Member Run Boards >> Environment >> It's Getting Warmer ? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1527051111 Message started by perceptions_now on May 23rd, 2018 at 2:51pm |
Title: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by perceptions_now on May 23rd, 2018 at 2:51pm
Well, it is getting warmer, depending on where you may be !?
So, here in Perth, we have been "warmer than usual", until now! I know this because yesterday, my wife & I took our dog to the beach, because it has still been around 27/28c & we thought the dog & ourselves would enjoy "a nice walk along the beach"! And, we did, until we had finished the beach walk & started up the Concrete path, back to the car park. About half way up the path, I saw another man & his dog walking down the path, when suddenly I also saw a "Brown Snake" slithering out onto the path, just behind the other man & his dog! I yelled at the man, that there was a snake & he grabbed his dog, as soon as he saw the snake, then he grabbed his mobile phone and took a few pictures of the snake. So, the warmer weather is good, But it can also bring out "a few unexpected arrivals", PARTICULARLY UNEXPECTED AT THIS TIME OF YEAR! |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Jovial Monk on May 23rd, 2018 at 3:14pm
Last 400 months have all been warmer than usual.
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by lee on May 23rd, 2018 at 3:34pm Jovial Monk wrote on May 23rd, 2018 at 3:14pm:
What is "usual"? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 23rd, 2018 at 4:38pm perceptions_now wrote on May 23rd, 2018 at 2:51pm:
It's been caused by a High pressure system which has been sitting in the Bight for nearly 2 weeks. Whilst it has been giving WA glorious warm Autumn weather it has been giving Melbourne miserable grey and wet weather. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Unforgiven on May 23rd, 2018 at 4:40pm lee wrote on May 23rd, 2018 at 3:34pm:
Events while lee is asleep or unconscious. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 23rd, 2018 at 4:41pm
Winter has arrived early in Melbourne.
It's enough to freeze the balls off a brass monkey. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Unforgiven on May 23rd, 2018 at 4:46pm Bobby. wrote on May 23rd, 2018 at 4:41pm:
You are safe Bobby. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gnads on May 23rd, 2018 at 8:49pm
You & he kindred spirits? ;D
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by UnSubRocky on May 24th, 2018 at 1:14am
A cold night the last few nights -- but nothing outrageously cold. Going to be warmer for the next few nights. But I still expect a cold winter -- more than usual.
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 24th, 2018 at 8:44am UnSubRocky wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 1:14am:
Why? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by aquascoot on May 24th, 2018 at 8:52am
global warming is most probably a real phenomenom.
the fact that you will die one day is also a real phenomenom. niether of these 2 problems are solvable. not really. the very fact of human existence is at the root cause of both. what should we be doing to try to fix the problem of global warming. the answer is probably nothing. imagine you were sitting in a military helicopter and it was spiralling out of control. now thats a problem. but is pulling out a hammer and banging on the engine likely to help. not really. you cant fix some problems those with no humility think you can more fools them you just have to accept that it is going to happen and then adapt in the best way you can. but for all the loons that want to bang on the spiralling military helicopter with a hammer, you are just wasting your f*ing time . learn some humility |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 24th, 2018 at 4:24pm aquascoot wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 8:52am:
Have a look at the Environment forum. There is a whole side of politics that is living in denial |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 24th, 2018 at 4:59pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 4:24pm:
And a whole lot of gullible people who believe everything on channel 9 news. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 24th, 2018 at 9:28pm Bobby. wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 4:59pm:
I don't watch TV Bobby. It's 6 days off winter and I'm sitting barefoot wearing a t-shirt and jeans in an uninsulated sleep-out with the windows open. 21:28 an 10.2c. Hardly freezing let alone an ice age. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 24th, 2018 at 9:41pm Setanta wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 9:28pm:
Northern NSW is not that far from the tropics. It's hardly surprising that it's not as cold as Melbourne. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by UnSubRocky on May 24th, 2018 at 10:09pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 8:44am:
Cyclical weather. Warm winters, followed by cool winters the next year. Antarctic cold being dragged up using the elongated high-pressure system. Perhaps more rain during this winter that will bring about a cold, dry aftermath. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 24th, 2018 at 10:13pm Bobby. wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 9:41pm:
No ice age for me? I'm down with that. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 24th, 2018 at 10:21pm UnSubRocky wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:09pm:
So you are just guessing Or perhaps as gullible as Bobby and the mechanic |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by lee on May 24th, 2018 at 10:26pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:21pm:
The same as climate predictions. Most studies use RCP 8.5. Which is not a real world scenario. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 24th, 2018 at 10:35pm Setanta wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:13pm:
It will be interesting to hear your winter weather reports. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 24th, 2018 at 10:38pm Bobby. wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:35pm:
Yes bobby - WEATHER You still don't know the difference between local weather and global climate |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 24th, 2018 at 10:41pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:38pm:
Cold weather - record cold events on gigantic scales all over the world, can be considered as climate. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by goldkam on May 24th, 2018 at 11:13pm Bobby. wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:41pm:
Just because of 1 year experiencing extremely cold climates doesn't imply the overall temperature is increasing dramatically. In fact in the past 50 years there has been quite a significant increase. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 24th, 2018 at 11:15pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:38pm:
Oi! This sleep out is my world! ;D :'( But I have to find a new one. The house is being sold. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 24th, 2018 at 11:51pm Setanta wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 11:15pm:
Just don't move to cold Tassie like the mad Monk - no sleep outs there for most of the year. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 24th, 2018 at 11:55pm Setanta wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 11:15pm:
Oi! This sleep out is my world! ;D :'( But I have to find a new one. The house is being sold. https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-nsw-granville-423596570 |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 24th, 2018 at 11:58pm
beautiful garden you have there Gordon ...
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 25th, 2018 at 12:04am AiA wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 11:58pm:
An old small fibro dump for $450 per week? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 25th, 2018 at 12:05am Gordon wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 11:55pm:
We bailed on this one. It needed some engineering because of the type of soil. https://www.realestate.com.au/property-house-nsw-lismore-128428198 Really nice house but we didn't look forward to spending money in the future on soil movement mitigation. Looking at some other nice homes. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 12:11am Bobby. wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:04am:
Yes, but it has a granny flat out back. Shame climate changed killed Gordon's garden ... |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 25th, 2018 at 12:16am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:11am:
It's an old dump not worth $150 per week. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 25th, 2018 at 12:19am Bobby. wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:16am:
You can see why camper vans hold their price so well, that's for sure. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 25th, 2018 at 12:30am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:11am:
This is the reason we are getting the refugees from Sydney driving up our real estate prices. Not that I mind that as much as their entitled mindset. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 12:47am Bobby. wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:16am:
You could easily get $450 a month for that place in the States |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 25th, 2018 at 12:51am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:47am:
You could get 420-450 for the house I posted. Where would you rather live? That's why we have the white flight refos from Sydney and Brisbane spoiling our existence. It's their attitude I find offensive rather than them moving here. Cashed up Bogans with the proceeds from exorbitant house prices in the capitals. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 8:31am AiA wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 11:58pm:
The dead grass is Karnal's fault. She and her Indian mates defecate in my front yard. I hope when Set moves in he can sort her out. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 8:40am Setanta wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:51am:
The disparity of prices between Sydney and just about everywhere else will do that. It even made me consider moving to the GC hinterland where a mansion on 2 acres 15mins from the beach is what I'm condition to pay for a 60m 2 bedroom unit :) |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 8:50am Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 8:31am:
Indian urine, like dog urine, burns lawns. Why is that Karnal? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 9:02am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 8:50am:
That's the suburb Karnal claims to live in, I previously suggested Set should move there to reverse the trend of white flight from the area. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 9:13am Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 9:02am:
Set could think of himself as a pioneer or colonist ... |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 9:33am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 9:13am:
Hmmm. If I have a house with a turd problem, maybe there is a more qualified forum member I could call? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 10:13am Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 9:33am:
Turd Busters? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 10:21am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 10:13am:
If there's something brown in you neighborhood Who you gonna call? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by AiA on May 25th, 2018 at 10:45am Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 10:21am:
If there's something weird And it don't smell good Who you gonna call? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 10:47am AiA wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 10:45am:
Turd busters. I ain't afraid of no turd. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 25th, 2018 at 4:22pm Setanta wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 12:51am:
But it's too hot and humid up where you live. You need the aircon on day & night. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by perceptions_now on May 25th, 2018 at 7:41pm Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 10:47am:
Well, that may be, BUT I ain't going near no BROWN SNAKE! |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 7:43pm Bobby. wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 4:22pm:
Lovely in winter. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 25th, 2018 at 7:47pm Gordon wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 7:43pm:
Lovely most of the year. There's a couple of really hot months but meh, not hard to deal with, there's some pretty cold times too where it might get down to 2 or 3c. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 25th, 2018 at 8:42pm Setanta wrote on May 25th, 2018 at 7:47pm:
End of may and still at the beach here, can't complain here |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by UnSubRocky on May 26th, 2018 at 9:58am The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:21pm:
I have used the experience of my teenage years and adulthood to take note of which years of winter are cold and which winters have not. Warm winters in 2016 and 2017. Cold in 2014 and 2015. Perhaps we will have a cold winter in 2019. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The_Barnacle on May 26th, 2018 at 12:55pm perceptions_now wrote on May 23rd, 2018 at 2:51pm:
Firefighters have been battling more than 30 active fires in the region, after a prescribed burn escaped containment lines and winds from the season's first strong cold front fanned flames on Thursday night. The Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) has described it as "an unprecedented fire situation within the City of Albany". At least one home has been lost in the town of Wellstead, east of Albany, according to Albany Mayor Dennis Wellington. Mr Wellington said he had never seen a fire on this scale. "I've never seen anything like it … it's just absolute mayhem," he said. http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-05-25/wa-bushfires-downgraded-as-threat-to-albany-eases/9802052 So another prescribed burn has jumped containment lines and become an out of control bushfire. Seems to happen alot |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Ajax on May 27th, 2018 at 9:59am
Yep the Earth has warmed BUT its not because of mans emissions of CO2.
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 7:40pm Ajax wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:59am:
Looking at that image I would conclude volcanic activity has no effect at all. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by lee on May 27th, 2018 at 7:48pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 7:40pm:
You would be wrong. Volcanoes have an effect. "Ten years ago today (June 15, 2001), Mount Pinatubo in the Philippines erupted with a tremendous force, ejecting vast amounts of ash and gas high into the atmosphere; so high that the volcano’s plume penetrated into the stratosphere. The stratosphere is the layer of atmosphere extending from about 10 km to 50 km (6-30 miles) in altitude. Pinatubo injected about 15 million tons of sulfur dioxide into the stratosphere, where it reacted with water to form a hazy layer of aerosol particles composed primarily of sulfuric acid droplets. Over the course of the next two years strong stratospheric winds spread these aerosol particles around the globe. Unlike the lower atmosphere (or troposphere, which extends from the surface to roughly 10 km), the stratosphere does not have rain clouds as a mechanism to quickly wash out pollutants. Therefore, a heavy influx of aerosol pollutants, like the plume from Mount Pinatubo, will remain in the stratosphere for years until the processes of chemical reactions and atmospheric circulation can filter them out. In the case of Mount Pinatubo, the result was a measurable cooling of the Earth’s surface for a period of almost two years." https://earthobservatory.nasa.gov/IOTD/view.php?id=1510 |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 7:55pm lee wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 7:48pm:
I said looking at that pic, I'm not saying they don't. Volcanic eruptions do not match drops in temperature. Look at the amount of volcanic eruptions at the end of the little ice age compared to it's start and the temp keeps rising. The eruptions are not in any way consistent with rising or dropping temperatures. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by lee on May 27th, 2018 at 8:13pm
They are short term variations. They get lost in the smoothing used to get the data to one page.
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 8:15pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 7:40pm:
Why was it so warm in 1100 BC ? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 8:17pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 7:40pm:
Look at the blue area for the little ice age - it says 90 major eruptions. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 8:24pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:15pm:
Good question Bobby, especially seeing as around 1200bc the greatest of the bronze age civilisations collapsed. If we look at the pic it says 10 eruption in Italy, Alaska and the Pacific as the temp s already coming down,, it then has another symbol for eruptions saying 25 eruption in the Pacific, Itally, Iceland and Columbia and the temp then rises. There are clay tablets telling of famine around 1200bc when the bronze age collapses and there is a mass movement of people we know from Egytian writings of the "Sea People". It seems the world getting that warm was not so good. It then gets colder with no volcanic activity until we reach Vesuvius/Etna, then not long after the temp starts to rise again and 35 volcanic eruptions doesn't stop the temp from going up. Then we get Vesuvius destroying Pompeii and the temp keeps rising. The volcanic eruptions in the pic to cold/hot times have no correlation. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 8:28pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:24pm:
But at the coldest time there were 90 major eruptions. What do we have now? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 8:29pm
The tell all graph that they don't want you to see:
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 8:35pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:17pm:
Read when they happened, 24 when the temp was already going down, most when the temp was rising and it did not stop it rising. None from 1300 when the temp plummeted until it was already cold. They don't correlate. It could be just bad mapping on the image but there is no correlation. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Gordon on May 27th, 2018 at 8:40pm
Really warn autumn here. Glorious weather and the water temp is still 19
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 8:43pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:35pm:
Then why was it increasing when we weren't burning fossil fuels in large amounts as we have for the last 100 years? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The Mechanic on May 27th, 2018 at 8:49pm The_Barnacle wrote on May 24th, 2018 at 10:38pm:
have a look at the historical data for the last 11,000 years... barney.. we've been on a nonstop cooling trend.. forget about your pathetic 60 or 70 years on Earth.. its Millions of years old ffs... and you think your pathetic existence can make a difference on this place?? ::) |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The Mechanic on May 27th, 2018 at 8:56pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 7:40pm:
Low Solar activity will give you a weakening magnetosphere which will cause the Earth to be hit with Heaps more Cosmic Rays .. and that with a cooling Earth will give you more Volcanic activity.. which we are no seeing.. which me and bobby have been discussing for two years now.. you will also see more seismic activity.. so bookmark this post so that you can thank me later.. :) |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 8:58pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:43pm:
Not what I'm discussing Bobby. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 9:02pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:58pm:
Yes it is - we're discussing why the Earth has hot & cold cycles. How about moving this thread to the Environment forum please? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by The Mechanic on May 27th, 2018 at 9:03pm Gordon wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 8:40pm:
if you look at the Northern Hemisphere its been an extended winter breaking all records in the History of the world... its only just turning now... NH is only just warming up now., which mean we'll start to fall into our winter as Autumn comes to an end.. and its going to be a very cold winter... very cold... :-/ |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 9:04pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:02pm:
Not at all, I'm saying the volcanic activity in that pic does not correlate with temp. That's it. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 9:09pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:04pm:
Thanks Set for moving the thread. In 1991 the Earth cooled after a volcanic eruption but yes - you are right - there is no major correlation. The question is - what has caused these hot & cold periods? May I say that it appears it has nothing to do with CO2? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 9:09pm President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:03pm:
That's funny because a person that lives there and posts here has said she had no spring, ie straight to summer. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 9:25pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:09pm:
You may say what you like Bobby. ;D What i found interesting was the 1100BC thing. I'm a bit of a bronze age buff. The collapse of all but one(Egypt) of the bronze age empires in a generation or two around 1187bc is of immense interest to me. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 9:57pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:25pm:
But the Bronze age civilisations flourished during most of the warm period & so did the Romans & the Vikings in the warm periods that came afterwards. These warm periods have not been well explained. Maybe it's due to the orbit of the Earth or the fact that our Sun is a variable star? I'm guessing that a grand solar minimum + high volcanic activity will plunge us into a temporary mini ice age. There is evidence that it started already - just 2 years ago. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 10:04pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 9:57pm:
No they didn't Bobby. They died out and there was a dark age. The Mycenaean Greeks went down(Homeric stories are from this time, Troy), the Hittites went down, the Cypriots the Canaanites and Minoans went down. The Romans used Iron as did the Vikings. The Greeks forgot how to write, could not build the big poo they did, there was a 400 year dark age. The Homeric stories were handed down via story until about 800 BC when they started to come out of the abyss. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 10:10pm
Well Setanta - I'll let you be the expert on ancient history.
However- this thread is about our climate today. ;) |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 10:13pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:10pm:
Why then does the pic have climate from the past with volcanic activity that does not correlate with the Earth's temperature variations? Should I move it back out from here as it doesn't fit our climate today? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 10:16pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:13pm:
There is a little bit of correlation in parts - look at Krakatoa. No - please leave it here where it belongs. There seems to be a cyclic pattern. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 10:18pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:16pm:
From the image there does seem to be a pattern but it is not related to the volcanic activity in the pic. That's the point I'm trying to make. Is it not only about the climate today anymore? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 10:28pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:18pm:
Dear Setanta, we are trying to predict the climate today by understanding the past history. Is there anything we can learn from our history? |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 10:34pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:28pm:
The world doesn't need prophets. If your pic is anything to go by you can rule out volcanoes. You can learn from the end of the bronze age that you cannot control what happens, systemic forces conspire and no matter how big you are you may well fall. That's the lesson of history and why none of the bronze age civs made it besides a crippled Egypt. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Bobby on May 27th, 2018 at 10:43pm Setanta wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:34pm:
Have another look at Krakatoa in 535. There is certainly a cold period after that. see: http://customers.hbci.com/~wenonah/history/535ad.htm 535 AD The nobles were returning from the middle east "HOLY WARS". Pope John II died. There were days of darkness. The plague swept around the world three times in about ten years. There were seven years of crop failures. Nations changed their religions. Empires Fell. In places great drought destroyed the land. In other places floods brought chaos. Tree rings didn't show normal growth for fifteen years. |
Title: Re: It's Getting Warmer ? Post by Setanta on May 27th, 2018 at 11:25pm Bobby. wrote on May 27th, 2018 at 10:43pm:
I'm not going to look but choosing one does not sit well against the "evidence" in the pic. |