Member Run Boards >> Sport >> NRL Vegas http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1709439033 Message started by I, Robot on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 2:10pm |
Title: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 2:10pm
N.ational
R.edneck L.eague in Las Vegas for the biggest fast money suck up that the grubs of NRL can get their hands on. The laugh is that they couldn't even get televised for nearly the first 20 mins of the game. ;D Bet their ego's got dented on that. Americans don't like League and barely even Aussie Rules. The do like Cricket though, as its statistically/specialised much like Gridiron. NRL have done the odd USA Promo stint and its always a choke failure like Jarrod Hayne and AFL only gets as much interest as a NFL kicker. ;D Note: I for one wouldn't have sent two 'top tier' sides for starters. I would have sent the bottom two teams from last year - they would have put on a better match for the Vegans. https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/australia/overtime-in-college-basketball-ruins-nrl-s-big-broadcasting-moment-in-us/ar-BB1jekjj?ocid=msedgntp&pc=ACTS&cvid=460cc6503ad84479ba87af3b37c3f395&ei=17 |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 2:17pm
So Hugh 'Manly' Jackman and Russell 'Souths' Crowe both 'choked' on appearing for the match.
Well that sums up Rugby League right there for you. A very 'unreliable' sport. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 3:55pm
No score for 33 mins anyway.
Manly win against Souths in Viva-las-Vegans https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/other/nrl-highlights-sea-eagles-v-rabbitohs-round-1/vi-BB1jeWU1?ocid=msedgntp&pc=ACTS&cvid=6bd2837abf32466a95d5ef59066d7f02&ei=14 |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 11:46pm
I watched the highlights of the games. Given that the crowd did not give much enthusiasm for the games, I doubt that this venture of playing in Las Vegas will go much further than the 5 year deal. The superbowl had just been played. With this in mind, had the NRL games been played a month later, I would bet that the attendance numbers would have been about half that. Rugby league is not going to compete with gridiron. The Americans have their rugby union and rugby league teams. I have watched the international games of the United States. If they want to compete internationally, they will have to get the fan support. Otherwise, this NRL competition will attract only a few in the audience.
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 4th, 2024 at 10:04am UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 3rd, 2024 at 11:46pm:
Looks like the US media do not agree with you. Quote:
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 4th, 2024 at 10:44am
For Redneck League - any crowd over 10,000 is a miracle.
Panthers night clubs at the Leagues Club of 'entertainment', get more through the doors than they do at the footy gates. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 4th, 2024 at 11:53am Jasin wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 10:44am:
Yes these super clubs have a thousand poker machines which they use to exploit the vulnerable in their community and their friends. It has nothing to do with entertainment, they are parasitic organisms that suck the blood out of their communities. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by philperth2010 on Mar 4th, 2024 at 12:05pm
Looks like overall it was a success....Americans like their violence and hard hits so NRL is a good product for their market....Go the Dragons!!!
[smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif] |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 4th, 2024 at 12:08pm
Traditionally in Sydney.
St George was lucky to get 20,000 at its football. Reason being is that Sydney gets the 'crowds' at Entertainment Venues from Opera House to a Leagues Club and all the other 'MUSIC' clubs in between. Melbourne cot its crowds at its Sport, but their entertainment venues were somewhat 'lame' in comparison. Panthers Leagues said to the likes of Alexander, Izzard, Simmons, Geyer, etc - "Look! We don't work for you, you work for us and we pay you to win. So get off the coke and win!" They won their first Grand Final as the Chocolate Soldiers. NRL or League was traditionally famous for its Kangaroo Tests against Great Britain, where even Melbournians would stay up to the wee hours to watch the game. AFL is the premier 'club level' or 'suburb-level' code of sport in Australia. Cricket being dominant at State Level (which leaves League and AFL State of origin behind). The only 'success' League would have in USA is if they played a nice soft Test match as Kangaroos V USA Eagles or something... and a bit of biff! |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 4th, 2024 at 12:11pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 12:05pm:
With any luck we can piss Redneck League and GayFL off to America where it belongs! :D |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:12pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 10:04am:
Over 40,000 fans! Are we sure that it was 40,000 fans or 40,000 spectators. Given that Allegiant Stadium has a capacity of 65,000, the other 25,000 must have been either empty chairs or whoever showed up to the game to see what the fuss was about. I would expect 40,000 fans to show up for a local derby clash in Sydney's Accor Stadium. That is with 5 million Sydneysiders withing a 100km radius of the stadium. Las Vegas with 2 million residents, could not fill 2/3rds of its state of the art stadium for a couple of games of touring international sides. THAT is how little Americans give a damn about rugby league.... Oh, and the Americans seem to refer to rugby league as "major league rugby". |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:41pm
Well, I guess no "welcome to country" was one positive of the games being hosted there.
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 4th, 2024 at 8:14pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:41pm:
;D Yes. The Comanches and Apaches wouldn't have been happy about that. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 4th, 2024 at 9:17pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 4:12pm:
You really do not think it silly to expect a significantly bigger crowd to turn up than you could get in Australia for the countries premium sport ? For some context: The US played Canada in a soccer game there in front of 35,000 spectators ? Metallica, Guns and Roses, Billy Joel, Rolling Stones - between 35,000 and 44,000 |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 5th, 2024 at 4:11pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 4th, 2024 at 9:17pm:
I think it is very silly to expect Americans to embrace NRL games being played as a once-a-year thing in Las Vegas. Who knows? Maybe I am being a bit too hasty. We should judge the merits of the crowd attendance by what happens next year. Meanwhile, the lack of crowd enthusiasm, other than those actual rugby league fans that came over to watch the games, was noteworthy. Unless people were really that entertained by the games, I figure word of mouth will not get the locals to come out next year. By the way, if Metallica, Guns and Roses, Billy Joel, and the Rolling Stones could only attract a crowd of 35,000, then they really have no considerable fan support anymore. They can fit 96,000 Swifties in a stadium that is designed to seat up to 100,000. But only 35,000 for a stadium designed to seat 65,000. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by I, Robot on Mar 5th, 2024 at 6:43pm
Remember when League was great with its Tests against Great Britain?
Now NRL are grovelling with the 'australian crawl' for America. What a sell out! :D |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 9th, 2024 at 10:18pm Jasin wrote on Mar 5th, 2024 at 6:43pm:
I do not know why they don't do Great Britain tours anymore. Playing against England is like Australia against a top 5 NRL team. It is competitive for a bit, until the second half smashing of England. At least a Great Britain side would put up a fight and probably win a few games. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 14th, 2024 at 8:02pm
Jonathan Thurston commented recently that the 8-week suspension of Spencer Leniu should have been 12 weeks. It had people speculating that if the NRL judiciary had handed Leniu a 12-week suspension, would Thurston have called for a 16 week suspension, just to have his say and try to appear relevant.
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Jasin on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:01pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 9th, 2024 at 10:18pm:
I'm right with you on that Subby. That's what made League great - those Tests. Even Melbournians would sit up in the wee hours to watch them. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:51pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 5th, 2024 at 4:11pm:
Did you know that they played this years superbowl there and didn't fill it ? $40 K fans for a RL game is a teriffic result, |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by philperth2010 on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:52pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 8:02pm:
Even 8 weeks seams a bit extreme....You get less for smacking some bloke in the chops??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:53pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 8:02pm:
I think 8 was a bit harsh. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:57pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:52pm:
Last time I was penalised for punching someone in a footy match the ref told me the penalty was because I didn't hit him hard enough. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by philperth2010 on Mar 14th, 2024 at 10:27pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:57pm:
I have never played Rugby League or would ever want to....You would expect tempers would get heated when you are smashing someone for an hour and a half??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 15th, 2024 at 1:20pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 10:27pm:
A lot of it is just tactical, trying to put someone off their game not trying to hurt them. Also it works out a lot of your aggression etc. Footy players are mostly the calmest people in real life. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by philperth2010 on Mar 15th, 2024 at 1:29pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 15th, 2024 at 1:20pm:
Well not in the Aussie rules clubs I played at....After a few beers you would always get someone going the biffo....A certain ex mate of mine (he was built like a brick shithouse) would start a fight anywhere we went and most of the blokes ended up joining in....Ah the good old days!!! ;) ;) ;) |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 15th, 2024 at 2:41pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:51pm:
61,000 people at the Super Bowl is basically capacity seating. That is 20,000 more than attended a couple of NRL games. I am not saying that 41,000 people in Las Vegas watching a couple of NRL games is not a good result. But, "terrific" would not be it. I bet at least 10,000 attendees -- 14,000, according to the Sydney Morning Herald -- were from Australia. 20,000+ locals watched. Reports were that a significant proportion of the remainder of the crowd were from other international countries that favour rugby league. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 15th, 2024 at 2:47pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 14th, 2024 at 9:52pm:
I completely agree. I thought 2 weeks would be sufficient suspension. But, I knew that the NRL was going to try and send a message. How soft are players if they are easily that heckled at being called a monkey? |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 15th, 2024 at 3:31pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 15th, 2024 at 1:29pm:
Yes same every club has some nutz. I was refering to on field. The people with no disciplin are weeded out on the most part. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 15th, 2024 at 3:32pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 15th, 2024 at 2:47pm:
I would think 4 to 6 weeks would be the mark. 8 too much 2 too little. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by Dnarever on Mar 15th, 2024 at 3:35pm UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 15th, 2024 at 2:41pm:
61K at a 65K stadium is capacity. They had unsold tickets. Still pretty good. Quote:
Is any of this relevant? 3 decades ago there would have been 25 people. 40K is great. As many as Guns and roses or the Stones. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 16th, 2024 at 4:53pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 15th, 2024 at 3:32pm:
I could probably understand 4 weeks. More than that would be too much. Racial insults have no place in the game. But I would rather have hurt feelings than a broken jaw from a punch. |
Title: Re: NRL Vegas Post by UnSubRocky on Mar 16th, 2024 at 5:18pm
By the way, if Guns n Roses were playing a concert in a 65,000 seat stadium, they would have one-third of the seats being vacant behind the stage and all the seats that were left would be filled, as well as all of the field with fanatics. A 65,000 seat stadium would be 70,000 or maybe 80,000 fans attending.
Metallica played a concert where 1.6 million people were in the audience. Sure, it was Moscow and it was part of the end of the Cold War (and free tickets). But, these days, many of those ageing rockers cannot get a concert with 100,000 attendees. Taylor Swift came close in Melbourne. It is just a sign of the times that concerts are going the way of movies where the audience can watch at home with the atmosphere they get at the concerts. What if the NRL games were played at Michigan Stadium? I reckon not more than 50,000 people would attend the game, with plenty of seats left empty. 20,000 empty seats at Las Vegas was enough to show me that the locals are only curious and mildly enthused about having a set of Australian rugby league games played in their country. Next year, I would guess that 30,000 people will show up to the Las Vegas NRL games. I would be happy to be proven wrong and see 40,000 or more locals willing to attend the games in the USA. |