Member Run Boards >> Coronavirus >> Cruise Ship Docks With 800 Positive Covid-19 Cases
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1668205778

Message started by whiteknight on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:29am

Title: Cruise Ship Docks With 800 Positive Covid-19 Cases
Post by whiteknight on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:29am
Majestic Princess cruise ship docks with 800 positive Covid cases onboard
A huge cruise ship with hundreds of positive cases on-board is set to disembark in Sydney early this morning.   :o

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

A cruise ship with around 800 cases of Covid-19 on board has docked in Sydney this morning just as the state declares a fourth wave of the virus.

The Majestic Princess pulled into Sydney’s international cruise ship passenger terminal at Circular Quay at around 6am on Saturday.

Video posted to social media captured the moment it pulled into the harbour with passengers clinging to their balcony.

Almost one in four guests on board have now been diagnosed with Covid-19 after a 12-day trip around New Zealand.

The Majestic Princess cruise ship has been hit by an outbreak of Covid-19.

There are 800 passengers on-board with COVID-19.

Ambulance crews were standing by at the overseas passenger terminal as people prepared to disembark the ship.

A Princess Cruises spokesperson confirmed the outbreak and said positive cases were isolating in their rooms this morning.

“These guests are mildly symptomatic or asymptomatic and are isolating in their staterooms. All unimpacted guests are wearing masks and this will continue when they disembark in Sydney on 12 November,” the spokesperson said in a statement.

“Reflective of the increase in community transmission, we too have seen more guests test positive for Covid-19 on the current voyage of Majestic Princess.”

The outbreak is the single biggest case of cruise ship infections in Australia since the Ruby Princess docked in 2020.

There were 900 covid cases on board that ship and 28 people died during the subsequent outbreak.   :(

NSW Health is liaising with the cruise operator in the wake of the outbreak to “monitor the health of its passengers and crew members”.

“NSW Health’s assessment is that the Covid-19 risk level for the Majestic Princess is now Tier 3, which indicates a high level of transmission,” a spokesman said in a statement.   :(

Private transport has been arranged for guests who have tested positive to travel to isolation.

There are a total of 4600 people on board including 1300 crew. 

“Carnival has advised NSW Health that passengers disembarking from the ship have undertaken a rapid antigen test in the 24 hours leading up to disembarkation,” a NSW Health spokesman said.

“Carnival has advised NSW Health that they are assisting passengers with Covid-19 to make safe onward travel arrangements.”

It comes as a fourth wave of Covid has been declared in most eastern states.
Ambulance crews were waiting for passengers to disembark.

The outbreak comes as its announced that NSW has entered a fourth wave of Covid-19, with chief health officer Dr Kerry Chant saying that current omicron variants circulating in the community are able to escape immunity.

“The wave is taking off with some trajectory, it will be quite a steep wave and hopefully the decline will be equally as steep,” she told ABC.

It is the latest in a string of cruise ship Covid outbreaks after the infamous Ruby Princess in 2020.   :(

“That’s why it’s important the community takes these protective measures now and I can’t stress the urgency — if you’re going to get vaccinated do it immediately.”

Title: Re: Cruise Ship Docks With 800 Positive Covid-19 Cases
Post by Bobby. on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:36am
Thanks sir Crook,
the link is here:

https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/health-safety/covid-outbreak-looms-on-majestic-princess-cruise-ship/news-story/86df1216b4b4909129d90d3c627be693

This thread should be in the Coronavirus area.

Cruise ships are incubators for disease.

Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:49am

whiteknight wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:29am:
A huge cruise ship with hundreds of positive cases on-board is set to disembark in Sydney early this morning.   :o

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

A cruise ship with around 800 cases of Covid-19 on board has docked in Sydney this morning just as the state declares a fourth wave of the virus.

Almost one in four guests on board have now been diagnosed with Covid-19

The headline should be 800 fully vaccinated people catch covid on cruise ship.

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:54am
NSW Health (and their State government and the rest of the State governments plus the Federal government) are hopefully going to find themselves in a whole new world of hurt very soon.

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1667996428/22#22

"Sadly, COVID-19 itself has been associated with an increase in out of hospital cardiac arrest and sudden deaths in young people" - NSW Health.

And now...

“That’s why it’s important the community takes these protective measures now and I can’t stress the urgency — if you’re going to get vaccinated do it immediately.”

Still sticking with the failed "vaccines only then let it rip" approach, I see. Nothing about masks, of course.

As I've said before - no wonder people don't have a clue what to do anymore, on one hand they're being told "get vaccinated" and on the other they're being told "the pandemic is over".

"Oh what a tangled web we weave..." should be emailed and/or texted to every single stupid politician in Australia.

Post by The Grappler on Nov 12th, 2022 at 9:04am
Well - there go the property values again...

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 9:09am
Oh, here's a mention of masks.

Cruise ship with hundreds of COVID-positive passengers docks in Sydney

Edit: lol... they've changed the headline (and some of the content) since I posted - it now reads Hundreds of COVID-positive cruise passengers told not to take public transport

Yeah, I'm sure they will take notice of that too.

Princess Cruises Asia Pacific, UK and Europe senior vice president Stuart Allison said all guests had undertaken a rapid antigen test in the past 24 hours, which determined how they would disembark.

In a statement, released shortly before midnight (AEDT), Allison said all guests would be masked regardless of their COVID-19 status, the guests who had tested positive would be separated from “non-impacted guests” during disembarkation, and they had the support of the onboard medical team.

“We are working with all guests who have tested positive to COVID-19 to assist them with accessing private transport and accommodation to continue isolation when they disembark in Sydney on 12 November,” he said.

And what's the bet the masks will come off as soon as those tested positive leave the dock in their "private transport"?

In fact, I'm sure every single passenger (positive or not) won't be wearing a mask within 10 minutes of leaving the dock.

I'm also betting the positive ones won't be isolating either and no one will be enforcing it even if some of them did.

What a sh*tshow.

By the way... RAT's are still notoriously unreliable (probably because they haven't been updated for the latest variants). I was just reading about someone who had 4 negative RAT's followed by a positive PCR .

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:16am
And... in keeping with our fine new Covid tradition of not learning anything from mistakes (or just ignoring them)...

"When disembarkation takes place the cruise ship will then be disinfected and will take on new passengers before shipping out later today"

Hope they're stocking up on hand sanitiser because I'm sure that will be a big help.  ::)

Wouldn't it be funny if all of these "new passengers" decided not to turn up for their cruise after seeing what's happened so far?

But, I doubt that will happen, some peoples' holidays seem to be more important than worrying about their health (and the health of others).
FhUeEHwaYAAcaIJ.png (83 KB | 27 )

Post by The Grappler on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:26am

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:16am:
And... in keeping with our fine new Covid tradition of not learning anything from mistakes (or just ignoring them)...

"When disembarkation takes place the cruise ship will then be disinfected and will take on new passengers before shipping out later today"

Hope they're stocking up on hand sanitiser because I'm sure that will be a big help.  ::)

Wouldn't it be funny if all of these "new passengers" decided not to turn up for their cruise after seeing what's happened so far?

But, I doubt that will happen, some peoples' holidays seem to be more important than worrying about their health (and the health of others).

Don't forget to include those who stuff it up in the New Years Honours List and give 'em a medal.

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:31am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:26am:
Don't forget to include those who stuff it up in the New Years Honours List and give 'em a medal.

Might be a few contenders in there for the Darwin Awards as well.

Post by The Grappler on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:36am

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:31am:

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:26am:

Might be a few contenders in there for the Darwin Awards as well.

The Darwin For Other People Awards .... you don't really believe that heroine chief medical officer actually got her hands into the Covid bugs, do you?  It's an office job for someone useless.  As for organising and handling the outbreaks - that was a disaster from dock to shock figures of deaths ...

Strike another medal!!

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:42am

Sir Grappler Truth Teller OAM wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:36am:
The Darwin For Other People Awards .... you don't really believe that heroine chief medical officer actually got her hands into the Covid bugs, do you?  It's an office job for someone useless.  As for organising and handling the outbreaks - that was a disaster from dock to shock figures of deaths ...

Strike another medal!!

Ah, sorry Grap. I thought you were talking about the passengers.

Medals... yes... like they gave to some of the death and disease merchants in the UK a while back. The more death and disease they cause, the more medals they get.

Saving money on age pensions and the health system by "burning off the dry tinder" like our pollies are doing here right now.

Appalling stuff.

Title: Re: Cruise Ship Docks With 800 people with a mild cold
Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:58am
AhhhhChooo

Title: 800 vaccinated passengers-->800 Covid19 cases
Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:17am

Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:49am:

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

👆 Anyone who supports vaccines want to have a go at this FACT?

Meantime I'm totally unvaccinated and I've yet to experience Covid19 personally.

Oh and I've had to take care of a triple jabbed Covid19 positive husband THREE times!

My HONEST opinion?

• The vaccines to date were rushed through are were not fit for purpose.

• The multiple jabs required to maintain vaccine passport currency is destroying people's natural immunity.

• The cumulative effect of the above 2 factors --> Covid19 numbers will continue to escalate and will slowly but surely totally destroy global human population levels. Only the fittest will survive.

Title: Cruising = yuck
Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:43am
Fatties and drunks lining up for slops and swimming in piss filled pools.

Our next holiday is a private villa with a pool and private catering.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:57am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:36am:
Thanks sir Crook,
the link is here:

https://www.news.com.au/travel/travel-updates/health-safety/covid-outbreak-looms-on-majestic-princess-cruise-ship/news-story/86df1216b4b4909129d90d3c627be693

And fat old people looking for a root?

Title: Re: Cruising = yuck
Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:23pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:43am:

Methra and Groggy and Drunk??

Post by issuevoter on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:36pm
Leagues club on a barge.

Title: My worst nightmare is a cruise
Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:45pm
https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSRGvrADX/

Title: Re: My worst nightmare is a cruise
Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:58pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:45pm:
https://vt.tiktok.com/ZSRGvrADX/

Groggy and Methra's idea of Nirvana 😂😂😂

Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:01pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:57am:

Thanks sir Crook,
the link is here:

Thank you for taking time out of your busy troll schedule today to mention yourself and your go to activity...but we didn't really need to know all that. 😐

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:08pm
Can't argue with this:

https://mobile.twitter.com/amapresident/status/1591196168025178112

AMA President
@amapresident
Here's a prediction I'm going to put money behind.

If the major public hospitals on the east coast aren't overwhelmed with patients and facing staff shortages over the holiday break - I'll donate $1000 to charity.

Don't forget to read the replies.

Title: Yuck
Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:10pm
I drove over the cahill this morning and saw it.

Some of the best cruises ships look pretty cool but the budget ones like this look like a Meriton apartment from Parramatta layed on its side on a hull.

Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:12pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:08pm:
Can't argue with this:

AMA President
@amapresident

If the major public hospitals on the east coast aren't overwhelmed with patients and facing staff shortages over the holiday break - I'll donate $1000 to charity.

👇 Here's a reply
9A8AE415-8D91-4D47-B167-B60CB5C12830.jpeg (165 KB | 11 )

Title: Re: 800 vaccinated passengers-->800 Covid19 cases
Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:14pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:17am:

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

Meantime I'm totally unvaccinated and I've yet to experience Covid19 personally.

Oh and I've had to take care of a triple jabbed Covid19 positive husband THREE times!

My HONEST opinion?

• The vaccines to date were rushed through and were not fit for purpose.

• The multiple jabs required to maintain vaccine passport currency is destroying people's natural immunity.

• The cumulative effect of the above 2 factors --> Covid19 numbers will continue to escalate and will slowly but surely totally destroy global human population levels. Only the fittest will survive.

Anyone care/dare to take issue with the above? Don't be afraid. I won't bite you.

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:18pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:12pm:

Can't argue with this:

AMA President
@amapresident

👇 Here's a reply

Oh, that must be another (parody) account belonging to this guy:

https://twitter.com/DrDeathCHO

Dr Death Chief Infection Officer

Wonder if he's going to get one of Elon's $8 (US) a month blue ticks?

Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:22pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:18pm:

Can't argue with this:

AMA President
@amapresident

👇 Here's a reply

Oh, that must be another account belonging to this guy:

https://twitter.com/DrDeathCHO

Dr Death Chief Infection Officer

Wonder if he's going to get one of Elon's $8 (US) a month blue ticks?

Hang on...which is the fake account?

Surely it's the Dr Death one. As if you'd practise medicine under the name Dr Death 😳

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:23pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:22pm:
Hang on...which is the fake account?

Surely it's the Dr Death one. 😳

Hehe... both of them, actually.

Post by Sophia on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:24pm

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

Oh oops… did they omit that?  ::)

Tsk tsk tsk

I did hear it was a mild form of covid.

I’m happy to avoid cruising for at least until 2024…. I’ve been getting all these cruise specials in the mail and tempting as try are… I rip it up and bin it.

And when we do go back to going on a cruise… we’ll be getting a statesroom with balcony for sure! Open the door to fresh air.

I hope all those 800 passengers will recover quickly and get on with life as usual.

Title: Re: Cruise Ship Docks With 800 drunk bogans
Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:28pm
;)

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:31pm
I can't find the reply shown in your screenshot Lisa but one of the posts has been deleted... might have been that one?

This looks like the parody account:

https://mobile.twitter.com/DrJGerrardCHO

Oh, wait... there it is:

https://mobile.twitter.com/DrJGerrardCHO/status/1591153020288794625

I don't think Queensland CHO John Gerrard has a Twitter account - at least I can't find (a real) one for him.

No wonder Twitter is such a mess... a funny mess, but still a mess.

Title: Re: Yuck
Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:35pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:10pm:

Some of the best cruises ships look pretty cool but the budget ones like this look like a Meriton apartment from Parramatta layed on its side on a hull.

If you're quick you can get on board today for an eight day cruise to Tasmania for only $360.

You only have about 25 minutes before it leaves so you'd better hurry!  :)

FhUjuypaYAAyxzz.jpg (90 KB | 9 )

Post by Lisa Jones on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:40pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:31pm:
I can't find the reply shown in your screenshot Lisa but one of the posts has been deleted... might have been that one?

This looks like the parody account:

Oh, wait... there it is:

https://mobile.twitter.com/DrJGerrardCHO/status/1591153020288794625

I don't think Queensland CHO John Gerrard has a Twitter account - at least I can't find (a real) one for him.

No wonder Twitter is such a mess... a funny mess, but still a mess.

Probably why our resident Drunk feels quite at home on Twitter with all his deranged droppings messing up the place even more  :D :D

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:41pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:35pm:

If you're quick you can get on board today for an eight day cruise to Tasmania for only $360.

They pay you $360?

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:44pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:41pm:
They pay you $360?

Someone said on Twitter earlier that they wouldn't get on that ship even if Princess Cruises paid them $360,000

Post by Gordon on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:51pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:35pm:

What website is that from?

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:52pm
Since all the passengers infected with Covid have supposedly left the ship and all new passengers for the next part of the cruise are supposed to be tested (with unreliable RAT's, of course) what about the infected crew members?

Were they also taken off the ship in Sydney and replaced with new (hopefully) non infected crew or are they still on board?

And, I wonder if the "disinfecting" of the ship while in Sydney included all of the air conditioning and other ducting?

"We'll wipe all the tables, etc. and spray a bit of Glen 20 around and she'll be right!"  :D

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:54pm

Gordon wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 2:51pm:
What website is that from?

I took it from here:

https://twitter.com/YouAreLobbyLud/status/1591217478344278017

Post by Katie Rose on Nov 12th, 2022 at 7:40pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:23pm:

Who is drunk Lisa- I'm missing out here?

Post by The Grappler on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:19pm

Agnes. wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 7:40pm:

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 12:23pm:

Who is drunk Lisa- I'm missing out here?

Methra thinks she's mothra sometimes ... groggy is greggy ..... and the Drunk?  Well - Jovial or what's 'is name..

All the ones with spiteful comments - greg's not that bad, but he has his moments in between making a statement by identifying as a woman in Christchurch.

Post by AusGeoff on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:32pm

The headline should be 800 fully vaccinated people catch COVID on cruise ship.

Can you give us a link where it's verified that all of these 800 people were
vaccinated?     Or are you just guessing in order to support your anti-vaxxer
stance?

Post by Carl D on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:24pm
Time for a little perspective here:

https://twitter.com/Zoso771/status/1591345121098084353

It is interesting that media has focused attention on 800 cases arriving by cruise ship in Sydney, whilst remaining mostly silent on COVID, esp that flows freely in on Qantas flying petri tubes from UK, Europe, US, Canada…. delivering an endless supply of new & worsening VOC’s.

Couldn't have put it better myself.

(VOC's are Variants Of Concern, by the way).

Title: 800 fully vaxxed people catch covid on cruise ship
Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 13th, 2022 at 9:36am

AusGeoff wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:32pm:

stance?

Can you define anti vaxxer or is it just a slur you hurl at anyone who has the audacity to question the narrative?

If someone is ok with vaccines yet they don't want this one are they anti vax?

If a Libertarian opposes vaccine mandates are they anti vax?

If someone rightly questions these vaccines instead of following the narrative are they anti vax?

Part of allowing cruise ships to continue was making vaccines mandatory did you miss that part which was reported in the news?

Current Health Protocols for Cruises Visiting Australia, New Zealand & South Pacific Countries

Vaccinations
Guests must have received their final dose of an authorized COVID-19 vaccine at least 14 days before the beginning of the cruise and provide acceptable proof at terminal check-in.

Testing
At terminal check-in guests must attest to a negative viral COVID-19 test (PCR or rapid antigen) taken before embarkation.

Original proof of vaccination should clearly show the guest’s name on the vaccination card or certificate, which matches their photo ID, the dates vaccine doses were given (final dose must have been received at least 14 days prior to the beginning of the cruise), and the name of the authorized vaccine. Alternative proof may be required if there are questions and concerns about the submitted proof of vaccination.

Failure to provide this evidence will result in denial of boarding.

https://www.princess.com/plan/cruise-with-confidence/cruise-health/frequently-asked-questions/au-cruises/

As the media report said 1 in 4 fully vaxxed people caught covid on this ship despite being vaccinated and providing negative test before boarding along with isolating those who then tested positive.

The vax nazis prefer to catch covid from vaxxed people over unvaxed.  ;)

ldc_006.jpg (22 KB | 8 )

Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:13am

AusGeoff wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 8:32pm:

stance?

I think it would be reasonable to expect most of the 800 are fully vaccinated.
Was the ship carrying Aussies?
Most Aussies are vaccinated

Post by Carl D on Nov 13th, 2022 at 11:19am
Yes, funny about that (not).

https://mobile.twitter.com/GourlaySyd/status/1591402651530702849
imports.jpg (69 KB | 6 )

Post by Gnads on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:19pm

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

My HONEST opinion?

Don't speak too soon. ::)

Post by Gnads on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:23pm

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

Which begs the question  .... so what?

From day dot there was never a claim that the vaccination would stop you catching or cure COVID.

all it indicates is that the majority of people are now vaccinated.  ::)

Post by Gnads on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 11:57am:

Thanks sir Crook,
the link is here:

You getting a bit toey Peccar? ;D

Post by Gnads on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:26pm

Can't argue with this:

AMA President
@amapresident

👇 Here's a reply

So you think the QLD Chief Health Officer would still be in a job if he said that?

I call BS on that meme.

Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 13th, 2022 at 2:47pm

A huge cruise ship with hundreds of positive cases on-board is set to disembark in Sydney early this morning. 

With this pandemic that's officially OVER, now escalating in case numbers higher than EVER in this "fourth wave" - the powers that be in NSW are thinking
NOTHING we can do can make things WORSE

After ALL, the Perrottet Liberal Government has probably thrown in the towel
at its chances in the NSW State Election

Newspoll: 54-46 to Labor in New South Wales

Six months out from the election, polls from Newspoll and Resolve Strategic find Labor opening up an election-winning lead in New South Wales

https://www.pollbludger.net/2022/09/24/newspoll-54-46-to-labor-in-new-south-wales/

Post by Carl D on Nov 13th, 2022 at 3:28pm
Read a funny (well, not really) story in today's The Sunday Times. Apparently, many of the passengers who boarded the Majestic Princess in Sydney yesterday didn't even know about the Covid outbreak on board until they arrived at the dock but that still didn't deter them from boarding.

Soon we'll be hearing stories like "It wasn't fair, I had to spend the entire cruise locked in a (windowless) cabin because I caught Covid on board".

Cry me a river... or an ocean in this case. ::)

Post by Carl D on Nov 13th, 2022 at 5:43pm

Gnads wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:26pm:
So you think the QLD Chief Health Officer would still be in a job if he said that?

I call BS on that meme.

https://mobile.twitter.com/Christian_AusGP/status/1591278783457562625

@qldhealth
@AnnastaciaMP
our CHO is being impersonated.
Suggest you a submit a report.
If you don’t know how I made a video to guide you.

And now, some of the replies...

Dale (parody, not impersonating other Dales)
@Dale13260598
·
Nov 12
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
His advice is far better than the “real” CHO’s as he’s not actively trying to kill people. For all we know he IS the real Dr Gerrard Tweeting from the basement he’s been locked in by his evil doppelgänger who’s been fronting press conferences in his place. So why do this bro?

Hoarder of old game stuff.
@PsychosisFuzz
·
Nov 12
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
John Gerrard is a parody of a doctor, who has betrayed the hippocratic oath.

This parody of John Gerrard is literally doing a better job of protecting public health.

If you have a problem with a person handing out sound medical advice, hand in your credentials.

zeet
@disillusioned93
·
3h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
But the imposter has better advice.

abdo man
@MesenteryMan
·
2h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
Parody Gerrard is 10x as sensible as the real one. I’d keep the former

Kat | ❤️🤍💙
@ThePomKat
·
2h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
My dude, you're on twitter. The parody is tweeting better health advice than the real QLD CHO

lol.  ;D ;D ;D

Mind you, he did add "obvious parody" since Lisa posted the screenshot yesterday.

Dr John Gerrard (obvious parody)

Edit: After reading further the person behind this account says she's a carer for her mother.

https://mobile.twitter.com/DrJGerrardCHO/status/1591698644994232323

My name is Jessica, and I’m a carer for my mum. She caught COVID while in a Queensland hospital earlier this year.  She was admitted to hospital for complications of her chemotherapy treatment.

Chemo isn’t an option for mum anymore, and our ability to access palliative care services is severely limited because of the uncontrolled spread of COVID.

It breaks my heart that her remaining time is spent locked in the house. I miss taking her to Bunnings for garden supplies.

I created this account out of sheer frustration and didn’t expect it to go anywhere. I expected to vent and shout into the void the things I wish our leaders would say. Kind of nice to pretend for a little bit, I guess.

Another tragic victim of our current Covid disaster.  :'(

Post by Dnarever on Nov 13th, 2022 at 6:05pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 12th, 2022 at 1:14pm:

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

My HONEST opinion?

• The vaccines to date were rushed through and were not fit for purpose.

Anyone care/dare to take issue with the above? Don't be afraid. I won't bite you.

I hope your luck continues.

Post by Dnarever on Nov 13th, 2022 at 6:58pm

Cruise Ship Docks With 800 Positive Covid-19 Cases

And we just let that loose in Sydney ?

Worst case - cancel xmas. Hope we get away with it.

Post by AusGeoff on Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:51pm

Back to mandatory masking and separation in public places?

Post by Sir lastnail on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:06pm

News.com.au
November 12, 2022

My HONEST opinion?

I got the convid according to the RAT test and got over it in 3 days without being vaccinated. I did not end up in ICU like they said I would and all of the symptoms such as loss of taste completely disappeared after 3 weeks and now I have natural immunity and have not got it again unlike others that are fully vaxed and have convid many times as it keeps coming back. That is a sign of a weakened immune system and the hypochondriacs on this forum that know better would get a vax for a headache or a hemorrhoid that's how pissweak they are.

Post by Sir lastnail on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:08pm

AusGeoff wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:51pm:

how does a paper mask stop a biological contamination ? That just shows how stupid you are.

Post by Carl D on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:19pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:08pm:
how does a paper mask stop a biological contamination ? That just shows how stupid you are.

Wear a proper mask like a K/KN95 or P2. Not cloth masks or surgical "baggy blues".

Sheesh... how many times does this need to be explained to you?  ::)

Post by Jovial Monk on Nov 14th, 2022 at 4:57am
Time to get out of the cities! Horrible things will be happening there soon.

Post by Gnads on Nov 14th, 2022 at 5:35am

Carl D wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 5:43pm:

Gnads wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:26pm:

I call BS on that meme.

https://mobile.twitter.com/Christian_AusGP/status/1591278783457562625

@qldhealth
@AnnastaciaMP
our CHO is being impersonated.
Suggest you a submit a report.
If you don’t know how I made a video to guide you.

And now, some of the replies...

[quote]Dale (parody, not impersonating other Dales)
@Dale13260598
·
Nov 12
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
His advice is far better than the “real” CHO’s as he’s not actively trying to kill people. For all we know he IS the real Dr Gerrard Tweeting from the basement he’s been locked in by his evil doppelgänger who’s been fronting press conferences in his place. So why do this bro?

Hoarder of old game stuff.
@PsychosisFuzz
·
Nov 12
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
John Gerrard is a parody of a doctor, who has betrayed the hippocratic oath.

This parody of John Gerrard is literally doing a better job of protecting public health.

If you have a problem with a person handing out sound medical advice, hand in your credentials.

zeet
@disillusioned93
·
3h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
But the imposter has better advice.

abdo man
@MesenteryMan
·
2h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
Parody Gerrard is 10x as sensible as the real one. I’d keep the former

Kat | ❤️🤍💙
@ThePomKat
·
2h
Replying to
@Christian_AusGP

@qldhealth
and
@AnnastaciaMP
My dude, you're on twitter. The parody is tweeting better health advice than the real QLD CHO

lol.  ;D ;D ;D

Mind you, he did add "obvious parody" since Lisa posted the screenshot yesterday.

Dr John Gerrard (obvious parody)

Edit: After reading further the person behind this account says she's a carer for her mother.

https://mobile.twitter.com/DrJGerrardCHO/status/1591698644994232323

My name is Jessica, and I’m a carer for my mum. She caught COVID while in a Queensland hospital earlier this year.  She was admitted to hospital for complications of her chemotherapy treatment.

Chemo isn’t an option for mum anymore, and our ability to access palliative care services is severely limited because of the uncontrolled spread of COVID.

It breaks my heart that her remaining time is spent locked in the house. I miss taking her to Bunnings for garden supplies.

I created this account out of sheer frustration and didn’t expect it to go anywhere. I expected to vent and shout into the void the things I wish our leaders would say. Kind of nice to pretend for a little bit, I guess.

Another tragic victim of our current Covid disaster.  :'([/quote]

She should be done for internet fraud.

Post by UnSubRocky on Nov 14th, 2022 at 5:46am

Jovial Monk wrote on Nov 14th, 2022 at 4:57am:
Time to get out of the cities! Horrible things will be happening there soon.

What? Like another lockdown?

Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 14th, 2022 at 7:29am

This is NSW it isn't Danistan so unlikely to have mandatory requirements that don't work so politicians can appear to be doing something

Post by Dnarever on Nov 14th, 2022 at 10:13am

Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 14th, 2022 at 7:29am:

This is NSW it isn't Danistan so unlikely to have mandatory requirements that don't work so politicians can appear to be doing something

I would happily swap Dan for the clown that we have in NSW.

Post by Carl D on Nov 14th, 2022 at 5:40pm

Dnarever wrote on Nov 14th, 2022 at 10:13am:
I would happily swap Dan for the clown that we have in NSW.

From what the latest polls are suggesting it looks like that NSW clown (and the Liberals) will be gone after the State election next March.

And about time.

Hopefully, they won't just be replaced with the Labor clowns and we see a big swing towards the Independents and Greens (mainly Independents) like we saw the start of in the Federal election last May.

The Victorian election coming up on November 26th will be interesting to say the least.

Post by AusGeoff on Nov 15th, 2022 at 1:17am

Sir lastnail wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 10:06pm:
I got the COVID according to the RAT test and got over it in 3 days without being vaccinated.

Which means that your immune system coped adequately with the infection.
BUT, you should then have attended a clinic for polymerase chain reaction
(PCR) testing to confirm the RAT result.  RATs only have a a clinical sensitivity
of around 80%, so you may well have not been infected.

I did not end up in ICU like they said I would...

LOL, nobody said you'd end up in ICU as a matter of course.  Very few people
end up in intensive care—a minuscule number of those infected in fact.

...and all of the symptoms such as loss of taste completely disappeared after 3 weeks and now I have natural immunity and have not got it again unlike others that are fully vaxxed and have COVID many times as it keeps coming back.

Nope.  You do not have "natural immunity" to the COVID virus. Our immune
systems can be compromised, and respond differently or not at all to a fresh
assault by a viral loading.  The fact that you've (allegedly) contracted COVID
gives you no more immunity than anybody else.

A recently published study out of the Yale School of Public Health and
University of North Carolina has found strong protection following natural
infection is short-lived.  According to the research, reinfection by COVID
under endemic conditions would likely occur between three months and
5.1 years after the "peak antibody response", with a median of 16 months.
And in some cases, that time could be even further reduced, the paper’s
lead author Professor Jeffrey Townsend said.  "Reinfection can reasonably
happen in three months or less", he said.

At any rate, Sir Lastnail has failed to see the logic in vaccination.  I've had all
my four doses, and have not contracted COVID in a nearly three-year period,
whereas Sir Lastnail—who hasn't been vaccinated—did (allegedly) contract
the virus.  And suffered symptoms for three weeks.  And put himself at risk
of ending up in hospital on oxygen.

His health symptoms may well have only been influenza, as both viruses can
produce identical symptoms.

Common symptoms that COVID and flu share include:

Fever or feeling feverish/having chills.
    Cough.

Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing.
    Fatigue (tiredness)

Sore throat.
    Runny or stuffy nose.

Muscle pain or body aches.
    Headache.

Post by Carl D on Nov 18th, 2022 at 1:25pm
Better late than never, I guess?

P&O Cruises Australia, Princess Cruises, Carnival Cruise Line reintroduce masks for passengers onboard

Every cruise ship operating in Australia owned by Carnival Corporation will now require passengers to wear masks indoors amid concerns over the nation's fourth COVID-19 wave.
Earlier 9news.com.au reported that Carnival Cruises had reintroduced mandatory mask wearing. It can now be confirmed that entire fleet owned by the company will implement the measures.
Months after the mandate was scrapped for guests, cruise management said that "out of an abundance of caution" the health measure would return to "adapt to the evolving public health situation".
Carnival Corporation brands include: P&O Cruises Australia, Princess Cruises, Carnival Cruise Line, Cunard, Holland America Line, Seabourn and P&O Cruises World Cruising.

Good to see but I wonder how long this "abundance of caution" will last? A month? 6 months?

The next thing we need is for mandatory masks to return on planes (international and domestic flights), airports and public transport. Won't be holding my breath waiting for that, of course.

(Maybe Alan Joyce could use some of his 4 million dollar bonus to buy some high quality masks for his employees and passengers?)

Post by Carl D on Nov 18th, 2022 at 3:24pm
And no wonder the cruise ship industry is now panicking and bringing back masks.

Two Hundred Passengers Infected With COVID-19 Disembark in Melbourne, Australia

7NEWS Australia reports today that 200 passengers infected with COVID-19 disembarked from the Grand Princess in Melbourne, Australia after the Princess cruise ship completed a thirteen-day around-trip to New Zealand. There are no public accounts of the number of infected crew members.

7News Australia reports on its Facebook page that “200 COVID positive patients have been allowed to come ashore in Melbourne after they were caught up in a cruise ship nightmare. Some had been stuck in tiny cabins with limited supplies for up to eight days before they were allowed to disembark.”

With Australia recently opening up for cruises, there has been a spate of COVID19 outbreaks on cruises calling on Australian ports:

Majestic Princess – 800 infected guests (Sydney); 

Quantum of the Seas – 400 infected guests (heading toward Queensland)

Coral Princess – 290 infected guests and crew (Fremantle);

Ovation of the Seas – 129 infected guests and 2 crew member (New Zealand)

Majestic Princess – 116 infected guests (Tahiti).

On just three Princess cruise ships (Grand Princess, Majestic Princess and Coral Princess), there have been a total of over 1,400 passengers infected with COVID-19. Although a Princess Cruise spokesperson said that the COVID-positive cases onboard are either “asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic,” the truth of the matter is that “in a well-rehearsed routine, ambulances ferried the sickest to hospitals and the others were told to go home and isolate.”

I have to scratch my head and wonder what exactly were they expecting to happen after the removal of mandatory masks on cruise ships just a few months ago and the pandemic still in 'full swing'?

And, the more cynical amongst us (myself included) are probably thinking the return of mandatory masks on cruise ships has more to do with the companies being more concerned about losing money due to cancellations than they are about peoples' health.

But, regardless of the reason at least the outcome (the return of mandatory masks) is a step back in the right direction for now.

*** And, as well as mandatory masks, mandatory vaccination has also been reintroduced for cruise ship passengers ***

Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 18th, 2022 at 5:40pm

Carl D wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 3:24pm:
And no wonder the cruise ship industry is now panicking and bringing back masks.

Two Hundred Passengers Infected With COVID-19 Disembark in Melbourne, Australia

7NEWS Australia reports today that 200 passengers infected with COVID-19 disembarked from the Grand Princess in Melbourne, Australia after the Princess cruise ship completed a thirteen-day around-trip to New Zealand. There are no public accounts of the number of infected crew members.

[quote]7News Australia reports on its Facebook page that “200 COVID positive patients have been allowed to come ashore in Melbourne after they were caught up in a cruise ship nightmare. Some had been stuck in tiny cabins with limited supplies for up to eight days before they were allowed to disembark.”

With Australia recently opening up for cruises, there has been a spate of COVID19 outbreaks on cruises calling on Australian ports:

Majestic Princess – 800 infected guests (Sydney); 

Quantum of the Seas – 400 infected guests (heading toward Queensland)

Coral Princess – 290 infected guests and crew (Fremantle);

Ovation of the Seas – 129 infected guests and 2 crew member (New Zealand)

Majestic Princess – 116 infected guests (Tahiti).

On just three Princess cruise ships (Grand Princess, Majestic Princess and Coral Princess), there have been a total of over 1,400 passengers infected with COVID-19. Although a Princess Cruise spokesperson said that the COVID-positive cases onboard are either “asymptomatic or mildly symptomatic,” the truth of the matter is that “in a well-rehearsed routine, ambulances ferried the sickest to hospitals and the others were told to go home and isolate.”

I have to scratch my head and wonder what exactly were they expecting to happen after the removal of mandatory masks on cruise ships just a few months ago and the pandemic still in 'full swing'?

And, the more cynical amongst us (myself included) are probably thinking the return of mandatory masks on cruise ships has more to do with the companies being more concerned about losing money due to cancellations than they are about peoples' health.

But, regardless of the reason at least the outcome (the return of mandatory masks) is a step back in the right direction for now.

[/quote]

I am quite with you.
We avoid crowds, we wear masks where we see fit.

There is NO WAY I'ld go on a cruise.
Even if I won it and was paid to go there.

masks might or might not 'stop' covid.
It'ld be stupid to not wear one when appropriate though

Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 18th, 2022 at 5:44pm

AusGeoff wrote on Nov 15th, 2022 at 1:17am:

I got the COVID according to the RAT test and got over it in 3 days without being vaccinated.

Which means that your immune system coped adequately with the infection.
BUT, you should then have attended a clinic for polymerase chain reaction
(PCR) testing to confirm the RAT result.  RATs only have a a clinical sensitivity
of around 80%, so you may well have not been infected.

I did not end up in ICU like they said I would...

LOL, nobody said you'd end up in ICU as a matter of course.  Very few people
end up in intensive care—a minuscule number of those infected in fact.

...and all of the symptoms such as loss of taste completely disappeared after 3 weeks and now I have natural immunity and have not got it again unlike others that are fully vaxxed and have COVID many times as it keeps coming back.

Nope.  You do not have "natural immunity" to the COVID virus. Our immune
systems can be compromised, and respond differently or not at all to a fresh
assault by a viral loading.  The fact that you've (allegedly) contracted COVID
gives you no more immunity than anybody else.

A recently published study out of the Yale School of Public Health and
University of North Carolina has found strong protection following natural
infection is short-lived.  According to the research, reinfection by COVID
under endemic conditions would likely occur between three months and
5.1 years after the "peak antibody response", with a median of 16 months.
And in some cases, that time could be even further reduced, the paper’s
lead author Professor Jeffrey Townsend said.  "Reinfection can reasonably
happen in three months or less", he said.

At any rate, Sir Lastnail has failed to see the logic in vaccination.  I've had all
my four doses, and have not contracted COVID in a nearly three-year period,
whereas Sir Lastnail—who hasn't been vaccinated—did (allegedly) contract
the virus.  And suffered symptoms for three weeks.  And put himself at risk
of ending up in hospital on oxygen.

His health symptoms may well have only been influenza, as both viruses can
produce identical symptoms.

Common symptoms that COVID and flu share include:

Fever or feeling feverish/having chills.
    Cough.

Shortness of breath or difficulty breathing.
    Fatigue (tiredness)

Sore throat.
    Runny or stuffy nose.

Muscle pain or body aches.
    Headache.

Interesting, I also have had all 4 vaccinations, was sick after every single one. I did not want my 3rd vaccination and was resigned to being ill for my 4th.
I wear a mask and wash my hands.
Use public transport for over 2 hours every day.

Have not had covid.

Post by Carl D on Nov 26th, 2022 at 11:29pm
Let me guess - "no one could have foreseen this" (even after mandatory masks and vaccination was reinstated for cruises).

Cruise turns back to Australia, abandons Bali leg after COVID outbreak

Indonesian authorities have requested that an Australian cruise ship carrying about 2100 passengers and crew abandon the Balinese leg of its 17-day tour, following a COVID-19 outbreak on board.

The Queen Elizabeth left Sydney on November 15, stopping at Airlie Beach, Cairns, Port Douglas and Darwin, but will cut short the final week of its tour and head straight to Fremantle.

So, what happens when it arrives in Fremantle? Will almost everyone be allowed to get off the ship provided they test negative with almost useless RAT's?

Send it straight back to Sydney and let Dom deal with it is my suggestion.

A spokeswoman for Cunard, owner of the ship, confirmed there was “an elevated level of transmission” on board, but declined to provide case numbers.

Of course. Because I'm sure it's LOTS OF CASES.

The WA Department of Health was contacted for comment.

Don't hold your breath but If they do bother to reply they will probably say something like "we are following the health advice". Oh, wait - they're the ones who are supposed to be providing the health advice.

Never mind, perhaps we should ask a few coffee shop owners to comment instead?  ::)

Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 27th, 2022 at 12:02am

Carl D wrote on Nov 26th, 2022 at 11:29pm:
Let me guess - "no one could have foreseen this" (even after mandatory masks and vaccination was reinstated for cruises).

Cruise turns back to Australia, abandons Bali leg after COVID outbreak

Indonesian authorities have requested that an Australian cruise ship carrying about 2100 passengers and crew abandon the Balinese leg of its 17-day tour, following a COVID-19 outbreak on board.

The Queen Elizabeth left Sydney on November 15, stopping at Airlie Beach, Cairns, Port Douglas and Darwin, but will cut short the final week of its tour and head straight to Fremantle.

So, what happens when it arrives in Fremantle? Will almost everyone be allowed to get off the ship provided they test negative with almost useless RAT's?

Send it straight back to Sydney and let Dom deal with it is my suggestion.

[quote]A spokeswoman for Cunard, owner of the ship, confirmed there was “an elevated level of transmission” on board, but declined to provide case numbers.

Of course. Because I'm sure it's LOTS OF CASES.

The WA Department of Health was contacted for comment.

Don't hold your breath but If they do bother to reply they will probably say something like "we are following the health advice". Oh, wait - they're the ones who are supposed to be providing the health advice.

Never mind, perhaps we should ask a few coffee shop owners to comment instead?  ::)[/quote]

It is a bad scenario.

Most people I know would not go on a cruise prior to this anyway.
Then, there is the ........ reasonable side that says, we have to start living at some stage. I agree to this.

With the previous regulations, we have held it at bay.
Our vaccinations have helped us a great deal.
The bivalent vaccination is recommended only for high at risk people.

Usual recommendations are valid.
Avoid high risk areas, wear a mask, wash hands.

Post by Xavier on Nov 27th, 2022 at 1:00am
I've been in the Lab of late mixing Flying Fox faeces with Perenti saliva, with Bondi sewage, with bacteria from the Yarra River and a whole cocktail of other secret ingredients to create an Australian Made Virus so we can get revenge on China with a far superior Bio-engineered Pandemic response.

Tests so far shows a far more effective killing rate than Covid and highly contagious. This Virus will put Australia on the map for sure.

Not sure what to call the Virus yet?
Maybe call it the Uluru Flu? :D

Post by Carl D on Dec 9th, 2022 at 9:59am
And the "hits" just keep on cruisin' along...

Cruise ship with numerous COVID-19 positive passengers docks in Sydney

"numerous COVID-19 positive passengers"

"potentially hundreds of COVID-19 positive passengers"

"carrying about 3000 people. About half are suspected of carrying the virus". (they're probably hoping no one will do the math there).

"there are between 30 and 99 infections per 1000 passengers". (ditto - although I suspect a large percentage of our population wouldn't be able to work that one out anyway).

What they're trying really hard NOT to say is that another cruise ship with at least 1500 COVID-19 positive passengers has docked in Sydney this morning.

See, 9 "News"... that wasn't too hard, was it? ::)

Edit - they've "rewritten" the article while I was typing my post.

Now it's "less than 5 per cent of passengers deemed to have the virus"

Yeah, right.

Fortunately, I still had the original open in another Firefox tab.

ninenews.jpg (189 KB | 7 )

Post by Frank on Dec 9th, 2022 at 10:38am

Carl D wrote on Dec 9th, 2022 at 9:59am:
And the "hits" just keep on cruisin' along...

Cruise ship with numerous COVID-19 positive passengers docks in Sydney

"numerous COVID-19 positive passengers"

"potentially hundreds of COVID-19 positive passengers"

"carrying about 3000 people. About half are suspected of carrying the virus". (they're probably hoping no one will do the math there).

"there are between 30 and 99 infections per 1000 passengers". (ditto - although I suspect a large percentage of our population wouldn't be able to work that one out anyway).

What they're trying really hard NOT to say is that another cruise ship with at least 1500 COVID-19 positive passengers has docked in Sydney this morning.

See, 9 "News"... that wasn't too hard, was it? ::)

Edit - they've "rewritten" the article while I was typing my post.

Now it's "less than 5 per cent of passengers deemed to have the virus"

Yeah, right.

Fortunately, I still had the original open in another Firefox tab.

Herd immunity - haven't heard that expression for a long time. Unheard immunity....