General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1736265014 Message started by whiteknight on Jan 8th, 2025 at 1:50am |
Title: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by whiteknight on Jan 8th, 2025 at 1:50am
Labor hits back at Coalition threat to public service
2 December 2024 psnews.com.au Finance and Public Service Minister Katy Gallagher. Public Service Minister Katy Gallagher says Peter Dutton will slash the APS and diminish services for the community. :( The public service is set to become a hot election issue, with the Opposition ramping up its rhetoric over the size of the service – and the Federal Government being quick to call it out. Opposition frontbenchers are increasingly using speeches and media opportunities to suggest a Coalition government will slash public service numbers, with a sharp escalation of such commentary notices in recent weeks. Since the Federal Budget was delivered in May, the Coalition has attacked Labor’s spend on public servants, noting the budget provided for 36,000 new public sector jobs over the forward estimates. Opposition Leader Peter Dutton used his budget in reply to label public sector jobs as a misplaced priority. Since then, his shadow ministers have been on the attack, making no secret of their plan to cut the public service. “You’ve got to ask yourself, do we need 36,000 more public servants?” Mr Dutton told the recent Minerals Council gala dinner. Nationals leader David Littleproud has also been pushing the cause. “That is our first step. The Nationals have made it clear that we will get rid of those in Canberra,” he said in a media interview. “There will be 36,000 public servants that will go. We don’t need more public servants.” :o And in a separate interview: “The first thing we’ll do is sack those 36,000 public servants in Canberra, that’s $24 billion worth.” When Shadow Assistant Minister for Government Waste Reduction, James Stevens, was asked during a radio interview last month if the Coalition had the “mettle to follow through” in sacking public servants, he replied: “Well, that’s part of my job.” Shadow for the Public Service, Jane Hume, also has some words of warning for the public service. “Of course, there’s going to be a reassessment of the size of the public service,” she said in a recent media interview. And previously, in an address to the Sydney Institute: “My concern, I think, with the 36,000 public servants is, well, there’s lots of concerns … Canberra has enough bureaucrats as it is.” Cutting 36,000 public service jobs amounts to roughly 20 per cent of the workforce. And despite it being an easy Canberra-bash for the Coalition, the fact is that a majority of the workforce is located outside of the capital. Of the new public service jobs being created, almost three-quarters are in other states and territories across the country. Labor is now using the threat of public service job losses to break down what the Coalition’s agenda could mean at an agency level – and what impact job losses would have on the public. The government’s list insists the Opposition’s plan for the public service will mean 4000 jobs cut in Services Australia – delaying payments call wait times – and 1000 jobs cut in the Department of Veterans’ Affairs, leaving veterans with less support. Additionally, there would be 3000 jobs cut in the Australian Tax Office; 3600 jobs cut in the National Disability Insurance Agency; 2700 jobs cut in Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water; 1300 jobs cut in the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry; and 4000 jobs cut in Defence, the Department of Home Affairs and the Australian Federal Police. In a concerted effort over the weekend, government ministers have ramped up their campaign to highlight the Coalition’s plans for the public service. Public Service Minister Katy Gallagher said: “All Australians should be worried about what Peter Dutton will do to the public service if he gets into office. “He’ll cut 20 per cent of the workforce that is responsible for delivering the essential services that Australians rely on every day. “Despite what the Liberals will say, these are not just jobs in Canberra. These are staff in Services Australia, ATO and NDIA in places like Geelong, Townsville and the Central Coast that will face the axe. “This is all part of Dutton’s plan for $315 billion in cuts to vital services such as Medicare, pensions and housing at a time when people are already feeling the pinch. :o “Rather than the lazy conservative cutting, we should be investing in a strong public service to deliver the services Australians need and deserve.” She was backed up by Assistant Minister for the Public Service Patrick Gorman, who claimed “Peter Dutton’s cuts” to the APS will hit every community in Australia. “The Liberals and Nationals want longer wait times in Services Australia centres in regional communities, and they will send 36,000 people in cities across Australia into unemployment queues,” he said. “You only need to watch their behaviour in Senate Estimates to know that they do not respect the Australian Public Service and have failed to acknowledge what a mess they left behind after 10 years in power. :( “Public servants are our neighbours, family and friends, and their jobs should not be collateral damage in Peter Dutton’s quest for power.” |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 6:08am
Mr potao head wants to cut public service jobs so he can pretend to save '$24 billion' whilst at the same time he contract out those same jobs to liberal party donors for a measly sum of $50 billion
liberalnomics :D :D :D |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Bobby. on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:28am
Public service -
nice pay if you can get it: https://www.afr.com/politics/these-32-public-servants-earn-more-than-1-million-20231106-p5ehta Highest-paid public sector employees . Agency Name Role Total* 1 NBN Stephen Rue CEO $3,037,016 2 Australia Post Paul Graham CEO $2,385,610 3 Western Sydney Airport Simon Hickey CEO $1,610,978 4 Future Fund Raphael Arndt CEO $1,563,561 5 NBN Kathrine Dyer COO $1,519,571 6 Snowy Hydro Roger Whitby COO $1,475,610 7 Future Fund Ben Samild Deputy CIO $1,373,300 8 Snowy Hydro Iain Graham CEO, Red Energy $1,339,285 9 Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation Alison Tarditi CIO $1,325,553 10 Snowy Hydro Gordon Wymer Chief commercial officer $1,318,978 11 Australia Post Rod Barnes EGM network operations $1,283,008 12 Future Fund Alicia Gregory Deputy CIO $1,279,967 13 NBN Will Irving Chief strategy and transformation officer $1,275,094 14 Future Fund Not disclosed Not disclosed $1,248,036 15 Snowy Hydro Paul Broad Former CEO $1,220,412 16 NBN Philip Knox CFO $1,218,992 17 Australia Post Rodney Boys CFO $1,198,563 18 Australia Post Gary Starr EGM parcel, post and eCommerce $1,196,625 19 Future Fund Not disclosed Not disclosed $1,194,397 20 Australia Post Catriona Noble EGM Retail, brand and marketing $1,189,097 21 ABC David Anderson CEO and managing editor $1,156,969 22 Reserve Bank of Australia Philip Lowe Governor $1,147,465 23 Australia Post Susan Davies EGM people and culture $1,143,204 24 Australia Post Not disclosed Not disclosed $1,109,190 25 Federal Circuit and Family Court William Alstergren Chief justice $1,097,339 26 Future Fund Not disclosed Not disclosed $1,071,472 27 Defence General Angus Campbell Chief of the defence force $1,062,702 28 NBN John Parkin Chief engineering officer $1,052,988 29 Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation Damian Hill CEO $1,038,474 30 Snowy Hydro Gabrielle Curtin Group executive $1,035,649 31 Future Fund Cameron Price General counsel and chief risk officer $1,011,614 32 Defence Greg Moriarty Secetary $1,006,474 |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:35am Bobby. wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:28am:
Pretty crappy salaries compared to what they would get out for the same jobs in the private sector goober |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Bobby. on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:37am John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:35am:
I'm sure they are worth every penny of it. ::) |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:39am Bobby. wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:37am:
I'm sure you're an idiot. now that we've cleared that up, have you got a point to make or not? |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Bobby. on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:41am John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:39am:
ABC David Anderson CEO and managing editor $1,156,969 That's a lot to run the Big Brother Ministry of Truth. Add 5 extra gun shots to make the story better. :-[ |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:45am
One reason for the dire financial situation with the Greek government is the size of their public service. Theirs is enormous and many staff are reaching retirement age now, leaving taxpayers with a colossal bill for the pensions of those public servants. We don’t want that to happen here in Australia.
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Bobby. on Jan 8th, 2025 at 8:06am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:45am:
Seems to be the same all around the world - public servants with their snouts in the trough of tax payers money. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 8th, 2025 at 9:02am Bobby. wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 8:06am:
True, but what has made the situation worse for Greece is the fact that they have a lower retirement age than we do in Australia, along with very generous payments. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jan 8th, 2025 at 10:50am
To clean out the stables of the Woke twits who mince along making monumental decisions outside the electoral process about things that adversely affect the peasantry, such as Land Enclosure for private hunting preserves and spiritual retreats for the New Lords of the land, handing over private property without a by-your-leave, handing out national parks like lollies at a kid's party, enforcing never-ending affirmative action, telling lies about 'gender wage gaps' and so forth, dictating gender insanity as part of school curricula - and so forth??
Add to the list as you see fit.... the tides have changed - now it's Back To The Future... **saying for a friend** someone I know went to the same uni as his daughter - she came out of it deciding she was having a woman for a 'partner', and he's decided he should be a woman at work so as to 'fit in' better etc... grows out the hair, dyes it and wears tear drop ear-rings - looks nothing like a woman ..... FFS... I'm ROFLing at the whole silliness of it all.... they tell them how wonderful women are and so they imagine that is the way of the future... and he - poor bastard ... works now in the PS and we all know what that is - a half-way house for losers and sheilas with all the best benefits for doing pharkall .... but who built the whole edifice in the first place? As for his daughter - not the first 'lesbian' who will suddenly up and decide she wanted to be a wife and mother all along - but they're told how wonderful and 'superior' women are with all their props and support to get ahead in a man's world, and pushing men and boys aside to get it in their inimitable selfish way - but reality has no place in their mindset. Maybe we need a Queenslund redneck like Voldemort to straighten the Wokeness out of them ... The Tides Have Turned.... |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jan 8th, 2025 at 10:56am John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:35am:
If they could ever actually perform such a job in the private sector. Not one of them worth the money and just another mate slotted into a nice little earner to support the party line - and BTW - we the people demand our stolen Future Fund back and rolled into a single national superannuation scheme under the same conditions as everyone else - not some private cash hoard for pollies and a few of their mates so they can bugger the country as much as they like without any consequences to their retirement and a laissez-faire for open warfare and lawfare on the people .... another bribe to comply with the party line..... Take the bleach out of your eyes. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:17am Bobby. wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 7:41am:
ABC David Anderson CEO and managing editor $1,156,969 That's a lot to run the Big Brother Ministry of Truth. [/quote] ceo of nine and seven all make over $2m each so $1.1 is a bargain. You should be grateful |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by philperth2010 on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:33am
You dickheads believe anyone can run a major corporation do you....The Government is competing with the private sector to attract these top executives....The market decides how much someone is worth....The Coalition have appointed many of these executives you are complaining about....Cuts will be made from the rank and file public servants, reducing services to be replaced with contractors....Top executives will remain on the payroll!!!
::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by lee on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:59am John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:17am:
So they are only second class CEO's in Public Service. Good to know. ;) |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:59am lee wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:59am:
the only thing 'second class' is your level of education. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by lee on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:03pm John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:59am:
Poor Guido. All he has is rhetoric. No STEM subjects at all. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:18pm lee wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:03pm:
ohh good, you finally found someone to help you spell STEM |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by lee on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:22pm John Smith wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:18pm:
Poor Guido. He doesn't even understand that STEM is an acronym. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by John Smith on Jan 8th, 2025 at 4:47pm lee wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 12:22pm:
christ you really are stupid beyond compare you know that |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Frank on Jan 8th, 2025 at 5:48pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:33am:
Public service executives are not comparable with private sector ones. In the public service and statutory authorities there is a political decision making overclass that takes all the (political and financial) risk. In other words, the freedom to manouve are politically restricted for public service CEOs. Lower risk = Lower pay. The difference is made up by the greater political influence. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Daves2017 on Jan 8th, 2025 at 9:41pm Frank wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 5:48pm:
That’s a brilliant explanation! Thank you. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:20pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:33am:
So Smith reckons they could earn more in the private sector - you reckon the government and the private sector compete for these dorks - and yet they go for the PS jobs? Out of love for the country, is it? Don't make me laugh - they're old school chums and such who from recent experience, couldn't run a chook raffle, but share the same ideology as the government elect and takes their orders direct from that government elect - so as to push that government's narrative on the people. Not only that - but a contracted employee is directly under the control of the government of the day - and thus there is no 'separation of powers' between government and public service.... and that includes the security services!!! Hello, Pill??? Someone like you is squarely in their sights - not as anyone with any dangerous idea - but as a raving firebrand with a temper. Party has no bearing on it - the process of appointing 'ceo's and 'senior management' of PS bodies is corrupt in every way and provides nothing for the public but more costly (mis)management. If the management took a holiday without replacement, the whole deal would run better... and a lot less wrongs would be done to a sleeping public. Look at any government initiative ... Robodebt, NDIS scandals, aged care scandals,childcare scandals, private 'training' and 'employment agency' scandals, education money scandals.... anywhere there is money the parasites gather - starting from the inside. Look at Howard's theft of $230 BILLION for the 'future fund' to guarantee politicians and their selected ones full indexed riches for life regardless of how much harm they cause or how far down they bring the nation and the economy. Why are all you people still asleep? How can you sleep when your beds are burning... or being burnt under you... Take Back the Asylum!! |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Bobby. on Jan 9th, 2025 at 8:09am
Good post Grappler,
Labor puts: woke, left wing, Marxist, progressive, lap dogs in power for their public service. If they could employ trannys or Abbos for all their top jobs they would. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2025 at 8:34am Frank wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 5:48pm:
So what is your point dickhead....Nothing you have claimed makes any difference to my statement....Government must compete with the private sector for competent executives you idiot....All you have claimed is executives gain influence from political appointments which has nothing to do with sacking thousands of public servants....Top executives will remain on the payroll no matter who wins Government you smacking dickhead!!! ::) ::) ::) Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. Elbert Hubbard (1856 - 1915) |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Gnads on Jan 9th, 2025 at 8:51am philperth2010 wrote on Jan 8th, 2025 at 11:33am:
What's the market rate for dickheads like you? As if you have any clue about CEOs & their greedy boys/girls club. |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2025 at 9:09am Gnads wrote on Jan 9th, 2025 at 8:51am:
So the Government does not have to compete with the private sector for executives and CEO's ya moron....You are a worthless piece of crap with no value to any market....Why do wankers like you deny simple facts to prove you are stupid....If CEOs are gready then how do you attract them to Government positions without competing with the private sector....Do you think CEOs do it for love you smacking dickhead??? ::) ::) ::) Never attribute to malice what can be adequately explained by stupidity. Unknown, Hanlon's Razor |
Title: Re: The Coalitions Threat To The Public Service Post by Frank on Jan 9th, 2025 at 10:14am
To be a. CEO in the private sector requires very different talents and skills compared to the public sector.
In the public sector you cannot, must not, be a risk taker, for example. The room to innovate is limited. The pay is not performance related but legislated. Your power is related to the size and political significance of your department or statutory authority. Most public service CEO are home grown, they climb the public service greasy pole. Those few that come from the private sector do not care about the pay difference as they can make a lot more money in the private sector. They want to be inside the Court, which is what government is. |