General Discussion >> Chat >> Black Friday http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1669343208 Message started by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 12:26pm |
Title: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 12:26pm
Happy Black Friday, stocked up on t shirts and a few pairs of shorts.
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 25th, 2022 at 12:30pm It's about two months away. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:28pm We just buy things we need, when we need them. Will have a look for a new mattress. Have had it on my mind for a while. Apparently 'Sleeping Duck' make good ones. Ours is well over 12 years old |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:47pm
Black is Evil?
Is Good Friday White? Are Mondays really Blue and Tuesdays Ruby Red?? White is good. Black is bad. Racism is a justified ancient of Mu Mu. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:52pm Jasin wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:47pm:
What do you want when you see a red door? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:58pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:28pm:
Oh - $2k for a good mattress. Am thinking, it is a good investment |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:00pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:52pm:
I see a red door and I want to paint it ....... https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O4irXQhgMqg |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:40pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:28pm:
I need tshirts :) got about x10. Also got a few things for my very soon upcoming holiday. A couple of linen shirts/shorts, new board shorts. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Belgarion on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:50pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 12:30pm:
Exactly. The use of this term for an imported foreign sales pitch that has nothing to do with Australia is an insult to the victims. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 25th, 2022 at 4:44pm Belgarion wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:50pm:
Yes, a lot of people seem to have forgotten. Why Australian retailers should respect the past and rename their ‘Black Friday’ sales November 22, 2018 Quote:
4 years after that article was published and it still hasn't been renamed but I guess the almighty dollar comes first (as always). |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 4:56pm
Anyone who is capable of walking and chewing gum at the same time should understand there will be words and phrases that have context in one situation but none for another.
The black friday fire was named in a standard naming convention for when bad things happen on a friday so there's bound to be contextual overlap. Getting upset about the name of a sale is equal to muzoulimz Getting triggered over words that make them want to cut heads off :) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:04pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:40pm:
Choice magazine rated Emma matresses as the best they have a good sale on. https://www.emma-sleep.com.au/ I hold out for sales then stock up. Myer have good sales twice a year not sure what they have for black friday. They do online so if you have sizes don't need to go in free delievery if order costs enough. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:25pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:04pm:
Myer was ok, but you have to know the non sale price. I spotted a few things marked UP on the normal ticket price which actually made it more expensive with the 30% off. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:46pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:25pm:
I bought some sheets that were $399 marked down to $119 in the last sale along with silk pillowcases at $37 which was half price. I also got some shirts they sent from Perth to Sydney as no stock in NSW. If they're out of stock buying online means they will ship it from where they have it. Being a male from the hunter side of our species i decide what i want then wait and shop around for the best deal. The feminine type who gather have different methods with shopping. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:46pm Belgarion wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:50pm:
The victims are idiots. I have no sympathy for them. They're buying sh1t they don't need, just because the price has been reduced. Sucked in hook, line, and sinker by senseless consumerism. I know someone who gets sucked in all year round by this nonsense. They'll proudly show me 12 boxes of marinated pigs' testicles on their kitchen table, telling me they got it on sale at Aldi, or wherever. When I ask them if they like marinated pigs' testicles they'll say "No, but they were half price. I'd be mad to pass up a bargain like that". |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:58pm
IF a product is on sale AND you know you need it AND will use it THEN you buy it.
Otherwise you don't. Always save your money/pay off your mortgage/bills etc. Having said that I bought 10 pairs of pjs (t shirt and shorts). These were massively reduced to $7.50 (online only for a few hours). Guess what 10 people are getting for Christmas this year? Oh and I got 10 Christmas bags for half price too. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sophia on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:00pm
I’m m pooped after this afternoons shopping!
As I’m going to a baby shower tomorrow … in Kmart I got the cutest little Jurassic park baby outfit with multiple layers of clothing and little cap from $30 down to $15! I was happy with that! Plus a few other bits and bobs. Gosh I could’ve kept shopping as there were amazing specials and in chemist warehouse 20% off store wide! Got my vitamin D3 and Zinc 20% off I even went into rebel store after doing gym for the cutest gym pants for 30% off! And into JBHIFI for new sennheiser ear phones/buds I actually needed but wasn’t on special… dang that! |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by AusGeoff on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:06pm
This Black Friday sales event here in Australia is nothing more than
cynical corporatists ripping people off using yet another offensive American custom. And yes, it is offensive to those children—now adults—whose parents perished in 1939's genuine Black Friday. Just like Valentine's Day and Halloween. How soon before we're forced to celebrate the fourth of July and Thanksgiving Day itself? The mind boggles. >:( |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:10pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 2:52pm:
A Stone that rolls by itself. :D |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:12pm
Do Aborigines get a better discount on Black Friday?
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:49pm Jasin wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:12pm:
Is VB ever in sale? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by The Grappler on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:51pm Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:58pm:
At Winter's end I got me a stack of flanno shirts and trackie pants for next year.... and a heap of new socks. Nothing Black Friday for me. I don't need much. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:56pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:49pm:
Well I think to end racism. Aborigines should be able to get their VB for free on Black Friday. Think of it as a Thanks-giving. ;) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Belgarion on Nov 25th, 2022 at 7:31pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:46pm:
While I agree with you here, that's not what I meant greg. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by mothra on Nov 25th, 2022 at 7:47pm
Furious Pauline Hanson demands to know why there aren’t ‘White Friday’ sales
White supremacist and breakfast TV darling Pauline Hanson has today called for “Black Friday” to “All Fridays Matter” in order to allow everyone to enjoy the event. Opposition leader Peter Dutton had praised the move, stating “if people really want equality then surely there would be two holidays.. one for Black Friday and one for White Friday. Unless black is referring to the colour of one’s heart – in which case I’m fine with just Black Friday.” However, opponents have hit back claiming that White Friday would be redundant, as an international white themed holiday centred around rampant consumerism on the 25th already exists in the form of Christmas. Meanwhile a trial run of the White Friday sales has already proven a huge success, with discounts on sandals, Keith Urban CD’s and unseasoned chicken sending sales through the roof. https://chaser.com.au/world/furious-conservative-demands-to-know-why-there-arent-white-friday-sales/?fbclid=IwAR2ZxQex8ZPsctmiqfB6aqu0rt04UWO9LHYqJIl4xwGoI2uIH5EgnWGn7e4 |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Gordon on Nov 25th, 2022 at 7:57pm Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 5:58pm:
There's about 4 or 5 quality brand tshirts I buy, and I wait until they're on sale for $20 rather than $30 Tomorrow I'll do the tshirt demotion ceremony. The nice new ones I wear to work get hangers in premium closet space. The ones they replace get demoted to being folded on a shelf and are worn around the house, for gym or running. The ones they replace get demoted to gardening duty. The old gardening duty ones go to the charity rag collection bin. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Belgarion on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:17pm mothra wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 7:47pm:
You do realise that this is a piss take Mothra? ::) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by mothra on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:24pm Belgarion wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:17pm:
Yeah the fact that i subscribe to The Chaser kinda tipped me off. Did it offend you? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Frank on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:48pm
Loop
mothra wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:24pm:
It's a glimpse into the undergraduate mind like yours. A bunch of middle aged blowhards who never gone beyond their second year of Yarts/Politics/Journalism degree, developmentally and are milking it with an audience who is just like them - middle aged blowhards. None of the current kpcrop of kids have even heard of them. A bunch of aging, stunted Young Ones, Vyvyans and Ricks with a silent P. Sad. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by mothra on Nov 25th, 2022 at 9:02pm
Looks like it offended Frank.
Poor old boy. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Frank on Nov 25th, 2022 at 9:03pm mothra wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 9:02pm:
Laffing at you, Vyvyan. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 25th, 2022 at 9:12pm
This particular 'aspect' of Black Friday hadn't occurred to me until I saw this in today's The West Australian.
But, I shouldn't be surprised this would be happening in "The Land of the Long Weekend". At least 544,000 Australian workers had already called in sick today so they could go shopping (and have a 3 day weekend). ::) 20221125_190337.jpg (76 KB | 10
) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 25th, 2022 at 9:29pm
The amusing thing of course is that these 544,000 workers (at least) must have already advised their workplaces they were going to be "sick" today by yesterday (Thursday) at the latest or the story wouldn't have made it into today's paper.
Back in the "good old days" workers would only know they were sick and couldn't go to work when they woke up on the actual day and found they were sick. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sophia on Nov 25th, 2022 at 11:51pm mothra wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 7:47pm:
Forget black/white …. It should be RED Friday sales…. becoz all sale signs throughout any sale… is RED! Honestly… it’s enough to put most people in the RED after spending so much pre-Christmas! |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 26th, 2022 at 12:00am Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 11:51pm:
I'm happy to say I did my bit for the economy and spent a grand total of $62.12 today. $33.76 at Bunnings and $28.36 at IGA. And that's probably a lot more than I might spend on an average day - unless I'm filling the car with petrol, of course. :) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by aquascoot on Nov 26th, 2022 at 5:19am
shopping is about ego
it is about "what can i get, what can i own" as such it is an activity disconnected from source energy it will only lead you to the realm of the hungry ghosts. i virtually never do it. i'd rather go out for a ride with my missus and bird watch or try to find koala bears. by looking upwards we can elevate our mental state this is part of the narrow road to success. shoppers are unfortunately on the highway to chode purgatory. sometime i will go to a mall and look at the unthinking masses chowing down on krispy creme donuts and coca cola and use this as the emotional juice to continue the path. it is intersting how well one can acclimatise yesterday was probably 35 but managed 8 hours of hard physical yakka moving a round yard . emrace the adversity love it when its hard make love to the effort weakness and softness will demolsih your mental health when you get old and frail you will start wringing your hands and sweating bullets worrying about things like covid because you have trained your brain and your body to feel weak. why would you do that to yourself disconnection from nature and from the ying/yang would be a personal hell |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 26th, 2022 at 6:24am Sophia wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 11:51pm:
Good point Sophia. ;D |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 26th, 2022 at 6:29am
Considering the huge inflation spike since Lockdowns, for all consumers across many industries like Retail. Like a Coffee reaching $9.99 (apparently not $10) in Sydney.
The Black Friday 'Sale' must have enticed prices to Pre-Lockdown, but I doubt as much. In America - the Customer is Right (with Celebrities being the 'holy' ones) and the Workers need a Union. In Australia - the Worker is Right (with Union's making Workers the highest paid in the world) and the Customers need an entity to keep them from being ripped off. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 26th, 2022 at 1:46pm
Just came back from a bit of shopping at Belmont Forum.
I thought it was Groundhog Day for a while there, nearly every single shop was still advertising Black Friday sales in their windows. And, I'm sure it will feel like "Black Friday Groundhog Day" for the next week or two. ::) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Bobby. on Nov 26th, 2022 at 2:19pm
I don't understand this thread.
The next black Friday is the 13th of January 2023. Why are the sales now? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 26th, 2022 at 2:24pm
Hi, Bobby.
2 different Black Fridays being discussed in this thread. https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1669343208/9#9 The US 'consumerism' Black Friday we 'celebrated' yesterday should have been renamed by now (or scrapped altogether preferably). |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Bobby. on Nov 26th, 2022 at 3:13pm Carl D wrote on Nov 26th, 2022 at 2:24pm:
OK it's here: https://theconversation.com/why-australian-retailers-should-respect-the-past-and-rename-their-black-friday-sales-107015 thanks. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Mattyfisk on Nov 26th, 2022 at 4:51pm Gordon wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 3:40pm:
Going on holidays, eh? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Mattyfisk on Nov 26th, 2022 at 4:55pm Frank wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 8:48pm:
Ooh-er. download_012.jpeg (9 KB | 28
) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Mattyfisk on Nov 26th, 2022 at 5:09pm aquascoot wrote on Nov 26th, 2022 at 5:19am:
Looking up extends the neck muscles, dear. The Superior Man tries to keep his head in that position and walks around with his hands behind his back, inspecting things. Good, good - oh, that might need a dust, we'll have to get a chode in. It's a very narrow road indeed. It takes practice. Gold toilets are much easier. You can see how the more vulgar chodes would fall for them. Much easier on the neck, no? |
Title: Matty's Monologues Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 27th, 2022 at 10:50am
Enjoy!
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 27th, 2022 at 7:38pm AusGeoff wrote on Nov 25th, 2022 at 6:06pm:
I don't find black friday sale offensive it's only offensive to leftist bedwetting snowflakes. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 28th, 2022 at 9:10am
Seems Aqua the Superior Alpha Male has had an impact on our beloved Pakistani-Australian queen Karnal. She's starting to 'replicate' him. ;D Onya Karnal (Khunt, Mattyfisk) - getting the bed wet are we? :D
Apparently the Cheer Mob are moving towards banning 'Black' Friday altogether from the Australian Retail scene as they find it racist and upsetting. Well, if they can change the name of Cheese, who knows what they are capable of? Come a long way since inventing a stick (that you can make music from). |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sophia on Nov 28th, 2022 at 10:01am Jasin wrote on Nov 28th, 2022 at 9:10am:
I’m surprised it was taken into consideration earlier to remove or change it. Maybe pick another colour… like I mentioned earlier “Red” Next “white xmas” will be on the hit list :-? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Nov 28th, 2022 at 9:49pm
Still getting swamped with "Black Friday" ads in today's paper and on free to air TV tonight.
Some of them are saying "Ends Tuesday" but I wouldn't bet on it. ::) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 29th, 2022 at 6:41am Sophia wrote on Nov 28th, 2022 at 10:01am:
You're right you know Soph. Before you know it - it will soon be the case of just Christmas. No more 'white' racism in Xmas. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Mattyfisk on Nov 29th, 2022 at 7:09am Jasin wrote on Nov 29th, 2022 at 6:41am:
No more happy holidays, JaSin, it's Merry Christmas now, thanks to Mr Trump. https://nypost.com/2021/12/17/donald-trump-claims-people-say-merry-christmas-thanks-to-him/ Suck on that, leftards. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by mothra on Nov 29th, 2022 at 8:34am Dirty Paki Khunt wrote on Nov 29th, 2022 at 7:09am:
And still people take him seriously. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by The Heartless Felon on Nov 29th, 2022 at 8:46am Sophia wrote on Nov 28th, 2022 at 10:01am:
Red Injuns? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sophia on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:28am The Heartless Felon wrote on Nov 29th, 2022 at 8:46am:
That may not be so much an issue in Oz as in USA? Here’s another sales specialty we just had yesterday…Cyber Monday! |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Dnarever on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:47am
I was going to get a few t's I wanted but when I checked the normal deal price was replaced by the Black Friday special, it actually cost more. 2 for $50 normal deal removed was going to cost almost $60 with 30% off.
Also looking for a specific X'Mas present (expensive) but there wasn't a good deal for the product. Got a pair of $50 shorts and a $20 belt, I had a $10 discount voucher + the Black Fri 30% off came to about $35. Happy with that. Also got 3 A5 sketch books @ $15 discount for Xmas Presents - just fillers for teenagers. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:25pm
Bah Humbug!
I gave up buying people 'presents' for Christmas long ago and I certainly got sick of people wasting their money on me buying stuff I never wanted or need. I think people are relieved that they didn't get stuff from me too. Reckon all adults would need a shipping container to keep all the 'crap' they got for Christmas from Relos and Friends each Christmas since they became an Adult at 20 years of age. I mean, one year I bought everyone a Bible and so many thought I was being 'cheap'. ::) Sure, 'buying' at the BIG XMAS SALE for the kiddies is ok I guess. But for adults? Gee HTFU ! ::) I think I disowned those adults who had a whinge they didn't get a Xmas present off me... not even Lottery Tickets. "Bah Humbug!" I say in the checkouts and many a response from shoppers comes back with "Bah Humbugs!" too. ;D |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Dnarever on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:48pm Jasin wrote on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:25pm:
Of Course you did. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:52pm Dnarever wrote on Nov 29th, 2022 at 9:48pm:
You damn right I did. Do you cry :'( Dnarever if you don't get a Christmas present? Do you also make kids spend their money buying you a present? |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 29th, 2022 at 10:34pm
I don't get the reference to Friday. The sale is on every day.
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Nov 29th, 2022 at 10:39pm
In the most over-priced country in the world.
Every day is a Sucker Sale Day! DON'T BUY AUSTRALIAN. EMOTIONAL PATRIOTIC BLACKMAIL IS A RIP-OFF. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Dec 1st, 2022 at 8:33pm
Still seeing the occasional "Black Friday" sale ad on free to air TV this evening. ::)
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Sophia on Dec 1st, 2022 at 11:32pm
Before it ends… I know what I want. I’m buying a fishing rod now! Going into BCF tomorrow after morning gym session. My son just bought a boat and I’ve informed him I hope to catch some fish!
I don’t need to pay for a fishing licence in Victoria as I have a seniors card :) Sometimes being older has its blessings! I’ve got stored in the shed somewhere my dad’s old fishing rods… I used to go boating/fishing way back then. My joke was “Knock knock” “Who’s there?” “Euroa” “Euroa who?” “You rowa the boat, and I catcha the fish!” :) PS. I just watched a megalodon movie tonight “The Meg” Was just as scary as Jaws! I’m hoping I catch flatheads. Then clean it up and cook with beer batter. Stay tuned for fishing stories of Port Phillip Bay 8-) |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Dec 2nd, 2022 at 7:30am
Here's how they shop on Black Friday in America
https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1669880835/0#12 |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Xavier on Dec 4th, 2022 at 9:02am
A guy in a kilt walks into an Australian Pub.
He is asked "which part of the world are you from?" He cries Racist because he was born in Canberra. Some people bait to feel the empowerment of being victimised. |
Title: Re: Black Friday Post by Carl D on Dec 4th, 2022 at 9:09am
On TV last night... from several advertisers at every commercial break.
"Black Friday sales continue" (until Tuesday, apparently). I am so over all this BS. ::) |