General Discussion >> Feedback >> back online
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1323502435

Message started by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 5:33pm

Title: back online
Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 5:33pm
Hopefully we are back up and running. I encountered some problems with the upgrade. In particular, we may have lost some members and posts. If you think this may have happened, please let me know, either here or via email (see the contacts page).

Note that the post box is now at the bottom of the page.

Title: Re: back online
Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:07pm
For some reason members cannot reply to posts. I am looking into this now.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:27pm
Please try to respond to this thread now. Send me a PM if it does not work.

Post by Sappho on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:32pm

freediver wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:27pm:

;)

Post by GoddyofOz on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:33pm

The colour of the text needs to be changed. Grey on White is just horrible.

Post by ########## on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:34pm

GoddyofOz wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:33pm:
The colour of the text needs to be changed. Grey on White is just horrible.

yep, I am agreeing. I dont like it.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:37pm
Thanks.

Please ignore the colour scheme for the moment. I will get to that later.

Please check for missing PMs. I am missing the last few day's worth.

Please also check for missing members and posts. Not sure how, but if you notice anything odd, send me a PM, email or respond here.

Post by Sappho on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:41pm
Other issues include

Unable to view a list of recent threads in which new posts have been made.

Ozpol banner is not showing.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:44pm
Current to do list, in order of priority:

1) Replace missing PMs.

2) Return to old style.

3) fix recent thread list (this will probably be part of 2).

Post by Equitist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:44pm

freediver wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:37pm:
Thanks.

Please ignore the colour scheme for the moment. I will get to that later.

Ta!

Post by Equitist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:45pm

On the plus side, it is now possible to reverse the order of thread posts, to show most recent at the top (and vice versa)!

Hint: click on the thread name to switch the order of posts. This can also be permanently done in profile setup.

Post by Equitist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:53pm

Sappho wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:41pm:
Other issues include

Also, this now produces only 10 posts: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=recent;display=20

Post by Sappho on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:57pm

Equitist wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:53pm:

Sappho wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:41pm:
Other issues include

Also, this now produces only 10 posts: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=recent;display=20

yeah well... it's pretty obvious that Freediver is tweaking the nipples off this forum in the quest to bring it back to what we know.

As I write... the forum has gone from blue to grey.

I hate grey for a colour... it's corporate dull.

Post by Imperium IV on Dec 10th, 2011 at 7:29pm
We have crossed over into the grey zone.

Post by Gist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 7:47pm

barnaby joe wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 7:29pm:
We have crossed over into the grey zone.

Grey will be pleased.  ;)

TBH I quite like it. I think it's quite calming - which could be excellent around this place.  :)

Post by Gist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 7:49pm
Meant to add... I had no problems with PMs. I haven't lost any.

Post by Soren on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:14pm
WHere's the 'recent' button?

Post by muso on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:24pm
Good to see the upgrade. You did well FD. I have some  appreciation of the work you did.  I hope others will show their appreciation too.

I've no doubt that you'll restore something like the old template in good time. The software is a bit elusive compared to the old version.

This template allows you to add extra buttons at the top, which you have no doubt noticed.

Soren, the most recent posts is down at the bottom on the front page. It works exactly the same.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:32pm
I have to reset my password everytime I want to log in.

Fix this please.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:35pm
Darkhall, try deleting all your cookies.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:36pm
Can everyone else please check their PMs and see if any recent ones are missing. Maybe it is just me.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:49pm
Just finished writing an excellent post with a fair bit of capitals for emphasis and to emulate (and satirize) another poster .

It wasnt until the very end, after many minutes of fevered , intelligent and funny writing when I tried to post the comment did I get the message that "it appears you are attempting to write in all capitals (I wasnt) this is against forum rules."

Wasted effort.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:56pm
It seems that 21 capital letters in a post of 200 words is enough to get the "you are trying to post with ALL capital letters" warning.

Fix this please.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:03pm
Please start a new thread on that. I'll deal with it later.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:05pm
I have the old colour template hooked up, though it needs some fine tuning. If you want to try it out, select it under options on your profile. I will set it as the default once I fix it up a bit.

Post by cods on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:12pm

freediver wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:05pm:
I have the old colour template hooked up, though it needs some fine tuning. If you want to try it out, select it under options on your profile. I will set it as the default once I fix it up a bit.

whats with the you are using caps when I am not????

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:14pm
Also  has the word limit been cut dramatically?

Cant seem to post anything more than 14 lines or so.

Post by Equitist on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:20pm

freediver wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:36pm:
Can everyone else please check their PMs and see if any recent ones are missing. Maybe it is just me.

My PMs appear to be all there.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:23pm
The character limit has probably been reset to the old value.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 11th, 2011 at 12:03am
My PMs are still there  :)

Post by jalane33 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 1:11am
I am trying to reply to GoddyofOz and keep getting you are writing in caps -  when I'm not.  Altho I did start my post with a quote from GoZ which I put in bold.???

Hopefully this will get thru to u.

Post by cods on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:09am
well it will take me forever to get used to it.but I am slow at everything.. I can now post without using caps... but when I do it wont let me post.

does this mean no more caps in messages?

Post by blackadder on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:17am

cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:09am:
well it will take me forever to get used to it.but I am slow at everything.. I can now post without using caps... but when I do it wont let me post.

does this mean no more caps in messages?

Lets see if  princess Buz can still use his crayons

Post by pansi1951 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:22am
why can i post here, but can't post from a quote? i keep getting the 'using all caps' message.

Post by blackadder on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:25am
Princess Buzz

Post by cods on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:41am
I hate change it stuffs the whole world up for me..lol.

cant reply to anyone thats used caps... bizarre..

can anything be done about the size of the print  for the board headings.. aka..general discussion.feedback politicians suck.. a bit small and when competing with flashing adverts...

pansi I can reply without uses caps on quote but only if the poster you are replying to doesnt use caps.... blahhhhhhhh

its too hard.. :'(

Post by cods on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:56am
also the front page is getting shorter..we will only have two tpoics one day

Post by freediver on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:36am
I got rid of the all caps check and increased the character limit to 10000. I'll look into font size.

Post by pansi1951 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:40am

cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 6:41am:
I hate change it stuffs the whole world up for me..lol.

cant reply to anyone thats used caps... bizarre..

can anything be done about the size of the print  for the board headings.. aka..general discussion.feedback politicians suck.. a bit small and when competing with flashing adverts...

pansi I can reply without uses caps on quote but only if the poster you are replying to doesnt use caps.... blahhhhhhhh

its too hard.. :'(

Thanks cods, I changed the thread title in the reply, didn't know you could do that.

DRAH is going to be a nightmare lol

Post by pansi1951 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:45am

freediver wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:36am:
I got rid of the all caps check and increased the character limit to 10000. I'll look into font size.

thanks and thanks again for all your personal time you have put into it.

Why did we have the change? we still have heaps of those spambot things invading.

They look like weird alien type people

TrindelludchTF

I hope they never escape from my computer  :o

Post by freediver on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:47am
I still haven't gotten round to the spam. That's next.

Post by Lisa on Dec 11th, 2011 at 8:54am
1) The colour scheme sucks at the moment.

2) God members should appear as Gold Members ( typo ??).

3) That said .. spammers and the fact they are able to send regulars PM's without posting, ought to be dealt with 1st IMO.

Post by Imperium IV on Dec 11th, 2011 at 9:11am
stop whinging, the colour scheme is fine

Post by muso on Dec 11th, 2011 at 9:41am
LOL best not to whinge about things like colour schemes right now. It's a lot of work (and swearing) customising the forum the way you want it.

"God members" can be configured too. 

If you prefer the old colours, go to your profile and change the default to brown.  It's almost the same as the old forum apart from a few colours.

Post by Lisa on Dec 11th, 2011 at 9:52am
Hence why I stated that spammers (and the issues regarding them) ought to be dealt with 1st.

Post by Sappho on Dec 11th, 2011 at 9:58am

Lisa Jones wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 8:54am:
1) The colour scheme sucks at the moment.

But brown and blue are available Lisa. I've changed my view to blue already.

2) God members should appear as Gold Members ( typo ??).

Nah... it's funny... typo or not.

3) That said .. spammers and the fact they are able to send regulars PM's without posting, ought to be dealt with 1st IMO.

Not your forum. Not your decision. And even though I agree with you, I recognise that Freediver is working mighty hard in his free time to get this forum functional for our benefit, including the removal of PM spammers... so I am happy to step back and allow him to do his thing, his way, and see what results.

So far so good.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:02am
The background of posts is grey & the print is too small.
That makes it hard to read.
I don't like it - the default should be the same as before.

Post by Lisa on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:25am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:02am:

Totally agree with you Bobby.

Even so, spammers and the fact they are able to send regulars PM's without posting, ought to be dealt with 1st IMO. And it seems FD agrees :)

Post by Soren on Dec 11th, 2011 at 11:16am
I can see the recent posts (up to 25) but thyere used to be a button un top for up to 50 of the most recent threads (not the actual posts). You could see which topics have been posetd on and when.  That's now gone.
Can we have it back, please.

Post by perceptions_now on Dec 11th, 2011 at 12:32pm

freediver wrote on Dec 10th, 2011 at 6:27pm:

Still smiling?

Post by philperth2010 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 2:56pm
What is a God member.....Is this supposed to be Gold or are we all blessed to be here???

:-?

Post by Lisa on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:20pm

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 2:56pm:
What is a God member.....Is this supposed to be Gold or are we all blessed to be here???

:-?

Nahh it means we're all Christians now. Excellent work FD!

Post by freediver on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:29pm
The recent list is back up and running.

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=recentlist;display=15

Post by philperth2010 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 4:08pm
I note we can no longer modify posts....can this be reinstated???

:)

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:04pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:25am:

Bobby. wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:02am:

Totally agree with you Bobby.

Even so, spammers and the fact they are able to send regulars PM's without posting, ought to be dealt with 1st IMO. And it seems FD agrees :)

Hi Lisa,
Ahh good,
it's back to normal without the grey background & the fine print.

Post by Soren on Dec 11th, 2011 at 7:33pm

Soren wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 11:16am:
I can see the recent posts (up to 25) but thyere used to be a button un top for up to 50 of the most recent threads (not the actual posts). You could see which topics have been posetd on and when.  That's now gone.
Can we have it back, please.

Thank you!

Post by freediver on Dec 11th, 2011 at 9:05pm
The old template for the main page had the thread titles in bold. The current one has "Today" and "Yesterday" in bold instead. I think I'll leave it like that.

Post by Sappho on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:50pm
Nice work freediver... you are almost there. Most time consuming I imagine, so worthwhile acknowledging your effort.

Cheers.

Post by Imperium IV on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:51pm
thanks FD!

Post by perceptions_now on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:58pm

Sappho wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:50pm:
Nice work freediver... you are almost there. Most time consuming I imagine, so worthwhile acknowledging your effort.

Cheers.

I agree, no doubt quite a bit of hard work, by FD, but it seems to be coming together nicely!

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 12th, 2011 at 6:34am

perceptions_now wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:58pm:

Sappho wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:50pm:

Cheers.

I agree, no doubt quite a bit of hard work, by FD, but it seems to be coming together nicely!

What about posting photos?
I can't see a tab for that anymore.

Post by mantra on Dec 12th, 2011 at 6:40am
Why don't you use Photobucket - that way you can copy the IMG and paste it here. It's neater and you can get the size you need rather than have some huge picture that takes up a whole page. It's easy to use.

http://register.photobucket.com/

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 12th, 2011 at 6:46am

mantra wrote on Dec 12th, 2011 at 6:40am:
Why don't you use Photobucket - that way you can copy the IMG and paste it here. It's neater and you can get the size you need rather than have some huge picture that takes up a whole page. It's easy to use.

http://register.photobucket.com/

No - I'd rather have it the way it was before.
It's easier to do.

Post by muso on Dec 12th, 2011 at 8:29am
That's not a default setting. I'd guess that FD will get around to ticking that box before long.

FD,

Just curious. How many hours did it take you to do the upgrade?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 12th, 2011 at 4:39pm

muso wrote on Dec 12th, 2011 at 8:29am:
That's not a default setting. I'd guess that FD will get around to ticking that box before long.

FD,

Just curious. How many hours did it take you to do the upgrade?

I hope he does it soon - I like posting pics.

Post by freediver on Dec 12th, 2011 at 10:22pm
Attachmets should be working now. Can someone please track down an old attachment and check t is still there?
Forest_Flowers.jpg (125 KB | 85 )

Post by freediver on Dec 12th, 2011 at 10:36pm
Maybe not.

Post by darkhall67 on Dec 12th, 2011 at 11:17pm
I keep being logged out and having to sign back in again every time.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 12th, 2011 at 11:39pm
The browse tab works for photos but no photo appears - only a false link.

Post by muso on Dec 13th, 2011 at 6:52am

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 11th, 2011 at 4:08pm:
I note we can no longer modify posts....can this be reinstated???

:)

You can. What you're seeing is one of the new security features. If you log in using a different computer, the forum will limit what you can or cannot do.  If you do that, you'll see a new button appear in the menu. "Update Session". Click on that and it will prompt you for your password. Once you do that, your full functionality is restored.

It takes a while to come up to speed with the new software, but the help function is a good start. 

Post by freediver on Dec 13th, 2011 at 7:14am
I think attachments are working now. Please check that old attachments are showing up.

Post by muso on Dec 13th, 2011 at 8:06am
Yes, the path is right.  :)

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 13th, 2011 at 4:13pm

muso wrote on Dec 13th, 2011 at 8:06am:
Yes, the path is right.  :)

Confirmed - you can attach a photo & it appears.

Thanks FD - back to normal!

P.S. -  only one change left - change God member to Gold member.

Post by jalane33 on Dec 14th, 2011 at 10:10pm
P.S. -  only one change left - change God member to Gold member.
YES please.!! Or anything else for that matter!

Post by freediver on Dec 15th, 2011 at 5:44pm
done

Post by perceptions_now on Dec 15th, 2011 at 11:21pm

freediver wrote on Dec 15th, 2011 at 5:44pm:
done

Well done FD!!!

Post by jalane33 on Dec 15th, 2011 at 11:46pm
ditto! :)

Post by muso on Dec 16th, 2011 at 8:50am
Well I reckon you've improved the look of the place. This new decor is grouse, mate, and nobody has commented on the improved functionality either.  Have a good holiday. You deserve it.  :)

Post by Soren on Dec 17th, 2011 at 7:06pm
Guests: 78

I'm impressed.
(Guests = lurkers)

Post by mantra on Dec 17th, 2011 at 7:33pm

muso wrote on Dec 16th, 2011 at 8:50am:
Well I reckon you've improved the look of the place. This new decor is grouse, mate, and nobody has commented on the improved functionality either.  Have a good holiday. You deserve it.  :)

It definitely looks nicer, but I can't notice any difference in the functionality - if anything it's a bit slower and jerkier until it fully loads. I tried the compatibility view and it got worse.

It's possibly my computer.

Post by muso on Dec 17th, 2011 at 8:18pm
There are one or two new tricks

but the main changes are in security and admin. If you have your birthday set, a cake will appear at the top on your birthday. There is spell check and grammar check on posting. You can adjust the size of the text while replying, more attachment types supported (eg docx), the option to attach multiple images if selected, you can search PM's better, and posting of PM's is improved. There is an RSS feed if configured, and various other features which are not used here such as a news ticker tape.

THere are a few more bug fixes here:

http://www.yabbforum.com/codex/YaBB.pl?num=1264968601

Post by cods on Dec 17th, 2011 at 8:39pm

muso wrote on Dec 17th, 2011 at 8:18pm:
There are one or two new tricks but the main changes are in security and admin. If you have your birthday set, a cake will appear at the top on your birthday. There is spell check and grammar check on posting. You can adjust the size of the text while replying, more attachment types supported (eg docx), the option to attach multiple images if selected, you can search PM's better, and posting of PM's is improved. There is an RSS feed if configured, and various other features which are not used here such as a news ticker tape.

oh spare all those twitching flashing moving what have you's..do we really need everything to move in front of our eyes like the 14 year olds seem to.??

groannnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn!!

how about we have a new thought for the day check??..maybe its just me but things are getting very boring on here.do we really need to look and sound perfect even though we are far from it??..

I dont know it wont be long and every little thought will be trimmed into us saying the politically correct thing..

who cares really about spelling and grammar is it really the end of the world if we cant adjust the text size or colour it fifteen different ways..are we really that childish.

sorry I know its a thrill to some on here to be able to play with their toy.. but really we may as well have disneyland on board..

I appreciate... then again I probably dont the owrk that goes into doing all this... but I wonder WHY  the need to see words floating past ones eyes..are we really that daft?

Post by freediver on Dec 17th, 2011 at 9:08pm
Some people just don't appreciate the finer things in life.

Post by jalane33 on Dec 17th, 2011 at 11:21pm
some people just like to whinge about inanities.!!

Post by jalane33 on Dec 17th, 2011 at 11:22pm
in FACT,  some people aren't HAPPY  unless they've got some thing to moan about.
::)

Post by philperth2010 on Dec 18th, 2011 at 2:30pm
I like it!!!

Post by cods on Dec 18th, 2011 at 7:38pm

philperth2010 wrote on Dec 18th, 2011 at 2:30pm:
I like it!!!

[move]ok i will leave you to it.. ok i will leave you to it.. ok i will leave you to it. ok i will leave you to it.ok i will leave you to it.ok i will leave you to it.

Post by cods on Dec 18th, 2011 at 7:40pm

freediver wrote on Dec 17th, 2011 at 9:08pm:
Some people just don't appreciate the finer things in life.

I did mention I appreciate the work involved..now I have found a new toy I might play with it as well.

Post by mantra on Dec 18th, 2011 at 8:54pm
It makes you dizzy just watching it. It's going to be distracting when members start using these extra functions to express themselves.

Post by cods on Dec 18th, 2011 at 9:42pm

mantra wrote on Dec 18th, 2011 at 8:54pm:
It makes you dizzy just watching it. It's going to be distracting when members start using these extra functions to express themselves.

now now mantra no whingeing..didnt you know  it shows there is no satisfying some people

Post by jalane33 on Dec 18th, 2011 at 10:31pm
Quite so.!

You know that old saying??

You can please all of the people some of the time.
You can please some of the people all of the time.
BUT you can't please all of the people all of the time.

How true is that??!!  Pretty spot on - I think. :)

Post by Soren on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 4:26pm
Where's the "The newest 50 Board Topics " button? There used to be a "recent" button on top.

Also, soebody mentoned spelchek. Were is? 

Post by Imperium IV on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 6:29pm
im not getting spellcheck either

maybe you gotta turn it on in your prof

Post by freediver on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 6:59pm
Should be working again now. Please report any other unexpected changes.

Post by jalane33 on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 8:12pm
No complaints.. :)
But
we're all God Members again.!!!!

Post by Gist on Dec 24th, 2011 at 9:14am

Emma wrote on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 8:12pm:
No complaints.. :)
But
we're all God Members again.!!!!

Can I be a Godless member instead?  ;)

Post by freediver on Dec 24th, 2011 at 3:55pm
Images are currently shown in quotes. Let me know if you want that turned off.

Post by Soren on Dec 24th, 2011 at 4:14pm

freediver wrote on Dec 23rd, 2011 at 6:59pm:
Should be working again now. Please report any other unexpected changes.

"Recent" shows only 10 posts, used to be 50. We have short attention spans as it is. I think 50 would be better.

Post by freediver on Dec 24th, 2011 at 4:38pm
done

Post by Soren on Dec 24th, 2011 at 4:42pm
Cheers, FD, make sure you have a break over Christmas. All the best.

Post by muso on Dec 24th, 2011 at 7:03pm
What I want to know is - did you have to 'shop all the menu components to get the brown, or did you find the template somewhere? I suspect the former. Have a great Christmas FD.

Post by jalane33 on Dec 24th, 2011 at 7:54pm
yeah all the best for the festive season.
[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Post by stevieboy on Dec 24th, 2011 at 8:16pm

Emma wrote on Dec 24th, 2011 at 7:54pm:
yeah all the best for the festive season.
[smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Same to you kiddo diddly dum

does that ring a bell, not a jingle bell.

Post by jalane33 on Dec 24th, 2011 at 9:07pm
Dude it does indeedy diddledee Dude!

Post by freediver on Dec 24th, 2011 at 10:11pm

muso wrote on Dec 24th, 2011 at 7:03pm:
What I want to know is - did you have to 'shop all the menu components to get the brown, or did you find the template somewhere? I suspect the former. Have a great Christmas FD.

It's all just text and colours. Only the round corners are images, which paint can handle well enough. Not sure which specific bits you are talking about.

Post by muso on Dec 25th, 2011 at 9:50am
The top menu. I'm trying to convert to a new default template for my forum. I see now that it's mostly css with a few corner pieces etc, if I can just figure out what class goes where, but  I'm also handicapped by a slow internet connection.

It passes the time and spares me from the most annoying of the Christmas jollity.  ;D

Post by freediver on Dec 25th, 2011 at 3:12pm
The one at the very top, on all the website pages, is one I wrote myself. The corner bits do not work on most browsers. It uses span and link elements. I plan to switch to table elements which seem to work better. The rounded corners on the top of the general, party and member run board sections use table elements.

I can give you the html, javascript and css files if you want, but you might as well wait till I get it working a bit better.

Post by muso on Dec 25th, 2011 at 4:14pm
Thanks anyway FD. I'm slowly working through the template. I've managed to get my top menu elements the right colour at least.  I'm just slowly modifying a copy of the default template. In the meantime, the old Yabb 2.1 template is fine but the new one is more versatile for adding extra button. The chatCE mod is pretty good, but we only use it on special occasions for realtime chats.

Post by freediver on Dec 26th, 2011 at 11:23pm
I think I got it working on most browsers now. Could you please check for me? I should have the rounded corners working on the forum and the website home page. The brown menu bar at the top of the forum should be the same width as, and lined up with, the forum stuff below it, with the links centred. For some reason it seems to be out by a few pixels on the left, but i will give up on that for now. Similar with the site home page - it should all look like one neat box.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:25am
FD - the order of pages is reading back to front now.

If there are 2 pages :
page 1 is 2 & page 2 is 1 & the last post is at the top instead of the bottom.
I tried with 2 different browsers & it's the same.

Post by perceptions_now on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:43am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:25am:

If there are 2 pages :

I think you can select your own personal option!

If you -
1) Go into My Profile, between & Log out.
2) Then select Profile, between Messages & Posts.
3) Go into Edit Profile.
4) Confirm your password.
5) Select Options & tick box for "Do you want to reverse the displayed order of posts in the topic?", which is 3rd from the bottom.

Hopefully, that will work, for anyone who wants to select their own reverse order.

Post by Annie Anthrax on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:45am
Perhaps you ticked the box by accident, Bobby?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 27th, 2011 at 9:08am

Annie Anthrax wrote on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:45am:
Perhaps you ticked the box by accident, Bobby?

I didn't tick anything.
It changed by itself.
I'll try to change it back

Post by bobbythebat1 on Dec 27th, 2011 at 9:12am

perceptions_now wrote on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:43am:

Bobby. wrote on Dec 27th, 2011 at 8:25am:

If there are 2 pages :

I think you can select your own personal option!

If you -
1) Go into My Profile, between & Log out.
2) Then select Profile, between Messages & Posts.
3) Go into Edit Profile.
4) Confirm your password.
5) Select Options & tick box for "Do you want to reverse the displayed order of posts in the topic?", which is 3rd from the bottom.

Hopefully, that will work, for anyone who wants to select their own reverse order.

Thanks - I un-ticked the box & now it's working.
I never ticked that box.
cheers
Bobby

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.