Member Run Boards >> Finance and Economics >> Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1550708298 Message started by Sir lastnail on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am |
Title: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am
Things have been very quiet since the banks got a serve and no longer throw money at fools to buy old houses and junk apartments. Foreign investment into property deals has dropped by 58% I hear. The spill on effect is starting to bite with not much disposable income to throw around and that will effect the rest of the economy. It's a problem when your whole economy is based on a deck of cards and a ponzi scheme.
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by red baron on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:33am
Forecasts on Sunrise this morning
The Economist predicted that Sydney house prices could fall a further 25% this year Should that occur there will be a recession Like someone else said, you can almost feel it in the air Spending is flat and people are pulling back. It is a self realising prophecy The economy is all about confidence and it's long time now since Sydney was gangbuster capital of house prices Buckle up and conserve your money because here it comes |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:38am red baron wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:33am:
Oh, red ::) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by .JaSin. on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:43am
Bring it down!!!
56cc3adb47b8f6cab5ba92cd5305f406.jpg (25 KB | 60
) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by red baron on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:44am
It was an economist on Sunrise Gregg, I don't recall his name but the item did in fact occur..Do you have a problem with that?
Incidentally I predicted the start of the Dropoff in the real estate market way long before it occurred and I predicted it on this forum I will also go on record as saying that I agree with the economist, we are borderline on recession now We are in fact almost on flatline now with growth in our economy, it's only a matter of time before we tip |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:50am red baron wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:44am:
I agree, there's a possibility of a global recession this year. I just find it incredibly sad that you get your information from a TV show like Sunrise. Stop watching garbage like that red - your brain will thank you. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:54am red baron wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:44am:
It's what happens when you keep throwing good money after bad at property deals and letting manufacturing go to waste :( |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by .JaSin. on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:57am greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:50am:
Stop trying to be an intellectual snob on 'sources' Peckerhead. ::) The Sunrise program is also a part of the 'Big Picture'. ;) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:59am Jasin wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:57am:
The Sunrise program is part of the problem. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by .JaSin. on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:03am greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:59am:
NO. YOU ARE! ::) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by 56 44 on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:09am
2018 was the car industry's worst on record since the 60s , this is what an uninspiring government that makes sure your wages stay low does
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:10am red baron wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:33am:
I saw that - a whopping 25% drop. Time to save your money and wait for bargain. :) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:19am Its time wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:09am:
and makes you make up for it with more credit cards :( |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Fit of Absent Mindeness on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:30am
It's already here - wages haven't grown, people have too much debt and house prices are declining.
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bam on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:53am
The economic downturn is inevitable, and the warning signs have been there for a few years. The key indicator is household savings. Rising costs and stagnant wages have forced households to run down their savings, and when these run out they have to cut back spending. When this happens, the economy must falter.
Other economic measures have pointed to a weakening economy such as declining house prices. The Coalition can be rightfully blamed for causing this. They have been actively driving down wages by flooding the economy with foreign workers, restricting the ability of unions to negotiate better wages for workers, ignoring rampant wage theft, and persecuting the unemployed in various ways so as to make workers fear unemployment more. They have been putting out forecasts in every Budget that claim wages will rise, but all of these Budget predictions have been optimistic projections made up out of nothing. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by cods on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:05pm Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am:
I am sure you are thrilled and cant wait for it all to turn into reality....dont forget along with a down turn in investing goes jobs...a LOT OF JOBS...maybe you know someone who will lose their job.....because no one is buying. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:08pm Bam wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 11:53am:
Exactly! |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:52pm
I thought it is already a recession. I feel a great depression coming on (or a big war)
Spot |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 21st, 2019 at 1:27pm cods wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:05pm:
Most of those jobs lost will be dumbarse tradies, realestate scumbags and property developers who have had it good for too long chiseling borrowed money out of them :( Many other sectors of the economy did not benefit from this government sponsored housing and immigration ponzi scheme. I will be glad to see it dismantled and Australia take a good dose of reality ! It wasn't so long ago that you were gloating about the prospect of selling your house to the highest foreign bidder whilst you expected the young locals who were priced out of the market to keep going to work so their taxes could pay for your pension. Looks like you might have missed the boat ;) And less money to spend means more will be shopping at Aldis. ;) |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by .JaSin. on Feb 21st, 2019 at 1:28pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 12:52pm:
YOU'RE SPOT ON THERE MATE! |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:56am
With china blocking our coal exports a recession is inevitable. We are no better than a country like Brazil :(
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by red baron on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 1:33pm
We are way better than Brazil
There was a time I remember as a kid when Australia rode home on the 'sheeps back" Don't get hung up on our need for China This Country is bountiful We will never run out of food nor the essentials How do you think early settlers got by? But......China sure as hell will run out of coal |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Valkie on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:22pm
In all honesty
It seems a little strange Both parties are trying everything, not to be elected, while pretending they want to be elected. The last time a party went to this much trouble to avoid being elected, we had the GFC. I reckon something is coming And it's going to be nasty And neither party wants to be in power when it hits. Mark my words. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Big Pumpkin on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:51pm Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am:
I have been through a couple of meltdowns and a recession or two , And to be honest i cant say I've really noticed any of them ,, |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Frank on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:18am:
Yeah, if Labor gets in, it will happen. Otherwise - nah. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Big Pumpkin on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:57pm Frank wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm:
You are on the money there Frankie . Those pink f@rks will kill the economy |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Ye Grappler on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 6:03pm Frank wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm:
A certainty if we keep either....... we've been there for years already. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:33pm red baron wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 1:33pm:
Now we are riding the back of the mineral boom. Like sheep it won't last forever and then what is the next rabbit they will pull out of their hat ? The problem with aussies is they tend to run the country as a casino and rely on luck for good fortune rather than plan a proper future. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:34pm Frank wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 5:54pm:
It won't matter if it's Labor or liberal. They are just two sides of the same coin. We have no powder left in the gun and are just relying on luck to get us by. The luck is fast running out. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 1:45pm Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 22nd, 2019 at 9:56am:
Maybe it's a conspiracy? The Chinese want to wreck our economy so they can buy everything cheaply - houses businesses? |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by perceptions_now on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 6:54pm
Those whom HAD THE RESPONSIBILITY, to run the Local/Global Economy, had things easy for quite some time (About 200 years), because the Major underlying factors, which pretty mauch ensured Economic Growth, were actually in a "Fairytale" situation for some 200 years!
Those factors being - 1) Demographics 2) Energy 3) Positive/Fairytale Climate All of the Positivity has now "Evaporated" and Economic events have begun to side, DOWN! We are now entering a period (Have already entered), when ALL THOSE WHO MAKE DECISIONS, at the Local & Global levels, should have started making decisions for the "Long Term Good of All", BUT THEY DID NOT & THAT HAS & WILL BE REFLECTED IN WHAT IS NOW AHEAD! WE will ALL HAVE TO VIEW THINGS DIFFERENTLY, BECAUSE THOSE 3 MAJOR FACTORS HAVE NOW CHANGED! |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:18pm perceptions_now wrote on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 6:54pm:
The Govts. allowed too many immigrants from countries where the people couln't assimilate in Australia - uneducated rabble that no one in the world wanted and we accepted them. Now we'll pay a heavy price both in terms of crime and huge social security bills. Also - we just don't have the infrastructure to support that many people - the roads are congested - the Monash freeway - the main road of Melbourne is a car park for 5 hours a day - the hospitals can't cope - 1 and 2 year waiting list are normal for operations etc. There aren't enough dentists and the ones who do that work charge like wounded bulls and get away with it. Our health and our wealth will disappear quickly. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by .JaSin. on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:28pm
Yep.
Australia used to be a place of QUALITY Even Sydney and Melbourne could live up to that standard. But then after 2000. Australia 'Sold Out' and QUANTITY was the name of the game. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:31pm
Norway Looks to Strip 1,600 Migrants of Refugee Status, Send Them Back to Somalia.
https://www.breitbart.com/europe/2018/09/05/norway-looks-strip-1600-somalis-refugee-status-send-somalia/ The Norwegian government has come under fire from pro-migrant groups after announcing it would be removing refugee status from some 1,600 Somalians and sending them back to Somalia, noting the situation in the country had improved. The Norwegian government has said that Somalia now has a more stable government and the refugees no longer need the protection of the Norwegian state, Nettavisen reports. Several pro-asylum seeker groups have spoken out against the move accusing the government of breaking international asylum rules, such as the Norwegian Organization for Asylum Seekers (NOAS) which argued that the conditions in Somali have not changed enough to justify stripping the migrants of refugee status. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:33pm Jasin wrote on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:28pm:
We could always take those 1600 Somalis - that would help them? |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Feb 24th, 2019 at 11:10am Bobby. wrote on Feb 23rd, 2019 at 7:33pm:
How to deal with Somalians https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1NKdAxN5jJI |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Bobby. on Feb 24th, 2019 at 11:25am Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 24th, 2019 at 11:10am:
No way Nail - the Labor party will welcome them here - the more that arrive the more votes the Labor party gets. Import Labor voters. They'll get a pile of money, free medical & dental - they'll be on easy street. We have to pay for it as taxpayers - there's no choice on our tax return. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Dnarever on Feb 24th, 2019 at 11:37am red baron wrote on Feb 21st, 2019 at 10:44am:
If Koch is still hosting Sunrise he is an economist, a very ordinary one but he is qualified. |
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Sir lastnail on Mar 6th, 2019 at 1:23pm
Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ?
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 6th, 2019 at 1:31pm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zl5xnTqOQqQ
Title: Re: Can anyone else feel a recession coming on ? Post by Captain Nemo on Mar 6th, 2019 at 1:36pm Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 6th, 2019 at 1:23pm:
Yes, and it will be fast-tracked by Bowen / Shorten. >:( |