General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> Barnfind Motorcycle http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1697428969 Message started by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:02pm |
Title: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:02pm
I was chatting to my old neighbour a few doors down the other day about his motorcycle, and mentioned I haven't seen him on it for a while. He said he hasn't ridden it for a few years due to health reasons. :'(
Today, when I got home, he bailed me up and gave me the keys and said it's yours if you can get it going and get some use out of it. It's 13 years old, has only 5000 on the clock. It's got a fewr spots of surface rust on it (ocean air) which I can sort out. As for getting it started, my plan is to drain the tank, fuel lines and coolant and put in new spark plugs. It's EFI no carb, reckon I should flush the injectors first or just hope for the best and get them cleaned IF it doesn't start? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:05pm
What model is it?
Does the engine turn over or is it seized? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:10pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:05pm:
This happened a few hours ago, I haven't even wheeled it out of his garage. He said the battery is flat. I doubt it's seized, it was serviced 2 years ago, ridden home and never started again. Actually before I even spend money on coolant, I recon just buy 2 plugs, drain the fuel and lines and try to jump start it. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:16pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:10pm:
What model? All engines left to sit can seize - if you try to start them you can snap rings etc. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:28pm
Nice bike.
undo the spark plugs - spray WD40 down the holes. leave it to sit for 2 days then kick it over with no plugs to see if it's seized. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:32pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:28pm:
Could the WD40 prevent damage that may occur if I just tried to kick it over otherwise? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bias_2012 on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:35pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:10pm:
You'd be wise first to remove the sump and oil the bearings, has it got a sump? Then squirt some oil down the spark plug holes and let it drain past the rings for a few hours After 2 years of standing, the bearings and cylinders get dry, and a sudden start up could damage the engine. There'd be an initial moment when there's zero oil pressure, with the engine doing 800 to 1,000 RPM |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:38pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:32pm:
yes - it kills the rust in the bores making it less likely to break a ring if it's rusted on to the bore. It will also get down into the bearing shells and give them some start up protection. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:45pm
Thanks to both above.
So how does this sound. Drain fuel tank/lines/replace fuel filter Remove plugs, spray WD40 into pistons Leave for a few days, spray again, crank it over without plugs Drain sump, replace oil and filter then crank it over |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:48pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:45pm:
Sounds good. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:32pm
Nice score!
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by aquascoot on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:49pm Bias_2012 wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:35pm:
yeah, probably looks like a wet sump model as long as it hasnt dropped a valve , you wont do too much damage starting her up gordo hondas are incredibly durable just drain all the fluids and change be careful and probably use motorcycle oil as the clutch is often combined with the engine lube on bikes 10w 40 clean the air filter (might have a wasps nest in it , lol or mouse poop av gas is good to start or even old 'start ya bastard" i reckon you will have no issues bike batterys are a rip off but you'll need a new one oh, make sure you put a bit of clean fuel in , then give it a good shake, then siphon it out do this a few times old fuel is gunna muck up your injectors |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by aquascoot on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:51pm
is that a cb 500?
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:51pm Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:32pm:
He didn't 'score it' you blathering alcoholic dementia cask of wine. Only you would contrive that out of what Gordon said of it being given to him, by someone who loves that bike so much - he wants it to have the right owner for it. *Monk races across the street before Gordo, asking the guy "Can I have it?!" :D |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 5:18pm aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:51pm:
2012 VT750s. Only 5000km! https://youtu.be/MFWTlnzstIE?si=NHfQGbQrWfKypnNk |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 5:35pm
Nice bike - - it will go forever.
http://www.mbike.com/honda/vt750-c2/2012 Engine type: 2 cylinders, 4-stroke, 52° V-twin Displacement: 745 cc (45.52 cubic inches) Bore × stroke: 79 mm × 76 mm (square) Cooling system: Water cooled Power: 44.87 HP (33 kW) @ 5500 rpm Torque: 63 Nm (6.42 kg-m) @ 3000 rpm Curb weight: 243 kg Top speed: 160 km/h |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by aquascoot on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:01pm
very nice gordo and worth quite a bit
well done |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:09pm aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:01pm:
Thanks, good neighbour. :) He's a marine mechanical engineer, and he said that bike which is one of dozens he's owned is his favourite because it's so simple yet so refined mechanically. Bobby was right in saying that thing if looked after will go for a long long time. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:16pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:48pm:
You sound very intelligent with Bikes Bobby. Don't know about Religion for you though. :D |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:23pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:16pm:
I've rebuilt 4 motorcycle engines. Each one was a perfect job. One of them was a Honda CB750 cc from 1973. they are built like a tank and will go forever. It had 100,000 miles on it and only needed a rebore - oversize pistons, bearings and a valve grind. It was a pleasure to ride. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:29pm
I also rebuilt a 1973 Kawasaki H2 750 cc 3 cylinder 2 stroke.
It was a wild machine. It would power wheely in 1st, 2nd and 3rd easily. Same colour and model as this one: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A8-nhoQmHeY |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:41pm
What made you both get into bikes? :-?
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:43pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:51pm:
He got a great bike for nothing. What a score! |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:44pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:41pm:
I started on little bikes when I was young and graduated to much larger and more powerful bikes. I got addicted to the adrenaline rush. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:53pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:44pm:
I see. ...and you Gordo? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:55pm Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:43pm:
Ok. Ok. Settle down. Down Monk. Down. I understand that getting your hands on a bike like that would pay off your Bottle'O Drivethru bill and fund your Goons for a year or two thanks to Ebay. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by aquascoot on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:11pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:23pm:
that is a stunning bike bobby |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:14pm aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:11pm:
Yes - imagine that on a nice Sunday ride along Beach road in Melbourne. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:28pm
Never ridden a bike.
Am a touch envious - it always looks like a nice experience. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:30pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:23pm:
I pulled the head off a 1000c 4cyl DOHC bike, thats about the limits of my mechanical ability I reckon. Is that an actual photo of your old bike? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:32pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 6:53pm:
Yup loads. This bike is probably a good fit for me now, not crazy powerful and enjoyable to cruise around on. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:34pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:30pm:
No - both photos I posted were of identical bikes - same colour - same model - same year. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:38pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:14pm:
Get a bike, ride up to Sydney and we can do the next https://www.gentlemansride.com/ |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bias_2012 on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:45pm
Has it got a starter motor? Another method to get the oil pressure up before starting is to remove the plug leads and turn the engine over a bit, then replace the leads
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:46pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:34pm:
Here is a better image of what it looked like: |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:48pm Bias_2012 wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:45pm:
I think the WD40 down the plugs is a good idea. It may start and be fine, but it needs an oil change and new plugs anyway, so it's no more effort really. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:00pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 7:38pm:
I don't think my reaction times are as good as when I was in my 20s and 30s plus I have a bad back now. I doubt I could ride more than an hour or two. Bikes are for young people. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:09pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:00pm:
I'm sure my reaction times are much worse than my 20s. I've been putting off getting a bike because of that but I think I'm now at a stage where my road aggression levels (desire to ride fast) are now commensurate with my reaction times, and having a street cruiser is just the right kind of bike. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:13pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:09pm:
If you take it easy it's OK. I'm only here today from a reasonable skill level and many split second decisions that I made while riding - especially on that H2 750. That bike couldn't even hold a chosen line in fast corner. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:19pm aquascoot wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 4:49pm:
Yes make sure you have the right oil. Wet clutches need a specific oil or clutch will slip then you will be replacing it and filling it up again with the right oil. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:24pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:13pm:
I had fast, but VERY capable bikes. I once bought 3 brand new bikes in a bit over a year. I bought a Honda VTR1000, 2cyl V twin, then 6 months later I decided I wanted to be a race boy so traded it for a Fireblade CBR1000RR. After 6 months I realised that was WAY too much bike and was only fun to ride aggressively, so traded it back for another VTR1000. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:36pm Gordon wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 2:02pm:
I had a fuel injected GPZ 1100 it was the first production bike to crack 10 second quarter mile. 0-100 kph in 2.4 seconds. Plugs last much longer with EFI as the thing doesn't run rich i doubt it will need new plugs.Oil also lasts longer with EFI as less blowby contaminating it. Oil and coolant wouldn't hurt being replaced check air filter if it looks ok you can put it back.Fuel filter should be OK no worries if you want to change that. I would look at giving brake fluid a check. Get some clear plastic hose to put over bleed nipple then bleed until fluid looks good. The fluid in brake caliper goes off so you shouldn't have to bleed whole system. I do this with cars when changing pads it allows the caliper to go heaps longer before needing a rebuild. Tyres would have gone hard and lost grip so you should replace them even if they have heaps of tread. The rubber would be over 10 years old all tyres lose significant grip after 5. Stick a new battery in it. Being EFI you should hear fuel pump priming for a few seconds when turned to on to bring up fuel pressure. If you're going to turn motor over with wd40 make sure you put plugs in lead then earth plug on cylinder head. If it has no lead and coil goes on plug make sure plug is in coil as coil can be damaged if spark has nowhere to go. I wouldn't use wd i would go to Subaru spare parts and get a can of upper engine cleaner from them around $20. It's a foam spray it down plug hole let it sit for a little while put plugs back in. Subaru use it servicing WRX as turbos run rich on boost it will clean all the crap from combustion chamber and piston crown back to shiny metal. Good score make it heaps easier going from beach to junction lane splitting with beach traffic. Looks like decent low to mid range power so should be a good cruiser. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:36pm:
Good advice. WD40 is good enough if you spray plenty in and leave it for 2 days. It's just to make sure that rings are not rusted solid to the bores. yes - brake fluid soaks up moisture so can boil on a hot day leaving no brakes - replace it. Tyres must be replaced but OK for a slow ride just for testing. Fuel and oil filters can block up with a white sediment from reaction to moisture. Replace them. Always earth the plugs when turning over without plugs. The thing to do is to start it up and listen for the sounds from the top end of the motor - if it sounds like a metal banging factory switch it off. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Lisa Jones on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm
This is my model bike 👇
![]() |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:16pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm:
It has only been 2 years and dry in Sydney. That said environment can differ old damp shed with dirt floor or sealed garage with concrete floor. The Subaru upper engine cleaner is fantastic stuff it's the only thing i would use. Gets rid of all carbon buildup from piston crowns and frees up sticking rings.I have used it to fix cars with idle fluctuations others misdiagnosed as worn valve guides needing head rebuild. Old tyres in the dry are OK it''s wet or damp roads where you will really notice it. Perfect time to do a few burnouts just before replacing back tyre. ;) EFI is really good much easier than rebuilding carbs. There is also a gauze filer on fuel pump inlet with EFI which can block you will notice it dies just off idle when gunning it. Fuel goes off with time when you open mower fuel cans and hear it when opening can that is all the high octane aromatics bleeding off. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:31pm Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:16pm:
It's up to Gordon now. Once going there is more to check: swingarm bushes - steering yoke bushes - shockers spoke tensions - brake pad wear - oil pressure if he has a gauge. Check all nuts are tight and check the chain tension and rear wheel alignment. He's going to love that bike. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:43pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:31pm:
It only has 5000ks it's not a clapped out heap. I used Motul chain lube on the kart i raced. Direct drive 18,500 rpm 2 stroke it stayed on just about every other brand ended up on right shoulder of race suit. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:01pm Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 9:43pm:
It's easy enough to check for play in the front wheel and the swingarm. Some bikes have quality phosphor bronze bushes and others have cheap, piss poor nylon ones. Chains need some lube. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:49pm Lisa Jones wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 8:53pm:
You can double me on that one. Lol. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:53pm
My first and only (motor) bike experience was as a 5 year old being doubled on a small kids bike by a 10 year old.
He went straight into a ditch and flipped. I never knew that flying ahead like a human bullet with an over-sized helmet could take me far in life. :-[ |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:55pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:49pm:
Lisa tried to get involved in secret men's business. :-[ |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Jasinner on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:57pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:55pm:
Lisa tried to get involved in secret men's business. :-[/quote] Do you think she would get pulled over by Inspector Underwear? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 16th, 2023 at 11:11pm Jasin wrote on Oct 16th, 2023 at 10:57pm:
It's Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance. ;) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 17th, 2023 at 12:33am
Read it and like it. ;D
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 20th, 2023 at 2:44pm
Here's where I'm up to.
2 days ago I sprayed WD40 into the pots. Today I drained the tank (most of the fuel must have evaporated) sloshed some clean fuel around until it ran clear. Hooked it up to my car, tried to kick it over but the bike engine hardly turned, just a few cranks but not turning over. I can hear the fuel filter doing it's thing. One of my jumper leads actually melted. Any ideas? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 20th, 2023 at 3:11pm
Guess you have to return it to him.
Yours 'if' you got it started. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:53pm Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 2:44pm:
"tried to kick it over but the bike engine hardly turned" with or without the plugs? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:57pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:53pm:
Both, sounds like the starter motor is rooted. I also tried to bump start it just to see if that loosened something up. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 5:21pm Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 4:57pm:
It should have been easy to turn it over without the plugs in. At least it turns over - it's not seized. Is your jumper cable faulty? It shouldn't melt - usually they melt at poor quality connections where the wire joins the end of the clips. Engine not starting - check that the spark plugs have a healthy blue spark - when earthed outside the motor. Check that fuel is really getting into the motor. I assume you have carburetors? if so spray "engine start" or petrol into the carby intakes and try again. You'll need to take the air cleaners off. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:17pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 5:21pm:
I reckon the issue was the jumper leads, they're cheapo petrol station ones I bought as I needed some in a hurry once. It didn't even turn over enough to give it a chance to start, just a few chugs. The bike is EFI so I reckon it's got a good chance at starting without having to do much. I don't mind doing all the work you mentioned above, but AFTER I hear the engine fire up :) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:23pm Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:17pm:
Try new jumper leads. You can always phone a bike shop - they will turn up with a bike trailer and take it away to be repaired. As you got the bike for free it's still a good deal. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:41pm
The bargain was Bobby.
If Gordon could get it started, then it was his to keep. Is Gordon a man of his word? :D |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:54pm Jasin wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:41pm:
Within one week Gordon will be riding his beautiful bike enjoying the nice weather. Hot babes will admire him. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:57pm
I hope so.
But I hope he proves himself up to the challenge. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:00pm Jasin wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:57pm:
Gordon is in shape - he runs, he goes swimming and now he'll be like the Fonz on his motorcycle. :) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:01pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 6:23pm:
100% sure it was crap leads. I had a high quality set for years that vanished. I reckon they got nicked at the dealership service centre. The ones I used were $15 petrol station ones. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:05pm Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:01pm:
I had a pair of leads like that. I soldered the wires on using a gas stove to heat up the clips - and a roll of solder - then they have been perfect for 25 years or more. I'll post a pic if you want? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:05pm
I remember returning to a Dealership in Nowra where my car was in for its 2nd day.
"I just popped in because I forgot to get something out of my car." removing the $15,000 wad-roll from the centre arm rest compartment. The looks on their faces was a poorly hidden 'damn'. ;D |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:24pm Jasin wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:05pm:
Stealership. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:53pm Gordon wrote on Oct 20th, 2023 at 7:24pm:
I will admit I did feel a sense of relief when I found it still there. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 9:43am
I got some decent jumper leads and it started first pop :D
The engine sounds SWEET but it stalls as soon as I disconnect the leads which I guess means the battery is so bad it has dead cells. Off to get a new battery. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 21st, 2023 at 11:20am Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 9:43am:
You lucky devil. Keep us informed. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 3:49pm
Here's the engine running. The sound changes as I walk around the bike with my phone.
http://sndup.net/v3wy |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 4:20pm
Costs so far. Jumper leads $40
Oil, filter, battery $160 |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 21st, 2023 at 4:57pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 9:43am:
EFI always starts quicker than carby. The carby need motor to turn over produce vacum to suck fuel from carby. EFI is programmed to squirt fuel when motor starts turning if it has fuel pressure it should start almost instantly. The only downside is if battery voltage drops below 8-9 volts ECU doesn't let it run or start. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:32pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 3:49pm:
Sounds good - you've got yourself a goer there. Remember what I wrote: Once going there is more to check: swingarm bushes - ( check swingarm play with the front wheel held down using the main stand) steering yoke bushes - (check play on the front wheel - main stand on - with the back wheel held down so the front wheel is in the air) shockers - check for smooth movement and no oil leaks. Check for any oil leaks - rocker covers, sump plug etc. spoke tensions - tap with a screwdriver metal on each spoke that they all sound the same. brake pad wear - most likely OK as low mileage. oil pressure if you have a gauge. ( see what the book says - 40 lbs psi?) Check all nuts are tight and check the chain tension and rear wheel alignment. If you are unsure book it in for a service at your bike dealer. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:35pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 3:49pm:
Kaspesky doesn't let me in without warning and Telstra blocked it unable to see link. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:41pm Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:35pm:
I edited the link. Try this http://sndup.net/v3wy |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:43pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:32pm:
On Monday I'm going to do the oil change and change coolant, then take it to a bike workshop for a roadworthy and safety check. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:49pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:43pm:
Good - you must be very happy? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:54pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:43pm:
I wonder if Angelo still runs Cyclecraft on Bondi Rd about a block from KFC if KFC is still there Quote:
In the late 80's Angelo was rebuilding heaps of Jap bikes then moved into Harleys people spent thousands on saddlebags etc looks like the Bondi crowd want Vespas these days. ;D If Angelo still runs the place they have good service dept. He machined up some parts for my Torana on his lathe about 30 years ago |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:56pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:41pm:
That works. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:58pm Baronvonrort wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:54pm:
Ha that's where my neighbour got it serviced. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:59pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:49pm:
Totally, it's not the kind of bike I'd have thought to buy if I were buying one, but I have a feeling it's the right fit for me. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 21st, 2023 at 6:02pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:59pm:
yes it's perfect - it's not a revvy bike - it will have power down at low revs and be wonderful for a cruise by the harbor. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 21st, 2023 at 6:06pm Gordon wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 5:58pm:
Ask for Angelo you can say some of his cutomers from around 30 years ago said he was ok. Workshop entrance is in back lane behind shop. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 21st, 2023 at 6:11pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 21st, 2023 at 6:02pm:
I'm looking forward to riding it. Will also be fun to go to bike shop and buy all the clobber. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 21st, 2023 at 6:47pm
Such a great feel good Topic and not a troll in sight.
Well done Gordon! 8-) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 24th, 2023 at 12:19pm
Took 'Bert' for it's first ride, directly to the bike shop (via the beach of course).
It rides as smooth as butter. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 24th, 2023 at 3:49pm Gordon wrote on Oct 24th, 2023 at 12:19pm:
The bike has gotta have a girl's name. You're a winner with a going bike. Are you getting: new tyres, new brake and clutch fluid? Let us know what the shop reckons? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 24th, 2023 at 4:35pm Gordon wrote on Oct 24th, 2023 at 12:19pm:
The old V twin from Honda will be smooth reliable and fuel efficient. The Harley V Twins vibrate like a 1400cc vibrator which results in women leaving a wet patch on the seat. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 24th, 2023 at 5:37pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 24th, 2023 at 3:49pm:
Bert could be from Roberta ;) The tyres have 10km of them. Both the front and rear brake felt fine but I told the shop to do whatever. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 24th, 2023 at 8:00pm Gordon wrote on Oct 24th, 2023 at 5:37pm:
good. :) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2023 at 10:02am
It's back from the bike shop, needed nothing.
My total cost to get it registered, less than $1000.00 |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 31st, 2023 at 10:16am Gordon wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 10:02am:
Good - you can still do some of my checks: Reply #76 |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2023 at 11:02am Bobby. wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 10:16am:
They did a full safety check. Tell a lie they replaced a brake light switch |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 31st, 2023 at 11:22am Gordon wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 11:02am:
Well - you have a lot of trust in them. It takes only a few minutes to tap the spokes with a screwdriver to see if they all sound the same? I never trusted anyone except myself when I rode my bikes. That's why I'm still here. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 31st, 2023 at 2:24pm
Are you a Comanchero Biker, Bobby?
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 31st, 2023 at 2:39pm Jasin wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 2:24pm:
I was never part of any bike gang. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Oct 31st, 2023 at 3:13pm Bobby. wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 2:39pm:
Nor am I but I'll do the next DGR ![]() |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Oct 31st, 2023 at 5:19pm
You've both done a biker mole haven't you?
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Oct 31st, 2023 at 5:49pm Jasin wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 5:19pm:
I was not interested in filthy biker moles. Why do you dream up these fantasies? forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Nov 1st, 2023 at 9:59am
Hey Bobby & Gordo.
Can you do this on a motorcycle? https://www.msn.com/en-au/news/other/harley-rider-does-extreme-helmet-dragging-wheelie-stunt/vi-AA1j9gOl?ocid=msedgntp&pc=ACTS&cvid=1652da3deb82471fb63d56d6ca82fbd1&ei=29 |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by John Smith on Nov 1st, 2023 at 10:33am Bobby. wrote on Oct 31st, 2023 at 2:39pm:
'Dykes on bikes' isn't considered a gang? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Nov 1st, 2023 at 11:50am Jasin wrote on Nov 1st, 2023 at 9:59am:
Yes, I've actually done that on a dirt bike, but the bike has continued on its rotation without me and I've ended up on the ground ;D |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Nov 1st, 2023 at 3:00pm
Now for the fun part
https://www.easyr.com.au/shoei-glamster-06-bivouac-tc-9-helmet Or https://www.easyr.com.au/shoei-glamster-helmet-black |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 1st, 2023 at 4:52pm Gordon wrote on Nov 1st, 2023 at 3:00pm:
You should try them on before buying some fit your head better than others. AGV and Bell fit better for me. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Nov 1st, 2023 at 5:46pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 1st, 2023 at 4:52pm:
Absolutely I will, just looking at styles. I want something more like a retro style than the raceboi look :) |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 2nd, 2023 at 8:42pm
The retro look would be matt black half face for that bike.
I fell of once the only scrape on helmet was the chin piece it was pretty big i wouldn't get half face. I have 2 helmets a white and black the black gets too hot in summer. If you get a plain white one you can design a few custom vinyl stickers whatever you want. No problems with stickers some paints aren't compatible stickers are cheaper. A friend with carbon fibre mountain bike had an expensive repair when it fell over onto a brick fence. Cheaper to put custom sticker over repair instead of repainting whole bike. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Nov 2nd, 2023 at 8:45pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 2nd, 2023 at 8:42pm:
White helmets are better - motorists are more likely to see them. |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by JaSin of Ur on Nov 3rd, 2023 at 9:24am
Get a HALO helmet, just to be sure.
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 11th, 2023 at 12:07am Quote:
That has to be the best motorbike chase video i have seen. With his girlfriend on the back. :o |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:27am |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Nov 11th, 2023 at 9:17am
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3QGMCSCFoKA
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:09pm
Might as well post it here too -
Bobby with his H2 750 Kawasaki 3 cylinder 2 stroke: |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Gordon on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:13pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:09pm:
We're the police pointing a gun at you? |
Title: Re: Barnfind Motorcycle Post by Bobby. on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:16pm Gordon wrote on Nov 11th, 2023 at 7:13pm:
I was just horsing around as my friend took me by surprise with his camera. LOL |