General Discussion >> State and Local >> The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1765078909 Message started by whiteknight on Dec 7th, 2025 at 1:41pm |
Title: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by whiteknight on Dec 7th, 2025 at 1:41pm
What changes for Victorian renters and landlords this week
Rental and property restrictions are now taking effect across Victoria, tightening the rules for owners, agents and tenants as the state shifts to a stricter housing framework. :) News.com.au November 25, 2025 Victoria’s new rental and housing rules are now in force, reshaping how properties are leased, advertised and managed across the state. Victoria has entered a new phase of housing reform as sweeping rental, safety and property rules began this week, reshaping how homes will be advertised, leased and managed across the state. A typical $1.8m property with $750,000 in land value and $45,000 in annual short-stay income, and left empty for more than six months, would now face $18,000 in Vacant Residential Land Tax from January, $3,725 in land tax and $3,375 in short-stay levies, bringing the total yearly hit to $25,100. Consumer Affairs Minister Nick Staikos said Tuesday’s reforms close the last remaining pathway for rental bidding. “By closing this loophole we are stamping out rental bidding and putting dishonest and opportunistic estate agents and rental providers on notice.” Tenants Victoria chief executive Jennifer Beveridge said the changes would “end the auction-style pressure” renters have faced at inspections. Property Investor Council of Australia board member Ben Kingsley said the rapid reform timeline had left many owners feeling sidelined. REIV chief executive Toby Balazs said the pace of change meant compliance requirements had “become a significant challenge” for property managers. Below is every rule change taking effect from 25 November and all reforms that begin after that. New statewide housing reforms are tightening rental standards and compliance requirements for owners and agents. Agents and landlords are no longer allowed to accept offers above the advertised rent. :) All rental listings must show a single fixed price. The ban eliminates the bidding wars that previously pushed renters beyond budget limits. Ms Beveridge said renters would inspect properties “without fear the home will be leased for more than they can afford”. No-fault evictions scrapped :) Landlords cannot remove a tenant at the end of a lease unless they have a valid reason, such as selling the property, completing major renovations or needing the home for themselves or a family member. At the end of a fixed-term agreement, tenants automatically move onto a month-to-month lease unless a new fixed term is signed. Mr Kingsley said the change had unsettled many rental providers who felt “shut-out of the discussion”. Ninety-day notice for rent rises Rent rises now require 90 days written notice, increasing from 60 days. This gives renters more time to prepare for changes and improves cost transparency. Minimum standards must be met before advertising Premier Jacinta Allan has overseen a major reset of Victoria’s rental and housing laws taking effect from late November. Rental homes must now comply with Victoria’s minimum standards before being advertised. This includes: – working heating – safe electrical systems – secure locks – weatherproofing – appropriate ventilation – functioning kitchen and bathroom facilities – basic structural integrity Previously, owners could list a non-compliant property and fix issues after a tenant moved in. That loophole is now closed. Mandatory annual smoke alarm checks also now apply statewide. Mr Balazs said the compliance burden had become “significant” across large rental portfolios. Gas and electrical safety checks now universal All rental agreements must comply with current gas and electrical safety regulations. Safety checks must occur every two years. Stronger privacy protections Agents and landlords face penalties for mishandling or disclosing tenant information, including applications, ID documents and references. Changes from 1 December 2025 The latest reforms introduce stricter protections for renters and tougher obligations for Victorian property owners. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 4:32pm
Thanks sir Crook,
isn't it amazing how landlords let their own property get worse and worse as they do no maintenance? : Kitchen and bathroom fans not working - gas heaters faulty, stoves faulty, no aircon, electrical outlets cracked and busted, gutters filled with leaves and never cleaned causing severe water damage from overflows. Leaking taps and mold in bathrooms. TV antenna not working - fallen to pieces after 30 years in the rain. They think a rental property is a never ending pot of gold with no input required. When I was house hunting I saw so many ex rental places that were only bulldozer material after close inspection - they had been just so neglected. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by whiteknight on Dec 7th, 2025 at 5:49pm
Yes Bobby, lets hope that these long overdue new laws will make a difference. Lets hope that other States will do the same. :(
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:00pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 4:32pm:
This is only going to push rents higher, any cost put on the landlord will always, its worth repeating, any cost put on the landlord will always be reflected in the rent. Yes there are some dodgy landlords out there, probably about 5%. There are also plenty of dodgy renters out there who trash properties. These new rules will force good landlords to maintain properties bad renters will destroy. Expect landlords to demand higher returns for higher risks. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:01pm whiteknight wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 5:49pm:
I don't know what is wrong with landlords? Are they just lazy or don't they want to spend even one penny on their own place? I never rented a place where the landlord would replace bathroom or kitchen ceiling fans. they are not expensive - just $32 from Bunnings https://www.bunnings.com.au/arlec-250mm-white-exhaust-fan_p4440572 and they plug in to a receptacle in the ceiling - it takes 5 minutes to replace them - you don't need an electrician or any tool other than a flat blade screwdriver. I always ended up doing that job - many, many times - for free. No landlord ever said thank you or offered me money for the job. In my opinion every landlord I ever had was a total arse hole. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by John Smith on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:04pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:01pm:
So what's stopping you from replacing it? It's only $30 and you can keep it once you move out provided you put the old one back |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:05pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:00pm:
100% of landlords I dealt with were dodgy. My bet is they raise the rent and still don't repair anything. ::) |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:06pm John Smith wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:04pm:
By the time I would move out they'd be covered in grease - I'd be too busy to bother replacing it with the old one. ::) |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:07pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:05pm:
Out of the millions in Australia how many would that be, 200, 500, a couple of thousand, can you put a number on it?. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:09pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:06pm:
A good renter would keep the fans clean, letting them become grease laden is not only a fire risk but just plain laziness. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:13pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:09pm:
You can keep the grill plate clean but not the actual fan. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:15pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:13pm:
Why not, they plug in to a receptacle in the ceiling - it takes 5 minutes to replace them so cleaning them would take less than ten minutes. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:18pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:15pm:
Only the grill plate is made to be easily removed and cleaned. You can't put an electrical motor in water to clean it. forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:24pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:18pm:
All you have to do is spray the cleaner on the fan and wipe it off, I just get a step ladder and pull off the cover to soak while I clean the fan and blades. keeps the kitchen clean and stops mice from living in the ceiling eating the fat build up, just more hygienic and safer. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:36pm Leroy wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:24pm:
But the fat goes all over the 240V electrical motor and wires too. You need to replace the whole fan about every 3 to 5 years - and that's about how long the bearings last anyway. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Leroy on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:48pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:36pm:
Yes if you don't clean it regularly the fat builds up and causes ingress to the motor, plus it attracts rodents. Keep it clean and it will last much longer, mine last around 10 years. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:16pm whiteknight wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 1:41pm:
Labor have no idea their idiocy will reduce number of available rentals and drive rent prices up. Argentina which is run by an economist deregulated rental housing market more properties became available and rent prices decreased. Quote:
We need to get the government out and deregulate rental housing. Labor needs more taxes in Victoria to pay for all the debt Dickhead Dan racked up |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:25am Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 6:06pm:
so clean it you bludger. You're supposed to clean it anyway as part of your exit clean :D :D :D |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:27am Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:13pm:
:D :D most exhaust fans have covers on them that clip off. A 30 min soak in the laundry tub and light scrub is usually enough to get them clean unless you've been doing something wrong during your stay. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:29am Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 7:36pm:
what crap :D :D :D |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by freediver on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:17am Quote:
I realise that Victoria isn't exactly a big tourist destination, but this will help make it even less popular. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:10am freediver wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:17am:
So if it drops revenue for that property - what is the real agenda? Why - simple - to force it onto the market. My oldest friend in life - and they are very few - with whom I went to primary and high school etc - was recently made housebound by having his licence lifted ... he was bewildered - I said - simple - they want you to die so your property can come on the market - and locking you in the house with no exercise and human contact is one way to hasten that. |
Title: Re: The Changes For Victorian Renters And Landlords Post by Bobby. on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:37am John Smith wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:27am:
That's what I said - in bold. ::) John has comprehension problems. forgiven namaste |