General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> New Solar system http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1696587004 Message started by Captain Nemo on Oct 6th, 2023 at 8:10pm |
Title: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 6th, 2023 at 8:10pm
I'm a happy chappie. 8-)
First full day, well almost, of our new Solar system. 13 hours so far free of charge* from the grid. *Pardon the pun! ;D A cute BYD Solar battery is coming in handy. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by chimera on Oct 6th, 2023 at 8:29pm
They have no right to call it a solar system. Maybe a spacecraft with panels in orbit around the sun, otherwise it's not on.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Belgarion on Oct 6th, 2023 at 9:40pm
Are you off grid or grid connected?
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 12:02am chimera wrote on Oct 6th, 2023 at 8:29pm:
Hee hee. ;D |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 12:06am Belgarion wrote on Oct 6th, 2023 at 9:40pm:
Grid connected. I was surprised to see how much better this new system is compared with the old one which we had for 15 years. Used to be on the Premium feed-in tariff which has now gone, but this battery is really doing a great job. We went 16 hours self-sufficient. 8-) |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jasinner on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:47am
There will be a knock on your front door soon by two big men in black.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 6:35am
Alas, I would need work done to increase the roof area before I could have a solar power system. Shits me.
The solar panels available are all 1.7m long, I could not fit enough of he big panels. :'( |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by freediver on Oct 7th, 2023 at 9:28am
Looks like a massive system. Why is it charging at 20% in the middle of the night? Or is that how full the battery is?
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by chimera on Oct 7th, 2023 at 9:55am
fd, the day ends at sunset. Then the night begins. After the day.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 9:58am freediver wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 9:28am:
That is how full the battery is. The system stops drawing from the battery when it gets down to 20% to allow the system to kick in if we have a power outage. We have all circuits covered for power black-out coverage. The Solar array is 12 panels - around 6 kW capacity but in reality we get 4.5 kW from the inverter in good sun. The battery is a BYD 11 kWh one, so it can take us a good way into the night before it stops being drawn from. Funny thing ... weeks ago we advised Origin Energy (our energy retailer) that we were ditching our old system and getting a new one put in. So we were fully aware that our Premium Feed-In Tariff 66c / kWh would be gone. :( They said, OK no problem, the plan would have the new FIT applied once they receive the official paperwork from the installer. Good-oh Then, when the system was installed, we again rang them to remind them that we would no longer qualify for the 66c /kWh FIT. OK, thanks, we will fix that when we get the paperwork. Good-oh Then, when the system had passed the inspection and was turned on during Thursday, we again called to make sure they were aware that we would now be on the measly 4.9c / kWh FIT. No worries, it will be changed on your next bill. So, any extra earning you make? Good luck to you. Good-oh Well, sure enough, just checked our billing on-line and they are continuing to pay us 66c /kWh FIT 8-) Won't last for long, but very nice while it lasts. We have gone from around 15 kWh daily draw from the grid down to around 3.5 kWh :D Instead of a daily bill for around $5.50 they are going to pay us $5.00 credit - until the FIT officially changes. Ah! life's good. :) |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 10:06am
Don’t remind them again of the change in your system!
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 10:07am
Guy down the road pays no electricity bill, sells enough power to cover power used.
BUT he cooks and heats on woodfired burner. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by freediver on Oct 7th, 2023 at 10:17am Quote:
You might want to disconnect the hot water from that one. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 11:10am freediver wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 10:17am:
All good, we installed a hot water heat-pump and so far it looks like the battery covers it. Runs about 3hrs when it needs to do its thing. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 11:13am Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 10:07am:
Yeah, we haven't had the electric oven hit the system yet so that will impact our results a bit. Running the kettle and toaster at the same time certainly ups the drain each morning! :D |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 12:09pm
Heating water takes a LOT of power. Mass and high specific heat.
My Saxon woodheater—I can put a pan of stew on the front of it, it will slowly cook it so will try that rather than my slowcooker |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 1:02pm Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 12:09pm:
Yes, the heat pump was running almost 4 hrs last night. Ran for free though thanks to the battery. Those other short spikes are the kettle. :o Here is what happened for the rest of the morning and so far today. Quite overcast most of today but we were still only drawing from the grid during off-peak except for that blasted kettle again! ;D |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 2:15pm
Yes, I would like to install a heat pump for hot water. Stuff paying the electric retailer.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by John Smith on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:12pm Quote:
I've never had a heat pump so I'm unsure how it works, but why run it at night? My hot water was set on a timer so that it would only heat up during the day when the solar panels were doing their thing |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Redmond Neck on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:31pm
Gooday Nemo
I had a 6.6Kw system installed this year, just wondering what the battery installation cost, as i wouldnt mind doing that as well? |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 5:25pm Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:31pm:
$10,000 for an 11 kW BYD brand battery. So the payback is a long-term prospect. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 7th, 2023 at 5:32pm John Smith wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:12pm:
I let the heat pump do its thing whenever it wants to but it does have a timer set-up which I can use. If the battery covers it I'm not really too worried when it fires up because we end up drawing from the grid during off peak (11 pm to 7 am) but I take your point that setting it to operate during the day might be a way to avoid drawing from the grid at all. I might have a go at setting it to run only in the day and see how we go. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by freediver on Oct 7th, 2023 at 5:34pm
It sounds like a heat pump is like a reverse cycle air conditioner. It will use a lot less electricity to heat up the water, and have an external cooler (beer fridge anyone?). The downside would be that it is not going to last 20 years like a hot water system should.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jasinner on Oct 7th, 2023 at 6:45pm
I have a group of Slaves.
They power my place by running the treadmill. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 7:04pm Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 5:25pm:
What type of battery? Lithium or something safer? |
Title: ! Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 7th, 2023 at 7:09pm
Only solar panels I can install without rebuilding the house are a couple portable ones on the garage roof to keep a fish pond pump going. My land slopes, vege patch will be levelled with two levels, two wide terraces, means a waterfall effect can be simulated.
Mind you, dunno what fish I can stock! Top water of the pond might freeze on frosty cold nights! |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by freediver on Oct 7th, 2023 at 8:31pm
How's this for an idea - hook up your hot water system via a heat pump to your fridge and freezer. Maybe the temperature difference would be too much. I expect the hot water is much more powerful, so you could probably power a much bigger fridge and freezer while using less electricity.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 8th, 2023 at 10:11am Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 7:04pm:
I choose the danger. :D Cobalt Free Lithium Iron Phosphate (LFP) Battery BYD Premium HVM 11.04kWh of Storage |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Oct 8th, 2023 at 10:41am
No, you chose safety—those are the LiFePO batteries that are much safer than plain lithium ones. Well done!
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by issuevoter on Oct 8th, 2023 at 7:12pm
I have to buy Communist Chinese crap that undercuts Western industry, but I would not give them that kind of money.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Oct 9th, 2023 at 8:41am John Smith wrote on Oct 7th, 2023 at 3:12pm:
Changed the heat pump settings to run only between a 9am to 3pm window and now we are going 22 hrs self-sufficient. Good advice there JS 8-) |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 28th, 2023 at 10:36am Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 6th, 2023 at 8:10pm:
Hi Captain, Well done. Loks very good. Once our large tariff ends it looks like a new system will be a good idea. Will get it battery ready and ponder that area. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 28th, 2023 at 11:00am
I am getting a 6KV system installed in January.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by John Smith on Nov 28th, 2023 at 11:30am Captain Nemo wrote on Oct 9th, 2023 at 8:41am:
glad to help |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Nov 28th, 2023 at 12:46pm Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 28th, 2023 at 11:00am:
Great news JM. Enjoy! 8-) |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Redmond Neck on Nov 28th, 2023 at 1:16pm
I have decided at age 79, I may not be around long enough to enjoy the gains after the battery is paid off.
How long do you reckon Nemo will it take to cover the battery cost? |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Nov 28th, 2023 at 9:54pm Redmond Neck wrote on Nov 28th, 2023 at 1:16pm:
It could take between 10 and 15 years I reckon. However, there is the benefit of knowing that you have added very useful infrastructure to the home that someone will inherit and enjoy the savings on their power bills. 8-) Of course, the personal addition to the fight against CO2 emissions is a reward in itself. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by SadKangaroo on Dec 2nd, 2023 at 5:01pm
I really need to start investigating Solar, but with storage also.
I'd love to be able to have power when mains is out, plus be as off grid as possible. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Feb 7th, 2024 at 3:13pm
My solar panels will be installed on the 20th—like a month later than promised. I had to chase them up twice and was starting to think i had been scammed!
Would like to add two wind generators—the sun don’t shine at night and not much in winter! No battery—mains is pretty good here. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by JaSin of Peanut Butter on Feb 7th, 2024 at 8:09pm
All you need is Neptune in alignment with its twin Your-Anus
while they both polarise Jupiter and Mercury upon the other side and you will receive much Solar power as your inner chakras can afford to store. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Feb 8th, 2024 at 6:11pm
I doubt using a heat pump to heat water would bring much benefit to me. A heat pump to heat and cool the study would be more beneficial.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Feb 10th, 2024 at 8:54am
Our heat pump is great for us because we went from a gas storage water heater to the electric heat pump. From costly gas heating bills to zero cost for heating the water now provided we have a reasonably sunny day.
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Feb 10th, 2024 at 10:22am
I am all electric here.
Only I use the hot water. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 10th, 2024 at 10:53am Jovial Monk wrote on Feb 7th, 2024 at 3:13pm:
Good news. Well done. A mate suggested to get them installed 'Battery ready'. Batteries are not economic at this stage but are getting closer. When batteries get viable if your system is 'battery ready' it is easy to wire them in. |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Captain Nemo on Feb 10th, 2024 at 12:00pm Jovial Monk wrote on Feb 10th, 2024 at 10:22am:
In your case that makes perfect sense JM. For us, it made a difference. Here is today's chart showing the heat pump doing its thing for "free". |
Title: Re: New Solar system Post by Jovial Monk on Feb 10th, 2024 at 12:49pm Quote:
Good idea, Sprint, no harm having it “battery ready.” When I rocked up here last Saturday of November 2022 there were no keys evident. I thought “maybe in the meter box?” and opened that only to nearly fall on the floor laughing—it was like a museum exhibit of the 1950s! Old fashioned meter, and actual FUSES! Now there is a modern meter that can be read remotely (and I might be due a payment on that) and a modern switchboard with earth protection on each circuit—and a real earth not a bit of metal sort-of stuck in the ground. |