Member Run Boards >> Health and Welfare >> Intermittent fasting http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1630286762 Message started by rhino on Aug 30th, 2021 at 11:26am |
Title: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Aug 30th, 2021 at 11:26am
Ive almost never eaten breakfast, preferring to exercise on an empty stomach , but intermittent fasting is a game changer for me. Been doing this for a few months now, off and on combined with a maybe 75 percent keto diet, I have to say the benefits are not over rated. 36 hours seems to be the sweet spot for all round health benefits. Visceral fat is what we need to lose, calorie restriction and exercise by themselves wont burn visceral fat.
https://lifeapps.io/fasting/the-5-stages-of-intermittent-fasting/ |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Gordon on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:25pm
I've also heard you can dial it right back and still get a lot of the benefits.
I think the minimum is a very light breakfast, no lunch then dinner, which I've been doing on non-weights days. Breakfast is about 1/2 cup of oats as porridge, black coffee. Middle of the day, a cup of vege broth Normal dinner. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by John Dillermand on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:43pm Gordon wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:25pm:
Yep, 16:8 has benefits, 5:2 is easier to follow generally and laso shows benefits |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:29pm Gordon wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:25pm:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:33pm John Dillermand wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:43pm:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by John Dillermand on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:34pm rhino wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:33pm:
BDNF eh |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:36pm John Dillermand wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 3:34pm:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Mr Hammer on Aug 30th, 2021 at 11:20pm
Booby prefers...nevermind.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 10th, 2021 at 8:30pm rhino wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 11:26am:
Wow - 36 hours is a good fast. Been a long time since I fasted. They are REALLY good. Amazing how much energy you get during a fast. I don't have breakfast till about 10.30 am. That works well for my schedule |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 11th, 2021 at 12:13am
I had fasted for about 50 hours one time about 10 years ago. I was living with others at the time. All I did was drink water for the two days. When people had noticed that I had not eaten, they took it upon themselves to fix me a ham and salad sandwich. I decided to break the long-standing fast and resume eating normally. It took me over a week before I was back to normal. My metabolism went into starvation mode and slowed down. It meant that I had to eat light meals until I was able to eat difficult to digest meals.
Whilst I have no issue with people doing fasting for up to 24 hours, if you go beyond that, you are going to do your body some damage. That is, if you are not laying in bed for most of those 24 hours, you can do some damage to your body. You could probably skip breakfast. But you should have lunch and a normal dinner. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Bias_2012 on Sep 11th, 2021 at 12:57am Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 10th, 2021 at 8:30pm:
That's why prisoners had the strength to build bridges for the Japanese |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 11th, 2021 at 1:02am Bias_2012 wrote on Sep 11th, 2021 at 12:57am:
No. It was either work as a slave, or die. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 18th, 2021 at 9:48pm
So myself, and 2 others I know have done this for around a few months 1mad or 2mad combined with the keto diet. No one reports any loss of energy or slower metabolism, everyone says they lost fat and not muscle. My female friend reports loss of fat around the midsection, very impressed with results, no loss of her booty apparently, which I agree. I have gone down a couple of percent body fat I reckon. No loss of energy, no loss of motivation, improved concentration. You need to combine this method with a keto diet because the body will produce ketones which are much more beneficial for the body to run on than carbohydrates or (glucose).
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 18th, 2021 at 10:06pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 11th, 2021 at 12:13am:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 18th, 2021 at 11:13pm rhino wrote on Sep 18th, 2021 at 9:48pm:
There are a lot of fads out there weight loss is a huge industry i should note the Australian Institute of Sport doesn't follow any of these fad diets. Skinfold calipers are cheap give an accurate way of measuring bodyfat you can do it with 4 main sites subscapular suprailiac ( about an inch above hip on side) bicep and tricep. Add up the total look at the chart in some cases age correct it. If you look at food Carbs break down into glucose which give energy protein breaks down into amino acids which help body rebuild and repair and fat breaks down into fat which is stored energy on your body. If you eat more calories than you burn up it will be stored on your body as fat regardless of which group (carbs, protein,fat) they came from. How much protein you need to eat every day varies if you have a sedentry lifestyle 1 gram of protein per kilogram of your weight is enough ie 90 kg person 90 grams. If you workout fairly hard i would double it. With 100 grams of chicken you get 27 grams of protein, 100 grams of steak gives about 25 grams of protein. 1 egg has about 6 grams of protein.Choose the leaner types like chicken breast over thighs eye fillet over chops and there is a study showing shellfish are a superfood. If you get sore after workouts you need more protein. Your body cannot efficiently process large amounts of protein in one meal so spread it out through the day. Carbs break down into glucose which give you energy. By Carbs i mean fruit vegetables pasta rice bread etc with the exception of olives avocado and nuts which are fats. There are SFA calories in tomatos strawberries and watery fruits and veg so not really limited with eating them. If you lack energy you need more carbs. How these carbs are cooked makes a huge difference don't cook in oil and don't add fats like butter etc to them.When you do high intensity stuff for shorter duration like a couple of minutes your body runs on anaerobic energy system which uses glucose for energy. Fat goes on as fat so avoid all fats i put sugary things like chocolate and sweets and twisties cheezels etc into fat category. Olives avocado and nuts are really the only fats you should eat. When you get your heart rate up and maintain it for minimum 15 minutes your body starts running on aerobic energy system which uses bodyfat. Those like Usain Bolt who do 100m sprints then rest run on Creatine Phosphate energy system which is only good for about 20 seconds they need glucose for that. Since it only takes Bolt 10 seconds to run 100M he would be good to go again after 30 second rest, if you take 15 seconds you would be good to go again after 45 second rest. If you want to do sprint training then rest for 3 times what it took to run 100m then go again. If weight loss (reducing bodyfat) is your goal eat no more protein than you need cuts carbs down until energy levels start to drop and cuts out all fats including avocado olives/oil along with all junk food. Look for around 1500 calories a day. Chris Hemsworth doesn't do any of these fads he eats around 6 times a day to build his body which is what most huge bodybuilders do they have bodyfat levels around 6%. As for keto it's just another fad- https://www.health.harvard.edu/staying-healthy/should-you-try-the-keto-diet |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 19th, 2021 at 2:44am Gordon wrote on Aug 30th, 2021 at 12:25pm:
Very interesting. I've always just basically stuck to this routine : 1. 7 am - 1 cup of coffee (with 1 teaspoon of raw sugar plus some soy milk) for breakfast. 2. 11 am - another coffee as per above. 3. 1 pm - lunch. Generally a salad and tuna sandwich or a bowl of soup with 2 pieces of toast with low salt margarine. 4. 6 pm - dinner. Always something yummy and home cooked. 1 plate that's all. A slice of bread (maybe). * I usually have Turkish bread or Lebanese bread. I love the taste and I've always had that sort of bread growing up. * I'm not into sweets. I'm definitely a savoury person so cakes and biscuits etc are not my thing. * IF I snack during the day it will be mid afternoon and will be an apple or a banana. I probably should exercise more but I know I do a lot of gardening and cleaning and running around anyway (so I figure at least I'm not sitting down all day in some office). How am I travelling? I have no idea nowadays. I guess I'm too busy worrying about those around me. 😩🥺 |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 19th, 2021 at 3:50am UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 11th, 2021 at 1:02am:
Good incentive |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 19th, 2021 at 5:41pm
Lisa, use butter not margarine. I know it is a pain in the butt to have to wait 30 minutes for the butter to be soft enough to spread. But butter is better for you.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 8:31pm Baronvonrort wrote on Sep 18th, 2021 at 11:13pm:
No mate, complete bullsh1t. You shouldnt post if you dont know anything, all that sh1t is made up. Stop clogging my thread with absolute nonsense. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 8:35pm
Some of you idiots need to take a look at yourself, instead of reading an intelligent thread full of knowledge you can take to the bank you instead choose to use it as a way to somehow "score points" by making up your own supposed knowledge on subjects and posting absolute bulldust. WTF you retards get out of that I do not know. The CSIRO total wellbeing diet is an example of a Keto diet you fool, its not a "fad".
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 10:05pm rhino wrote on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 8:35pm:
The CSIRO diet is not a Keto diet they're 2 separate things with nothing in common. As my Harvard medical school link shows the keto diet is not healthy. Fit and healthy are 2 separate terms you can be fit and unhealthy. The Keto diet is an unhealthy fad. This Keto calculator says i should consume 30g carbs 138g protein and a whopping 232 g of fat per day. The CSIRO diet will be majority carbs then protein with minimum fat which is nothing like a keto diet. https://www.ketocustomplan.com/quiz/main?gclid=Cj0KCQjwqKuKBhCxARIsACf4XuHmsJNczkEt4k9qxUySM3rZFw4jfHd8fFGKr4wurEw1NzdBXBUv350aAi7xEALw_wcB |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 10:13pm rhino wrote on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 8:31pm:
I studied sport science nutrition was a big part of that. I have trained 3 world champions so no bullshit in my post. Try the sprint training if it takes you 12 seconds to run 100m rest for 36 seconds your heart rate will have come down then run it again. Try that before you call bullshit then apologise for being wrong. Chris Hemsworth didn't fast to build muscle and reduce bodyfat he eats 6-8 times a day just like the Rock Dwayne Johnson if anyone is posting bullshit here it's you. The weight loss industry is worth billions lots of bullshit fads fleecing people without giving long term healthy gains. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:09am Baronvonrort wrote on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 10:13pm:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:17am Baronvonrort wrote on Sep 22nd, 2021 at 10:05pm:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by rhino on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:21am
Just phuk off out of this thread you dkheds that know nothing.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:03pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 19th, 2021 at 5:41pm:
I much prefer the taste of butter. But I've never heard that butter is better than margarine before. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:04pm rhino wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:21am:
Calm down. Take a chill pill. It's not your forum. And everyone is only posting what they know or think they know. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by NorthOfNorth on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:06pm
I can't believe it's not butter...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NMxrtztkb_g |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:40pm
That's a corker 😂🤣😆
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Aussie on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:50pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 19th, 2021 at 2:44am:
Oh....so how do you do the alleged work you say you do for your alleged 'Hubby?' Do you have to run.....is that the 'job?' |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 3:04pm Aussie wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:50pm:
1. Nothing alleged about my role. 2. iPhones are awesome - you should get 1. They've been around for long enough. Everyone uses them for work etc now. Except for you. But then again you don't work. In fact you don't do anything at all. Which is why you're the obsessive obese obstruction of every forum you're in. Bye bye. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 3:07pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:06pm:
The fluffy chicken in that advert is hilarious 😂 (My hubby has always called me "the chook". Why? Think of the expression "the sky is falling" for a clue) |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 3:13pm
Oh. You're right. I DO talk a lot about my husband. 🥺
I wonder why??? I guess I'm worried about him. He's on my mind all the time because I'm worried. I hope he comes home with a negative Covid19 test result this afternoon. I'm not jabbed. And I can't have any jab that's on the market atm either. So I guess I'm worried about myself too. Hmmmmm. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 6:02pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:03pm:
Butter is healthier than margarine. Margarine is more like oil than a spread. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by greggerypeccary on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:35pm Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:03pm:
You've gotta be kidding :-/ |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:41pm
Allegedly, margarine is not all that different compared to plastic. Margarine allegedly raises estrogen levels (whether slightly or otherwise). So, guys should stick to something like butter which is more dairy oriented. I will research the issue later and get back to you on this. It has been 3 years since I last purchased margarine.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by NorthOfNorth on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:45pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:41pm:
3 years... It might be the food that feeds the cockroaches in the aftermath of Armageddon. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by greggerypeccary on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:52pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:41pm:
It isn't yellow. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by NorthOfNorth on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:55pm greggerypeccary wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:52pm:
Keep that from Coldplay. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by greggerypeccary on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:59pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:55pm:
I can't believe it's not soulless white man music. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Neferti on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:01pm
I use this, the salt reduced one.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by NorthOfNorth on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:59pm:
Tony Martin and Mick Molloy used to take the royal piss out of this ad, back in the day. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:27pm rhino wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:17am:
[/quote] The CSIRO total wellbeing diet and their low carb diet are 2 separate diets why are you trying to pass off the total wellbeing diet as something it isn't? their low carb diet was tested on obese diabetics. Diabetics have special needs they will be asked if they're diabetic when assessed for diet plan. The Keto diet suggests 20-50g of carbs a day the CSIRO low carb diet says 50-70g a day did you even read the link you posted in the other thread? The minimum for the csiro is actually the maximum for keto diet with carbs. The harvard link does say keto is unhealthy did you read this or does the highlighted part apply to you? Quote:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Gordon on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:29pm Neferti wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:01pm:
I used to buy that one, but I've gone back to good old butter. Cheaper, and wrapped in paper instead of plastic. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:32pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 7:41pm:
You can cut both from your diet they offer nothing of nutritional value. One slice of bread buttered has more calories than 2 slices of unbuttered bread. Adding butter to vegetables makes a healthy low calorie food into something much higher calories with no health benefits. That said vegemite on toast needs butter it's the only worthwhile exception |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 9:01pm rhino wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 12:09am:
Did you miss the part where i said if you eat more calories than you burn it will go on as fat regardless of the source of calories? When you have a calorie deficit your body starts consuming fat which is really stored energy. It's really quite simple. Dwyane might have taken steroids when he was wrestling i wouldn't call all huge people steroid users Dr Terry Ly who ran the sports science courses was built like Bolo from the Bruce Lee movies he never took steroids i know quite a few huge people who have never used them. When people take steroids it's usually a 6 week course then they take HCG injections to get their balls to drop testicular shrinkage is a side effect. They recover much faster which means they can work out everyday increasing weights with massive strength gains. They also need to up their protein intake. A lot of gym owners peddle steroids to the gullible hard work is under rated i would not recommend using steroids. I eat 5-6 times a day. Breakfast Lunch Dinner morning tea might be mandarins or peaches with an apple around 3.30-4pm. Apples improve lung function and eaten at that time give good energy for evening workout. Then if i have a desert later in the evening that makes 6 times a day. Fasting for weight loss is bullshit it can slow your metabolism down as your body tries to hang onto nutrients there are some studies showing it helps stimulate immune system which might be the only benefit. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 25th, 2021 at 4:06pm Baronvonrort wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 8:32pm:
You can go without buttered bread. But, ever since childhood, I have been using either butter or margarine to make sandwiches taste edible. No matter what kind of sandwich spread I use, butter or margarine is a must to put on the bread first. And when you consider the calorie amount you have from butter added to the sandwich, it is not going to harm you in the long run. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Baronvonrort on Sep 25th, 2021 at 10:09pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 25th, 2021 at 4:06pm:
I stopped using butter and magarine in late teens. If you have flabs and want abs stop using it. I don't even use it for cooking for breakfast i had 2 poached eggs on toast with half an avacodo i haven't fried eggs since my teens. It does harm you in the long run eating heaps of fat. Nathan Pritikin was one of the first to look into healthy diets after suffering a heart attack. Back in those days doctors ordered rest for cardiac conditions with no other treatment. While his diet isn't perfect has some minor flaws it was something people were put on if they had heart disease and after heart bypass surgery. Quote:
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Sep 25th, 2021 at 10:52pm
Consuming fat is less damaging to the body than sugar. If you do not use up the energy produced by sugar, it turns to fat because of the insulin spike. Fat does not raise insulin to spike nearly as high.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by John Dillermand on Sep 26th, 2021 at 1:26pm UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 25th, 2021 at 10:52pm:
If only the only thing affecting the body was insulin. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on May 30th, 2024 at 5:34pm NorthOfNorth wrote on Sep 23rd, 2021 at 2:06pm:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e33SNyaXNsk |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Oct 13th, 2024 at 8:02pm
Had my first egg, ham, and salad meal outside a foodstore, the other night. I ate it on a tray, not far from a dumpster. The most satisfying meal I have had in a long time.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Setanta on Oct 13th, 2024 at 8:24pm UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 13th, 2024 at 8:02pm:
Good eating habit, Unsub. Eating your food as fresh as possible from the source is a good thing. :P |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Oct 13th, 2024 at 9:36pm
I think I will label you as royalty, Setanta. Because you obviously have such an easy life.
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by Yadda on Oct 13th, 2024 at 10:14pm I do it. I like it. [70%-90% unprocessed foods....., but i still eat too much chocolate.] And i do about 30 minutes of light aerobic exercise [cycling] almost every day. |
Title: Re: Intermittent fasting Post by UnSubRocky on Oct 14th, 2024 at 8:07am
The other month, I set a personal record of 38 kilometres walking in one week. People said to do 10,000 steps a week. I did those for my usual grocery shopping, dentist appointments, and the like. But I did about 26,000 more steps by walking to and from between home and the Rockhampton Base Hospital about 2 times in one week.
I think I am now banned from the emergency room waiting foyer for nearly wasting QAS time. |