General Discussion >> Chat >> Signs Your Are Getting Old http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1690738085 Message started by JollyGreenGiant on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:28am |
Title: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by JollyGreenGiant on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:28am
I have a tendency to lose my reading glasses and they are on top of my head. I used to make fun of my mum for the same thing!
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:54am
Also being awake at 3.28am and posting stuff like this.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by JollyGreenGiant on Jul 31st, 2023 at 4:37am chimera wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:54am:
Going to bed early and being wide-awake at 3:00am is another!! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:15am
Birth date is another hint.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2023 at 11:54am
You spend your time arguing with arseholes online....
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2023 at 12:11pm chimera wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:54am:
It's just Agnes trying to hide. Why she tries these socks has me stuffed. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 31st, 2023 at 12:24pm Aussie wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 12:11pm:
In her case it’s definitely being mentally unwell AND a long term lifestyle/cyberspace addiction! She was online on Yahoo for all those years she pretended to those here that she was offline/had taken a break from cyberspace. Even on Yahoo she was playing the same games. As far as I’m concerned AGNESS and all her army of ids represent a very disturbed female who isn’t worth knowing and isn’t worth any time or energy. She’s abused trust and abused friendship way too many times that all her ids now come with a standard red flag 🚩 |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Jovial Monk on Jul 31st, 2023 at 12:41pm
Some people like socks. Who cares? I like Socks :) :) :)
By the way—what the hell is wrong with using Demi as my avatar? What the hell business is it of yours FFS? What flipping lies have I told about my mother? Maybe explain you were suffering drug withdrawals when you posted that foul rubbish in the sewer! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Agness on Jul 31st, 2023 at 1:02pm
Aussie is jealous
Larry is jealous- The Jolly Green giant is mmm? ( well i know who it is ) I love socks tbh- they are very polite! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Gordon on Jul 31st, 2023 at 1:04pm
Lots of my old friends are getting fat.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-h8zs898lr4 |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Jul 31st, 2023 at 1:38pm
Getting old starts early.
Top 3 teething signs 1. Dribbling: Is your baby drooling more than usual? 2. Gnawing: Is your child chewing on everything in sight? 3. Crying: Has your little cherub turned into a grump? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 31st, 2023 at 1:48pm
https://youtu.be/dky0kWkUvig
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by John Smith on Jul 31st, 2023 at 2:12pm Quote:
You start agreeing with crappler luckily I'm still young so that day has yet to come |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 2:42pm
Needing 5 hours sleep to get refreshed, instead of the 8 that you needed in your teenage years. Injuring yourself and taking a few days to heal, instead of being sore for an afternoon. Falling over and taking 2 minutes to stand back up. Watching Sky News. Thinking that Waleed Aly is ultra left-wing, instead of being fair and unbiased. Figuring that social problems could be resolved with a bit of self-control. Finding that teenage to early 20s girls find you more attractive in your 40s than they did when you were in your 30s and 20s. Wearing more respectable clothing when you go shopping, instead of board shorts, running shoes and whatever t-shirt. Short back and side haircuts for men, instead of letting the hair grow.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Frank on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:25pm
Thinking it weird to be the same age as old people.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:34pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 11:54am:
Some may say you spend time being an arsehole online. Not us though - or should I speak for myself? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:35pm John Smith wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 2:12pm:
Damn - I thought I was getting old. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:35pm
Look everywhere for your keys. Accidently find them after you gave up.
In your pocket. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:40pm Frank wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:25pm:
Worse to be older than old people. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:44pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 2:42pm:
You have good knees moving that quick. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:47pm
It's 9:30 am so you have no idea what you had for breakfast, heck you don't even remember if you had breakfast. The scales say that you may have had 2 breakfasts. (made that one up - I hope).
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:51pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:35pm:
ouch. Roma street station Brisbane. No bus passes, line of people waiting to board the bus. Bus passes in back pocket. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Agness on Jul 31st, 2023 at 4:57pm JollyGreenGiant wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 4:37am:
Jolly Green Twat- Violet Crumble will get lonely :'( AiA is jealous as well :-* |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Agness on Jul 31st, 2023 at 4:59pm
it is a privilidge to get old you should be so lucky- I lost both of my parents in the prime of their life-
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Heartless Felon on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:04pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:40pm:
That was uncalled for - I just turned 80... |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:11pm
When you're heading to Mascot to catch a plane and you keep feeding money into a machine that now only uses cards you buy and you don't even know where to buy one and the security guy says some shop you never heard of down the road, and then find out that the price has doubled from $12 anyway to over the $20 you are trying to feed it and get a ticket, just to get four stops etc to Mascot. Then you look around for a ticket window for help and there isn't one.....
bugger privatisation of everything in sight. Next time I'll hail a cab at Central. Cost the bloody same I reckon - maybe a few bucks to save the hassle. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:18pm
You get an invitation from a China East hostie to come spend her layover time with her and her friend ....
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:26pm
When the office secretary wants some help with her computer printing
problems and you actually help her print out that document without taking too much of a peek. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Jovial Monk on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:29pm
That’s because you are a poof.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:41pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:26pm:
It's a refined art being able to look in her eyes while still sensing the wherewithal... comes with age... |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:44pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:41pm:
I think men of all ages would have trouble concentrating if she was in office. :) |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by John Smith on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:45pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:41pm:
couldn't find your glasses crappler? :D |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:13pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 3:47pm:
One time, I brushed my teeth before having a 5-minute shower. I got out, towelled off and got dressed. Then I started to wonder if I had brushed my teeth recently. So, I brushed them again, just in case I did not. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:22pm Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:29pm:
;D ;D ;D I was thinking the same thing about Bobby. He certainly knows how to out himself as gay. Looking at that picture, it took me 2 minutes to look up from the woman's breasts to her eyes. And I mean that she has a pretty face, too. Tell tale signs are happenin', Bobby. From enquiring about greggery's sexuality to admitting that you would not look in appreciation to the stunning features of a woman. I will expect you to have a special friend you want to introduce to us, very soon. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I6uGId-a758 |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:24pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:44pm:
That is because you would be irritated at the thought of her stealing your boyfriend, Bobby. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:25pm John Smith wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:45pm:
They would probably have fallen into the cleavage of that lady, after he finished motorboating her. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:26pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:24pm:
That's because as a gay guy you think all other guys are like you and Monk. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:26pm The Heartless Felon wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:04pm:
Wasn't aimed at anyone - Except not going to say it. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Agness on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:28pm The Heartless Felon wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 5:04pm:
I want to turn 80. It will be a blast. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:30pm Agnes. wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:28pm:
Odds against me getting there. Too much footy in youth. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:30pm
an old fart?
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:01pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:26pm:
Me and Monk -- two of the straightest guys on the forum? Nah, there are other males on this forum who are as straight as us. I think you, Bobby, have confessed enough that you are gay. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:27pm UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:01pm:
You and Monk are like 2 peas in a pod. :-[ |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:54pm Having cucumber and Dijon mustard for dinner ... at 4pm. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Violet Crumble on Jul 31st, 2023 at 9:06pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 8:54pm:
Is that normal? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 9:32pm Sorry couldn't help it. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2023 at 9:33pm Violet Crumble wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 9:06pm:
Damn - Hope I don't survive to that age and that it is 120. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Violet Crumble on Jul 31st, 2023 at 10:17pm
A cucumber is cheaper than a dildo but the dijon mustard might sting!!
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 11:08pm
I switched from buying Arnott's Shapes to Arnott's VitaWheats. Surprisingly good.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2023 at 11:09pm
[quote author=bobbythebat1 link=1690738085/42#42 date=1690799221]You and Monk are like 2 peas in a pod. :-[/quote]
Bobby, admit it. You wish Monk and I were also gay like you, just so we have something in common. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by AusGeoff on Jul 31st, 2023 at 11:55pm What I used to do all night now takes me all night to do... wink, wink. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Heartless Felon on Aug 1st, 2023 at 5:24am Dnarever wrote on Jul 31st, 2023 at 7:26pm:
Heh! You're not really old until you stop buying green bananas... |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Jovial Monk on Aug 1st, 2023 at 7:27am
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by issuevoter on Aug 1st, 2023 at 8:19am
Dudes, you're getting old when the past is a thing. It's like deadly.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:13am
It's difficult to see the past, it's misty and out of focus.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Captain Nemo on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:26am
One thing I have noticed is that Police officers look like kids these days. :)
Oh, and I can forget what I'm doing while I'm doing it. ;D |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:30am
Dear God just HOW OLD are you lot??? You can’t all be Boomers?? Surely there are a few Gen X/Y reps among you guys! I can’t be the only Gen X poster on OzPol.
😳 🥺😔 |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:34am
I used to collect the morning milk from a pony-cart with a milk tank, using a steel canister. Sydney suburb.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:43am chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:34am:
Ok so that means you’re around 100 yrs old. You may possibly be the oldest poster on OzPol! Congratulations. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:44am chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:13am:
I see the past fine but yesterday is no chance. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:46am chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:34am:
I don't think I seen that but we had ice delivered once a week for the ice box (fridge) - Sydney. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:47am Dnarever wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:46am:
👆 Another one who’s pushing 100?? Congratulations! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:48am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:43am:
Nah, 1953. I noticed dad wasn't around and was told he's at the Korean war. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:48am Captain Nemo wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:26am:
It's better to forget before you start. Then you just do something else. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:51am chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:48am:
Ohhhh. 🥺😔😳 Is it ok to ask if Dad came back? I’m sorry your dad wasn’t around for you as a kid. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:51am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:47am:
Thanks I will remember that in 40 ish years, well no there is no chance of me getting to there. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:25pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:51am:
Sure, just fixing the date. We had ice-slab frig, too. It kept meat cool. A really good invention. Cars had canvas bags which dripped water and so cooled it for a drink. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:39pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:30am:
I am a 1979er. Just a few years above Gen Y. But I still class as Gen X. But, at 44, I am starting to see the changes. Not just with the grey hairs in the beard, either. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:42pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:39pm:
Hmmmm so we’re both born in the 70’s. I wonder if we’re the only Gen X ers on OzPol? I certainly can’t relate to ANYTHING being posted by those older than us. To be honest their posts are conjuring up images of horse and carts on dirt roads lol. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:47pm
My grandfather made horse coaches and was offered the Ford Motor Company dealership for Oz. He refused as horse vehicles are here to stay. He was dead right.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Heartless Felon on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:58pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:42pm:
Then it's best we don't mention the dunny men...that'd give you nightmares. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:15pm
The replacement ones were sterile.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:24pm chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:47pm:
Wow!!!! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:24pm The Heartless Felon wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 12:58pm:
Nor to mention milk bottles delivered by horse and cart in the early wee hours of morning! I can still remember hearing the clippety clop….clippety clop …. the thinking of glass bottles being placed on front veranda. And this was in an inner Melbourne suburb too! Oh and yes to the back alley way where outside dunnies were, for can poop collection. The history of toilets is a fascinating one yes? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:24pm chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:15pm:
What was sterile? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:26pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:24pm:
Cans that were placed under the toilet seat from behind. There was an access door opened from the rear of toilet. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:28pm
I am just surprised that there are people older than 60 on these debate forums. I can understand people over 60 years old having facebook accounts and posting about their social outings. But those that are on debate forums I thought would not be motivated enough to know how to use debate sites. I realised that "getting old" does not include being ignorant about how the internet works.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:33pm Sophia wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:26pm:
Dear Lord! These must have existed in outback bush/country regions. You couldn’t possibly have had these in urban areas or suburbs. I can’t even begin to imagine the horrible smell. 🥺😔😳 |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:33pm
Strained my back on Sunday morning on a resistance training walk, carrying 35kg. Still feeling sore that I won't be out walking again tonight. My feet, however, are recovering quicker than usual.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:45pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:28pm:
Well suck it up princess because there are! :D And we’re pretty darn good at it too. I had a 90+ year old usa relative that uses face time and internet and Facebook too. We are all impressed. He passed away yesterday I got news from others. I’m a bit sad. One thing I will mention as I age… I feel more mentally alert and capable of various intellectual discussions with many from all walks of life. Yet… I still feel there’s always room for improvement…. Aging like a good wine… But being very aware is a pain in the blurter…. I notice too much… which is why I live a bit recluse. Peace of mind is the gift we can give ourselves. You see… the more I deal with people in business… the more f. King idiots I find! ::) Today was one of those days! Real estate agency and banking. I will be writing a email to ask why they haven’t got their act together to give correct banking advice! Why do I need to educate and inform? Geez. And especially in this day and age of scammers! Don’t worry… I’m onto them all with my constant phoning to correct them. ::) So with aging… and the elderly trusting …. I’m not that … I totally mistrust and triple check everything! |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:49pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:33pm:
Yes they were in urban/suburbs and then came a time of new houses advertised with indoor flushing toilets on mains septic/sewerage. It took time to transition over all toilets but eventually it did. I recall Pine o clean poured into cans to neutralise the smell. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:59pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:28pm:
'Donald Trump’s Twitter account is the greatest bully pulpit that has ever existed. In 140 characters, he can change the direction of a Fortune 100 company, he can notify world leaders and he can also notify government agencies that business as usual is over.' Four more years. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:59pm Sophia wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:45pm:
I started using the internet in an era when my parents' generation were still trying to get used to the idea of using mobile phones. I remember that people 30 or over were the university and professional types that could outsmart most any youngsters in regards to computer knowledge. However, I felt that the majority of people online were under the age of 50. I watched episodes of "To Catch a Predator" over the last few years. That show was made back in the early 2000s. The "predators" of that show featured people who were in their 50s, 60s, and 70s willing to engage in online solicitation of minors in chatrooms. Being that the show was 15 to 20 years ago, and technology seemed a bit more complicated back then, I was stunned that there were a lot of over 50s using the internet at the time. I suppose using the internet is about as mysterious as using a dvd/blu ray player. Most people have use of them. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 2:03pm
I used to ask kids how to do internet but am cool now.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 2:14pm
You know you are getting old when you date someone less than half your age, but it is not breaking any laws.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by issuevoter on Aug 1st, 2023 at 5:56pm chimera wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:48am:
Bullsh!t. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 6:01pm
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your interesting observation. Further discussion would be appreciated. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 6:47pm issuevoter wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 5:56pm:
No it is very likely 100% true. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 1st, 2023 at 6:48pm
Had a gas light in the kitchen. In Sydney
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 1st, 2023 at 9:13pm
https://collection.maas.museum/object/246452
used by The Dairy Farmers' Co-operative Milk Co Ltd, Ultimo, New South Wales, Australia, 1920s-1950s, https://trove.nla.gov.au/newspaper/article/27528726 scroll to last ad on page. TWO Milk Carts, complete with Horses, Harness. Tanks, 35 gallons each, spare wheels and axle, all In first-class condition. OLSSON'S DAIRY. Hewitt Ave. Wahroonga. The Sydney Morning Herald (NSW : 1842 - 1954) Sat 1 Nov 1952. The horses for sale means the buyer would be a milk deliverer. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 1st, 2023 at 11:07pm
You think getting a $4 box of Radox Muscle Soak from Dollars and Sense is a great way to treat yourself.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by AusGeoff on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 5:21am UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:28pm:
You may be surprised. I was using forums—the old BBs—30 years ago. I also learned BASIC (Beginners' All-purpose Symbolic Instruction Code) in 1983, so I've grown old with computers. I'm not sure why the younger generations think of us oldies as being technically illiterate when many (most?) of us were using PCs when they were still in nappies LOL. And I don't bother with Facebook; it's strictly for the younger generation who wanna talk aimlessly about their new boyfriends, or the latest K-pop songs or cheap eye makeup, or the best RPGs etc. Who could forget paying $2.50 an online hour for this... I'm actually surprised that many younger people these days can only use the screens they're familiar with, and anything untoward that pops up seems often to stump them—or let malware slip in. Do today's kids know what backdoors, rootkits, keyloggers, trojans, or DDoS attacks are? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 6:51am
You got it, Geoff. I also did computer programming in 1983, plus a host of other things. Iam intensely computer literate and scarcely use Farcebook other than to keep touch with family a little.
I like discussion sites because it sharpens my tongue, shows me what often arseholes many are out there, and because I've got plenty to say. People these days are often stupid but steeped in the idea that they know it all.... and cannot 'debate' other than (ab)using that word to describe their antics, and often prefer abuse and insult to reason and thought - which for some I gladly give back in spades. Which reminds me - I'm still voting no to any voice that will create the opportunity for AlboGroup to make a 'treaty' preferential to one side, the losing side dictating the terms of peace (LMFAO), and thus betray their own electorate. Suck it up, snowflakes .. your voice is going down.... two separate nations side by side cannot exist, so eat it. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by issuevoter on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 7:12am Dnarever wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 6:47pm:
Style. You can't fake it. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 7:57am
Did you read #89?
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Jovial Monk on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 8:41am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2023 at 1:33pm:
As you no doubt know, being quite old enough, sewage pipes etc wasn’t universal or common before Whitlam formed government. Read “The Outcasts of Foolgarah” by Frank Hardy. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:13am
Usually people cook inside and go the toilet outside. Now it's reversed. Although they used to bury ancestors under the floor.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:45am Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 6:51am:
Did you write directly in Machine language or learn something like Cobol or Fortran ? Did you transfer the code onto card or paper tape to feed into a mainframe ? I was doing this type of stuff around 1977. I wasn't very good at it but got a pass because the teachers agreed that the code was correct and could not work out why it didn't work. My Daughter has nothing to do with computing but was writing better code than I could by the time she was 7. She had a flip phone that she designed and wrote the code for the interface - she created a Harry Potter design. I got lucky as she had one or two things that didn't work, Lucky because they were only white space issues that I could solve easily. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:51am Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 8:41am:
Yes many of us would have experienced the out house when there was a real good reason for it to be out. People today would not get that it was a good idea to check for red backs under the seat or believe just how bad it smelt. there was no lingering and a dose of the runs felt like a death sentence. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 11:31am
The dunny man had a leather collar to support the can while he staggered out to the truck, the can 6 inches from his nose. The precious cargo was slid into an individual slot along the truck. Probably he was careful not to brake too hard and had right of way through intersections.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 12:06pm AusGeoff wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 5:21am:
Well I go back even further re: the advent of computer age…1974-5 …I worked at the ATO as a stenographer when a new data person came to ask if some of us would transfer to the new IBM computer area to be data processors for more pay. Yep I’m in! :) We had a tour of the computer room and it was darkened windows to keep sun from heating area, with the air con on very cool ….to keep computers from over heating … it was lights blinking and cables everywhere! I always knew the guys that were from computer floor when getting in the lifts to go back to work after lunch break… on a hot summer day, they wore woollen coats and gloves, scarfs ;D Had to stifle the giggles as we gals wore mini skirts and little cotton summer tops. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 12:17pm
1964. We were bussed to the local uni which had a Computer. In awed silence, we watched bottles of something being passed through a machine with buzzing and flashes. AND we had recordings of the Telstar satellite. Sputnik passed overhead Sydney in 1957.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 1:12pm chimera wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:13am:
"You know the garden's full of furniture, the house is full of plants" |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 1:14pm
I am aware that there were computers in use in Australia in the pre-1980s. But, there was no real major uptake in computer usage until the mid-1990s. It would cost the equivalent of today's $10,000 to buy a computer in the 1980s. So, you would be doing pretty well with work to be able to afford a computer back in the day.
Yet, I started to learn how to program back in 2001. The subject was so basic to so many people, though I was one of those that did not understand how to program in C++. I have not even started looking at using every other programming language or know what it is like. I was thinking of learning how to program again this year. I want to purchase some book on how to write programs. If I can get somewhere with learning programming, I should be able to shake off the psychological demons that have plagued me since day one. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 6:55pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 1:14pm:
The next generation is how to use AI to do it all for you. Really boring and a worry. https://news.microsoft.com/source/features/ai/how-ai-makes-developers-lives-easier-and-helps-everybody-learn-to-develop-software/ |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 7:05pm UnSubRocky wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 1:14pm:
In the 1980's you could get a commodore 64, Amstrad , Apple Mac 1984, Texas Instrument had something and IBM. They were not cheap but not as much as you said. Microsoft Windows was 1983 but it would have been MS Dos. 1984 was also the Apple Mac with its GUI interface and mouse. It cost $2,500. Running MS Dos you had to either build a batch file menu to run the programs or a little later use something like XTree to browse files and execute the programmes from there. All in all awful. I remember that to install the early office version you had about 22 floppy disks to run. I still have an old copy of Office on 3.5 Floppies somewhere and Windows on 5.25. They hold about 560K. The smaller 3.5 inch went to 1.44 Meg |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by UnSubRocky on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 8:35pm
My earliest knowledge of computers was my uncle's computer that he used for work purposes. And then there were the computers at the primary school that still had the green and black screen format. We started seeing colour screen computers by the late 1980s, although the black and white (green) screen formats were not phased out until the early 1990s.
I got first use of the internet in 1993, with qmail. That was a lot of fun. Our advanced math class managed to write messages with school students in Chicago. It was funny to find out that they started school a year later than us. Graduation for them meant that they would be about 18 years old upon completion of high school. Once I reached university, I found out a whole new world of the internet. Oh boy, was I caught up in the pornography, hate sites, debate sites, movie sites, etc. It was all basic. After a while, I found that my assignments were piling up and the lecturers were giving me a bad reputation for goofing around. However, if I could take what I know back with me and be 13 years old again, I would really miss the internet. But, atleast I could ace high school. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 8:44pm
I can beat all of you guys:
I still have one of these - where I learnt assembly language programming. An SDK 8085 Microprocessor kit: |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:36pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 8:44pm:
They were a nightmare, they come as a kit that you have to solder all the components to the board and set solder straps for the settings you want. I mostly had no idea what setting were used. I didn't see them used for learning. Built a few - wouldn't bet they were this model, never used one myself. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:41pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:36pm:
I bought a fully assembled kit and I wrote many programs for it. In one design I used an A to D convertor which I installed meant that I turned the kit into a voltmeter to read out on its display. They were fascinating kits. They had a whole family of chips that they could connect to. Later micros had all those extra chips on board. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:54pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:41pm:
This system development kit was meant to test their new processor the 8085 in this case for compatibility. Every new processor had its own development kit I believe. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:55pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:54pm:
That's right - even the latest processors have their own SDKs. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:03pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 9:55pm:
Had more to do with software SDK's not a huge amount either. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by The Grappler on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:18pm
You get into your fifth week out of open heart, and the doc tells you that because of a big bleed while you were under (I had no idea) and a nose bleed - they want to re-investigate that leukemia thing... bloody hell.
Have no concerns, my lovelies - you don't get rid of me that easily!! Gotta turn 75 to get my Gold Card, anyway. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:28pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:03pm:
I 'm not sure how they learn microprocessors today? The newer CPUs are so complicated that it would be much more difficult. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 11:02pm Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:18pm:
What? :o did you have open heart surgery Mr. Grappler? Hope you get it all medically sorted out. I just found out today from doctor about my blood test results… my iron level has dropped to half … She asked me if I’ve been bleeding. I says no. I even had that bowel screening test a couple months ago and it was all good. Asks me if I eat fish, meat etc and my husband answered “yes she does, she eats well” Maybe I need to eat more of it? Anyway, she’s given me 6 weeks to see if I improve. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:02am Bobby. wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:28pm:
I don't know anymore about how they work today than in the 1970's except what is listed in the specs. Most people simply plug them in and they work. The actual process I feel is the same just faster more threads and possibly a better instruction set. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:05am Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Aug 2nd, 2023 at 10:18pm:
Best of Luck Grap. Still be around at least to 85. I would intend to often disagree with you for most of the way. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:15am
Skin quality elasticity and wrinkles rather give it away.
For some: A paunch, hairline, saggy bits, hands (don't know why hands look old), dress, teeth etc. Things seem to have changed. I remember that my Grandfather was 20 years older than me when he was 20 years younger. When he was 50 he behaved and looked like an 80 year old typically does today. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:24am
Progeria, maybe.Werner syndrome.
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 12:01pm chimera wrote on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:24am:
No - People were psychologically different and he got worse when his wife died. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 2:08pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 11:02am:
Yes - what is at the core of the 8085 CPU is what is happening in any processor. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 2:12pm |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 3:12pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 2:12pm: Do you remember when they elected an authoritarian fascist who tried to refuse to leave office and is still crying about it ? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 3:24pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 3rd, 2023 at 3:12pm:
At least he's not a commie. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 19th, 2023 at 7:08am Signs Your Are Getting Old? You make a cup of tea and forget if you put sugar in it. Then you have to taste it to check. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Jovial Monk on Aug 19th, 2023 at 7:51am
Who the hell puts sugar in tea?
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 19th, 2023 at 7:53am
Forgetting to bring my mobile phone with me lately when I go out!
It feels weird not having the phone with me. How we coped without mobile phones in younger age is a wonder now! Maybe we were more telepathically tuned in and just knew. Now with so much “smart technology” it’s actually dumbing us down. Yes we have more access to information but how much of it do we retain and remember? But I do feel a bit at a loss without my mobile phone when I forget it. I recall a time an ad would say to check “cash, camera, keys”. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 19th, 2023 at 10:42am Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 19th, 2023 at 7:51am:
You don't need sugar in quality coffee but a little is good in tea. In fact how do you drink tea without sugar. I like a full 1/4 spoon in my tea. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Dnarever on Aug 19th, 2023 at 10:47am Sophia wrote on Aug 19th, 2023 at 7:53am:
I like to go for a coffee on Tuesday afternoon for TLT (NRL team list time) I check the teams and listen to the supercoach teams podcast. The other week I got my coffee and reached into my pocket and found no phone. Ruined my coffee. Me sitting there by myself with just a coffee is no fun at all. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Bobby. on Aug 19th, 2023 at 11:07am Dnarever wrote on Aug 19th, 2023 at 10:42am:
yes - I don't like too much sugar - I also have just a 1/4 teaspoon of sugar in tea and coffee. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 19th, 2023 at 11:53am Dnarever wrote on Aug 19th, 2023 at 10:42am:
Husband is a tea drinker forever that I remember…. used to have it white with one, in last few years it’s black with a teaspoon honey. I like sugar…. But recently I’ve stopped using one teaspoon sugar in white coffee first thing in morning and switched to stevia…. My BP has gone down to 115/80 :o just by eliminating one teaspoon sugar ??? Surely not? |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by Sophia on Aug 19th, 2023 at 12:01pm Dnarever wrote on Aug 19th, 2023 at 10:47am:
Oh me oh my ;D isn’t it amazing how that little device keeps us company and included! I feel like I’m isolated without it now. I’m not sure I like that. Relying so much on it as such. Going out without the phone makes me feel disconnected and I feel stress in case callers are trying to get in touch with me and I’m not responding. Everyone is used to being answered or messaged quickly nowadays. Imagine in war time…. turn around times for letters was months. Months of thinking and hoping to hear from loved ones if they are still alive. The amount of patience people had in them days are commendable unlike today’s world of impatience for quick replies. |
Title: Re: Signs Your Are Getting Old Post by chimera on Aug 19th, 2023 at 12:19pm
There is AI creating fake video of people and scam calls for cash. So the next app will be auto phone calls where mobiles just chat on conference calls and let you drink the coffee and write letters.