General Discussion >> Feedback >> NEW BOARDS
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171873089

Message started by freediver on Feb 19th, 2007 at 6:18pm

Title: NEW BOARDS
Post by freediver on Feb 19th, 2007 at 6:18pm
Please post requests for new boards and questions about current boards here.

new board for global issues

Please let me know what you think:

http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167270981

http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl

http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?board=global

Title: People unaware of the existence of global section.
Post by DonaldTrump on Feb 21st, 2007 at 1:58pm
Freediver, I think people are unaware that the 'thinking globally' section exists.

Title: Re: People unaware of the existence of global sect
Post by freediver on Feb 21st, 2007 at 2:28pm
I just updated all the headers throughout the site to point to the main forum page. Hopefully the change doesn't confuse people and we get a few more in the global forum.

Title: Re: People unaware of the existence of global sect
Post by Aussie Nationalist on Feb 21st, 2007 at 10:58pm
I just found it!

Title: 'Politicians suck' section
Post by DonaldTrump on Mar 4th, 2007 at 2:26am
Out of curiousity, just what is this new section?  :-?

I know it says an 'in-depth analysis of phenomenons. but phenomenons of what?

I think you should make this a little clearer for the people at home, freediver.

Title: Re: 'Politicians suck' section
Post by freediver on Mar 4th, 2007 at 10:50am
It's a board for discussion about specific politicians or parties. Most of the discussions we have tend to focus on either issues or politicians, so I thought it would be good to have all the discussion of politicians in one place.

Title: Is politics relevant to this forum?
Post by AUShole on Mar 24th, 2007 at 5:56am
I logged in for the first time in a week, and had to go to the second page of the board to find a post on politics!

Does anyone else find this odd?  :-?

Title: Re: Is politics relevant to this forum?
Post by freediver on Mar 24th, 2007 at 1:27pm
I'll be adding another board, titled 'chat', soon. I'll move all the non-political stuff there.

Title: Re: Is politics relevant to this forum?
Post by enviro on Mar 24th, 2007 at 4:08pm
Hi Aushole, have you yourself posted anything political lately?

These types of sites always need fresh blood coming through to liven up the political debate. It's funny, but the state election is on today and there has been bugger all written on it. You see, people when doing well financially, don't seem to care about the real issues.

Global Warming and multiculturism has been overused in the last 6 months that people just don't want to know about it anymore. I wonder if any comments were made on Senator Sartori? I'll check in a minute and what about Howards field trip to Iraq?

Put a political opinion out there and be ready to backpeddle Aushole. Can you handle it? 8-)

Title: An 'other' section?
Post by DonaldTrump on Mar 16th, 2007 at 4:13pm
Seems to me that some people have other things to talk about other than politics... can we have a miscallanoues(Spell-check please) section, freediver?

Title: Re: An 'other' section?
Post by freediver on Mar 16th, 2007 at 4:28pm
You mean like a 'chat' section - for non political stuff? Otherwise it goes in the general board - as does the non-political stuff until I create the chat board.

Do you want me to go ahead and add the chat board?

Post by DonaldTrump on Mar 17th, 2007 at 2:21am

Do you want me to go ahead and add the chat board?

Dunno... I'm not the boss. :P

Post by Aussie Nationalist on Mar 17th, 2007 at 2:26am
Hows about a Nationalist section and a Multiculturist/communist section?

Post by auzgurl on Mar 18th, 2007 at 8:53am
I just post this, non politics stuff, :-* on the general board...so I think the 'general' section covers this anyway!! ::) ::)

Post by freediver on Mar 19th, 2007 at 2:23pm
I think I'll leave it for the moment, as there isn't a lot of activity on the general board anyway. I'd rather keep it all together as much as possible and only add extra boards when the activity on the general board gets too much for one board. But I will prioritise a chat board for you - it will be the next one to go up.

Post by Aussie Nationalist on Mar 22nd, 2007 at 11:26pm
What about a fight section?
To stop the fighting on the real posts and wasting space.
You could call it ''lets take it outside''

Post by aloof boof on Mar 25th, 2007 at 5:24pm
Good idea AN,a behind the shed thread ;D Bit of verbal jousting like "you big fat pansy" or "I AM GOING TO RIP YOUR HEAD OFF AND POO IN THE HOLE" type stuff??Bit of entertainment ay

Title: Thanks freediver
Post by sprintcyclist on Mar 26th, 2007 at 10:51am
For starting the new "chat" forum.

Well done

Title: Re: Thanks freediver
Post by oceans_blue on Mar 26th, 2007 at 9:05pm
sprintcyclist..

hows your brother in America?

Post by sprintcyclist on Mar 26th, 2007 at 10:36pm
Hi oceans,
thanks. he is in new zealand. his trip to thailand has got him a thai massage therapist to come out to New zealand to help him.
Is a long involved story. She is helping him a lot.

I look to what is happening now.

how are you going ?

Post by enviro on Mar 26th, 2007 at 10:48pm
What's this chat crap? Isn't this a political site anymore? :'(

Title: What is going on?
Post by enviro on Mar 29th, 2007 at 6:14pm
Nobody is using the political section. I thought everyone must have left until I found this Chat blog. Can all members atleast put a political viewpoint up atleast once a day? :-?

Title: Re: Nobody seems that interested
Post by mantra on Mar 29th, 2007 at 7:05pm
You are quite right enviro - there's very little political talk.  For some reason Cracker seems more dominant in that area.

The forum for politics is third in line - so by the time you get there, it seems a bit dead.  Maybe it should be on the first page.

Title: Re: What is going on?
Post by sprintcyclist on Mar 29th, 2007 at 8:42pm
Is the first forum (general) for politics in general ?
The last one (politics suck) for when they are bad ?
The chat for stuff like pets, etc etc??

For me, politics is not everything, seems endlessly pointless and with no "conclusion" to it ?
Sort of like meetings !!!!

people sort of come and go too. Good chat site all in all. No wonder tv is fast losing its appeal !

Post by freediver on Mar 30th, 2007 at 12:16am
The first one is for politics in general - ie the issues. The third one is for the people and parties. I separated them because the partisan issues often get in the way of frank discussion of the real issues. This is especially true around election time. People try to trash the views of people from parties they don't like, but don't get into any depth on the actual issues.

Post by freediver on Mar 30th, 2007 at 7:22am
How about everyone invites one person to the forum? We just need to get the word out about this place and people will come.

Post by oceans_blue on Mar 31st, 2007 at 10:55pm
I think that the new influx of religion has been a factor in changing things in here.

Its not just confined to one thread, those doing it are spreading it thru all threads   which changes the tone of threads never meant to take on a religuos aspect. This is irritating certain pple who now may be less inclined to enjoy the environment which was here previously.

Go home Bible bashers!!!!!

Tel it to someone who cares

Post by pender on Apr 1st, 2007 at 9:31pm
actually its pretty much just sprintcyclist, and to a lesser extent myself.

Title: member run boards
Post by freediver on Apr 4th, 2007 at 11:06am
The idea behind the member run boards is for members to have their own boards for topics that are of interest to them. The board moderators will be responsible for moderating the boards. They will work on a 'survival of the fittest' basis - if the board is not well hosted then people will not use it.

This sort of board is especially useful for topics that don't get a lot of 'forum activity.' If members have a strong interest, they can try to keep discussions in one place where they won't get bumped down the thread list.

Title: need a relationships  board on here
Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 4:00pm
so we can discuss issues regarding every day life..

You know sex and and domestics!!???

What do others think?

A relationship board would bring more balance .

Title: Re: need a relationships  board on here
Post by freediver on Apr 25th, 2007 at 4:02pm
You can either take it to the chat board, or I can set up a board for you in the member run boards area, but you would have to moderate it, or get someone else to volunteer.

BTW, this should have been posted on the feedback board.

Post by deepthought on Apr 25th, 2007 at 4:02pm

wrote on Apr 25th, 2007 at 4:00pm:
so we can discuss issues regarding every day life..

You know sex and and domestics!!???

What do others think?

A relationship board would bring more balance .

I don't know about you but I don't have sex with my domestic.    At least not until she's finished the ironing.

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 5:18pm
deep in thought,

can i call you DIT?

That was rather witty.

Diver I dont mind moderating a sex and domestics board.

Post by freediver on Apr 25th, 2007 at 5:22pm
OK, but I'd rather call it 'relationships' than sex and domestics.

How about that?

Post by deepthought on Apr 25th, 2007 at 5:23pm

wrote on Apr 25th, 2007 at 5:18pm:
deep in thought,

can i call you DIT?

That was rather witty.

Diver I dont mind moderating a sex and domestics board.

You can call me anything you like mate - as long as it's not your domestic.   ;)

(My friends call me deep or deepy.   And I don't have any enemies.)

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:32pm
ok deepy...

Done! Im a female and youll get that as time goes on--only a couple of us on here- and the guys dont appreciate us I dont believe.

Nice to meet you deepy mate and I think we,ll get on- for the most part. ;)

Post by enviro on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:32pm
Is this you Auzgurl (Oceans_Blue)?

fatsuit6.jpg (13 KB | 73 )

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:34pm
Freediver ,

thats fine..how do I start? and how does it work?

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:41pm

enviro wrote on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:32pm:
Is this you Auzgurl (Oceans_Blue)?

No enviro---why would you think that anyway--you like me I can tell!!

enviro-is this you?
9C8351243ECE413D8F1AACB66832C79811.jpg (4 KB | 81 )

Post by sprintcyclist on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:47pm
That sounds a good idea oceans.
Another one in the members run area sounds well suited.

I appreciate the ladies here.

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 25th, 2007 at 8:03pm
well enviro-

is this you?

the one on the end? this end.

Thanks sprint. and no worries. :)
1bb.jpg (27 KB | 80 )

Post by freediver on Apr 25th, 2007 at 8:37pm
I'll set it up for you now oceans. Please remove the cocknballs pic.

Post by enviro on Apr 25th, 2007 at 8:41pm
You got me Oceans_Blue (Mermaid) is the one on the other end you. Go the Pow Wow!

;)

Post by deepthought on Apr 25th, 2007 at 8:46pm

wrote on Apr 25th, 2007 at 7:32pm:
ok deepy...

Done! Im a female and youll get that as time goes on--only a couple of us on here- and the guys dont appreciate us I dont believe.

Nice to meet you deepy mate and I think we,ll get on- for the most part. ;)

Hi oceans.   I often lament the lack of female input on political boards.   Mind you many boards can get pretty brutal and they can be scary unless you are wearing a suiit of armour complete with cod piece.

I however prefer to wear a domestic while posting.

Post by enviro on Apr 25th, 2007 at 8:55pm
Oceans_blue, I don't remember seeing much in the way of anti female on this site and I appreciate input by anyone what ever race, religion, creed, colour or sex.

I actually look forward to Mantra's comments and you will notice that I very rarely contradict what she says. i treat all as individuals but I'm not cemented in my views. When i first got involved with debating on political forums it was with Cracker and my view at the time was extremely anti lebanese which grew to anti muslim. Aus Nat and Donald trump make a lot of good points to why I should keep to this stance but people like Mantra (female) and yourself (female (I hope)) have changed my tune and I have gone back to just treating people like individuals believing that religion is a private thing. I'm much happier like that. :)

Good to see you hanging around deepthought...

Title: Nationalism forum
Post by Gavin on May 30th, 2007 at 10:20am
is it just me, or is the Nationalism forum and Multicultural forum a bit of a duplication?
since the topics discussed would pretty much be the same, as the issue of nationalism and multiculturism are linked.

Title: Re: Nationalism forum
Post by oceans_blue on May 30th, 2007 at 10:25am

Gavin wrote on May 30th, 2007 at 10:20am:
is it just me, or is the Nationalism forum and Multicultural forum a bit of a duplication?
since the topics discussed would pretty much be the same, as the issue of nationalism and multiculturism are linked.

Similiar.Gavin Id say..

I just want to make a suggestion..what about perhaps a health forum?

That will maybe go down like a lead balloon?

Or a Sports forum?  but I guess 'general chat' may cover those topics- :-?

Post by freediver on May 30th, 2007 at 10:38am
I don't think we have enough members or activity at the moment to be adding more forums. However if any other members want to add one in the member run area on a topic they are especially interested in I will do that.

The 'grouped by topic' list here is a good alternative to lots of different boards:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/thread-list/

You can also look through that for new board ideas. I had a bit of trouble grouping the social, aussie values, miscelaneous etc threads.

Post by Gavin on May 30th, 2007 at 10:47am
Exactly freediver, there isn't enough members or activity to add more forums, so why have we added a nationalism forum when the issue of nationalism is already discussed in the multicultural forum?

Post by freediver on May 30th, 2007 at 11:03am
Because that's what Aussie Nat wanted.

Post by Aussie Nationalist on May 30th, 2007 at 12:44pm
Im going to be adding more to it, outside of debate such as poetry and storys/ folklore.

Post by oceans_blue on May 30th, 2007 at 5:43pm

wrote on May 30th, 2007 at 12:44pm:
Im going to be adding more to it, outside of debate such as poetry and storys/ folklore.

That sounds great- love poetry.

Title: Interesting... a new board...
Post by DonaldTrump on Jun 25th, 2007 at 2:36pm
'Drugs policy.'

-Moderated by our good friend zoso.

What was the catalyst for this decision?

Title: Re: Interesting... a new board...
Post by Gavin on Jun 26th, 2007 at 12:09pm
a drugs board??
don't know, i don't think the topic is that interesting to be a separate forum on it's own. would have just kept it in the general board section.

Post by oceansblue on Jun 26th, 2007 at 12:17pm

Gavin wrote on Jun 26th, 2007 at 12:09pm:
a drugs board??
don't know, i don't think the topic is that interesting to be a separate forum on it's own. would have just kept it in the general board section.

agreed

Post by DonaldTrump on Jun 26th, 2007 at 3:23pm
Yeah.. you're probably right...

With a topic like multiculturalism, I reckon being as passionate about it as me, I can keep it going forever, especially with so much news-stories popping up evrywhere about it.... espeically that we're a globalising world.

Drugs? I'm not sure. Depoends how passionate Zoso is about it I guess.

Let's wait and see before passing judgement. Not really many topics yet though... lift your game zoso.

Post by freediver on Jun 26th, 2007 at 4:20pm
Zoso is busy at the moment. Please be patient.

Post by DonaldTrump on Jun 27th, 2007 at 1:12am

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2007 at 4:20pm:
Zoso is busy at the moment. Please be patient.

Exams?

Hmm... seriously... how hard could engineering possibly be? :P

Post by freediver on Jun 29th, 2007 at 2:41pm
If you prefer to view all the recently active threads in one list, rather than looking at multiple boards, you can use this list:

http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=recentlist;display=20

More interesting lists here:

Note that this link is the one at the top of the forum as "Search/browse threads"

Title: New board suggestion
Post by sprintcyclist on Aug 13th, 2007 at 10:38am
Wonder if a forum on finances would be any good ?

Would cover investing, houses, businesses, interest rates .........

just for consideration

Title: Re: Nationalism board
Post by cautious connie on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:19am
What is our nation anyway? It is a mixture of the many migrants to the country. Even the aboriginals supposedly came here from elsewhere. We are blessed as our nation ahs many heritages, from the British one which initiated the structure of our society to the heritage elements brought by Italian, Greek, Indian and Chinese migrants which have becoem part of Australia's culture. If a meeting of the community and more recent immigrant culture occurs, through second and third generations of Lebanese and other recent migrants grwoing up here, then that too will become part of our national heritage. Australia is a great and many varied and colourful nation.

Post by DonaldTrump on Jul 8th, 2007 at 6:13pm

cautious connie wrote on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:19am:
What is our nation anyway? It is a mixture of the many migrants to the country. Even the aboriginals supposedly came here from elsewhere. We are blessed as our nation ahs many heritages, from the British one which initiated the structure of our society to the heritage elements brought by Italian, Greek, Indian and Chinese migrants which have becoem part of Australia's culture. If a meeting of the community and more recent immigrant culture occurs, through second and third generations of Lebanese and other recent migrants grwoing up here, then that too will become part of our national heritage. Australia is a great and many varied and colourful nation.

Um... whenever your ready you can come out of fairyland and back into the real world, Connie.  ;D

I haven't heard a meaningless multiculturalism rant like that in ages. -Was quite humouress though.

Post by cautious connie on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:03pm
Do you deny the advantages to Asutralia from having Greek and Italian and other European migrants after the war? Do you deny that a large proportion of our small business community is of overseas origin and yet it is a vital employer and a vibrant and important sector of the economy?

Post by Aussie Nationalist on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:45pm

cautious connie wrote on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:03pm:
Do you deny the advantages to Asutralia from having Greek and Italian and other European migrants after the war? Do you deny that a large proportion of our small business community is of overseas origin and yet it is a vital employer and a vibrant and important sector of the economy?

They sure did destroy the snowy river and murray river via the hydro power scheme.

Have you ever seen Asians, Indians and arabs employ white people on a large scale? i sure havent.

Post by DonaldTrump on Jul 8th, 2007 at 9:00pm

cautious connie wrote on Jul 8th, 2007 at 8:03pm:

I think Greeks and Italians gave this country man-power. -Something which Australians could have easily done if we had more kids. If we had more kids... no greeks or Italians would have been needed.

As far as their vibrant 'culture' goes... the most useful thing they gave us was pizza and souvlaki... and that's hardly an example of the benefits of 'multiculturalism.'

I guess you're going to talk to me for another 20 posts about the snowy mountains scheme now hey?  ::)

Also... you're overlooking the fact that meditteraneans are indeed of very similar culture to that of most Northern Europeans. Christian, Latin-speakers, same political structures, same laws. the core elements of our societies are similar... which is why it is deemed successful. -But every time I see Australian Italians celebrating when Italy win in soccer (Even if they're playnig Australia) kinda makes me have doubts.

Post by Aussie Nationalist on Jul 9th, 2007 at 12:00am

I think Greeks and Italians gave this country man-power. -Something which Australians could have easily done if we had more kids. If we had more kids... no greeks or Italians would have been needed.

Exactly right.  

Post by cautious connie on Jul 9th, 2007 at 8:02am
But we didn't have more kids and they were needed. With the aging population more will be needed too.

And without them Australia would not be what it is.

Post by oceansblue on Jul 9th, 2007 at 5:55pm

I agree with connie.. we didnt have more kids..the Greeks and Italians have given a lot to Australia and mostly consider themselves as Aussie overall.

They should be allowed to barrack for theyre country of origin during Soccer matches etc. I think it would look weird  if they didnt.
If you went and lived overseas Dt would you all of a sudden forget your Aussie roots, the culture food mateship family? Im sure not. When pple immigrate they don t leave theyre hearts at the gateway to Australia and nor should they be expected too.

The Greeks have worked hard for the Australian nation..we should recognise this . I know some wonderful greek pple very personally and they work twice as hard as the average Aussie, and dont complain about it.

They are as Aussie as anyone.

I think Nationalism debate is back..

Post by DonaldTrump on Jul 10th, 2007 at 3:05am
Connie
cautious connie wrote on Jul 9th, 2007 at 8:02am:
But we didn't have more kids and they were needed. With the aging population more will be needed too.

In other words... they can leave their culture at home, right?

And without them Australia would not be what it is.

*Most overused line in Australian political history*  ;D Seriously Connie, quit doing these cliches.. they don't work on me.

So what has Australia become because of their culture? A few Pizza shops? A few souvlaki huts?  A few fancy dance steps?  ::)

Oceans
They should be allowed to barrack for theyre country of origin during Soccer matches etc. I think it would look weird  if they didnt.

Well I WOULDN'T expect second-to-third generation Australian-Italians barracking for Italy. This is just an example of a system gone wrong. Our country encourages this krap. If it was first generation Italians it would be more understandable. Hell, I think more first generation Italians barrack for their adopted country more than second generation.

If you went and lived overseas Dt would you all of a sudden forget your Aussie roots, the culture food mateship family? Im sure not.

Actually I would. When in Rome do as the Romans do. If I had no choice but to live in another country I'dhave to adapt out of respect.

When pple immigrate they don t leave theyre hearts at the gateway to Australia and nor should they be expected too.

If they don't take Australia first and their old nations second, they should just stay in their old countries. Italians and Greeks came here BY CHOICE... so seriously... screw em.'

The Greeks have worked hard for the Australian nation..we should recognise this . I know some wonderful greek pple very personally and they work twice as hard as the average Aussie, and dont complain about it.

Most Greeks I know Oceans are the laziest people under the sun.

I would even go as far as saying Australians of north European origin work harder than those of meditteranean origin. But this statement is just based on personal observation and in no way can be backed up by credible sources... so I guess you can take that statement as an opinion only.

Still though... I won't deny greeks and Italians have given Australia the necessary.... MANPOWER to 'help' build this country. In addition the MANY that have adapted to a great extent. For that... they deserve respect.

But I still can't stand the line... "Where would this country be without wogs?" It's simply not true. Meditteranean people came at a time when the baby boomers were just starting to produce many kids... and I don't think it's fair to attribute Autralia's success on simply Meditteranean people coming over.

Post by freediver on Jul 12th, 2007 at 10:50am
What does everyone think of Keating's comments: http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181263256/36#36

Post by DonaldTrump on Jul 12th, 2007 at 11:22pm

freediver wrote on Jul 12th, 2007 at 10:50am:
What does everyone think of Keating's comments: http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181263256/36#36

Keating is an idiot.

"A patriot will not exclude a person from another race from the community where they have lived side by side and whom he has known for many years, but a nationalist will always remain suspicious of someone who does not seem to belong to his kind of people or more likely his kind of thinking," Mr Keating quoted historian, John Lukacs, in his speech.

Keating is basically coming up with his own dictionary definitions to serve his own agenda here. I hate it when people do that.

Post by oceansblue on Jul 12th, 2007 at 11:47pm
  The whole article....Paul Keating is not an idiot.

12 July 2007 | 9:46 PM            

Keating attacks prime minister's ideology

12th July 2007, 9:45 WST

Former prime minister Paul Keating has again savaged the man who defeated him in the 1996 election, Prime Minister John Howard, by accusing him of being unpatriotic and anti-Muslim.    

In an address to the Sydney film school festival last night, Mr Keating described Mr Howard as "a nationalist and not a patriot", and compared his politics to those of Adolf Hitler.    

"A patriot will not exclude a person from another race from the community where they have lived side by side and whom he has known for many years but a nationalist will always remain suspicious of someone who does not seem to belong to his kind of people or more likely his kind of thinking," Mr Keating said.    

"Shades there of John Howard's discomfort with Australia's multicultural community and a disgust of the Islamic community."    

Mr Keating said when the prime minister disparaged elites, he was disparaging cosmopolitan attitudes which proved his nationalism.    

"In Hitler's day the term 'elite' had not yet arrived. If it had, the nationalist in him would have compelled him to use it, for it's easy shorthand if nothing else."    

This was not to say Mr Howard did not have "what we might call patriotic instincts".    

"Of course he does, but they all come from his larger carpet bag of nationalism," Mr Keating said.    

The former Labor leader, who is not averse to attacking his own side, last month launched a strong and amusing broadside against the current federal ALP leadership team.    

However, last night's attack was a more personal and pointed broadside against Mr Howard.    

"When John Howard famously advertised his wares in the 2004 election his advertisement said 'we decide who comes here and when they come'," he said.    

"The we, of course, does not mention all of us but only some of us and the some of us are the people Howard believes are the keepers of the Holy Grail, the sentries of the gate of the true Australia, not the cosmopolitan one of the so called elites."  

Post by DonaldTrump on Jul 13th, 2007 at 12:13am

oceanz wrote on Jul 12th, 2007 at 11:47pm:
  The whole article....Paul Keating is not an idiot.

12 July 2007 | 9:46 PM            

Keating attacks prime minister's ideology

12th July 2007, 9:45 WST

Former prime minister Paul Keating has again savaged the man who defeated him in the 1996 election, Prime Minister John Howard, by accusing him of being unpatriotic and anti-Muslim.    

In an address to the Sydney film school festival last night, Mr Keating described Mr Howard as "a nationalist and not a patriot", and compared his politics to those of Adolf Hitler.    

"A patriot will not exclude a person from another race from the community where they have lived side by side and whom he has known for many years but a nationalist will always remain suspicious of someone who does not seem to belong to his kind of people or more likely his kind of thinking," Mr Keating said.    

"Shades there of John Howard's discomfort with Australia's multicultural community and a disgust of the Islamic community."    

Mr Keating said when the prime minister disparaged elites, he was disparaging cosmopolitan attitudes which proved his nationalism.    

"In Hitler's day the term 'elite' had not yet arrived. If it had, the nationalist in him would have compelled him to use it, for it's easy shorthand if nothing else."    

This was not to say Mr Howard did not have "what we might call patriotic instincts".    

"Of course he does, but they all come from his larger carpet bag of nationalism," Mr Keating said.    

The former Labor leader, who is not averse to attacking his own side, last month launched a strong and amusing broadside against the current federal ALP leadership team.    

However, last night's attack was a more personal and pointed broadside against Mr Howard.    

"When John Howard famously advertised his wares in the 2004 election his advertisement said 'we decide who comes here and when they come'," he said.    

"The we, of course, does not mention all of us but only some of us and the some of us are the people Howard believes are the keepers of the Holy Grail, the sentries of the gate of the true Australia, not the cosmopolitan one of the so called elites."  

Well he's not an 'idiot'... because he knows how to bend the truth to suit his own needs and make it sound like truth.

Post by oceansblue on Jul 13th, 2007 at 9:32am

Well he's not an 'idiot'... because he knows how to bend the truth to suit his own needs and make it sound like truth.

Donald I admire Paul keating and therefore cannot agree with that statement--he never lied about anything and if anything him candor has gotten him into trouble more often than not. The man has a brilliant mind and I hope one day re-enters politics .. he would be a welcome change.

He worked hard on every front in his time as PM..to make Australia a better country and to make our position on the world stage strongerand smarter.

A far cry from the current govt.

Post by freediver on Jul 13th, 2007 at 5:36pm
I have removed the nationalism board.

Post by oceansblue on Jul 13th, 2007 at 6:42pm

freediver wrote on Jul 13th, 2007 at 5:36pm:
I have removed the nationalism board.

thats a shame..I think Nationalism explained would have been very interesting for those who had any confusion like me.

Lots of words bandied around. Nationalism. Patriotism. Multiculturalism. Now monoculturalism..maybe a few definitions?

Post by Aussie Nationalist on Jul 13th, 2007 at 7:13pm
I couldnt be bothered moderating it anymore.

Post by freediver on Jul 14th, 2007 at 10:17am
Oceans you can start a thread about it in any of the other boards if you want.

Post by oceansblue on Jul 14th, 2007 at 7:51pm

freediver wrote on Jul 14th, 2007 at 10:17am:
Oceans you can start a thread about it in any of the other boards if you want.

So your not suggesting I moderate a Nationalism forum Just start a thread somewhere else.? I could moderate a Nationalism forum, Id need to clarify a few things first.

Post by freediver on Jul 15th, 2007 at 4:34pm
No that's not what I was suggesting. I would like to hold off on giving people a second board to run until we get a few more active members.

Post by freediver on Aug 19th, 2007 at 2:06pm
Not sure why I couldn't find these before. Here are some of the old threads from the nationalism board which I just dug out of the recycle bin:

http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1180338034 What is nationalism?
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1180428058 Communism- Who needs it.
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1173594108 Does Nationalism make you a better person?
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181136045 Our Heritage
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181660662 Moved: European art poll.
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181645753 Other art.
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1180573528 Communism-Who needs it.= Analysis.
http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1181089962 Measures against seditious behaviour

Title: Member run boards
Post by sprintcyclist on Jun 5th, 2007 at 8:25pm
Thanks for setting up the member run boards freediver.

Greatly appreciated

Title: Re: Member run boards
Post by AusNat on Jun 5th, 2007 at 11:01pm
Yes i am grateful also.

Post by danny on Jun 5th, 2007 at 11:59pm
but noone is more grateful than Danny

Post by freediver on Sep 20th, 2007 at 11:07am
Twice now we have had people leave the site and delete every single thread in a board they run. Do not do this. Just leave the threads up and I will do something with them. Deleting everyone's posts is just rude. Just because you run the board does not mean you own everything on it. Everyone here contributes and all the information they post belongs to the community. Plus, it is a pain in the arse trying to restore everything.

I'll make this a new rule. Could all the remaining members who run a board please acknowledge that they are aware of this rule (that is, not deleting all the threads, or even some of them, when you leave or for any reason other than one or two obviously inappropriate threads).

Post by sprintcyclist on Sep 20th, 2007 at 12:18pm
yes, it's pretty unfortunate . In a way I guess it is intellectual information of ozpolitic ?.

It's my policy to not delete any comments.
The spiritual forum has been quiet for a while, that's just how it goes.
I see no reason to delete all the threads on it ever.

Title: new board ideas
Post by freediver on Dec 28th, 2006 at 11:56am
As the general board gets busier I will look at adding new boards. If you have any good ideas for boards, or feedback on these ideas, please speak up.

some ideas:

Thinking globally - foreign policy and global events. How have other countries solved the problems we now face? Lets learn from their mistakes.

Chat - dismount thine soapbox and enter.

Technically speaking - many issues boil down to the technical merits of various ideas, and there are a lot of bad ideas floating around. Debunk them here.

Elections

Title: Re: new board ideas
Post by freediver on Feb 19th, 2007 at 6:15pm
It's been fairly busy lately, so I'll create one new board for global issues. I'll move any new topics to it, but not until they have been bumped off the front page of the general board (though I would prefer you to start new in the global board if they fit there). For the moment I'll leave the links from other pages on this site directed to the general board. Let me know if you would prefer they went to the main forum page, which lists all the boards. I went through the archives and grouped a lot of the topics according to which new board I will (eventually) move them to. I was a bit unsure how to split topics between environment and technical, so I'll wait a few days before creating the tech/science board. I tended to favour the tech/science board where there was a choice. What do you think?

General - the one we currently have

feedback - already have
picture http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168580980
'strange' posts http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169505309
Posting pics http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171871058
Links that work.... http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171965834
How to post pics-- http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171900980
sorry about that http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172112324
freediver http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172439174
acronyms http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172481590

Chat - dismount thine soapbox and enter. One rule - no politics!
sudoku solver http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164947254
Merry Christmas everyone http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1166751727
New here http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167880857
New here http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168099597
stung http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168759702
link http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172470278
Hey Mantra-- http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172166555

Thinking globally - foreign policy, global events and universal issues. How have other countries solved the problems we now face? Lets learn from their mistakes.  
should we intervene in Fiji? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165569833
live cow fails to plug mud hole http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167458081
US Democracy flawed http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167367813
Canadian court redefines family: 3 parents http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167872632
New Ambassador http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167962356
Saddam to hang in 30 days or less. http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167223614
Poll: 9/11 Conspiracy put to death... http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164078969
When will Bush Blair and Howard be Hung for Crimes http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168206505
China bans buddhist festival http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168504976
spammer convicted in US http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169100225
Iraq http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169703420
Bloggers sued for political comment http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169165417
US offers to halve farm subsidies http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170313931
Hemp farming legalised in the US http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171324708
Is Islam inherently violent? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170642873
Where were you when 911 occured? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171805180
Iraq: Are more military personnel necessary? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171963794
Why we should allow whaling http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168478179
Exxon still funding lies http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165729197
Flatulent passenger grounds US flight http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165472604
Limit Muslim immmigration-- Australia is warned. http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171638752
Should Australia and New Zealand merge? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170029462
Call to action on David Hicks http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170817283
Bloody Boat People http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172211223
SBS Insight program...David Hicks.. http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172466549
Poll: ore evil? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172151665
This is funny. http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172226653
- A serious question..... http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172539429

Post by freediver on Feb 19th, 2007 at 6:15pm
Technically speaking - science, technology and engineering. Many issues boil down to the technical merits of various ideas, and there are a lot of bad ideas floating around. Debunk them here. Bring the evolution debates here too - we aim to promote free and open debate about science, correct common misconceptions and communicate current scientific understanding of important issues. You can explore the boundaries between science, ethics, religion, history, and the arts.  
Why nuclear will win the debate http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167943446
Hot Rocks Energy http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167960457
10 more causes of obesity http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164689657
Cloned meat may enter Australia http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167989007
Poll: Are we anti-intellectuals? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164078969
nuclear report misleading http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164173429
Solar Power is the answer... http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167872910
kids food deceptively labelled 'healthy' http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169422081
carbon offsets http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168495015
scientists censored on climate change http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170222422
The problem with biofuels http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169519086
Evolution v's Religion http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167973400
Perth medico: "HIV does not exist" http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170145353
dammed and diverted - water policy http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1166414069
Greg Hunt exposes Lib's economic ignorance http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1164935879
Green Tax Shift http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168051896
colour blind?? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172539575

Boycotts - what companies are messing with your community? Expose their activities here.  
Exxon still funding lies http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165729197

Elections - please don't flood the other boards at election time. Bring it here instead.  
NSW state election March 24 http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171585155
Poll: Who's going to win the next federal election? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171471841

Environment (inc water)
Dems: close farms to save Murray http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167989298
Century mine poisons Karumba, FNQLD http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168309362
should the shark die? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165127824
bunya nuts (photo) http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169505695
Poll: SEQ to get referendum on recycled water http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165390401
Sewerage Water... what's the big deal? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171638533
Why we should allow whaling http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168478179
light bulbs to be banned by 2009 http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171931382
wild guavas fruiting in Brisbane http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172709201

Fishing  
attention all QLD fishermen http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1166680329
Overfishing still a problem in Australia http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170314149

Electoral Reform
Is democracy over-rated? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171523780

Post by DonaldTrump on Feb 20th, 2007 at 3:32am
My advice:

Don't try to overcomplicate things and just keep it simple.

I don't think it's a good idea to create too many categories.

If you see an over-representation of a particular topic in one of the categories... simply create a different section for it to free up more space in another particular forum.

PS. You might wanna invent an 'Islam' section for me.  :P

Post by mantra on Feb 20th, 2007 at 10:02pm
Hi Freediver - sounds like a great idea - especially a technical board.  Some posters enjoy getting into a subject deeply and often it's distracting to posters who prefer a more simple approach (similar to myself).

Maybe a global issues/politics board and a technical board would attract a broader audience gradually.  If you had the three categories, general, global and technical - there would be something for everyone.

Post by freediver on Feb 27th, 2007 at 7:30pm
How about this for a new board? I will probably do this one tomorrow.

Politicians Suck
In depth analysis of this peculiar phenomenon.

Is Garrett a sellout? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1165882579
Dems: close farms to save Murray http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1167989298
Pauline does a Mark Latham http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1168934143
Ian Campbell dumped, Howard reshuffles cabinet http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1169517549
who funds our political parties? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1170380158
NSW state election March 24 http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171585155
Who's going to win the next federal election? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171471841
Ellison's drug strategy: censorship http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1166067704
Is Howard losing his touch? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171239408
Which leader is LEAST multiculturalism friendly? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1171982188
If Howard wins election, will Costello take over? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172072028
Has Peter Garrett grown up? http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172167343
Our debt to Pauline http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172041500
Political Flair. http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172447303
West Aussie Labour party http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172494748
HANSON IS BACK ! ! ! http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172472462
- Howard is waiting for your call... http://ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1172826004

Title: 1st motion of The Sustainable Party
Post by sprintcyclist on Apr 25th, 2007 at 11:43pm
"That we rearrange the format of the rooms here to reflect the new Differing topics."

Sorry for the extra work freeminder.

Post by freediver on Apr 26th, 2007 at 8:40am
How would you suggest?

Post by sprintcyclist on Apr 26th, 2007 at 11:52am
As a suggestion.
Give The Sustainable party (TSP) its own forum, keep topics within there within their own threads.
Perhaps amalgamate general and politicians suck.  They are both for political comment ?
The newly vacated room can be assigned solely to TSP.

Post by freediver on Apr 26th, 2007 at 12:02pm
The politicians suck section is supposed to be for partisan issues - ie discussing elected politicians, political parties and their policies. I like to try to separate that from the general discussion because people tend to just cheer on their favourite party and support whatever they say rather than discussing the actual issues.

I will create a new board for the sustainability party if it continues to be a popular discussion topic.

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 26th, 2007 at 3:47pm
An Islam section for Donald Trump would be a good idea- he requested one and there is a lot of intrest on here in that topic.

He could maybe moderate it?

If he'd like to.

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 26th, 2007 at 3:49pm
The 'MODIFY" button is gone FD- now we cant correct spelling errors etc.

Can you put it back?

Post by sprintcyclist on Apr 26th, 2007 at 3:54pm
Not sure about the islam forum. Not that it is undeserving of its forum, but that it would probably only end up being a muslim bashing area.
prob not what you thought I may say.

If as a topic it comes up in general, so be it.

A seperate islam (bashing) forum here may reflect poorly on this whole site.

Post by freediver on Apr 26th, 2007 at 4:06pm
Maybe a terrorism board? Although a lot of DT's anti muslim comments are more about social integration. If he wants to run his own board he can make it about whatever he wants. We do have a lot of muslim topics spread between the global and general boards so maybe I could put them all in the one board. I'm a bit busy now. Is anyone interested in collecting for me the thread title and URL for each muslim topic, in the order they appear on each board, to check if there is enough to warrant a dedicated board? I don't want to split the forum up too finely.

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 26th, 2007 at 4:22pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 26th, 2007 at 3:54pm:
Not sure about the islam forum. Not that it is undeserving of its forum, but that it would probably only end up being a muslim bashing area.
prob not what you thought I may say.

If as a topic it comes up in general, so be it.

A seperate islam (bashing) forum here may reflect poorly on this whole site.

Sprint-

you love to bash muslims--if Cracker is anything to go by. :)

And I think a Islam section is very relevant in todays climate- would attract young and vigorous posters and they add 'health' to a forum

Post by freediver on Apr 26th, 2007 at 4:50pm
One thing I am thinking of doing is adding a page where I group all or most the threads by topic. This allows people to find threads on certain topics easily, but doesn't need a different board for each topic and some topics can be in multiple groups. Maybe this would be better for the muslim thing as there may not be many threads anyway. These are some of the groups I was thinking of:

GTS, ER, evolution, Muslims, Hilaly, Hicks, terrorism, environment, water

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 26th, 2007 at 10:53pm
that sounds good freediver. Would be user friendly as well.

Post by sprintcyclist on Apr 27th, 2007 at 1:00pm
That is a pretty good idea freediver.

What does GTS and ER stand for ?
Some topics may have a limited life - eg hicks now is quiet, as will hilali be shortly I would think. Some new ones will appear.

Good thnking.

I nominate oceans to do the thread collecting. She is a computer whizz :-)

Post by oceans_blue on Apr 27th, 2007 at 1:46pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 27th, 2007 at 1:00pm:
That is a pretty good idea freediver.

What does GTS and ER stand for ?
Some topics may have a limited life - eg hicks now is quiet, as will hilali be shortly I would think. Some new ones will appear.

Good thnking.

I nominate oceans to do the thread collecting. She is a computer whizz :-)

and I nominate sprint to be a thingmajig coz he,s sarcastic.

Post by freediver on Apr 27th, 2007 at 1:47pm
Green Tax Shift
Electoral Reform

Post by freediver on May 7th, 2007 at 2:19pm
I've started working on those thread lists:

Post by freediver on May 8th, 2007 at 9:33pm
I just added the list of all threads grouped by topic. Eventually I will get round to putting internal links to the topic sections within that page, from the list of topics at the top. I will also add a table people can use to make suggestions for changes.

Post by freediver on May 11th, 2007 at 9:12pm
I've made a few adjustments and will probably leave it as it is for a while. I have a few ideas for new topic groups, but I won't add them any time soon. Any suggestions would be welcome.

new topic ideas:            
Environment: energy and climate change            
Environment: GMOs and cloning            1167989007
Environment: GTS            
group elections, politicians, parties, electoral reform            
drugs - law and order            
add gardening and health to environment, or should I leave them - less political?            
politics: general,ideologies,quizes            
social issues: multiculturalism and racism            
rights (censorship/freedom of speech as sub group)            
education            
general science section with evolution as sub section            
news - celebrities            
states            

biggest groups:      pages      ideas?
forum      2      none
social      1.5      racism and minorities, multiculturalism, women and sexism
miscelaneous      1      politics: general (also stuff from social?)
Islam      1      local, Hilaly, aussie clerics, some other Islam group?
spirituality      1      
climate      0.8      
economics      0.7      

Post by freediver on May 18th, 2007 at 11:33pm
Is anyone using these lists other than me?

I have fixed it so it displays the original thread title rather than the title of the most recent post, and added in the date the thread was started and the original author. I've also added a list by author and a list by date.

Post by oceans_blue on May 19th, 2007 at 10:54am
Idea-sports forum.

Post by sprintcyclist on May 20th, 2007 at 1:08am
Hi Freediver and oceans,

Good idea to have an area like this for feedback.
Yes, I'ld tend to leave it as it is for a while to see how it settles down.
Too many changes are unsettling and more work for you for a dubious possible benefit.

The fewer the topic groups the better, to a degree. 7 should be plenty.
Probably how you have it listed by the "nearness" of the most recent posting is as good a rating as any.

As a list of the 7 to be considered/negotiated/proposed :

1/ Political
2/ Environmental
3/ Relationship
4/ International
5/ Technical
6/ Spiritual/Philosophical

hhmmm, 6 might be enough.

Thanks

Post by sprintcyclist on Nov 16th, 2007 at 10:51pm
Hi F/D,
Deepthought has volunteered for moderator of the relationships forum.  He has my vote.
That forum has had few postings by the number there whereas it prob should be one of the most popular ones.
The moderator is awol and has little input there.

Post by oceansblue on Nov 17th, 2007 at 3:47pm
Deepthought would be an excellent moderator. Go DT!!!!

Post by sprintcyclist on Nov 17th, 2007 at 11:11pm
Thanks oceans

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.