General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1765066033 Message started by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:07am |
Title: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:07am
“ Albanese defends Anika Wells over reports of taxpayer-funded travel expenses
Albanese has also defended a $100k expense for communications minister Anika Wells, a staffer and a public servant to join the prime minister and foreign minister Penny Wong in New York for a United Nations meeting. Anika Wells was doing her job as the communications minister who is in charge of this world-leading, world-leading legislation, passed with bipartisan support, to give credit to Peter Dutton when he was opposition leader. And it was an important event. And it wasn’t just the event there, it was then the follow-up of people wanting to have meetings, have discussions, how is this going to work? What can we do to get buy-in here? When you’ve got Australia, a middle power, taking on these global giants. The PM fields a series of calls about the flights, who was responsible and the size of the bill, particularly in the context of reporting today that Wells billed taxpayers $3,000 to fly her family to be with her at Thredbo, where Wells was there in her capacity as minister for an event associated with the Paralympics. There’s family reunion entitlements, all of the travel within guidelines. When pressed, Albanese continued to support his minister, saying the trip was “completely within rules”. I’m saying it was within entitlements and Anika Wells was working on that trip as sports minister, participating the lifting up of para-sport. Minister for communications Anika Wells.” “ the guardian. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:41am
“ I don’t write the rules’: Wells, PM defend using taxpayer funds to bring family to ski resort
Labor is defending the sport and communications minister’s family reunion on the slopes after earlier revelations of six-figure claims for international travel” “SMH Actually Anika Wello as elected to govern your job to write laws/ rules. Your excuse is pathetic, much like yourself. Show some compassion to the suffering in your own electorate and state and pay the money back!! |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:50am
How long was she there.... two days - no need whatsoever for any 'family reunion'.
This is rorting pure and simple. ...... in breaking news on Fantasyland TV ...... Prime Minister Anthony Albonesandknees broke down on arrival at Canberra Airport - managing to get out between tears that he missed his family back in Marrickville... government agencies instantly moved to bring them all first class to Canberra ... |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 1:30pm
Dear leader Albo has come out today to defend her corruption.
Great to see Albo Labor party talking about themselves and Albo jumping in to say she’s done nothing wrong. Great distraction from the homeless on our streets, the families living in cars, the businesses closing and the everyday cost of living crisis struggles everywhere in Australia the majority of Australians are suffering. “ Anika did nothing wrong, we don’t write the rules , we are politicians, we all rort the taxpayers money “ . Dear leader Albo brushed off criticism of his “ chosen one “ Anika unfit for public service wells. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by John Smith on Dec 7th, 2025 at 3:02pm
They should be made to pay their own expenses, and if they are legitimate work expenses they can claim them back through their tax returns like every other taxpayer
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by LNP never again on Dec 7th, 2025 at 8:09pm
Boss Albo wont move them to back bench like sussan , if it has any merit he will pull the trigger , as you were deperados ;D ;D
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 8:24pm John Smith wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 3:02pm:
Totally agree. That’s the ultimate answer to this corruption from all politicians. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 7th, 2025 at 8:32pm LNP never again wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 8:09pm:
“ Then she was asked why she spent €569 for dinner before spending an additional €426 two hours later. “I from memory we walked to a restaurant, we met with the ambassador, she briefed us on what we'd missed because obviously we were well not obviously but we were arriving a few days later than my counter,” Ms Wells said.” “ sky news. Ankio wells spent in one evening in Paris what the average family of four in her Brisbane electorate could only dream of budgeting for a month. She is completely unfit to serve in government. I hope Albo moves quickly to cut the first corruption scandal from his own government. She is a disgrace to Queensland! |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by LNP never again on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:09pm
Lost me at aky news ... they got dan yet ?
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Captain Nemo on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:10pm
Albo: “I don’t write the rules."
sounds a hell of a lot like: "I don't hold a hose." ::) Wells, who is also the sports minister, reportedly took three trips to Paris in 12 months at a cost of $116,000, to attend major sporting events including the Rugby World Cup, Paris Olympics and Paris Paralympics. She was authorised to spend $6,000 on meals for five days, with one dinner reportedly billed for $600. "I recall sometimes I was eating a muesli bar in the car. These are big days," Wells said. "I appreciate it looks a certain way because it's Paris, but that is where the Games were." Wells was also questioned about using travel entitlements to attend a friend's birthday while on a three-day, $3,600 work trip to Adelaide in June. "I met with my South Australian counterpart in part about the South Australian Sport Institute, where we opened a para unit," she said. https://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/anika-wells-defends-taxpayer-funded-trip-costs/kc6e3jizp |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:26pm
Doesn't pass the Pub test
Labor are rotten to the core |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:20am Baronvonrort wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:26pm:
one minister abusing her privileges and 'labor are rotten to the core' Years and years of proven corruption from scummo and abbott and not a peep out of you :D :D |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 8:21am
“ Sports Minister Anika Wells charged taxpayers more than $4000 in flights so her husband Finn McCarthy could join her at three cricket events, including the Boxing Day Test match twice.
In 2022 and 2024, Wells flew McCarthy from Brisbane to Melbourne under family reunion entitlements to attend the December 26 Test match, while enjoying the corporate hospitality of the sport’s governing body.” “ SMH There is no cost of living crisis for politicians. Just free taxpayers money for holidays. They are ALL entitled, corrupt people! |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Dnarever on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:18am
I seem to recall a fellow named Howard who attended every sporting event in over a decade including test matches at lords, tennis championships at Wimbldon various F1's race meetings football events in various codes.
Although Willis seems to be passing the rules she may be failing the pub test, However nobody seemed to care that Howard failed the Bruery test a dozen times each and every term. The 2K cost for her family to attend the ski destination for a vald event seems reasonable the number of times there have been re unions does seem to stretch the point. Going to the US on the PM's request seems 100% ok. I would expect that 80% of the Liberals would be doing the same or worse. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Dnarever on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:21am Daves2017 wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 8:21am:
Did John Howard ever miss a boxing day test while in power ? |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Dnarever on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:28am
Reading this story they seem to build up a big bank number by quoting what looks to be a legitimate expense - 100K trip to the US with 3 staff for a UN meeting.
They then list some fairly piddly little costs of one or two K for family travel costs that pass the rules. Maybe we don't like this - BUT ? Overall she may be stretching the point but really nothing much seems to be here. I don't think that a sports minister being invited to sporting events is much of a surprise. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:00am
She’s come out on sky news and states neither her nor her staff had any after dinner drinks ($700 A)
The question I ask is if she nor her staff was there who did drink the Australian taxpayer paid alcohol? And Denver, you are totally correct that we should never expect a higher quality of politicians no matter who you vote for. They have always been corrupted and always will be? Who drunk the Alcohol ($700) Anika? If it wasn’t you or your staff as you claim why did you sign off on the receipt? |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:04am
If a Minister is invited to a sports fixture - is it necessary to stay for the five day Test and bring hubby along as well? Does she love cricket that much? And what about doing her day job instead of moonlighting all the time?
Ball's chat. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:07am Dnarever wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:18am:
Let's see - flit in, press the flesh, hang around to chat to a few disabled athletes for a photo shoot, then holiday until tomorrow's close of day then flit out? And that desperately needs a 'family reunion'? What an absolute load of cod's wallop. And please - don't inspire a contest between the leeches to see who can get away with the most... |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 2:58pm
“ Sports Minister Anika Wells spent close to $9000 of taxpayers’ money on family reunion flights and travel entitlements so her husband could attend three AFL grand finals with her.
Wells and her husband, Finn McCarthy, attended the three grand finals as guests of the AFL, according to declarations on the minister’s register of interests and Independent Parliamentary Expenses Authority data.” “SMH Should I start a second thread on Anika wells rorts, corruption and thievery? Because she’s still got so much more to come it seems. Just when you think our politicians have reached their very lowest. Another Anika wells taxpayer funded scam is exposed! |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Vic on Dec 8th, 2025 at 3:04pm
She needs to go - and the quicker the better. These overseas jollies are not needed, not required and certainly not endorsed by the taxpayer. If there is even a hint of family being treated to taxpayer provided travel or benfits she needs to visibly repay it - not this “I have paid it back…..etc”. Another one that needs to explain why he was in Hawaii, frolicing around in hawaiian print shirts and meeting US and Aus Navy people is Matt Keogh. What an embarrassment to aussie Vets that is. He is another that needs to be sent to the backbench and disendorsed next election. Who is not getting tired of seeing these ar$ewipes travelling the world on our limited money
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Vic on Dec 8th, 2025 at 3:34pm
An opinion today:
Ley shopped, Wells worked — guess who the Libs attack? Sussan Ley literally resigned after charging taxpayers for trips that doubled as property shopping sprees, yet the Liberals now howl about Anika Wells for travel that was within the rules. The hypocrisy is staggering. 🔍 SUSSAN LEY’S TRAVEL RORTS • Gold Coast apartment scandal: In 2015, Ley used taxpayer-funded travel to Queensland, where she impulsively bought a $795,000 apartment from a Liberal donor. She claimed $3,125 for that trip. • Pattern of trips: Over three years, she billed taxpayers for 18 Gold Coast trips costing $53,877. • Resignation: Ley admitted her actions didn’t pass the “pub test” and resigned as Health Minister in 2017, despite most claims technically being “within the rules”. • Voluntary repayments: She repaid some expenses but only after public outrage forced her hand. 🔍 ANIKA WELLS’S ALLEGED MISUSE • Thredbo ski trip: Wells spent ~$3,000 so her family could join her while she attended a Paralympics event. This was allowed under “family reunion” rules. • New York trip: Nearly $100,000 spent on flights for her and staff to promote Australia’s social media ban at the UN. Again, fully within guidelines and approved by the PM’s office. Wells was forced to book more expensive flights at short notice when having to deal with the 000 outage fallout prevented her flying to New York with the PM. • Other claims: Trips to Adelaide (where she also attended a friend’s birthday), Paris for sporting events, and family flights to cricket and Formula One. All technically within entitlements. • No resignation: Wells has defended her travel as legitimate ministerial work, and Albanese backed her, stressing compliance with rules. ⚖️ THE HYPOCRISY • Ley vs Wells: Ley’s scandal involved personal property shopping on taxpayer-funded trips — a clear breach of community standards that forced her resignation. Wells’s travel, while politically damaging optics-wise, was within entitlements and tied to ministerial duties. • Liberal outrage: Despite Ley’s own history, Liberal figures like Ley herself now attack Wells as “Air-Miles Anika”. The irony of a former minister who resigned over rorts leading the charge against Wells is impossible to ignore. • Double standards: When it’s a Liberal caught misusing travel, they plead “within the rules” until resignation is unavoidable. When it’s Labor, they demand heads roll even if the travel is rule-compliant. Yes, there is hypocrisy - and yes, the travel is rule compliant BUT $100K to spruik about Australia’s actions in enforcing social media bans that under 16 year olds are already telling all and sundry how to get around them DOES NOT pass the pub test either! These "rule-compliant” and “family re-union” rorts need to be looked at. Just as an aside, when I was with Defence in Darwin and my Wife was in Melbourne, we were allowed 4 “family reunion” visits per year where I could go to her, or She to Me. The airfares HAD to be the best deal of the day - so you could be flying out of either place on a Red-Eye with Jetstar. Pollies are SUPPOSED to use this as well |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 4:23pm
Please help Queenslanders choose a nickname for their disgraced leader in the poll above!
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 4:47pm Dnarever wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:28am:
The actual amount in question is about $3 or $4 k extra to bring her partner with her ... but that doesn't make great headlines :D :D |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by lee on Dec 8th, 2025 at 5:33pm John Smith wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 4:47pm:
And that was because she was never home and saw him. ;) |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 6:52pm lee wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 5:33pm:
don't judge everyone by your experiences ::) |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:01pm
When politicians are invited to events do they “ have to attend “?
If they do attend and it at a huge expense to the taxpayer should not the invitee be expected to pay for their expenses to attend these events? |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by John Smith on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:08pm Daves2017 wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:01pm:
they should use microsoft teams and video conference |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Jasin on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:37pm Daves2017 wrote on Dec 7th, 2025 at 10:07am:
And she won't even pay it back. Why? Because Albo is saying "Nothing to see. Move on" Why? Because he knows that the Australian people in themselves can't do anything about it, nor will they do anything about it - lazily just whinging about it and nothing more. The whingefest has its 15 minutes of fame on the Media Show and is forgotten by next month... as always. Could you see Australians rise up with protests and threaten political action against a corrupt government? Hell no! Could you see Australians rise up and threaten a Republic against the ALP and Leftism? Hell no! Australians are too lazy to take political action in their own hands and ALL PARTIES KNOW THIS and take full advantage of this. Every month there is a public whingefest, that does the rounds on the Media Show, then it's thrown away to be forgotten - replaced with the latest whingefest over another corruption. Face the fact, that beyond the Media Show pumping the hype. AUSTRALIANS REALLY DON'T GIVE A FLYING F#@KBAT ABOUT IT. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 8:00pm John Smith wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 7:08pm:
Another excellent idea. Worked fine during Covid? I’m just trying to find a positive solution. If the united nations ask Anika wells ( aka the Banyo Bandit) to fly to NY and give a speech. They should pay for it not us mugs. If the AFL invited her to the grand final then they should cover her outrageous expenses? If there is no definitive evidence that these invites are of benefit to the Australian taxpayer we should not pay and the invitee and sponsors should wear the costs. I can imagine that suddenly the invitees would stop being sent out very quickly! |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Carl D on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:05pm
Dean Alston's cartoon in today's The West Australian.
However, I'm sure Anika isn't worried about this in the least - she's got the big distraction of the social media ban for under 16's starting on Wednesday and no doubt we'll be seeing and hearing her spout endless BS about that for weeks or even months. 20251208_185044.jpg (134 KB | 0
) |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Frank on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:07pm Carl D wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:05pm:
Zaftig. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Dnarever on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:58pm lee wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 5:33pm:
Yes that is the reason that this is allowed for all politicians, used by all politicians and included in their travel rules. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Bobby. on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:28pm The Canberra grift is bad but what makes it worse is that it's all with over a $trillion of borrowed money. Our grandchildren and their children will be paying it off 50 years from now. The politicians and public servants are irresponsible, reckless grifters, confidence tricksters and parasites. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:32pm Dnarever wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 9:58pm:
You'd think that was a bonus... tell it to the grunts along the Cambodian border or up at Khe Sanh ... can I bring my girl-friend here? |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Daves2017 on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:33pm
“ Wells charged taxpayers $1000 for car to wait while she watched tennis – for seven hours”.
“ SMH Albo has too act now and sack her from the ministerial position or his as unfit as her to represent Australia in any way shape or form. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Bobby. on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:38pm
Yep
https://www.facebook.com/sydneymorningherald/posts/taxpayers-paid-almost-1000-for-a-government-funded-comcar-to-wait-seven-hours-wh/1303550548479656/ The Sydney Morning Herald 5h · Taxpayers paid almost $1000 for a government-funded Comcar to wait seven hours while Sport Minister Anika Wells attended the Australian Open in 2023. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:45pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:38pm:
That's why I never vote for major parties. They are the best politicians that money can buy ;) |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Bobby. on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:58pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:45pm:
Wasting hard earned tax payers money should be a crime - punishable by life in prison with no parole. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Yadda on Dec 8th, 2025 at 11:12pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:58pm:
Careful bobby. The AFP will categorise you as an extremist, white nationalist, for complaints like that ! Our Dear Leader [Albo] and his minions are doing the absolute best that they can for this nation bobby. You know that it is true. /sarc off |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Dnarever on Dec 8th, 2025 at 11:17pm Bobby. wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 10:58pm:
Bit extreeme - 20 years would be enough but apply it to all of them not just single out what looks like 1 mild case. |
Title: Re: The first cracks of corruption for Albo Labor Post by Bobby. on Dec 8th, 2025 at 11:20pm Dnarever wrote on Dec 8th, 2025 at 11:17pm:
Not really - they are stealing the future of our country - creating debt we can never pay. I want every last penny to be spent wisely. |