General Discussion >> Chat >> Daylight Saving Refund http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1712412242 Message started by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:04am |
Title: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:04am
Wait a minute - they're saying to set your clocks back an hour.... ummmm ....
Lessee now ..... if it was 7am I was getting up, it would now be..... Don't you get up an hour earlier to get the sun to set earlier? Oh, yeah - the sun that sets at seven will now set at six..... OK .... and I've got to get up at ..... ummmm ... I'll just check the phone and internet clocks... 8-) |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Sophia on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:06am Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:04am:
Woo hoo… back to normal! Ends tonight! I had one clock I left at normal non dls time… just for the hell of it. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:12am
So what's the real time now?
I think I've frozen in space-time vortex as it feels like deja-vu... rewind and replaying an hour of my life. :P :-/ It's 1:13 on computer. 12:13 on Ozpol Clock. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by AusGeoff on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:17am Sophia wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:06am:
Daylight Saving(s) should be abolished. No country in the Southern hemisphere needs it, in particular the states of Victoria and Tasmania. It was a political con from day one. >:( |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:24am
Totally agree Geoff!
It's a total whackjob of upsetting everyone's biorhythms in relation to the natural settings of the day in accordance to that part of the year. Nothing more than a mind-fu_ck to complicate something simple, just to appear more sophisticated than it really is. Australia should have a National Online Vote or Reffo on it! YES or NO across the Board. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by AusGeoff on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:28pm Jasin wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:24am:
Exactly... A DST plebiscite could be added to the next Federal election ballot paper. It's absurd that we have so many time zones in Australia at different times of the year because of DST. Fun fact: A Kiwi entomologist named George Hudson is credited with creating daylight saving. His motivation? So he could collect insects later into the evening. At first, his proposition was met with ridicule. Such a shift, he argued in front of the Wellington Philosophical Society, would make use of early morning daylight for work and open up "a long period of daylight leisure" in the evening "for cricket, gardening, cycling or any other outdoor pursuit desired". As well as saving on the use of artificial light, the switch would especially benefit "the numerous classes who are obliged to work indoors all day, and who, under existing arrangements, get a minimum of fresh air and sunshine". |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:30pm I've said it a hundred times, but I'll say it again: Western Australia - no toll roads, no pokies in pubs, and no daylight saving [smiley=beer.gif] |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:47pm
WA Tourism
"Come to WA! It's where everyone comes, to get away from it all." ...15,000 tourists occupied 3,000 pop Esperance this easter. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:47pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:30pm:
But they do have dickheads. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:04pm AusGeoff wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:28pm:
Unfortunately, it's not a Federal issue - it's up to the states (not exactly sure why, though). I'm so glad we don't have it here in WA. But anyway, if you abolish it in the other states what will grumpy old men have to talk about on talk back radio? ;D |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:09pm Jasin wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:47pm:
Oh, you got that right. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Laugh till you cry on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:26pm Jasin wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:12am:
An hour of JSin's life is an hour of wretchedness and misery. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:28pm Jasin wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 12:12am:
Go to your profile and change the time. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Laugh till you cry on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:33pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:28pm:
JSin would have to wind back 50 years of wretchedness and misery. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:33pm
Did that. It's in sinc now.
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Sir Eoin O Fada on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm
Daylight saving time is great, when younger I got to spending more time outdoors with the kids after school,we had more time to get to our favourite rabbit and hare hunting spots, hence more healthymeat on the table.
All in all one of the best things that happen in NSW. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
yes - I always like the summer with daylight saving - you could do plenty of things after work with that extra sunlight. e.g mow the lawns so your weekend was free. Go down to to St Kilda - have a nice meal - a walk along the beach - then watch the sunset. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:04pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
More time to grow a melanoma? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:04pm:
The UV index is low after 5pm forgiven namaste ╰დ╮ॐ╭დ╯ |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:35pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:34pm:
Can melanomas develop in low UV index sunlight? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:37pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:35pm:
Melanomas are mostly from sun exposure in the middle of the day when the UV index is extreme. http://www.bom.gov.au/uv/?ref=ftr |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:40pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:37pm:
Can melanomas develop in low UV index sunlight? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:47pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:37pm:
To get an optimal vitamin D supplement from the sun at a minimal risk of getting cutaneous malignant melanoma (CMM), the best time of sun exposure is noon. Thus, common health recommendations given by authorities in many countries, that sun exposure should be avoided for three to five hours around noon and postponed to the afternoon, may be wrong and may even promote CMM. The reasons for this are (1) The action spectrum for CMM is likely to be centered at longer wavelengths (UVA, ultraviolet A, 320-400 nm) than that of vitamin D generation (UVB, ultraviolet B, 280-320 nm). (2) Scattering of solar radiation on clear days is caused by small scattering elements, Rayleigh dominated and increases with decreasing wavelengths. A larger fraction of UVA than of UVB comes directly and unscattered from the sun. (3) The human body can be more realistically represented by a vertical cylinder than by a horizontal, planar surface, as done in almost all calculations in the literature. With the cylinder model, high UVA fluence rates last about twice as long after noon as high UVB fluence rates do. In view of this, short, nonerythemogenic exposures around noon should be recommended rather than longer nonerythemogenic exposures in the afternoon. This would give a maximal yield of vitamin D at a minimal CMM risk. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:48pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:40pm:
I doubt it - after 5pm the UV has to travel trough too much air - it's practically zero. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:48pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:48pm:
To get an optimal vitamin D supplement from the sun at a minimal risk of getting cutaneous malignant melanoma (CMM), the best time of sun exposure is noon. Thus, common health recommendations given by authorities in many countries, that sun exposure should be avoided for three to five hours around noon and postponed to the afternoon, may be wrong and may even promote CMM. The reasons for this are (1) The action spectrum for CMM is likely to be centered at longer wavelengths (UVA, ultraviolet A, 320-400 nm) than that of vitamin D generation (UVB, ultraviolet B, 280-320 nm). (2) Scattering of solar radiation on clear days is caused by small scattering elements, Rayleigh dominated and increases with decreasing wavelengths. A larger fraction of UVA than of UVB comes directly and unscattered from the sun. (3) The human body can be more realistically represented by a vertical cylinder than by a horizontal, planar surface, as done in almost all calculations in the literature. With the cylinder model, high UVA fluence rates last about twice as long after noon as high UVB fluence rates do. In view of this, short, nonerythemogenic exposures around noon should be recommended rather than longer nonerythemogenic exposures in the afternoon. This would give a maximal yield of vitamin D at a minimal CMM risk. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 8th, 2024 at 8:17am Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:34pm:
Melanoma also develops on the body in places not even exposed to sunlight. Soles of feet, between toes & the cheeks of your arse. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 8th, 2024 at 8:40am greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:48pm:
In summer(EST) on a clear day the hottest period of the day is between NOON & 2- 2.30pm. Cancer Council quote - Quote:
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:20am
Just as DLS ends in southern states another article pushing DLS in QLD pops up in the Courier Mail on Saturday.
All pushed by the self-centred SE Corner from the Sunshine Coast, Brisbane to the Gold Coast.... and all the interstate migrants ... who would you believe move here for the weather & lifestyle ... only to want to change it to be like it was where they came from .... "back home we had this, back home we had that, we want it here" FFS. ::) Quote:
Look out Peccar this Professor Thomas Sigler did this research for West Australian Daylight Savings Party politician Wilson Tucker. ;D The fact that Professor Sliger made the comment missing out on an extra hour of daylight in the afternoons" shows the study & the belief there is any benefit is flawed. There is "no extra" daylight. It's light until 7pm in summer in QLD. What the study did show that not everyone who works works 9am to 5pm and it is no benefit nor wanted by tradies/labourers. After 46 years of shift work I can tell you it is of no benefit to shift workers either. 9 to 5ers, University educated wankers are the main proponents. It's moronic logic that believes putting the clock ahead an hour "saves" daylight. Go to work an hour earlier you morons. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 8th, 2024 at 11:20am Gnads wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 8:17am:
Indeed. e.g. Bob Marley. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Mattyfisk on Apr 8th, 2024 at 12:21pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
When did you last work, Bobby? I'm curious. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 8th, 2024 at 12:54pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
You don't need DLS for that in Victoria in summer. There is a natural twilight until 9pm. Who needs it until 10pm? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2024 at 1:05pm AusGeoff wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 1:28pm:
Yeah, great. The Ashes were played in England last year. They would break for stumps at 6pm each day. The extended play would be 30 minutes over time. And They might go on to 7:30 if there had been a prolonged rain delay. But, London is further north than Invercargill is south of the Equator. London's sunsets are around 9:20pm -- assuming that this accounts for DLS time -- making it 8:20 normal time. Given the late sunset, it should be reasonable to keep playing a game of test cricket until 7:30 in the evening, to take advantage of the light and the possibility of rain delays being countered early. Being a Rockhamptonite, I spend most of my summer days indoors until the afternoon when it cools down with the angle of the sunlight being close to the horizon. Try mowing your lawn at 2pm in the tropical region. You really wear yourself out after half and hour. But, 4pm onwards and you are doing pretty well. If I had to wait an extra hour to mow the lawn, I would likely be using up more power on my fans trying to keep cool. And after work, the fans would be kept on for longer. Likewise for people that use airconditioning. They are more likely to switch the airconditioning on earlier and leave them on until whatever time they usually switch off at a night. I wonder how DLS advocates cope during the winter. Oops, can't go outside to exercise, the sun sets earlier. ??? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:27pm Big Donger wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 12:21pm:
Dear Chimp, You're nosey. When did you last work? Are you tinted? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:32pm Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 2:35pm:
The time Qld had daylight saving, we would have to hold off having dinner until pretty late. The back door had to be closed to shield us from the sunlight whilst we ate. So, there was no breeze coming from there. The breeze from the front door had to suffice. Sundown for dls summers was anywhere from 7:30 to 7:50pm. You could basically forget about having a nightlife. The yearly school concerts were held in the afternoon and evening with the sun still out. When I started working at a fast food place in my late teens, the summer times would mean that we had our peak hours start later at night. The 5pm to 7pm rush orders in the winter were shifted to 6pm to 8pm in the summer. If the dls time were applied to those years (1997 to 1998), we would be seeing 15-year-olds manning the front counter and phones at 9pm. That would be about 12 school weeks of the year where daylight saving time would interrupt their sleep schedule. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:38pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:35pm:
Melanomas can develop regardless of how little sunlight you are exposed. All it takes is a freckle to develop cancerous properties and you have melanoma. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:49pm Gnads wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:20am:
Someone on facebook commented businesses needing to adjust their work hours so that they can be in line with southern states. Read a response stating that they might as well change the school hours, too. Well, duh, that is the whole concept of people wanting daylight saving. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:51pm UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:38pm:
Correct. Thus, I though it would be a good idea to keep Australians out of the sun - not encourage them to spend more time in it. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Mattyfisk on Apr 8th, 2024 at 3:04pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:27pm:
Today, dear. Tanned. And not Chimp. Does that satisfy your CuRiOSiTy? I fathom you've never held a job at all. And that's okay. My taxes pay your wages, making me your boss. You report directly to me now, Bobby. Mr Fisk, thank you. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 8th, 2024 at 3:07pm Big Donger wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 3:04pm:
Some say you're a Paki who wears dresses - not that ..... |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 8th, 2024 at 4:27pm
Seriously, I do not see why threads need to descend into name calling.
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Mattyfisk on Apr 8th, 2024 at 7:38pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 3:07pm:
You'll call me sir when you address me thanks, Bobby. Otherwise, no DSP for you, mkay? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Bobby. on Apr 8th, 2024 at 7:45pm Big Donger wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 7:38pm:
10-17 on that sir Chimp 10-10. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Daves2017 on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:16pm
Who and how did they manage to make daylight savings go for six months without a referendum?
It’s horrible, I enjoy it for three months maximum but 6 months is a life changer. No wonder people are leaving NSW for Qld by the thousands every day! |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Sir Eoin O Fada on Apr 8th, 2024 at 11:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 7th, 2024 at 3:04pm:
No, because the hours of sunlight are the same, but the curtains can fade quicker. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Grappler Truth Teller Feller on Apr 9th, 2024 at 12:51am
That extra hour shortens the wheat growing season... harvest early and miss the Autumn rains... take a holiday...
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 9th, 2024 at 7:58am Daves2017 wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 10:16pm:
I would say that they are leaving NSW to get out of Sydney for better job opportunities and living situations. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 2:49pm:
That's a furphy. There are 2 southern states NSW & VIC ..... 2 more states and the NT are & have always been on a different time zones to QLD... Do those differing time zones interfere with QLD businesses doing interstate business with Sth Aust, West Aust & the NT now or in the past??? No it doesn't/hasn't. How do they deal with doing business overseas? ::) Many QLD businesses including local Councils, Tradies & other services change their working hours during the summer months to start an hour earlier. All the selfish SEQ city centric 9 to 5 businesses & workers need to do is to work 8 to 4 summertime hours ...... and leave the bloody clock alone. Christ on a bike it's daylight at 4.30 am in summer ... what the hell do they do with all that wasted daylight? It's also well daylight between 5 and 6.30pm. There's an hour and a half they have anyway now. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:56am Sir Eoin O Fada wrote on Apr 8th, 2024 at 11:41pm:
But people are going out into the sun more. The hours of sunlight don't change, but people's behaviour does - they get out of the house and into the sunlight when they wouldn't normally. That increases the risk of skin cancer. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:07am
BTW Unsub ...when DLS started in 1971 in NSW(so interstate business hasn't been affected for 53 years) it ran from 31st Oct to 27th February - 4 months.
It now goes a full 6 months & 7 days from Oct 1st 2023 to the 7th April 2024. Why have they tacked an extra 2 months on it? Climate change? ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:17am greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:56am:
Shouldn't affect the latest generations - they're indoors on the couch/in the bedroom, on their phones, ipads, playstations, Nintendo Wiis etc. ;D And DLS doesn't help because it has school children & workers outside in the hottest times of the day (school will be coming out a 2pm EST.) that is if they are actually using it for the intended purpose & taking advantage of that so called "extra" hour of daylight for outside activities as they say they want .. it for/to do. Phukked if they should be putting clocks ahead an hour so Office Johnnies can play golf. If you can't play 9 holes in an hour & a half after 5 pm you're not trying. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Daves2017 on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:42am Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:07am:
Why and by whom? I believe ( sometimes) we live in a democracy here? Where was the referendum or mandate to change what was a perfectly acceptable system to the current one I believe most citizens deplore? Who is accountable for the extension of day light saving? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 9th, 2024 at 12:00pm Daves2017 wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:42am:
The Business Council of Australia? Politicians? re: highlight - May have been acceptable for you Cockroaches & Mexicans but it has never been acceptable in QLD. It was trialed twice & voted down twice. It raises it's head every year because of the vast population increase in the self-centred SE corner & that's driven by all the interstate migrants(Cockies & Mexicans) who move here for the lifestyle .... then want to change everything to be like what it was back home. Want DLS? Shift back to a DLS state. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 9th, 2024 at 5:41pm Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am:
That is basically what was written in the facebook newspaper comment section. Was that you? There are those out there who won't accept that they must adjust if they want things their way. They would rather drag people along for the unnecessary change. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 9th, 2024 at 5:44pm Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:07am:
I don't know the reason for the change. I have not had to experience DLS for about 32 years. Maybe it is still warm enough to go swimming after work in April. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Brian Ross on Apr 9th, 2024 at 10:10pm
DAYlight Saving was extended in 1998 to cater for the Sydney Olympics in 2000. It was deemed a success and so was continued with after the Olympics closed. Outside of Sydney it caused all sorts of problems, particularly with Microsoft Windows computers. Microsoft had hard coded the DLS changes into Outlook Client a standalone email client they provided for users who used Exchange. Their advise was to, "write into the appointment the correct time" instead of relying on Outlook to automatically categorise the appointment. Useless. Typical of Micro$oft. Tsk, tsk, tsk... ::) ::)
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Carl D on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:00am
As I've said several times in the past... the term "Daylight Saving" should never have been used.
It should have been called by it's proper name: SUMMER TIME. That way it might have caused a lot less confusion amongst our mostly stupid population and we may have seen a lot less idiocy like: It makes the curtains fade. It makes the paint on your house fade/peel. The cows won't give milk (I've never seen a cow wearing a wristwatch). Plus a few more that I can't recall right now. And my all time favourite: But we have to stay up until 2am to change all the clocks (at the start of SUMMER TIME, 3am when the clocks are changed back at the end of SUMMER TIME). ::) |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jovial Monk on Apr 10th, 2024 at 7:02am Gnads wrote on Apr 9th, 2024 at 9:52am:
THREE eastern states, don’t forget Tassie! ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 10th, 2024 at 9:54am
So the only thing people have going for them to justify how great DLS is, is the extra 'time' of daylight in the 'evening' (for its really after the afternoon).
...because they can't be bothered to get up early at the right time and enjoy the sunshine then as well. Lazy bums. So it strips the Morning People extra daylight, in favour of the Evening People beyond throwing everyone's 'body-clocks' that adapt to the natural occurrence of light and in accordance to the 'seasonal' change of daylight... out of whack. I feel much better and back in alignment now. When there is just one timing to the natural light timing - sometimes, it gets to the point when I don't need a clock to tell me what time it is. I am in tune with nature and nature's time. DLS is a gimmick to disrupt that timing and for what? So evening people can have a bit more daylight on their clocks? ::) It's absurd, pointless, unhealthy and just another example of making a simple thing more complicated than it needs to be, just to appear more sophisticated than it really is. :P Curse: May all DLS supporters have their vehicle Timing Belts go out of whack! >:( |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:19am |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:36am
I woke up this morning to the second time this year that the minimums were below 20°C. Two mornings in a row, and a definite need for me to start using the doona. I still have my ceiling fan whirring away at near full speed -- it only had two speeds (fast and stop). But it will be May by the time I stop using the ceiling fan. And it will be mid-May before I close the bedroom window.
I usually have an earlier bedtime during the winter months. I get out of bed later and go to bed later during the summer months. I seem to be able to sleep through the mornings of summer. Perhaps that is the reason why some like daylight saving. They go to bed at midnight (which is then really 11pm) and get up at 8am (which is then really 7am) so that they don't miss out on an hour of daylight. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:39am greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:19am: I think the better analogy is that of those who sleep with the sheet partly off their body during the Summer months. Then when Autumn comes, they cover themselves with the sheet fully. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:26pm Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 7:02am:
How could I forget? ::) So in summer with the natural twilight down there what time is it when it gets dark? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Sophia on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:48pm greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 11:19am: ;D love it |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Sophia on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:50pm
When the 3 states are put into DLS it makes it so out of whack with rest of states! It’s total BS.
Time for a referendum! |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jovial Monk on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:16pm Gnads wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:26pm:
Pretty damn late! |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Brian Ross on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:19pm
The strangest explanation I heard for DLS is that it is because of the Blue Mountains. It keeps the sun up, above the mountains for an extra hour, so that gives more daylight. In WA they experimented with DLS for a year and everybody hated it. There are no mountains there, so according to the explainer it was a waste of time.
During WWII they had double DLS all year round in the UK, to enable people to come home in daylight. Seems pointless during a northern Winter because it would still be dark. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:20pm Sophia wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 12:50pm:
I hope you are intimating in NSW/VIC/TAS? Because we've had 2 referendums on it in QLD ... and it was voted down twice. I know from what you've posted in the past that you're against DLS where you live ... yes? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:21pm Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:16pm:
So it's really not necessary ... yes? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Gnads on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:25pm Brian Ross wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:19pm:
Yeah that out does the "curtains fading", the "cows not giving milk", as the pro-daylight savings propagandists said anti DLS people used as excuses. |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by Jasin on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:27pm Brian Ross wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:19pm:
But I guess they had to wait an extra 2 hours then to get out of bed, so as to not travel about to work, etc - because it too was too dark. ::) The body must feel 'colder' in the winter going to work with less daylight in the wee morning to warm up, than a body having spent a day of activity, going home in the dark? |
Title: Re: Daylight Saving Refund Post by UnSubRocky on Apr 10th, 2024 at 9:53pm Jasin wrote on Apr 10th, 2024 at 6:27pm:
This morning, I awoke to a cool morning. I wanted more sleep, but I was shivering with the ceiling fan still blaring from the traditional summer weather usage. Doona goes on tonight. But, it is true, what you say that the body has to warm up to be functional during the day. |