General Discussion >> Chat >> Why is food so cheap?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1693969509

Message started by Gordon on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:05pm

Title: Why is food so cheap?
Post by Gordon on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:05pm
I hear people moaning and groaning about the price of groceries, this bounty of fresh health food cost $14.00

Title: Re: Why is food so cheap?
Post by freediver on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:07pm
Those are ingredients.

Post by aquascoot on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:09pm
food is pretty cheap at the moment but that is reliant on cheap fossil fuels and cheap nitrogen fertilisers
cheap transport, charp electricity to irrigate , cheap fuel for tractors , cheap labor

that is all about to change

Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:10pm
It is the meat that costs a considerable amount. I went with pork sausages for the meat portion of my meals for 2 weeks straight. The cost of my groceries were fairly low by comparison to the steaks, chicken kyivs, and certain fish.

Vegetables are quite cheap.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:10pm
https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1674368339/15#15

Some bargains at Coles 3rd Sept. 2023 .

3 x half cobs of corn $8.50.

Cheese $92 per kilo.

Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:12pm

Gordon wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:05pm:
I hear people moaning and groaning about the price of groceries, this bounty of fresh health food cost $14.00

Where the heck did you get all that for that price?????????? I just got 1/3 of that for 32 bucks!

Post by aquascoot on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:14pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:10pm:
It is the meat that costs a considerable amount. I went with pork sausages for the meat portion of my meals for 2 weeks straight. The cost of my groceries were fairly low by comparison to the steaks, chicken kyivs, and certain fish.

pork and chicken are cheap but that is also about to change

i expect sow farms and intense chicken barns to cease fairly soon due to the atrocious animal cruelty.

prices will double, possibly treble then

Post by Gordon on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:15pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:12pm:

Where the heck did you get all that for that price?????????? I just got 1/3 of that for 32 bucks!

From an up-market beautify appointed shop in a suburb ranked as #2 in highest incomes in Australia.

Post by Gordon on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:16pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:10pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

I didn't buy corn today, but where I bought this lot it was $1.60 for a whole one.

Post by Gordon on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:17pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:10pm:

I buy rump, admittedly not top grade but still fine for $16/kg.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:53pm

Gordon wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:16pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

I didn't buy corn today, but where I bought this lot it was $1.60 for a whole one.

Yes -
I just bought a cob of corn with the leaves on for $1.50.

Title: Lunatic
Post by Agness on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:10pm
- does it eat regular food-?

Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:23pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:53pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

Yes -

Our most recent (fortnightly) Woolworths grocery bill came in at just over $460. So $230 a week for a family our size is (IMO) a good result.

I always shop carefully by comparing products by sale price and by brand name. So on this occasion I came away with 2 full trolleys. Thank God my eldest son was on hand to help me out as my husband was too ill following a stint in hospital.

Is food cheap? Hmmm ... interesting question. I personally think that if you’re a savvy shopper then you CAN navigate your way so as to avoid needlessly expensive food choices.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:31pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:23pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

Yes -

Our most recent (fortnightly) Woolworths grocery bill came in at just over $460. So $230 a week for a family our size is (IMO) a good result.

I always shop carefully by comparing products by sale price and by brand name. So on this occasion I came away with 2 full trolleys. Thank God my eldest son was on hand to help me out as my husband was too ill following a stint in hospital.

Is food cheap? Hmmm ... interesting question. I personally think that if you’re a savvy shopper then you CAN navigate your way so as to avoid needlessly expensive food choices.

Yes - I don't think you would have bought those rip offs in my 2 pictures.

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:39pm
Tomorrow I visit the bulk butcher for 2Kg belly pork, 2Kg pork loin. Maybe another pigs head? Last one was skinned and they cut it in half—nothing but blood even after six rinses!

Maybe some veal kidneys. Maybe a tongue? Nah, too fiddly removing the skin.

I DO miss the Adelaide Central Market, display fridge after display fridge of cold meats, 3 different prosciuttos incl Spanish, cheese galore. The Smelly Cheese Shop only when had plenty money with me, unreal imported cheeses, high prices  ;D

Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:49pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:31pm:

Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:23pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

Yes -

Yes - I don't think you would have bought those rip offs in my 2 pictures.

Bobby next time we’re in Victoria (we have heaps of cousins who live there and they keep begging for us to visit them) ... well we can all go shopping together. You’ll probably be surprised at how I pay for most of my grocery shopping (as I’m a part time professional shopper).

Post by Bobby. on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:55pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 9:49pm:
Bobby next time we’re in Victoria (we have heaps of cousins who live there and they keep begging for us to visit them) ... well we can all go shopping together. You’ll probably be surprised at how I pay for most of my grocery shopping (as I’m a part time professional shopper).

Here we have the Prahran market and the Victoria market
but I can't be bothered going there - it's too far
and limited parking.
I prefer Coles or Woolies at large shopping centers
and the nearby stores.
You've just gotta watch em with those rip off prices on some items.  ;)

Post by AusGeoff on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:18pm

Cheese $92 per kilo.

I'm sorry mate, but if you're silly enough to be
sucked into buying so-called "organic" produce
at laughably marked-up prices, then you've only
got yourself to blame.  Buy the ordinary corn and
pay half the price.  It'll taste exactly the same, and
actually contain more vitamins and minerals.

And as for that expensive cheese, they're 100g wedges,
so you're not gonna be buying 10 of them LOL.
One at nine bucks is pretty typical for a wedge of any
imported cheeses.  An Aussie-made creamy brie
will cost you half the imported brand, and be just as
nice—and sometimes even better due to its shorter
delivery time and better temperature controls along
the way.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:28pm

AusGeoff wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:18pm:

Cheese $92 per kilo.

I'm sorry mate, but if you're silly enough to be
sucked into buying so-called "organic" produce
at laughably marked-up prices, then you've only
got yourself to blame.  Buy the ordinary corn and
pay half the price.  It'll taste exactly the same, and
actually contain more vitamins and minerals.

And as for that expensive cheese, they're 100g wedges,
so you're not gonna be buying 10 of them LOL.
One at nine bucks is pretty typical for a wedge of any
imported cheeses.  An Aussie-made creamy brie
will cost you half the imported brand, and be just as
nice—and sometimes even better due to its shorter
delivery time and better temperature controls along
the way.

I didn't buy any of that - I took pictures.    ::)

Post by AusGeoff on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:38pm
Bupa’s Adam Wiltgren, an accredited practising dietitian,
says there isn’t clear evidence that organic food is better
for your health.

“In terms of nutritional value, there is no significant
difference between organic and non-organic foods,”
he says.

Many people have concerns about the effects of
pesticides, preservatives, antibiotics or other
chemical residues from mainstream food production
on human health. Studies so far have not found a
convincing link between eating organic food and
having a lower cancer risk.

Although organic foods won’t use any synthetic
pesticides, they can use naturally occurring
pesticides, such as pyrethrins, light oils, copper and
sulphur, and biological substances such as Bacillus
thuringiensis
*. Organic foods tend be lower overall in
pesticides, however the level of synthetic fertiliser
residue in non-organic foods is well below dangerous
levels – this is regulated by FSANZ (Food Standards
Australia New Zealand).

*Bacillus thuringiensis (Bt) is a species
of bacteria that lives in soil. It makes proteins
that are toxic to some insects when eaten, but
not others. The proteins are not toxic to humans
because, like all mammals, we cannot activate
them.   Bt is not toxic to non-target wildlife.

Post by AusGeoff on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:44pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:28pm:
...I didn't buy any of that - I took pictures.   

I know.  I should've said if "one is silly enough".   :-[

Post by The Grappler on Sep 17th, 2023 at 10:48pm
What I grow myself is cheap after the initial outlay...

Post by aquascoot on Sep 18th, 2023 at 6:28am
Despite the fact that the organic food industry is full of charlatans

There is some good emerging evidence that current methods of food production are not ideal

Whilst it is very good for the bottom line to saturate the field in roundup and then plant a roundup ready crop
You have to remember that the roundup really does kill a lot of the biology in the soil

Fungi and microbes grow on the roots of all plants
And are to a large extent responsible for making micronutrients available to the plant
When you have essentially a dead soil
You can still get the corn or soya beans to grow quickly
But you are essentially using artificial fertilizers to promote this
And a lot of the soil micro nutrients are not getting incorporated

I would be fairly sure that a piece of corn or a carrot or a cabbage grown in your backyard using chicken manure and compost is going to contain a higher ratio of micro nutrients then one bought from Coles or Woolworths

You have to remember that most of the people who are going to comment on this and most of the people in positions of power
In exactly the same way as those in the health industry

They are captured by big food in the same way health regulators are captured by big pharma
And so they are going to just sprook the narrative they are paid to sprook

More and more farmers are going the diversity no till
Cover crop organic root

The problem is really that the consumer can be easily conned by people pretending to be organic when they are nothing of the sort

Post by Bobby. on Sep 18th, 2023 at 7:38am

aquascoot wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 6:28am:
Whilst it is very good for the bottom line to saturate the field in roundup and
then plant a roundup ready crop
You have to remember that the roundup really does kill a lot of the biology in the soil

You're right:

Roundup is the most widely used herbicide in agriculture.
It contains Glyphosate as the 'active ingredient', together with formulants.

https://www.biomineralstechnologies.com/farm-solutions/reduce-chemicals/effects-of-glyphosate-on-soils-and-plants

3. Glyphosate is an extremely efficient anti-microbial product, targeting almost exclusively the beneficial microbes.

The beneficial soil microbes are very sensitive to glyphosate, with extreme results at even very low concentrations (as low as .01 ppm). So applying glyphosate essentially wipes out your protective soil microorganisms, leaving it open to the proliferation of pathogenic organisms (disease).

4. Glyphosate stimulates the proliferation of pathogenic organisms

The affect goes far beyond lack of toxicity. Most pathogenic organisms are not sensitive to glyphosate and can easily withstand its application, even in higher concentrations. However, glyphosate actually excites and strengthens the pathogens, increasing their reproduction beyond the normal response to a lack of beneficial control.

Post by Jasinner on Sep 18th, 2023 at 9:10am
The best way to 'shop' is when you see a really packed large trolley pull up to a vehicle. When the owner unlocks it and moves to the back to unload the trolley. You sneak in and lift the handbreak off and give the car a nudge out of the carpark.
The owner chases the car as always - leaving you the Trolley packed with goodie goodie yum yums.  :)

Steal from the evil rich of Melbourne's east and give to the good poor of the Melbournian West.
Protect the good rich of Sydney's east from the evil poor of Sydney's west.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:33pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:19pm:
Went to the bulk butcher this morning.

Nearly 2Kg of rump steak $46, about the same of lambshank, $9. $55.00 total.

With this I also got a beef heart 1.7Kg, no charge. About 8 dinners for Socks—no charge!

That isn’t the end of it! I got two HUGE bones for Socks, she is chomping one now in the side passage. I think they are shoulder blades or part of shoulder blades—Socks isn’t fussed, chomp chomp.

I cut the rump into smallish steaks with one or two bigger steaks. Ideally I should dry age the meat—no facilities for that. Have two steaks sitting in EVOO in the fridge, age those for a month.

Supermarkets are for schmucks.

Rump steak for $23 per kilo?

I haven't seen it that cheap for 20 years.
Are you sure it's not bull beef from old culled bulls?

I got ripped off a few times with that -
the meat was as tough as leather.

Post by Gordon on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:52pm
Bobby, I bought eye fillet for $22/kg yesterday. I was great.

Post by Bobby. on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:57pm

Gordon wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:52pm:
Bobby, I bought eye fillet for $22/kg yesterday.
It was great.

Wow - you're doing OK.

Post by Gordon on Sep 18th, 2023 at 2:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:57pm:

Gordon wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 1:52pm:
Bobby, I bought eye fillet for $22/kg yesterday.
It was great.

Wow - you're doing OK.

In case you're wondering, the term economy only refers to the way it's cut, not the age.

Screenshot_2023-09-18_at_14-00-03_Economy_Beef_Eye_Fillet_800g_-1_4kg.jpg (78 KB | 11 )

Post by Bobby. on Sep 18th, 2023 at 6:09pm
Good price Gordy. 

Post by Jasinner on Sep 18th, 2023 at 6:43pm
Papillion ate cockroaches you know Bobby.
There is always hope.

Post by Agness on Sep 18th, 2023 at 8:56pm
Where I am we have very little to choose from, but the management is trying to give us a decent selection- that has only just started- its been pretty bad for quite a while now-he is also jazzing up the store- so we look very out of character for a small town, I rather like it though- paying a bit extra is not so bad if you can see the money being spent on the store- My point is none of you have any idea how expensive it can get UNTIL you live in a remote place- even though looking through here I felt a bit better as we have nowhere to compare our super market too.

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 18th, 2023 at 9:48pm
You might have a bulk butcher, a vege market, a decent bakery not that far away.

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 18th, 2023 at 9:54pm
I need to clean out and organise the freezer then might buy half a pig, cut up into chops, belly pork, shoulder and picnic roasts etc.

Post by Mattyfisk on Sep 23rd, 2023 at 2:15am

Gordon wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 2:15pm:

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Sep 6th, 2023 at 1:12pm:

From an up-market beautify appointed shop in a suburb ranked as #2 in highest incomes in Australia.

Harris Park, eh?

Try the Midnight Bazaar in Granville, dear. Prices to die for.

Post by Mattyfisk on Sep 23rd, 2023 at 2:18am

aquascoot wrote on Sep 18th, 2023 at 6:28am:
Despite the fact that the organic food industry is full of charlatans

There is some good emerging evidence that current methods of food production are not ideal

Whilst it is very good for the bottom line to saturate the field in roundup and then plant a roundup ready crop

Fungi and microbes grow on the roots of all plants
And are to a large extent responsible for making micronutrients available to the plant
When you have essentially a dead soil
You can still get the corn or soya beans to grow quickly
But you are essentially using artificial fertilizers to promote this
And a lot of the soil micro nutrients are not getting incorporated

I would be fairly sure that a piece of corn or a carrot or a cabbage grown in your backyard using chicken manure and compost is going to contain a higher ratio of micro nutrients then one bought from Coles or Woolworths

You have to remember that most of the people who are going to comment on this and most of the people in positions of power
In exactly the same way as those in the health industry

They are captured by big food in the same way health regulators are captured by big pharma
And so they are going to just sprook the narrative they are paid to sprook

More and more farmers are going the diversity no till
Cover crop organic root

The problem is really that the consumer can be easily conned by people pretending to be organic when they are nothing of the sort

Ever get the feeling you've been farmed?