Member Run Boards >> Coronavirus >> Royal children’s hospital ….
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1670241025

Message started by Sophia on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:50pm

Title: Royal children’s hospital ….
Post by Sophia on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:50pm
On the news tonight … it’s quite concerning… there’s a lot of children with serious virus issues (not covid they said) and the children’s hospital has been inundated.
Said it was unusual to have so many illnesses at this time of year.

Is it the mad weather from 30deg one day down to 16 the next?

It was specifically said it was a virus but not COVID.

What the heck is it? It seems to have mystified the medicos.

Not nice to have young kids sick before school ends and Xmas time soon.

Hope they all on the improve soon and nurses/doctors/ambos not run off their feet!

I think it’s a weird day… I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!
Something about a mad day and only 2 in the  work shop… the 3rd worker had a car accident and totalled his car… is in hospital and they tested him and said he’s got COVID as well! (Yes he’s double jabbed against it).

When it rains it pours!

As for COVID… it seems it doesn’t matter who is jabbed or not… it’s a b1tch of a thing!
Some unjabbed get it either mild or bad.
Some jabbed get it mild or bad.

Nothing makes sense … and now there’s new variations which the current vaxes don’t cover.

Title: Re: Royal children’s hospital ….
Post by aquascoot on Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:05am
we are NOT living in harmony with nature

children have no exposure to nature which includes lots of dirt and insect stings and , yes, viruses that build a strong immune system.

you need a stressor to make you stronger

you lift a heavy weight which stresses the muscle and that muscle grows stronger

we over rely on the big pharma solution

lots of antibiotics and steroid puffers and steroid creams and , yes, vaccines

i am pro vaccine but children should get tetanus vax, polio vax, meningitis vax ...for the serious diseases.

they try to vaccinate them for everything nowadays

infant pin cushions

and then they seem amazed when their immune systems get confused.

read the good studies on how women on famrs have kids with far less allergies and immune system issues because they are constantly exposed to nature.

living in an urban "safe space" they get exposed to plenty of corporate

maccas
coca cola
netflix
i phones
disinfectants
and big pharma crap
childhood obesity

we have the west now banning meat on mondays and fridays at school to save the planet
and big pharma attacking eggs whilst pushing billion dollar cholesterol drugs .

as if an egg, the basis of life is evil but their crap is natural.

FFS people   WAKE UP

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:39am
Actually that seems to make sense Aqua.
I’m thinking it must have something to do with the 2 years of the kids being holed up in the home like a bubble away from their class mates, outdoors, etc social distancing, mask wearing, overkill of hand sanitizers.
That 2 years where the usual colds and flu seemed to just disappear.
As this social experiment has not happened like this before… now with children becoming unprecedentedly ill at this time of year… baffling the medical experts….
All one had to do was analyse the last couple years where we all came from…
Which you did Aqua.
It makes me wonder…recently when hubby religiously (out of fear) wore his mask when we were at airport and in plane, then in Uber… and he got sick with flu whilst daughter and I wore no masks and we were fine.
Hubby was baffled about how we were okay and not him, coming to his own conclusion wearing a mask didn’t protect him.
On the way back from airport/plane he wore no mask and has been fine.
Of course you know the difference between flu and man flu?
Hence daughter and I escaped daily to Harbour Town outlet shopping  ;D

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 7:22am
Of course they won't say it's Covid.

But, if these children have had Covid (and I believe a large percentage of Australian children have had it at least once) then the damage Covid causes leaves them vulnerable to a lot of other medical issues which is probably what we're seeing now.

Same thing is happening in the UK and other countries and in the UK they're trying to blame it all on previous lockdowns. ::)

Can't bring themselves to say the "C" word, can they? In fact, I believe yesterday was the first time Anthony Albanese has uttered the "C" word since the Federal election last May.

Oh, and while I'm here - another update on that awesome "personal responsibility" which has now replaced "public health" Australia wide... and I'm sure there's thousands or tens of thousands like him.

One more for starters:

https://mobile.twitter.com/nortssss/status/1599686455206752262

Whis68
@Whis_68
·
9h
Replying to
@nortssss
and
@YouAreLobbyLud
Same.

::)
notest.jpg (39 KB | 8 )

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 7:34am
Ah... someone has finally said the "C" word.

Expert questions COVID-19 policy as Melbourne's Royal Children's Hospital experiences a surge in patients

A leading infectious diseases expert is calling for a shift in the country's response to COVID-19 after a major Victorian hospital revealed it is struggling to cope with surging demand.

Infectious diseases expert Brendan Crabb from the Burnet Institute said authorities were effectively letting COVID-19 run free in the community, and hospitals and emergency services were paying the price.

"I'm becoming angry … this is the sort of thing that happens with a COVID policy like we have … which is effectively pro-infection," he said.

Professor Crabb said even though it was not just people with active infections presenting to hospital, previous COVID infections are likely to be factor in the hospital surge.

"Meaning that in quite a few of them, their immune systems might not be functioning as they once were or as they could."

Yes.
Agreed.

Post by aquascoot on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:01am
You have to be in sync with mother nature Sophie

There is nothing wrong with modern western medicine in the main
But here is an interesting fact

Before the tetanus vaccine became available it was very common 4 soldiers to die of tetanus when wounded

But the medical people noted that the rough young country lads who lived amongst the dirt
Rarely got tetanus

And be more prosperous City folk who lived amongst soap and hot water
Were the main people afflicted

You have to expose yourself to threat
Every time you do you become stronger

The idea of a safe space is ridiculous

There is no safe space here on planet Earth
There are only people who have made the conscious decision to work in sync with nature
Eat a natural diet

And stay well away from the unnatural environment that is the modern public Hospital
Public hospitals are where they farm and make profit from the same people they have made unwell
Public hospitals have vending machines selling Coca-Cola and chips in their casualty departments

Leave it to government to break your legs and then offer you a set of crutches and expect you to be grateful

In the end your health is totally a matter of self reliance
Outsourcing back to people who profit from you being unhealthy and who make no money if you are self reliant

Words escape me as to how foolish that is

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:07am

aquascoot wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:01am:

Except that doesn't apply to SARS-CoV-2 (COVID-19)

The health risks of multiple Covid-19 infections

A study published Thursday in Nature Medicine found that Covid-19 patients with reinfections are more likely to be diagnosed with long Covid and experience health complications, including death, heart problems, blood-clotting disorders, and more.

Compared with individuals who were only infected once, participants who were reinfected experienced a two-fold increase in the risk of death, long Covid, and fatigue, and a three-fold increase in the risk of hospitalization, heart problems, and blood clotting.

The study found an increased risk of complications across all patients, regardless of vaccination status. The risks of complications, including pulmonary, cardiovascular, hematological, diabetes, gastrointestinal, kidney, mental health, musculoskeletal, and neurological disorders, were most prevalent during an active infection—but they lingered six months after infection.

I don't know why I (and others) have to keep repeating this over and over?

Post by Jovial Monk on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:09am
NOT why I moved to Tassie but I am glad I did!

I posted a YouTube about the Spanish Flu. When they thought the epidemic was about over it was just getting started—remarkably like Covid today! Worth watching.

The Spanish flu originated in America, probably a wet market in Arkansas or Alabama. We don’t know its mutational pathways and they aren’t mentioned in the YouTube anyway. There was the line that “authorities didn’t see the need to quarantine. . .” all too familiar today!

Something like 15 million deaths.

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:26am
And, another reason for the crisis...

https://mobile.twitter.com/SMpwrgr/status/1599665967487148032

Royal Children’s hospital in Melb in crisis tonight with 12 hour waits tonight

Currently around 100 children in Emergency dept

HCW staff shortages due to being off sick with Covid exacerbating crisis

Bad.... really bad.

Post by Sir lastnail on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:31am

Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:50pm:
On the news tonight … it’s quite concerning… there’s a lot of children with serious virus issues (not covid they said) and the children’s hospital has been inundated.

Hope they all on the improve soon and nurses/doctors/ambos not run off their feet!

I think it’s a weird day… I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!
Something about a mad day and only 2 in the  work shop… the 3rd worker had a car accident and totalled his car… is in hospital and they tested him and said he’s got COVID as well! (Yes he’s double jabbed against it).

When it rains it pours!

As for COVID… it seems it doesn’t matter who is jabbed or not… it’s a b1tch of a thing!

Nothing makes sense … and now there’s new variations which the current vaxes don’t cover.

If they have been vaxed it would explain it. :(

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:28am

Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:31am:

When it rains it pours!

If they have been vaxed it would explain it. :(

I’m not sure about the children or their ages… if there was a push for them to be vaxxed?
But definitely all the medical staff that are now off sick with COVID! Hence the shortage of nurses etc in the children’s hospital at present for this inundated situation and long wait period!

And my hubby’s work inundated with less workers due to 2 reasons.
The vaxxed are off sick with f kn COVID (he’s not vaxxed and since March didn’t have to be to go back to work) and the other reason is a desperate need for more workers in his field yet there’s red tape to go through to get them from Phillipines. So far they got 2 for other plants but still waiting for this 3rd one!
My hubby is at retirement age… I’m spewing … I say why don’t you just tell them to ram it and leave instead of working so hard (it’s a physically demanding job) …. he’s literally eating naproxen!

So we do have more than one crisis situation in Oz and the government are asleep at the wheel!
Getting anything done with them is like walking through treacle!
And despot Dan saying the ambulance/hospital/nurse situation will improve now he’s re-elected?
*cough cough*
I sense a code red or two before Xmas  :(

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:29am

Jovial Monk wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:09am:
NOT why I moved to Tassie but I am glad I did!

I posted a YouTube about the Spanish Flu. When they thought the epidemic was about over it was just getting started—remarkably like Covid today! Worth watching.

The Spanish flu originated in America, probably a wet market in Arkansas or Alabama. We don’t know its mutational pathways and they aren’t mentioned in the YouTube anyway. There was the line that “authorities didn’t see the need to quarantine. . .” all too familiar today!

Something like 15 million deaths.

Can you post that link here please Monk… I would be interested to see it.

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:50am

Before the tetanus vaccine became available it was very common 4 soldiers to die of tetanus when wounded

But the medical people noted that the rough young country lads who lived amongst the dirt
Rarely got tetanus

There are only people who have made the conscious decision to work in sync with nature
Eat a natural diet

And stay well away from the unnatural environment that is the modern public Hospital
Public hospitals are where they farm and make profit from the same people they have made unwell
Public hospitals have vending machines selling Coca-Cola and chips in their casualty departments

Leave it to government to break your legs and then offer you a set of crutches and expect you to be grateful

Outsourcing back to people who profit from you being unhealthy and who make no money if you are self reliant

I agree Aqua.
Interesting thing is… I used to let my kids romp in the mud and then swim in the brown dam water … in summer and they would toast brown sometimes a bit burnt too.
In winter they would rug up and go outside to play in their beloved sandpit!

Now here’s something else interesting…. I’m part of a women’s survey (ABC… re: cancer)
The questioneer was very extensive and diced right into your whole life and being.
It’s by the questions that are telling.
Apart from how many veges/fruit/meat/alcohol/cigs/vitamins etc you consume weekly…  but asking questions of our childhood… were we brought up on farms amidst animals.
I was. A little grotty farm kid with animals as my friends!

Therefore your are correct there’s a lot of weight to support the topic of allowing kids to go outdoors and get dirty for a stronger immune system!

Post by Captain Caveman on Dec 6th, 2022 at 11:13am

Sophia wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:50am:

Rarely got tetanus

Eat a natural diet

I agree Aqua.
Interesting thing is… I used to let my kids romp in the mud and then swim in the brown dam water … in summer and they would toast brown sometimes a bit burnt too.
In winter they would rug up and go outside to play in their beloved sandpit!

Now here’s something else interesting…. I’m part of a women’s survey (ABC… re: cancer)
The questioneer was very extensive and diced right into your whole life and being.
It’s by the questions that are telling.
Apart from how many veges/fruit/meat/alcohol/cigs/vitamins etc you consume weekly…  but asking questions of our childhood… were we brought up on farms amidst animals.
I was. A little grotty farm kid with animals as my friends!

Therefore your are correct there’s a lot of weight to support the topic of allowing kids to go outdoors and get dirty for a stronger immune system!

Absolutely.
Get them outside eating mud pies.
We all did it.
The earth is good for the body.
Try not to wear shoes as often as you can.
Ground yourself.

The selenium found in soils, which transfers to the food that's grown in that soil is essential to human cell function. Unfortunately the newer farming methods have managed to remove most of the selenium from the soils, so in turn it doesn't end up in our food.
Supliments are sold in tablet form, but do not have the same concentrations as our organic soils that our farms used to grow food in, funnily enough, well not really. Ironic more to the point.

Post by aquascoot on Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:10pm

There are good bacteria and there are bad bacteria. The good bacteria we call commensals. Our bodies actually have more bacterial cells than human cells. What we’ve learned over the years is that the association with family life and the environment probably has more to do with the microbiome. So one thing I would say is sanitizing every surface in your home to an extreme is probably not a good thing. Our research team showed in animals that sterile environments don’t allow the immune system to develop at all. We don’t want that.

There are a number of factors that we’ve associated with the hygiene hypothesis over the last 20 years, and these exposures start very early in life. Cesarean sections, which do not allow the baby to travel through the birth canal and get exposed to the mother’s really healthy bacterial content, is a risk factor for many different immune diseases. Getting that early seeding with good bacteria is critical for setting up the child going forward. Breastfeeding also contributes to the development of a healthy immune system.

There are other factors. Our diets have changed dramatically over the years. We eat a lot of processed food that doesn’t have the normal components of a healthy microbiome, like fiber. These healthy bacteria in our gut need that fiber to maintain themselves. They not only are important for our immune system but they’re absolutely critical to us deriving calories and nutrients from our food. All these things contribute to a healthy child.

We’ve also noticed that people who live on farms have fewer of these diseases because they’re exposed to—for lack of a better term—the fecal material of animals. And what we have found is that it’s due to these commensal bacteria. That is one of the components that help us keep a healthy immune system. Most of us will probably not adopt farm life. But we can have a pet, we can have a dog.

https://publichealth.jhu.edu/2022/is-the-hygiene-hypothesis-true

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:17pm
Sounds like good advice in the last few posts (yes, even yours, aqua).

Can't see what it has to do with being infected with a brain and multiple organ damaging Biosafety Level 3 bat virus that's producing more new vaccine and antiviral evading variants faster (and which now also spread faster) than anything we've seen in the past.

A virus that has killed and continues to kill 33 Australians a day (yes, someone - not me - did the math) since the Federal election last May and 16,264 in total (as of today) since the start of the pandemic.

Not to mention all of the hospitalisations and ICU admissions.

But, still good advice nevertheless.

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:06pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:17pm:
Sounds like good advice in the last few posts (yes, even yours, aqua).

Can't see what it has to do with being infected with a brain and multiple organ damaging Biosafety Level 3 bat virus that's producing more new vaccine and antiviral evading variants faster (and which now also spread faster) than anything we've seen in the past.

A virus that has killed and continues to kill 33 Australians a day (yes, someone - not me - did the math) since the Federal election last May and 16,264 in total (as of today) since the start of the pandemic.

Not to mention all of the hospitalisations and ICU admissions.

But, still good advice nevertheless.

I understand that an unusual virus comes along and we have 2 things to help us… either/or vaccines/medication and/or our immune system.
Just as individual we all are… so too are our immunity strength.

Without our immune system… we are all cactus!
So if growing up on farms and amidst animals helps our immune system to strengthen then so be it.
Both hubby and I grew up on farms.
On his farm they had horses pulling ploughs and 3 pet dogs.
On my farm we had chooks, geese, little piglets, foxes, tiger snakes, cats, dogs and one cow!

Anyway I just had a phone call from a friend… she’s feeling stressed… her 82 yr old mother (whom used to be our neighbours yonks ago) is in an elderly village where they are all independent … have all been triple jabbed and… have contracted COVID! Not just the children… the elderly too!
Why my friend is distressed… she’s been invited by her mum to attend a Xmas function with these elderly.
The fact remains they are still all going ahead with the function!
So my friend is worried as she doesn’t want ti catch it… asking me if she should not go as she was looking forward to a bit of cheer and festivity.

I just sighed and said… to consider these things when making up her mind.
They are all vaxxed and have still caught COVID… you are not vaxxed so at least you don’t have that stuff in you …
I also said…. You had a mild form of COVID 3 months ago so you have developed anti bodies naturally.

So it’s not just children right now that COVID has reared its ugly head, it’s with the elderly too!!!

I wonder if because Melbourne had such a cold wet winter… coldest November since the 70s or coldest on record?
And suddenly we have the weekend with 30 plus degrees!
Nice hatch weather of any virus  >:(

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm
Not just Melbourne's Royal Children's Hospital. Seems like this is happening all over Australia.

https://mobile.twitter.com/loobylouwales/status/1599924788675633152

A family friend had a massive stroke on the weekend, post-Covid.
Still waiting for in ICU bed to become available at Fiona Stanley Hospital before they can attempt life-saving surgery.
There's quite a queue for ICU, apparently.
Thanks heaps @MarkMcGowanMP
@Mark_Butler_MP

(Fiona Stanley Hospital is about 18km south of Perth City for all of our "Eastern Staters").

Also...

Claire 🧠🔥 #pwME
@Naylor007
·
2h
Replying to
@loobylouwales

@MarkMcGowanMP
and
@Mark_Butler_MP
Was told to avoid Royal Perth Hospital by a doctor as they've had experience recently with serious fracture patients sent away with a paracetamol (with bones sticking up through skin, huge swelling. Needed urgent surgery but they're too busy to deal with) #inexcusable #harmful

But, aquascoot seems to believe our hospitals are not being overwhelmed due to Covid cases. He was just telling us that the other day, actually.

Post by aquascoot on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:53pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm:
Not just Melbourne's Royal Children's Hospital. Seems like this is happening all over Australia.

https://mobile.twitter.com/loobylouwales/status/1599924788675633152

A family friend had a massive stroke on the weekend, post-Covid.
Still waiting for in ICU bed to become available at Fiona Stanley Hospital before they can attempt life-saving surgery.
There's quite a queue for ICU, apparently.
Thanks heaps @MarkMcGowanMP
@Mark_Butler_MP

(Fiona Stanley Hospital is about 18km south of Perth City for all of our "Eastern Staters").

Also...

[quote]Claire 🧠🔥 #pwME
@Naylor007
·
2h
Replying to
@loobylouwales

@MarkMcGowanMP
and
@Mark_Butler_MP
Was told to avoid Royal Perth Hospital by a doctor as they've had experience recently with serious fracture patients sent away with a paracetamol (with bones sticking up through skin, huge swelling. Needed urgent surgery but they're too busy to deal with) #inexcusable #harmful

But, aquascoot seems to believe our hospitals are not being overwhelmed due to Covid cases. He was just telling us that the other day, actually.[/quote]

our hospitals are overwhelemed with obese people, old people, diabetics. drug and alcohol and tobacco related diseases and cancers and dementia.

covid is the least of our worries.

the ill health of our citizens is the major issue .

with a quadrupling of the population over 80 , it will soon be neccessary to refuse admissions from nursing homes to make room for young people with fractures.

this is , after all, what hospitals should be treating.

Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:57pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:20pm:
But, aquascoot seems to believe our hospitals are not being overwhelmed due to Covid cases. He was just telling us that the other day, actually.

Well he's wrong, actually.

Hospitals everywhere are short staffed because of COVID.

"Hospitals across the country are grappling with widespread staffing shortages, complicating preparations for a potential Covid-19 surge as the BA.5 subvariant drives up cases, hospital admissions and deaths.

"Long-standing problems, worker burnout and staff turnover have grown worse as Covid-19 waves have hit health care workers again and again — and as more employees fall sick with Covid-19 themselves."

Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:27pm

I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!

Maybe try not RINGING him, so often,
if he's got work to do ?

Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:51pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:53pm:
With a "quadrupling of the population" over 80 , it will soon be necessary to refuse admissions from to nursing homes to make room for young people with fractures.
This is, after all, what hospitals should be treating ?

Yes, it is EXACTLY what hospitals should be treating.
But aged care facilities aren't hospitals

What is needed is some pretty big increases in taxation to support an aging population

What we DON'T NEED is every party harking "and tax cuts for all" every time an election is announced

Post by Carl D on Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:17pm
Adelaide now.

https://mobile.twitter.com/AdlEmergStatus/status/1599989480370339842

Emergency Departments

All Adult EDs in Adelaide are critically overcrowded (>125% of their capacity)!

This dangerous situation requires urgent action

Definitely not good.

Post by Sophia on Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:18pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:27pm:

I rang hubby at work to tell him something and he was all flustered!

Maybe try not RINGING him, so often,
if he's got work to do ?

You’re a piece aren’t you  ::)

I do not phone him often but this was work related and important to do with a part for the fork lift ….
We’ve been married nearly 47 years so I hardly feel the need to call for lovey dovey talk  :-*
The fact he was flustered is because he’s only supposed to work part time… yet everyone else is falling apart with COVID, car accidents, and the fact they are waiting for Phillipino mechanics with a heap of bs red tape taking forever!!

Post by aquascoot on Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:48pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 5:17pm:
Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

This thread is about children's Hospital
If I was the Minister for health I would move stuff from the adult hospital to the children's hospital as children are more important
Things like fractures would be given priority
The elderly would just have to wait

As an older person myself I'm fine with that

I would consider it a scandal if I was seen before a child with possible meningitis was seen

I would consider that as disgusting as taking a spot on a lifeboat in front of a child

What happened to common decency

Post by Carl D on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:48pm:
If I was the Minister for health I would move stuff from the adult hospital to the children's hospital as children are more important

Good thing you're not the Minister for Health then, isn't it?

https://mobile.twitter.com/TheRMH/status/1600284275387293696

If you have seen the news lately, hospitals around Melbourne are under pressure from staff off sick with COVID-19. On top of this, our ED is very busy with people coming in, also sick with COVID-19, respiratory illnesses, trauma and other conditions.

That's if it was even mentioned in the news.

And not just "around Melbourne".

Post by aquascoot on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:06pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm:

If you have seen the news lately, hospitals around Melbourne are under pressure from staff off sick with COVID-19. On top of this, our ED is very busy with people coming in, also sick with COVID-19, respiratory illnesses, trauma and other conditions.

so carl, driverless cars are going to have to be programed to make some harsh decisions.

should the software tell the car to run over the 90 yo or the toddler, assuming the car is going to hit one of them

Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:23pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 7:01pm:

If they drop the vaccine mandate for health care workers they might not have a problem with being understaffed.

We have known the vaccines don't prevent transmission since August 2021 there was no scientific justification for vaccine mandates.

Post by Carl D on Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:22pm
How it started (left)

and...

How it's going (right)

Health ministers to meet on virus surge

But... no one could have foreseen this, right?  ::)
FjV3M5rUUAE1hhZa.jpg (133 KB | 9 )

Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:29pm

Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

I would consider it a scandal if I was seen before a child with possible meningitis was seen

I would consider that as disgusting as taking a spot on a lifeboat in front of a child

What happened to looking after both?

Post by Carl D on Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:41pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:29pm:

The Church of Aquascoot has already decreed early in the pandemic (and many times since) that the elderly (that's anyone over 60) and people with disabilities or medical issues need to be sacrificed to Covid on the altar of the economy so the young can flourish... or go on their endless Bali holidays... or whatever they want to do as long as they're not inconvenienced in any way whatsoever.

And "inconvenienced" to them includes something as simple as wearing a mask whenever they leave the house to protect the abovementioned groups of vulnerable people.

I was nearly going to say "to protect themselves as well" but I'm sure they don't give a toss about that either judging by the number of people I saw wearing masks at Belmont Forum again today.

Post by Sophia on Dec 8th, 2022 at 12:43am
You know earlier in this thread I said how hubby was flustered at work because he’s virtually on his own while hell breaks loose?
The other mechanic that had the car accident and went to hospital finding out he has covid…
He came into work today… yes with covid….
What had happened… now bear in mind he is triple jabbed… he was in his car and suddenly didn’t feel very well… he rested a while… then wanted to get back home and as he was driving he suddenly blacked out.
Went across 3 lanes… over to opposite side of 3 lanes, and into a ditch.
He awoken with all airbags opened up and people all around him.
In hospital they did blood tests etc and told him he has covid.

He’s lucky he didn’t freakin die!
And the other young buck in his early 20s went home feeling sick … geez it seems us unvaxxed have to keep the country running it seems!

These hospitals need to call back all the nurses and ambo drivers that left earlier bcoz they didn’t want to be coerced taking the jab … you know..… no jab no job….
They need to come back whether jabbed or not!
The hospitals now need them….  desperately!
There’s a crisis happening.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Dec 8th, 2022 at 7:47am

Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

As an older person myself I'm not fine with that.

:) :) :) :) :)

Post by aquascoot on Dec 8th, 2022 at 8:52am

greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 11:29pm:

Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

There will always be health rationing

We will never be able to do everything for everyone it is impossible
You for instance say that your mother has had 16 admissions to hospital this year
With a quadrupling of the number of people over 80 projected in the next 15 years
That is simply not going to be possible in the future

My wife works in the health system
People say there are staff shortages and they are most certainly correct
She is 48 kg and it is not COVID that is exhausting her and her colleagues
It is the overweight and the demented

She is doing shifts where often only half the staff turn up

She is expected to change the sheets when 160kg people with self-inflicted obesity poop the bed or we the bed
You try moving 160kg and doing that on your own
It is of course an impossibility

But being The trooper that she is she battles on
She has nearly 9 months sick pay owing to her
And she was recently doing a shift where a demented nursing home patient
Smacked her hard in the head

I don't usually condone people taking time off work
But I said to her honey you really should have a few days off

What happens then is that as staff not turning up
The remaining staff become burnt out very quickly

Again this has nothing to do with covid

Ask her or any of her colleagues who I see fairly regularly whether it is covered that is causing the incredible burnout and attrition in public hospitals

It is not

It is the heavy workload mainly imposed by immobile overweight people and people transferred from nursing homes

Why are people being transferred from nursing homes to public hospitals

Because the nursing home can continue to reap the profits from the federal government for having the person at their facility
At the moment that person becomes a bit aggressive due to dementia or too heavy to look after and a burden on their profits they call an ambulance and have them sent over to the nearest public hospital

This situation cannot continue

If it does you will have no nurses
You will have no staff left in your public hospitals

I saw the statistic this morning for Melbourne and it's code Brown

People with appendicitis are waiting 60% longer than a year ago to be operated upon

This is something that never would have happened in the 60s 70s 80s 90s or last decade

We have to do something to save our public hospitals and it is on each individual to take personal responsibility and keep themselves healthy so that the hospitals are not overwhelmed and people like my wife Are not demolished looking after people who never bothered to take care of themselves

I also include people who did not get the vaccination as people being a burden as well
But the far bigger burden is self imposed bad health decisions smoking drinking drugs getting fat and refusing to exercise

Post by aquascoot on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:07am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 7:47am:

Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

Sprint I can see the writing on the wall
The public hospital system has become totally dysfunctional
It is overwhelmed and the morale of staff is in general very low

The community need to work together with the doctors and nurses
And try to create as little work for them as possible

I agree with people being vaccinated of course
But people should not become unhealthy through bad personal decisions and then just throw themselves at a casualty department and expect the system to cope no matter what the burden

There will always be rationing there will always be triaging
Some things will need to be seen sooner than others
It will get to the point where elective surgery just does not get done

That then creates a whole new range of problems

Post by Carl D on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:18am

aquascoot wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:07am:

Hold on a minute.

You keep telling us our hospitals are not being overwhelmed (at least not with Covid patients - which they are, of course. As well as many staff being off sick with Covid).

You've told us that on many occasions. In fact, you told us again about a week or two ago.

So, are our hospitals being overwhelmed or not?

Post by Sophia on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:42am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 7:47am:

Adelaide now.

Emergency Departments

Definitely not good.

Sprint I can see the writing on the wall

The community need to work together with the doctors and nurses
And try to create as little work for them as possible

I agree with people being vaccinated of course
But people should not become unhealthy through bad personal decisions and then just throw themselves at a casualty department and expect the system to cope no matter what the burden

There will always be rationing there will always be triaging
Some things will need to be seen sooner than others
It will get to the point where elective surgery just does not get done

That then creates a whole new range of problems

I believe in certain vaccinations but not that C -vax … and now more than ever I don’t believe in it… from my own vantage point… I see it makes no frikking difference.
All those 2 years lockdowns and isolations… all for what?
Kept in a bubble for 2 years and now… many are sicker than ever by the hoards as a result.
The flu/common cold  just magically disappeared!

This covid is not going away. It was said at least earlier on that we need to learn to live with it.
Well now everyone is less afraid… my son and his wife attended a nice super spreader event at the MCG for a Guns and Roses concert on Saturday night!
He sent me short vids of what 90 thousand people looked like all rocking it. No one wearing masks of course!

As for self inflicted health problems… last week a 68 yr old guy ended up in hospital because of his life style choices. Drinks too much and will eat a whole block of chocolate  :o
So he had stomach trouble of diverticulitis.
You are correct Aqua…. self inflicted and yet expect hospitals to be their life savers … which they do… only to go back to their bad habits again.  Sad really… addiction… the habits…  a self created problem that eventually has a ripple effect of using ambulance/hospital bed/staff etc
Then hospital bed shortage for those that really need it like children… or accident injuries…

This current full moon has shed a lot of light on hospital problems of recent.
A paramedic told me it’s always more busy at full moon time.

Post by aquascoot on Dec 8th, 2022 at 10:49am

Carl D wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:18am:

Hold on a minute.

You keep telling us our hospitals are not being overwhelmed (at least not with Covid patients - which they are, of course. As well as many staff being off sick with Covid).

You've told us that on many occasions. In fact, you told us again about a week or two ago.

So, are our hospitals being overwhelmed or not?

Yes hospitals are most definitely overrun
If you speak to my wife who works in a hospital everyday of her life almost
She will tell you that kovid is the least of their problems

Her hospital cannot cope with the steady stream of ambulances from nursing homes
And the steady stream of diabetics with infected stumps
Many of these people are in hospital for months
They require full nursing care and there are not enough nurses to go around
I am getting rather sick of seeing her exhausted trying to look after people who have not looked after themselves

As I have said repeatedly it is not covid that is stressing the system
It is diabetes obesity mental health problems often due to amphetamine use
Smoking and alcohol related problems
And a growing number of infections that do not respond to antibiotics because we have overused antibiotics in the past

That is the issue

Ask yourself this
A single course of pfizer's new miracle drug
Pax Lovid costs the hospital $2,500
It seems only mildly effective
You could employ a registered nurse for 2 weeks and improve staff morale for 2 1/2 thousand dollars
That would seem better at helping the system then doing what mainly helps a big American pharmaceutical company

Of course that will never happen
The politicians and other people on the gravy train know which side of their bread is buttered

Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 8th, 2022 at 2:40pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 7:22am:
Of course they won't say it's Covid.
Same thing is happening in the UK and other countries ...

It is a "triple hit" of ...

Seasonal Influenza
Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV)
Covid19

It's more of a staff shortage combined with a heavier than normal patient load.

It's world-wide issue, as the pandemic drags on.

I heard someone trying the "not happy Dan" chant for this international imbalance, just the other day.
FORTUNATELY, Victorians are smarter than that at the ballot box.

Respiratory virus activity has increased in recent weeks in Canada, and activity of several viruses is above expected levels.

Overall influenza activity is increasing and above expected levels for this time of year (2,234 detections; 11.7% positive). Influenza activity is above the seasonal threshold of 5% of tests positive, indicating the beginning of the influenza epidemic at the national level.
Influenza activity is increasing across Canada, with nearly all regions reporting over 5% of tests positive.
Influenza A accounts for nearly all influenza activity in Canada.
Overall respiratory syncytial virus activity is increasing and is above expected levels for this time of year (1,309 detections; 7.8% positive). Level of activity is variable across regions (range: 1.8%–20.1% positive).
Activity of other respiratory viruses is relatively stable and near expected levels for this time of year.
32/34 sentinel laboratories reported surveillance data.

https://www.canada.ca/en/public-health/services/surveillance/respiratory-virus-detections-canada/2022-2023/week-44-ending-november-5-2022.html

It should be pointed out - that NO ONE will be turned away from any Victorian Hospital.
There may be some delays as patients are triaged - and seen in order of urgency.

Patients are asked NOT to attend hospital ER rooms for "non-emergency" cases that could be attended to by a GP

Post by Carl D on Dec 8th, 2022 at 6:41pm
I remember posting about this last month.

https://mobile.twitter.com/amapresident/status/1600697775200473088

Professor Steve Robson MPH MD PhD.

This was always a safe bet...

Yes, it was. Sadly.

Post by aquascoot on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:09pm

Carl D wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 6:41pm:
I remember posting about this last month.

https://mobile.twitter.com/amapresident/status/1600697775200473088

Professor Steve Robson MPH MD PhD.

This was always a safe bet...

Yes, it was. Sadly.

yep , staff shortages indeed.

nurses exhausted from looking after the obese and the demented who attack them are going to jump at the chance to have 7 days paid leave if they can get a positive RAT.

in fact, some nurses who work with my trooper of a wife are up to their 4th covid attack (apparently) and their 4th week of fully paid covid leave.

proud that my girl has not taken one day off for covid but when people are exhausted from looking after the obese and the demented (not covid patients) they are going to jump at the opportunity to get out of there.

heres something else to consider carl.

kospitals are run by bean counters.

when the budget is blown on PPE and having nurses out the front doing RAT's on everyone, they have to cut costs.

and guess what that means

reduced staffing

they blow all their money on covid and then reduce nursing levels so they come in on budget.

my wifes ward is getting a positive airflow room for covid patients  ::) ::) ::).
it is costing a bomb.

what the smack for?
covid is everywhere anyway.

but the tradesmen are there smashing down the walls, making the demented pateints crazy and the management have reduced nursing levels to try to come in on budget.

not a good way to spend your health dollar.

heres another gem for you.

because the system is broke, when my missus is in charge of the ward, she is not allowed to get in agency staff (casuals) without calling the hospital manager first.

and that hospital manager (a bean counter) has the say on whether they can have an extra nurse when people call in sick.

and that bean counter gets an extra 2 hours overtime (about 300 bucks) FOR MAKING THE DECISION.

thats correct, check with qld health.
they pay some bureacrat 300 bucks to decide (usually in the negative) that they cant call in an agency nurse because they had to "disturb" him at 11 pm when 2 nurses dont turn up for the night shift and they are desperately short staffed.

the public and the bureaucracy have burnt the good will of most nurses (apart from my devoted missus),

but i think she should call it quits.

the system is totally rooted and the head of the AMA was never going to lose a bet saying there were going to be major problems.

but it aint covid pal, it is the entitlement of the public and the selfishness of the bureacrats who milk the health system for junkets with the latest makers of all the technology they blow their budget on whilst throwing every nurse under the bus

enjoy your failed system

you reap what you sew

you are familair with this i hope  ::)

Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 10th, 2022 at 10:23am

Sophia wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:42am:

The flu/common cold just magically disappeared !

In a manner of speaking, YES !

The precautions that slowed the spread of the common cold - as well as seasonal influenza - to slow the spread of COVID19, such as 'obsessive' handwashing, social distancing and mask wearing - have taken quite a hit in the last 'flu' seasons.
Health and medical authorities have commented it's almost like it (the flu season) never existed.

Post by Sophia on Dec 10th, 2022 at 10:38am

buzzanddidj wrote on Dec 10th, 2022 at 10:23am:

Sophia wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 9:42am:

The flu/common cold just magically disappeared !

In a manner of speaking, YES !

The precautions that slowed the spread of the common cold - as well as seasonal influenza - to slow the spread of COVID19, such as 'obsessive' handwashing, social distancing and mask wearing - have taken quite a hit in the last 'flu' seasons.
Health and medical authorities have commented it's almost like it (the flu season) never existed.

I was quite amazed how much of a bubble we all lived in that time of masks, no hugs, no visitors, no socializing, and obsessive santiziing.
For 2 years me… who always got a flu or cold… every year… got none… and then… after all that being careful and distant…I got covid and it hit me like a ton of bricks!

And seems a lot of sicknesses in recent times with hospitals inundated….after that 2 year bubble…. is the result… of having wrapped us in cotton wool.

So it was all for nothing… 2 years of lockdowns….because COVID was still waiting to get us when we thought it was safe to come out and play again.
Whether one is vaxxed or unvaxxed.

Since I had delta/omicron in January… I’ve not had any normal flu or cold since all year! Im a little stunned by that… but then again… by March I started taking HCQ for RA so I think that may have warded off the normal flu.
So my question is… has anyone had the normal flu or colds this year?
Or is it still awol?