General Discussion >> General Board >> Beyond Blue a Joke?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1522285196

Message started by Gnads on Mar 29th, 2018 at 10:59am

Title: Beyond Blue a Joke?
Post by Gnads on Mar 29th, 2018 at 10:59am
I found this post on another forum compiled by an ordinary Joe I believe.

Has anyone else heard similar stories about this govt. funded charity that seems to line Pollies & bureaucrats pockets instead of doing what it's supposed to for Mental Health Services?

I might say that one of the more recent CEO's Jeff Kennett is hardly a Labor pollie so it seems it's bi-partisan.

Beyond A Joke?

“Beyond Blue has gone from receiving from taxpayers $3million per year in 2001 to now receiving $36 million per year.
During that time wages went from $500k to $10 million.
Beyond Blue is a giant slush fund where wage costs have increased 2000% during a time when taxpayer funded revenue has increased 1200%.
The board is stacked with bureaucrats, Labor Politicians and tenured academics.
The Annual Report no longer discloses Board Remunerations.
This is just another charity where non-taxpayer funded donations do not cover the costs of administration.
People donated $11million in 2016 which barely paid wages.
Effectively it is just another taxpayer funded health service that is run inefficiently, and has a board with government connections for requesting more funding.”

Title: Re: Beyond Blue a Joke?
Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:16am
Who's in charge at the moment Gnads?

Post by Yadda on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:18am

Thanks for the OP Gnads.

If what is in the OP is true,      then it is disgusting.

But it is not surprising.

Australia, circa 2018.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:23am

Gnads wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 10:59am:

Has anyone else heard similar stories about this govt. funded charity that seems to line Pollies & bureaucrats pockets instead of doing what it's supposed to for Mental Health Services?

I might say that one of the more recent CEO's Jeff Kennett is hardly a Labor pollie so it seems it's bi-partisan.

Beyond A Joke?

“Beyond Blue has gone from receiving from taxpayers $3million per year in 2001 to now receiving $36 million per year.
Beyond Blue is a giant slush fund where wage costs have increased 2000% during a time when taxpayer funded revenue has increased 1200%.
This is just another charity where non-taxpayer funded donations do not cover the costs of administration.
Effectively it is just another taxpayer funded health service that is run inefficiently, and has a board with government connections for requesting more funding.”

Jeff Kennett is the Chairman.

Georgie Harman is the CEO

Oh, and Juliar Gillard is the Chair on the Board of Directors.

What makes you say Beyond Blue is not doing what it's supposed to do?

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:28am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:23am:

Beyond A Joke?

Jeff Kennett hands the reins of beyondblue to Julia Gillard

21 Mar 2017

Former Australian Prime Minister, The Hon. Julia Gillard AC, has been named the new Chair of beyondblue and will take over from The Hon. Jeff Kennett AC, when he hands over the reins at the end of June.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:38am

Beyond A Joke?

Anyone?

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:47am

Beyond A Joke?

it seems JK is till there with his hands in the TILL...

but here's there full financial report etc

http://resources.beyondblue.org.au/prism/file?token=BL/1835

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:55am

There's a Muslim on the cover of the Annual Report.

Oh God, I love it    ;D

Post by The_Barnacle on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:04pm

I've seen similar hoax posts on social media.
They do the rounds and are guaranteed to get the hysterical right wing out raged.

Post by cods on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:16pm
I also heard that Go Fund Me  takes 30cents in every dollar....donated....

anyone know if thats true..

at the end of the day   

these associations are meant to be helping others not themselves..

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:24pm

cods wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:16pm:

at the end of the day   

They are helping others, but there are always admin costs.

If I give $100 to a charity and $90 goes to admin, it doesn't really bother me that much.

At least some money is getting to those who need it, and the admin people in the charity office have a job.

I honestly can't see why people complain about this.

The alternative is, the people in need get no money at all, and the admin workers are on the dole.

Which do you think is the better option?

Post by cods on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:35pm
we find out though.... it isnt up front.....

we expect admin costs... if you think 90% admin is ok.. good for you..

but shouldnt you be aware of that  before you donate..

what is the difference when they hire people to collect from shopping centres under the guise of charity  when the biggest charity is themselves????>..

I do not like those odds..

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:45pm

cods wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:35pm:

what is the difference when they hire people to collect from shopping centres under the guise of charity  when the biggest charity is themselves????>..

Like I say, the alternative is the tin shakers are on the dole, and the people in need get no money at all.

Maybe they could put a note on their tins (or t-shirts): "80 cents out of every dollar you donate goes to where it's needed most".

Post by cods on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:49pm
NO IT ISNT...

we have always had charity collections...

you are ok with $10 in every $100 going to the persons they are collecting for...

good luck with that.

whats so hard about being honest????

btw some charities make do with 9%..

maybe they dont work from the top floor.

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:46pm

at the end of the day   

At the end of the day there is no such thing as a free lunch: isn't that the usual right wing mantra?

It's like the right have gone all upside down and back to front but when you think about it: they were always inverted pieces of propaganda pretending they were stirring the pot for the good of some mystical purpose!

Talk about a bunch of whack jobs  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

::)

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:24pm:

at the end of the day   

If I give $100 to a charity and $90 goes to admin, it doesn't really bother me that much.

At least some money is getting to those who need it, and the admin people in the charity office have a job.

The alternative is, the people in need get no money at all, and the admin workers are on the dole.

You're an effing whack job mate  ;D

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:48pm

Greggy doesn't: no one does!

So why say it?

Because Greggy is a whack job, that's why: always has been and always will be  ;D

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:50pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 12:45pm:

Like I say, the alternative is the tin shakers are on the dole, and the people in need get no money at all.

Maybe they could put a note on their tins (or t-shirts): "80 cents out of every dollar you donate goes to where it's needed most".

*** You're a friggin weid c-word ... what happened to you we all wonder  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:54pm

TheFunPolice wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:47pm:

at the end of the day   

It's better than the alternative.

Post by Gnads on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:00pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:16am:

So your point is?

Kennett was a Lib ... as I said bi-partisan.

Kate Carnell is a lib & on the board of directors. She was also head of the Australian Business Council(A Union of Employers).

Post by Gnads on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:04pm

Beyond A Joke?

How can it do what's it's supposed to do if nearly all the capital is spent paying wages for the executives?

And with $1 million dollars what can they actually do for someone today?

Refer them to Lifeline?  ::)

What a waste of money & an unnecessary drain on taxpayer funds.

That money should be directly injected into mental health services.

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:21pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:00pm:

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:16am:

So your point is?

Kennett was a Lib ... as I said bi-partisan.

Kate Carnell is a lib & on the board of directors. She was also head of the Australian Business Council(A Union of Employers).

my POINT was...

is that I thought he stepped down...

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:24pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:04pm:

Beyond A Joke?

How can it do what's it's supposed to do if nearly all the capital is spent paying wages for the executives?

And with $1 million dollars what can they actually do for someone today?

Refer them to Lifeline?  ::)

What a waste of money & an unnecessary drain on taxpayer funds.

That money should be directly injected into mental health services.

yes Gnads is 100% right...

10.5 Million is going to those leaches...

they made an 8 Million dollar loss one year

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:30pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:55am:

Oh God, I love it    ;D

nothing like pushing the Muslim agenda on the tax payers teat...  ::)

Post by AnotherJourneyByTrain on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:37pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:54pm:

TheFunPolice wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 1:47pm:

at the end of the day   

It's better than the alternative.

You're just one of those dumb ones that keep talkin until something happens!

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 4:24pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:30pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:55am:

Oh God, I love it    ;D

nothing like pushing the Muslim agenda on the tax payers teat...  ::)

Malcolm will have you wearing a hijab by the end of the year.

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 4:51pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 2:04pm:

Beyond A Joke?

Where did you read that?

Post by Gnads on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:20pm
Did you read what was posted?

If donations amount to $11 million & wages are $10 or 10.5 million what's the point?

Whatever else is garnered from taxpayers goes where?

My sister was suffering from mental health issues after a messy divorce .... she rang Beyond Blue several times .... got an answering service that gave her Life Lines number.

That is not good enough .... & she has not been the only one who that has happened to.

So where's the other taxpayer money going to?

It's not supplying services......

So why not give that money to LifeLine & cut out the middleman who just seems to be getting paid to broker work to other agencies that aren't beneficiaries of taxpayer monies.

Seeings your so adamant in refuting any truth in the claim how about you tell me where all that money goes?

Post by Valkie on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:25pm
If a politician, a grubberment, or the public service is involved in anything

It will be CROOKED, NON- FUNCTIONAL, OVERLY EXPENSIVE AND ABSOLUTELY USELESS.

But that's what you get with the grubberment

The largest criminal organization on earth

Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:29pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:20pm:

If donations amount to $11 million & wages are $10 or 10.5 million what's the point?

My sister was suffering from mental health issues after a messy divorce .... she rang Beyond Blue several times .... got an answering service that gave her Life Lines number.

That is not good enough .... & she has not been the only one who that has happened to.

So why not give that money to LifeLine & cut out the middleman who just seems to be getting paid to broker work to other agencies that aren't beneficiaries of taxpayer monies.

Seeings your so adamant in refuting any truth in the claim how about you tell me where all that money goes?

"How can it do what's it's supposed to do if nearly all the capital is spent paying wages for the executives?"

Where did you read that?

Post by Setanta on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:45pm
I don't donate money anymore because of the leeches that suck so much of the money out before it gets where it's supposed to go. I no longer give clothes/books/etc to Lifeline or St Vinnies, they have become businesses that use volunteers to line pockets, we give them to local groups. A homeless person can no longer just walk in and receive help, they must go through Centrelink. I now donate my time where I see it do good in real-time rather than give my money and have the knowledge that almost all is going to pay someone getting far too much of the pie.

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 8:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:29pm:

"How can it do what's it's supposed to do if nearly all the capital is spent paying wages for the executives?"

Where did you read that?

are you stupid or something?  :D :D :D
stupidorsomthing_004.jpg (8 KB | 27 )

Post by The Mechanic on Mar 29th, 2018 at 8:40pm

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

"other expenses?" - $785,854

2016 Deficit - $6,716,034

Post by .JaSin. on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:03pm
WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

You ALL rely on the GOVERNMENT to do everything for you - outside of Politics.
You ALL can't do anything 'self sufficiently' without GOVERNMENT funding.

So little wonder, the Government gets a 'return' for its efforts.

Want to run a Medical Industry?
Then fund your own!

Politics in the USA became what it is, because it funded itself, made the sacrifices and became the 'dominant' industry.

So put up or shut up.

Hell, you can't even start a Republic because you borrow Politics from the UK and rely on the USA to save you if the big bad wolf comes knocking. ::)

Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 30th, 2018 at 6:22am
The thing is we elect these DHs to organise stuff for us and they dont.

Post by Gnads on Mar 30th, 2018 at 8:15am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 6:29pm:

Where did you read that?

I already explained ... what's with the repetitious pedantry?

I know it's your stock & trade but on every issue? ::)

Post by Gnads on Mar 30th, 2018 at 8:20am

Jasin wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 11:03pm:
WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

Then fund your own!

Politics in the USA became what it is, because it funded itself, made the sacrifices and became the 'dominant' industry.

So put up or shut up.

Hell, you can't even start a Republic because you borrow Politics from the UK and rely on the USA to save you if the big bad wolf comes knocking. ::)

Yeah ... you lot put the "corrupt" in "corruption".

You've made it an artform & have the hide to point the finger at everyone else.

You have a political system ..... the best money can buy. ::)

Wanker.

Post by Sir Spot of Borg on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:19am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 29th, 2018 at 8:40pm:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

Why would the website cost so much? While Australian hosting is more than anywhere else in the world it isnt THAT much

Post by .JaSin. on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:20am

Gnads wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 8:20am:

WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

Then fund your own!

So put up or shut up.

Wanker.

Well there's the first boofhead (Boof Lehman retired, so should you) comment referring to Politics as an 'artform'  ::) Yep - a Soldier is a Surgeon too I suppose?

USA Politics made the ultimate sacrifice to be the Dominant Industry over there. DEATH.
Australia might make a sacrifice and crucify its political 'leader' upon the Southern Cross, to get some sort off leeway when it finally runs its own show.

BTW - Depression? Yep, I know all about it, worked in the Psyche Industry and even ended up suffering from it myself not so long ago.
These days, when I go down into the 'deep dark abyss' out there in the BIG BLUE - I do it as a Scuba Diver.
Depression: Don't cure it, learn to live with it and use it!

PS: Black Dog - one of the worst 'labels' going around out there. No-one ever asked the Black Dogs out there how they feel about this?  :-?

Post by Gnads on Mar 30th, 2018 at 11:03am

Jasin wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:20am:

WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

Then fund your own!

So put up or shut up.

Wanker.

Well there's the first boofhead (Boof Lehman retired, so should you) comment referring to Politics as an 'artform'  ::) Yep - a Soldier is a Surgeon too I suppose?

USA Politics made the ultimate sacrifice to be the Dominant Industry over there. DEATH.
Australia might make a sacrifice and crucify its political 'leader' upon the Southern Cross, to get some sort off leeway when it finally runs its own show.

BTW - Depression? Yep, I know all about it, worked in the Psyche Industry and even ended up suffering from it myself not so long ago.
These days, when I go down into the 'deep dark abyss' out there in the BIG BLUE - I do it as a Scuba Diver.

PS: Black Dog - one of the worst 'labels' going around out there. No-one ever asked the Black Dogs out there how they feel about this?  :-?

It was metaphorically speaking ...  saying the the US is so good at it that it's an art.  ::)

So who's the boofhead?

And yes I know of the US's penchant for assassinating it's Presidents & politicians.

I don't recall though mentioning depression .... that ball is in your court.

And the name "black dog" as a descriptor is totally applicable.....

As for asking black dogs how they feel about is just silly ... it suggests that you may well still be suffering from it.

Post by .JaSin. on Mar 30th, 2018 at 2:38pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 11:03am:

WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

Then fund your own!

So put up or shut up.

Wanker.

It was metaphorically speaking ...  saying the the US is so good at it that it's an art.  ::)

So who's the boofhead?

And yes I know of the US's penchant for assassinating it's Presidents & politicians.

As for asking black dogs how they feel about is just silly ... it suggests that you may well still be suffering from it.

I could add a lot in retaliation, but you are depressingly boring, in the end.
Btw - Snoop Dog isn't impressed.

Black Dogs around the world are now seen as 'depressing'.  ::)

Post by Setanta on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:06pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:19am:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

Why would the website cost so much? While Australian hosting is more than anywhere else in the world it isnt THAT much

This is why I do not donate money anymore.

Post by Gordon on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:14pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:06pm:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

I like Cancer Council and Garvin Institute.

But yes you have to be careful. What happens in NGOs in developing countries is nothing short of disgusting.

Post by Setanta on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:28pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:14pm:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

But yes you have to be careful. What happens in NGOs in developing countries is nothing short of disgusting.

My time they can have because I can vet how it is used, being there and involved, I can choose to take my time elsewhere if I see no benefit to the people the charity is supposed to help.

Post by Gordon on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:35pm

Setanta wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:28pm:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

My time they can have because I can vet how it is used, being there and involved, I can choose to take my time elsewhere if I see no benefit to the people the charity is supposed to help.

Medical research needs cash and lots of it but yeah other stuff, your time is good.

Post by Setanta on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:53pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:35pm:

Setanta wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 9:28pm:

Donations -  $11,220,695

Wages - $10,635,946

Rent - $533,267

Website - $411,623

Medical research needs cash and lots of it but yeah other stuff, your time is good.

I donate electricity and computer time to medical research and the results are for all to use.
Total Run Time (y:d:h:m:s) (Rank)            30:328:16:41:55 (#6,835)      
https://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/stat/viewMemberInfo.do?userName=Setanta

Which reminds me I've been a bit lax lately in that regard.

Post by Gnads on Apr 1st, 2018 at 6:00pm

Jasin wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 2:38pm:

Gnads wrote on Mar 30th, 2018 at 11:03am:

WHINGE WHINGE WHINGE

Then fund your own!

So put up or shut up.

Wanker.

So who's the boofhead?

I could add a lot in retaliation, but you are depressingly boring, in the end.
Btw - Snoop Dog isn't impressed.

Black Dogs around the world are now seen as 'depressing'.  ::)

At the end of the day I couldn't give a toss ...call me boring all you like the feeling is mutual... except I'd go as far as to say you're batshyte crazy. Especially when you reference a drug stuffed talentless dickhead like SnoopDog. All credibility disappears on the breeze.  ;D

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.