General Discussion >> Chat >> dumbbell-only workout http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1768733982 Message started by freediver on Jan 18th, 2026 at 8:59pm |
Title: dumbbell-only workout Post by freediver on Jan 18th, 2026 at 8:59pm
This is a routine I have been working on, with the goal of saving money by not going to the gym, saving space (no complicated equipment) as well as making exercise more convenient. It uses mostly dumbbells, with some other cheap equipment.
Every day: Pullups: get yourself one of these: https://www.kmart.com.au/product/chin-up-bar-42259992/ Note that they will punch a hole in your wall if you have gyprock. I reinforced my door frame by putting a 70 X 35 block of wood above it, and a 30 X 30 aluminium angle above that, for the top to sit in. This has the added advantage of making it higher. I do pullups, then leg raises (stomach muscle exercises) then switch to palms forward and do shoulder raises - like a pullup, but not bending the elbows. Pushups: get yourself something like this: https://www.kmart.com.au/product/push-up-bars-43643974. The one I have is slightly inclined. I noticed that when I started out I could only do a small number of each. As I increased that number, it prevented me from having to get larger dumbbells for biceps and triceps, as I did not have the energy left. They double up on the muscle groups, except that pushups are the only pec exercises I do. 3 day cycle: day 1: run Once you are fit and lose some weight, get some 1 kg foam covered weights to run with, or even 2kg. Try kmart. I read some advice online saying this was bad for your joints and gait, however I find that they slow me down a bit and I suspect I put less stress on my knees when I use them. So I am not thrashing my knees by going flat out on the shorter runs. day 2 and 3: dumbbell workout Aim for 3 X 10 for all the arm and shoulder exercises. Increase to 1 X 30 then switch to larger weight (I didn't buy a full set of dumbbells). Some of them I do half with a heavy weight then switch down when I cannot do 10 reps. The back and leg exercises I typically do a straight 30 reps, to keep the weight a bit lighter. This is more of an aerobic exercise. Bicep curls. Tricep raises. Be careful with these - google some youtube videos and check the advice for not damaging your shoulders. Deltoid raises. Same advice as above, and listen to the bit about shoulder impingement in particular. I do 4 different directions, 2 on each day. Day 1: scapular plane (thumbs pointing up, slightly in front of shoulder) and then bent forward with my back horizontal - be careful also not to stress your back by flexing it while carrying weight. Day 2: halfway between previous 2 to avoid shoulder impingement, ie bent forward slightly, back straight, then 4th direction is straight out front. Do not lift above shoulder height. Shrugs - will need 2 heavy dumbbells for this. Be extra careful to do it slowly and no 'drop' the weight onto your joints. Elbows slightly bent. Calf raises - use the same 2 heavy dumbbells that you use for shrugs. Put the front of your feet on a block of wood to get more range. Hamstring raises. This is one of the tricky ones to do without a machine. See youtube vid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dY7BmNR7RJk I do mine on a small single step rather than flat ground, with my legs hanging out over the step, and use lots of padding so I am not resting on my kneecaps. I use a whole 4 pack of these, still in the plastic: https://www.bunnings.com.au/eva-50-x-50cm-black-solid-interlock-foam-mats-4-pack_p0126584 as well as something like this, but from aldi: https://www.bunnings.com.au/trojan-extra-large-kneeling-pad_p0280914 Back and glut exercise: this one I came up with myself, initially based on advice from a physio on lower back strengthening. Start standing straight with arms out straight in front. Keep hands together. Swing arms up above your head and then further back, to stretch your back backwards, then reverse. Then, bend at hips only to touch the ground (keep arms straight, back straight and shoulders at 90 degrees). Then, bend at knees and ankles to get into a squatting position (again, keep arms straight, back straight, and shoulders at 90 degrees). Then reverse to get back into starting position. general advice: do not bend your back with load on it. In particular, do not do situps. Lunges Another lower back exercise: lie on stomach on a table or bench, with your legs hanging over the edge. Lower your toes to touch the ground. Again, bend only at hips, keep back and knees straight. Then raise again and hold in planking position for a second. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by freediver on Jan 18th, 2026 at 9:00pm
You can get cheap dumbbells from kmart. Even cheaper here: https://kingkongfitness.com.au/collections/rubber-hex-dumbbells
Get the rubber covered ones, especially if you have tiles. It's worth forking out the extra money. I don't bother with the sets that are adjustable, as they are a bit tedious and inconvenient. It is also worth looking round for second hand ones. Watch a few youtube videos on each exercise before doing it. They are full of good advice. Generic advice for all weightlifting exercises: start with light weights engage your core listen to your body - pay attention to any pain, instability, or something does doesn't feel right. do them slowly - use your muscle on the way up and the way down, do not use your muscles and tendons as a spring keep the tension on the target muscle at the beginning and the end - don't allow the weight to be carried by your joint don't snap your joints fully opened or fully closed, stop just short of the full range of motion for most exercises Keep joint slightly bent if loaded by not flexing - eg elbows slightly bent for calf raises, shrugs, and deltoid raises. Knees slightly bent for arm and shoulder exercises? |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 18th, 2026 at 11:37pm freediver wrote on Jan 18th, 2026 at 9:00pm:
I studied sports science at Institute of Technology in the late 1980s. Muscles contract concentric (getting shorter) and eccentric (getting longer). Most people make the mistake of ignoring the eccentric phase you can always lower more weight than you can lift so work eccentric phase by lowering over 4 seconds. Nautilus was a gym machine in the 80s they really pushed the negative contraction phase. I have weights bench with lat pulldown bought it when i was 18 still have it. 1 Barbell a couple of 20Kg weights a few dumbells. It's cheaper than gym membership you can't really wear it out. I work out every second day you need rest day to recover you start going soft around 96 hours after last workout. Chest- i do bench press flat and inclined with barbell. Back- i do close grip Lat pulldowns and wide grip in front of head which are just like a pullup. Shoulders- Lateral Raises with dumbells followed by military press with dumbells. No rest in between.Doing it in this order pre exhausts deltoids with lateral raises so lighter weight for MP. Triceps assist with MP and not used in LR so shoulders are not limited by triceps failing before shoulders. Finish with rear delt flys with dumbells ( bent over upper body horizontal to floor) Biceps- dumbell curls and finish with supinated curls (starts palm down turning to palm up) Biceps have 2 heads long head bends elbow and raises arm forward at shoulder short head supinates hand. Triceps- Start with dips then tricep push downs with lat pulldown attatchment. Legs- Squats with barbell a lot of walking and bike riding with martial arts kick workouts on full contact pad. Usually on day off from upper body. Abs- Leg lifts raising lower back off the ground sit ups (leaving lower back on ground) and knee rock backs. Legendary ABS PDF free download here- https://www.google.com/search?q=legendary+abs+pdf&sca_esv=651164c6481fa95a&ei=ltNsaZyvNuaR4-EPlIbp4A0&oq=legendary+abs&gs_lp=Egxnd3Mtd2l6LXNlcnAiDWxlZ2VuZGFyeSBhYnMqAggBMgUQLhiABDIFEAAYgAQyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABDIGEAAYFhgeMgYQABgWGB4yBhAAGBYYHjIGEAAYFhgeMgYQABgWGB4yBhAAGBYYHkieUFD9DFi9LnABeAGQAQCYAeQDoAGDHaoBCTAuMy41LjMuMrgBAcgBAPgBAZgCDqACmiCoAgrCAhYQABiABBhDGLQCGOcGGIoFGOoC2AEBwgIKEAAYgAQYQxiKBcICEBAuGIAEGLEDGEMYgwEYigXCAg4QLhiABBixAxiDARiKBcICDhAuGIAEGLEDGNEDGMcBwgILEC4YgAQYsQMYgwHCAggQABiABBixA8ICCxAAGIAEGLEDGIMBwgILEAAYgAQYkQIYigXCAhEQLhiABBixAxiDARiKBRiNBsICDRAAGIAEGLEDGEMYigXCAhMQLhiABBixAxjRAxhDGMcBGIoFwgIOEAAYgAQYsQMYgwEYigXCAhIQABiABBixAxhDGIoFGEYY-QHCAggQLhiABBixA8ICERAuGIAEGLEDGNEDGIMBGMcBmAMp8QVEEqbrjOoVuroGBAgBGAeSBwkxLjIuNS4zLjOgB668AbIHCTAuMi41LjMuM7gH8B_CBwczLTUuOC4xyAfVAoAIAA&sclient=gws-wiz-serp When i was younger doing the usual 3 sets of 10-12 reps with exercises now doing 2 sets around 20-25 reps working to failure. Dr Schoenfeld has done studies showing weight isn't as relevant for muscle growth as long as you work to failure. Heavier weights will build fast twitch muscle fibres for explosive power lighter weights will build slow twitch fibres for endurance. https://www.google.com/search?q=Brad+Schoenfeld%2C+PhD%0D%0A%0D%0A&sca_esv=0d39acdbfaa95ae9&source=hp&ei=M3BSaeKfFqTAvr0PsMyt8AM&iflsig=AOw8s4IAAAAAaVJ-Q43vTTSNSavd7qtO9w-oqULuPZRC&ved=0ahUKEwiiha_E4uKRAxUkoK8BHTBmCz4Q4dUDCBU&uact=5&oq=Brad+Schoenfeld%2C+PhD%0D%0A%0D%0A&gs_lp=Egdnd3Mtd2l6IhZCcmFkIFNjaG9lbmZlbGQsIFBoRAoKSABQAFgAcAB4AJABAJgBAKABAKoBALgBA8gBAPgBAvgBAZgCAKACAJgDAJIHAKAHALIHALgHAMIHAMgHAIAIAA&sclient=gws-wiz If you're doing weights with good form and slower you will be using lighter weights which will reduce chance of injury. Bring it up over 2 seconds lower it in 4 seconds. I find really good results doing 20-23 reps with burn starting around 19 and failure to do anymore at 23 reps.It was a study Dr Terry Ly showed me Burning is Lactic Acid which is Oxygen deprived muscle. Dr Terry Ly was our main teacher for Sport Science be was built like Bolo in Bruce Lee movie Enter the Dragon. He did one set to failure his thoughts were once lactic acid starts building up you have used all the muscle has no point doing any more.He also stressed consistancy so no missed workouts. I have worked in Gyms where owners pushed Steroids which gave incredible gains on 6 week programs. Long term they were not better off. Nutrition is a vital part for building muscle and losing bodyfat. Don't eat pre packaged junk get back to home cooking with lean beef/lamb/chicken/fish/pork veggies and fruit. A Cardiologist friend said if food package has more than 3 ingedients you don't recognise put it back on the shelf. Real food doesn't need ingredient list. You need around 1 gram protein per Kg bodyweight 100 grams of chicken/beef/lamb/fish only yields around 28 grams protein therefore a 90Kg person needs at least 300 grams of this per day. You can get good results without much equipment a small investment for bench and weights would be cheaper than gym membership and last a long time. 16 year old kids were bench pressing around 250Lbs when i went to high school in the US they had their own gym at home. RFK Jnr was in a recent video doing 25 pullups at 78 years of age none of the younger people who challenged him could match that. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 18th, 2026 at 11:54pm
I was a Meat lumper when i was younger carring 165 Kg beef hindquarters on one shoulder.
I would unload around 300 tons of beef on a Wednesday morning from a truck into aircraft containers for export to Japan. Now my focus has shifted to what is the minimum you could do to get really good results in a time efficient way. You should push hard enough for muscles to get that burning feeling (Lactic acid) and do a few more reps. Build up slowly if you're sore for 3 days after you pushed too hard this is a big mistake many personal trainers make. If weight loss bodyfat not muscle is the goal then you really need to look at what you're eating. You can build muscle and reduce bodyfat without going hungry if you're eating the right foods. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 19th, 2026 at 3:45am
I use really light ones, pretty slowly.
Light as in 2.5 kgs all up, this is the bar, locks and the weights themselves. they so small, light and 'unintimidating' they are emotionally very easy to pick up . I use them more, because they are more inviting. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by aquascoot on Jan 19th, 2026 at 6:26am
Good stuff.
At my age and running up and down hills with chainsaws, sprayers, star pickets , wire , I have found flexibility to be as important as strength. Plenty of good programs out there. Son bought me a " sled" for backward walking pulling a weight which fixed gluts and hamstrings. The McGill big 3 will fix your back. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Gordon on Jan 19th, 2026 at 7:29am
A few baseline things to keep in mind.
Exercise is not effective for weight loss, you can't outrun your fork. If you're older than 50 you need to be very careful not to injure yourself, the recovery time and opportunity cost of not working out is bigger than any benefit of doing hero weights. After a few years of analysing the programs of online trainers, I've moved to full body workouts with mostly compound exercises and a few extra focused exercises. I do the extras every 2nd workout or if I'm pressed for time or tired. Compound exercises in bold (which I never skip) and it's important to do in this order. Squats - mix of goblet and sumo squats with a kettlebell Glute kickback Calf raises Dead lifts - I use a dead lift machine Chest press - most of the time I use a chest press machine, sometimes do dumbbell press and sometimes I prework the chest with pecdeck. Lat pulldown Bicep curls Triceps on cable machine Dips Pushups Farmers carry (lucky last) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by chimera on Jan 19th, 2026 at 8:13am Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 18th, 2026 at 11:54pm:
That's 1800 loads in 240 minutes. So it's 8 seconds from truck, take to container and back. I used to carry trucks from the freeway over a river and lift them to top of high-rises for concrete pour. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 19th, 2026 at 1:56pm Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 18th, 2026 at 11:54pm:
So much for health and safety then. Hubby works for a food industry, and recently, 20 kg buckets (gravy, sauces etc) were scrapped and not allowed, now it’s down to 10 kgs in plastic bladder bags! |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 19th, 2026 at 2:01pm
Today I’m punished! We went to the chocolatier place, had hot chocolate drink, pizza, and churros dipped in chocolate. I can feel type 2 sizzling on the edge! ;D
I admit too much chocolate and now I must cleanse! But gee, nice once in a blue moon for a naughty treat :) That hot chocolate drink was the best I’ve ever had!!! And Sprint, I find 2.5 kg dumbbells perfect weight to use also. 91CC2B50-2ECA-4928-A809-C6427ED905FB.jpeg (120 KB | 2
) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:02pm Sophia wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 1:56pm:
The union limit for Qantas was 35 kg back then. Largest Hindquarter i saw was 178 Kg the one on my right shoulder is 165 Kg. Export meat to Japan was Grain fed Mitsubishi was owners name on invoice. One of the Meat inspectors was a former Pro Wrestler Sid who wrestled Hulk Hogan a few times. Hulk Hogan was around 144 Kg i could have body slammed him no worries. I was around 98Kg 8% bodyfat which is really lean. Not many people could do this for a few hours each morning pay was just over $100 per hour. Pay for leading Aerobics class was around $25 back then MEAT_rs.jpg (122 KB | 2
) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by chimera on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:06pm
8 seconds per load and back. No-one in the way, you were running for 4 hours.
(gotta love that woollen jersey on the meat, for health regs) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:09pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 6:26am:
I had older friend in Qld a Cane farmer he was ridicously strong at 80. Big problem some have with stretching is they only hold it for 10 seconds they should hold stretch for at least 30 seconds. You have to relax when stretching it's obvious you can't stretch a tense muscle. Proprioceptive neuromuscular facilitation stretching is best for faster results you relax and stretch for 30 seconds then tense muscle up with isometric (not moving) contraction. More here- https://www.google.com/search?q=pnf+stretching&sca_esv=75946126d91b099d&source=hp&ei=vtdtaYjeFf2Xvr0PjMWJqQI&iflsig=AFdpzrgAAAAAaW3lzhXs4iUSEz-Djqi21TrGg0NnyKxG&oq=pnf+stretc&gs_lp=Egdnd3Mtd2l6IgpwbmYgc3RyZXRjKgIIADIIEAAYgAQYsQMyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgAQyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgAQyBRAAGIAEMgUQABiABDIFEAAYgARI5B1QAFi6CHAAeACQAQCYAfsGoAG-E6oBCTItMS41LTEuMrgBAcgBAPgBAZgCBKACoRSYAwCSBwkyLTEuNS0yLjGgB5AVsgcJMi0xLjUtMi4xuAehFMIHBTMtMy4xyAdMgAgA&sclient=gws-wiz&sei=yddtaaHgEvbW1e8Pza7e2Ac |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:14pm chimera wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:06pm:
Export meat is wrapped in cheesecloth so no worries there. Did i put a time on it or have you plucked that from your arse? When meat is loaded near back door a couple of seconds it takes longer as truck is unloaded as you walk further into truck. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by freediver on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:16pm
Wow. You were earning enough to afford to go to the gym after work.
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by chimera on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:23pm chimera wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 8:13am:
That's from your figures. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:36pm Gordon wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 7:29am:
Squats also work Glutes i wouldn't do extra for them. I would substitute side leg raises while standing. Straighten leg the raise it to the side as high as you can lower it one foot then raise again keep going until it burns then do other leg. Don't go down too far with squats your calf muscle will rest against hamstrings levering knee joint open which isn't good for knees.Don't let calves touch hamstrings when doing squats. Walking up stairs is also good for calves if you think about it, never take escalator or lift. I will post a pic later of shoe modification which works well for calf workout. Shin splints a common injury are caused by muscle imbalance so bring toes up and walk on heels for a bit to work Tibialis anterior (muscle that runs down front of shin) to prevent Shin splints which could lead to stree fractures in really bad cases. I would forget pushups if doing bench press do chest press flat and inclined to work upper pecs. Do pecdeck last to finish off. Missus is a Gymnast she says they made everyone go really slow on way down with pullups similar to Lat pulldown. Study with ECG monitoring showed pulldowns in front of neck gave much higher electrical activity in back muscles therefore more work and negative contraction was also much higher. Do supinated curls for Biceps to finish off, Bi =2 so not doing supinated curls means you're not working all biceps. Start palm facing down rotate wrist so palm up at finish then rotate palm down when lowering. I would do dips before tricep cable machine. Cable machine has elbows locked by your side where dips adduct shoulder ( elbows move back when lowering) which focus on long head of Triceps. Triceps = 3 so dips straighten long head adduct shoulder straighten elbow and extend shoulder. Don't go too low with dips to prevent shoulder injury. Inner and outer triceps are worked by straightening elbow. Not sure what farmers carry is i doubt i would do it. Try eating an apple 2-3 hours before workout let me know how you go with intensity and endurance. Apples do improve lung function. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:42pm freediver wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:16pm:
Didn't really need to workout when carrying the beef got enough exercise at work. I bought weights and bench around 18 years of age still have them. Cast iron weights don't wear out. Plastic or rubber coated weights will eventually lose their coating. If damaging a floor is a concern don't drop weights or get some carpet or a mat where you workout. Haven't been into a gym for decades and the last time i was going in i was getting paid for personal training. I wouldn't recommend gym memberships it's cheaper long term to buy your own gear. You can split workouts at home into chest back shoulders in the morning then arms at night or whatever is convenient. You can do a workout in less time than it takes to travel to the gym and back. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Gordon on Jan 19th, 2026 at 6:54pm Baronvonrort wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 5:36pm:
Walking up stairs Always!! Do pecdeck last to finish off. This is counter-intuative, but I do pecdeck first so I tire the muscle, then do a lighter weight for chest press, then do high rep sets with a lighter weight. do dips before tricep I do dips,pushups and farmers carry as a finisher/cardo routine, doing rounds of them until I'm totally cooked. Farmers carry is carrying as much as you can (about 80% body weight total) in each hand and walking for about 1 min or until you start swearing profusely, whichever happens first :) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 20th, 2026 at 12:02am Gordon wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 6:54pm:
Walking downstairs is also good leg muscles get eccentric contraction not as intense still good. Pecdec will define area around sternum which separates left from right pecs. Bench press will help with increasing size. If machine doesn't have enough weight keep doing it your way otherwise i would do pecdec last. Dips work mainly on long head on triceps (middle) because elbow is moving in and out great for increasing size. Pushdowns keep elbows static by your side good for inner and outer triceps they don't do long head. If you do pushdowns first long head doesn't get good workout which is why dips should be done first. I wouldn't do farmers carry might be an injury risk for older people. Saw a study 35 years ago where bodybuilder was X rayed doing heavy squats showed no stress on spine as long as muscles were taking the load.If you're fatigued at end might be a risk for injury if muscles stop taking load. Don't know anyone who does or has done that. Don't rest too long between sets you want a cumulative fatigue effect which pushes fatigue peak even higher with each set. You don't want to fully recover between sets so keep rest around 30 seconds to a minute. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 20th, 2026 at 12:20am
If you have a pool or beach nearby and a kickboard you can get a decent workout.
If you stand in armpit deep water hold kickboard with both hands flat side vertical long side left to right. Pushing forward works chest and pulling it back is like rowing to work back. It's a push-pull exercise the faster you try the harder it is. Move into waist deep water then lean forward push forward for shoulders and pull it back for lats. You can also do bicep curls and tricep pushdowns with board. Beauty of this you're working opposing muscle groups at same time so time efficient. Abs- Lower back can be worked by holding board in front and bending forward like a crunch then erector spinae muscles in lower back get worked when you straighten up. Obliques (side abs) can be worked by holding board with one hand on top other on bottom thin side facing straight ahead then rotating upper body left to right. This one is excellent. This is used in rehab they call it hydrotherapy a pretty good type of exercise. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 20th, 2026 at 1:47am Sophia wrote on Jan 19th, 2026 at 2:01pm:
well done, proud of you. did you get a food coma or a chocolate overdose ? |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by aquascoot on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:03am
Interesting Gordon says farmers carry.
I carry heaps of heavy crap in a farmers carry for decades. Shoulders burn but never any night pain. Wife says so many of her friends and indeed kids friends have terrible shoulder tendinitis And bursitis. They spend a lot of time hunched over keyboards, using phones and game contriollers I think that braced position is bad with shoulders rotated in. Meanwhile heavy work seems to strengthen them. Just an observation |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by chimera on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:39am
I take wife's dog for walks, a boxer with 3 horsepower. This works on the tri glyver-wongke group and lower ungrunter-stressor, as she pulls, diverts and spins my spine and lung loads.
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 20th, 2026 at 7:30am Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 1:47am:
Yeah I got revelations! Chocolatier chocolate is so much nicer AND cheaper than bought crap in supermarkets! But I won’t be doing that again anytime soon. Today I will overdose with vegetables! ;D |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 20th, 2026 at 7:43am aquascoot wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:03am:
A lot of farmers around my area got that shoulder rotar problem that needed surgery. When I was in my 20s in the 70s (now I’m in my 70s in the 20s ;D) I used to do hay bailing. Pick it up by the string and stack in under cover shedding. I just felt I could and in my mind I was strong so I guess the body obeyed :) At high school, I wanted to do weight lifting but there was segregation of boys do boy stuff and girls do girly stuff, so, I would go into the gym equipment store room on my own, and do the weights. It just felt right. Recently, my daughter was carrying her beagle and commented how tiring it is to hold him for long as he was getting bigger and heavier, and I said “yeah I know all about carrying weight” and made arm motions of cradling a baby, she then realised, I said about, holding baby in one arm, and toddler wanting to be lifted and held in other arm. As a mum, doing that several times a day for years makes us strong yeah? So 2.5 kg dumbbells are a simpler joy! ;) |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 20th, 2026 at 7:54am chimera wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:39am:
Over 18 months ago, I had the beagle on that awful extender dog leash, he took off and what happened next took me by surprise. At the end of that leash stop I fell forward, dint in my forehead, fractured rib and fractured toes. Up to that point I was doing gym twice weekly and treadmill and steps, as I was preparing for overseas trip and waking a lot. But that put a stop to the gym as I wore a moonboot and my ribs hurt. By the time I got to go overseas, my fitness level has dropped. I could feel it. So annoyed. My toes are still not 100% and I’ve changed tact, opting for exercises not needing weight bearing of feet. That’s what has to be done, adaption and alternate ways around injury. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:25am chimera wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:39am:
hahaha, i hear you well. esp when a dog sees a cat down the road |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:28am Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:25am:
Like these dog walkers hey ;D https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSaNT6tdD/ |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:28am aquascoot wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:03am:
i have that, yes, the poor posture and tensed shoulders may have worsened it. playing bridge does not help. a stressful game |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Dnarever on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:29am chimera wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 6:39am:
I did this with a Husky - the result was a shoulder reconstruction. These days I try to do 45 min in the surf once or twice a day. NYE I tore my calf in a strong surf so had to take a week off. Walk the dog occasionally, Daughter walks him most days. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Sophia on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:35am Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:28am:
Talking about postures….. Has anyone else noticed the young ones… how bad their posture is? Humped camel looking necks? All from looking down at phones, iPads, wherever…and their soft undeveloped bones grow accordingly. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by Dnarever on Jan 20th, 2026 at 9:14am Quote:
Sorry but I see the image of Jasin and Frank doing star jumps. |
Title: Re: dumbbell-only workout Post by chimera on Jan 20th, 2026 at 11:29am Dnarever wrote on Jan 20th, 2026 at 8:29am:
Now I'm convinced to get a horse racing handicap weight-bag (also known as lead bags or lead pads) specialized, small saddle blankets or pouches. Probably start dog with 35 kg and rapidly work up to 120kg. (Except dog gets fitter while I get older) |