General Discussion >> Technically Speaking >> Different car manufacturers and their attributes http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1610796459 Message started by Sprintcyclist on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm |
Title: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm Throw in your opinions, mine may differ. Toyota - Their petrol engines are very good, reliable, efficient. Their diesels are questionable. The Automatics they use are good, generally Aisin brand. Overall, great cars, a bit behind the 'curve' in technology. Good for NVH and the real world running. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:33pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm:
Toyota's reliability comes from them being generally conservative in implementing new tech. It's fun driving the stuff with the bleeding edge of tech innovation, but it also bights. I had a car with a very early dual-clutch, of the heartache! |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:45pm
Hyundais/Kia.
Very good. Their petrol engines may not have longevity, their diesels are better. Their Auto transmissions are good - made in house ! |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 16th, 2021 at 10:32pm Peugeot The French panache |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Jan 17th, 2021 at 3:03pm Gordon wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:33pm:
Agree particularly when it comes to trannies |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 3:50pm
That has the ring of truth to it ........
https://forum.australia4wd.com/index.php?/topic/26675-is-the-22r-diesel-motor-reliable-after-250-000km/ |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Mix_Master on Jan 17th, 2021 at 3:56pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm:
I'd question the "questionable" in relation to their diesels... The 1HD-FTE is generally (still) regarded as one of the best T/D I6 engines ever put in a passenger 4WD. The 1VD-FTE is a very good lump, and capable of serious (still under-stressed) power and torque, with a little "fettling". There's a good reason even high kms T/D Landcruisers still go for a stack of money. As someone else mentioned, they don't try and "bite off more than they can chew", eschewing "bleeding edge" for "steadfast reliable". Plenty of Aisin Transmissions floating around in other cars, too. Our 3.2 V6 Grand Vitara has a version of the same A750F transmission used in the 100-series Cruisers in it. As for the Euros...many (very) highly desirable cars in that lot. But would you want to live with one - and their maintenance bills - day-to-day? There's also a good reason many people move them on (for a new one) near or at the end of the warranty period... |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Mix_Master on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:03pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 10:32pm:
Ahhh, yes. French cars. A bloke I knew took a payout from the Public Service years back, and joined an outsourced service provider (providing IT services to his old employer). With part of that payout, he bought himself an expensive Peugeot. Years later, I began using a work-from-home mechanic to help maintain our cars for stuff beyond the basic servicing I'd do. He happened to live next to the bloke mentioned above. Took our car to the mechanic one day, and chanced a glance in the bloke's yard, and there was the Peugeot, effectively abandoned in the front yard with grass growing around it. Apparently, some mega-expensive part had failed, and the cost of obtaining the part and having it R&R'd, outweighed the residual value of the car at the time. By this stage, he'd "moved on" to a Lexus... ;D |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:14pm |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:19pm Mix_Master wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:03pm:
yes, and in Australia getting parts from Europe can be problematic. I was talking to a panel beater, he said he had a newish renault (I think) in his yard for repairs for 3 months. Renault did not even answer his emails. Get a 'normal' car, you get 'normal' repair bills ...... See, we are a weeny market very far away. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bobby. on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:37pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm:
I have many friends who love the Toyota Camry Altise. Reliable and goes forever. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 5:46pm
I think Camry are designed for a demographic of people who are buying it as their last car and it will outlive them :)
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 5:57pm Bobby. wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:37pm:
Mine has 278,000 + kms on it. Runs perfectly well, 4cyl rego, ins and economy, low NVH, spacious. When people talk about high kms on a car, I am thinking over 200,000 kms. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bobby. on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:00pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 5:46pm:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 5:57pm:
They are great cars. I drove a rental one from Melbourne to Albury-Wodonga & back. It was a nice car. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:38pm Bobby. wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:00pm:
They're good reliable cars but a little brown cardigan for me. :) |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by John Smith on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:50pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 5:46pm:
rubbish .. retirees never hang onto the camry for long ... they prefer smaller more fuel efficient cars The Camry is designed for the person who doesn't give a crap about a fancy car, doesn't care about bells and whistles, they just want something that will get them from A to B without any issues. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bobby. on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:55pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:38pm:
I'd like a fast car or motorbike but these days you wouldn't last a week before you lost your license for at least 6 months. With speed cameras on every road and intersection all you can hope to do is drive from A to B with the least hassles possible - both in terms of car maintenance and the cops chasing you. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:59pm John Smith wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:50pm:
You mean old people? The Toyota Camry sedan tends to be the king of cars for oldies. https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/best-cars-for-older-drivers-18797 Younger people see the Camry as an older person's car,'' says Art Spinella, an automotive analysts. "It certainly isn't a youth-market vehicle. That's really Toyota's core problem.'' https://www.autoblog.com/2006/03/27/is-camry-the-new-old-folks-car/ The Toyota Camry has the reputation of being a boring car for old people https://www.wfyi.org/news/articles/toyota-camry-hybrid-is-not-only-your-grandmammas-car |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bobby. on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:10pm
Hi Gordon,
name a more exciting car under $32 K ? |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:22pm Bobby. wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 6:00pm:
Yes. I have hired a brand new large Subaru over in WA. That was pretty nice. I hired a brand new Holden Calais in Vic, that was terrible. I hired a new camry in Auckland, pretty nice too. 'Easiest to drive' - Camry. 'Worst car' - Calais. The Subaru - really 'solid' car. Was higher tech, would not be my choice for a purchase for me. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:24pm Mazdas - probably better than Toyotas. Perhaps more a 'city/drivers' car. Great petrol engines, Aisin transmissions. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:41pm Bobby. wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:10pm:
Probably one of the small SUVs, my pick would be a Mazda CX-30 or one of the Koreans. Don't get me wrong, I like Camrys, I rented a hybrid Camry for a week and it's nice enough, but not for me. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:45pm
Both Porsche and MB have redonkulously high servicing costs, no surprises there, but MB give crap service and try to worm their way out of 'out of warranty issues' while Porsche, provided servicing has been done by the book step up and do the right thing.
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:47pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:27pm:
Are you referring to the Prado DPF fiasco? |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 8:04pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:41pm:
' .............. Mazda CX-30 or one of the Koreans. ........... ' That'ld be about my choices too |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 17th, 2021 at 8:10pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:47pm:
Many car makers have DPF issues. Also seals on injectors that should be changed every few years. If they are not, they can leak and cause other expensive problems. What else ............ oh, yes, Injectors wear and should be replaced about every 100,000 kms. About $1000 per injector. So if you have a diesel V8 - easily $6000. Should replace all high pressure lines too. diesel fuel pump ......... oooooooohhhhhhhhh. Nasty bill. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Ayn Marx on Jan 18th, 2021 at 9:30am
Found this tread intriguing. My much loved Mitsubishi Lancer hatch automatic will soon need replacing. Purchased, would you believe, because it has enough room in the back to accomodate my two large dogs and two who visit. It’s been 100% reliable for 7 years only needing minimal servicing and new tyers. I borrowed a friends VW Golf Wagon for an extended period when they were OS. Hated it. Horrible ride and suspension. The VW agent servicing costs were insane and had to be undertaken with VW as my local mechanic doesn't have the necessary computer gear ( a huge trap with modern cars ) I've test driven electric/petrol and pure electric models when on the mainland, found many of them great to drive. However I've learnt lack of charging stations in Nth Tasmania make them impractical for long trips. I had access to a Mini Cooper long term but found the rear room for my canines and friends not up to scratch. A great car to drive but again being forced to have it serviced with a Mini dealer at insane prices and long distance from home is a real trap. So, that's got me interested in the Mazda CX-30 recommended here. So long as I won't be forced into expensive servicing at a Mazda dealer, there's enough room in the back for the dogs (with the rear seat down)I'll be booking a test drive. Like the look of the Mazda. Too many of today's vehicles look to me as if computer design /graphics in the wrong hands are a curse.
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Jovial Monk on Jan 18th, 2021 at 10:06am
I will be looking for a utility later this year. 1 ton.
Any recommendations? |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by aquascoot on Jan 18th, 2021 at 11:57am
mazda share space with toyota on a lot of development.
both are good. car manufacturers tend to be in an upward spiral or a downward spiral. when they start to go down, they cut corners, quality control falls off, they merge to try to inject capital. i think chrysler , jeep, renault are one unit now and nissan , fiat, peugeot ? and mini and landrover are also merged in some god awful mess. stay away from those lines. honda and toyota and mazda are profitable and have stood the test of time. benz and volvo make great commercial vehicles (trucks), because freight companies demand reliability. but the private consumer is easily tricked with something which is engineered to be expensive to service and maintain (which is where a lot of the profit is). for the 4 wd market. an older hilux or landcruiser is ultra reliable but you will pay. in the new models, the isuzu dmax engine is about as good as you could get as it is a truck engine in essence and you will get super high milage out of it. the tritons is good value for money , often coming in 10 to 15 grand under the hilux or ranger. and there are plenty about and plenty of mechanics who wkow how to work on them, if i was buying a car (and i only buy 4 wd's except for my missus lexus), i would go to a country town, away from the beach and the stop start traffic and look for a 3 to 4 yo vehicle with maybe 110,000 km on it. once they tick over 100,000 kms they plummet in price. if its a country vehicle, they will be mainly highway miles and it wont have rust. you might get it for 1/3 of the new car price and it might still have 3/4 of its life in front of it. then change that oil, filters, fuel filters, trannie and diff oil , coolant REGULarly. in fact, with an older car, you need to do it more often, not less. and you might have a car for 10 or 15 years that will end up costing you very little. and put the savings into real estate |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Belgarion on Jan 18th, 2021 at 11:59am
I find people who have a fetish about cars belong to the same tiny dick mob as the extreme gun worshippers. I don't care about anything but reliability and maybe a few bells and whistles.
To this end I have a Subaru Outback that is comfortable for the long distances I sometimes travel and is able to handle the dirt roads frequent in my part of the country. The only issue I have is the service interval, but it seems that is being addressed in the next model. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by aquascoot on Jan 18th, 2021 at 12:03pm
whats the service interval on one of those?
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Mix_Master on Jan 18th, 2021 at 12:10pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 4:14pm:
No surprise to see the Japanese gear at the top of the "reliability range". As for Bentley...well, if you can afford to buy one, you can presumably afford to (keep) fix(ing) it... |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Mix_Master on Jan 18th, 2021 at 12:20pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:45pm:
I've lusted after a V8 AMG for as long as I can remember. But you have to pick the model (and the "model within the model") to ensure it won't bite you on the arse. My pick of the AMGs? Probably an M113 powered C55. Both the engine and (5-speed) auto are renowned as bullet-proof. Even the M113K in the E55 is basically bullet-proof, but the "E" comes with other bits that can fail (air suspension as an example). And a fair bit of extra size and heft. Now...an M113K driveline transplanted into the C55 body. Now you're talking. In later years, AMG began producing their own engines (rather than "re-tuning" Mercedes ones), and the M156-engined cars came out (C63 etc. Early versions suffered from head bolt issues that could result in VERY expensive repair bills, if not rectified (bolts had to be replaced - itself not a cheap exercise). If you're chasing a bit of fun (although where can you use it these days?) AND reliability, perhaps a 2UR-GSE powered Lexus is the go? (IS-F, GS-F, RC-F, LC500). At least you know they'll last... |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:08pm Gordon wrote on Jan 17th, 2021 at 7:41pm:
A couple of hatches would be under that too |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:28pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:08pm:
I was trying to keep it in cars that would probably in the same ballpark as a Camry. I can see someone going from Camry to a small SUV but probably not a hatch. Another contender would be Skoda Octavia, and way under $32 |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Belgarion on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:50pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 12:03pm:
Six months or every 12,500 k. Way too frequent. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 18th, 2021 at 2:26pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 11:57am:
And then we have Mitsubishi. I've rented an Outlander (yuck) and a ASX (yuckx2). They're just so harsh and lack refinement. My next car is still about 2 years away. Daughter will get wifes car and I'm done with Euro, got that schit totally out of my system :) I want a big arse SUV so I might pick up a 2nd hand Hyundai Palisade which has just hit the market. Seen the sze of those MoFos? |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Jan 18th, 2021 at 2:27pm Belgarion wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:50pm:
I like Scoobies but 6 month intervals = getting tricked by a business. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by aquascoot on Jan 18th, 2021 at 2:50pm Gordon wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 2:27pm:
has that got a boxer engine and AWD? either way, i sort of look at things a bit differently. a lot of cars now offer "fixed price servicing" and i think they cut corners and dont do enough!!. oil is cheap, fuel filters are cheap, air filters are cheap, coolant is cheap. and things like leaving dirty coolant (which you can easily drain and replace for $60) leaves grit in the coolant that eats away at the head gasket and then you blow a head and are up for $5000. same with a fuel filter, $50 or so and it might save you $2000 on a set of injectors (or $ 2000 PER INJECTOR on a BMW) . anyone can learn to change all those fluids and filters. and why trust a dealer who has some dopey kid who smokes dope and is on minimum wage , putting the oil filter back on with 2 o rings. if you can find a car with a timing chain (so you arent up for $1500 every 100,000 km) and if you change your fluids regular, you might double the mileage you get. and that might save you literally 100,000 bucks if you only have to buy 1/2 as many cars during your motoring life. having said that subarus are interesting cars. they have the best AWD system |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Frank on Jan 18th, 2021 at 3:42pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 16th, 2021 at 9:45pm:
That's what my mechanic said - they are relatively simple and so they are reliable and cheap to service. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by aquascoot on Jan 18th, 2021 at 4:39pm Frank wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 3:42pm:
fantastic cars if you garage them and dont put too many miles on them. as a urban runabout, a good choice. they do have quite a lot of plastic connecting brake cylinders and water pumps and hoses . now thats a problem if they get a lot of miles on them as those parts dont like prolonged australian tropical abuse and can be difficult to get to and you need really really little korean hands to work on them yourself, so that you often have to pay for labour to do a relatively simple thing. korean engines arent quite as good as honda and toyota engines but they represent great value for money. because an i 20 is half the price of a mazda CX5, you can drive it for 7 years and go buy another one and do another 7 and i doubt your CX5 will still be going strong in 14 years |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 8:11am |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by tickleandrose on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:08pm
This is an opinion from an experienced mechanic family friend. There are two recommendations:
1. Mercedes, they are about 2 to 3 years ahead of other brands like Audi, BMW inn terms of engine technology. 2. Toyota. Mass produced car, they've got the balance right between quality and cost. And parts are easier and cheaper to get than European brands. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:21pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 8:11am:
Car of choice for a manchild. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:22pm Gordon wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:21pm:
Well more for what my actual requirements are. 1. I am not a tradie, so don't need a 1 tonne ute. 2.Need something with a bit of off road ability and tray for storing stuff. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:24pm
Besides I find it intersting given that the size of these new baby utes is really only going to be what the utes 20 years ago were.
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:26pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:22pm:
What could you fit in there that you couldn't fit in/on a Forester |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:27pm Gordon wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:26pm:
About the same, its more about mud etc, easier to clean the tray in a ute then inside a4wd |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:32pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:27pm:
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:33pm Gordon wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:32pm:
Its amazing how water runs off one of those in a car and wets the actual car. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Gordon on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:37pm tickleandrose wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:08pm:
Merc, yeah you really want a warranty. Merc make you fight tooth and nail for stuff done outside of warranty (claiming goodwill/statutory warranty) Merc has recently moved to a 5 year warranty and their lease options are still 2 years, so in 18 months or so there will be 2nd hand Mercs with 3 years factory warranty. Of course that will support the used price unlike now where Merc values plummet post warranty. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Bojack Horseman on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:38pm
Unless you buy the Merc X class, cause its just a Nissan.
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 8:46pm Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 8:11am:
Yes, this one looks REALLY good https://www.carsguide.com.au/car-news/is-the-baby-ford-ranger-the-next-big-thing-why-lifestyle-utes-look-set-for-a-comeback-with?utm_source=cg&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=theguide |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 8:48pm tickleandrose wrote on Feb 2nd, 2021 at 2:08pm:
I'ld pretty agree with that. Prefer Toyota petrols to diesels, if you want a diesel, look at Hyundai. Oh - Mazdas are in the running too. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Wolseley on Feb 7th, 2021 at 2:41pm Gordon wrote on Jan 18th, 2021 at 1:28pm:
I've had an Octavia (station wagon) for the last 5 years and it's proved to be an excellent, reliable and unbelievably economical car to run. The servicing costs are also low for a present day car. If I had to get a new car tomorrow would I buy one again? Most definitely yes. |
Title: Re: Different car manufacturers and their attributes Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 13th, 2021 at 6:21pm Wolseley wrote on Feb 7th, 2021 at 2:41pm:
Good review - thanks |