General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> Cheap cars http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1622705886 Message started by Sprintcyclist on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 5:38pm |
Title: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 5:38pm |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Neferti on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 6:04pm |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by John Smith on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 6:35pm
Never tried a Lada ... tried a Dacia, which was just as crappy as that looks.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 6:45pm
This was my sister's first car (if only it looked in that good condition).
Anyone guess it? ![]() |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 7:55pm
old corolla isnt it
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:29pm Gordon wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 6:45pm:
Datsun Sunny ? |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:36pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:29pm:
Nope, but looks a lot closer than the Corolla. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by rhino on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:42pm
Old Mazda.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:43pm rhino wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:42pm:
Yup, A Mazda _ _ _ _ _ _ _ |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by rhino on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:47pm
great cars, collectors items now.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:51pm
OK I'll give it up, Mazada Capella, before they were known as 626.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:59pm Gordon wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:43pm:
A Mazdaratti |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 9:01pm
One of my mates, in our youth had one of these .........
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 4th, 2021 at 10:31am Gordon wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:51pm:
My earliest car memory is my parents god awful green 1980 toyota corona with the misfire engine |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 4th, 2021 at 11:31pm Gordon wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 6:45pm:
I have actually seen that car driving down near my street a number of times. It is the oldest car in town. And that is saying something about my how my town loves new stuff. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 9:45am
https://www.caradvice.com.au/959223/2022-ford-maverick-unveiled-hybrid-dual-cab-ute-cheaper-than-a-toyota-corolla-but-not-coming-to-australia/
Thanks Ford.... brilliant decision there. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:16am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 9:45am:
Why not just convert an ICE car? https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-advice/a-guide-to-converting-your-old-car-to-electric-80412#:~:text=Tim%20reckons%20the%20most%20basic,sky's%20the%20limit%20from%20there%E2%80%9D. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:18am Gordon wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:16am:
Umm thats not why I was disappointed. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:20am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:18am:
Obviously because it's not coming here?? |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:21am Gordon wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:20am:
Give that man a prize. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:26am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:21am:
The reason I said convert a car yourself was because Ford isn't bringing the car you want here so DIY. I understood your disappointment in my first post. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:27am Gordon wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 10:26am:
I wasn't after the car because of the hybrid portion of it. I was after the car, because of its overall category. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 2:57pm
Here ha go, Crayons.
New interior, paint, electrified $40k Check out this 2005 Holden Crewman S VZ Manual Dual Cab. https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/2005-holden-crewman-s-vz-manual-dual-cab/SSE-AD-7023608 |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:06pm Gordon wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 2:57pm:
No longer available. Plus a Holden? Are you insane? |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:15pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:06pm:
Dual cab ute. It's only a Holden shell, electric motor and upgraded suspension. An electrified old car will be as woke as a rescued greyhound soon. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:37pm Gordon wrote on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:15pm:
Mo longer available. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 9th, 2021 at 3:43pm
It's still on carsales app, but plenty of options
You could make this dope for under $50k Check out this 1991 Toyota Hilux DX Manual 4x4 Dual Cab. https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/details/1991-toyota-hilux-dx-manual-4x4-dual-cab/SSE-AD-7212760 |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 6:54pm
I had a drive of a Yaris Cross hybrid today, what a spunky little car!
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 7:07pm Gordon wrote on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 6:54pm:
I never heard of that model |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 7:20pm
Exactly like this
![]() |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 8:48pm Gordon wrote on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 7:20pm:
Looks like a fun car |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Gordon on Jun 23rd, 2021 at 12:13pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 22nd, 2021 at 8:48pm:
Hybrids are nice to drive. I had a rental Corolla hybrid for a week and really liked it. I reckon a Kluger hybrid could be my next car. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Kat on Jul 15th, 2021 at 5:44pm Used some of my coronavirus stimulus to buy this, and have just renewed my licence after having let it lapse around 20 years ago (didn't need it, and eventually just got used to not having it). Paid $1300 with 6 months rego, spent another $500 or so on it to get it running properly, fix a few minor issues, and buy a few 'upgrades' such as a dash-cam etc, and now couldn't be happier. It goes well, stops well, has no rust, runs on the smell of an oily rag and is a low-mileage car which has spent most of its life with female owners, so hasn't been thrashed. It will do me for a while, I think. BTW, knockers needn't bother - I didn't buy it for you and neither need nor want your approval. ![]() |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by rhino on Jul 15th, 2021 at 6:07pm
Seeing as its my tax money i deserve a little input.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Kat on Jul 15th, 2021 at 6:18pm rhino wrote on Jul 15th, 2021 at 6:07pm:
It isn't (the lion's share came from my savings), but unless you plan to pile shyt on it, go for your life. |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Mr Bundy on Jul 15th, 2021 at 7:13pm
The BA falcon is the best cheap car going around, reliable go forever well built fast comfortable go almost anywhere plenty of parts and easily serviced.
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Sprintcyclist on Jul 15th, 2021 at 10:04pm Kat wrote on Jul 15th, 2021 at 5:44pm:
Great buying AND a nice colour !! |
Title: Re: Cheap cars Post by Kat on Jul 16th, 2021 at 8:04pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 15th, 2021 at 10:04pm:
It certainly makes it easy to find in a crowded car-park, Sprint, that's for sure. :P |