General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> Expensive cars
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1622338378

Message started by Sprintcyclist on May 30th, 2021 at 11:32am

Title: Expensive cars
Post by Sprintcyclist on May 30th, 2021 at 11:32am

.........  Come the day of delivery, RR’s RR was chauffeured to my door by a Uriah Heepish rep of the official dealership.
Its first problem occurred there and then in the driveway.
The haughty gothic grille toppled forward, resembling a dignified old gent losing his upper dentures.
Much genuflection from Uriah, plus quick work with a spanner.
And from the dentures drama it was downhill all the way.
The damned car spent most of its time back in the repair shop where the manager, on one occasion, was reduced to tears.
“This car breaks down on the hoist,” he lamented.
To be fair, it broke down everywhere else as well.
I recall one world-weary RR owner saying, “With Rollers you always need a spare.”        ............

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/weekend-australian-magazine/the-more-expensive-the-car-the-less-reliable/news-story/d4b78be7678fb677d9c3767cc244dc74

Title: Re: Expensive cars
Post by UnSubRocky on May 30th, 2021 at 2:19pm
I got my latest car for about $9000. First time I have paid for a car since 1998. The car was a 2009 model that I bought in 2014. Several years later, and with considerable use, I find that the car is still in good condition. I probably could not sell the car today for more than $2000. But, someone buying a car in the condition mine is in would find that it is a good price. All I do is get the car a yearly service. New tyres every 2 years.

People that want to pay $30,000 for a car, might have that car for a few years -- perhaps 10 years ownership at most. But the costs of maintaining the car, the accessories that are not really beneficial, the insurance, it all adds up to a waste of something you have to show off to friends.

Post by Laugh till you cry on May 30th, 2021 at 2:25pm
Here is MenstrualCyclist taking his ultra-reliable car for a spin:

Post by Kat on May 30th, 2021 at 3:08pm
I paid $1300 for mine last April, registered but with some issues.

Used some of the corona-virus stimulus money and some savings
I had squirrelled away for a rainy day. Fixed the issues, it owes me
less than $2000, not including rego.

It only has 175,000 km on the clock - not a high mileage for these
engines.

This is the first car I've owned in over 20 years, and I love it! Always
been a 'big car' person (think Ford Fairlanes - the old ones), but this
thing is a little ripper!

Beep! Beep!  :P :P :P :P :D
IMG_20201210_140607a1.jpg (195 KB | 8 )

Post by Gordon on May 30th, 2021 at 3:16pm
Porsche are not just the most reliable luxury car, but actually one of the most reliable overall.

Post by Neferti on May 30th, 2021 at 5:19pm

https://www.edmunds.com/land-rover/range-rover/2021/svautobiography-lwb/

Post by Sprintcyclist on May 30th, 2021 at 5:47pm

Kat wrote on May 30th, 2021 at 3:08pm:
I paid $1300 for mine last April, registered but with some issues.

Used some of the corona-virus stimulus money and some savings
I had squirrelled away for a rainy day. Fixed the issues, it owes me
less than $2000, not including rego.

It only has 175,000 km on the clock - not a high mileage for these
engines.

This is the first car I've owned in over 20 years, and I love it! Always
been a 'big car' person (think Ford Fairlanes - the old ones), but this
thing is a little ripper!

Beep! Beep!  :P :P :P :P :D

Little cars are good.
One of my fave cars was a small car.
Was in a cold climate and the engine warmed up quickly, so the heater worked quickly !!

Post by UnSubRocky on May 30th, 2021 at 9:33pm

Gordon wrote on May 30th, 2021 at 3:16pm:
Porsche are not just the most reliable luxury car, but actually one of the most reliable overall.

You get what you pay for. They have good get up and go. But most owners are not going to pay so much money for them just to rally drive around the streets. So, they usually are a showpiece or rarely used.

My relative modelled for the company. She claims they are a smooth drive.

Post by Lols on May 31st, 2021 at 9:49am
If I could, I would buy either a 1966 Mustang or a Delorean.
I love the way the doors open on a Delorean.
Wish I bought that one for sale some years ago for $15K at a classic car show.
Now it’s worth a bonza!
Back to the future past wishful thinking I go  ::)

Post by Gordon on May 31st, 2021 at 11:59am

UnSubRocky wrote on May 30th, 2021 at 9:33pm:

You get what you pay for. They have good get up and go. But most owners are not going to pay so much money for them just to rally drive around the streets. So, they usually are a showpiece or rarely used.

Not really, there are very expensive high performance cars that aren't reliable.

Porsche are complex, high performance and actually rate well for reliability.
Pretty impressive.

Post by Lols on May 31st, 2021 at 3:24pm

Gordon wrote on May 31st, 2021 at 11:59am:

UnSubRocky wrote on May 30th, 2021 at 9:33pm:

Not really, there are very expensive high performance cars that aren't reliable.

Porsche are complex, high performance and actually rate well for reliability.
Pretty impressive.

Absolutely.
My son had a Mercedes Vito Van, and when Mercs break down, they do so badly, and costs a rotten fortune to fix.

Hubby says some of those expensive European German cars don’t do well with higher mileage .... and it’s any wonder the price drops like a hot potato once it’s out of the show room.

If you get a 2nd hand one, buy with low kms or else you are buying cheaper, sure, but expensive to do mechanical repair later that will gobble up what you thought you saved.

I did love my red BMW but the Takata airbag recall took the car away from my once happy ownership.

BMW said it could take up to 2 years to get the airbags replaced. And in the meantime would have to give us a hire car.
Or they made a offer to buy your car then what they do after with it... who knows.
I said I will wait 2 years (I was offered sh1t money)
There was a price I wanted and after 3 months me using a almost new hire car @$330 per week.... and much negotiation.... they offered better and I said okay.... to which they didn’t think I would oblige.
They did say I could take vehicle back and store it until replacement parts came in but I would have to give hire car back.
Hmmmm.... decisions decisions ....

Lesson is, don’t accept the first offer.
Read the conditions well... and see what they are obligated to do under those conditions.

Oh but I do miss that little red road hugger  :(

Post by UnSubRocky on May 31st, 2021 at 4:28pm
Anyone who wants to pay $10,000 for a piece of crap car has only themselves to blame when the car breaks down so often. My father paid $1100 for a certain model of car, built in 1991. The car was 20  years old when I got it. It took 12 months of using that car before the roadworthiness of the car expired.

Likewise for those people that want to pay $100,000 for a sports/performance vehicle. Unless it has some kind of purpose behind the purchase, you are just buying one for your own narcissistic needs. Maybe you have more money than sense.

Post by aquascoot on May 31st, 2021 at 6:14pm
german cars tend to be over engineered.
they are full of expensive software and that software is only able to be accessed by a rip-off dealership.

steer clear, especially of a second hand one with higher miles.

a rolling money-pit.

in my opinion, honda make the best 4 stroke engines in the world.
they make the most
they are in everything from whipper snippers, to outboards, to water pumps, to cars, to planes to mowers.

they have the best metalurgy.

the korean cars (hyundai and kia) are a cheaper proposition but they dont make thier engines as well (especially kia with inferior metal in the pistons).

i dont think you could go past a second hand honda accord or civic ( i dont like the new civic)

here is what i would buy for about 12,000 if i wanted a bullet proof drive

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/honda/accord-euro/between-10000-15000/
scroll down to car 8, the black one

2012 accord, only 80,000 kms, manual. 14,000

manual transmissions can last forever (autos will not)

change the oil every 10,000 km and this baby could get to 300,000 easily.
so it is priced at 35 % of the new car price but sill has 80 % of its life ahead of it.

thats true value .

a BMW (especially a 4 cylciner turbo diesel) will never ever ever get to 300,000 km
it is never going to happen

Post by rhino on May 31st, 2021 at 6:38pm

aquascoot wrote on May 31st, 2021 at 6:14pm:

a BMW (especially a 4 cylciner turbo diesel) will never ever ever get to 300,000 km
BMWs are well known for achieving well over 500,000 ks if maintained appropriately.

Post by UnSubRocky on May 31st, 2021 at 9:27pm

Post by aquascoot on Jun 1st, 2021 at 6:11pm

UnSubRocky wrote on May 31st, 2021 at 9:27pm:
aquascoot, I have owned a kia rio. They are actually good cars. I have put on over 100,000 km since the purchase. The 2009 Kia is up to 185,000 km. And I can imagine that the car could make it to over 300,000 km before I get a new car. Cheap on the fuel. Easy to maintain. Has good power. Very reliable car.

what maintenance did you do unsub?
and did you use synthetic oil?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 1st, 2021 at 6:50pm

rhino wrote on May 31st, 2021 at 6:38pm:

BMWs are well known for achieving well over 500,000 ks if maintained appropriately.

BMW = Big Money Waster.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jun 1st, 2021 at 8:56pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 1st, 2021 at 6:11pm:

UnSubRocky wrote on May 31st, 2021 at 9:27pm:
aquascoot, I have owned a kia rio. They are actually good cars. I have put on over 100,000 km since the purchase. The 2009 Kia is up to 185,000 km. And I can imagine that the car could make it to over 300,000 km before I get a new car. Cheap on the fuel. Easy to maintain. Has good power. Very reliable car.

what maintenance did you do unsub?
and did you use synthetic oil?

I mean, easy to maintain, because the car only needs a service once a year.

Post by rhino on Jun 1st, 2021 at 10:18pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 1st, 2021 at 6:50pm:

BMW = Big Money Waster.
Not if you have some mechanical knowledge. Very reliable cars, like I said, well known for going over 500,000 ks.

Post by Gordon on Jun 2nd, 2021 at 12:07pm
Aqua, the thing with Honda is they're not selling many cars here and their dealer network is shrinking and they'll probably be the first Jap brand to be muscled out by Chinese cars.

Hyundai and Kia are pretty good and whatever they lack in quality is more than made up for by dealer service.
They're kind of like the fat chick who needs to try that little bit harder to keep a hot guy happy.

Toyota is a dowdy housewife who only wants missionary position but has dinner on the table at 6pm sharp without fail.

Merc/BMW is a hot chick who thinks just being hot is good enough and Porsche is a supermodel with pornstar moves   ;D

Post by Mr Hammer on Jun 2nd, 2021 at 12:14pm

Gordon wrote on Jun 2nd, 2021 at 12:07pm:
Aqua, the thing with Honda is they're not selling many cars here and their dealer network is shrinking and they'll probably be the first Jap brand to be muscled out by Chinese cars.

Hyundai and Kia are pretty good and whatever they lack in quality is more than made up for by dealer service.
They're kind of like the fat chick who needs to try that little bit harder to keep a hot guy happy.

Toyota is a dowdy housewife who only wants missionary position but has dinner on the table at 6pm sharp without fail.

Merc/BMW is a hot chick who thinks just being hot is good enough and Porsche is a supermodel with pornstar moves   ;D

How would you describe the Mothra?

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:20am

rhino wrote on Jun 1st, 2021 at 10:18pm:

BMW = Big Money Waster.
Not if you have some mechanical knowledge. Very reliable cars, like I said, well known for going over 500,000 ks.

Absolute and complete rubbish

Do some investigation

Look up 5 year old BMWs on carsales.com that sold for about 100K
Some of them are now selling for as little as 20k
Because the market recognise as they are endless money pits once they get to 5 years of age
All that plastic crap and over-engineered expensive computer nonsense
Plus deliberately designing every seal to require the engine to be stripped to change it
Nobody wants a BMW over 5 years and the prices reflect it

Now check out a Toyota land cruiser bought for 100k 5 years ago
It's probably still worth 75 k
Because it's designed by Toyota
Easy to work on
Open the bonnet and throw the oil filter in the general direction of the engine and it will probably correctly place itself

Try that with a BMW
The engine bay is so cluttered and tight
No wonder no one wants to work on them except extremely expensive arrogant overpriced dealerships

Post by Mr Hammer on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:25am

Mr Hammer wrote on Jun 2nd, 2021 at 12:14pm:

The button is hard to find.

Post by rhino on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:35am

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:20am:

BMW = Big Money Waster.

Do some investigation

Because the market recognise as they are endless money pits once they get to 5 years of age
Plus deliberately designing every seal to require the engine to be stripped to change it

Easy to work on
Open the bonnet and throw the oil filter in the general direction of the engine and it will probably correctly place itself

Try that with a BMW
No wonder no one wants to work on them except extremely expensive arrogant overpriced dealerships

well known for achieving high mileage if looked after, a simple google will show you this. If you werent such a blatherskate you would learn something. Comparing a Landcruiser with a BMW is pretty stupid, 2 entirely different applications.

Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:39am

rhino wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:35am:

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 8:20am:

BMW = Big Money Waster.

Do some investigation

Easy to work on

Try that with a BMW

well known for achieving high mileage if looked after, a simple google will show you this. If you werent such a blatherskate you would learn something. Comparing a Landcruiser with a BMW is pretty stupid, 2 entirely different applications.

Additionally, aqua seems to have it in his mind that BMWs carry 10s of computers (correctly) which makes them unreliable and that the Landie carries no computers (incorrect)_which makes them unreliable.

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:48am
checkout all these BMW's for around 15 grand, some with under 100,000 km on them

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/bmw/between-10000-20000/

now, as a much much cheaper car to buy new, check out these mazda 3's

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/mazda/3/between-10000-20000/

the mazda 3, despite costing 1/3 of what a new BMW costs, is actually worth about 15 grand when it is about 7 years old and around 10,000 km

in some of those cases the BMW is worth LESS.

nobody wants old german cars, they lose their value and the price sinks like a stone because they are rolling "money pits"

Post by rhino on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:50am

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:48am:
checkout all these BMW's for around 15 grand, some with under 100,000 km on them

Of course, the lease runs out and they come up for resale, nothing to do with reliability. you dont know about car leasing?

Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:57am

now, as a much much cheaper car to buy new, check out these mazda 3's

https://www.carsales.com.au/cars/mazda/3/between-10000-20000/

the mazda 3, despite costing 1/3 of what a new BMW costs, is actually worth about 15 grand when it is about 7 years old and around 10,000 km

in some of those cases the BMW is worth LESS.

nobody wants old german cars, they lose their value and the price sinks like a stone because they are rolling "money pits"

In the vast majority of cases the BMWs you've listed are older than the Mazdas you've listed.

Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:26pm

rhino wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 11:50am:

Of course, the lease runs out and they come up for resale, nothing to do with reliability. you dont know about car leasing?

Merc have recently increased warranty from 2 to 5 years, but their in house lease options are still 3 years so a bunch of used Mercs will hit the market with a 2 year warranty.  Will be interesting to see how that support the used price.

75% of all Mercs are bought under lease

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:43pm
Vehicle service site YourMechanic.com analysed their own data to find out which car brands and models require the most maintenance over time. They explain:

At YourMechanic, we have a massive dataset of the make and model of the cars we have serviced and the type of maintenance done. We decided to use our data to understand which cars break down the most and have the highest maintenance costs…First, we looked at which major brands cost the most to maintain over the first 10 years of a car’s life. We grouped all years of all models by brand to compute their average cost by brand. In order to estimate annual maintenance costs, we found the amount spent on every two oil changes (as oil changes are generally done every six months).

According to their data, BMWs were the most expensive to maintain by far, with a 10-year cost of $US17,800 ($23,930). They found the luxury brands were the most expensive in general, but many budget vehicles ranked high, too.

Toyota was the best value for maintenance, according to the list. Scion and Lexus were the second and third most inexpensive brands, respectively (both are part of the Toyota group). Toyota came in at $5,500.

For maintenance costs on all the brands, check out their graphic below. While the prices are in US currency, the list still gives you a good indication of which cars are the costliest to maintain in Australia.

another white flag from rhino  ;D ;D

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2016/07/the-carbrandswith-the-highest-maintenance-costs-over-time/

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:50pm
the rear main seal replacement on a BMW (a part that costs $50) is listed as requiring 14 hours labour (at 150 an hour)  ;D ;D ;D.

ring BMW if you dont believe me  ;D ;D

Post by Prime Minister for Canyons on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:54pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:50pm:
the rear main seal replacement on a BMW (a part that costs $50) is listed as requiring 14 hours labour (at 150 an hour)  ;D ;D ;D.

So essentially you've just confirmed that last table as bullshit because its not the parts or their need for replacement that adds up to the cost its the BMW mechanics charging more.

Ergo, theres no real difference in reliability, juts BMW charges you more to fix poo.

Way to go, you just disproved your own statement.

Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 2:40pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jun 2nd, 2021 at 12:14pm:

;)

images__18__001.jpeg (34 KB | 10 )

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 2:50pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:54pm:

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:50pm:

So essentially you've just confirmed that last table as bullshit because its not the parts or their need for replacement that adds up to the cost its the BMW mechanics charging more.

Ergo, theres no real difference in reliability, juts BMW charges you more to fix poo.

Way to go, you just disproved your own statement.

geez you are a numptie.

if a starter motor goes on my toyota and i pull one off another toyota and bung it in during morning smoko,  that cost me 5 minutes and i had to undo 2 bolts.

if a starter motor goes in a BMW and you have to book it into a dealer, take a day off work, he has to pull the radiator out to get to it, charges you $500 for the unit and $1000 for labour, you wasted a whole day

you are saying   "doesnt matter', the BMW is just as reliable.

lol, youve never run a business obviously

we call that "down time"

to a public servant,like yourself ,   you'd just be gossiping round the water bubbler, so you might as well be twiddling your thumbs at the dealership

Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 3:03pm
Crayons, a single mum on a modest income who you know well and values your advice needs a cheap reliable car for $10k.

A 2010 BMW one series or a Corolla which are roughly the same price/kms.

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 3:16pm
oh gordon,  rhino knows many BMW's that do 500.000 kms.

maybe on an autobahn , not on an aussie road

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 3:20pm
which cars will do 500,000 kms

top gear did answer this.

most are toyotas and lexus (toyota), a few hondas.

then a bunch of "old technology" european cars (though no bmw's)
old volvos, old saabs, old peugeots...because they werent full of "over engineered rubbish " back in the day "

the discussion on mercedes (they included one from the 70's) says it all

https://topgear.com.sg/features/here-are-17-cars-thatll-do-300000-miles

Post by Gordon on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 3:33pm
BTW Aqua, I'd also argue German cars are reliable (not as reliable as Toyota because they're more complex)
but people generally don't put 500000 on German cars because German owners like to buy new toys.

Toyota owners are more likely people who wear their undies until they're thread bare and keep their cars a long time.

German cars. Fairly reliable expensive to service
Toyota.  Very reliable cheap to service

Post by aquascoot on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 5:26pm
gordy, the problem for the germans (the europeans) is that they have very very strict environmental laws.

and so they are constantly trying to squeeze a bit more performance out and they use ever more complex technologies to try to do this.

direct infection into the cylinders reduces fuel consumption. but without fuel flowing over the vlaves, they carbon up and then you have a big bill to fix this.

a small 4 cyliner with a turbo is never going to last as long as a straight 6.

to reduce weight (and improve emissions) they use a lot ofplastic.

plastic that is heated and cools every day becomes brittle and cracks  a fair bit sooner then metal.

and becuase they are trying to cram DPF, cats, mafs sensors, AWD components, anti lock brake components, turbos (sometimes twin) into smaller and smaller areas, servicing is a nightmare,

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 8th, 2021 at 10:01pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 3:16pm:
oh gordon,  rhino knows many BMW's that do 500.000 kms.

maybe on an autobahn , not on an aussie road

Did you hear about the fault on the 100 series Landcruiser ?

After 300,000 kms on corrugated roads it gets a squeak from the passengers side rear ashtray cover !

Post by rhino on Jun 8th, 2021 at 10:24pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 3rd, 2021 at 12:43pm:
Vehicle service site YourMechanic.com analysed their own data to find out which car brands and models require the most maintenance over time. They explain:

At YourMechanic, we have a massive dataset of the make and model of the cars we have serviced and the type of maintenance done. We decided to use our data to understand which cars break down the most and have the highest maintenance costs…First, we looked at which major brands cost the most to maintain over the first 10 years of a car’s life. We grouped all years of all models by brand to compute their average cost by brand. In order to estimate annual maintenance costs, we found the amount spent on every two oil changes (as oil changes are generally done every six months).

According to their data, BMWs were the most expensive to maintain by far, with a 10-year cost of $US17,800 ($23,930). They found the luxury brands were the most expensive in general, but many budget vehicles ranked high, too.

Toyota was the best value for maintenance, according to the list. Scion and Lexus were the second and third most inexpensive brands, respectively (both are part of the Toyota group). Toyota came in at $5,500.

For maintenance costs on all the brands, check out their graphic below. While the prices are in US currency, the list still gives you a good indication of which cars are the costliest to maintain in Australia.

another white flag from rhino  ;D ;D

https://www.lifehacker.com.au/2016/07/the-carbrandswith-the-highest-maintenance-costs-over-time/
get yourself checked, i stated if properly maintained, I mentioned nothing about cost to miles ratio. of course luxury cars cost more to maintain, I am correct, properly maintained BMWs are known for achieving plus 500,000 ks. try a google, help yourself out here.