money, OS holidays every year, new cars, boats, often while their kids struggled through the public school system.

I have long though about a system that rewards effort, that being one that pays you a pension, based on the amount of taxes you contibuted throughout your working life and, if you managed to save well, then that would be a bonus.

Instead, we frown at people like you, and

have pity for those who didn't save well.

Of cause, i have also had to deal with the tall poppies along the way.

In fact, i have a saying, that is, we are all presented with an equal opportunity to fail, its just that some of us choose not to, and to be punished is simply bizzar.

My sympathies are with you as although i am about ten years your youth, i too have worked hard, invested all my life, provided rental houses that would simply not have been available without incentives, while providing an A class education for our two now adult children.

To think we went without so much, only to be slugged even further is plain wrong.

I can remember hearing the saying back in 76 when i commenced work, work hard and strive to be well off and you will be rewarded. Well, nothing could be farther from the truth.

There are two causes in my view, one, poor management from our governments, and two, too many hand outs.

Post by dave on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:12pm
To the grappler 2014, nominations are now open for the under achievers awards. Care to nominate!

There are many people who are quite happy to sit back and allow someone else to provide for them, even if those provisions are often piss against the wall.

surely the very least they can do is be grateful.

Its just not in their DNA is it!

Post by mantra on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:38pm

dave wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:07pm:
The Green Light, this has always been a thorn in my side as well and, as you rightly pointed out, there are many who did waste their money, OS holidays every year, new cars, boats, often while their kids struggled through the public school system.

I have long though about a system that rewards effort, that being one that pays you a pension, based on the amount of taxes you contibuted throughout your working life and, if you managed to save well, then that would be a bonus.

Instead, we frown at people like you, and

have pity for those who didn't save well.

Of cause, i have also had to deal with the tall poppies along the way.

In fact, i have a saying, that is, we are all presented with an equal opportunity to fail, its just that some of us choose not to, and to be punished is simply bizzar.

My sympathies are with you as although i am about ten years your youth, i too have worked hard, invested all my life, provided rental houses that would simply not have been available without incentives, while providing an A class education for our two now adult children.

To think we went without so much, only to be slugged even further is plain wrong.

I can remember hearing the saying back in 76 when i commenced work, work hard and strive to be well off and you will be rewarded. Well, nothing could be farther from the truth.

There are two causes in my view, one, poor management from our governments, and two, too many hand outs.

There are too many middle class handouts and tax loopholes for the wealthy - that's for certain, but as far as the rest of your post goes, why would you want government handouts when you don't need them?

In regard to all the properties you own for such magnanimous reasons - did you take advantage of negative gearing? If you did - then you got some very healthy handouts.

Welfare was originally introduced for a reason - that was to help those people who had little, either through misfortune or mismanagement of their life.

Would you prefer those who need an aged pension be thrown into the streets instead to beg for food and shelter?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:40pm

Life is full of injustices & there are millions of stories just like yours.

Unfortunately the Govt. is broke so they have introduced unfair rules
to try & reduce their costs.
Right now they are paying public servants & social security with borrowed money.

We'll end up like Greece before long.

Post by imcrookonit on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:48pm
Well said Bat, and now they are talking about spending how much $ on defense?.  Go figure.      :(

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:52pm

wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:48pm:
Well said Bat, and now they are talking about spending how much $ on defense?.  Go figure.      :(

I don't know Crook - other than all done on borrowed money.

The debt gets greater every second.

It's now over $345 billion.

see link:

http://www.australiandebtclock.com.au/

Post by mantra on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:10pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:52pm:

see link:

Yet when Labor left office it was $268 billion - so in six months this government has added another $80 billion. How did this happen considering they claim to be so austere and efficient?

They've borrowed another $200 billion of which it appears they've spent $45 already meaning that at the end of their first term - they would have accrued as much debt as Labor incurred in 6 years.

August 2013

Currently, gross debt is $268 billion.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-08-19/joe-hockey-exaggerates-debt-figures/4897264

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:16pm

mantra wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:10pm:

Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:52pm:

see link:

Yet when Labor left office it was $268 billion - so in six months this government has added another $80 billion. How did this happen considering they claim to be so austere and efficient?

They've borrowed another $200 billion of which it appears they've spent $45 already meaning that at the end of their first term - they would have accrued as much debt as Labor incurred in 6 years.

August 2013

Currently, gross debt is $268 billion.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-08-19/joe-hockey-exaggerates-debt-figures/4897264

There is a simple answer:

Tony Abbott is a liar.

He never had any solutions -  it was all election hype.

Post by pansi1951 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:35pm

dave wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 1:07pm:

So you worked hard and haven't been rewarded? you should have gotten others underneath you to work hard and you will be rewarded......ask Gina.....even the Egyptians worked that out.

Sometimes having less is having more, if you know what I mean. You sound pretty bitter for someone who won't be battling on $20,000 a year. Maybe you need a nice long holiday Dave.....and chill out, life's not all about money or worrying about what some other bugger is getting or not getting.

Post by pansi1951 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:38pm

You could always swap your super money for their $20,000 if it will make you feel better. Don't tell me you want to be greedy and have both  ::)

Post by miketrees on Mar 15th, 2014 at 5:14pm
Humans are strange chimps.

They would be perfectly happy with $20K,, until they find out that chimps in cage 2 get $22K

Post by life_goes_on on Mar 15th, 2014 at 6:01pm
I work hard and pay taxes. I don't see why these bludgers get $500 per fortnight for doing nothing. I work hard for my wages so where's my extra spending money from the government?

When I applied for the dole I was so pissed when they told me "I was earning too much". At least I've got a job, unlike those lazy c-nts. I should be at the front of the queue for handouts like the dole.

F-cking rip off governments.

Post by Setanta on Mar 15th, 2014 at 9:39pm

Life_goes_on wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 6:01pm:
I work hard and pay taxes. I don't see why these bludgers get $500 per fortnight for doing nothing. I work hard for my wages so where's my extra spending money from the government?

When I applied for the dole I was so pissed when they told me "I was earning too much". At least I've got a job, unlike those lazy c-nts. I should be at the front of the queue for handouts like the dole.

Damn straight! I'll head down there Monday and try to get my share, if they treat me as badly as they have you, I'll roll around on the floor kicking and screaming, pounding my fists on the floor until they know exactly how badly I've been done by.

Post by Kat on Mar 15th, 2014 at 10:17pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:38pm:

You could always swap your super money for their $20,000 if it will make you feel better. Don't tell me you want to be greedy and have both  ::)

Go the whole hog, and take the $13k p/a the unemployed get.

Go on! There's a challenge for ya.

Post by Rubin on Mar 15th, 2014 at 10:30pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 4:38pm:

Mate it's good to see you have done the right thing I think it is complete bs paying pensions to people who wasted their lives they just the same as any other dole bludger

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 15th, 2014 at 10:35pm
Anyone who can get even one dollar out of Centerlink is a genius.

They have 1001 reasons not to pay people.

Post by Cliff48 on Mar 16th, 2014 at 5:53pm

what  BS some people claim.

One needs to have around $1million in assets (not including value of the family home)  to not qualify  for any Aged Pension.

The million I earned in 45 years was needed to pay for luxuries like: paying taxes, food, rent/mortgage, transport, clothes, raising kids, etc.  Yep, what a bludger I must be to have spent my earning on such things - i should have banked it all and ate at soup kitchens!!!!

If TheGreenLight has so much assets that he doesn't qualify for any aged pension I feel sorry for the poor hard done by prick that begrudges a low income worked $20k per year to people who worked for minimum wage. 

TheGreenLight forgets that when we entered the workforce 45+ years ago, part of our taxes were deigned to give us a pension.  Now that we have super, that has changed, but super has not been running long enough to replace that.  But it will be another 20 years before super replaces the OAP.

I wish I earned so much in my 45 years that I could accumulate over $1million in assets (excluding the value of my home) and then cry POOR.

BS-artists like this sicken me!!!!

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Mar 16th, 2014 at 7:37pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 10:35pm:

I gave up Bobby.

I tried after I was made redundant but could see it was a total lost cause

Tighter than a camel's ass in a sandstorm.

Post by Cliff48 on Mar 16th, 2014 at 9:56pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 16th, 2014 at 7:37pm:

I gave up Bobby.

So what is TheGreenLight complaining about?   pople being clever than him?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 16th, 2014 at 10:01pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 16th, 2014 at 7:37pm:

I gave up Bobby.

True - the same happened to me.

It's a waste of time going there.
Their sole goal is not to pay people & look for any excuse.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 16th, 2014 at 11:12pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 9:39pm:

Life_goes_on wrote on Mar 15th, 2014 at 6:01pm:

Damn straight! I'll head down there Monday and try to get my share, if they treat me as badly as they have you, I'll roll around on the floor kicking and screaming, pounding my fists on the floor until they know exactly how badly I've been done by.

Post by GeorgeH on Mar 21st, 2014 at 8:10pm

The week ends with the Abbott government borrowing a further $700 million today, which brings the total of gross borrowing since 9 September 2013 to $61.15 billion.

$61.15 billion of bond and T-Notes that have been issued in just over six months as the government funds the budget deficit, covers maturing bonds and T-Notes and prepares to fund a range of its policy expenditure items.

As I have noted at nausium on the issue of government debt over recent years, the Australian government's debt level remains trivial, chicken feed, small beer and the campaign of the Coalition Parties to suggest otherwise was factually flawed and it still is.

Even in government, the Coalition bemoan the level of debt and pretend it is a major factor threatening to undermine Australian sovereign risk or some similar nonsense.

The credit ratings agencies, all which rank Australia triple-A with a stable outlook and have since 2011, suggest the level of government is low. So do foreign investors who own close to three-quarters of the government bond market and a huge proportion of the stocks listed on the ASX as well as an increasingly large holding of property. They do so comfortable in the knowledge that a government debt problem that would hurt the Australian dollar or bond yields is very unlikely.

The cumulative effect of the new borrowing means that gross government debt now stands at $310.1 billion, some $36 billion higher than when Mr Abbott convincingly won the 2013 election.

It was always obvious the promise to stop the borrowing and repay Labor's debt were false. The facts confirm this.

http://thekouk.com/blog/it-s-now-61-15-billion-of-gross-borrowing-by-the-abbott-government.html#.UywNl62Sxps

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 22nd, 2014 at 12:45am
Great shot, George!  Your truth gun is very finely tuned and you handle it well..

Post by Setanta on Mar 22nd, 2014 at 1:31am

St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 8:10pm:

The week ends with the Abbott government borrowing a further $700 million today, which brings the total of gross borrowing since 9 September 2013 to $61.15 billion.

$61.15 billion of bond and T-Notes that have been issued in just over six months as the government funds the budget deficit, covers maturing bonds and T-Notes and prepares to fund a range of its policy expenditure items.

As I have noted at nausium on the issue of government debt over recent years, the Australian government's debt level remains trivial, chicken feed, small beer and the campaign of the Coalition Parties to suggest otherwise was factually flawed and it still is.

Even in government, the Coalition bemoan the level of debt and pretend it is a major factor threatening to undermine Australian sovereign risk or some similar nonsense.

The credit ratings agencies, all which rank Australia triple-A with a stable outlook and have since 2011, suggest the level of government is low. So do foreign investors who own close to three-quarters of the government bond market and a huge proportion of the stocks listed on the ASX as well as an increasingly large holding of property. They do so comfortable in the knowledge that a government debt problem that would hurt the Australian dollar or bond yields is very unlikely.

The cumulative effect of the new borrowing means that gross government debt now stands at $310.1 billion, some $36 billion higher than when Mr Abbott convincingly won the 2013 election.

It was always obvious the promise to stop the borrowing and repay Labor's debt were false. The facts confirm this.

http://thekouk.com/blog/it-s-now-61-15-billion-of-gross-borrowing-by-the-abbott-government.html#.UywNl62Sxps

You mean they have upped 7 years of Labor debt, financing Australia through the GFC, which has been over for years according to the Libs, by 10% in 6 months?!

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 22nd, 2014 at 2:34am
Par for the course - both sides say a lot of big words and serious rhetoric - while doing something else behind that screen of words.

SS - DD

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 22nd, 2014 at 2:34am
*kicks the shorts out of the page turner....

"Why does the government reward bludgers?"

Because they are the ones who are making the rules

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.