Member Run Boards >> Travel >> Where am I? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1778405559 Message started by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 7:32pm |
Title: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 7:32pm
It’s 3 hour flight from cold grey Melbourne. Very warm and humid.
First time I’ve ever been to this area. Reminds me very much like Fiji. I’m considering scuba diving tomorrow! It’s not like jumping from a plane! If I don’t do it tomorrow where there’s a chance, I might never do it otherwise! I have snorkelled and breathe okay with mouthpiece under water. So I reckon I will be okay! I’m determined! ;D Here’s a photo along the way from airport. E8094EE4-EEB6-448F-8151-A950620DC000.jpeg (105 KB | 7
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Frank on May 10th, 2026 at 8:23pm Sophia wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 7:32pm:
Nouvelle-Calédonie |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Gordon on May 10th, 2026 at 8:42pm
FNQ.
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Bobby. on May 10th, 2026 at 9:03pm
Near here?
https://www.realestate.com.au/property/28-keith-williams-dr-cardwell-qld-4849/ Cardwell, QLD 4849 |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 9:57pm Frank wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 8:23pm:
I’ve not left the country, so no, not New Caledonia, but I’ve been there in past, very tropical. And expensive! Mon dieu! |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 9:58pm Bobby. wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 9:03pm:
Nope, you’ve gone further north of where I’m located. But looks the same. And muggy too! |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 9:59pm Gordon wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 8:42pm:
Not too far north. It’s been said to be the primary gateway to Great Barrier Reef. |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 10th, 2026 at 10:01pm
This is a shopping centre near the accommodation.
7909F633-20D2-4D4F-BD15-0C6DF56DCEE3.jpeg (103 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Baronvonrort on May 10th, 2026 at 10:40pm Sophia wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 7:32pm:
Somewhere near Airlie beach |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Bobby. on May 11th, 2026 at 4:13am Baronvonrort wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 10:40pm:
Yes - I was going to say near Mackay. |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 7:47am Baronvonrort wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 10:40pm:
Yes! Well done! Staying in Arlie Beach and about to go to reef world. Weather a bit dismal! What is odd … the Whitsundays airport in the absolute middle of nowhere? A34B40EB-EF7C-4DD9-B1AE-CC05204E3D37.jpeg (99 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by tallowood on May 11th, 2026 at 10:21am
Where are all humans gone?
Is it future world driven by AI? |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 2:42pm tallowood wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 10:21am:
Huh! ;D all undercover. Wind and rain! And the catamaran for hours in rough water with people around me vomiting in sickie bags! I put a small towel from my carry pack to my nose to stop smelling it. We were not allowed to get up from our seats due to the rough ride! I have to admit I enjoy those wild boat rides bashing against waves! ;D Didn’t bother with expense of diving because of crap weather and low viability. Next time. Here’s a wave bashing against window! A314DA65-FD24-4312-96BF-B3F6972F62AD.jpeg (41 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 2:46pm
Under water observatory. Love these silver fish that catch the light through the water.
97715747-0277-4C66-84C8-F04D96879B07.jpeg (111 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by tallowood on May 11th, 2026 at 3:00pm Sophia wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 2:42pm:
It is all part of sea world fun ;D Do you feel the ground is rocking and swaying when back on dry land? |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Gordon on May 11th, 2026 at 7:09pm
I haven't been further north than Noosa for more than 20 years.
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 7:35pm tallowood wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 3:00pm:
No actually, I felt instant calm (well my stomach did!) Trouble is, we are advised via tv screens, to remain seated! If I could stand and walk about I would be better off! Sitting down feeling the tumbler action sucks bricks! >:( Just got back half hour ago and same rough ride! I fought hard to not vomit this time! Ginger lollies. And a cup of ice cubes. Here’s a nice side swipe of catamaran! F7B58650-03B3-4A65-8B2A-CB85D282A43C.jpeg (70 KB | 6
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 7:37pm Gordon wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 7:09pm:
I’m waiting (and hoping next 2 days) are picture perfect weather like all the brochures show ::) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 7:39pm
Went in a submarine viewer thingy and here’s my coral reef photo.
E2578C67-89EB-4EF2-B3F4-579D9C40AB45.jpeg (128 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 11th, 2026 at 7:41pm
Tomorrow if a free day to just walk around discovering area. Twenty minute walk to marina.
Will post pics tomorrow. |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Bobby. on May 11th, 2026 at 7:49pm Sophia wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 7:41pm:
I went here a long time ago - Club Crocodile resort - the water is so warm you can stay in it for hours if you wanted to. https://greatbarrierreef.org/islands/long-island/ |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 12th, 2026 at 9:02pm
Today’s photos would be us walking in the rain! ;D
But it’s not cold. We managed our second walk while sun shone. Walked along boardwalk to the Marina … we’re considering walking further for half hour to the shops but saw a dark cloud coming over from that direction. We didn’t bring our raincoats this time. Decided to walk back to accommodation. By the time we got to reception it started pouring rain! We made it in time! Anyway…here’s today’s pics. E487F463-3950-46F6-8AE3-003B351C6F39.jpeg (85 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 12th, 2026 at 9:03pm
B4D1E4B6-AED3-48EF-A0C9-6CC693D75CC0.jpeg (107 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 12th, 2026 at 9:13pm Bobby. wrote on May 11th, 2026 at 7:49pm:
Looks like a nice place! All these names they have with the word crocodile! Our accomodation has a Croc Club ;D ::) Beaches aren’t very appealing. Big rocks …to stop erosion? Must be big storms when they come! D8E08BDF-73E1-4512-B9CA-F63CF06BE61A.jpeg (116 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 13th, 2026 at 7:39am
Our second excursion, at the pier again, and it’s raining! Maybe we change the name Whitsundays to Wetsundays ;D
On big cat on way to Whitehaven Beach. At least it’s not as tough as other day on water. 9D9D5D4F-34C8-4B75-B8E1-5C62AD45F1E0.jpeg (99 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 13th, 2026 at 7:41am
C05FB848-7418-4468-9DB6-AF32B96ABD88.jpeg (64 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 13th, 2026 at 7:41am
215F4FFA-41BE-49B0-A4B9-279467149BEE.jpeg (87 KB | 4
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 13th, 2026 at 9:00pm
More rain this morning, then a tougher ride on catamaran to Whitehaven Beach, and finally the sun shone. Yay!
Beautiful isolated unspoilt beach and no service on mobile phone! We made friends with some Goannas that decided to keep us company. Some people say in top of table tops just to keep their feet away from them! That was funny. I just kept my feet up in the seat! Goanna move so quietly and almost camouflaged! 48E809E1-20FE-43D1-BA84-5FC6D5ACD032.jpeg (208 KB | 3
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Bobby. on May 13th, 2026 at 9:35pm Looks like the Goannas are almost tame - they just want something nice to eat - that's all. :) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Baronvonrort on May 15th, 2026 at 12:43am Sophia wrote on May 13th, 2026 at 7:41am:
The Trimaran with white wing mast looks like the old Vodaphone ORMA 60 Tri. ORMA Tris are 60ft long 60ft wide 100ft mast It would be the fastest offshore sailboat in Australia capable of doing Sydney to Hobart in less than 24 hours. Not allowed in that race it would slaughter the Maxis. Avatar is more cruiser design they do sailing trips out of Airlie google Avatar trimaran avatar-sailing-boat-sunset.jpg (203 KB | 3
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 15th, 2026 at 11:04am
Funny isn’t it…I’m back in Melbourne and it’s beautiful blue skies and warm sunshine! Pfft!
Baron, I wish I could put a short video in here (unless there’s a way, let me know) to show how wild it was on the Cat in the turbulent Coral sea! There was one wave where the Cat went into the dip and I saw the sea level half way up the window! I mean really, these catamarans are going between islands every day for years! At Hamilton Island, we were at the terminal and saw heaps of tradies at knock off time getting on board to go back to wherever. They must see some wild shyte hey! Speaking of Hamilton island, everyone drives around in a golf buggy! Loved it! I noticed an airplane take off so they have direct 3 hour flights into Hamilton Island I found out! That’s next on my “go to” list. And golf buggy here we come! ;D What a wild hectic 4 days away we had! Glad to be back home to recoup! ;D 700DCC2D-721B-4628-A33A-71B3F76DD345.jpeg (141 KB | 5
) |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Gnads on May 17th, 2026 at 11:13am Bobby. wrote on May 10th, 2026 at 9:03pm:
;D No snorkelling there - the place is full of crocs. |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Gnads on May 17th, 2026 at 11:28am
Went to Airlie on honeymoon in Oct 1977. Drove up there in a white 74 model Holden HQ Kingswood. My cousin was working at the then new Airlie Beach Resort.
We stayed with her - did a few tours out from Shute Harbour. A float plane Pilot was killed whilst we were there, he clipped powerlines on the hills around Shute Harbour when he was coming in for a landing - flipped the plane over and into the water .... by the time a couple of local divers got to the plane and got him out he had drowned. :( Anyways like a lot of places on the east coast that become popular tourist attractions I believe Airlie is over commercialised & geared for the foreign tourist(expensive). Just like the Gold Coast, the Sunshine Coast, Hervey Bay and Yeppoon. I have no plans to go back to Airlie. I could tell the old Honeymooners joke but I won't. ;D |
Title: Re: Where am I? Post by Sophia on May 17th, 2026 at 12:09pm Gnads wrote on May 17th, 2026 at 11:28am:
What’s the old joke? Anyway, I think Airlie Beach is over commercialised. There is no nice beach there! It’s only good for the catamaran terminal to go to other islands. The only place I wouldn’t mind going to stay (direct flight is good, with free bus pick up going around every 40 mins) is Hamilton Island. Your honeymoon sounds better …and better car too! We drove to Merimbula 1976 (before it was a good tourist area) in my 1968 HR Holden. Which btw…the alternator went defunct! We couldn’t turn car off as it wouldn’t start again. Found an old fashioned service station that had old car parts and he had an alternator once fitted, it worked! Geez hey! Memories ;D Decided Merimbula was boring, weather wasn’t hot enough for beach, so after 3 days drive back home! |