Member Run Boards >> Spirituality >> Happy pagan fertility festival
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1555728616

Message started by The_Barnacle on Apr 20th, 2019 at 12:50pm

Title: Happy pagan fertility festival
Post by The_Barnacle on Apr 20th, 2019 at 12:50pm
On Easter Sunday, a bunny will deliver chocolate eggs to many households across Australia.

Have you ever wondered how this seemingly bizarre tradition came to be?

Well, it turns out Easter actually began as a pagan festival celebrating spring in the Northern Hemisphere, long before the advent of Christianity.

n 325AD the first major church council, the Council of Nicaea, determined that Easter should fall on the Sunday following the first full moon after the spring equinox.

Many of the pagan customs associated with the celebration of spring eventually became absorbed within Christianity as symbols of the resurrection of Jesus.

The custom of decorating hard-boiled eggs or blown eggs is still a very popular folk custom."

Rabbits and hares are also associated with fertility and were symbols linked to the goddess Eostre.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-15/the-origins-of-easter-from-pagan-roots-to-chocolate-eggs/8440134

Title: Re: Happy pagan fertility festival
Post by Captain Nemo on Apr 20th, 2019 at 1:39pm
Yay for the Pagans!  8-)

Title: Re: Happy bogan fertility festival
Post by Gordon on Apr 20th, 2019 at 2:06pm
Happy bogan fertility festival

http://bathurst6hour.com.au/news-2019-date

Post by Captain Nemo on Apr 20th, 2019 at 2:15pm

Post by PZ547 on Apr 20th, 2019 at 2:20pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Apr 20th, 2019 at 2:15pm:

Sad but true

It's sad

Post by Xavier on Jun 19th, 2022 at 9:50pm
Zarathustrianism was the first to use the latest invention of Writing (innovated by the Priests of Ur who worshipped the Moon known as 'Sin' for inspiration... hence 'Sin-ur') to push its narrative.
Zarathustrianism borrowed nearly all of its work from local Pagan myths and legends.
...from Zarathustrianism sprang its 3 sons: Judaism, Christianity and Mohommedism - all three based upon 'Paganism'.

Post by Lisa on Jun 19th, 2022 at 9:56pm

Jasin wrote on Jun 19th, 2022 at 9:50pm:
Zarathustrianism was the first to use the latest invention of Writing (innovated by the Priests of Ur who worshipped the Moon known as 'Sin' for inspiration... hence 'Sin-ur') to push its narrative.

Zarathustrianism borrowed nearly all of its work from local Pagan myths and legends.
...from Zarathustrianism sprang its 3 sons: Judaism, Christianity and Mohommedism - all three based upon 'Paganism'.

Not true for Judaism or Christianity <--- the 1st Christians were NOT Catholics!

Islam - yes
Catholicism - yes

Post by Xavier on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:37am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 19th, 2022 at 9:56pm:

Not true for Judaism or Christianity <--- the 1st Christians were NOT Catholics!

Islam - yes
Catholicism - yes

No trying to escape via little minor details and technicalities Lisa.

Orthodox
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
        Catholic --------------------- Protestant
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                           Paganism

Christianity
                                I
                                I
                                I
Mohommedism-----------------Judaism
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                   Zarathustrianism

...you are 'all' in it together and 'created' by a Pagan God. ;) ;D

Post by FutureTheLeftWant on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:40am

The_Barnacle wrote on Apr 20th, 2019 at 12:50pm:
On Easter Sunday, a bunny will deliver chocolate eggs to many households across Australia.

Have you ever wondered how this seemingly bizarre tradition came to be?

Well, it turns out Easter actually began as a pagan festival celebrating spring in the Northern Hemisphere, long before the advent of Christianity.

n 325AD the first major church council, the Council of Nicaea, determined that Easter should fall on the Sunday following the first full moon after the spring equinox.

Many of the pagan customs associated with the celebration of spring eventually became absorbed within Christianity as symbols of the resurrection of Jesus.

The custom of decorating hard-boiled eggs or blown eggs is still a very popular folk custom."

Rabbits and hares are also associated with fertility and were symbols linked to the goddess Eostre.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-04-15/the-origins-of-easter-from-pagan-roots-to-chocolate-eggs/8440134

I thought everyone knew that.  Rabbits and eggs.  It's a fck festival

Post by Lisa on Jun 20th, 2022 at 9:38pm

Jasin wrote on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:37am:

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 19th, 2022 at 9:56pm:

Islam - yes
Catholicism - yes

No trying to escape via little minor details and technicalities Lisa.

Orthodox
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
        Catholic --------------------- Protestant
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                                  I
                           Paganism

Christianity
                                I
                                I
                                I
Mohommedism-----------------Judaism
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                                I
                   Zarathustrianism

...you are 'all' in it together and 'created' by a Pagan God. ;) ;D

Jason....your diagrams are incorrect.

Jesus Christ did not start an Orthodox or Catholic Church. The first Christian church had nothing to do with these 2 religious institutions which are man made AND definitely based on paganism.

Post by Xavier on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:09pm
They are 'all' DESCENDED like DNA bloodlines - from PAGANISM Lisa.

Trying to make oneself 'holier than thou' with 'technicalities' in little paragraphs, sentences and anything else pedantic enough to fall short of the big picture - never works.

Pagan stories around the world and middle-east.
Then writing in created by the Pagan priests of Ur who worshipped 'Sin' the moon and used for 'logistical' reasons.
Zarathustrianism is born upon the collection of and reworking of, local Pagan stories, legends, myths collected over time and correlated into the first 'religion'.
Judaism is born from Zarathustrianism.
Christianity is born from Judaism.
Mohommedism is born from Christianity.

Religion is descended from Paganisms
like Humans are from monkeys.

Post by Lisa on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:42pm

Jasin wrote on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:09pm:

Trying to make oneself 'holier than thou' with 'technicalities' in little paragraphs, sentences and anything else pedantic enough to fall short of the big picture - never works.

Then writing in created by the Pagan priests of Ur who worshipped 'Sin' the moon and used for 'logistical' reasons.
Zarathustrianism is born upon the collection of and reworking of, local Pagan stories, legends, myths collected over time and correlated into the first 'religion'.

No. There are too many mistakes in your post.

In the beginning we had Theism. Paganism came later.

Judaism did not evolve into Christianity.

That's why these 2 remain distinctive to this day.

Re Christianity I most certainly do NOT mean Orthodoxy or Catholicism...I mean Christian
as per the first Christian church which Jesus Christ himself initiated.

Orthodoxy and its 1st cousin Catholicism ARE pagan based. They have an appearance of Christianity but are very anti Scriptural religions. The Protestant reformation was an opportunity to get back to the true and initial Christian church (the one which Jesus Christ himself initiated).

Bottom line? Religion is like politics ie there are splinter groups left right and centre and these are set up to control people and .... their money.

Jesus Christ and Christianity has nothing in common with such hypocritical institutions.

Islam has nothing in common with Christianity. Nothing at all. Islam is a separate religious institution started by a guy who experienced some hallucination after which he felt compelled to normalise and reward child sex abuse and domestic violence as well as polygamy and the murder of one's enemies. Islam does not use the Holy Bible. It can't. Why? Its teachings based on Mohammed contradict what the Holy Bible teaches. Instead they use the Koran which essentially lists the teachings of Mohammed their leader.

In a similar way...a guy by the name of Joseph Smith had some weird hallucination/experience. After that experience he started the Mormon movement which has since experienced heaps of issues and has split many times. He too was into child sex abuse and polygamy etc. The Holy Bible is not used by Mormons either. Why? It can't because their teachings contradict what is written in the Holy Bible. They use a separate holy book based on the visions of their founder's hallucinations.

Christianity alone is based on Jesus Christ and it was Jesus Christ who started the 1st Christian church. In Jerusalem. After He rose from the dead.

• Look I get that you're not a Christian and that's fine. I'm married to a guy who's not a Christian (that's hard for me as I want to see him in Heaven with me one day. Our spiritual journeys are very unique. And different. I wish for this : that we could all see things regarding God through the eyes of his Son Jesus Christ and that we could all get to Heaven. That's not going to happen. Why? We are all different and we have the free will to exercise our freedom and difference of opinion. Many people on OzPol simply don't believe God exists. I'm not here to convince them that God does exist. That's not my job. IF they wish to believe that's a matter for them to sort out. Ok?i

Post by Xavier on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:15am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:42pm:

Jasin wrote on Jun 20th, 2022 at 11:09pm:

No. There are too many mistakes in your post.

In the beginning we had Theism. Paganism came later.

I'm sorry Lisa. I feel like I just broke your hymen of innocence.
We live on a very small and 'limited' world of outcomes.
Where everything does come to an 'equality' in the end and the world you see around you now is a failure to reach that equality.
Where external stimulation is limited in experience like a unreachable world 500,000 light years away... in the past.

Sadly your 'Religions' are but echoes of a past that was Paganistic right around the world and right up to the 'Sinners' creating 'Writing' upon the Temple of Ur under the gaze of Sin in all her tidal movements of beauty in which they worshipped for inspiration and they were answered.

Writing was used for the logistical requirements of harvests, weather, the Moon herself, tides, storage of grains and more.
The fact that you could say that Zarathustra used writing to exploit the Paganisms of old into something newer gave birth to 'yours' and other Religions of 'bloodlines' and the immortality that writing had now given them.

God is nothing more than a manifestation of what we perceive as humans via all that we experience in this very small and as you now see, 'limited' world. Even Science can't break that rule beyond just lying without limitation - but that's Satan at work, isn't it? ;)

God is nothing more than a book on a shelf in a Library.
Sorry.

Here, maybe this nice 'Greek' adaption by Dead Can Dance will help.
https://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=dead+can+dance&&view=detail&mid=408E528DE031C1BA8B8C408E528DE031C1BA8B8C&&FORM=VRDGAR&ru=%2Fvideos%2Fsearch%3Fq%3Ddead%2520can%2520dance%26qs%3Dn%26form%3DQBVR%26%3D%2525eManage%2520Your%2520Search%2520History%2525E%26sp%3D-1%26pq%3Ddead%2520can%2520dance%26sc%3D8-14%26sk%3D%26cvid%3DDC46454C4ED9469D90C0FF24AA4BC70B

Post by Xavier on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:27am
What Germany did to the Jews, the Moslems will do to the French... as we see the European nations 'forfeit' their Christian pasts regardless of 'styles' (Catholic, Orthodox, Protestantism).
For as Hitler got revenge for Jesus against the Jews.
France will burn and produce a Messiah for the Moslems, so that they may forgive and put down their weapon of 'Empire' that their prophet gave rise to.

And as the Moslems wander like the Jews of old
And the Jews make an Empire like the Moslems of old.

Italy will genocide the unarmed Moslems and the Moslems will cry to Allah to save them, but their cries fall upon deaf ears around the world... except one peoples - the Israelis.
Suddenly the Mafia-Vatican alliance is attacked by the world's most lethal new 'Empire' and 'destroyed'. Another 'Christian' nation gone.
Only Britain remains. Germany, France and Italy - gone as a Religious nation.
Of course, poor Britain has to face up to a now 'unified' Islam/Israel known as 'Istari' (the Star between the two pillars of heaven: I-star-I) and come before them both.
But Britain is different, it's colonies 'replaced' it and thus Britain dies upon its own cross. ;)
...like an old story of the past. ;)

It's a small world Lisa and Religion (God) is like just one region out of many here.

Post by Xavier on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:28am
Like I said. I may be 'down under'.
...but I'm also a 'day ahead'  :-*

Post by Lisa on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:51am
Jason...I have now finished editing my earlier comment. (Sorry but I am watching a Foxtel program and looking at what my Facebook group is up to).

Look I'm not going to get into an argument with you over this topic. Let me explain why. I am married to a guy who is Agnostic. He used to be an Atheist but now he's in limbo ie Agnostic. He's not sure.

The problem in our marriage is that he is nowhere near being sure whereas I have no trouble knowing that I'm sure about God etc. Our spiritual journeys are sooo different. I have done everything humanly possible to make him understand why I'm an avid believer in God and in His Word - the Holy Bible. It's hurting me no end that his inability to believe may well mean I'll get to Heaven without him. I just can't get through to him to see what I can effortlessly see. So I've handed the situation over to God. And Ive told my husband to ask God to make Himself known to him. The Bible clearly states : Seek and you will find. I pray a lot for the guy because he has the kindest heart. If ever there was an OzPol meet up you would instantly like him. Unlike me lol he's easy to get on with. He is also highly respected and regarded in our family, neighbourhood and in the workplace.

My response to you Jason is the same ie ask God to make Himself known to you. Only God will be able to convince you of His existence and of His power through a living Word called the Holy Bible.

I'm not trying to be holier than thou .... although I probably do come across that way at times I suppose. In all honesty though I'm just a flawed human being who has learned a lot through faith and prayer ie through much trouble and pain. I've personally experienced miracles. 2 miracles in particular explain why I'm alive today. Anyway ... I'm hoping this post puts things in context.

Post by Lisa on Jun 21st, 2022 at 1:09am

Jasin wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:27am:
What Germany did to the Jews, the Moslems will do to the French... as we see the European nations 'forfeit' their Christian pasts regardless of 'styles' (Catholic, Orthodox, Protestantism).
For as Hitler got revenge for Jesus against the Jews.
France will burn and produce a Messiah for the Moslems, so that they may forgive and put down their weapon of 'Empire' that their prophet gave rise to.

And as the Moslems wander like the Jews of old
And the Jews make an Empire like the Moslems of old.

Italy will genocide the unarmed Moslems and the Moslems will cry to Allah to save them, but their cries fall upon deaf ears around the world... except one peoples - the Israelis.
Suddenly the Mafia-Vatican alliance is attacked by the world's most lethal new 'Empire' and 'destroyed'. Another 'Christian' nation gone.
Only Britain remains. Germany, France and Italy - gone as a Religious nation.
Of course, poor Britain has to face up to a now 'unified' Islam/Israel known as 'Istari' (the Star between the two pillars of heaven: I-star-I) and come before them both.
But Britain is different, it's colonies 'replaced' it and thus Britain dies upon its own cross. ;)
...like an old story of the past. ;)

It's a small world Lisa and Religion (God) is like just one region out of many here.

I'm not sure that I agree with much of your post. It's mainly conjecture in any event.

We will continue to see much trouble on our planet because people are evil, selfish and abusive. Unfortunately things will only get worse. The Bible talks of an end to such an evil lifestyle/system. Cheers.

Post by FutureTheLeftWant on Jun 21st, 2022 at 7:52am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 1:09am:
We will continue to see much trouble on our planet because people are evil, selfish and abusive. Unfortunately things will only get worse. The Bible talks of an end to such an evil lifestyle/system. Cheers.

I agree right wing filth are all garbage and a threat to society.  I am astonished that you're so illiterate, you think your views and attitudes are in any way compatible with Christianity.  If Jesus was alive today he'd support the Greens

Post by FutureTheLeftWant on Jun 21st, 2022 at 7:53am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:51am:
Jason...I have now finished editing my earlier comment. (Sorry but I am watching a Foxtel program and looking at what my Facebook group is up to).

Look I'm not going to get into an argument with you over this topic. Let me explain why. I am married to a guy who is Agnostic. He used to be an Atheist but now he's in limbo ie Agnostic. He's not sure.

The problem in our marriage is that he is nowhere near being sure whereas I have no trouble knowing that I'm sure about God etc. Our spiritual journeys are sooo different. I have done everything humanly possible to make him understand why I'm an avid believer in God and in His Word - the Holy Bible. It's hurting me no end that his inability to believe may well mean I'll get to Heaven without him. I just can't get through to him to see what I can effortlessly see. So I've handed the situation over to God. And Ive told my husband to ask God to make Himself known to him. The Bible clearly states : Seek and you will find. I pray a lot for the guy because he has the kindest heart. If ever there was an OzPol meet up you would instantly like him. Unlike me lol he's easy to get on with. He is also highly respected and regarded in our family, neighbourhood and in the workplace.

My response to you Jason is the same ie ask God to make Himself known to you. Only God will be able to convince you of His existence and of His power through a living Word called the Holy Bible.

I'm not trying to be holier than thou .... although I probably do come across that way at times I suppose. In all honesty though I'm just a flawed human being who has learned a lot through faith and prayer ie through much trouble and pain. I've personally experienced miracles. 2 miracles in particular explain why I'm alive today. Anyway ... I'm hoping this post puts things in context.

I am not sure what I believe any more.  Jesus was a left wing radical with a powerful message. But if God is real, why are the churches full of hateful right wing scum? I am not sure, but I left the church years ago because I hate racism and ignorance.

Post by Lisa on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:37pm

Jasin wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:28am:

Huh?

Post by Linus on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:53pm

FutureTheLeftWant wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 7:53am:

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 12:51am:

I am not sure what I believe any more.  Jesus was a left wing radical with a powerful message. But if God is real, why are the churches full of hateful right wing scum? I am not sure, but I left the church years ago because I hate racism and ignorance.

And the irony is that the "right wing scum" think they have a ticket to heaven. It appears to me that if there is any truth to the Christian ontology, they've been deceived by their boss, Lucifer.

Post by FutureTheLeftWant on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:53pm

Linus wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:53pm:
And the irony is that the "right wing scum" think they have a ticket to heaven. It appears to me that if there is any truth to the Christian ontology, they've been deceived by their boss, Lucifer.

Spot on.  The biggest lie the Devil tells people is that they are saved

Post by Xavier on Jun 21st, 2022 at 5:08pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:37pm:

Huh?

I'm going to PM you something as I do like you but I don't want to compromise you (or your faith) and/or embarress you. Let me know what you think sweets.

Post by FutureTheLeftWant on Jun 21st, 2022 at 5:12pm

Jasin wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 5:08pm:

Lisa Jones wrote on Jun 21st, 2022 at 3:37pm:

Huh?

I'm going to PM you something as I do like you but I don't want to compromise you (or your faith) and/or embarress you. Let me know what you think sweets.

I reckon she believes anal is a sin, I am afraid....

Post by Xavier on Jun 21st, 2022 at 5:46pm
<IGNORED>

Post by Jake Winker Frogen on Sep 1st, 2022 at 12:10pm
What happened when Dionysius went to the AA meeting?

A drunken orgy broke out.

Post by freediver on Dec 10th, 2023 at 4:55pm
This Topic was moved here from Atheism by freediver.