Member Run Boards >> Film, Television and Radio >> Katus' music bar
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1302946612

Message started by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 7:36pm

Title: Katus' music bar
Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 7:36pm
Hey, starting a new thread here so peeps don't get the runs with me hogging the anarchy lounge with all my music.

Please add your music too if you want - would love to hear some new tunes  :)

Title: Re: Katus' music bar
Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 7:37pm
Starting out with some Blues...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k_rd8y8A2oE

And even though I posted this in the anarchy lounge, I thought I'd post it here.  Haven't laughed so hard in ages, plus the music is pretty blardy good!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ic3g8Xnf7LI

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 7:46pm
Thank you Parra - you've got me in a Blues mood now!  

The kiddies are all gone for a couple of days, and I'm going to knock back a couple o drinky poos and rock out a bit (well, play air guitar anyway)...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rhrqZP_qVyU

The Storm song as my step daughter calls it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9XVVZPefbR4&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 8:06pm
Off on another tangent now....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TehFZ38kt6o

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 8:18pm
Gotta have some Aussies in here - plus, AC/DC is the most fun to play air guitar to...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H1iR2Wi3u5o&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NVLRKk0EJTI&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 8:58pm
My inner bogan has been unleashed.....

It's a shame he botched the lyrics at the start...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q7C90sLh5Ok&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-pHKWd9ptZc

AIR GUITAR!  YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!  >:(

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 9:14pm
Wow - I really strayed in my musical taste there...

One last one, then I'm going to go, since this is a political forum... hee hee - sorry.  :-[
Katus + whiskey + youtube = getting completely sidetracked...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UHP49lJEkiM

Post by Grey on Apr 16th, 2011 at 10:30pm
A nice music bar Katus, I should point out there's another, but don't see why you shouldn't have one here too.  :)

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1279424905

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 10:41pm
Oh!  Thanks!   I have been too timid to stray out of the beyond ABC section - they're all clever people and I'm too pissed to be clever right now! lol

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 16th, 2011 at 11:36pm

KatusMaximus wrote on Apr 16th, 2011 at 10:41pm:
Oh!  Thanks!   I have been too timid to stray out of the beyond ABC section - they're all clever people and I'm too pissed to be clever right now! lol

Not too pissed to pick some good music.  Gotta go searching for my Dire Straits cd tomorrow,  don't remember unpacking it, hope it's not lost.

Tks for LWTTT too....haven't got a single ACDC around, only gained an appreciation of them and Barnsey late in life.  Have collected some Barnsey but havent gotten around to AccaD yet.  Have to have another look on eBay...got some great Bowie and other stuff cheap on there, 2nd hand but perfect condition.  I'm no music buff, really strange tastes for nothing in particular. My stuff ranges from Jan Michael Jarre to Enya, Willy Nelson to the god of song Leonard.  Don't much care who it is, if it sounds right and rings the bell.  Sometimes it's the singer and sometimes the song.

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 16th, 2011 at 11:47pm
I love Enya - a bit of peaceful music never goes astray!
Willie aint too bad either - hey, is that C&W?  You know, there's so much C&W out there that isn't the really corny singing that you kind of forget what genre it is....  Is Lynyrd Skynyrd C&W?  Coz I was listening to it today and thinking that was some blardy good stuff!  Freebird and Simple Man.

Chuck whatever you want up - I need some new sounds!   :)

Oh, and did you listen to Screamin' Jay or am I just infantile in finding that hilarious?

Oh (sorry - had to read your post 3 times to remember my reply! hahaha) I'm the same about music.  People are always asking me what bands I like, but I don't really like bands, just songs - it's the music not the artist that "sings to me"!

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:17am

KatusMaximus wrote on Apr 16th, 2011 at 11:47pm:
I love Enya - a bit of peaceful music never goes astray!
Willie aint too bad either - hey, is that C&W?  You know, there's so much C&W out there that isn't the really corny singing that you kind of forget what genre it is....  Is Lynyrd Skynyrd C&W?  Coz I was listening to it today and thinking that was some blardy good stuff!  Freebird and Simple Man.

Chuck whatever you want up - I need some new sounds!   :)

Oh, and did you listen to Screamin' Jay or am I just infantile in finding that hilarious?

Oh (sorry - had to read your post 3 times to remember my reply! hahaha) I'm the same about music.  People are always asking me what bands I like, but I don't really like bands, just songs - it's the music not the artist that "sings to me"!

Not sure I know how to put it up here but will have a go at finding some Cohen stuff and whatever....

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:25am
Groovy!

I'm gonna have to listen to it tomorrow coz I've partaken in a little too much Chivas and being the old farticus that I am I've tuckered myself out.  It's time to go to bed I think - how sad it's only 12:19am and I'm pooped!

To insert a youtube clip you just click the URL link (top left hand above the bold button) and add the "insert media" button (4
across from the URL one - next to the email button) - make sure the media one is inside the URL one and in the middle of both paste the youtube link and Bob's your uncle you have embedded a youtube clip!!!!
Here's a nigt time lullabye...  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5-jlDg3DiLA

Nighty night!   :-*

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:22am
Righto, can only do the links...sorry can't do the smart stuff.

This ones for the lyrics, the sexy voice and I get some strange satisfaction in seeing Bono doing backup.

Leonard Cohen,  Tower of Song....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2e1rF08Su4I&feature=fvwrel

Thisun's for the same reasons except we get  eye candy instead of bloody Bono. ;)
Leonard Cohen   I'm Your Man ..hope you like the visuals. :P

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nk2mbeTDFUo&feature=related

Just like this song, it always seems appropriate to whatever's happening in the world.
The Winds of Change..the Scorpions

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n4RjJKxsamQ

And lastly,  I think of this one as my ' theme song'.... ;D
C&W alert!  ..but these are great lyrics.

Willie Nelson  There's Nothin' I Can Do About It Now.

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:25am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bbcKO92OGNI&feature=related

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:29am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=o55EljQWv14

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:42am
OK I've had another go at it, looks better, thanks for info.

This ones for the lyrics, the sexy voice and I get some strange satisfaction in seeing Bono doing backup.

Leonard Cohen,  Tower of Song....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2e1rF08Su4I&feature=fvwrel

Thisun's for the same reasons except we get  eye candy instead of bloody Bono. Wink
Leonard Cohen   I'm Your Man ..hope you like the visuals. Tongue

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nk2mbeTDFUo&feature=related

Just like this song, it always seems appropriate to whatever's happening in the world.
The Winds of Change..the Scorpions
[url]
[/url]

And lastly,  I think of this one as my ' theme song'.... Grin
C&W alert!  ..but these are great lyrics.

Willie Nelson  There's Nothin' I Can Do About It Now.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jFslURoIiM

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:45am
Yasmine Levy sings Sephardic flamenco known as 'Ladino' Mariza sings in the portugese style 'Fado'. this is from a concert in London.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ElLSBx9Jo8&feature=related

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:59am
[quote author=retrac link=1302946612/15#17 date=1302968748]Yasmine Levy sings Sephardic flamenco known as 'Ladino' Mariza sings in the portugese style 'Fado'. this is from a concert in London.

Tremendous voice.  Not a great fan of Fado type stuff, don't mind it in small doses but half and hour would send me looking for something to slit the wrists with. ;)

Why am I still awake? All Katus' fault, shes off in the land of nod after she got me hunting around Youtube.

Off now,  Ni Ni Grey.

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 2:21am
I love flamenco, so here's what i know. The word means flamingo and it's used because flamingo's live in sulpher filled swamps that other birds animals and even vegetation avoids. And there they strut their stuff and make of these deserts a spectacle in pink.

That's what it's about in writing (Merce Rodoreda, Gabriel Garcia Marquez), painting (Goya, Picasso) as well as music and dance. Anybody prepared to give their all to passion can do it. In art there's flamenco and everything else is just bullshit  :) This isn't "wanna dance luv" This is mating ritual/display.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZbC-m9mDHms&feature=related

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 8:24am

Grey wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 2:21am:
I love flamenco, so here's what i know. The word means flamingo and it's used because flamingo's live in sulpher filled swamps that other birds animals and even vegetation avoids. And there they strut their stuff and make of these deserts a spectacle in pink.

That's what it's about in writing (Merce Rodoreda, Gabriel Garcia Marquez), painting (Goya, Picasso) as well as music and dance. Anybody prepared to give their all to passion can do it. In art there's flamenco and everything else is just bullshit  :) This isn't "wanna dance luv" This is mating ritual/display.

Well the display didn't do him much good, didn't pull a bird. ;) ;D
Just kidding, spectacular stuff.  Did he do a tour out here years ago? Seems familiar.  I Like Flamenco dancing, but it's for watching not listening to.  A friend (Portugeuse) played me some sheila singing Fado and I fair dinkum lost the will to live. :'(

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 10:10am

Parannoyed wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 8:24am:
Just kidding, spectacular stuff.  Did he do a tour out here years ago? Seems familiar.  I Like Flamenco dancing, but it's for watching not listening to.  A friend (Portugeuse) played me some sheila singing Fado and I fair dinkum lost the will to live. :'(

Actually para, he pulled Naomi Campbell, who tried suicide when he chucked her  :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CCTLDpPNBzg

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 17th, 2011 at 11:55am
Does it make me a bad person for sitting here excitedly watching this in the hope that one of them will fall flat on their faces?  lol

I think I'd rather "wanna dance luv"?  Although, I do enjoy flamenco and thinks it's bloody clever - that whole peacocking thing really grates on my nerves!

Grey wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 2:21am:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZbC-m9mDHms&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:08pm
Oooh!   Yes, thank you Parra I very much enjoyed the view in that Cohen song!  :D

I love "winds of change" - memories!!

Ah, I'm starting to remember why I don't drink much anymore - feeling fairly seedy this morning (oh wait - it's afternoon now!) hahaha :o

And on second inspection - the constipation blues is STILL hilarious!  So it's not the drink - I'm just infantile!  ;D

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:21pm

that whole peacocking thing really grates on my nerves!

I can relate to that Katus. See it's the corruption of money at work, it's meant to be a private thing between family and friends. This clip too is staged but it places flamenco where it belongs, amongst the dispossesed.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Scus9teTdjo

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:35pm

Grey wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 10:10am:
[quote author=Joycydee link=1302946612/15#20 date=1302992651]

Actually para, he pulled Naomi Campbell, who tried suicide when he chucked her  :)

Meant in the clip.  ;)

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:40pm
well i new that Para. From the maker of that last film this is great, real authentic stuff.

http://wn.com/maggiechenjm

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:47pm
That's more like it! There's some balls in that one :)

Grey wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 12:21pm:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Scus9teTdjo

Post by Parannoyed on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:31pm
[quote
I can relate to that Katus. See it's the corruption of money at work, it's meant to be a private thing between family and friends. This clip too is staged but it places flamenco where it belongs, amongst the dispossesed. [/quote]

Ah yes, that's the type of thing he played, that Fado type thing,  it's all coming back to me now.  I'm just off to find a razor blade. ;D ;D

I quite like Gregorian chants, strange, me being an atheist, but I won't inflict them on anyone here. [smiley=engel017.gif]

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:43pm
Inflict away Parra - I love me some Gregorian Chants!!!!

Post by Grey on Apr 17th, 2011 at 7:23pm

KatusMaximus wrote on Apr 17th, 2011 at 1:43pm:
Inflict away Parra - I love me some Gregorian Chants!!!!

Indeed being an atheist doesn't stop me from enjoying gregorian chants or mediaeval cathedrals for that matter.

Post by Grey on Apr 19th, 2011 at 1:15am
I wonder if you ever heard this katus :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vzYu88jIDYs

Post by mickey rat on Apr 22nd, 2011 at 8:19pm
Kate - yes you are bloody infantile liking the Jay Hawkins track but I have to admit that I can remember falling in a heap whenever I heard this back in the '70s. It was the best track on a pretty dire album but it never failed to make drunks laugh (including me). We all used to wait for the "Splash!" line. Actually I loved Screaming Jay. He was a one off character. His "I put a spell on you" was a classic rock & roll record, fondly remembered from my extreme youth. And his classic "clothes maketh the man" scene in the "Mystery Train" movie is to be remembered forever. Like a lot of your other posted music too. Keep on drinking. It's good for you.

Post by Grey on Apr 26th, 2011 at 5:56am
Good to see you mickey

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Uds2JNoqsvc&feature=related

Post by mickey rat on Apr 26th, 2011 at 7:25pm
Nice one Grey. U-Roy would probably have even less chance than me of a cuppa at the palace.

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:08pm
Sorry I've been away - big weekend last weekend.  Not only was it Easter & Anzac Day but it was also my birthday on Saturday.
I bought myself a puppy and he's been keeping me more busy than the kiddies do! He's pretty cute though, so I'll forgive him.

Post by Grey on Apr 30th, 2011 at 8:57am
good to see you Kate, now where's the new Katus music I was expecting  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-vrp3pGCXs

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:24am
Righto - here we go...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LieB9eh0uwE

hee hee - I don't have anything against cats, but I do love seeing them stack it!  ;D

EDIT:  WTF?  I didn't post your song... I posted love cats with cats falling over and running into stuff....  

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:53am
http://youtu.be/LieB9eh0uwE

try again...

EDIT:  FAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARTS!

Post by Grey on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:55am
Ah I've had that problem katus, it comes from the new YouTube formatting I think. Use the url in the page bar at the top of your screen and not the one that comes with clicking 'share' and I think you'll find that works.

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:57am
I did enjoy your song that I've posted twice...

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:58am

Grey wrote on Apr 30th, 2011 at 9:55am:
Ah I've had that problem katus, it comes from the new YouTube formatting I think. Use the url in the page bar at the top of your screen and not the one that comes with clicking 'share' and I think you'll find that works.

That's what I've been doing... I didn't even realise you could get a URL from clicking "share"!  ::)

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 10:10am
This one goes out to my kiddies (who I have been trying to get to clean their frigging rooms all morning and all I've been getting in return is whining, whinging, and arguing.... GRRRRRRRR) particularly the first line.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ILJxICUIbCY

PS this better work or my previous paragraph will make no sense...

EDIT:  YAY!  It worked... I know what I did wrong now.  Did MEDIA before I did URL...

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 10:17am

mickey rat wrote on Apr 22nd, 2011 at 8:19pm:
Kate - yes you are bloody infantile liking the Jay Hawkins track but I have to admit that I can remember falling in a heap whenever I heard this back in the '70s. It was the best track on a pretty dire album but it never failed to make drunks laugh (including me). We all used to wait for the "Splash!" line. Actually I loved Screaming Jay. He was a one off character. His "I put a spell on you" was a classic rock & roll record, fondly remembered from my extreme youth. And his classic "clothes maketh the man" scene in the "Mystery Train" movie is to be remembered forever. Like a lot of your other posted music too. Keep on drinking. It's good for you.

I was actually looking for "I put a spell on you" when I stumbled across the constipation blues.  
I have not seen Mystery Train (or heard of it till now) but I wasn't around in the 70s except for being a twinkle in my dad's eyes and a bun in my mum's oven in '79.

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 10:32am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9d9eydCfTdw

FUNKY!

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 10:51am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2bHeD73YYyQ&feature=related

Love it - get the goosebumps and a lump in my throat when I listen to this one.  

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:00am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OafqYNCzq5U

Can't be playing his Graceland stuff without this one...

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:08am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SZ8rPQUFfrM&feature=relmfu

Here ya go... You wanted some more Katus music - now I'm on a roll again.. hee hee

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:17am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Buek_wu4xs&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:23am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TFLRHPUWBI8&feature=related

Moving on to a different genre now.  But still music mum played a lot when I was a youngun... (maybe that's why I'm not normal for my age? hee hee).

Post by Grey on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:31am
you're picking out of my all time favourites Katus  8-) Hugh Masakela never does Stimela twice the same way, Always a great song though.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HHny1UyjXQU&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:43am
Such joyful, beautiful music!
And then you get the crapola today where they think they're full of passion and integrity and ARGH, makes me want to scream.  I share Bill Bailey's views on this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Cmgse9B1eF4

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 30th, 2011 at 11:48am
Oh, speaking of Bill Bailey (sorry - went off on a bit of a tangent there... lol)...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GOM54nOhpBM

Please keep putting up some more of your beautiful music!!!  I listened to so much of this when I was little (my mum used to work at the Zimbabwe High Commission and we used to go to heaps of their parties) but can't remember the names of any of them...

Post by KatusMaximus on May 1st, 2011 at 10:48am
Here's that cats falling over one...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LieB9eh0uwE

Post by Sappho on May 1st, 2011 at 11:01am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fUxXKfQkswE

Post by KatusMaximus on May 1st, 2011 at 11:07am
I love Weird Al!  When my son was about 1 and being a fussy eater I used to play this song during dinner... hee hee...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZcJjMnHoIBI

Post by Grey on May 1st, 2011 at 1:11pm
suits my mood  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3sWXG8IlT10

Post by Grey on May 4th, 2011 at 10:41am
Whhheeeeerrrrrrrzzzzz Katus?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZvYSYOKFCbk

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2011 at 12:09pm
Here I is!!!
My fave Pink Floyd song (of the ones I've heard anyway...)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCQTr8ZYdhg

PS - bit hurt that no one has commented on how stylish and becoming my sunnies are!  :'( lol

Post by Grey on May 4th, 2011 at 12:40pm
Very Pink Floyd those sunnies Kat, and very cooool :) I'm posting another Candy Dulfer with her band, she's proof dutch people can be coool too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5gcOHZXxG_k

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2011 at 12:52pm
That was a perfect song for today.  Very drizzly here in Melbourne.  Thanks!  :)

Post by Grey on May 4th, 2011 at 12:52pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sFWIm-2FnkI&feature=related

Post by Grey on May 4th, 2011 at 1:01pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DoLA9ke2CT8

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2011 at 6:55pm
Right, just had a lovely rant over on the OBL thread... Now here's a lovely song all about it...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IhnUgAaea4M

Post by mickey rat on May 4th, 2011 at 8:15pm
Was gonna add a couple of youtube links here but this bloody ozpol site says I have to post 10 "normal" messages b4 I'm allowed near multi-media links. Dammit Janet.

Post by mickey rat on May 4th, 2011 at 8:16pm
This is a normal message to boost my count. Please ignore.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2011 at 8:18pm
It is annoying - boost away :)

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 6:41pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICL-4Onk0PA

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 7:24pm
"7 Seconds" is about the first positive 7 seconds in the life of a child just born not knowing about the problems and violence in our world. „
—Neneh Cherry

Kills me this one :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pTIBjds39kM

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:44pm
Hey Grey, you must've read my mind. One of my all time faves I was going to point to here yesterday was Michael Franti in his Disposable Heroes days with "Television - the drug of a nation". Praps Ozpol will allow me to at least mention the youtube link... This one was pretty much borrowed from Gil Scott-Heron but qualifies as a classic in its own right IMO.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:45pm
Nup, wouldn't accept the URL so I'll just try to get my posts up to 10.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:47pm
And Neneh Cherry I've always liked too. She's the stepdaughter of Donald Cherry who made great jazz records with Ornette Coleman but I won't inflict any free jazz on youse yet.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:47pm
This'll be 9 posts I think. Just humour me.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:48pm
OK 10 now I think.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:49pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sgOWTM5R2DA

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 7:55pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RFYyS-5i3y0

Billy Bragg "Waiting for the great leap forward"

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 7:59pm

mickey rat wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 7:47pm:
And Neneh Cherry I've always liked too. She's the stepdaughter of Donald Cherry who made great jazz records with Ornette Coleman but I won't inflict any free jazz on youse yet.

Do you know Neneh was in 'The Slits' and Don even done a tour with them :)

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 8:00pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=J7d6ZwAp28Y

Billy Bragg - later live version.

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 8:05pm
"Do you know Neneh was in 'The Slits' and Don even done a tour with them"

Didn't know she was in the Slits. I remember them as pretty dire, but interesting, mainly due to a bare-breasted album cover. I first encountered her in Rip Rig & Panic, named after a Roland Kirk album.

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 8:06pm
Thanks for that Mickey Franti's ealy career passed me by, i agree thay's a lot more interesting. Billy of course, always got time for Billy :-)

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 8:09pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vj-B42gXcoQ

Henry Rollins nailed teenage insecurity perfectly on this one. I was in my fifties when I first heard this and identified completely.

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 8:14pm
This is Joe Strummer on my manor,  NW2

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vPzUTYktIr8

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 8:30pm
I hadn't heard this Joe Strummer track - must have been not long b4 he died? Nice. Anyway, much more to him than The Clash. And this gives me a chance to give another plug for Jim Jarmusch's "Mystery Train" movie - Strummer was in this with the wonderful Screamin' Jay Hawkins and Steve Buscemi long b4 Reservoir Dogs, Fargo etc. If you're into American independent cinema "Mystery Train" is worth a watch.

Post by Grey on May 5th, 2011 at 9:01pm
I'll look out for Mystery Train, The Post Clash Mescaleroes aer rated by many as the best of strummer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsZUBpNLGAU&feature=related

Post by Equitist on May 5th, 2011 at 9:06pm

mickey rat wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 8:09pm:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vj-B42gXcoQ

Henry Rollins nailed teenage insecurity perfectly on this one. I was in my fifties when I first heard this and identified completely.

I'd never heard this until tonight.  It's quite profound!

I googled and found this text version: -

http://www.zimbio.com/Henry+Rollins/articles/9/Henry+Rollins+Quotes+Know

Henry Rollins Quotes : I Know You

I Know You
I know you
you were too short
you had bad skin
you couldn’t talk to them very well
words didn’t seem to work
they lied when they came out of your mouth
you tried so hard to understand them
you wanted to be part of what was happening
you saw them having fun
and it seemed like such a mystery
almost magic
made you think that there was something wrong with you
you’d look in the mirror trying to find it
you thought that you were ugly
and that everyone was looking at you
so you learned to be invisible
to look down
to avoid conversation
the hours
days
weekends
ah the weekend nights, alone
where were you
in the basement?
in the attic?
in your room?
working some job?
just to have something to do
just to have a place to put yourself
just to have a way to get away from them
a chance to get away from the ones that made you feel so strange and ill-at-ease inside yourself
did you ever get invited to one of their parties
you sat and wondered if you would go or not
for hours you imagined the scenarios that might transpire
they would laugh at you
if you would know what to do
if you would have the right things on
if they would notice that you came from a different planet
did you get all brave in your thoughts
like you were going to be able to go in there and deal with it
and have a great time
did you think that you might be “the life of the party”
that all these people were gonna talk to you
and you would find out that you were wrong
that you had a lot of friends
and you weren’t so strange after all?
did you end up going
did they mess with you
did they single you out
did you find out that you were invited
because they thought you were so weird
yeah, I think I know you
you spent a lot of time full of hate
a hate that was pure as sunshine
a hate that saw for miles
a hate that kept you up at night
a hate that filled your every waking moment
a hate that carried you for a long time
yes I think I know you
you couldn’t figure out what they saw and the way they lived
home was not home
your room was home
a corner was home
the place they weren’t- that was home
I know you
you’re sensitive
and you hide it, because you fear getting stepped on one more time
it seems that when you show a part of yourself that is the least bit vulnerable
someone takes advantage of you
one of them steps on you
they mistake kindness for weakness
but you know the difference
you’ve been the brunt of their weakness for years
and strength is something you know a bit about
because you had to be strong to keep yourself alive
you know yourself very well now
and you don’t trust people
you know them too well
you try to find that “special person”
someone you can be with
someone you can touch
someone you can talk to
someone you won’t feel so strange around
and you found that they don’t really exist
you feel closer to people on movie screens
yeah, I think I know you
you spend a lot of time daydreaming
and people have made comment to that effect
telling you that you’re “self-involved” and “self-centered”
but they don’t know, do they
about the long nightshifts alone
about the years of keeping yourself company
all the nights you wrapped your arms around yourself
so you could imagine someone holding you
the hours of indecision
self-doubt
the intense depression
the blinding hate
the rage that made you stagger
the devastation of rejection
well
maybe they do know
but if they do
they sure do a good job of hiding it
it astounds you how they can be so smooth
how they seem to pass through life as if life itself was some divine gift
and it infuriates you to watch yourself with your apparent skill,
and finding every way possible to screw it up
for you, life is a long trip
terrifying and wonderful
birds sing to you at night
the rain and the sun
the changing seasons
are true friends
solitude is a hard won ally
faithful and patient
yeah, I think I know you

Post by mickey rat on May 5th, 2011 at 9:11pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ainIBDO6a8E&feature=related

I have to admit I listen to a lot of "country" music nowadays, mostly "alternative". I like Lucinda Williams because she looks and sounds real. The "Car wheels" album was pretty good IMO.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 7th, 2011 at 8:05am
bloody hell!  I didn't get any notifications about all the juicy new songs here!

YAY!  Some new music to listen to while I do housework (boooo - housework).  

Post by KatusMaximus on May 7th, 2011 at 8:20am
Here's one my kids wanted me to put up (OK, I'll admit it, I enjoy it too! hahaha)  :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XzRy8yUjBNQ

Post by Grey on May 7th, 2011 at 11:49am
Where was your mum Katus?  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v8ykjXCUkoI

Post by Grey on May 7th, 2011 at 12:25pm
I was over here :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Js6EPcCrU0A&NR=1&feature=fvwp

Post by mickey rat on May 7th, 2011 at 6:17pm
Just watched the two Stones clips here. Brings home to me again that the Stones really were (are?) the greatest rock band ever, and this line-up with Mick Taylor's wonderfully bluesy guitar was particularly good. I always thought they did really good versions of my favorite 1950s/early 60s R&B songs (compared to the Beatles who couldn't cut it for me). Mick's black music influences were always obvious (Don Covay etc), but crikey, he in turn influenced almost everybody in (white) rock music. The punks used to sneer at the Stones but in retrospect you can hear them everywhere. I was just listening to the Saints' "Paralytic tonight, Dublin tomorrow" EP and Chris Bailey sounds so close to early Jagger. The Saints were arguably the best Aussie punk band (along with Radio Birdman) but the Stones debt is obvious.

Post by mickey rat on May 7th, 2011 at 6:23pm
Because I was a teen in the late '50s I still have a soft spot for real rock & roll. I was mostly into black artists and one of my alltime faves is Tarheel Slim (yeah OK he's probably obscure) who recorded in various styles including what I'd call "black rockabilly". These two tracks sound like they were recorded in Memphis but were actually cut in Harlem! I have to say too that digital versions of 50s/60s/70s music on youtube sound PISS WEAK compared to the original 45s blasted thru a couple of old fashioned 12" speakers with heaps of bass! Anyway we used to jump about at parties to these two:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6JPeuIdESmY
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UGHtBJoiV7E

Post by mickey rat on May 7th, 2011 at 7:22pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q42gVmoEOuE

Sorry, I've had a taste (or two) and I'm on a roll (you know how it is). Another black rockabilly, this one from Texas, from 1957. An example of the weird and wonderful music that existed way beyond the well known top forty stuff. This one was just plain silly really, but on 45 vinyl, blasted at parties, always got the jivers moving.

Post by mickey rat on May 7th, 2011 at 7:32pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g2HJA3IF3qs

One last one. More monkey business, this time from Johnny Otis' classic "comeback" album in the late sixties featuring his teenage son Shuggie on lead guitar. Sounded better on vinyl of course.

Post by Grey on May 7th, 2011 at 9:37pm
Nice choices Mickey  :)

Then

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QPJPfbglyYE&feature=related

Now

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mOgjEZJokvc&NR=1&feature=fvwp

Post by KatusMaximus on May 7th, 2011 at 11:31pm
My mum was raising kiddies and stuck at home with a turd of a husband...  :'(

Post by KatusMaximus on May 8th, 2011 at 2:27pm
Not really into that 60s rock, but it's good to listen to when you're in the right mood.

Post by Grey on May 8th, 2011 at 2:59pm
If you're a hippy you have to like this Katus  :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tX7AmCTnczM&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on May 8th, 2011 at 5:00pm
haha - nah, not really a hippy!  But I do love me some Hendrix...

Here's my Mother's Day wish...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-fZ6VVyNlio

I don't think it's going to come true until the kids are in bed tonight.  :'(

Post by KatusMaximus on May 8th, 2011 at 5:04pm
And here's another one.   Puppy ate my laptop cord on Thursday, so now I have a new one I'm going to post lots of songs YAY!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ZEEgIti8sM

Post by KatusMaximus on May 8th, 2011 at 5:06pm
Another fave when I was a littlie...  Shame on me for not putting up Rickie Lee sooner. tsk tsk

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lg1Ibt4xP7g

Post by Grey on May 8th, 2011 at 10:13pm
I wish we could play this thread in one lump :-)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 8th, 2011 at 10:24pm

Grey wrote on May 8th, 2011 at 10:13pm:
I wish we could play this thread in one lump :-)

Me too!  I love all the music you guys have been putting up - lots of new styles and artists YAY!

Post by Grey on May 9th, 2011 at 10:50am
Still makes me dance :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8AOAap6_k4

Post by Grey on May 9th, 2011 at 11:04am
Don't you just hate being nice about the ex :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A1yO8mLycew&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on May 9th, 2011 at 11:55am

Grey wrote on May 9th, 2011 at 10:50am:
Still makes me dance :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R8AOAap6_k4

Yes!  I love that song - can't help but tap your feet to this baby!

Post by mickey rat on May 9th, 2011 at 7:22pm
I'll stick my neck out here and say I like a lot of hip hop music. I was a partner in an import record shop in the mid '80s and was exposed to all the old school rap artists on 12 inch singles, many of which found their way into my own collection. For me rap music peaked around 1990 and then went the way of all music genres - repetitive, boring,  predictable. The gangsta stuff and those moronic posturing vids on Rage just don’t cut it for me.

Gangstarr was one of my favourites - all of their tracks featured intelligent and sensitive lyrics and they were the first to move beyond '70s funk into jazz for their samples. I have to say also that "the groove" is really important in hip hop and these compressed versions on youtube don’t have the depth of a 12 inch vinyl single.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1C-dMOiMZPk

I also really liked Public Enemy, probably the most political and socially conscious rap group and very very intelligent. Their videos were usually a bit silly IMO but the lyrics were always very good.  This 1988 track might interest baby boomer rock people cos the whole backing riff is lifted from Buffalo Springfield's "For what it’s worth" and a middle-aged Stephen Stills croaks his way through a verse near the end.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBf8fMH8erA

Post by mickey rat on May 9th, 2011 at 7:29pm
try again.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zBf8fMH8erA

Post by KatusMaximus on May 9th, 2011 at 7:33pm
Well, if we're going down that path here's one I recently remembered and downloaded... I think this is probably more R&B...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MQcPB1WkISI

Post by mickey rat on May 9th, 2011 at 7:42pm
It all goes round and round. Cecil Womack of Womack & Womack was once in a group called the Valentinos. His more famous bro Bobby Womack was the vocalist. Sam Cooke recorded them in 1964. And you-know-who covered this record note for note:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNDN2yn7zjA

Post by mickey rat on May 9th, 2011 at 7:52pm
Living Color. Interesting band. Yeah I'd call this track R&B and it's pretty good, but this band (amazingly) is usually classified as "heavy metal" cos even tho they're black guys, the lead guitarist Vernon Reid (born in London) steered them in a hard rock direction. He's pretty well thought of in rock circles. I saw him at a guitar festival thingie in Adelaide about a year ago and he was really hot stuff.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 9th, 2011 at 7:56pm

mickey rat wrote on May 9th, 2011 at 7:52pm:
Living Color. Interesting band. Yeah I'd call this track R&B and it's pretty good, but this band (amazingly) is usually classified as "heavy metal" cos even tho they're black guys, the lead guitarist Vernon Reid (born in London) steered them in a hard rock direction. He's pretty well thought of in rock circles. I saw him at a guitar festival thingie in Adelaide about a year ago and he was really hot stuff.

Right!  I'm off to youtube to check out Vernon Reid!  I have a bit of a thing for the guitar!  ;)

Post by Grey on May 9th, 2011 at 7:59pm
Yeah but those British Blues players didn't do the black Americans any harm. I remember B.B. King saying in an interview, "...And then the Rolling Stones came out and they were a straight up blues band, And I want to thank those boys because without them we'd never have had a career."

This blurb is attached to the video on You Tube, the Real Fleetwood Mac, those were th days :)

When I first heard this song, on blues jam in Chess I thought it was the most amazing sound ever. I still do.
By the time of this recording, Fleetwood mac were; Peter Green, John McVie, Mick Fleetwood, Jeremy Spencer and Danny Kirwin. They were without a doubt, the hottest property in Britain at that time, outselling the Beatles in Europe. Crowds used to actually fight outside, to get into their concerts. Peter Green was possibly one of the best electric blues guitarists ever; apparently he was the only one to make B.B King sweat. Then the often criticized (not least for his on-stage antics) Jeremy Spencer, who not only copied his rock n roll heroes but, often played a better slide guitar. What happened to Fleetwood Mac is also clouded in mystique and surprising revelations. Peter green has finally picked up a guitar again, but before that, in his previous tv interview he had said that playing the guitar was now out of the question, because his finger nails were too long. (I think something to do with his religious beliefs). Jeremy Spencers story is even more remarkable and as far as i know, they are still 'looking ' for Danny Kirwin. This is what rock n roll heroes are made of. Just listen, did you ever hear a finer Chicago blues from a bunch of Englishmen?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GM5Y6x_uYWc

Post by mickey rat on May 9th, 2011 at 8:21pm

Grey wrote on May 9th, 2011 at 7:59pm:
Yeah but those British Blues players didn't do the black Americans any harm.

No argument. Actually I really liked Peter Green era Fleetwood Mac. I really identified with the lyrics of their hit "Oh well"...

Post by KatusMaximus on May 12th, 2011 at 1:02pm
This little clip is a brilliant reflection of how I'm feeling today.  Tried to find some music, but couldn't find anything appropriate...(am I the only one who has difficulty enjoying music when they're in a grumpy mood?)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HCVAkpTOUnM

Post by Grey on May 12th, 2011 at 1:20pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMZZp1L-MH4

Post by KatusMaximus on May 13th, 2011 at 10:07am
Ooh, I like that Cat Power song!

Here's one that's been stuck in my head all morning...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4O_YMLDvvnw

Post by KatusMaximus on May 14th, 2011 at 8:48pm
This is my next project.  I am going to learn to play these bad boys...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOFTDCoxedc

Post by KatusMaximus on May 18th, 2011 at 3:15pm
Hmmmm... my singing bowls seem to have scared everyone off...  :'(

Post by Grey on May 19th, 2011 at 5:26pm
No I found them very interesting Katus, I posted a link to them myself elsewhere.

Time for the woman who put the 'soul' in music.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gLHCR0OTqhs&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7llu2aQRSQ&NR=1

Post by Grey on May 19th, 2011 at 6:52pm
Max Roach was the best, the first to take drums on as a serious instrument and play different rhythms with each limb. Never had the fame, he was too much into politics and black power and was very experimental, but in London there's a park named for him. This is a great workshop by two masters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p22hDY79TPc

Post by KatusMaximus on May 19th, 2011 at 7:03pm

KatusMaximus wrote on May 14th, 2011 at 8:48pm:
This is my next project.  I am going to learn to play these bad boys...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOFTDCoxedc

Mission accomplished!  Got my first bowl today and it is GROUSE!!!!!!!!!! :)

Post by Grey on May 19th, 2011 at 7:08pm
That's great Katus, was it expensive? Here's a music lesson that probably isn't going to help at all but I enjoyed it :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1zLG1dDUsbU&NR=1

Post by mickey rat on May 19th, 2011 at 7:56pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YKqxG09wlIA

Classic Billie Holiday TV appearance with all-star group, two years b4 she died.

I actually love this song. Rufus Thomas of all people, made an excellent laidback soul version on Stax, on the flipside of his Walking the Dog U.S. hit single.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 19th, 2011 at 9:35pm
I got it at a massive clearance sale at a local Tibetan shop $75! woop!

BTW - love the songs you've put up.  Billie has such a smooth voice - love her!   Here she is doing Strange Fruit...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h4ZyuULy9zs

Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2011 at 10:19pm
Max Roach - Billy Holliday - Dizzy Gillespie - Louie Armstrong, WOW.

Note: not World Of Warcraft.

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2011 at 8:55am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eLRyYETnoIE&feature=related

“For you, there'll be no more crying,
For you, the sun will be shining,
And the songbirds are singing,
Like they know the score,
And I love you, I love you, I love you,
Like never before.”

Post by KatusMaximus on May 20th, 2011 at 9:07am
Hmmm... I had no idea that was a Fleetwood Mac song!
I've only ever known it as an Eva Cassidy song...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AFFo1pu4q7Q

Oh, and did I welcome you to my music bar?  WELCOME!  Can I get you a drink?

Post by Grey on May 20th, 2011 at 10:49am

Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2011 at 10:19pm:

Yeh we're smacking classy in 'ere innit  :)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Nkq4-U0o_g&NR=1

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2010/feb/08/jazz-concert-ends-with-news-dankworth-death?intcmp=239

Post by KatusMaximus on May 20th, 2011 at 11:21am
Holy Spaceballs!  Love that 2nd song she does  :o

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2011 at 11:39am

KatusMaximus wrote on May 20th, 2011 at 9:07am:
Hmmm... I had no idea that was a Fleetwood Mac song!
I've only ever known it as an Eva Cassidy song...

Oh, and did I welcome you to my music bar?  WELCOME!  Can I get you a drink?

I almost posted the Eva version but in the end went for the McVee version - both very good in my opinion.

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2011 at 11:45am

Grey wrote on May 20th, 2011 at 10:49am:

Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2011 at 10:19pm:

Yeh we're smacking classy in 'ere innit

Yes you are, I enjoyed very much thnks.

My Daughter is a drummer I will show her the Max stuff though I am afraid she mainly wants to play metal, her school performances are a bit milder and quite good. I dont know what she will say about Mr Roach.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 20th, 2011 at 11:50am
Yes, they're definitely both beautiful versions!

Ooh, drummer hey?  I hope you've given her the 70s rock gods lecture?   ;) lol

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2011 at 12:12pm

KatusMaximus wrote on May 20th, 2011 at 11:50am:
Yes, they're definitely both beautiful versions!

Ooh, drummer hey?  I hope you've given her the 70s rock gods lecture?   ;) lol

She Likes that stuff - often see her watching some Zeplin etc right up to the Gunners. Her school performances include highway to hell and Mad world she works with a couple of nice vocalists and some of the boys are excellent guitarists.

Just listened to Imagine by Eva - I forgot how beautiful her voice was.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 20th, 2011 at 1:17pm
grooviness!  I would be head explodingly proud of my daughter if she did music at school - she was learning violin a couple of years ago but she never really got through the "cats screwing" stage of learning! (She is only 12 though, so maybe when she's a bit older she'll give it another shot?) hee hee

Well, come on now, don't hog the Eva all to yourself - share away!  ;)

Post by Grey on May 20th, 2011 at 5:43pm
Abbey and Max were a good team and married for a decade or so.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j2OO3vuk3r4&feature=related

that mustta been scary at times  ;)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eiF0RC-vDvY

Post by mickey rat on May 22nd, 2011 at 8:03pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8atogELhv_Q&feature=related

This guy was a real character. He stripped that Elmore James guitar sound to absolute basics but was way more exciting than people like B.B. King. I saw him live a couple of years b4 he died and I swear it was the LOUDEST concert I ever went to. I just noticed one of the regular posters on Ozpol uses a Hound Dog Taylor pic as his signature and it prompted me to blast a few tracks until the neighbours got upset.

Post by mickey rat on May 22nd, 2011 at 8:04pm
Oops.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8atogELhv_Q&feature=related

Post by Dnarever on May 22nd, 2011 at 8:42pm

KatusMaximus wrote on May 20th, 2011 at 1:17pm:
grooviness!  I would be head explodingly proud of my daughter if she did music at school - she was learning violin a couple of years ago but she never really got through the "cats screwing" stage of learning! (She is only 12 though, so maybe when she's a bit older she'll give it another shot?) hee hee

Well, come on now, don't hog the Eva all to yourself - share away!  ;)

If this story dosen't break you heart you are tough.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jXbLXI7R_lg&feature=related

At that age my Daughter was Playing Trumpet - she kept that up till the end of Y8. She played in the school stage band I went to their first performance and expected rubbish - seen some of the other schools including a Violin group who had played the opera house and started to cringe at our group who had been together for about 5 months. They blew the audience away and were invited to open for the Local eisteddfod. This was mainly due to a y12 saxophonist who was amazing and got the solo's. She tends to take up things and when she starts to get fairly good she just drops it cold. Typically about a week after I buy her an expensive kit. She was out surfing every day last winter on a crap old board - I got her a new one and she has only used it once, same with tennis and horse riding  (didn't buy the horse though). Drums since 13 years and a bit of Guitar. Hope she keeps it up. The critics say that she dosent use a lot of flare but she is real tight with the beat and transitions.

Post by Grey on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:13pm
I found myself singing this today while working, as you do :-) and remembered Mickey mentioning it and thought I wonder why he didn't post it up? I assume it's there, I haven't looked yet. Yep, you get the full version coz I reckon Kat can play along to this with her singing bowl :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rN4FMVqq1cg

Post by Grey on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:24pm
and while I'm at it ...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Viqr6KHwJjc&feature=related

Post by Grey on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:41pm
For Katus benefit I'd better point out that Peter Green is the hairy one in the middle. He left Fleetwood Mack to become a grave digger and wouldn't play for anybody but friends for decades. Rventually he was coaxed back on stage. I love the name of his new group, 'splinter' - 'wood' get it ?  ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Qzfb13ezVE&feature=fvwrel

Post by Dnarever on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:58pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFoXcO8llNI

Post by KatusMaximus on May 22nd, 2011 at 10:13pm

If this story dosen't break you heart you are tough.

At that age my Daughter was Playing Trumpet - she kept that up till the end of Y8. She played in the school stage band I went to their first performance and expected rubbish - seen some of the other schools including a Violin group who had played the opera house and started to cringe at our group who had been together for about 5 months. They blew the audience away and were invited to open for the Local eisteddfod. This was mainly due to a y12 saxophonist who was amazing and got the solo's. She tends to take up things and when she starts to get fairly good she just drops it cold. Typically about a week after I buy her an expensive kit. She was out surfing every day last winter on a crap old board - I got her a new one and she has only used it once, same with tennis and horse riding  (didn't buy the horse though). Drums since 13 years and a bit of Guitar. Hope she keeps it up. The critics say that she dosent use a lot of flare but she is real tight with the beat and transitions.

bloody hell, I didn't realise Eva Cassidy was dead, and that she took her own life  :'( :'(  (I'm not really good with that whole knowing about musicians - I'm more interested in the music than the people who create it... )

Wow!  I hope my daughter gets into music like that - she's followed in mummy's footsteps and is in all the drama productions so that's good too!  :)  She was getting guitar lessons, but we couldn't afford them anymore.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 22nd, 2011 at 10:15pm

Grey wrote on Jun 1st, 1970 at 1:57pm:
Yep, you get the full version coz I reckon Kat can play along to this with her singing bowl :-)

haha - not quite in sync with my tibetan singing bowl - goes perfectly with my air guitar though, and my hairbrush microphone! lol  ;)

EDIT:
OK, so it's time for me to admit something - sometimes I don't listen to the whole song straight away (3 kids, and a partner who gets annoyed when I listen to music at night coz it makes his game go slow)... Listened to it in full today though.  Yeah, I might rock out to it with my singing bowl  :)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 22nd, 2011 at 10:18pm

Grey wrote on May 22nd, 2011 at 9:41pm:
For Katus benefit I'd better point out that Peter Green is the hairy one in the middle. He left Fleetwood Mack to become a grave digger and wouldn't play for anybody but friends for decades. Rventually he was coaxed back on stage. I love the name of his new group, 'splinter' - 'wood' get it ?  ;D

Ah, thank you!  I like it a lot!  8-)  Also, thanks for the explanation, very much appreciated - you are all my musical sensei's!  

P.S. - where are all the chicks?  

Post by Grey on May 27th, 2011 at 5:37pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cQzwyKCZGP0&NR=1

Post by Dnarever on May 27th, 2011 at 7:52pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CSvFpBOe8eY&feature=related

An Armenian friend had lunch with these guys last week in LA.

Post by KatusMaximus on May 27th, 2011 at 11:32pm
Not a fan o' System of a Down.  My ex loved them and particularly that song, so maybe that's why I can't stand them?  

Give me this... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1aixZ3wqOis&feature=related... anyday!   ;)

Post by Grey on May 29th, 2011 at 9:07am
Bono kind of disowned it but I thought  Passengers was the best thing U2 had done.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dz4UYZIQps

Post by Grey on Jun 1st, 2011 at 11:20am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wzNjmIWbns4&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Jun 4th, 2011 at 8:39am
Thank you Graham Norton... You have led me to my new girl crush!!   :-* :o    THIS right here is what the music industry needs more of!  Cram Lady GaGa up your arses and gimme more Adele!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RaozoFnb6_M&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Jun 4th, 2011 at 8:45am
Have some more!!!!!!!!!!!!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-jpzBEiARaE&feature=related

Makes me get a lump in my throat and teeter on the edge of having a big old sook!  :'(

Post by Grey on Jun 4th, 2011 at 9:23pm
Aye pretty awesome :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=shVBya9pEJY&feature=related

Post by Grey on Jun 4th, 2011 at 9:35pm
Not really the same genre - but Sissel's pretty awesome too.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x899P8en-qs

Post by Grey on Jun 4th, 2011 at 9:40pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DSKnkqAOhpA&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Jun 4th, 2011 at 10:18pm
Magnifico!!! What a crystal clear voice.  Beautiful :)

Although I have to admit... this song did come to mind during her 2nd song...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4q6eaLn2mY

Post by Grey on Jun 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm
For now the curtain has closed on Amy Winehouse. Of all the tragedy produced by talent drowning in showbusiness hysteria hers will not be counted the least. Damn!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_ds0eIVGHQk&feature=list_related&playnext=1&list=PLAC0A24C8F47719A7

Post by Annie Anthrax on Jun 28th, 2011 at 7:35pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xc9ZbS4KMdg&feature=fvst

Post by KatusMaximus on Jun 30th, 2011 at 3:04pm

Grey wrote on Jun 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:
For now the curtain has closed on Amy Winehouse. Of all the tragedy produced by talent drowning in showbusiness hysteria hers will not be counted the least. Damn!

Yes, it's very sad she messed herself up so badly.  A friend of mine put me on to an album of hers about 4 or 5 years ago - I wish I could remember the name of it.  I can't remember the song he used to play all the time either, but it was beautiful!

Post by Grey on Jul 16th, 2011 at 8:06pm

KatusMaximus wrote on Jun 30th, 2011 at 3:04pm:

Grey wrote on Jun 28th, 2011 at 1:35pm:

Yes, it's very sad she messed herself up so badly.  A friend of mine put me on to an album of hers about 4 or 5 years ago - I wish I could remember the name of it.  I can't remember the song he used to play all the time either, but it was beautiful!

The album was probably 'Frank'. I'm so happy this Who track came to mind :-) dead Mod indeed :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=325ItjCul6I&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Jul 21st, 2011 at 8:43pm
Sorry I've been neglecting my music bar.  I have started up my own business and been focussing on that!  :D

Post by Grey on Jul 23rd, 2011 at 12:23pm

KatusMaximus wrote on Jul 21st, 2011 at 8:43pm:
Sorry I've been neglecting my music bar.  I have started up my own business and been focussing on that!  :D

Good luck with that Katus, watcha flogging? :-)

Post by KatusMaximus on Jul 23rd, 2011 at 6:13pm
Sound Healing and Reiki  (yes, I have hippy tendencies, but I think we already established that didn't we? lol)

Oh, and I use my beautiful Tibetan Singing Bowls! YAY!

Post by Grey on Jul 24th, 2011 at 2:46pm

KatusMaximus wrote on Jul 23rd, 2011 at 6:13pm:
Sound Healing and Reiki  (yes, I have hippy tendencies, but I think we already established that didn't we? lol)

Oh, and I use my beautiful Tibetan Singing Bowls! YAY!

Which evoked thie old hippy classic :-)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=frntiiyoreg
Do you do home visits to Busselton?  ;D

Post by KatusMaximus on Jul 24th, 2011 at 6:32pm
Oh, I enjoyed that!

Post by KatusMaximus on Jul 27th, 2011 at 3:07pm
Poor old Amy :(   What a waste of talent...

Post by Grey on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 5:11am

KatusMaximus wrote on Jul 27th, 2011 at 3:07pm:
Poor old Amy :(   What a waste of talent...

Aye,  :'( The last time

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G43DnaU9qPM

and the begining

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_gmZTAt1lls

Post by Grey on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 5:21am
and triumphant

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HbX9I605PkQ&NR=1

Post by KatusMaximus on Aug 11th, 2011 at 9:51pm
that "stronger than me" is a corker! :D

Post by Grey on Aug 15th, 2011 at 6:02pm
I'm in love with Clare Bowditch and Lanie Lane at the moment ;D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9f2eKdNB0wA&feature=related

Post by Grey on Aug 15th, 2011 at 6:12pm
Used by 'Crownies' as the theme song.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vW9SOCSEKr8

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UEPSURAyDzI&feature=related

Post by KatusMaximus on Sep 5th, 2011 at 8:01pm
http://youtu.be/FtKHXDyYCRA

Can't remember if I've posted this already - tough titties if I have! :D

Post by Dnarever on Sep 5th, 2011 at 10:33pm
Tnks Grey - Lanie Lane.

A new favourite for me. Now your home with Clair Bowditch is brilliant.

Post by Dnarever on Sep 10th, 2011 at 11:33am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pDAKk3GfXxo

Post by Dnarever on Sep 27th, 2011 at 11:17pm

Gotta see this one

Mumford & sons with Laura Marling and the Dharohar Project

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EskBsvN5tDU

Post by Grey on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:14am
that was great Dnarever, just great :D

Post by Dnarever on Sep 28th, 2011 at 12:49pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MUNrZFreRx4&feature=player_embedded

Joni Anderson 1965.

Post by Grey on Oct 18th, 2011 at 6:05pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-VIqA3i2zQw

Post by Grey on Oct 24th, 2011 at 3:58pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bqbHrx2rEFM&feature=fvsr

Post by KatusMaximus on Oct 24th, 2011 at 4:05pm
Love that song!

Post by Grey on Oct 24th, 2011 at 4:07pm
Good to see you're still with us Katus :-) What are YOU listening to?

Post by KatusMaximus on Dec 10th, 2011 at 9:55pm
Hello!  I have been AWOL for ages!! 
Here's what I'm listening to right now... (uh oh - forgotten how to add media! hahaha... gimme a sec...)

http://youtu.be/2R69nV4HOaE

Did that do it??  If not (after about 10 tries) can you please remind me how to do it?  I know I need to click insert hyperlink and insert media, but it's not working either way or together... :(

Post by Soren on Dec 10th, 2011 at 10:12pm
Just media.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gTRjWDW3JSg

Post by Grey on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:42pm
Katus you just puncvh in the link like so, but without the space. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?

v=tfK_3NuRHt8&feature=related

then you 'select' it and hit the media button only.

If you want to check you can just hit the quote button to see somebody elses.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tfK_3NuRHt8&feature=related

Post by Grey on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:51pm
Indeed it did Katus :-) Now what are YOU listening too?

Post by KatusMaximus on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:52pm
:'( :'(  I was trying to put Loreen McKennit up... But it doesn't love me anymore  :-/

Post by Grey on Dec 11th, 2011 at 3:54pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2R69nV4HOaE

Post by Grey on Dec 11th, 2011 at 10:54pm
You have no idea how many times it took me to get the damn thing to pay attention  ;D

What worked finally was not using the link under 'SHARE' but using the one at the top of the page. It's the same link I know, I've found that to be the case before though.

By the way I knew what you wanted because I clicked on quote here and copied the URL you'd put it and then pasted that into you tubes search.

Post by KatusMaximus on Dec 14th, 2011 at 7:19pm
:D  crazy forum!  Let's try it again...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hp6Zx_fzpq8

Post by KatusMaximus on Dec 14th, 2011 at 7:19pm
YAY!!!! It worked - HUZZAH!

Post by KatusMaximus on Dec 31st, 2011 at 10:51am
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T8NhJNpQlsY

It being New Year's Eve, I just had to put this baby up!  YAY!!!!  Happy New Year all my lovely HYS chatting buddies!  :-* :-*

Post by KatusMaximus on Jan 26th, 2012 at 9:44pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=--xW8HPJRY0&feature=share

Post by jalane on Feb 12th, 2012 at 2:36am
sorry - got no vid - just been listening to Gotye on Rage.

Excellent/  so much in it.

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 9th, 2012 at 8:40pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cY2GmYE_piE&feature=relmfu

Post by jalane on Apr 10th, 2012 at 10:28pm
sigh!!

Some of the BEST music,   from this man. 
Tough as.!!  (add your own adjective) 

Spasticus!
Hit me!
I want to be Straight!

(I'm sick and tired of taking drugs and staying up late.!!)

Oh Oh  Katus!!  could you find the vid I saw the other night on Rage.??

FishHeads

by
Barnes and Barnes.

Makes me laugh.!!!  ????  Yeah??

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 10th, 2012 at 10:53pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cTpUVAcvWfU

There you go my lovely flower!  Is that the one you wanted?

Post by jalane on Apr 10th, 2012 at 11:05pm
OH YES.

Thank you max Kat
:) :) :) :) :) :) :)

Post by jalane on Apr 10th, 2012 at 11:18pm
I have adored fishheads for yrs....  NEVER ate one!!

Excellent.!!

Say I have one VERY obscure piece I've only ever heard on JJJ,   the last time maybe a decade ago ?? ::)
I LUV it too, and it was a one off apparently.    It was made(the story goes) by two dentists in the US, who put it together so their clients were amused and distracted.!!!

From memory.... 2NU was their 'name' ....
the DJ on JJJ who played it last time I heard,  was ANDY GLITTERER or some such...  and before that, maybe, Maynard G Krebbs.  TOO long ago,,  But I still remember it.!!!

and the piece was about a dreamer.........' late for work'...... 'who's SHOE began to SQUEAK'..... and then the band began to play .... and the girl who said ''.... do you SEE what I'm saying?.."

A real hoot. :)

RESPECT .-. ... KATUS

Post by KatusMaximus on Apr 18th, 2012 at 6:56pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0xWLahk86I

There you go peach  :)   Is this the one?

Post by jalane on Apr 18th, 2012 at 7:23pm
wow wow wow wow!!!!

YES. Thank you.!!
You're not bad yourself toots.!! :) :-* :-* :-* :-*

Post by jalane on Apr 18th, 2012 at 7:45pm
Hmmm.... thats sort of OK. I never saw that video.... and I think there are a couple of 'refrains' that aren't there any longer. Still, it was a long time ago.!!  Thanx again Kat. the Max [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Post by jalane on Apr 18th, 2012 at 10:49pm
say Max Katus.??

Can I keep asking for vids of old fave songs???   I have so many in my memory but not being a big telly viewer I've rarely seen the clips.?  Yeah ??

Something from Ween maybe??  Hmm Hmm ? 
Say ' The Mollusc' ? or Pink Eye (on My Leg)??even Mutilated Lips? or   (sigh) 
It's Gonna Be (Alright) ? 
What a brilliant mob of musical nuts....... :) :) ;D

Or last Century??  LIke  -  back then?

10 CC?  but OLD ? 

OK I'll go away now.! :)

Post by jalane on Apr 19th, 2012 at 1:53am
I'm back/  :)

Lets not forget Oz music.    I remember  seeing a band called The Dingoes at a pub in Prahran - thought they had so much talent...they nearly had it together- even made an ALBUM.!!
Yep - vinyl...  can't remember the name of the album,  ...but I thought it was worth listening to..
looking at it now.. I can only remember Broderick Smith, that mouth-organ he played , and some 'good songs' which are sort of lost in the mists of the 70's. :)

Gypsey Queen comes to mind,  but I actually think that may have been some other contemporary band.  Country Radio perhaps??

SIGH  - them were the days.... :)

Post by jalane on Apr 21st, 2012 at 1:35am
OK Ok

I'm a pain in the A. Sorry. 
I can only say........ I have  limited resources, and cannot spend much time on a comp keyboard. You probably guessed I own the Ween CD.  :) I do not 'go' on any other internet sites normally. Not Facebook. Not Youtube. Not Twitter.  Nor any other unless abso nec.

So I have no 'offerings' to this page, except my memories.

Um :)

how about?

' Moving to Montana '  -  Zappa.!!!!

:-* :-?
:)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 1:17pm
I have become completely infatuated with Elbow...  :-*

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jxczVhG0os8&ob=av3n

Will track down Zappa for you Jalane :)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 1:21pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smXctlhgcHk

There ya go ;)

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 7:56pm
Love it!! thank you again.

Sigh... don't make them like that anymore. 
At least he has an Asteroid, or ? named after him. :) :)

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 8:03pm
That Elbow clip was good.!

'cept it took me a while..  kept thinking the lead singer looks like a young Stephen Fry.!!

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 10:58pm
haha - great, now I'm going to think that everytime I watch a clip of theirs!
Sorry, I don't come on here as often as I used to... life is fairly hectic at the moment :)

Feel free to keep posting songs and I'll get round to finding them on youtube for your enjoyment  :)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:03pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q5K_w9Tbhoc

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:05pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1jYjCPe09co

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:06pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mzIHkFJnLbc

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QAspOsaXnpQ

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 11:09pm
Thank YOU.

I'll now watch your last post with much enjoyment. :)

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:11pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2dTnvhGHDGA

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kShTUmYRyCw

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A9yYjIWTl04

I only know "I'm not in love" and "dreadlock holiday" so thought I'd put up some ones I hadn't heard... then discovered I know rubber bullet but never knew who sang it!  I love that song!

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:14pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NFhpQnmjR8Y&feature=results_video&playnext=1&list=PLD19A8BFEB7BFCA93

I hope this works... it has a few songs from The Dingoes in the playlist

Post by KatusMaximus on May 4th, 2012 at 11:16pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5fuUfCiUs38

I think that's all the songs you requested!  That should keep you busy for a while  ;)

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 11:28pm
sorry - listen...  :)

sigh.!!

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 11:29pm
yes indeedy   :) :) [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Post by jalane on May 4th, 2012 at 11:52pm
Oh just love the 10 CC selection. I know them all by heart almost. Wow,,

and SO topical.!! TY Max Kat

Post by jalane on May 5th, 2012 at 12:03am
Hey did you like the Dingoes.  My God   that was made in 2010. !!

I saw them around 1975.... and that was a song I saw them play live.  See Joe Camilleri from Jo Jo Zep and the Falcons on organ. Not that he ever showed his face.  Don't think he was part of the original line-up.

I think, but I'm not sure... long time gone... that the original organist?  was a chap who died thereabouts. For some reason my memory throws up the name Jim Keyes...  probably wrong. There was a benefit concert held for him and his family, where all the hot bands played --- what a night, and a one-off.!! It was in Carlton Vic, in an old old venue that closed not long after.  ??Ballroom?

Thanks  Kat

Post by jalane on May 6th, 2012 at 12:10am
hi kat

just wondered if you noticed ,  or cared for that matter,  that on This Is Ponderous  ....the last words of the  dialogue in an unknown language .. voice over  ???   

Marijuana's now free

I swear - and the 'lyrics' supplied on another vid, of the unknown language made by someone else, are totally bogus.

I laugh everytime I listen to it.  Oh and thank u for something else.
  Had a fine time last night playing through  just a little of what was available to me.

Sorry  guess I'm showing my age...... the mind boggles.!!   :o :o :-* :-*

Post by jalane on Jun 2nd, 2012 at 12:24am
Hey Kat
me AGAIN.

No -one else seems involved at the mo.eh??

So anyway

Been reminiscing a bit lately, and recall an LP  I owned and loved for a long time, till I lent it to someone. Never to be seen again.

The group was called 'Renaissance'  and was Canadian, I think.
A magnificent female lead, with her brother? and others.

The album was called

'Ashes Are Burning'

Title track a beautiful classic of its era, and other songs were quite stunning.

Some memorable music, ...'course you have to hear it first to remember. :)

If'n you're by this way??  can you find it??

:)Pretty pls?

Post by KatusMaximus on Jun 2nd, 2012 at 9:59pm
Hi!
I haven't been on here for a while... what a coinky-dink that I popped on today!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mi_QCi4rjZM

Post by jalane on Jun 2nd, 2012 at 10:56pm
Kat  :) :) :)

These coinkydinks happen for me all the time , and thank you Oh mighty feline ..this is the crew.

Hadn't seen the clip before, and it constitutes the end of the piece Ashes are Burning..  in live format. I've only heard them on vinyl before.... so this is excellent Maximus Kat.!!
Long may you reign.

By the way its pissing down .!!! 

Post by bludger on Jul 27th, 2012 at 8:41pm
So EXACTLY how do upload youtube?

Check out ragtime guitar man Ernie Hawkins Whatcha gonna do
or What are you gonna do. Lil band O' gold 'I dont wanna know.' I am on slow satellite.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.